About Simply Fit Board

The Simply Fit Board is a plastic exercise device intended to strengthen core muscles and trim waist fat by using its balance-board design to enhance workouts.

Balance boards come in all shapes and sizes and have been around the workout world for some time now, but the Simply Fit has gained a lot of popularity since it made an appearance on Nov. 6, 2015, on the popular ABC entrepreneur show Shark Tank. There, founders Linda Clark and her daughter Gloria Hoffman were thrilled when shark and QVC personality Lori Greiner agreed to invest $125,000 for a 20% stake in the company.

We’re guessing you came to our page either because you saw Simply Fit on Shark Tank and wanted to learn more, or you’ve heard about the balance-board workout craze and came across the trending board as you did some research.

Either way, we’re glad you’re here. Over the next few minutes we’re going to answer the following questions:

  • What is the Simply Fit Board?
  • Do balance boards really offer any benefits?
  • What are people saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What is the Simply Fit Board?

The Simply Fit is crafted from a special plastic, a video on the website says, that allows you not only to rock back and forth like a traditional balance board, but also to twist from side to side. The board’s surface includes handles for hands and non-slip surfaces for feet.

It comes in five different colors with descriptive names like atomic orange and bright magenta. The boards cost $44.95.

In addition to highlighting the board, the Simply Fit website also pushes their series of 10-minute YouTube workout videos that offer tutorials on how to use the board, workouts designed for kids as well as a variety of workouts for adults.

The website claims their board helps weight loss, targets abdominal fat (a.k.a. muffin tops), tones legs, improves balance and offers several other benefits.

Do balance boards really offer any benefits?

As we mentioned earlier, balance boards (they’re also called “wobble boards”) have been around for a while. They literally come in all shapes and sizes. Some are discs with rounded bottoms, while others are shaped like skateboards with knobs underneath them.

Even though they’re all designed differently, balance boards, in general, try to do one thing: improve your balance.

But are they really effective in this end, or just gimmicky pieces of workout equipment? We wanted to know, so we did some research through the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM).

In 2011, they published a piece on using balance training with older adults. It pointed out that our balance can be maintained and improved as we get older. We think this bodes well for balance boards (Simply Fit included) because they can be a “lifetime” type workout equipment rather than a passing fad.

Specifically, the ACSM said balance training can:

  • Rehabilitate injuries
  • Strengthen muscles
  • Condition the body
  • Improve stability and postural alignment
  • Help prevent falls

Another published piece from the ACSM, “Ankle Sprains and the Athlete”, points out that balance boards are “an excellent rehabilitation technique that helps strengthen and stabilize the ankle.” It even goes as far as to say that you can reduce the risk of re-injury by up to 50% using balance boards during rehab.

Even Mayo Clinic has pages devoted to balance exercises, which, they say, should be included in your daily routine and can improve your stability.

So what’s the takeaway here for the average person who’s interested in using these boards? They seem to be an excellent way to improve your balance, posture and rehab injuries. We run into a lot of junk science during our reviews, but, based on what we’ve read, we feel pretty positive about the benefits balance-board workouts can provide.

We think it’s important to point out something we noticed on the Simply Fit website, though. The site claims that their balance board fights “muffin top” and helps you burn fat.

Based on the research we’ve done, there’s not a lot of evidence to support that claim. It’s our opinion that the fat-burning benefits listed on the Simply Fit site are the result of the company’s workout videos and not the board itself.

But our opinion is just part of the bigger picture. What are your fellow consumers saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What’s the feedback so far about the Simply Fit?

The two main sources of feedback from consumers about the board were found on Simply Fit’s Facebook page, and on the item’s QVC page. The board received 160 reviews on its Facebook page, averaging 4.7 stars and gaining 146 5-star reviews.

Several of the most recent reviews mentioned Shark Tank, others talked about the company’s excellent customer service and many praised the product’s ease of use. The reviews, in general were glowing.

Simply Fit’s balance board has an average rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars on QVC, where 13 of 19 reviewers gave the product the maximum 5-star rating.

Two customers mentioned Shark Tank, while two others said they stopped using it because they were scared they might fall over.

When we look at these reviews as a whole, we think there’s a good chance you’ll be pleased with your Simply Fit Board if you choose to buy it.

How does the Simply Fit Board stack up against other balance boards?

Let’s cut to the chase: while balance exercises are proven to help coordination and muscle strength, those same studies haven’t identified which balance boards work best.

For the average consumer, we think the two factors which matter most when selecting a balance board are weight limits and price.

The Simply Fit Board has a weight limit of 400 pounds and costs $44.95. We found a couple of similar boards on Amazon:

Based on these comparisons, we think the Simply Fit Board is a good value because it supports up to 400 lbs. and costs less than some of its competitors. If you weigh less than 300 lbs., the Isokinetics Deluxe could be a great fit for you.

Our conclusions about the Simply Fit Board

As we mentioned before, we deal with many products that provide a lot of hype and very few benefits. We don’t believe this is the case with Simply Fit’s balance board. It is the latest piece of equipment in a long line of balance tools that can help you with stability and certain rehab programs.

We also think the founders have done a good job of creating a balance board with style. Their bright colors are a breath of fresh air in a market where most boards are made from wood or dark plastic.

It’s important to remember, though, that a balance board by itself has limited benefits. We believe it’s best to buy the board understanding that you’ll need a series of balance-specific workout videos to get the full benefit of the board.

Simply Fit knows this, and we think they’ve done a great job of providing customers with 10 different workout videos that included the balance board.

Before we end our review, we’d like to point out that Mayo Clinic and ACSM said it’s important to start slow with your balance board. As you work up your strength and stability, branch out to more complex exercises.

All in all, we think the Simply Fit Board falls in line with most balance boards in terms of what they do. While the company hasn’t reinvented the wheel, it definitely has captured consumers’ attention with good-looking equipment and free workout videos.

If you’re looking for ways to improve your balance without a balance board, check out these seven difference balance exercises from Mayo Clinic. They’ll strengthen your body and improve your stability for free.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

86 Consumer Reviews for Simply Fit Board

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 31 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 9 1 star:  30
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 86
Sort reviews by:

  • It works if you take your time.

    • Columbia, MO,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like with any exercise, you have to start off slow and work your way up to going faster. First get your balance on the board by rocking on it. Then start twisting slow and work your way up. By doing this, you will stop falling off the board, and it will not creep across your floor. I use it through-out the day. Beats being run over by vehicles when running/jogging/walking. I started feeling my leg muscles getting sore from day one, and then the other muscles as I progressed up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Idaho,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical at first, but after one day I was addicted. I keep seeing terrible reviews, but it works great for me. It took me a while to stay in one place, but once I got my balance, I noticed results. I do the ab and core workout and my posture is straighter and my abs feel tighter. I like it because I'm pretty lazy and it's a quick workout, and it has improved my overall health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Have not had board one year and broken!

    • Canada,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    To whom it may concern,

    I love the Simply Fit Board. My problem is that it cracked down the middle. I have been very careful and always used a mat underneath, yet less than one year of use and I can "no longer" use it and just bought another.

    I hope this doesn't happen again.

    I did pay extra so that if it does crack again I can replace at "no cost" to me again, but I don't feel this should have happened in the first place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love my board

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 70 years old and received a board as a gift. My balance was not what it used to be but after a few days, wow, what an improvement. I've had it for two years and got on it ten days ago, and it cracked. I'm not heavy and use it as instructed. I was very sad but decided to contact the company, and they couldn't have been nicer. They asked that I send them a picture of the crack, and I couldn't do it on my computer (skills are not that great)! They were so kind they sent me a brand new one that I received yesterday.

    I am back on it today! I have never dealt with customer service that was so easy and nice. I told my daughter when I saw her at lunch with her friends, and they asked about it and mentioned their parents could use something like this too. I know it 's good for exercise but my main concern is balance, and I would recommend this to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Simply Fit Board

    You don’t need to purchase the mat. It works best on the carpet. The key to not traveling around the room is - heels back, knees bent, head forward, and twist with the waist! It took me a few days to stay in one place.

    Do not try to do in front of a large television if you are prone to getting seasick. I tried it for 3 days, feeling sick to my stomach every time. On the 4th day I went in my bedroom and used Fit Board in front of my iPad and I was fine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is low impact and perfect for those of us with knee or joint problems. I've done everything from to just twisting in front of the TV to following YouTube workouts. It's helped me trim down and lose weight (about 30 lbs in 9 months). I LOVE IT!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Cracked

    It cracked down the middle, and I'm only 185 pounds. I only used a couple of times. So not worth the price I paid. Bummer, very disappointing. And because I've had it longer then 60 days I'm screwed. It says 400 pounds, but that's not true at all, so think twice before buying. It is not a good investment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Board has a big crack in it after being used less than a year

    • Newton, IL,
    • Dec 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Simply Fit Board about a year ago. I love it and use it almost every day. It is cracking, and now I’m afraid to use it because I’m afraid it will break while I am on it. I am a size 12 and don’t think I am too heavy for the board.

    I thought they would last longer than this and am disappointed that I am not able to use it anymore. I think there should be a warranty on the board.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Quality of board

    • Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the board last Christmas and have used it at least 20 times a month. I am way below the weight maximum, and when I went to use the board tonight, I heard a crack. I checked the board and sure enough, there is a stress fracture in the board. it didn't even last a year. I loved it while I had it, but am very disappointed in the quality of the board.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Simply Fit is the perfect fit for me. I've lost 34 pounds over 8 months and feel incredible.

    • California,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As 2017 started, I was nearly 35 pounds overweight and not sure what to do about it. After watching Shark Tank, I knew the Simply Fit Board was for me so on January 8th I bought my first board. Within 4 weeks, I lost 10 pounds using it 20 minutes a day, 3-4 times per week. That got my attention, so I decided to reconsider a few things I was eating. I removed some fast food from my diet and continued using the board. A few weeks later I was down 18 pounds. Awesome!

    Suddenly I started having a sore tooth, so I went to see my dentist. It turned out to be an infection and a 3-week nightmare, of which I could not exercise or workout (getting my blood pumping would cause great pain).

    I missed my Simply Fit Board. I missed it badly.

    During this downtime, I decided to go through my closet and try on some of the nice clothes that I had not been able to wear for many years. I was amazed. Some of them I could actually fit in and some I was really close. I knew I had more work to do but was feeling re-energized.

    Finally, the swelling and infection were gone and I resumed using my Simply Fit Board. I kept on a steady plan of 3-4 times per week using many of their exercises shown on the DVD. Just about the time I had lost more than 20 pounds, I dislocated a rib on my left side. I thought I was going to pass out. The pain was intense.

    Ugh! That means 2-3 more weeks of not being able to use my SF Board due to the swiveling. I was able to do some speed walking during this time, which allowed me to maintain my weight, but I knew in order to really lose the weight I wanted to I would need the Simply Fit Board workouts.

    Finally, I resumed my exercising on the board and started doubling my plank and ab workouts. To date, I've lost about 34 pounds and can fit into any and all of the clothes hanging in my closet. I am now wearing slacks I had not worn in nearly 20 years.

    I love my Simply Fit Board and continue to use it to maintain my incredible weight, as well as working the belly fat that a 58-year-old man has to deal with into muscle.

    Others in my life are asking how I lost the weight and after telling them about the Simply Fit Board, some are using it for themselves. I just got an email today from a client that I work with who said he bought one after we talked and he's lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks. That's what it's all about!

    I love you Simply Fit Board. You are a perfect fit for me and my health!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Blairsville, GA,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Even though the board is advertised to support weights of 400 pounds, I only weigh 126 and my board has cracked down the middle. I went to the QVC site which is where I purchased the board, and it seems they no longer sell this item.

    I am very disappointed as I did enjoy using it prior to it cracking.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 2, 2018

      Helen

      I also bought a board from QVC, and mine broke after a month, it just cracked down the middle. QVC no longer sells them. I asked if they had problems with these but they said, "not that they knew of," which is not true. I do like working out on this, so I’m trying a new one to see what happens. I'll keep you posted.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 86

Write a Review for Simply Fit Board!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review