About Nugenix

Nugenix is a premium dietary supplement that’s claimed to naturally boost your free testosterone levels, resulting in a boosted libido, supercharged sex life, increased blood flow to your muscles, and better fitness results. In other words, Nugenix’s carefully blended ingredients are claimed to help you feel younger and more vibrant, including:

  • Testofen & Tribulus Terrestris – Made from the fenugreek plant, this is claimed to “sexual activity, arousal, desire, performance, and satisfaction.”
  • L-Citrulline Malate – Claimed to relax blood vessels and provide firmer erections.
  • Zinc – May help improve cell repair and promote prostate and sexual health.
  • Vitamin B6 – May help improve arousal and red blood cell formation, both of which may be reduced due to low testosterone levels.
  • Vitamin B12 – May help promote digestion and boost energy.

In fact, Nugenix claims to work so well that it’s become the #1 selling men’s vitality product at GNC, and was the recipient of GNC’s 2013 Innovation award.

In order to experience these benefits, Nugenix’s manufacturer claims you should take 3 capsules once daily on an empty stomach, and that it is safe, drug-free, does not contain stimulants or hazardous fillers, and causes no side effects.

Remember the good old days when you used to be able to work a full shift, go to the gym, and come home a please your partner, all with energy to spare? Sure you do, which is why you’re here. But can you reasonably expect the ingredients contained in Nugenix to boost your free testosterone and provide these benefits? Likely not, and here’s why:

What Is Free Testosterone?

According to the Mayo Clinic, most testosterone in your body is attached (e.g. bound) to sex hormone-binding globulin (SHBG), while the remainder is bound to albumin and is considered “free” because it’s biologically active. In other words, free testosterone is the only one that’s “readily available for tissue uptake” and that can increase strength, muscle mass, and more.

As men age though (especially after the age of 30), this free testosterone can decrease significantly, leading to reduced libido, decreased strength, “flabby” muscles, and more. And its these side effects that Nugenix’s ingredients are claimed to combat.

However, WebMD claims that you should “forget the supplements” claiming to increase your free testosterone, as “you aren't likely to find any that will do much good.” Instead, you should focus on getting enough sleep, maintaining a healthy weight, staying active, controlling stress, and watching any medications that could potentially reduce your testosterone levels.

What’s Causing Your Low Testosterone?

Next, remember that there are numerous reasons for decreased testosterone that have little to do with age, including quitting smoking, testicular injury, hormonal disorders, diabetes, obesity, and more.

Because of this, you’ll definitely want to speak with your physician before trying any testosterone supplements, as they’ll be able to advise the best course of action based on your individual diagnosis.

Can Testofen, or Any Other of Nugenix’s Ingredients, Boost Free Testosterone?

Overall, according to the product’s website, Nugenix contains the following ingredients:

  • Zinc 5mg
  • Vitamin B6 2mg
  • Vitamin B12 50mcg
  • Nugenix Testosterone Complex (Testofen® Fenugreek Extract 50% Fenuside™, L-Citruline Malate, Tribulus terrestris) 2,103mg

According to Supplement Geek, there are only 3 pieces of research associated with Testofen, which is a proprietary fenugreek extract manufactured by Gencor Pacific: 1) A user self-assessment from 2011 (in other words, men simply reported how they felt, 2) a 2010 study conducted on rats, and 3) an unpublished study titled Human Study on Free Testosterone and Performance. Ultimately, this means there’s no clinical research available showing that Testofen can reliably increase free testosterone levels in men. Despite this, Testofen can be found in a wide variety of testosterone boosters, including Ageless Male, Chamonix T-Gen, Everlasting T, and many more.

In addition, according to WebMD, although tribulus is “possibly ineffective” for enhancing athletic performance, there is insufficient evidence showing that l-citrulline, zinc, vitamin B6, or vitamin B12 can provide the testosterone-boosting (or any other) benefits claims by Nugenix. Note: This doesn’t mean these substances can’t provide any benefits, just none of the ones promoted on the Nugenix website.

Nugenix’s Mixed Online Reputation with Consumers

Despite this lack of clinical evidence, SupplementCritique claims to have used the Nugenix and experienced good results, although they noted some consumers complained of hair loss, headache, digestive upset, nasal congestion, and more when using the supplement.

Also, although Nugenix may have won an award from GNC, consumers on GNC’s website only gave it a 3-star rating (out of 5), with some of the most common complaints referencing failure to work and high price. Amazon.com reviewers gave Nugenix a 2.5-star rating, with some of these same popular complaints.

From a company perspective, Nugenix, who is based out of Salt Lake City, UT and also manufactures Instaflex, holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau based on nearly 60 closed complaints (as of 1/26/15). Most of these appear to relate to the company’s free trial and autoship program (more about this in the following section).

Nugenix Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly through the manufacturer, a one-time order of Nugenix is priced at $69.99 plus $4.99 S&H.

Alternately, a 14-day trial is available for $4.99, for which you’ll be sent a 30-day supply of Nugenix. Then, after your trial has expired, you’ll be billed $69.99 for the full price of the product, and will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. This means you’ll continue receiving a new order of Nugenix once per month, and your credit card will be billed $69.99 plus $4.99 S&H each time.

Important note: Based on our professional experience, free trials are often intended to all but ensure you’ll end up being charged full price, and autoship programs to lock you into recurring shipments (and the associated charges). Because of this, we often recommend avoiding products sold through these methods.

Outside of the 14-day trial, Nugenix comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, even if you’ve used the entire bottle. However, you will need to send the bottle back to the company, and your return package must be postmarked within 30 days of your original purchase.

In order to request a refund or un-enroll from the Nugenix autoship program, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-714-3234 for an RMA.

Note: If you’d rather purchase Nugenix through a third-party retailer, the supplement is also available at GNC, Drugstore.com, Lucky Vitamin, The Vitamin Shoppe, and many others.

Is Nugenix the Key to a Younger, More Vibrant You?

Chopping to the Point: Considering the fact that:

  • Most medical professionals recommend abstaining from supplements that claim to boost free testosterone levels, and
  • the clinical evidence showing Nugenix’s ingredients can provide any benefits is tangential at best,

…we’d recommend speaking with your physician about more effective methods of boosting your testosterone levels.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Consumer Reviews for Nugenix

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money on Nugenix

    • California,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst and most terrible supplement product I have ever used. It gave me terrible stomach aches when taking the recommended dosage, and I also had the worst tasting hiccups ever.

    This product, in my opinion, is just a rip-off.

    There is no accreditation at all that the ingredients used provides any help with increasing your Free Testosterone level. This is just a rip off to get you on an auto-ship program that charges your card $75.00 a month.

    Nugenix really must have paid huge amounts of money to have a famous ballplayer endorse such a worthless product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Iowa,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Poor quality. I was charged $75 after buying the sample and was charged $34 overdraft fee. I knew nothing about this but they charged me, and I am supposed to send their second product back, which I never received, to get my money back. The person I talked to had a hard time speaking and was rude when asking me a question, she would cut me off each time I tried to answer her.

    As for the product, if you can stand how horrible it tastes, you will get a bad stomach ache and won't be hungry while feeling like your insides are dissolving. The powder in the pills is all over the pills, like half pills and half powder. I'm telling you, the taste is so bad and lingers all day, so you won't be taking these long enough to finish their sample. I'm out close to $100 and nothing to show for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Total rip-off

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product did NOTHING for me; in fact, I felt the opposite of what they claimed it would do. Also, the 30-day money back guarantee is a farce. The salespeople also tell you to give it a month and a half to work, thus throwing you out of the refund period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Bad stuff

    • Iowa,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a free bottle. I only took two, it made me act totally different than I am. I don't know what's in this, a steroid or what, but it gave me extreme moods, anger, irritability, and I felt violent. Any more of this and I may have hurt someone. I didn't check with the doctor either, she was very upset and said I should never take male boosters.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Did NOTHING!

    • Kentucky,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It did nothing for my man. Absolutely nothing! Just like weight loss pills and wrinkle cream, it's a scam. Don't waste your money! A lot of money for nothing. He took it religiously as indicated on the bottle. Honestly, I don't think he needed it, but he's older than me and worries. He said he couldn't tell a difference, and neither could I. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Nugenix to boost my testosterone. Having turned 60 I was looking for a little boost in my sex life. I was told by the expert at GNC that this was the ticket. And that I would see noticeable results within 14 days.

    So I took them as directed for a whole month with absolutely no benefit at all. So, like the average dummy, I thought well, maybe I need to keep trying it. So I bought another bottle and nothing. So I bought a third bottle and added to it all the dietary restrictions and enhanced foods, and still nothing. Then I spoke with my doctor and he informed me that a lot of people were experiencing bone mass problems and that he would suggest me not taking them anymore. And gave me a prescription for generic viagra, and that did the trick.

    So I would definitely recommend that you save your money. This product is a dead firecracker with a lot of hype, but it does absolutely nothing. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 30 people found this review helpful

    What a waste of money

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Nugenix two years ago before it became popular. I was on it for three months consecutive, and it did absolutely nothing. I used to use pink magic until the company discontinued it. Nugenix did NOTHING. Not even a placebo effect. Don't waste a penny on that crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Negenix performance review.

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Extremely good immediate results. Lot's of deep internal energy, immediately took 10 lbs of useless weight off with immediate strength gains. I was inspired by a friend to get back in shape, layed around and did very little for 5 and 3/4 years due to raising my son who is now 6. High level of sexual energy and stamina.

    I am on about my 6th bottle, and though I'm seeing substantial progress, I wonder if I'm building an immunity to it. I may switch to Tribulus for a month or two and go back and see. It's a phenomenal product that will immediately deliver everything it says it will, and I commend the inventor and the company that brought it to us. As a former user of steroids, it's absolutely amazing to know that I look the way I look and feel the way I feel due to my own bodies hormone production versus synthetic testosterone. When I look in the mirror, I know it's all me! Thank you so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Trial sample

    I tried their 14-day sample to see how it reacted. I have an irregular thyroid, so my hormone levels are under normal standards. It is better than P6 Red. It doesn’t have an estrogen regulator, but the price reflects that. I use it in tandem with Performix Super Male T. Nugenix has a great level of B12. I definitely will buy more in store. Overall a great compound, and if you complain that you don’t feel results, remember that any supplement is limited to your diet and exercise plan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company and product is a complete scam. I should have known better than to buy into this scam. The product doesn't work at all. It is a bait and switch to get you in the door. They make you pay shipping to return the product that you didn't order in the first place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money!

    • Jupiter, FL,
    • Dec 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to say, Nugenix did two things for me: jack crap! And, as this review states, you will be hosed for more money before you FINALLY get out of the autoship!

    I am in the health field, and I can tell you, DO NOT waste your money or your time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Nugenix!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review