Start your review of Vroom:
  • 380 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 22% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 56%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Quality control has gone out the door!

    • By Tasha P.,
    • Utica, NY,
    • Sep 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    This was by far one of the worst car buying experiences I’ve had. It started off great, I spent a lot of time researching and picking out the car. I was so excited about the delivery. Like many people, going to a dealership is overwhelming for me, I have very little extra time throughout my day, this seemed like the perfect solution.

    The delivery day finally came! They dropped off the car rather quickly and I was left to drive home. The sun was shining, I was so excited, I decided to open the sunroof. This is where the story falls apart. A horrible grinding noise came on...and the sunroof was completely stuck in the open position. Mind you, this is a 2018 with very little miles on it. I then spent a couple of hours trying to get ahold of someone at Vroom. Finally I reach someone, they said to take it right to the auto body shop. This is taking all day, I had to miss work. The autobody shop took a look at it and said it was obvious they had known about this problem and have been working on it. They showed me the fresh grease on the slider track. With that information, I decided it would be best not to keep the car. Giving Vroom the benefit of the doubt, I decided to do a swap. This literally took days to set up. I had to speak to about 10 people before they agree to cover the expense of a rental car.

    Two weeks later my new car came in. I was so excited to think the nightmare is finally over. I get into the car just as the delivery person is driving away and find that the screen is busted up. The car was filthy. It didn’t have the features that were advertised. And instead of the one chip on the hood that they disclosed, there were about 20 which I couldn't see initially because the car was so filthy upon delivery. I’m now starting the process over for them to pick up this car. The company is growing too fast. And quality control has gone out the door. It’s extremely disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away if you value your time and sanity

    • By Selena L.,
    • Santa Maria, CA,
    • Aug 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The car they sold me has water damage in the engine. Bolts are rusted and corroded. My ASE certified mechanic stated it is unsafe and not normal wear and tear for the year. Vroom has been demeaning and uncooperative. They state it is normal wear and tear. I feel it is deceitful and I just want the car returned and a full refund of my money. I want to be able to move on from this and get a car I can actually drive without worrying about my safety.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Deceptive

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Vroom for both sale and purchase

    • By Jerome W.,
    • Wellington, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    First time I tried something like this for a vehicle (both selling and buying online). Worked ok...some bugs need to be worked out of their system. I would still have given them a 5-star review except for some problems with their subcontractors (pick up and delivery) and then the fact they kept my payoff money almost a full month without applying it to my existing loan which meant I had to pay another full month's payment on a vehicle I turned in. Not happy about that at all!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Ease
    • Price
    • They did not apply my payoff for almost a month, this cost me another month's payment
    • Delivery guy would not come to residential area so I had to get a ride and go pick up the vehicle somewhere else, I had already verified an 18 wheeler can navigate the street
    • Pick-up company kept my personal garage door opener after telling me I could come and pick it up 4 times

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Could have been so good

    • By Patrick P.,
    • Mustang, OK,
    • Aug 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I really wish I could give a good rating because much of it was good. I bought two cars in the past 6 days from Vroom for my wife and I.

    The Good: The cars are nice vehicles and the online representation was accurate.

    The Bad: Both times it was all great until the third party delivery process. They need to fire the company they have doing this.

    The first vehicle was a 2018 Infiniti QX60. They called on a Sunday to inform me the vehicle would be delivered the following Saturday. The very next day some Jamaican guy who spoke no English showed up in our small gated neighborhood with an 18-wheel double stack car carrier. Had my wife not gotten sick at work that day and come home nobody would have even been there. The driver had driven through a storm and the vehicle was filthy. As he was leaving he backed into my neighbor's yard and trenched it about 6 times with deep 5"-6" trenches. I had to pay a landscaper to come and repair my neighbor's lawn but eventually, after working with Vroom, they reimbursed me the $225 for the landscaper. Once I went and cleaned up the vehicle I am happy with the SUV.

    I thought for sure knowing what a debacle my first purchase was that they'd bend over backward to make sure my second purchase was better. Purchased a 2017 Q50 for my wife. This time I received an email telling me the vehicle would be delivered on or about August 23rd. Again the very next day and a week before the 23rd the vehicle was delivered. This time a Ukrainian guy who just dumped it in the driveway and left the keys in the seat. Nobody ever called and let us know they were coming. I was at work and my wife called and said "I just came home and the car is sitting in our driveway". This time the car was filthy inside and out. They had sprayed some sort of sanitizer on it and it has pinholes in the leather seats which were all filled with this white sanitizer substance. About an hour and a half later the Ukrainian guys showed back up wanting her to sign for the car. I guess he had gone to deliver other vehicles in the area. We ended up spending a couple hundred dollars to have the car detailed so it would look like it was supposed to look like when we got it.

    They called to ask about my experience and I told them. The guy said "let me talk to my managers and see if we can compensate you." Never heard from them again. Again, the car was nice and the wife is happy once we got it cleaned. It could have been such a 5-star experience if they would just get a new 3rd part delivery provider. The current one does not reflect well on Vroom.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The quality of the car
    • Shopping online
    • Accuracy of condition
    • The delivery service (can't emphasize enough)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would not recommend

    • By Lexus M.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Bought a 2019 Infiniti QX80 and 8 days later the car will not start. We've also received zero help or guidance with the transfer of our specialty license plate. Along with, the day we were traveling to the dealership to pick up the car the salesman informed us the car was not available for pickup and only available for delivery (even though the trip was arranged with the salesman 2 days prior), upon arrival at the dealership they put my name incorrectly on the paperwork resulting in us being there an additional hour and not one person even verified we dropped off the vehicle we were trading in. The only reason we heard back from them on our concerns with the titling was when they called to tell us they mailed us the keys to our trade-in versus the garage door opener we left. What seemed like a hassle-free experience initially has turned out to be a nightmare. We've yet to hear from anyone on a resolution to the issues experienced. I wouldn't recommend this dealer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    It took almost a month for us to receive our vehicle and it’s already stalling when we accelerate and the tachometer needle fluctuates. It’s been difficult to reach someone to discuss this either. We are highly dissatisfied.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Our delivery guy was great
    • Customer service
    • Turn around time
    • Quality of our vehicle

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hit and miss

    • By Carter C.,
    • Brunswick, GA,
    • Aug 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The buying process was smooth and easy, there was no pressure which made the experience delightful vs. dealerships. Paperwork was a flurry, not hard, and was rather fast considering it was all electronic and FedEx packages. We were delighted to receive our vehicle 7 days after the paperwork was completed, instead of waiting the entire 10-14 days. There tends to be a hard time getting someone to call back, but you just have to be persistent - I give them a bit of latitude for this due to being a nationwide dealer and I assume they take a ton of calls. Regardless, at that point, we probably would have rated this "5 stars" easily and would have recommended using VROOM to our friends and family.

    However, once we received the vehicle, we noticed a large, approx. 12" gouge on the bottom driver's side of the rear bumper cover. It almost appeared to be a body line until we really looked at it. When we reported the find to inquire about a reasonable remedy, we were informed that the damage was visible in a picture so basically "sorry for you". We had screenshots of all the listing pictures, which there were no imperfection pictures listed. In fact, in the vehicle description, under imperfections, it only stated normal wear and tear. We recall our sales representative explaining that the vehicles are all run through the shop to make sure everything worked and that all cosmetic damage over 6 inches was repaired before sale. This gouge is clearly larger than 6", nor was it listed as an imperfection - and the picture it was visible in was not an "imperfection" picture, and literally could be overlooked as a body line or light glare. We were stunned that something as simple as offering to assist with the repair was worth ruining the entire experience, especially since the damage should have been fixed prior to sale (as our rep had informed us) and that the picture was not an imperfection picture. We would have been satisfied with an apology for the deceptive picture and lack of reporting the imperfection, if not at least an offer to help a little with the repair bill. That one minor miscue on the part of the customer service person took the experience from a sure-fire "5 stars" to a "3 stars" and from full-on recommendations to "be careful". I’m still flabbergasted that a company that relies on word of mouth recommendations (being that all transactions are done sight unseen) would compromise the information they put out (we fix anything larger than 6") instead of at least attempting to come to a satisfactory solution between both parties.

    In all, reward is always commensurate with risk. Other than the glaring 12" gouge that was hidden by glare in a far away pic and not pointed out as an imperfection, the vehicle was otherwise in really good shape. So if you are considering Vroom, be sure to zoom in on anything that may look like damage and keep in mind there may be imperfections that aren’t pointed out with imperfection pictures - and Vroom will use the regular pics as evidence that those damages were "shown". Also, if you decide to buy, they have great communication up until the phone agreement/deal/$500 down is complete. After that, it’s emails on their time and hard to get a person on the phone. You’ve got to learn patience. Delivery was faster than promised - that was a plus! The vehicle was brought via a 3rd party "Hotshot Trucking" carrier. The driver was prompt, nice, and gave us plenty of time to look over the car. I will say, look over the car and report ANYTHING damage-wise that you weren’t aware of on the Bill of Lading and call Vroom before signing for the car - maybe they’d be more likely to agree to remedy issues that way.

    If you know what type of car you want, you’re patient, and understand your vehicle may have some dings not shown, then you can find a lot more vehicle (better packages, better equipped) for a better price than at a brick and mortar dealership. We’d probably be willing to use Vroom again - we’d just be super diligent when inspecting pictures before purchase and inspecting the vehicle upon delivery.

    I gave 3.5-4 stars for customer service and friendliness. Both Andrew & Mac (the 2 gentlemen we spoke with before and during the purchasing process) deserve a 5-star rating; both great! Customer Service post-purchase, maybe 2-2.5 stars - super hard to get a return call or willingness to discuss issues with vehicle/pictures.

    I give 3 stars for quality of work, because the vehicle is beautiful and drives great - but that 12" gouge either shows poor quality control in the reconditioning department or a deceitful photographer for not adding an imperfection photo.

    Price is 5 stars. Better equipped vehicle with similar mileage for about the same out the door price (better in some cases) as the dealerships we looked at.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Painless deal
    • Quick process from comfort of home
    • Fair pricing
    • Hard to contact after contract began
    • No return phone calls
    • Misrepresentation in pictures

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • C- on everything, but A+ on making the sale aka taking your money

    • By Aditya B.,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    *C- on EVERYTHING but making the sale.

    The sales experience was a breeze because that's when they get money out of you. Everything else was and will likely continue to be an xxxx show.

    *Straightforward process but with negative visibility.

    You need to be transparent with your customers! Giving them a date of delivery and then never meeting it or not keeping the customer in the loop around changes does NOT count as helping every step of the way.

    *A bunch of thieves.

    They sat on the balance check for my trade-in for more than a month and only released it after I reached into their butt to fetch it. And obviously no interest paid on the $10k+ amount that they earned interest for free on.

    *Bait and switch.

    They asked me to go with their own finance partner (Chase) stating that I won't have to do any legwork when it came to getting the out of state car registered (TX to CA). But here we are and I am being asked to provide a smog test and VIN inspection to them. I have them on record a number of times claiming that I'll simply get my registration in the mail within a few days of receiving the car.

    Both of these tasks could have been accomplished by them before the vehicle was delivered to me.

    I am in favor of online businesses but not when they're out to screw you over.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Good at taking your money
    • Straightforward process but with negative visibility
    • A bunch of thieves, good luck getting your equity check
    • Bait and switch
    • Too much PAPERwork for an online business

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t use Vroom

    • By Robert A.,
    • Alton, IL,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Took 2 months to get my car. Then now I’m being told that I don’t get my plates since I told them I was moving. They even delivered my car to another state but are now saying they want proof of insurance from my old address that I told them I don’t live at. So, they stole my money and refuse to fix it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love the car, hated Vroom

    • By Suzanne K.,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Aug 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Very inconsistent/confusing communication across the board. We asked several crucial questions about the car that we never got answered.

    When the car finally arrived, it was a full day late than what we were told without much notice. Delivered late at night in the dark Saturday night, so we couldn't check out the car. The transporter brought it to the wrong address then yelled at us on the phone to come find him, he was very rude. He took the car off the transporter and quickly left without waiting for us to inspect the vehicle. We got in the car and immediately noticed the passenger front tire was flat (it's a run-flat tire, no spare so we needed a tow).

    At this point, we went to engage the alleged 24/7 roadside assistance and could not find the phone number ANYWHERE. Can't even google it. Vroom clearly doesn't want you to use it but they love to tout it in their communications. At this point, Vroom is also closed until Monday morning so we had to wait until then. All of this cutting into our 7-day trial on an undrivable car. Once we finally got the number to Vroom's roadside assistance (every call to them we're on hold for at least 20 minutes mind you) we call them and are disconnected several times. We finally get through and we're told the tow will be there in a couple of hours. The first guy canceled on us for no reason after waiting hours (but didn't let us know so we had to call again). The second guy said he wouldn't do it because the dealership location we wanted to tow to was now closed. We finally get a tow the next morning (we're now 3 days into our 7-day trial). We're keeping Vroom abreast to all of this and they never call or email us back.

    Once at the dealership, they cannot remove the tire because there is a tire lock and the key was not left in the car. Another day goes by while the incompetent serviceman at the dealership can't figure it out (not Vroom's fault, just insult to injury). Throughout all of this, we really needed Vroom to communicate with us to understand if they were going to pay for this, making sure we weren't voiding any contracts. They finally called us back and said they needed 24-48 hours to get approval on the estimate. This took until late Friday to clear up. We FINALLY get to drive our new car. Very anti-climactic experience all in all. We love the car, but will NEVER work with Vroom again and will tell everyone we know to avoid them like the plague.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Car selection
    • Car pricing and no haggling
    • Customer service and communication
    • Car arrived damaged and unable to be driven
    • 24/7 roadside assistance is a joke
    • Many basic questions you would normally be able to get answered by a dealership were never addressed. (i.e. do the seats fold down?)
    • Transporter communication was horrible and rude

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good overall

    • By Isaiah D.,
    • Cicero, IL,
    • Aug 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    This was my first time buying a car and like most, I read some reviews that made me skeptical about it, however, throughout the process I never felt pressured to buy the car and every time I had a question I always got an answer. The only issue I had during the process was contacting customer support, I only called them twice and I didn’t get an answer either time from them, but other departments did answer and gave me the answers I needed. Delivery was great and quick, the car came in before the estimated date, and the car is in great condition. I guess it’s a 50/50, either you have a great experience or you don’t. I would recommend Vroom but if you don’t have patience or are overly skeptical, you should look somewhere else.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No face to face contact
    • Easy
    • Good car
    • Customer support needs a little help

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 89-99 of 380

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana