About Simply Fit Board

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Apr 21, 2016

The Simply Fit Board is a plastic exercise device intended to strengthen core muscles and trim waist fat by using its balance-board design to enhance workouts.

Balance boards come in all shapes and sizes and have been around the workout world for some time now, but the Simply Fit has gained a lot of popularity since it made an appearance on Nov. 6, 2015, on the popular ABC entrepreneur show Shark Tank. There, founders Linda Clark and her daughter Gloria Hoffman were thrilled when shark and QVC personality Lori Greiner agreed to invest $125,000 for a 20% stake in the company.

We’re guessing you came to our page either because you saw Simply Fit on Shark Tank and wanted to learn more, or you’ve heard about the balance-board workout craze and came across the trending board as you did some research.

Either way, we’re glad you’re here. Over the next few minutes we’re going to answer the following questions:

  • What is the Simply Fit Board?
  • Do balance boards really offer any benefits?
  • What are people saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What is the Simply Fit Board?

The Simply Fit is crafted from a special plastic, a video on the website says, that allows you not only to rock back and forth like a traditional balance board, but also to twist from side to side. The board’s surface includes handles for hands and non-slip surfaces for feet.

It comes in five different colors with descriptive names like atomic orange and bright magenta. The boards cost $44.95.

In addition to highlighting the board, the Simply Fit website also pushes their series of 10-minute YouTube workout videos that offer tutorials on how to use the board, workouts designed for kids as well as a variety of workouts for adults.

The website claims their board helps weight loss, targets abdominal fat (a.k.a. muffin tops), tones legs, improves balance and offers several other benefits.

Do balance boards really offer any benefits?

As we mentioned earlier, balance boards (they’re also called “wobble boards”) have been around for a while. They literally come in all shapes and sizes. Some are discs with rounded bottoms, while others are shaped like skateboards with knobs underneath them.

Even though they’re all designed differently, balance boards, in general, try to do one thing: improve your balance.

But are they really effective in this end, or just gimmicky pieces of workout equipment? We wanted to know, so we did some research through the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM).

In 2011, they published a piece on using balance training with older adults. It pointed out that our balance can be maintained and improved as we get older. We think this bodes well for balance boards (Simply Fit included) because they can be a “lifetime” type workout equipment rather than a passing fad.

Specifically, the ACSM said balance training can:

  • Rehabilitate injuries
  • Strengthen muscles
  • Condition the body
  • Improve stability and postural alignment
  • Help prevent falls

Another published piece from the ACSM, “Ankle Sprains and the Athlete”, points out that balance boards are “an excellent rehabilitation technique that helps strengthen and stabilize the ankle.” It even goes as far as to say that you can reduce the risk of re-injury by up to 50% using balance boards during rehab.

Even Mayo Clinic has pages devoted to balance exercises, which, they say, should be included in your daily routine and can improve your stability.

So what’s the takeaway here for the average person who’s interested in using these boards? They seem to be an excellent way to improve your balance, posture and rehab injuries. We run into a lot of junk science during our reviews, but, based on what we’ve read, we feel pretty positive about the benefits balance-board workouts can provide.

We think it’s important to point out something we noticed on the Simply Fit website, though. The site claims that their balance board fights “muffin top” and helps you burn fat.

Based on the research we’ve done, there’s not a lot of evidence to support that claim. It’s our opinion that the fat-burning benefits listed on the Simply Fit site are the result of the company’s workout videos and not the board itself.

But our opinion is just part of the bigger picture. What are your fellow consumers saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What’s the feedback so far about the Simply Fit?

The two main sources of feedback from consumers about the board were found on Simply Fit’s Facebook page, and on the item’s QVC page. The board received 160 reviews on its Facebook page, averaging 4.7 stars and gaining 146 5-star reviews.

Several of the most recent reviews mentioned Shark Tank, others talked about the company’s excellent customer service and many praised the product’s ease of use. The reviews, in general were glowing.

Simply Fit’s balance board has an average rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars on QVC, where 13 of 19 reviewers gave the product the maximum 5-star rating.

Two customers mentioned Shark Tank, while two others said they stopped using it because they were scared they might fall over.

When we look at these reviews as a whole, we think there’s a good chance you’ll be pleased with your Simply Fit Board if you choose to buy it.

How does the Simply Fit Board stack up against other balance boards?

Let’s cut to the chase: while balance exercises are proven to help coordination and muscle strength, those same studies haven’t identified which balance boards work best.

For the average consumer, we think the two factors which matter most when selecting a balance board are weight limits and price.

The Simply Fit Board has a weight limit of 400 pounds and costs $44.95. We found a couple of similar boards on Amazon:

Based on these comparisons, we think the Simply Fit Board is a good value because it supports up to 400 lbs. and costs less than some of its competitors. If you weigh less than 300 lbs., the Isokinetics Deluxe could be a great fit for you.

Our conclusions about the Simply Fit Board

As we mentioned before, we deal with many products that provide a lot of hype and very few benefits. We don’t believe this is the case with Simply Fit’s balance board. It is the latest piece of equipment in a long line of balance tools that can help you with stability and certain rehab programs.

We also think the founders have done a good job of creating a balance board with style. Their bright colors are a breath of fresh air in a market where most boards are made from wood or dark plastic.

It’s important to remember, though, that a balance board by itself has limited benefits. We believe it’s best to buy the board understanding that you’ll need a series of balance-specific workout videos to get the full benefit of the board.

Simply Fit knows this, and we think they’ve done a great job of providing customers with 10 different workout videos that included the balance board.

Before we end our review, we’d like to point out that Mayo Clinic and ACSM said it’s important to start slow with your balance board. As you work up your strength and stability, branch out to more complex exercises.

All in all, we think the Simply Fit Board falls in line with most balance boards in terms of what they do. While the company hasn’t reinvented the wheel, it definitely has captured consumers’ attention with good-looking equipment and free workout videos.

If you’re looking for ways to improve your balance without a balance board, check out these seven difference balance exercises from Mayo Clinic. They’ll strengthen your body and improve your stability for free.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 97 Simply Fit Board Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 35 4 star: 12 3 star: 5 2 star: 10 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 97
Sort reviews by:

  • 141 out 156 people found this review helpful

    Once you learn to use it correctly, you will LOVE IT

    • Ohio,
    • Nov 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Simply Fit Board a few weeks ago. I absolutely love it. I read some previous complaints, and the major one was that the board tends to "walk" as you use it. This goes away after a few workouts, I promise! I was frustrated at first, just like other new users. Now, I stay in the same place and don't even think about it. It is all about your body adjusting to the balance. Don't give up or get frustrated. This is a great product, it is easy to store, absolutely silent, and gives a full body workout. I do not normally enjoy strength training. The strength exercises they have come up with are enjoyable and actually produce results. The rocking plank is genius. Thank you so much for this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 140 out 149 people found this review helpful

    It cracked!

    After six months of use, it has developed cracks in it. I weight 160 lbs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 131 out 161 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I have done everything right and even watched the video on how to stand on the board, but it keeps walking off and not staying in place. I would love for it to stay in place so that I can twist away but it keeps moving off. I even wore 3 different Sketchers and the board still keeps moving forward and sideways and backwards.

    I am very disappointed and frustrated that I trusted your product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 124 out 148 people found this review helpful

    Customer Service

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just received my board today the 28th. It was ordered on the 10th. I sent several emails regarding my order because it was purchased for a friend for her birthday. Which I might add was 3 days ago. So I now have the board, 3 days late. Customer service didn't even bother to reply to my emails and give me any insight to when it would be shipped. They sent the shipping label out of the 19th to Fedex, but the board didn't get received until 25th. That sucks as far as I am concerned. At this time I would only recommend it to someone if they 3-4 weeks to wait on receiving it.

    You want to stay in business you need to improve your customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 120 out 143 people found this review helpful

    Don't spend your money

    • Nevada,
    • Oct 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just don't spend your money. They don't answer emails. Slow even when you pay extra for quick ship. This company has so much to learn. I thought when Lori Greiner got involved it would be better. Lori take your money and walk away from these two ladies who own it. Their product is nothing to write home about. VERY DISAPPOINTED with the service all the way around. They have some real smart mouth girls and it's apparently not being monitored for their service style. Don't waste your time writing and complaining as it does not do any good. I will tell all of my friends to NOT buy from these people. A waste of my time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 118 out 137 people found this review helpful

    Do not TRUST them.

    • Woodbridge, VA,
    • Aug 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered weeks ago. My credit card was charge twice and I still haven't receive the board.

    No customer service email address and NO one cares about this. I sent a Facebook message which they deleted and never got an answer from them. I even emailed Shark Tank about it and no answer once or ever.

    According to the shipping tracking number it is going to take about 8 days within the shipping process, meaning that maybe I will get it by August 24th. Handling took them another 9 days, seems like they sent it snail mail but charged me next day fees.

    Total mess, they have no clue how to handle an online business and are totally unaware that the secret to online business is FAST and EFFICIENT shipping, otherwise they are destined to fail.

    Do not waste your time, go for one of the alternative options that you can find at Amazon, at least you are certain that shipping will be done within a day or so, it might be free and customer service is according to the standards we are used to with a reliable company.

    Simply Fit is a total joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 114 out 129 people found this review helpful

    It's working for me.

    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 60 years old and well over 300 lb. It took some practice to learn to balance on the board, and even more practice to use it for any length of time. I use it for 30-60 minutes per day while watching TV. My personal preference is to use it barefoot. If I get tired or lose my balance, I just get off of it for a while and try again later. The board is not my only form of exercise, but I really enjoy it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 96 out 111 people found this review helpful

    Fun and sweaty!

    • Sep 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got mine. I was really excited to try something quiet because I have a gazelle machine that is very squeaky and everyone complains when the TV is on if I'm trying to use it. I jumped on it in my bare feet and started twisting. I absolutely love it!

    It's a lot of fun and you don't even notice that you're working out. I was sweaty just from the basic twist without weights after about five minutes. Yes, the board walks around a little bit depending on how your body is leaning while you're twisting. I would assume it works when you are not engaging and focusing on your core. When I'm paying attention, it doesn't scoot around the floor. So my guess is that as my cord get stronger I will stand up straighter and not lean into it and that won't be an issue. But for right now I am very happy with the product. I plan to use it every day so that I can probably jump into my bikini and feel really good about it! I think that is an attainable goal for a 40-year-old with this product. I think I will probably purchase more of these for holiday gifts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 78 out 102 people found this review helpful

    Hole in the carpet

    • El Centro,
    • Nov 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst. It wore a hole in my carpet. Thanks, now I had to buy a rug to cover it. If you're going to use this put something under it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 77 out 90 people found this review helpful

    I Love It!

    I got my Simply Fit Board approximately two weeks ago. I try to use it daily and have already seen results, I have already dropped 5 lbs!

    I work in the school system and often don't have time for exercise but this makes it so easy. I told several of my co-workers about it and took it to work with me today and let everyone try it and they loved it. I have had several co-workers text me for the order info and they are all ordering it. We are even considering after work group workouts in the school cafeteria.

    This board makes workouts fun and easy! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 70 out 78 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Customer Services. Very Displeased.

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Nov 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased this product after watching the infomercial one evening. After purchasing the item I noticed that the original charge appeared on my account which was perfectly fine. Three days later I reviewed my account and noticed that an additional duplicate charge appeared on my account. I called customer service only to see why there was a duplicate charge and the customer service started screaming at me and talking over me. The only reason I called is because it's my account and what person would not be concerned. Please be aware that you will be charged twice and have to wait 5 days to get your money back even though it was their mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 97

Write a Review for Simply Fit Board!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review