About Vivint

Founded in 1999 with headquarters in Provo, UT and Calgary, Alberta, Vivint is a home automation company that claims to provide you with seamless integration between technology and the way you live. As one of the largest North American home automation companies, Vivint claims to provide more than 750,000 customers with custom-built, easy to use systems that simplify their lives.

Vivint has been featured in Forbes magazine, InformationWeek, as well as PCWorld, and has won a wide variety of awards. The company has a large social media presence, with more than 340,000 Facebook likes, 7,100 Twitter followers, as well as their own YouTube channel and Pinterest feed.

Vivint holds no rating with the Better Business Bureau, though they do have 2,556 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on hundreds of online reviews, the company appears to have a primarily positive reputation, with the most common complaints being an inability to control all technology within your home (as do many of Vivint’s competitors), lack of Wi-Fi control, and poor customer support experiences.

How Vivint Works

Vivint systems are only available for residential customers, and come in four different packages:

  • Home Automation – The Automation package allows you to control things such as your thermostat and small appliances, in addition to video capabilities and intrusion monitoring.
  • Energy Management – Vivint’s Energy Management package is similar to the Home Automation package, except that it does not include video surveillance or automatic door locks.
  • Home Security – The Home Security package is Vivint’s most basic offering, and is intended primarily to safeguard your home against intrusion.
  • Solar Energy – Vivint is unique with their Solar Energy package, which includes solar panels, microinverters, a net meter, and all necessary wiring.

After choosing your package, undergoing a credit check, paying your activation fee (see next section), and signing a 42-month contract, Vivint claims that a technician will likely be available for next day service in order to begin the installation process. If you have a pre-existing security system, your technician will make every attempt to use the equipment. If they are unable to do so, you will need to purchase Vivint’s proprietary equipment, which can be monitored via cellular technology.

All aspects of your Vivint home automation system are controlled using their touchscreen panel, which can manage your HVAC, security, home lighting, video, and more. When you’re away from home, your system can also be controlled via their smartphone app, as well as online.

Specific features vary by package, but can include home healthcare, severe weather alerts, remote access, electronic door locks, and more. If you’re unsure which package is best for you, the company provides free in-home consultations with a trained service technician.

Vivint Pricing & Return Policy

Activation fees start at $99 for home security, $149 for energy management, and $199 for home automation, though yours may be higher depending on your credit rating. Once your Vivint system is installed, monitoring charges range between $49.99 and $68.99 per month, depending on which package you’ve chosen.

If you have you Vivint system installed but are unhappy with its performance, you may cancel without penalty within anywhere from 3 to 30 days afterward, depending on your age and the state in which you live. For additional details, please visit the Vivint FAQ page.

Pros:

  • Tons of high-tech features that can make remotely monitoring your home a breeze.
  • Several different packages from which to choose.
  • Solar Energy and Smart Thermostat technologies can help save money on utility bills.
  • Overall customer satisfaction seems to be very high.

Cons:

  • Only support for hard-wired and cellular monitoring (no Wi-Fi).
  • Can be more expensive than some of the competition.
  • Some consumers have claimed they experienced poor customer service.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

22 Consumer Reviews for Vivint

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 22
Sort reviews by:

  • They suck and are very rude

    • Florida,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since installed, their system has not worked properly. When they installed the system, they installed products I didn't want or authorize. They sent out about three techs that didn't have a clue what to do. I don't know who gives them work orders, but they have no clue what they are doing. I promise since day one they, knowing Space Monkey was bad, still installed. They promised a new one, but four months later, still no new one. Customer service is a joke, just tell you they will gladly send another idiot to fix issues, which they never do.

    So never get Vivint, ever. You've been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not a fan.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been impossible to reach anyone to actually talk to. We are unable to monitor with the phone app because their system is always down. How is this helping us?! Paying out the wazoo but not getting the best service for the money. Very unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jul 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vivint is a horrible company with awful customer service and an even worse product. We have had the system for two years and it has not worked once as promised. Cameras, doorbell, thermostat, they have all had issues. Phoning customer service takes hours at a time. They are never receptive to anything and really have no clue about what is going on. STAY AWAY FROM VIVINT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Lousy equipment, lousy customer service

    • Denton, TX,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I moved into a new home with an existing contract. The devices are slow and constantly have issues with connectivity and performance. I consider this a breach of contract on the part of Vivint, but they claim the only way to terminate the contract is to pay the total remaining in one lump sum (over $1500). I'm paying $88 a month for a system that doesn't work, and there is little that I can do to change that. My camera monitoring often goes offline for months at a time, and my thermostat does not follow its set program. Any time I have a technician out, they just restart the system and say "it should work a LITTLE better now." I'm so frustrated with this company and the amount of time they've taken away from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Texas,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently had a Vivint Security System installed on 4/24/2018. I began having problems the first day.

    Today is 5/14 and I have had three technician appointments canceled on Vivint's end. One technician that was scheduled didn't even work for work for them, the second tech was double booked, and the third tech's car burst into flames (I kid you not, the is what Vivint told me) due to no fault of my own. I did not receive a courtesy call or anything. I used three days of annual leave from work, and they were indifferent. I paid $1,300 total for equipment and was month to month. Vivint is refusing to refund me my $1,300 because I am outside of the three-day decision window. However, it has been less than four weeks and the system has not been fully operational.

    The company representatives are very unprofessional and unethical. Their business practices are very questionable. I will never recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Zero out of five if possible

    • Cochrane, Alberta, Canada,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not even sure where to start. This company is so terrible to deal with.

    Eight of ten pieces of hardware have failed and don’t work anymore, including CO detector. The thermostat is junk and never operated normally, the camera stopped working regularly, keypads eat four batteries every 31 days, lamp modules work if they don’t burn your house down, router they install as part of kit cripples my Wi-Fi signal, window sensors fails about every 3-4 months, keypad at front door randomly makes a piercing squeal sometimes in middle of the night, and for the love of everything in this world, do not sign up for automatic reminders ever because they can’t be turned off by anybody on the planet.

    I just called to try and cancel the contract and pay out of the remaining term. Two years left...$1000 to get out or $1000 to stay in and ride it out. They should be paying me to keep this garbage using power in my house.

    Every component that has failed I have had to pay for or start a new contract term to have replaced.

    The only thing I use this system for is to let my toddler look at the weather picture on the panel (which is also never right). By the way the panel I have is also massively out of date too, which goes hand in hand with my out of date cameras, router, thermostat and recalled smoke and CO detectors.

    When I call to speak with a person at Vivint I always start out really patient and explain my problems. The customer service agents are always appalled to see my history and hear my concerns, they promise the world of solutions but NEVER return my call or follow through on anything.

    Just a few minutes ago I was speaking with an Account Manager (whoopty-do) who had me on hold several times and apologized several times too. Then hung up on me when I summarized all that she was able to do to "HELP" me. Good work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst contract ever

    • Hope, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You sign a five-year contract, and then things start breaking after one year and then they charge you to come fix their crappy product! NEVER AGAIN. I can't wait for my contact to be up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever

    Worst company ever. Do not do business with them.

    I have a security system with Vivint. This company is the worst in customer service and problem-solving. Their cameras and security systems do not work. I had a tech at my home for five hours a couple of months ago. I told him before he left the camera to the front door was still not properly working and he said it just needs to finish uploading, and once that's done, it will work.

    That was a lie. Last night my car that was parked in my driveway, in sight of the front door camera. My car was broken into, and there was no camera footage at all of it.

    I need to cancel this service because the equipment doesn't work. At a time like this and for the amount I paid for these cameras, you would think they would work. This system doesn't even let me see when someone is at my front door; it's constantly just buffering. The WORST experience and worst customer service ever. The three men I spoke with today, none of them could give me any type of resolution or help, and they blamed me for the product not working.

    I will seek legal advice on this matter. Please don't do business with this company. It's a nightmare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Stay away! Terrible company.

    • Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    A Vivint salesperson came to my door offering a trial. He had me sign a contract using my husband's name even though he was away working. The salespeople use underhanded sleazy tactics to get you to sign a contract.

    When I called to cancel my Vivint account before my trial was up, I was given an appointment date and time for the uninstall to happen. No one showed up, so I called them to ask where they were and was told because I did not confirm my cancellation by email, I am locked into the contract. I made a point of telling them that the contract is fraudulent as my husband is the main applicant and he was not there to sign it.

    After two months, many calls, and many false promises of help, I was told my husband had been removed and now the contract is just in my name. However, I did not sign the contract in all required places. Also, my correct legal name is not in the contract, but they refuse to cancel it. Not only that but all my equipment was installed very poorly (it is visibly crooked on my wall/door) as well as my doorbell camera does not always record video even after it has been rung.

    Vivint has probably the worst customer service I had ever had to deal with, do not get involved with this company in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do your research! Do not trust this company!

    I should have researched before signing the agreement with Vivint. We were told that we had 30 days to cancel services if we were not satisfied FOR ANY REASON.

    All of our equipment wasn’t installed. A payment was drafted from our checking account before the agreed upon date (3 months early). We tried to cancel within the agreed upon time period, and no one responded until AFTER it was too late. Now they say we didn’t contact them soon enough and we are forced to keep an agreement with this company who has NOT kept their end of the deal. It’s very frustrating because we are trying to protect our credit, but Vivint needs to be held responsible.

    I have filed a complaint with the BBB. And if you look it up, others have too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Vivint is a bad company

    The worst company ever. They are never there to respond to concerns, called them numerous times, no representatives ever shows up. This is not a reputable company. Just buy a security system from Costco instead of going with Vivint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 22

Write a Review for Vivint!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review