About Omega XL

Touted as the “secret” to relief from joint pain, Omega XL is a nutritional supplement that features a highly-concentrated extract containing up to 22X more free fatty acids than regular fish oil. The supplement, which is endorsed by none other than Larry King, is claimed to provide reduced joint pain and inflammation.

Omega XL is manufactured by Great HealthWorks based out of Hollywood, FL, which has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having 160 closed complaints. Online customer satisfaction regarding the product appears to be evenly split, with the most common complaints including failure to work; that is doesn’t include enough active ingredient to make a real difference in your health; and high price.

How Omega XL Works

Omega XL is an Omega-3 joint health supplement that uses a patented, highly concentrated formulation of 30 fatty acids, including DHA and EPA. This lipid extract is claimed to be backed by “30 years of multiple published clinical studies” which show its effectiveness in reducing inflammation and stiffness, decreasing bronchial tightness (often associated with asthma), and reducing aches and pains.

The secret to this “super oil” is the fact that it is derived from the green-lipped mussel native to New Zealand, which are grown over the course of 18 months in “pristine” waters. Once harvested, these mussels are processed into a “powerful fatty acid combination” that is all natural, contains no harmful toxins or PCBs, and has no fishy aftertaste.

In order to start seeing benefits, you’ll simply need to take one Omega XL capsule twice daily. According to the product’s website, there are no known side effects or drug interactions, and Omega XL is even safe to use for individuals with shellfish allergies.

Omega XL Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly from the manufacturer, Omega XL is priced at $49.95, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. For this, you’ll receive 120 softgels (two bottles of 60 softgels each), which translates into a 60-day supply.

Keep in mind that as soon as you place your order, you’ll be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. As a result, you’ll be sent a fresh 30-day supply of Omega XL once per month, and your credit card will be charged $$60.90, plus shipping and handling.

Omega XL comes with a 90-day refund policy, which begins the day your order is placed, less shipping and handling charges. Outside this 90-day period, no refunds will be honored.

To cancel your autoship program or to initiate the refund process, simply contact customer service at 800-488-8082 or support@greathealthworks.com.

Bottom Line: Is Omega XL a Scam?

While we have no reason to believe that Omega XL is a scam, keep the following in mind prior to placing your order:

Most importantly, while the ingredients in Omega XL have been researched for 30 years, evidence for some claims (such as asthma control) is relatively sparse. Also, remember that some of the evidence is not based on human clinical trials. On top of this, we read several complaints that Omega XL does not contain high enough concentrations of active ingredients in order to make any real impact in your health.

Next, there are no ingredients listed on the product’s website. If you’ve already read our Garcinia Cambogia Buyer’s Guide, you know that failing to include a product label or full list of ingredients is a big red flag that you should stay away.

Finally, none of the claims made by Omega XL have been evaluated by the FDA. However, as we mentioned in our Nutritional Supplements Buyer’s Guide, it’s important to note that the FDA does not provide oversight of nutritional supplements. In essence, this means that nutritional supplements manufacturers can make essentially any claim about the efficacy of their products, without having to back them up with hard evidence. And as we noted above, Omega XL provides no evidence that it works as advertised. In addition, some of the most common complaints we encountered included failure to work and high price.

Bottom Line: Even though Omega XL is endorsed by a celebrity, there are many similar nutritional supplements on the market, so it may be worth your time to do some research. Also, as with any other nutritional supplement, you should always consult with your physician prior to beginning.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Omega XL

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Be aware!

    • Maine,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Omega XL isn't a terrible form of Omega 3 fatty fish oils. But if you do your research, you will find it is not a top quality of fatty Omega 3 a fish oil. Larry King can get away with promoting it because it is ok. Not great, just ok. It claims in the commercial that you can't buy it in stores. Walmart has it. It always concerns me when I find discrepancies. If you can't get or don't have a better quality in your town than yes, I would buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product is overpriced. I did not see any changes in pain level after taking four pills a day for 30 days. I sent an email to cancel further shipments; there was no response. When I tried to cancel over the phone, person in customer service kept stalling and trying to force me into keeping the membership despite of me telling him that the product did not help me. His demeanor was outrageous and disrespectful; I’ve never encountered anything of the sort in my life.

    It took 20 minutes of back and forth on the phone, and only after I threatened with consequences I got a cancellation number. Totally awful experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Works great!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have severe arthritis and am in constant pain. I've been taking Omega XL for about a year and it actually helps me feel better than my arthritis medicine. I highly recommend this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I cannot believe the results I got from this product!

    • Brunswick, GA,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 57-year-old female who has been on anti-inflammatory medication for over 20 years. One day I developed severe GI problems due to my long-term use of pharmaceuticals. I had no idea how I was going to stop taking (Mobic) because every time I tried, I hurt so bad and walked like an old 90-year-old lady. I saw the commercial on TV for Omega XL and decided to order a bottle. To my BIG surprise, it actually worked. I take two gels in the morning and two more in the evening. I have gone from taking Mobic daily to once a week now. I am truly amazed at how well it works. I have encouraged my mom and some close friends to also try this product. I am waiting for their results...I hope they have as much success as I have. I couldn't be happier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I no longer need surgery.

    • Kaukauna, WI,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sympathize with any customers who this product hasn’t helped. I, fortunately, will never go without. As a hairdresser, my left hand, which is my working hand, has become numb and I lost much of my strength. Which directly affects my job, try to cut and wrap perms with a numb hand. I was willing to order this product based on their money back guarantee after 90 days. Whatever this pill contains has given me my career back. I was certain I would be having a carpal tunnel surgery. I no longer need surgery. I was certain I was fixed, and discontinued my membership. After two months, my symptoms returned. That will never happen again, I am down to 2 pills daily, and life is great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Omega XL works ok for us

    • Florida,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was skeptical - I don't like to waste money on just anything. I suffer from lower back pain, and it's difficult to sleep at times with that pain. At times the pain was so bad I had to walk slow when getting up from bed. My husband also suffers from back pain as well, and my 86-year-old mom uses a walker to get around, she walks slower than a turtle. But with Omega XL we noticed a drastic change. I no longer have painful lower back pain and get up fro bed much faster and move faster now. My husband has improved but still nags of minor pain in back but not as bad as before. My 86-year-old mom walks somewhat better and at a more increased movement. I like this product; I honestly believe it works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Sending it back!

    I have severe joint pain. My hands throb and wake me at night. Which is why I saw the infomercial. I've been taking Omega XL every day for three weeks and the pain is ten times worse. My hands literally "fall asleep" when I lay down now. The pain for the first hour after I wake is unbearable. My knees are hurting more, my neck and shoulders are hurting more so I can't recommend this product myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Subdued selling pressure

    • Rodeo, CA,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cardiologist recommended that I use it rather than the omega fish oils that I was using. It may be as good or better. I am not in a position to judge. My cardiologist is very good and helped me through 2 heart surgeries so I 100% trust him. My review is more about the selling tactics and follow-up tactics than the product since I am neither a doctor or a nutritionist so I can't do a good job to judge the product.

    My cardiologist said the product "may" help some shoulder-neck pain. He wanted me to take it for the heart benefits.

    I received the product quickly. It was over-documented. They send expensive printing and even a CD. For fatty oils?

    I bought a package of 2 containers. Since my doctor "prescribed it," I certainly already was going to reorder when the time came. What bothered me A LOT was on arrival they announced to me that I had agreed to automatic shipments and future charges to my credit card. I did not (intentionally) agree to that. It must have been buried in fine print IF IT WAS THERE AT ALL.

    I phoned irritated and spoke with Andy. It should have been a quick phone call, but Andy was working to make me feel comfy. We talked about the weather for at least 5 minutes, and he expressed how happy he was to have learned something. He explained that I wouldn't want to be without the benefits of the oils even for a few days by mistake, so it's best to approve automatic reorders. I still said no. He agreed. He was marking my account for no more automatic renewals.

    Then as closing, he said that he closed the account and there would be no automatic shipments. Therefore he picked a date in April and said that they would ship more on that date and charge my credit card.

    Huh? Isn't that just what I said I did not want?

    Finally, he agreed to cancel all automatic renewals.

    By the way, the pills are MUCH smaller than the omega oil pills I had been taking. That is quite good (supposing that there is as much benefit to them) since they are easier to swallow and take up less space in my pill container. I have too many pills, so space was a problem.

    Summary: I assume the product is good. I am outraged by the ethics and attitude of the marketing. Therefore I give the product 5 stars and the marketing 1 stars = an average of 3 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Product actually works!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, let me start off by saying that like with anything medical, you can't be 100% certain that your self-diagnosis is accurate. This product is designed to treat inflammatory pain, not all pain. For me, I wasn't able to get out of bed so easy in the morning due to this type of pain, and this product really helped me. It's worth a try and if it doesn't work for you just remember there's a 90-day money back program. Just call or email and cancel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product for pain

    • Nassau, Bahamas,
    • Jan 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I began taking the product last year (2016), and it became the one product I do not go without. This has done wonderfully for me and my husband, and we take it religiously each morning. Amazingly, I only have to take one tablet a day to get good results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 87 out 92 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product doesn't work like they claim. People need to read the reviews online before ordering this stuff. Furthermore, you should never give a company like this a credit card number and the ability to keep sending you their garbage product. If Americans would wake up and start thinking clearly, then these business scammers would have to get real jobs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2018

      Jean

      Why don't you like it? Is it because you don't get a buzz from it?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Omega XL!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review