About Omega XL

Touted as the “secret” to relief from joint pain, Omega XL is a nutritional supplement that features a highly-concentrated extract containing up to 22X more free fatty acids than regular fish oil. The supplement, which is endorsed by none other than Larry King, is claimed to provide reduced joint pain and inflammation.

Omega XL is manufactured by Great HealthWorks based out of Hollywood, FL, which has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having 160 closed complaints. Online customer satisfaction regarding the product appears to be evenly split, with the most common complaints including failure to work; that is doesn’t include enough active ingredient to make a real difference in your health; and high price.

How Omega XL Works

Omega XL is an Omega-3 joint health supplement that uses a patented, highly concentrated formulation of 30 fatty acids, including DHA and EPA. This lipid extract is claimed to be backed by “30 years of multiple published clinical studies” which show its effectiveness in reducing inflammation and stiffness, decreasing bronchial tightness (often associated with asthma), and reducing aches and pains.

The secret to this “super oil” is the fact that it is derived from the green-lipped mussel native to New Zealand, which are grown over the course of 18 months in “pristine” waters. Once harvested, these mussels are processed into a “powerful fatty acid combination” that is all natural, contains no harmful toxins or PCBs, and has no fishy aftertaste.

In order to start seeing benefits, you’ll simply need to take one Omega XL capsule twice daily. According to the product’s website, there are no known side effects or drug interactions, and Omega XL is even safe to use for individuals with shellfish allergies.

Omega XL Pricing & Refund Policy

If purchased directly from the manufacturer, Omega XL is priced at $49.95, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. For this, you’ll receive 120 softgels (two bottles of 60 softgels each), which translates into a 60-day supply.

Keep in mind that as soon as you place your order, you’ll be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. As a result, you’ll be sent a fresh 30-day supply of Omega XL once per month, and your credit card will be charged $$60.90, plus shipping and handling.

Omega XL comes with a 90-day refund policy, which begins the day your order is placed, less shipping and handling charges. Outside this 90-day period, no refunds will be honored.

To cancel your autoship program or to initiate the refund process, simply contact customer service at 800-488-8082 or support@greathealthworks.com.

Our Bottom Line on Omega XL

While we have no reason to believe that Omega XL is a scam, keep the following in mind prior to placing your order:

Most importantly, while the ingredients in Omega XL have been researched for 30 years, evidence for some claims (such as asthma control) is relatively sparse. Also, remember that some of the evidence is not based on human clinical trials. On top of this, we read several complaints that Omega XL does not contain high enough concentrations of active ingredients in order to make any real impact in your health.

Next, there are no ingredients listed on the product’s website. Based on our experience, failing to include a product label or a full list of ingredients is a big red flag that you should stay away.

Finally, none of the claims made by Omega XL have been evaluated by the FDA. However, as we mentioned in our Nutritional Supplements Buyer’s Guide, it’s important to note that the FDA does not provide oversight of nutritional supplements.

In essence, this means that nutritional supplements manufacturers can make essentially any claim about the efficacy of their products, without having to back them up with hard evidence. And as we noted above, Omega XL provides no evidence that it works as advertised. In addition, some of the most common complaints we encountered included failure to work and high price.

Bottom Line: Even though Omega XL is endorsed by a celebrity, there are many similar nutritional supplements on the market, so it may be worth your time to do some research. Also, as with any other nutritional supplement, you should always consult with your physician prior to beginning.

» See Also: Best Omega-3 Supplements Buying Guide

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 33 Omega XL Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can't turn them off!

    • Eden, NC,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up and started receiving my pills. After 6 months or so I wanted to stop. I called them up and told them to stop shipping pills and quit debiting my credit card. All these people did was transfer me to another person and put me on hold until I got tired. That is their method. You never get to the person that can stop your order. Now I'm going to my credit card company and have them reject/cancel the automatic payment. For that reason, I would not do business with these ass hats.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad for heartbeat

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please whoever has an irregular heartbeat or AF, please do not take it. I was suffering for 3 days after I took only 2 pills, I almost wanted to call an ambulance. I don't know about the benefits, but be alert.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Still haven’t received my refund

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great HealthWorks withdrew money from my account without my authorization. When I checked my bank statement online, I noticed money was taken out so I called and asked for my money back. I was told that I would have to wait 10-15 business days for my refund because of their policy. I waited and my 15 days ended last Friday, April 26, 2019 and still no money in my account. I told the customer service representative that if I do not receive my money by the end of today that I will file a complaint and open an investigation with my bank. Each customer service representative I talk to gives me the same run around to wait it takes time to show up on my account but with my bank, it always shows up automatically even though the money is pending. I would not recommend anyone to deal with this company because they are quick to take your money out from your account and are slow to give you your money back. I am currently still waiting for my money! If you can stay avoid dealing with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My left knee suddenly was in so much pain that I had to walk with a cane. By chance, my daughter saw the advertisement and thought this Omega-XL would do miracles. I ordered and finished the two bottles. It did not reduce my pain one bit! My pain got worse and at the end, I had to see my doctor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Sayreville, NJ,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried to cancel their mailing orders and it is impossible to reach the Cancellation Department, after been on the phone for 50 minutes each time you get disconnected, or they give you the runaround. Very disappointed. They also increased the price twice in two months without notification.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 67 out 70 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have canceled our subscription three times! We keep getting products and charged. I have waisted 10 hours of my life on hold trying to get this rectified! I’m on hold as we speak!

    These guys are scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 93 out 94 people found this review helpful

    Not what it claims.

    • Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After trying this product for three months I was completely let down. It did not relieve pain at all! Nothing claimed in the infomercial is true about this product. The product is available at Walmart - contrary to the claim made in the infomercial that it is not available anywhere but through the company itself. As well, customer service is almost non-existent. Rude. Pushy. Terrible customer service. I DO NOT recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Buy this stuff

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you have joint pain of any kind, especially if nothing has worked for you to relieve the pain, BUY THIS STUFF! I have a painful ankle from being broken many years ago and never set. Nothing ever worked to keep me from hobbling around in pain all day, especially if I was on my feet a lot. I tried this and after about a month or so of taking this, I was completely pain free and remain so to this day. You have to be patient and diligently take this for about a month to let it build up in your system. After that, you will have a big smile on your face! I rarely write reviews on products, but I just had to write this one. Kudos to Omega XL! BUY THIS STUFF!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 139 out 140 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work! Terrible customer service!

    • Norco, CA,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Exactly one month ago on September 2, 2018, I saw the infomercial with Larry King. I was skeptical at first, but, believed he wouldn't endorse anything that wasn't legit. Wow! What a fool I was! I was also intrigued by the 90-day refund policy. Anyhow, I ordered it and tried it fully for 30 days. It doesn't work! Waste of money! I wish I had checked the reviews online!

    Then, I just found out that they took another payment from my credit card without my permission. I tried to contact them with nothing but rudeness and the run around! No worries. I contacted my bank and disputed the transaction and future transactions by them! I hope this realistic review saves a lot of people from getting taken like me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 103 out 107 people found this review helpful

    Be aware!

    • Maine,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Omega XL isn't a terrible form of Omega 3 fatty fish oils. But if you do your research, you will find it is not a top quality of fatty Omega 3 a fish oil. Larry King can get away with promoting it because it is ok. Not great, just ok. It claims in the commercial that you can't buy it in stores. Walmart has it. It always concerns me when I find discrepancies. If you can't get or don't have a better quality in your town than yes, I would buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 103 out 107 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product is overpriced. I did not see any changes in pain level after taking four pills a day for 30 days. I sent an email to cancel further shipments; there was no response. When I tried to cancel over the phone, person in customer service kept stalling and trying to force me into keeping the membership despite of me telling him that the product did not help me. His demeanor was outrageous and disrespectful; I’ve never encountered anything of the sort in my life.

    It took 20 minutes of back and forth on the phone, and only after I threatened with consequences I got a cancellation number. Totally awful experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for Omega XL!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review