Read 161 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 6)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 18 1 star:  106
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 56-66 of 161
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    NEVER again

    • Missouri,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We found a car that interested us, agreed to pay the listed price (absolutely no negotiation of car price or fees whatsoever) and received a price and fee estimate. I found the fees to be somewhat excessive...their title and registration estimates included an additional $25 fee because Vroom requires 60 days to license a vehicle when any other dealership in the nation can do it in 30 days. Vroom, of course, doesn't call it a late fee, but the State of Missouri does. The fees totaled what was explained, however, a $115 fee was not itemized with all of the other charges, both in the initial estimate and the loan docs they wanted signed...just complete ineptitude.

    The rep we initially were dealing with was very nice but seemed to be inexperienced, vacillating on information regarding the process and requirements. Billy informed us that we had to provide proof of insurance plus a valid driver's license, which we did submit, albeit, through numerous attempts at using a "one-time-use" secure link which failed multiple times. Vroom has NO means of emailing or faxing documents (but would allow texting them?)! When the documents were submitted successfully, we were told that the documents had to be submitted in color not black and white (it would have been helpful to know this up front)...yet ANOTHER delay in the process!

    We accepted the dealer financing, submitted an application through their link provided, and were told we would hear from a rep regarding loan disposition within an hour and it took into the next day and numerous calls for updates. ANOTHER DELAY. Then, onto loan documentation...ANOTHER DELAY in getting documents timely. Once received, we immediately e-signed them. We received the original documents via FedEx the next morning and immediately processed these as well returning them to FedEx the same day along with a cashier's check for the down payment and fees.

    Throughout this whole process, it just seemed like the left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing at Vroom across all levels of "service" and the ball kept getting kicked down the field to a new team...far too many people involved in the process from beginning to end. Their website states that you can either pick up the car or have it delivered. They stated that the car would be delivered in 7 days but it might take as long as 14 (or more!) days which concerned us. They would, in no way, allow us to pick up the car, contrary to website information, and always had stock replies as to why. We didn't want to wait over two weeks to receive a car from Vroom when we could have walked into ANY dealership, purchased a car, obtained their financing and driven away within hours.

    We have already heard from the bank through which we obtained financing from Vroom; the bank has booked the loan and they're charging us interest for a car that hasn't even left Vroom's lot yet! This is outright THEFT and seems illegal not to mention unethical! How can Vroom justify paying themselves when they haven't delivered to the customer and still have possession of the car? Assuming this is regular practice, it has the right ingredients for a major class action suit.

    Who knows just when the car will arrive, but it's looking to be 2-3 weeks from the time this whole process started. They MIGHT be able to deliver a car within 7-10 days if you pay CASH. AVOID THIS COMPANY and their poor process at all cost...it's just not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 21, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Mike - thanks for the detailed feedback. We are sorry to hear you've been frustrated by our process and we use feedback like yours to help us improve. If you are still in need of assistance regarding the delivery of your vehicle, please email feedback@vroom.com with the name and phone # used for purchase and we can escalate this for you. Again, we apologize for the issues you've had and appreciate your patience. The Vroom team.


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Lexus IS350 (no A/C)

    • California,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased a 2015 Lexus IS350 AWD in February 2019. Everything seemed fine, until we had to use the air conditioning. The A/C did not blow cold air. It actually blew hot air, but we didn’t realize until a month later because it was cold and rainy most of the time. We contacted Vroom about the issue and they said it would be covered by the limited warranty (6000 miles/3 months through Safeguard). However, Safeguard denied the claim because they said it was from an outside force (a rock hitting the condenser). I doubt that is true, and Vroom must have sold us a car with an existing A/C issue. Vroom also refused to cover the repair of the A/C system even though we only had the car for a month. We regret buying a car on Vroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi EJ - we're sorry to hear about these issues and have shared with our team for review. If you can email the name and feedback for your purchase to feedback@vroom.com we can look into this further for you. Thanks - the Vroom team.


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst Customer Service EVER

    • Poughkeepsie, NY,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never buy a car from them again. Their customer service skills lack. They take forever in doing everything except taking your money. Four weeks and still no registration. They move like turtles! I could have driven to Texas, gotten the title and went to my local DMV in a faster time then they breathe. I am so unhappy, I want the car gone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Anthony - thanks for the feedback. We're sorry to hear you've had issues with registration. If you email your full name and phone number to feedback@vroom.com we can look into this for you if you are still in need of help. Thanks for your patience. The Vroom team.


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    My car "disappeared" during the delivery process

    • Tennessee,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the car. Once we got confirmation that it was being delivered Wednesday before 4 pm (took off work to wait here all day) - we then got told it would be here Thursday between 11 am and 1 pm. That time passed. Then it was pushed to Thursday evening/night. Delivery guy never showed. Friday morning we call, it was supposed to be here by 11 am. Guess what? They CANNOT GET IN TOUCH with the delivery guy and CANNOT TRACK the trailer full of cars! Missed 3 days of work for this. Ended up just canceling the order and requested a refund on the delivery fee. I lost more money missing work than my delivery fee cost me. SUPER UPSET about the entire process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Lacey - thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience as this is not the way we want to do business. It sounds like you decided to return the vehicle. We're sorry to hear that but understand your frustration. If there's anything else we can do for you going forward, please let us know. The Vroom team.


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As I started my research on which vehicle to purchase and through which company I would buy from, I came across an endless stream of reviews on Vroom that most all revealed that the company was great at selling and bad at following through. I tend to be a glass is half full guy and decided to give them the benefit and wrote the negative reviews off as people that have too high or unrealistic expectations.

    Vroom does have an impressive fleet of vehicles to choose from, and I found one I really wanted. My purchase experience was exactly like all the reviews. Great sale, no follow through. The vehicle took exactly a month to get to me. Not the 14-day they promised. And I finally had to drive 65 miles each way to pick it up in Denver. The vehicle also had an additional 97 miles that someone drove in that 30 day time. I expressed my concerns several times in weighting with absolutely no response from management.

    I don’t think I would recommend Vroom to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi - thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you had issues with your delivery. We've shared your feedback with our team and hope you are enjoying your vehicle. The Vroom team.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Amazing up until the delivery process

    • Abilene, TX,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received excellent customer service from Terri and Jessica through the purchase process. They were terrific, especially Terri who have an enthusiastic personality and was fun to talk with. The process started and ended in precisely seven calendar days, which is remarkable. It was a great experience up until the delivery process, which was awful. I got my vehicle delivered late, almost close to midnight, and no apology for the inconvenience! Also, it was extremely filthy for something that is expensive. Additionally, I was told to "just sign to accept the car." The delivery men rushed me and did not give me the opportunity to inspect my vehicle before they left. Later, I wanted to leave them negative feedback, but unfortunately, the link didn’t work when it was sent via email.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 19, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Thank you so much for leaving this rating and review! We will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. If you have any questions or concerns please call us! We sincerely value your business and hope to hear from you soon.

      - Vroom Team


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Vroom salesman lied and stole. Do not send them money. Absolutely a scam!

    • Kealakekua, HI,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a car quote for delivery to Hawaii. I wired the funds. Ten days later they tried to collect another $1,000. I refused to pay as I had paid 100% of the quoted price, which included delivery. I asked for a refund. They said it would take ten days and they would keep $499.

    These guys are scammers!

    Do not give them money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi - thanks for your comments. Our delivery fee is $499. If you decide to return a vehicle, we will refund the purchase price but the $499 is not refundable. We're sorry if you had issues here and will take a look at your account to see what improvements we can make in communication. The Vroom team.


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We found a car on Vroom's website that we had been looking all over for. The advertised price was $43,980, which we felt was very fair. We emailed Vroom that evening (it was after hours), and the next morning my husband called them to start the process. When Vroom sent us the deal sheet, the price was marked as $45,500. They marked the price up by $1,500 for no reason other than we showed interest in the vehicle. When we asked for an explanation, they said their marketing team sets prices and that the market supports the new price. They would not honor the original price even though they advertised it hours before we contacted them. The salesperson was named Kelly and she could not have cared less than what they were doing was super shady. She said they made a marketing mistake with the original price and that they sell 150 cars a day so someone would buy it at that price. Very disappointing and super shady. We even had a screenshot of the original price advertised and they just honestly couldn't have cared less. That is very bad business and I would never trust this company to do business with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Debbi - thanks for the comments. We are sorry to hear about the issues you've had. While our prices do change here and there, we do not intentionally mark anything up when someone shows interest. We've shared your comments with our team for review. Thanks - the Vroom team.


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Texas,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please do not purchase from this company. They send you vehicles with issues prior to your purchase and refuse to fix the items. They wait until your seven day return period has expired before returning your answers to avoid you returning the vehicle.

    I only rated them one star, because you have to rate at least one star.

    I prefer to rate them 0 stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Angel - we're sorry you've had issues with your vehicle. We have shared your comments with our team for review. Thanks - the Vroom team.


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BUYER BEWARE!

    Take a moment if you will, and follow along as I tell you my buying experience thus far with Vroom.

    First and foremost, this is not my first automobile buying experience. I’ve purchased other autos, new and used, before at traditional dealerships. I chose Vroom initially because they catered to my demographic. An online purchase, that could be done with ease without having to leave the comfort of my home. I’ve purchased tons of things online before from reputable sites, including the purchase of my current home. I’ve also sold items online, so I made sure to choose a company that I believed to be reputable and had obviously had experience in selling vehicles online. That company I thought was Vroom, but alas I was wrong. Please take some time and read my story, allow me to share with you my car buying experience with Vroom.

    So, in November of 2018 I chose Vroom to purchase my vehicle. I initially applied for appraisal of a vehicle I was looking to trade in/sell. I already knew I could sell this vehicle on the private market for $2,000 to $2,500 but didn’t really want to deal with that hassle, and was obviously willing to take a loss for foregoing having to deal with a private sale. Needless to say, Vroom's appraisal was anything but a small loss, since they only offered me $150.00 cash for said vehicle. I can understand this part of their business model, buy low and turn around and sell to make a profit, and this is not necessarily as to why I am discontent with Vroom, but I wanted to share this part of my experience nonetheless.

    Ten days later I submitted my application for a used vehicle I found on their website. I thoroughly reviewed the pictures they had posted online as well as their Carfax report. I still pulled my own Carfax report to be sure I wasn’t being misled. Both reports matched up, so I was excited to move forward with the purchase. After filling out the application online with all the pertinent credit information, I received a call the next day from Tyler. He was calling to complete the credit application since there was going to be a co-signer on the application. Everything gets verified and he provides the rates and emails them out. We took a day to think over whether we want to complete the purchase and the following day decided we liked the terms and called Tyler to let him know. Obviously, there are documents that need to be signed and returned. Tyler is aware that the co-signer and I didn’t reside in the same city and sets it up so that the docs go to one of us and then gets to the other person and then finally to Vroom.

    This is where it all begins to go downhill. It turns into what can only be described as an episode from The Three Stooges, even though after all this I would probably find them to be more competent at completing this transaction. The initial documents were sent to an address that was non-existent, an address that neither I nor the co-signer gave in the online application or by phone. I realized this because I used the FedEx app to check the tracking number that was given and saw the address after FedEx called me on their failed attempted delivery. I called Vroom, they say they have the info down as whatever sales had written down. This should have been my first red flag since blaming other departments would become a trend. I contacted them and asked for a supervisor, they said none were available and that one would get back to me. I received a voicemail from a supervisor and returned the call three times, leaving a voicemail all three times and never getting a return phone call. Eventually, they corrected the information and they re-did the contract and resent it with the correct address.

    We get the corrected info and this time it is delivered correctly since it does have the correct address. We sign and initial the paperwork and send it back. A couple of days later we get an email saying that one of the documents is missing my initials, so they will resend the lone document for me to initial and return. They sent the document alright, but they sent it to the co-signer instead of to me. I call Vroom and let them know of this situation, so they email prepaid postage so the co-signer can get it sent to me. At that same time, we get notification of the vehicle no longer being held for the sale because we did not return the document within 24 hours, even though it was sent to the wrong person. Once again, I call and request a supervisor, who tells me that once they get the document they will then put a hold on the vehicle. I tell her that the co-signer and I aren’t in the same city so it could be a day before they (Vroom) get the document and obviously someone could purchase the vehicle out from under us. She showed no empathy and could care less, and never provided another alternative. I recommended that if I was able to send her the return tracking number by their time of closing would she then put the vehicle back on hold. I informed her that I took responsibility for the missing initials, but because it was an error on their end for sending the requested document to the wrong person, there should be some leeway. She agreed with my offer, this forced me to have to leave and drive three hours away to were the co-signer was with the document so I could initial it and send it out so the tracking number showed as sent.

    The supervisor had informed me that I just needed to call before 8 pm closing time their time. When I called which would have been thirty minutes before they closed, the recording informed me they actually close at 7 pm. Now, I’m not saying she purposely misinformed me, but the writing is on the wall. Additionally, when I told that same supervisor that I had previously left various voicemails for another supervisor and never received a return call. She stated that the supervisor was on a prolonged absence and that’s why she wasn’t returning my phone call. I used to work as a supervisor for a top 3 insurance company. Anytime any of us took an extended absence we made sure to leave a detailed voicemail regarding that absence with our return date so whoever needed to reach us would know why we would not be returning a phone call. This should have been my second or third red flag.

    Now, we begin the third stage of the process. A process that was started late November has brought us to mid-December. We get notification that everything is approved and we receive a call that the vehicle will be delivered 12/21 between 12-6 pm. So, we wait all day and at 4 pm we receive a call stating that they are four hours away, obviously not within the time frame they said the car would arrive by. At around 10 pm the doorbell rings and the car is here. Before I sign for the car I have to look it over. So, at 10 pm I’m supposed to look over a black car and sign for delivery of it. I sign for it because at the end of the day I know I have 7 days to return it. I wasn’t able to do much with the vehicle since I had to leave for a holiday vacation the next day.

    When I return I take it directly to the dealership to get it thoroughly inspected to make sure I am going to keep the vehicle. Mechanically everything is excellent on the vehicle, the only points of concern are on the back fender where there is a horrible correction paint job, and the rear spoiler glue is becoming undone on the right side. Listen, I get it, it is a used vehicle, so I expected some issues. Where I have a problem is that anybody who has sold something online knows that you always take pictures and or point out the blemishes on the product you are selling, otherwise it looks like a classic bait and switch. Had these blemishes been discussed or pointed out on the website there is a good possibility I would have still purchased the vehicle though maybe tried to haggle the price but Vroom never failed to mentions these deficiencies on their website description or in their pictures.

    It is now February, and obviously I decided to keep the vehicle regardless of its cosmetic defects that I will pay out of pocket to correct. Yet my story and saga are still not done. I contacted Vroom because my temporary registration was about to expire and I still hadn’t received my license plates. I call and speak to Roderick and he asks if I have the vehicle, to which I reply yeah, I’ve had the vehicle since December. He says he doesn’t show a vehicle being delivered to me. I inform him that Ally Bank has already taken out payments for the vehicle so I most definitely have the vehicle. I tell him that at this point I would rather just register the vehicle myself as I can’t really deal with this incompetence anymore. He said I would have to redo the contract again for that to happen. That’s the wrong thing to tell a law student, as nothing in the contract requires that they be the ones who registers the vehicles. He then says that I’ve paid for them to do it. I tell him I could care less if I lose money because I only have a week left of my current registration and they obviously haven’t been able to do anything correctly including registering my vehicle. I’m placed on hold as he speaks to a supervisor and states they will send me new temporary tags and will fill out the registration correctly so they arrive before the temporary tags expire. As of now, I’m still waiting for my permanent tags and plate.

    I understand this is a lengthy review, but I hope you’ve taken the time to read this. As this has been my experience with Vroom. It may have been harder for me to deal with because I used to be a Supervisor for a top 3 insurance company. If there was ever any department that made an error we never placed the blame on them. We owned the error because we were all one company and did whatever we could to make the customer whole whenever WE as a company made a mistake. We also returned our calls promptly when left with a voicemail or left the appropriate voicemail so as to make our customers aware if we were not going to be available. We also provided customers with all the alternative solutions available to them as opposed to having our customers doing our job for us and giving us the solutions. Since at the end of the day we were there to assist them.

    Secondly, if you are going to sell a product online, describe its blemishes, customers understand used vehicles may come with defects, hiding them and not pointing them out only makes the bait and switch theory even more plausible.

    Finally, I would think that a company whose literal job is to sell cars could deal with having a co-signer and sending out documents a) to the correct address and b) to the correct recipients. As well as provide their customers with accurate windows of delivery of their vehicles and register them in the appropriate manner within the appropriate time.

    This experience has been anything but what their "motto" or "mission statement" is. If I had to choose to purchase with Vroom again, my answer would be an emphatic NO! I purchased the vehicle in late November and we are past the middle of February and I’m still dealing with their incompetence. Heed this review as a warning of what you may expect if you chose to buy a vehicle from Vroom. If you do, I wish you luck. I’d personally rather go through Carvana or just put myself through the torture of dealing with a salesman at a dealership. In all honesty, I wouldn’t buy gum from Vroom even if they showed me a picture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Jesus - thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. We are sorry for the issues with your experience. We believe this review is the same one left on another site and we escalated that one at the time for our team to review in an effort to improve our processes and service. Again, we appreciate the feedback and if we can help with anything going forward, please let us know. The Vroom team.


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Texas,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My last car purchase (through SimpleCar.com) experience was excellent and easy, but this experience with Vroom was full of well-documented miscommunications and issues ranging from selling me a car leaking battery acid (and then their warranty company denying I had a warranty, though it is standard), to Vroom attempting to deliver my car to another city (not the driver's fault - he said he had been given the wrong info).

    While most of the staff are nice enough and are apologetic for their mistakes, it appears that the staff is poorly trained because you can talk to three different people and get three different answers. Most recently, they promised in writing they would reimburse me for the leaky battery and never sent the check as promised. When I inquired, they said I had to sign a document stating that's all they would pay for (the car still has plenty of time per the warranty), which an attorney has advised me is full of questionable language.

    The whole experience from the beginning has been time-consuming and frustrating and all the issues have been well documented. The car was a great price, but I had to drop $500 to get it road worthy (filthy air filter, burnt out spark plugs, aforementioned corroded and leaking battery) and now the mechanic is saying the lurching is caused by an axle that needs replacement (another $600). Frustrating when they refuse to honor their warranty. It would be better to go through a standard dealership where there is accountability as Vroom will not allow you to speak to a manager and says "that's not the way we do business."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi - thanks for taking the time to provide detailed feedback. We're sorry to hear you've had a poor experience and issues with your vehicle. If you want to email feedback@vroom.com with the name and phone # used for purchase, we can escalate your concerns to our team. Thanks - the Vroom team.


Showing 56-66 of 161

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review