About Vivint

Founded in 1999 with headquarters in Provo, UT and Calgary, Alberta, Vivint is a home automation company that claims to provide you with seamless integration between technology and the way you live. As one of the largest North American home automation companies, Vivint claims to provide more than 750,000 customers with custom-built, easy to use systems that simplify their lives.

Vivint has been featured in Forbes magazine, InformationWeek, as well as PCWorld, and has won a wide variety of awards. The company has a large social media presence, with more than 340,000 Facebook likes, 7,100 Twitter followers, as well as their own YouTube channel and Pinterest feed.

Vivint holds no rating with the Better Business Bureau, though they do have 2,556 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on hundreds of online reviews, the company appears to have a primarily positive reputation, with the most common complaints being an inability to control all technology within your home (as do many of Vivint’s competitors), lack of Wi-Fi control, and poor customer support experiences.

How Vivint Works

Vivint systems are only available for residential customers, and come in four different packages:

  • Home Automation – The Automation package allows you to control things such as your thermostat and small appliances, in addition to video capabilities and intrusion monitoring.
  • Energy Management – Vivint’s Energy Management package is similar to the Home Automation package, except that it does not include video surveillance or automatic door locks.
  • Home Security – The Home Security package is Vivint’s most basic offering, and is intended primarily to safeguard your home against intrusion.
  • Solar Energy – Vivint is unique with their Solar Energy package, which includes solar panels, microinverters, a net meter, and all necessary wiring.

After choosing your package, undergoing a credit check, paying your activation fee (see next section), and signing a 42-month contract, Vivint claims that a technician will likely be available for next day service in order to begin the installation process. If you have a pre-existing security system, your technician will make every attempt to use the equipment. If they are unable to do so, you will need to purchase Vivint’s proprietary equipment, which can be monitored via cellular technology.

All aspects of your Vivint home automation system are controlled using their touchscreen panel, which can manage your HVAC, security, home lighting, video, and more. When you’re away from home, your system can also be controlled via their smartphone app, as well as online.

Specific features vary by package, but can include home healthcare, severe weather alerts, remote access, electronic door locks, and more. If you’re unsure which package is best for you, the company provides free in-home consultations with a trained service technician.

Vivint Pricing & Return Policy

Activation fees start at $99 for home security, $149 for energy management, and $199 for home automation, though yours may be higher depending on your credit rating. Once your Vivint system is installed, monitoring charges range between $49.99 and $68.99 per month, depending on which package you’ve chosen.

If you have you Vivint system installed but are unhappy with its performance, you may cancel without penalty within anywhere from 3 to 30 days afterward, depending on your age and the state in which you live. For additional details, please visit the Vivint FAQ page.

Pros:

  • Tons of high-tech features that can make remotely monitoring your home a breeze.
  • Several different packages from which to choose.
  • Solar Energy and Smart Thermostat technologies can help save money on utility bills.
  • Overall customer satisfaction seems to be very high.

Cons:

  • Only support for hard-wired and cellular monitoring (no Wi-Fi).
  • Can be more expensive than some of the competition.
  • Some consumers have claimed they experienced poor customer service.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Consumer Reviews for Vivint

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone attempted to break into my home, the alarm never sounded. Packages were were stolen from in front of the doorbell camera, no footage of the events. Co-owner of the home is blind and we asked for a panel that he can use, and I have to pay over two thousand to buy out the contract for them to do that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Crosby, ND,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I joined Vivint uneducatedly during the oil boom. They used families like us to sell the product with no intent of servicing us. We moved out into a different home, which it took them 6 months to come and reset up, plus we signed on a new contract since we didn't want to pay $100 moving fee. We one more time moved but didn't tell them. Just paid our monthly fees. We had a short period of lost employment and we tried to get out of the contract without penalty as we heard they have done it for others. We got denied. We continued to pay monthly for an unused service. We have lived in our home since August 2016, finally we got told our contract is over and we are paying month to month. We asked how to cancel our service and did the steps to do so. The remaining balance should be $204, we are still in a fight over a month later to cancel, and we get a collection email today demanding just under $800, otherwise, they are turning us over to collections.

    I will be fighting this to the end. You cannot keep ripping people off. I have spoken with other customers of theirs and no good words come from anyone. They do not want to service divide the county but they sure want to take all of our money. Do not sign up with this company! Find someone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Beware! They do identity theft!

    • Mississippi,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If Vivint knocks at your door, call the police! On January 25th I received an unexpected visit from a technician of Vivint company claiming that he was called to my address to repair the doorbell camera. Neither I nor my wife knew anything about it. He saw that we don’t have a camera. He looked surprised, then he left. We never signed any contract with Vivint or even knew about its existence.

    For the next couple of months, we were receiving bills from Vivint. My wife called them immediately after the first bill to clarify it. They promised to take care of it but never did. My case was supposed to be sent to their fraud department. When we called again, they denied that there was any case created for me. We contacted them many times trying to resolve it. They told us that there is another person name on the contract, not mine, (Robert H) who I didn’t know. They said that we don’t have to worry about it since MY NAME IS NOT on the contract. They refused to give us any more details, refused to send us copy of a contract or tell us how to login to an account created in my name. They refused to remove my name from this fake account.

    We didn’t realize how serious it was until we received a bill from a collection agency for over $3400 for Vivint services. So I called Vivint again. They were putting me on hold for 45 minutes and hanging up on me. After a couple more phone calls, I finally told them that if they put me on hold again, I will sue them. It seemed to help and they put me in touch with Vivint employee called Landon, who is supposed to investigate it. He asked me for a copy of my driving license to compare the signature on the agreement. I thought to myself, why does he want to compare my signature if the contract wasn’t even in my name?

    Finally, he sent me a copy of a contract. The account number on this contract didn’t match the account number on the bills they sent me. My name was on this contract and my address. Under my name was a phone number, which was not mine. There was also a forged signature, completely different than my real signature. The email address and the phone number belong to Robert H who was a second person on this contract. Landon kept asking me if I know this guy and I kept saying that I don’t know him. So he told me that H is my friend on Facebook and accused me of lying about all of it. He said that the technician who came on January 25th installed the equipment and I stole it. I was in shock. Later my sister told me who is H. I looked to my Facebook and I realized that this is somebody who lives in my town and I know him only from the community. I only knew his face, but I didn’t associate his name.

    I think that Vivint did research on me and this man and created a fake account. I don’t know if H is involved, or is he just another victim. I have now identity theft reported and police investigating it. I am sure that they do it to many people. It looks like routine procedure. Sending a technician to your home, then bills, delaying resolving it until collection agency steps in and then accusing you of stealing. They take advantage of a fact that people don’t really know some of their hundreds of friends on Facebook!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 22, 2018

      Jeffrey M.

      Holy crap! You guys are right! I am sorry to hear what happened to you, but I am glad it is not just me complaining about this company Vivint. I stopped the sales pitch at the door, and they still ran a hard line credit report without our consent.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Vivint is a fraud

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We signed up for Vivint 29 months ago with a 24-month contract. Vivint now says we have a 60-month contract and cannot cancel without a $3000.00 penalty. Our contract that we signed with Verle says 24 months, but the contract they show has someone else’s name on the agreement with 60 months.

    When we signed up it sounded great, but not so much.

    Our system has not worked properly since the first month. We have scheduled techs to come out, but they never show up. Our screen on the main monitor has been blank for 6 months! Customer service says that they can fix it remotely. No, they cannot.

    Beware of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Beware everyone. It's a scam.

    Please don’t sign any contract with the Vivint. They are scammers. Say NO to whoever comes to your door from Vivint. Scammers big time. The salesmen are so pushy. Their main job is to sign you under contract and you are screwed as soon as you do that. Don’t waste your hard earnings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Oxford, AL,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Love it! We had just moved in, and the day after we had gotten all the boxes and furniture in the house, a rep came into the neighborhood and knocked on our door (I wish I could remember his name). I thought he was a UPS delivery guy, so I answered. Best mistake ever! Install was easy and over in three days, one of which was paperwork, and the security service package was super affordable. The only complaint I have about it so far is that the doorbell camera is hypersensitive and will blow up my phone with notifications if a bug flies by. If you value your phone battery, I wouldn't recommend it, but if you value your home's safety and getting value for your cash, I definitely would and have recommended to friends!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Vivint never leaves

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is now two weeks later. I still have Vivint equipment in my home, and two uninstall appointments with no-shows by the Vivint technician. I had an appointment Friday, July 20th to have the equipment removed and the Vivint tech did not show up. I had an appointment today, July 27th, to have the equipment removed and the Vivint tech did not show up. AGAIN!

    I want to cancel services and have equipment removed from my home, but no one at Vivint will give me the correct information. I contacted the company the same day it was installed and the next day to ask again for removal of the equipment and cancellation of the service, and I'm still waiting for the information I need to cancel the service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    They suck and are very rude

    • Florida,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since installed, their system has not worked properly. When they installed the system, they installed products I didn't want or authorize. They sent out about three techs that didn't have a clue what to do. I don't know who gives them work orders, but they have no clue what they are doing. I promise since day one they, knowing Space Monkey was bad, still installed. They promised a new one, but four months later, still no new one. Customer service is a joke, just tell you they will gladly send another idiot to fix issues, which they never do.

    So never get Vivint, ever. You've been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not a fan.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been impossible to reach anyone to actually talk to. We are unable to monitor with the phone app because their system is always down. How is this helping us?! Paying out the wazoo but not getting the best service for the money. Very unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jul 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vivint is a horrible company with awful customer service and an even worse product. We have had the system for two years and it has not worked once as promised. Cameras, doorbell, thermostat, they have all had issues. Phoning customer service takes hours at a time. They are never receptive to anything and really have no clue about what is going on. STAY AWAY FROM VIVINT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Lousy equipment, lousy customer service

    • Denton, TX,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I moved into a new home with an existing contract. The devices are slow and constantly have issues with connectivity and performance. I consider this a breach of contract on the part of Vivint, but they claim the only way to terminate the contract is to pay the total remaining in one lump sum (over $1500). I'm paying $88 a month for a system that doesn't work, and there is little that I can do to change that. My camera monitoring often goes offline for months at a time, and my thermostat does not follow its set program. Any time I have a technician out, they just restart the system and say "it should work a LITTLE better now." I'm so frustrated with this company and the amount of time they've taken away from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for Vivint!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review