About Fabletics

Searching for high-quality athletic wear can be a chore, which is why Fabletics attempts to make the process as simple as possible. Co-founded by actress Kate Hudson, the company claims to provide women with high quality fitness apparel (similar to Lululemon Athletica, Athleta, Lucy, etc.), but at more reasonable prices.

But while this sounds like a great idea, does Fabletics live up to expectations? Let’s take a look!

Quick Facts About Fabletics

Whether you’re looking for tops, tanks, tees, sports bras, hoodies, leggings, pants, hoodies, or anything in between, Fabletics claims to provide high quality athletic wear at reasonable prices. When compared to the competition, Fabletics claims that their personalized shopping experience is what really sets them apart, in addition to exclusive VIP Membership perks and outstanding customer service.

To begin using Fabletics, you’ll first need to take a few minutes to answer questions on your lifestyle quiz, which, depending on your answers, will allow their stylists to suggest items based on your fashion personality. Then, you can choose to purchase items whenever you’re ready. Alternately, you can sign up as a VIP Member, which means that Fabletics will send you personalized coordinated outfits on the first of each month, at which point you can choose to keep what you want, and send the remainder back.

If you’re not interested in receiving an outfit for the following month, Fabletics claims that you simply need to log in to your account and choose “skip month” sometime between the 1st and the 10th. If you forget to do this, your account will be charged (see the next section for details), although this can be used as a credit toward your next purchase.

Fabletics Pricing & Refund Policy

It’s completely free to sign up and become a Fabletics member, and the company claims that most of their outfits start around $49.95. However, keep in mind that if you forget to log in a skip a month, your account will be charged $49.95, which can be used as a credit toward your next purchase.

Free Standard shipping is available on all orders over $49.95; otherwise, you’ll be charged $4.95. Express shipping is also available for an additional $8.95.

Fabletics includes a 30-day return policy for all new, unworn items with original tags. However, returns will be subject to a $5.95 restocking fee.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Fabletics?

Fabletics holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on just 12 closed complaints over the past three years. Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be mostly positive, and the general consensus is that the company lives up to its goal of providing high quality athletic wear at low prices.

With this said, some of the most common complaints we encountered cited:

  • Difficulty remembering to manually log in to an account and skip a month.
  • Difficulty unsubscribing from a VIP membership.
  • Difficulty processing a return (more specifically, long wait times for return shipping labels).
  • Inferior fabrics – e.g. concerns about how long garments will last, and how quickly they will stretch. In addition, we read several complaints claiming that the sports bras are made of very thin material, and are so revealing that they could not be worn in public.

What’s the Bottom Line About Fabletics?

Fabletics has attempted to strike an even balance between quality and price, and based on our research, it seems they’ve accomplished this—for the most part.

With this said, it’s important to remember that like most things, you get what you pay for. While we did read several reviews that claimed Fabletics athletic wear was comparable to Lululemon Athletica, Athleta, Lucy, etc., we read even more that claimed the fabric was of lower quality, and very likely would not last as long. In fact, the number one complaint we read cited that sports bras offered very little support, and were extremely revealing—so much so that they’re likely not suitable to be worn in public. Also, it’s important to keep in mind that items rotate quickly, so if you find that you need to return an item for a different size and/or color, you may find that it’s no longer available.

Other than this, if you’re looking for quality fitness wear at reasonable prices, Fabletics appears to be a great choice.

Have you used Fabletics athletic wear in sport or in leisure? If so, help women around the world by writing your very own review!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for Fabletics

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 8
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    We can't stop the scam

    • Miami, FL,
    • Oct 31, 2016

    Got sucked into VIP pricing. After the payment tried to place the order to redeem credits. Instead, got charged for items and the $49 for the month.

    I called to resolve the issue and got more charges on my card. After getting with the bank to do a fraud claim the company reimbursed only the extra charges. I never got my credits and they keep telling me that they canceled the VIP but charges were put thru anyway. I canceled all bank accounts and currently seeking legal help for all the losses. SCAM, sad but true. Good thing that I have all bills covered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent staff and cheap website

    They take money out of account when told to skip a month. They take money out of account when you put items in wish list.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Will take advantage of you if you let them

    • Illinois,
    • Mar 7, 2016

    The long version:

    It started by the wonderful ads I kept seeing advertising Fabletics about a year ago: High-quality products at a low price. The ad looks great, I go to the site and it looks grand, it's backed by Kate Hudson, hello credibility. They've got cute designs, matching outfits, and everything is looking just wonderfully peachy keen. I find an outfit I like and proceed to order and its been a while, so I don't even remember exactly what the process was because it was completely standard; standard confirmations, you know, just a regular order, I didn't think twice and waited for the clothes to arrive.

    Well, they arrived and side note here, they were very poor quality. I wore these once to try them on and never wore them again. Not out, not even at home, very cheap fabric and I was of course disappointed, but hey, you get what you pay for, can't really complain about that. I do not visit the site or even think about it for the next year or so. Fast forward to today. I have found out that this company has been, for some reason, charging $50 a month from my credit card. I have paid around $600 in total for poor-quality clothes I have worn once.

    Surprised, I of course contact the company and live chat with a representative of the company and expecting them to help me out here. The lady is initially rather unhelpful but after I tell her my situation and say it's wrong and unethical of the company to do something like this and implying I'd take legal action if not helped, she is obliging and offers a refund of one month but tells me the other months are non-refundable, and that I have store credit. I am not prepared for this answer as I was expecting her to be more accommodating, yet I cannot believe that I simply forgot having signed up to be charged $50 a month (which seriously speaking, who needs $50 a month worth of workout clothes?) so I thank her and do some research before making any concrete decision. Turns out this's a commonplace problem and that I did not "forget" I signed up for a membership. Like many others, I was unaware that I had been signed up in the first place. When you confirm your purchase, you are also confirming authorization for them to sign you up for their membership and take money from you monthly -- didn't read that part? Yeah, it's in the fine print.

    Pissed off, I call the company and after speaking with the ever-overly-perky-robot-Anna and being hung up on and hanging up and just overall being frustrated in trying to talk to a live human being (which I found out can be avoided by repeating "speak to a representative" over and over again, after two or three times perky Anna will connect you to a live representative who might hang up on you the first couple of times, but you know, all in a days work for these scammers, they'll answer the third time around) I am finally connected to a representative. I talk with them trying to have them understand my situation. I bought one lousy outfit from your store a year ago, and you think it's fair to charge me $600? I couldn't care less about store credit, I never want to hear/see/smell/think about Fabletics in my life and you think I want to waste any more money on this place with a store credit? Of course I say this all very politely (trust me on this, no matter how pissed off you are, shouting or cursing or the like doesn't usually help. Be polite, but strong; and in the case with these people, very strong) but they try very hard to go by different angles to say bottom-line; sorry can't give you a refund.

    Fortunately, I am well off (enough that I didn't notice a monthly $50 fee for a while) so I was not bluffing when I decided to bring up the legal card again, but if you have to bluff a bit, it may be worth it. Keep telling them, I couldn't give a damn if this is my mistake, I know it's my mistake, but there's no way you're charging me for your scam, I will bring my lawyer, and just sound like a privileged white lady and you should be fine. The only reason they were helpful at all was when I threatened them, and although it's unfortunate that this's the case, I will not be scammed from a company no matter if they are backed by Kate Hudson or anyone else, so it had to be done in this more harsh way. No matter what they tell you, try to get your money back and you probably can. It can be done, even though I went a year without noticing the charge and canceled the credit card it was charged to, I am getting my refund, FINALLY at the end of it all.

    Still got to call them to make sure they actually go through with the refund because I have also seen that they delay refund as well, also I've heard that sometimes they "accidentally" charge you even after you cancel.

    Short answer:

    First of all: Cheap price sure, but expect cheap quality clothes. This article says something like you get high-quality clothes at a low price but when you see the material, it's obvious how poor-quality the fabric is. And in the end, not cheap for the many who've been scammed into paying $50 a month.

    Secondly: Although not necessarily a scam, these people are deceitful to say the least. They sign you up for a paid membership when you buy your first item, and the ease with which you sign up for your membership is not at all reflective of the struggle to cancel the membership. After cancelation they will at times "accidentally" charge you. And that's if you had knowingly signed up for the membership, or if you catch the fine print telling you that you've been signed up before they charge you the first month. They don't tell you that you have a free refund of one month unless you really press the matter and/or threaten legal action. And if you have gone months being signed up for them without your knowledge then you MUST threaten legal action or they are completely uncooperative (if you have to, bluff).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Beware of Fabletics.com!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 14, 2016

    Kate Hudson should be ashamed. I joined as a VIP, and was supposed to get an outfit for $25, but was charged $39 instead. When I emailed customer service, they gave me an excuse that did not address the situation, or make any sense. So okay, I thought I'd give them another chance. I then bought another outfit, and returned it because I did not like the fit of the style. I took a store credit, because you are charged a fee for returning items (information I found that out when I returned a previous order), however, in order to get my $30-$40 credit, I had you spend at least $100. WHY? It's my money. If I had known, I would have paid the return fee instead.

    All this occurred in December and January. When I went to the website today, to opt out of my monthly outfit for February, I saw that my credit is completely gone. So now I'm out about $40. What a scam! I got ticked off and tried to cancel the VIP, but had to call three times before I got an actual person. The virtual customer service representative "Anna" would not let me cancel. Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worse than the DMV

    This company is the worst scam I've ever witnessed and I genuinely can't believe they're still in business.

    As soon as you buy one thing you are inadvertently signed up for their monthly membership. Then you are stuck with their crap until you CALL to cancel. That's right. You can't email to cancel, can't cancel online, you have to call.

    Fine, but this is what calling looks like: 30 minutes on the phone with someone from India. AND, this person can not help you. I truly believe they are paid to confuse you and talk in circles.

    Worse than trying to cancel is trying to process a return. Part of their business strategy is to stop returns and exchanges, so they make it as difficult as possible. After trying to do it online, you get crazy (seriously, crazy) error messages like, since you used your credit card to pay for this order, we can't process your exchange online. Call the 1-800 that nightmares are made of instead.

    Over 3 months ago I have been trying to process a return so I can FINALLY cancel my membership but "patty" from Burma can't seem to help me and when I try online they can't process my order because it's a Tuesday. Or because the sun is out. Or because they are busy counting their money and can't help their customers.

    Do not buy anything from this scam of a company. I pray they get shut down.

    Shame on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hidden fee, be careful, do NOT buy from them, they are a greedy and sly company

    • Oct 13, 2015

    I am furious! There is a hidden membership fee, which I had absolutely no idea of, it had not been made clear. I read it on the help page after 40 minutes of searching for any information on why they may have taken money out of my account.

    Apparently you had to decline before the 5th of the month, my October was going great until this manipulative company took 44 pounds from me. Yes they did have the information on their website, but as I said, unfortunately, I found out it was not clear enough. I am an 18 year old female, who is studying, I bought a pair of leggings for 15 pounds, to encourage myself to attend the free college gym more, if I had of known these leggings would have ended up costing me 59 pounds, I would have steered well clear, considering the fact that the leggings aren't as nice as I had hoped. Anyway, the only thing I loved about them is the hidden pocket, but I suppose I should have guessed that if this company integrated hidden pockets into their clothing, they would be likely to include hidden costs also. What this has cost me is a whole days work, which due to studies I only get 6-8 a month.

    I am ringing them tomorrow to hope I am still within the withdrawal clause, which is another thing they have not made clear whatsoever. If the person I speak to in customer services tomorrow says I can get my money back I will demand they shut down my account as soon as the repayment has been made, and I won't ever buy about this website again. I will make sure to warn people of this hidden cost and I will ensure that people on review sites hear of this monstrosity.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not order from them - stay away

    • Girard, PA,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    I was very disappointed in this company. I tried many times to cancel my membership. Each time they would offer me some type of a credit, yet they charged my account anyway and then did not give me any type of credit. I do realize you have to log in between the first and the 5th to skip a month, but to cancel you have to call and they are like pushy foreign used car salesman who try anything to keep your membership open and never deliver on their promise of a credit. The second outfit I did receive was shoddy and horrible material. Very sad that Kate Hudson has her name on this. I will be finally cancelling my membership if they let me and will never buy again from them. I encourage anyone else to cancel their membership if they can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worth the price

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I've been a Fabletics subscriber since May and have had no problems skipping months. My initial purchase was $25, and I would have paid are least that much for the capris alone. After almost four months when I wore my purchase at least weekly, the capris are pilling slightly at the inner thigh and they have retained their fit. My shirt is a slub cotton blend which is cute with a sports bra and acceptable for everyday casual wear with a neutral colored bra. I'm a new yoga teacher in my late 50's and look forward to seeing if they will offer me something I can't live without next week or if I will invest in an Athleta legging.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Customer Service reps do not care

    • Ann Arbo, Michigan,
    • Feb 27, 2015

    I have reached out twice to the Fabletics.com customer service department and each time, the rep did not bother to read my email but gave me a generic response that was not tailored to my situation.

    The first time, I placed an outfit in my cart, and then accidentally added the same outfit a second time. I was unable to get the second outfit removed from my cart and emailed customer service.

    The reply I received talked about cookies and versions of web browsers, blah, blah, blah....and ultimately the rep CANCELED my entire order. So when I signed back in again, the outfit I wanted was out of stock. When I wrote back to let them know how this was not what I asked for and how inconvenient it was, I got no response back.

    Months later when I found an outfit in stock that I did want, I placed the order, and according to my cart, I was getting 20% off because I was signing up for VIP and this was my first purchase. I found a promo code online for $10 my first outfit and applied the code to my shopping cart. The promo code reduced the 20% off discounted price of $39.96 down to $29.96.

    When my debit card was billed, I was billed $39.96 instead of $29.96.

    I wrote to customer service to get it corrected and Shelly wrote back with a general template response stating that the $20 outfit first time purchase is only valid within 24 hours of registering with Fabletics.com.

    Nowhere in my email did I ask about the $20 outfit for first time purchases!

    The clothes might be great (do not know since nothing has arrived yet), but I do not know if they can stay in business for long with customer service representatives who do not care enough to read letters from their customers, and instead look at the subject and send a pre-written generic response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Seems like a scam business

    • Ventura, CA,
    • Oct 12, 2014

    They make it difficult to log into their website, hmmm... So you can't cancel your membership maybe? Never ever had a problem like this with any other online company. Hard to believe that Kate Hudson's name is on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a review for Fabletics!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review