About Vivint

By HighYa Staff

Founded in 1999 with headquarters in Provo, UT and Calgary, Alberta, Vivint is a home automation company that claims to provide you with seamless integration between technology and the way you live. As one of the largest North American home automation companies, Vivint claims to provide more than 750,000 customers with custom-built, easy to use systems that simplify their lives.

Vivint has been featured in Forbes magazine, InformationWeek, as well as PCWorld, and has won a wide variety of awards. The company has a large social media presence, with more than 340,000 Facebook likes, 7,100 Twitter followers, as well as their own YouTube channel and Pinterest feed.

Vivint holds no rating with the Better Business Bureau, though they do have 2,556 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on hundreds of online reviews, the company appears to have a primarily positive reputation, with the most common complaints being an inability to control all technology within your home (as do many of Vivint’s competitors), lack of Wi-Fi control, and poor customer support experiences.

How Vivint Works

Vivint systems are only available for residential customers, and come in four different packages:

  • Home Automation – The Automation package allows you to control things such as your thermostat and small appliances, in addition to video capabilities and intrusion monitoring.
  • Energy Management – Vivint’s Energy Management package is similar to the Home Automation package, except that it does not include video surveillance or automatic door locks.
  • Home Security – The Home Security package is Vivint’s most basic offering, and is intended primarily to safeguard your home against intrusion.
  • Solar Energy – Vivint is unique with their Solar Energy package, which includes solar panels, microinverters, a net meter, and all necessary wiring.

After choosing your package, undergoing a credit check, paying your activation fee (see next section), and signing a 42-month contract, Vivint claims that a technician will likely be available for next day service in order to begin the installation process. If you have a pre-existing security system, your technician will make every attempt to use the equipment. If they are unable to do so, you will need to purchase Vivint’s proprietary equipment, which can be monitored via cellular technology.

All aspects of your Vivint home automation system are controlled using their touchscreen panel, which can manage your HVAC, security, home lighting, video, and more. When you’re away from home, your system can also be controlled via their smartphone app, as well as online.

Specific features vary by package, but can include home healthcare, severe weather alerts, remote access, electronic door locks, and more. If you’re unsure which package is best for you, the company provides free in-home consultations with a trained service technician.

Vivint Pricing & Return Policy

Activation fees start at $99 for home security, $149 for energy management, and $199 for home automation, though yours may be higher depending on your credit rating. Once your Vivint system is installed, monitoring charges range between $49.99 and $68.99 per month, depending on which package you’ve chosen.

If you have you Vivint system installed but are unhappy with its performance, you may cancel without penalty within anywhere from 3 to 30 days afterward, depending on your age and the state in which you live. For additional details, please visit the Vivint FAQ page.

Pros:

  • Tons of high-tech features that can make remotely monitoring your home a breeze.
  • Several different packages from which to choose.
  • Solar Energy and Smart Thermostat technologies can help save money on utility bills.
  • Overall customer satisfaction seems to be very high.

Cons:

  • Only support for hard-wired and cellular monitoring (no Wi-Fi).
  • Can be more expensive than some of the competition.
  • Some consumers have claimed they experienced poor customer service.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 37 Vivint Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • Things they don't tell you

    • West Virginia,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed a 2-year contract, kept them for much longer and then when I just let them go they come after me years later saying I owe them almost $1000.00 because I was supposed to put it in writing prior to contract ending. Fine print I guess, but they should make all aspects of the contract very clear. BS I'm calling it. Then they harass your family members and no clue as to how they got their numbers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Over priced

    • Florida,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A Vivint salesman showed up at my door on a Friday afternoon. I had been thinking about a security system, so I was willing to hear his pitch. I have been in sales all my life and his pitch was the typical garb. He said he had to make sure I qualified…FIRST FLAG. Everyone qualifies. I had to sign up for a five-year monitoring service at $60.00 per month for the equipment I would choose…SECOND FLAG.

    I had an option to purchase the equipment over five years by taking out a personal loan through Citizens Bank in Utah, where the Vivint HQ is located (more on this later)…THIRD FLAG. I indicated that I wanted to research the company before making the purchase. The salesman applied all the great reasons to sign up and told me I had the standard 3 DAYS to change my mind if I did not like the service and equipment…FORTH FLAG. I said that is ridiculous and he changed it to 30 days to cancel the contract. He said he had a tech that could install the equipment that evening…FIFTH FLAG.

    I agreed to the installation and the tech arrived around 7 PM or so and did not leave until after midnight. Every salesman knows if they do not get the contract before they leave, the chances are less than 50% they will later.

    I broke my first purchasing rule…do your research first! Once I started researching, I found a very large number of less than positive reviews. Every company gets bad reviews, but each negative review seemed to reflect the same issues…equipment failures, salesman not being honest, customer service horrors, etc. Even the better reviews seemed to have negative issues as well…STRIKE ONE.

    I then researched the equipment. I found some of the exact items such as the door lock, Kwikset Smart Lock 888, and other items that were as good or better than what Vivint was selling. I chose the higher priced items I found for my comparison and discovered that over the five years of sending payments to Citizens Bank, it would cost me almost double the price…STRIKE TWO.

    The main issue that was very negative to me was that I was taking out a personal loan from Citizens Bank for the equipment. So in two years, my equipment fails and Vivint does not feel obligated to replace it, I am still responsible for the payments.

    I contacted Citizens Bank and they were not very knowable as to the situation. They did indicate that there is no interest on the loan and not even fees that they charge Vivint. I never heard of a back that would process hundreds of loans with no interest and no fees…STRIKE THREE.

    Once my salesman called me about these issues, he only went over his sales pitch and really did not address any of my concerns. He then said he would later contact me to talk about my trepidations. One week later, no call or even an email. Needless to say, I canceled my contract and had the equipment removed. The tech did a nice job of removing the equipment and seemed to understand my issues of cost and reviews.

    To sum it up…double the equipment cost, personal loan that has to be paid regardless if equipment works or not and the monthly monitoring service is very high. I liked all the equipment Vivint installed, but there were too many negative issues for me to consider keeping the service. Just do your research before you purchase from this or any other company that shows up at your door.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service winner

    • Denver, CO,
    • Apr 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After extensive troubleshooting as a result of numerous false alarms, the technical issues with my Vivint system appear to have been resolved. But the customer service is the worst I have experienced for any product anywhere.

    Most recently I have attempted to get the company to send me a certificate of installation for insurance purposes. Because the system is for a home that isn’t my primary residence, another family member signed a service agreement in my absence. Four months and many telephone calls later, I still am unable to get a legible certificate issued in my own name. My most recent contact with the "Customer Loyalty" department was so awful that I can’t understand how they stay in business. And back when the system was sending alarms in the middle of the night, I could rarely rouse a sentient being when I replied to their automated callback.

    I have another security system for a home in another city. It’s cheaper, works better, and has a living, breathing workforce.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Texas,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had these people come to my door on August 8th, 2014. I told them it wasn’t my house, it was my fiancé’s. They said they could install it and if he didn’t want it they’d take it out. They damaged the wall putting in the panel and cut wires (so I still have live wires in my wall). My fiancé did NOT like it. I called to have it removed on August 12th, 2014. But because of the damage, Vivant said if I canceled they couldn’t get a work order to come fix the property. I called them, emailed them estimates from contractors, and did everything I was supposed to do all while paying for their monthly service for 4 YEARS! At the end of the contract agreement I had only a balance of $225 left on the contract, I refused to pay because they STILL hadn’t fixed our wall, estimated cost was $3,500.

    I was told by their company that if I canceled my contract early I would owe the amount it cost to install the system plus the equipment charges, which was $2420 on my service agreement.

    All this time I paid for the service, not my now husband, I signed the contract he wasn’t even home at the time. Well, they sent me a contract with my husband's signature and were going after him and his credit for the money even though it was under my name at the time and we weren’t married. I told them and emailed proof of my husband's signature and said the one they had was a forgery!

    Vivint sent my account to collections and I ended up having to pay $1,500 to a collections company to get this off my husband's credit.

    So total I spent was $3,600 for the monthly fees ($75 for 4years), $1,500 to the collections company, and I still have to pay for the wall damage myself to the tune of $3,500.

    I should have punched that Vivant salesperson in the balls when he was at my door 5 years ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT put yourself through this.

    • La Quinta, CA,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m only giving 1 star because I have to give something. Do NOT get Vivint unless you really enjoy self-torture. We’ve had massive issues with them over the duration of the contract we signed but most currently I am sitting at our house with our smoke detector going off and Vivint refusing to send a technician out because it "looks fine" on their end. I have three animals at home stressed to the max because we can’t get it to stop beeping. The most they have offered is to mail us a different smoke detector that we then install ourselves. We’ve replaced the batteries and called them twice. I truly can imagine what this would be like if we had a baby or children in the house. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. I’m not the type to write a bad review unless it’s something that is egregious and has been consistent. Vivint has been both. Save your money and your sanity and go with someone else. We will be once our contract is up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent accounts

    • East Coast, USA,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave them one star because this page will not let you leave it blank. You are forced to give them at least one.

    I would NEVER recommend them to friends OR enemies!

    Vivint opened a fraudulent account in my name using my address for service for a third party residence in California.

    They apparently didn’t request any identification from the third-party that they allowed to initially open an account in my name. They didn’t request any proof of address from that third-party when accounts were being opened 3000 miles away from my home. They apparently didn’t request any type of identification when their technicians installed whatever type of equipment they install in those residences. I wonder whose name was signed on the contract; mine or the third-party. This is clearly identity theft.

    I am still trying to get the account closed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Welcome to the hotel Vivint. You can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave.

    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    You will never get away from Vivint. They're like the stink on a pair of socks you fell in the river wearing and forgot about on your back porch for six months.

    Never, ever, ever answer the door if you see any kind of Vivint logo on anything the person at the door is wearing! You will regret even talking with someone from Vivint for the rest of your living life. Then, when you die, all of your descendants will be haunted by Vivint for the rest of their lives.

    Only through an act of god may you escape the curse of Vivint.

    Seriously though, they are the single most evil company on the planet. Think I'm joking? Go ahead, sign up for a Vivint home security system. Just don't say you weren't warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Never answer the door for Vivint

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a Vivint salesperson come to our house yesterday, he told us they would buy out the remainder of our ADT contract and a Vivint security system was going to cost $22 per month. We very stupidly agreed.

    There was a technician available immediately, and he took our ADT system down and disconnected it. He installed part of the system that evening and would return the next day to finish. I called to verify this the next day, turns out it would be $22 per month for 8 months, then around $70.00 per month for 5 years, and we still pay ADT their $40 per month. Being in the 3-day cancellation period, I canceled. The technician returned, took the Vivint stuff, and said he could not put the ADT control panel back. So now, we have a gaping hole with live wires hanging out of our wall. ADT charges $93 per HALF hour to return to the house to reconnect, not an option right now. I hope my identity is not stolen from these people because they outright lied about the cost to get us to sign up, not sure what else they are capable of.

    The lesson here is, never ever answer the door for these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone attempted to break into my home, the alarm never sounded. Packages were were stolen from in front of the doorbell camera, no footage of the events. Co-owner of the home is blind and we asked for a panel that he can use, and I have to pay over two thousand to buy out the contract for them to do that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Crosby, ND,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I joined Vivint uneducatedly during the oil boom. They used families like us to sell the product with no intent of servicing us. We moved out into a different home, which it took them 6 months to come and reset up, plus we signed on a new contract since we didn't want to pay $100 moving fee. We one more time moved but didn't tell them. Just paid our monthly fees. We had a short period of lost employment and we tried to get out of the contract without penalty as we heard they have done it for others. We got denied. We continued to pay monthly for an unused service. We have lived in our home since August 2016, finally we got told our contract is over and we are paying month to month. We asked how to cancel our service and did the steps to do so. The remaining balance should be $204, we are still in a fight over a month later to cancel, and we get a collection email today demanding just under $800, otherwise, they are turning us over to collections.

    I will be fighting this to the end. You cannot keep ripping people off. I have spoken with other customers of theirs and no good words come from anyone. They do not want to service divide the county but they sure want to take all of our money. Do not sign up with this company! Find someone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Beware! They do identity theft!

    • Mississippi,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If Vivint knocks at your door, call the police! On January 25th I received an unexpected visit from a technician of Vivint company claiming that he was called to my address to repair the doorbell camera. Neither I nor my wife knew anything about it. He saw that we don’t have a camera. He looked surprised, then he left. We never signed any contract with Vivint or even knew about its existence.

    For the next couple of months, we were receiving bills from Vivint. My wife called them immediately after the first bill to clarify it. They promised to take care of it but never did. My case was supposed to be sent to their fraud department. When we called again, they denied that there was any case created for me. We contacted them many times trying to resolve it. They told us that there is another person name on the contract, not mine, (Robert H) who I didn’t know. They said that we don’t have to worry about it since MY NAME IS NOT on the contract. They refused to give us any more details, refused to send us copy of a contract or tell us how to login to an account created in my name. They refused to remove my name from this fake account.

    We didn’t realize how serious it was until we received a bill from a collection agency for over $3400 for Vivint services. So I called Vivint again. They were putting me on hold for 45 minutes and hanging up on me. After a couple more phone calls, I finally told them that if they put me on hold again, I will sue them. It seemed to help and they put me in touch with Vivint employee called Landon, who is supposed to investigate it. He asked me for a copy of my driving license to compare the signature on the agreement. I thought to myself, why does he want to compare my signature if the contract wasn’t even in my name?

    Finally, he sent me a copy of a contract. The account number on this contract didn’t match the account number on the bills they sent me. My name was on this contract and my address. Under my name was a phone number, which was not mine. There was also a forged signature, completely different than my real signature. The email address and the phone number belong to Robert H who was a second person on this contract. Landon kept asking me if I know this guy and I kept saying that I don’t know him. So he told me that H is my friend on Facebook and accused me of lying about all of it. He said that the technician who came on January 25th installed the equipment and I stole it. I was in shock. Later my sister told me who is H. I looked to my Facebook and I realized that this is somebody who lives in my town and I know him only from the community. I only knew his face, but I didn’t associate his name.

    I think that Vivint did research on me and this man and created a fake account. I don’t know if H is involved, or is he just another victim. I have now identity theft reported and police investigating it. I am sure that they do it to many people. It looks like routine procedure. Sending a technician to your home, then bills, delaying resolving it until collection agency steps in and then accusing you of stealing. They take advantage of a fact that people don’t really know some of their hundreds of friends on Facebook!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Vivint!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review