Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

TAPfit

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
TAPfit

Overall Rating

3.6

94 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

TAPfit’s dance fitness program will get you burning calories while you learn the basics of tapdancing. Customer reviews indicate this niche workout strategy is an excellent option for many, but the estimated calorie counts are off.

Pros

  • An innovative way to get in shape
  • Easy enough for dance beginners to learn
  • Both subscription and one-time purchase options available

Cons

  • You likely won’t burn as many calories as the company claims
  • A highly specific form of exercise that won’t appeal to everyone
  • Buying the company’s accessories is necessary to maximize the experience
  • Production quality isn’t always professional-grade

TAPfit Review: A Detailed Look

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Jul 1, 2020

TAPfit is a dance fitness program that utilizes the principles of tap dance to get you moving to a beat—no prior dance experience required.

This innovative fitness program was founded by four Australian sisters, all of whom are tap teachers who graduated from the Les Griffith Tap Dance Academy and have diplomas from the World Tap Dance Championships in Reisa, Germany.

This program purportedly builds on their expertise to give you a full-body workout that combines dance moves with cardio, conditioning, and strength training to get you in shape.

To maximize your experience, you should wear TAPfit’s patented taps that fit over your gym shoes to add a beat to every move you make.

In this review, we take a detailed look at TAPfit to tell you if it works and help you decide if it is right for you.

Is TAPfit a Good Way to Exercise?

An instructor guides you through every step of TAPfit workouts to ensure that even beginners can figure out the moves.

The brand claims that all steps are low-impact and safe for a variety of fitness levels while ensuring you get your heart rate up for maximum calorie burning—even up to 800 calories per hour.

That’s a claim that Dr. Aragona, a general practitioner and family doctor at Prescription Doctor challenges. “From a medical and health perspective, tap dancing can be great exercise,” he shared with us.

“On average, tap dancing burns around 315 calories per hour, so a usual 2-hour class would mean you have burned 630 calories. If you take those classes over multiple days of the week, you will have burned a lot of calories overall.

“Unfortunately, the claim that it is 800 calories in one hour is false, even an exercise such as running can only burn around 600 calories an hour, and that is a more intense workout for the body overall.”

Features and Options

TAPfit currently offers two ways to join the experience: an online subscription or a DVD bundle purchase.

TAPfit Online

Access TAPfit’s content anywhere with an internet connection with TAPfit online. You’ll get access to over 100 dance workouts in multiple programs with nutrition plans and recipes that are updated weekly.

The company also shares a schedule of live classes so that you can plan to tap with others in real-time.

Cost: $27/month, all new subscribers receive a seven-day free trial.

TAPFit Transformation System

If you’re not a fan of the subscription model, you can purchase TAPfit transformation systems. You’ll get DVD access to dozens of workouts as well as the fitness equipment needed to get started.

Here are the package deals:

TAPfit Starter TAPfit Deluxe TAPfit Platinum
Cost $97 $167 $249
Includes
  • Slip-on taps
  • Five beginner-friendly dance workouts on DVD
  • Resistance band
  • Limited online access to TAPfit online studio (beginner classes only)
  • Everything in the Starter Kit
  • Rollable, foldable floor
  • Learn to Tap video tutorials
  • Equipment-free fat-burning workout
  • Everything in the Deluxe Kit
  • Full forever access to the online studio
  • Support calls with Kat and Annie
  • Access to new routines and recipes
  • Keepsake storage box
  • 21-day nutrition plan
  • Weight loss roadmap

TAPfit Taps

The company’s patented taps have a non-slip runner grip and fit over the sole of any flat-bottom shoe to turn them into dance shoes. They feature stainless steel taps on the heels and toes to produce a distinctive click with each step.

It’s not currently possible to purchase these taps or floor mat without buying one of these three systems.

My Experience with TAPfit

The sign-up process was very simple and I was ready to go within minutes. The TAPfit online portal has a simple layout, with a welcome message and six weeks of classes available on the main page.

You can personalize an online profile by adding photos, joining groups, and connecting with other members. You’ll also gain access to all seven TAPfit courses:

  • 28-Day Home Health Challenge
  • MOVEnBURN Body Challenge
  • TAPfit Advanced
  • TAPfit Dance Challenge
  • TAPfit Platinum
  • TAPfit Starter Series
  • TAPfit Workouts

I’m a complete beginner to tap dance, so I started with the TAP Basics class. Instructor Kat Johnson introduced the steps slowly and thoroughly articulated every move so I felt comfortable following along.

Honestly, though, the dance routine wasn’t much fun when I performed it barefoot on the carpet; the brand’s tap shoes and dance mat seem essential to having fun with this workout.

The week one tutorial class built on the basics with a simple warmup and pump up music that quickly put me in workout mode.

Kat’s reminder to swing my arms instead of merely focusing on the footwork helped me get my heart rate up quickly, and I broke a sweat during the warmup.

The class became increasingly more fun, even though I didn’t have the right footwear.

Post warmup was another instructional period with Kat to learn more steps. The slower pace and lack of music pulled me out of the moment until round two of the workout started. Again, the total body moves got my heart rate up quickly.

By the end of the thirty-minute class, I was ready to be finished and was left feeling like I could have gotten in a more efficient workout in other ways. While the dance sessions were fun, I found the frequent instructional breaks made things tedious.

I wanted to see how the class structure changed for different courses, so next challenged myself to a week 5 class workout. Despite not being able to keep up with all the moves, I thought the class pace felt more like a traditional workout.

Kat’s instructions weren’t distracting, though the constantly shifting camera angle actually left me slightly dizzy.

Overall, the classes flowed well with an appropriate amount of instruction. But when it comes to getting in an efficient workout, I was left feeling like there was a lot of wasted time where I could have been working.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 30 customers have left reviews for TAPfit on our website. These reviews average 3.2-stars with a 59% recommendation rating. Here’s a snapshot of their comments.

Compliments:

  • Dances are fun and engaging
  • Great way to get in shape, especially for people who weren’t active previously
  • Wide variety of music choices for different tastes
  • Talented, encouraging instructors

Complaints:

  • Poor quality video editing, difficulty navigating the main menu
  • Delayed delivery, the product never arrived in some cases
  • Some users didn’t receive a refund after returning the product

TAPfit vs. Figure 8 Fitness

For those who would instead be dancing at the club than sweating at the gym, another home workout program that promises to get you in shape is Figure 8 Fitness.

Figure 8 Fitness is lead by Latin DanceSport world medal winner Jaana Kunitz. It is offered as a comprehensive program of 14 classes and instructional videos that guide you through progressively challenging your body.

Rather than tap dance, this fitness series focuses on Latin-inspired dance moves to tone your core and get your glutes in gear.

The program is currently offered as a one-time purchase for $47. It’s another $10 if you want to receive DVDs instead of merely having digital access.

It includes all 14 workout sessions, a success tracker, a workout journal, a PDF workout planner guide, a nutritional blueprint, and a faster-paced “Figure 8 Express” series of over 30 ten-minute videos.

As with TAPfit, you can also sign up on a subscription basis. $11.99 per month (or $108 per year) gives you access to more than 100 hours of workout videos, including the full Figure 8 Fitness series and other programs like Figure 8 Ultimate, Figure 8 PRO, and more.

Deciding between these two dance cardio options will likely come down to pricing and your preferred workout style.

TAPfit’s tap dance style workout is more unique, but it’s likely to appeal to a smaller number of people. This program is also more expensive, and frankly, only works if you commit to the company’s patented tap shoes. Without them, the dancing sequences feel lackluster (at least in my experience).

Return Policy

All purchases qualify for a 30-day refund policy for refunds or exchanges. Items are only eligible if they are unused, in the same condition you received it, and in original packaging. Shipping costs are nonrefundable, and in most cases, a restocking fee and will be deducted from the refund.

TAPfit Online membership purchases are ineligible for refunds.

The Bottom Line

TAPfit offers a unique form of exercise that is likely to appeal to those who typically avoid the gym. The engaging dance workouts are easy to learn (even for beginners), and customer reviews indicate that it’s incredibly satisfying to tap along to the beat of the music.

For me, TAPfit wasn’t impressive. The workouts didn’t seem much different than other forms of dance cardio, and I found the classes started and stopped too often to feel like I was getting in the groove. But this is a largely personal opinion, and your experience may differ.

Overall, TAPfit classes will get you moving and burning calories, but you need to be realistic about how many calories you’ll actually burn per session.

In any case, the best kind of exercise is any type that you’ll actually do, so TAPfit is an excellent option if it offers what it takes to get you moving.

Customer Reviews

3.6 Stars out of 94 Reviews
5 Star:59% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:31%
66% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of TAPfit:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 27, 2021

Fun way to exercise

By Barbara R., Pine Mountain Club, CA, Verified Reviewer

I just received the TAPfit Deluxe and my first workout yesterday. Even though I have a little bit of tap experience, I started with the first DVD and then did a couple of the songs in the first week's workout. I had a blast and I did feel it was a workout. I could see how it might be a little difficult for someone with no tap experience, but the instructions were clear and a slow enough pace to catch on. Also, I contacted customer service via email, as I had a couple of questions, and they got back to me immediately and were very helpful. I was impressed! I am so glad I decided to get this program!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Excellent customer service

The instructions are clear for beginners

TAPfit makes exercise fun

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 26, 2021

Make some noise!

By Mary S., Vashon Island, WA, Verified Reviewer

I am a disabled cancer patient with limited mobility. It's way too easy to sit and be still all day and use my disability as my driver but I wanted to participate in my health and recovery. I decided to be in charge of getting to my best possible self and my "new normal".

In my "other life" I was very active and enjoyed moving and walking and yes, taping and "making some noise"! When I found TAPfit I was so excited to find something so simple and easy and beneficial.

The cancer disabled my spine making it difficult to stand and more difficult to stay active. I was losing my core strength and knew I had do something - anything to keep balance and strength going. I use a cane or walker when I am out and about. At home I navigate using the furniture or handrails. Starting a tap at home class seemed so far out there but oh so fun. I got approval from my healthcare team and in no time at all I was hooked.

I received my home studio equipment and took a new look at my abilities and routines. I started slow and took on the sessions 20 minutes at a time doing each for 2 weeks until I was able to complete each session.

I did it! I admit I am not fast and I hold onto the desk while I tap using my computer to "run the class". I am moving more - I am standing better and feel my core getting stronger. I am making some noise!

The best part - every time I pull out my portable mat and put on my slip-on tap shoes my dogs get so excited for class time. They are into the classes as well. My older dog gets her favorite toys out and brings them over to the mat and enjoys hearing her nails click on the mat. My dog loves TAPfit classes too! Who knew?!

I am moving again and getting stronger daily thanks to TAPfit.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The ease in use

Easily stored and ease in setting up

I can go at my own pace

My mat moves on the carpet

Posted on Jul 21, 2021

So much fun!

By Gina N., Franklin, TN, Verified Reviewer

I am a 58-year-old who hates the gym and all things exercise. I kept seeing TAPfit ads and finally made the decision to order it. I love it! It gets me moving and gives me exercise without even realizing it’s exercise! It’s a great program and I love the family-made business model. If you’ve been wondering whether or not you should get it, do it! You’ll have fun!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The slow start and how it makes it so doable

It’s fun

It’s a family business

Can be a little confusing finding the bonus workouts

The emails welcoming me to the next week when I didn’t get 3 workouts in before

Posted on Jun 17, 2021

My new fun workout

By Larissa S. , Brisbane, Australia

Loving this program! It’s such a great way to keep fit and mix up my normal routine. It came 4 days after I ordered it but I’ve only got around to trying it now because I’ve been busy with grandkids.

I really like the instructors and I find it so easy to follow with such simple instructions. I showed my husband my tap steps the other day and he was really impressed.

The slip-on taps are great too!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The dance workouts

The girls at customer service helped me out quickly

The instructors

Would like more info about my next steps when I’ve finished all these dance workouts

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 16, 2021

Love to tap

By Angela S., Mililani, HI, Verified Reviewer

I absolutely love this program. The customer service is wonderful. I’ve had many questions and Jasmine has always responded quickly and solved the issue. If you are looking for a new workout routine, I recommend TAPfit. It’s fun, easy to follow, and you don’t even feel like you’re working out because you are too busy dancing!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to follow dance routines

Tap floor

Taps for your sneakers

Great customer service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jun 15, 2021

Dance and more

By Cheryl M., Pittsburg, KS, Verified Reviewer

The tap dance segments are easy enough for beginners and can be upped for the more experienced.

The rubber taps that go over your shoes can be challenging to put on the shoe but once you get the hang of it and find a good shoe to use, no problems. Also, if one already has tap shoes, those can be used just fine.

In addition, if you up your membership, you get access to all sorts of additional resources. I came to the program for fitness but I can see it is a great weight loss tool as well.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The easy to follow instructions

The variety

The ability to go at your own pace

Taps are difficult to put on shoes

Posted on Jun 15, 2021

My TAPfit experience

By Johnna M., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I first got excited about this seeing all the ads on Facebook. I was a dancer in my youth and had been adding barre exercise into my physical routine, tap seemed like a fun addition. I have hard-to-fit feet so the “over any shoe” taps seemed a perfect fit.

The ordering process was a bit over the top with all of the different promotions. I almost bailed as I hate websites like this. But I ended up ordering the package and the floor. All too expensive for what it was in my opinion. So I was nervous.

Well, I only got one short order confirmation and no shipping info. It took complaints in the Facebook ad did comments to get a text. Still, it took forever, over two months, and I initiated every communication. I was not happy. But they did eventually arrive.

Second issue was the fit of the taps. They don’t work in any shoe. The shoe must be really flat. And I had the large size for my size 10w feet. The taps were kind of big and also narrow. Sigh. They really pinched my toes so they went numb. Well, I ended up using some old bumpers and made it work.

I did the 28-day challenge and the 6-week starter course. The materials were encouraging and did help keep me on track. Got a few new meal ideas.

The course itself was sound. I think the production values could use work. The mix is off. Sometimes the instruction vocals or the music are too loud or too soft. Sometimes they aren’t in sync. Sometimes there are mistakes. I prefer the individual lessons over the ones with multiple people. Remember we are learning, not watching a show. Show the feet and body all the time. So even though I enjoyed the course I feel the production was rushed and the price should reflect that. I’m a musician and understand studio recording, etc., record when you're ready and know your parts and not before. I think focusing on all the basic steps first would be helpful. Then move to more complex choreography.

With all that said, I’ve had a lot of fun tapping and I will continue. I look forward to getting deeper into the program.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The positive you can do this attitude.

The coaching.

The upgrade I received to make up for the shipping delay.

The price.

The sloppy production.

The fit of the taps on my shoes.

Posted on Jun 8, 2021

TAPfit is a blast!

By Amy P. , Oklahoma

I love TAPfit so far, it’s my first week. I used to take tap lessons as a kid and love dancing. I have hip, low back, and neck pain and TAPfit is low impact and I can modify as I go. The stretching at the end of the workouts also help me. I am looking forward to the intermediate and advanced levels and even becoming an instructor one day!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It makes exercise fun!

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jun 4, 2021

New Tap Dancer

By Wanda A., Fort Worth, TX, Verified Reviewer

I’m 67 years old and I like trying new forms of moving and exercise. I’ve never tap danced before in my life. The beginner basic steps are really easy to follow along with and the short dance workout that is after the tutorial is full of energy and lots of fun. Kat Johnson is adorable with her cute accent and enthusiasm. I’m not really worried about how many calories I burned or even if my heart rate is a certain number. I think if something is fun to do, it will hold your interest and keep you moving. TAPfit definitely does that for me. Try it! You won’t regret it!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Something different.

A great way to keep me moving.

High energy and fun.

Not boring.

It seems to only work the lower part of your body.

Equipment required.

Posted on Jun 3, 2021

Checked one off my bucket list!

By Marilee H., Lynnwood, WA, Verified Reviewer

One of the things I have on my bucket list is to learn to tap dance. I have done other forms of dance throughout my many years but tap seems to be hard for me, for some reason.

I saw TAPfit as an ad on Instagram. I then looked it up on my computer and after reading everything, I felt this was my way of killing two birds with one stone.

Starting January 1, 2021 I began a weight-loss journey to get me in better shape for my daughter's wedding in August of this year.

I was already using the rowing machine, and I started to watch my diet after New Years, but everything I had read told me that just doing one form of exercise would probably not get me to my goal.

So when I found TAPfit, I thought not only would it give me my alternative form of exercise, but would teach me to tap dance as well!

I initially bought the mat, tap sliders, and basic program, for a really good price. I appreciated the careful breakdown of the steps and when I was comfortable, I moved on to the workouts. This exercise uses different muscles than the ones I use doing my rowing machine, so I was actually toning more of my body than if I just used one or the other alone.

I liked some of the routines more than others. Some teachers were better for me than others. I was just beginning to think I wanted to upgrade so I could start learning some Broadway dances, which is why I wanted to tap dance in the first place.

I waited because I don't like monthly payments. I thought maybe I would do it for a month or two and see if I liked it, when lo and behold, a fabulous offer!

The Memorial Day sale offered me lifetime access for $97.00! I totally decided to get it!

I couldn't find a link or anything to get the sale, so I sent a message to TAPfit and asked what to do. I was answered almost immediately, given the link, and I did the deed.

This is a great program, but you have to make it your own. I am 61 and have bad knees. If there is a move that hurts, I modify. My fitness level has increased in the last 5 months, so I have to do two workouts to make up 30 minutes. It's always interesting because I skip the cool down on the first workout and continue to the next. I like to mix and match the workouts. If I don't have enough time, I can do just one of the workouts.

This is a great fit for me, now with the new content I will be dancing up a storm!

I have lost 30 pounds and counting, I lose slowly due to my thyroid and age, but I believe TAPfit is helping me to reach my long-term goals!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like the flexibility of doing one of the workouts or multiple.

I love the breakdown of steps, so easy!

I love that it's a video, no one judging!

Some of the workouts were not as fun as others.

Some teachers I didn't care for as much as others.

Some of the songs I didn't care for.

Posted on May 30, 2021

Soooo fun! We love it!

By Barika C., Oakland, CA, Verified Reviewer

I recently ordered TAPfit for myself for Mother’s Day! I saw the commercial and immediately knew it was for me! Because I have a little girl who loves to have fun with me I ordered her a tap board and shoes and she was excited! We have so much fun together. It doesn’t even feel like a workout until the next day when you feel it a little.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Family fun through dance

Innovative

Amazing product/great service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 1-11 of 94

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.