Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Tecovas Reviews

Tecovas

Overall Rating

3.6

52 Customer Reviews

Summary

Tecovas is an Austin-based boot company that operates exclusively online to provide their customers with cowboy boots that are allegedly significantly cheaper yet high-quality compared to competition.

Write a Review

Tecovas Review - Are These Boots Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Jun 10, 2020

Tecovas is an Austin-based brand of handmade cowboy boots. The boots are advertised as “handmade, high-quality boots that don’t break the bank” on the company website.

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

Paul Hedrick, the company founder, grew tired of the inconvenience of shoe stores and spending almost $1,000 on quality cowboy boots. In 2014, he quit his job and began traveling the world to research ways to make and sell boots more affordably. After 16 months of research and numerous trips to Mexico, he sold his first pair of boots.

The company states that by not having a storefront keeps prices low (about half the price of traditional retail they claim) because you won’t need to pay middlemen for markups at the physical store.

This review examines the boots' details, uses, and cost to help you decide if they're right for you.

What Makes These Boots Stand Out?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots set themselves apart from the competition by providing unprecedented value, being handmade, and offering classic styles for customers to choose from.

Tecovas claims that their boots are twice the quality of other boots at their price point and half the price of similarly quality boots. Their strategy for keeping costs lower is cutting out the retailer and subsequent markups, ensuring that the cost savings are passed on to the customer.

The boots are handmade in León, Mexico in a traditional construction process that takes over 200 steps per shoe. Finally, the company strives to produce the boots in timeless styles that won’t go out of style when trends change.

Pricing

At the time of writing, Tecovas boots ranged in price on the company website from between $195 and $455.

While the company previously maintained a showroom in Austin, the boots are currently only available from the brand’s online store. They proclaim that this makes them the first direct-to-consumer western brand. Orders can be placed online, and all questions should be directed through email to howdy@tecovas.com.

The brand states that all sizes and products listed on their website are available for immediate order, meaning that the vast majority of successful orders are shipped within one business day.

Selecting free shipping at checkout means most orders will arrive within 3-5 business days, and the company provides options to upgrade to Next Business Day or 2nd Business Day shipping as well.

The website also states that all orders are shipped with a free peel-off return label and instructions for issuing a return. If the label is lost for any reason, customers can email the company to receive a new one.

Important Details

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

The company also makes it clear that Tecovas insoles aren’t designed to be removed from the shoe, meaning that some customers might find it difficult to wear them with an orthotic or special insert. To ease the process, the company suggests ordering boots a half size up to accommodate the extra room.

While it is possible to tear out the insole to accommodate larger inserts, the company notes that this will void their ability to be returned.

Bottom Line

Our research into Tecovas painted a pretty clear picture of the brand.

Customer reviews on HighYa for the boots are overwhelmingly positive, and the company implements an easy return policy in case you aren’t completely satisfied with your purchase.

However, the reviews we looked at on the company website seemed to indicate that only a small portion of customers end up returning their boots.

Those looking for a rugged work boot are likely to be disappointed with Tecovas, as the boots are designed more for walking and fashion than work. Nonetheless, reviewers consistently praised how well their boots held up after months of regular wear.

If you are looking for a pair of high-end cowboy boots that will last for longer than a season, then Tecovas boots might be a brand to begin your search.

Customer Reviews

3.6 Stars out of 52 Reviews
5 Star:55% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:7% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:23%
65% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Tecovas:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 1, 2022

Out of stock and overpriced

By Michael O., Fort Worth, TX, Verified Reviewer

Ordered a pair of boots, FedEx “lost” them. Tecovas said, “oh well, FedEx lost them and we don’t have any more in that style, here’s a gift card for when they come back in style.” I will discount the gift card and sell it to someone else. Who wants a reminder set of this nightmare company?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Poor customer service

Zero products selection

Managers are clueless

Posted on Sep 25, 2022

Horrible shipping

By Paul B., Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a pair of boots and they were shipped via FedEx (only option). FedEx said arrival on Sunday. I stayed home so I would not have my boots stolen off my porch. Sunday passed without delivery. The website then said delivery Monday. FedEx truck drives by the house with no delivery. I called FedEx and they stated delivery would be before 5pm and that driver would call me.

Anyways the boots never came. They were listed as being in their local distribution center for two days now. I call Tuesday morning and now FedEx says all they have is an empty box and that I have to call Tecovas.

I call and explain and am put on hold for an extended time. Meanwhile, the Tecovas rep reordered the boots with the same FedEx since that is all they use. I did not want to reorder but to cancel and get refund. I’m then told by another rep that the boots have to be shipped out then they will ask FedEx to return them and once they receive them back I will be issued a refund. When I asked why no one ever answered my email he said they get a lot of emails and have limited staff. Bad overall experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Shipping

Customer service

Posted on Sep 9, 2022

Poor customer service

By Exward M., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I placed an order originally for the alligator boots from Tecova under the pretense that I was receiving a free belt with my order. I was told because I am fat and wear a size 50 belt I was not entitled to a free belt with the purchase of the alligator boots. I called customer service and spoke to Leslie the manager who told me I was not entitled to the belt because they do not carry that size for fat people. I told Leslie to cancel my order. Do not do business with Tecovas, their customer service is poor and I would never order from them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Poor customer service

Insult to customers because of their weight

Do not listen to what the customers are saying

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2022

Not worth the money

By Herb L., Norman, OK, Verified Reviewer

The boots are ok but way overpriced. I would give them a 5.1 overall. I have had much more inexpensive boots that are so much better.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to order

The boots are not the best quality

Overpriced

Posted on Jun 16, 2022

The Jasper and The Chance

By Gary J., Fairfax, VA, Verified Reviewer

Turns out I'm near a brick-and-mortar store that I just happened to bump into it walking around the Mosaic District shopping center in Fairfax, VA. I ended up buying The Chance (Chelsea boot) and was so impressed I went back a couple of weeks later and got The Jasper (smooth Ostrich, gunpowder finish). Great boots at a great price. Bought some shirts and jeans, too. I see more Tecovas in my future.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great products

Great service

Fair price

Would like to see more shirts

Would like to see more apparel in general

Posted on Mar 11, 2022

The Annie boots

By Susan H., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a pair of The Annie in November of 2021. I liked them so much that I purchased another pair in the color midnight. I received them in February. I was out and about last weekend and the heel fell off. The bottoms of the boots were also so worn out for only having them a month. I cannot recommend Tecovas boots.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to order online

Quality of the boots

Posted on Nov 23, 2021

Customer disservice

By Scott Q., Monroe, CT, Verified Reviewer

Received a pair of Tecovas as a gift. They were too big and the right size was out of stock. Waited, and finally got a notice that they were in. Went to do the exchange and they said sorry, OOS again. Got another notice, and the exchange went through. Sent boots back only to get a notice that the replacement was OOS. Customer service promised to help and eventually let me know they’d be sending the replacement. A week later, no boots. Sorry, OOS again! This time when I contacted them they just processed a refund to the gift giver! Now I’ve got nothing but a bad taste.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Style and color

Poor communication

Assumed refunding the gift giver was right

Repeated frustration with customer service

Posted on Aug 10, 2021

Don't buy the Ostrich

By Robert M., Saint Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

These boots were a disappointment from the start. I have never stopped using a pair of boots because they look so bad. I just shine them and go. These have a lot of life and just sit in my closet looking ugly.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfort

Leather quality

Posted on Jul 27, 2021

First pair, not last pair

By Bruce N., Conshohocken, PA, Verified Reviewer

Selection and ordering of the boots were a breeze, shipping notifications were on time every step of the order process, and delivered when promised by FedEx in a well-packaged box. Boots were wrapped in protective plastic, socks were included inside. Inspected the boots, no scuffs, no missed or loose stitches, the bison leather had no issues with the dye, Vibram soles had no issues. Boots slid right on, size ran true no heel slip. I could feel the boot adjust to my instep and foot contour, no issues at work, good support, and traction on dirt, mud, and grass. These Banderas are keepers.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quality

Website

Order tracking

Boot shafts unlined

Posted on Jul 6, 2021

Jasper

By Monte J., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

After looking at them in the Tecovas store, I ordered a pair of Jasper in my size. The boots arrived quickly but were subpar. The dye on the Ostrich skin was really splotchy and non-matching pieces of skin were used in the same boot. I took them back to the store, and the clerk lectured me on smooth Ostrich skin and that there was nothing wrong with the boots. I showed her the display Jasper pair, which were basically perfect, and she did not have an explanation and refunded my money. I have four other pairs of Tecovas including another pair of Jasper and am happy with all of them. They should not have sent the pair I received and should train their employees to argue about clearly defective boots in hopes of avoiding a refund.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good value

Quality control

Posted on Jul 5, 2021

Not worth the money

By Ron O., Madera, CA, Verified Reviewer

While the boots were new, they looked and seemed of quality materials. After wearing them for about a year (about two times a week) the leather on the upper part of the shaft split and showed a thin rope under the very thin leather. Then on the toe of the sole the leather wore completely out so as to show the inner sole. I believe that the leather that is used to make these boots is of inferior quality leather. Of course I am not a leather expert and this is just my opinion.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Boots look nice when new

Poor quality

Showing 1-11 of 52

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.