About Simply Fit Board

The Simply Fit Board is a plastic exercise device intended to strengthen core muscles and trim waist fat by using its balance-board design to enhance workouts.

Balance boards come in all shapes and sizes and have been around the workout world for some time now, but the Simply Fit has gained a lot of popularity since it made an appearance on Nov. 6, 2015, on the popular ABC entrepreneur show Shark Tank. There, founders Linda Clark and her daughter Gloria Hoffman were thrilled when shark and QVC personality Lori Greiner agreed to invest $125,000 for a 20% stake in the company.

We’re guessing you came to our page either because you saw Simply Fit on Shark Tank and wanted to learn more, or you’ve heard about the balance-board workout craze and came across the trending board as you did some research.

Either way, we’re glad you’re here. Over the next few minutes we’re going to answer the following questions:

  • What is the Simply Fit Board?
  • Do balance boards really offer any benefits?
  • What are people saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What is the Simply Fit Board?

The Simply Fit is crafted from a special plastic, a video on the website says, that allows you not only to rock back and forth like a traditional balance board, but also to twist from side to side. The board’s surface includes handles for hands and non-slip surfaces for feet.

It comes in five different colors with descriptive names like atomic orange and bright magenta. The boards cost $44.95.

In addition to highlighting the board, the Simply Fit website also pushes their series of 10-minute YouTube workout videos that offer tutorials on how to use the board, workouts designed for kids as well as a variety of workouts for adults.

The website claims their board helps weight loss, targets abdominal fat (a.k.a. muffin tops), tones legs, improves balance and offers several other benefits.

Do balance boards really offer any benefits?

As we mentioned earlier, balance boards (they’re also called “wobble boards”) have been around for a while. They literally come in all shapes and sizes. Some are discs with rounded bottoms, while others are shaped like skateboards with knobs underneath them.

Even though they’re all designed differently, balance boards, in general, try to do one thing: improve your balance.

But are they really effective in this end, or just gimmicky pieces of workout equipment? We wanted to know, so we did some research through the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM).

In 2011, they published a piece on using balance training with older adults. It pointed out that our balance can be maintained and improved as we get older. We think this bodes well for balance boards (Simply Fit included) because they can be a “lifetime” type workout equipment rather than a passing fad.

Specifically, the ACSM said balance training can:

  • Rehabilitate injuries
  • Strengthen muscles
  • Condition the body
  • Improve stability and postural alignment
  • Help prevent falls

Another published piece from the ACSM, “Ankle Sprains and the Athlete”, points out that balance boards are “an excellent rehabilitation technique that helps strengthen and stabilize the ankle.” It even goes as far as to say that you can reduce the risk of re-injury by up to 50% using balance boards during rehab.

Even Mayo Clinic has pages devoted to balance exercises, which, they say, should be included in your daily routine and can improve your stability.

So what’s the takeaway here for the average person who’s interested in using these boards? They seem to be an excellent way to improve your balance, posture and rehab injuries. We run into a lot of junk science during our reviews, but, based on what we’ve read, we feel pretty positive about the benefits balance-board workouts can provide.

We think it’s important to point out something we noticed on the Simply Fit website, though. The site claims that their balance board fights “muffin top” and helps you burn fat.

Based on the research we’ve done, there’s not a lot of evidence to support that claim. It’s our opinion that the fat-burning benefits listed on the Simply Fit site are the result of the company’s workout videos and not the board itself.

But our opinion is just part of the bigger picture. What are your fellow consumers saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What’s the feedback so far about the Simply Fit?

The two main sources of feedback from consumers about the board were found on Simply Fit’s Facebook page, and on the item’s QVC page. The board received 160 reviews on its Facebook page, averaging 4.7 stars and gaining 146 5-star reviews.

Several of the most recent reviews mentioned Shark Tank, others talked about the company’s excellent customer service and many praised the product’s ease of use. The reviews, in general were glowing.

Simply Fit’s balance board has an average rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars on QVC, where 13 of 19 reviewers gave the product the maximum 5-star rating.

Two customers mentioned Shark Tank, while two others said they stopped using it because they were scared they might fall over.

When we look at these reviews as a whole, we think there’s a good chance you’ll be pleased with your Simply Fit Board if you choose to buy it.

How does the Simply Fit Board stack up against other balance boards?

Let’s cut to the chase: while balance exercises are proven to help coordination and muscle strength, those same studies haven’t identified which balance boards work best.

For the average consumer, we think the two factors which matter most when selecting a balance board are weight limits and price.

The Simply Fit Board has a weight limit of 400 pounds and costs $44.95. We found a couple of similar boards on Amazon:

Based on these comparisons, we think the Simply Fit Board is a good value because it supports up to 400 lbs. and costs less than some of its competitors. If you weigh less than 300 lbs., the Isokinetics Deluxe could be a great fit for you.

Our conclusions about the Simply Fit Board

As we mentioned before, we deal with many products that provide a lot of hype and very few benefits. We don’t believe this is the case with Simply Fit’s balance board. It is the latest piece of equipment in a long line of balance tools that can help you with stability and certain rehab programs.

We also think the founders have done a good job of creating a balance board with style. Their bright colors are a breath of fresh air in a market where most boards are made from wood or dark plastic.

It’s important to remember, though, that a balance board by itself has limited benefits. We believe it’s best to buy the board understanding that you’ll need a series of balance-specific workout videos to get the full benefit of the board.

Simply Fit knows this, and we think they’ve done a great job of providing customers with 10 different workout videos that included the balance board.

Before we end our review, we’d like to point out that Mayo Clinic and ACSM said it’s important to start slow with your balance board. As you work up your strength and stability, branch out to more complex exercises.

All in all, we think the Simply Fit Board falls in line with most balance boards in terms of what they do. While the company hasn’t reinvented the wheel, it definitely has captured consumers’ attention with good-looking equipment and free workout videos.

If you’re looking for ways to improve your balance without a balance board, check out these seven difference balance exercises from Mayo Clinic. They’ll strengthen your body and improve your stability for free.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

91 Consumer Reviews for Simply Fit Board

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 10 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 91
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great tool for burning calories

    • Shreveport, LA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, let me say I bought my first Simply Fit Board on a whim in February 2018 while in a checkout line in Walmart.

    I started doing 10 minutes, steadily increasing the length of time until I reached 2 hours. When I started in February, I weighed 216 pounds, not fat just stocky, and this morning I weighed in at 182 pounds.

    I googled "how does a 62-year-old lose his belly fat" and the answer was simple, burn 500 more calories than you consume. I quickly went on a diet counting my calories and used my Garmin watch to monitor my calories burned and noticed the longer I stayed on the Simply Fit Board, the more calories I burned. Currently, I'm doing an hour and a half on the board and burn between 1500 and 2000 calories before 8 AM. I am down from a tight 36-inch waist to a loose 34-inch waist.

    I recently visited my doctor and she was so impressed with the weight loss and how it affected my cholesterol and could speak highly enough about my results.

    Let me add, if you use the Simply Fit Board as I do, you will have to replace it about every 4 months, I just bought my third, it's plastic and nothing plastic last forever.

    One other benefit that I did not count on, I move from sitting to standing on average 60-70 times a day Monday thru Friday at work and my hips were killing me, but now I am pain-free and the only thing I can attribute that to is the Simply Fit Board.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just tried the Simply Fit Board. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless you just want to work on a balance issue or are recovering from an ankle injury. I am 58 years old and I found the workout to be nothing more than what you can do in your own home with a couple of weights. The video included was boring, the music was annoying, and there was no motivation for even a beginner to get excited about.

    I originally saw the Simply Fit board on Shark Tank and thought it looked fun. When it was featured on The View at a reduced price, I decided to try it. The first disappointment was the tiny mat that is included. The second and biggest disappointment was that the exercises are nothing special and nothing specific to the Simply Fit Board. I can do squats and sit-ups without spending extra money on a useless piece of equipment. And there are plenty of free workout videos available online that are much more engaging than the 80's style video included with the Simply Fit Board. I am in the process of trying to return mine for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Truly works!

    • Strongsville, OH,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sincerely hope this review helps others that are thinking about trying this fit board. I truly do it every day for 10-15 minutes and I have dropped my jeans size from 12 to 8 - unbelievable. My top size was Large - now it is Small. I would not have believed it until it worked for me. I am 67 years old and feel amazing from this fit board.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2018

      Lynn B.

      Hi Roberta, you just twisted from side to side every day for 15 minutes?

    • Oct 23, 2018

      Roberta B.

      Yes, I actually put on handpicked songs on YouTube that are fast-paced and do it to the music, also moving my arms in the air. I never thought I would look forward to doing this, but I love it and feel energized after. The music passes the time quickly. Hope this helps!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Board cracked in less than 3 months

    • Willmar, MN,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very disappointed! I absolutely loved this board and the CD that came with it, but I wish I had read all the reviews before purchasing to see how many complaints there are about them cracking. I would go home every day and do at least 2 work outs, and I could really feel improvement, especially in my core.

    I only weigh 160 lbs, well under the proclaimed 400 lbs. It is past the return period, so I am out the purchase price. I have not been able to find a contact for the Simply Fit customer service other than to order another one, which I will not do.

    Unless you can afford to throw away $40 every few months, do not buy this! It seems that all the complaints are pretty much the same, time period after return time is past and well under the 400 lbs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great!

    • Ambler, PA,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been using this board for about two months. I bought it on Amazon.com for about $33. I just love it. I use it along with 1 lb to 5 lb arm weights and feel I get a really good workout...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    It works if you take your time.

    • Columbia, MO,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like with any exercise, you have to start off slow and work your way up to going faster. First get your balance on the board by rocking on it. Then start twisting slow and work your way up. By doing this, you will stop falling off the board, and it will not creep across your floor. I use it through-out the day. Beats being run over by vehicles when running/jogging/walking. I started feeling my leg muscles getting sore from day one, and then the other muscles as I progressed up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Idaho,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical at first, but after one day I was addicted. I keep seeing terrible reviews, but it works great for me. It took me a while to stay in one place, but once I got my balance, I noticed results. I do the ab and core workout and my posture is straighter and my abs feel tighter. I like it because I'm pretty lazy and it's a quick workout, and it has improved my overall health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Have not had board one year and broken!

    • Canada,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    To whom it may concern,

    I love the Simply Fit Board. My problem is that it cracked down the middle. I have been very careful and always used a mat underneath, yet less than one year of use and I can "no longer" use it and just bought another.

    I hope this doesn't happen again.

    I did pay extra so that if it does crack again I can replace at "no cost" to me again, but I don't feel this should have happened in the first place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Love my board

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 70 years old and received a board as a gift. My balance was not what it used to be but after a few days, wow, what an improvement. I've had it for two years and got on it ten days ago, and it cracked. I'm not heavy and use it as instructed. I was very sad but decided to contact the company, and they couldn't have been nicer. They asked that I send them a picture of the crack, and I couldn't do it on my computer (skills are not that great)! They were so kind they sent me a brand new one that I received yesterday.

    I am back on it today! I have never dealt with customer service that was so easy and nice. I told my daughter when I saw her at lunch with her friends, and they asked about it and mentioned their parents could use something like this too. I know it 's good for exercise but my main concern is balance, and I would recommend this to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Simply Fit Board

    You don’t need to purchase the mat. It works best on the carpet. The key to not traveling around the room is - heels back, knees bent, head forward, and twist with the waist! It took me a few days to stay in one place.

    Do not try to do in front of a large television if you are prone to getting seasick. I tried it for 3 days, feeling sick to my stomach every time. On the 4th day I went in my bedroom and used Fit Board in front of my iPad and I was fine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is low impact and perfect for those of us with knee or joint problems. I've done everything from to just twisting in front of the TV to following YouTube workouts. It's helped me trim down and lose weight (about 30 lbs in 9 months). I LOVE IT!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 91

Write a Review for Simply Fit Board!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review