Vital Reds by Gundry MD Review: Does It Really Work?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 15, 2019

Vital Reds is a powdered blend of polyphenol-rich superfruits, natural fat-burning ingredients, and probiotics that Gundry MD advertises will help increase your natural energy, promote digestion, and improve the health and appearance of your skin.

Additional benefits noted on the website include better food metabolizing, less gas and bloating after meals, smoother bowel movements, and “the feeling of finally having the power to start getting your weight under control.”

All you have to do, Gundry MD tells us, is mix one scoop of Vital Reds’ berry-flavored, quick-dissolve formula with a glass of water or the beverage of your choice, and enjoy once per day, with or without food. From there, its soy, sugar, and artificial sweetener-free blend will get to work.

Combining our in-depth research and interviews with professionals, we’ll take a detailed look at Vital Reds’ formulation, the available clinical evidence for Gundry MD’s claims, and the supplement’s close competitors—all so you can decide whether or not to buy.

How Do the Polyphenols in Vitals Reds Work?

Polyphenols are naturally occurring micronutrient compounds found in plants that give them their color and help protect them from external threats.

In humans, Dr. Jason Reed, founder of BestRxForSavings says, “the most likely reason polyphenols are beneficial is due to the fact that they have antioxidant properties.”

They “prevent free radicals (electrons that bounce off of atoms) from bouncing around inside our bodies and causing a host of [inflammation-based] issues,” he adds, such as atherosclerosis and arthritis.

However, Reed points out that the human body doesn’t require polyphenols to maintain good health. Furthermore, it doesn’t necessarily take dozens of “exotic” ingredients—as Gundry MD advertises for those in Vital Reds—to reap the potential benefits polyphenols might provide, he said.

“Eating the recommended daily amount of fruits and vegetables will provide plenty of polyphenols,” he advises.

With these details in mind, let’s zoom in and take a closer look at what you’ll consume with each scoop of Vital Reds.

Which Ingredients are in Vital Reds’ Formula?

Gundry MD advertises that Vital Reds contains the following 100% natural and pure ingredients:

  • Thiamin 1.5 mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7 mg
  • niacin 20 mg
  • Vitamin B6 2 mg
  • Folate 667 mcg DFE (400 mcg folic acid)
  • Vitamin B12 6 mcg
  • Biotin 300 mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10 mg
  • Selenium 70 mcg
  • Chromium 200 mcg
  • Reds Blend 1,760 mcg – Carrot, organic apple peel, grape skin extract, Aronia berry extract, organic flaxseed, grape seed extract, acai fruit extract, acerola fruit extract, apple, apple pectin, organic beetroot, blackberry, European black currant fruit extract, blueberry fruit concentrate, cranberry fruit extract, mango, mulberry fruit, papaya, pomegranate, red raspberry, strawberry, cantaloupe, cherry, grape, grapefruit, lemon, lime, orange, peach, pear, pineapple, plum, watermelon, berberine hydrochloride
  • Metabolic Enhancing Blend 365 mg – Cinnamon bark 5:1 extract, green tea leaf extract, white tea leaf extract, ginger root, turmeric root extract, bitter melon fruit extract, black pepper fruit
  • Digestive Support Blend: Probiotic Blend 3 billion CFU – Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, Lactobacillus reuteri
  • Fructooligosaccharides 250 mg

The US Department of Agriculture recommends that adult men and women eat at least two to three cups of vegetables per day, along with one-and-a-half to two cups of fruit.

With this said, the Centers for Disease Control reports that as of 2015, “just 9 percent of adults met the intake recommendations for vegetables,” and “only 12 percent of adults met the recommendations for fruit.”

As such, Reed tells us, “if a patient did not eat a healthy diet that provided the recommended daily allowance of vitamins and minerals, then it appears Vital Reds would be a benefit.”

Still, he notes, he is “not familiar with this product and given that it is a dietary supplement that doesn’t have to meet the same FDA requirements on efficacy and safety, I can’t say for sure.”

We also know that the medical community has used probiotics—beneficial bacteria strains like Bifidobacteria and Lactobacillus—for decades to help balance digestion, reduce gassiness and bloating, and even boost immune response.

Over the last several years, probiotic supplements have become popular among consumers as well, who use them to achieve many of the same benefits.

Are There Side Effects Related to Vital Reds’ Ingredients?

The Gundry MD website emphasizes that the natural, mostly food-based ingredients found in Vital Reds are 100% safe, as every batch is tested in the USA at a cGMP-certified facility. Then, it’s rechecked for purity, content, and dosage by a third-party lab.

Still, side effects are always a possibility with any dietary supplement, as are medication interactions, which is why it’s important to speak with your doctor before making any purchases.

With these details in mind, the most common side effects as a whole noted by sites like WebMD, the Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com for Vital Reds’ ingredients are mild, temporary digestive upset.

We’ve also learned during our past research that probiotics can initially lead to many of the side effects they’re supposed to treat, such as gassiness and bloating, which typically subside quickly.

How Much Does Vital Reds Cost?

Gundry MD prices each jar of Vital Reds as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 ($66.45 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 ($62.96 per jar)

We also found Vital Reds sold on Amazon for $47.99 per jar at the time of our research.

All direct US orders include free shipping, along with a 90-day guarantee. To request one, you’ll need to call (800)852-0477.

Vital Reds vs. Competing Polyphenol Supplements

There are perhaps hundreds of powders, antioxidant formulas, and polyphenol supplements competing for your business.

Many of these boast the same features as Vital Reds as well, including a wide assortment of fruit and vegetable extracts, a few different probiotic strains, and formulas that are free from sugar, sweeteners, artificial ingredients, and caffeine and other stimulants.

Here were some of the top-rated results in Amazon:

Brand Price / Cost Per Serving Number of Ingredients Notes
Vital Reds $69.95 / $2.33 55 90-day refund policy
Superfood Vital Reds with Greens $39.97 / $1.33 63 Available in cocoa, mocha, and very berry flavors
KaraMD Revive Reds $28.45 / $0.95 49 Very similar formulation to Vital Reds
Purity Products Super Reds $24.95 / $0.83 47 No probiotics
RealDose Essentials Real Reds $46.95 / $1.57 9 1-year money back guarantee
Organifi Green Juice $69.95 / $2.33 13 60-day refund policy,

While you certainly have a lot of options, choosing the right one might be as easy as deciding which factors to emphasize.

For example, if the price is your number one concern, Vital Reds and Organifi Green Juice tie for the highest cost per serving among popular competitors above. Country Farms comes in meaningfully lower, although since each jar only contains 20 servings, you’ll likely have to reorder more often—or order larger quantities at the same time, thereby increasing your upfront costs.

Formulation-wise, RealDose has the fewest ingredients, while Superfood Vital Reds comes with the most. Note: KaraMD offers a very similar formulation as Vital Reds, but at a price that’s almost 60% lower.

Coming in close behind is Organifi, which offers the second-fewest ingredients in its formulation and also ties with Vital Reds for the highest price per serving.

Furthermore, the manufacturer only gives you 60 days to try Organifi out, whereas RealDose ’s one-year satisfaction guarantee awards them with the lengthiest refund policy.

We’ve covered a lot of ground in a relatively short time here, so let’s pull all of these details together to help you come to a conclusion about Vital Reds from Gundry MD.

Our View: Should You Order Vital Reds?

Here on HighYa, more than 1,300 readers have given the Vital Reds powdered supplement an average rating of 4.3 stars (as of 4/8/19), with nearly 90% saying they’d recommend it to a friend.

It’s also much the same on the Gundry MD website, as well as third-party sites like Amazon. As such, it seems that most customers who give the supplement a try are pleased with their experience.

With these positives in mind, Reed emphasizes that most of us can get all the polyphenols we need just by eating the recommended daily allowance of fruits and vegetables.

So, if you’re willing to invest minimal time into altering your eating habits, you might be able to forego supplementation altogether.

But, even if you’re willing to pay for the convenience of getting your daily fruit and veggie allotment via a powdered drink mix, it’s difficult to ignore the fact that Vital Reds costs meaningfully more than many other polyphenol-focused competitors.

We reached out to Vital Reds multiple times to inquire about which factors influence their higher-than-average pricing but were not able to get an answer. Therefore, we think it’s difficult to recommend Vital Reds to customers who are looking to achieve the most value for their money.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1338 Vital Reds by Gundry MD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 844 4 star: 320 3 star: 51 2 star: 22 1 star:  101
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1338
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 89 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Warning

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use this product if you are on high blood pressure meds. My BP shot to 166/97 after taking Vital Reds. Would like to know if sodium is added or is it something else in the compound? Sorry it had this effect as I was looking forward to using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 2, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Anne,

      My name is Aria, customer advocate for Gundry MD. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Vital Reds. Per your question, there is no added sodium in our product. I would like to hear more about your experience so that I can help. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com.

      Thank you for your feedback Anne, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 33 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed With This Marketing Rip-Off

    I ordered 3 jars of Vital Reds at a discount. Online the screen flashed a 60% discount if I buy 6 jars, leading me to believe I was receiving 6 jars at 60%. So now I will be receiving 9 Jars two separate orders and I haven't even tried the product. The company said sorry it's been shipped when I called. What a SCAM and a rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 2, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Thane,

      Aria here with Gundry MD. I want to personally apologize for the confusion you experienced during your ordering process.

      If you email me I will be happy to provide you with a full refund for the order you did not wish to place. Please reach out to aria@gundrymd.com and I will take care of this for your right away.

      Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention, I look forward to hearing from you and adjusting your account so that you are able to experience the great benefits of Vital Reds.


  • 32 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Misleading billing practice

    BEWARE. I ordered 3 jars of Vital Reds. Then, like another woman wrote, a special discount popped up on the screen about ordering 6 jars for a better price. I assumed, like her, 6 jars was the new total. Instead, it was 9 jars. Like her, I was told it had already shipped and I would have to pay return shipping and handling after I opened the box and took out what I really thought I ordered. I told her this was a problem others experienced and it was very dishonest. She finally admitted it was CONFUSING.

    I said I would refuse the whole order and ship it back unopened so I would have no shipping charges. I also had her send me an email stating I would get a full refund when the product was received back. I hope they acknowledge they receive the package. I probably will need to buy a receipt acknowledgement from the post office. Very, very disappointing ethics.

    I have now received the email from the representative.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Not happy.

    • Penetang, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very upset. I just received my one year supply (12 jars) of Vital Reds for a cost of $367.19 Canadian, plus $60.00 duty, only to find an email in my box saying that it was on sale at a 60% savings. What's going on? I now would not recommend this to a friend at the regular price.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 16, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Gloria,

      My name is Aria with Gundry MD. Upon looking up your order, I see that we had a sale after you had purchased. I am happy that we were able to refund you the difference so that you were able to take advantage of our great sale offer!

      I hope that you are enjoying your new supply of Vital Reds, and if you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at aria@gundrymd.com. Thanks Gloria!


  • 31 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered one jar and got a charge and invoice for four. 5 minutes after the order was placed I emailed asking that the order be corrected or canceled and they said it already shipped. RIGHT! They are scammers. I now see many other reviews where the same thing was done to them. BEWARE, don't give them your credit card or PayPal details. They'll overcharge you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 15, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Patrick,

      I am truly sorry that an order was placed for more than you intended, we often offer discounts for larger quantities so that our customers can save on the products they love, and I apologize if this was not clear.

      We usually ship products out next day, that way our customers can start experiencing great benefits as soon as possible. Since our customer service agent got back to you next day, unfortunately your order had already shipped.

      I will be happy to take care of your refund for the product you do not want if you simply email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention, and I look forward to making this right.


  • 66 out 72 people found this review helpful

    No difference

    I wanted so much to see a difference like I was told I would. I have been drinking this for 3 weeks now, and I have not felt any difference. I have no more energy than I had prior to purchasing it and therefore I am sad to say that for it didn't help me at all.

    I'm glad some have found it to be helpful, but I haven't. I will continue to use the rest of the jar, but unless I see a difference by the time I complete it, I won't be wasting my money for more.

    However, if by the time the jar is completed, and I do see a difference, I will be back on to change my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 52 out 73 people found this review helpful

    Misleading order quantity

    • Missoula, MT,
    • Sep 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I meant to order one bottle at $49.95 and was charged for 6 bottles. I will have to dispute this with my credit card company on Monday.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Matt,

      My name is Aria with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you were confused by our ordering process. I will take care of this for your right away, just email me at aria@gundrymd.com.

      Thanks Matt, I look forward to making this right.


  • 31 out 39 people found this review helpful

    No effect so far

    • Sep 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Vital Reds for five days now and have not experienced any changes or improvement to date. I will continue to take it for two weeks and assess the product again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Scott,

      Thanks for your feedback. I encourage you to keep up with Vital Reds so that you too can experience it's great benefits. Please keep us updated, I look forward to hearing about your experience!


  • 55 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Bad refund

    They say if you don't like it you will get a 100% refund. Not so, they only gave me back 40% after only 27 days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 7, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Robert,

      We always honor our 90-day money back guarantee, customers simply return the product back to us even if it is fully used for a 100 percent refund.

      We also like to give customers the option of keeping the product and taking 40 percent off their entire order if they wish to avoid the hassle of sending the product back.

      After looking into your order, I am happy to hear that our customer service team was able to reach out and refund 100 percent of your order. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally at aria@gundrymd.com.

      Thanks Robert!


  • 46 out 57 people found this review helpful

    False Free Shipping Offer

    • California,
    • Sep 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Website states free shipping on ALL U.S. Orders. Then when you place an order they try to charge you for shipping anyway. I received an email stating I would receive a discounted price if I reordered the product Vital Reds. I clicked the link which took me to the offer page that stated there was free shipping on ALL U.S. orders. Fine. I clicked on the "Buy Now" button which took me to a page asking for my information, shipping address, payment info and so on. I could not continue with the order without selecting a shipping price, the cheapest of which was $4.95 additional charge. So I did not put the order through.

    I called customer service who pretended the website did not state in all caps next to a bright blue prominently displayed picture of a delivery truck right above the orange Buy Now button "FREE SHIPPING ON ALL U.S. ORDERS". So I did not reorder from this company that engages in false advertising and does not honor its offers that it emails out. After all, I did not ask them to contact me. Further, I received free shipping on my last order because the website stated free shipping. I only ordered 1 jar then, same as my order was going to be this time. Same delivery address. Same everything. That was just 3 weeks ago. So why not honor the offer now? And if they changed the offer, why email me TODAY with the FREE SHIPPING OFFER? This is not the way to build a loyal customer base that will reorder. Between that and the bitter gritty taste, they can keep it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 7, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Michael,

      I am truly sorry for the confusion. I am happy to extend our free shipping offer to you, simply email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will take care of this for you right away.

      Thank you, I hope to hear from you soon so that you can continue to enjoy the great benefits of Vital Reds!


  • 28 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Vital Red for two months now. I was very excited at first before I began taking them. Not only have they not worked for me, I now have a cold which I have had for about two weeks. So I called for my Hassle Free Refund and was told that I will only be refunded for the empty bottles I send them back because they reuse the empties. Who keeps empty bottles like that when they are finished using the product? I'm terribly disappointed. Would not recommend this product to anyone and am going to contact the Better Business Bureau and register a complaint about the hassle free refund it that is supposed to be guaranteed. The only reason I give them one star is because it's required to submit the review. So, really I give them no stars; I bet they won't even show my review on the site! That's over a hundred dollars down the drain that I could have spent on my grand daughter. I have learned my lesson well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 18, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Anthony,

      Thank you for sharing your review with us. As with most refunds at a store or online, returning the product is usually the standard refund policy. I truly apologize that this inconvenienced you, and will be happy to take care of your refund for you regardless. Simply email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'll be happy to help!

      This website is a third party site not owned by us, therefore we have no control over what the site chooses to post and not post. With that said, I am very happy I was able to see your review on here so that I can have the chance to make it right. Thanks Anthony, I hope to hear from you soon.


Showing 1-11 of 1338

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review