About Proactiv Plus

Proactiv Plus uses many ingredients found in the original Proactiv, with the addition of Smart TARGET™ technology that can help reduce irritation, as well as moisturizing ingredients to help prevent dryness. As such, Proactiv Plus is claimed to be “the fastest, gentlest, most effective Proactiv acne treatment ever.”

Proactiv is based out of Santa Monica, CA and holds an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, despite more than 1,100 closed complaints over the past three years. Overall customer satisfaction about the Plus products appears mixed, with most complaints citing that it did not work, irritated skin, and high price.

How Proactiv Plus Works

From the manufacturer of Proactiv and X Out comes Proactiv Plus, which is a dual therapy 3-step system aimed at creating and maintaining healthy pores:

  • Step 1: Apply Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, which removes accumulated dirt and oils.
  • Step 2: Apply Pore Targeting Treatment, which delivers the medicine directly to your pores.
  • Step 3: Finish with the Complexion Perfecting Hydrator, which fights acne while also revitalizing and nourishing your skin.

The company claims that Proactiv Plus is the “biggest breakthrough in acne treatment,” and that a 13-week user perception study reported that 90% of participants experienced “significant results.” When compared to original Proactiv, the Plus formulation helps exfoliate and hydrate your skin for “improved tone, texture, and brightness.” As such, there are three primary differences:

  1. Added antimicrobial benzoyl peroxide (kills bacteria) and salicylic acid (clears pores).
  2. Smart TARGET™ technology delivers medication right to the pores, causing less dryness and skin irritation.
  3. Ingredients that “attract, lock-in and help sustain” your skin’s moisture.

According to the company, you should start seeing results within 4 weeks of regular use (twice daily), though it may take as long as 6-8 weeks for some individuals.

There are no known side effects from the use of Proactiv Plus, other than occasional irritation, slight dryness, and increased sensitivity to sunlight.

Proactiv Plus Kits

Proactiv Plus products are available in three different kits, depending on your needs:

  • Proactiv Plus Complete Kit: Claimed to give your skin “instant radiance” and to diminish dark marks. Includes Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, Pore Targeting Treatment, Complexion Perfecting Hydrator, Mark Fading Pads, Eye Brightening Serum.
  • Proactiv Plus Teen Kit: Helps attack facial and body acne using the Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, Pore Targeting Treatment, Complexion Perfecting Hydrator, Emergency Blemish Relief, and Cleansing Body Bar.
  • Proactiv Plus 3-Step Kit: The core system at a reduced price. Includes Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, Pore Targeting Treatment, and Complexion Perfecting Hydrator.

In addition to one of these kits, you’ll also be able to choose between two free gifts:

  • Skin Purifying Mask – A 10-minute facial that clears pores, heals blemishes, and helps prevent future breakouts.
  • Re-Texturizing Toner – A deep cleaning toner that evens your skin’s tone and unclogs pores.

Finally, you’ll also receive the Perfecter Skin eHandbook as a free gift.

Proactiv Plus Pricing & Refund Policy

Proactiv Plus kits are priced as follows:

  • Proactiv Plus Complete Kit: $39.95
  • Proactiv Plus Teen Kit: $39.95
  • Proactiv Plus 3-Step Kit: $29.95

After choosing your kit, you’ll also need to choose your free gift, and whether you want a 30 or 90-day supply. Shipping is $5.99 for Standard, and $12.99 for Overnight.

Regardless of which kit you choose, you’ll automatically be signed up for Proactiv’s ActivMember (e.g. autoship) program. This means that starting 30 days from your order, you’ll receive a 90-day supply of the Complete Kit every three months, and your credit card on file will be charged $39.95 plus $3.99 shipping and handling. There is no commitment, and your autoship program can be cancelled at any time.

All Proactiv Plus products come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. To begin the return process, call 800-309-4796.

Pros

  • Created by the makers of Proactiv, who have been in business since 1995.
  • Claims to be a 3-step process with “extra medicine,” and the ability to hydrate and even skin tone.
  • 60-day money back guarantee.

Cons (Most common complaints)

  • Failure to work
  • Irritated skin
  • High price

Bottom Line – Should you use Proactiv Plus?

While benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid have certainly been shown to reduce acne, they should only be considered short-term solutions. As such, if you use Proactiv Plus for a month but still don’t notice an improvement, you may want to speak with your dermatologist in order to get to the root cause of your breakouts.

22 Customer Reviews for Proactiv Plus

Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 12
Bottom Line: 41% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 22
Sort reviews by:

  • Thank God!

    • by Kira,
    • Mount Vernon, NY,
    • Apr 13, 2015

    I had to write a review, and I never write reviews! Thank God for the doctors who made Proactiv Plus. This stuff worked immediately on my face, in a week I noticed a difference. Better yet, my acne, (I'm talking about cystic acne, black heads, acne scars, and acne marks) went away in a week. The Proactiv Plus system works together in harmony as my texture changed and my pores got smaller. I've tried everything. I've suffered from acne since I was 19 and now I'm 40. God bless the doctors who invented this product. I'm thankful and appreciative.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE of their false advertising

    • by Meg,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 9, 2015

    BEWARE! Proactive Plus made my skin much worse and bleached my sheets. And the company has the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ever and I ended up having to dispute the charge with my credit card company. Do not give your business to this dishonest company.

    Proactive Plus advertises a 60-day money back guarantee. When I called for a refund, the agent gave me another phone number to call. I tried it several times and nobody ever picked up or returned my messages. I called the main line again, and the agent gave me the phone number for their “Escalation Department.” I left a message there too and nobody ever called me back. They advertise the 60-day money back guarantee in commercials and on their website, but make it impossible to get a refund. I wish someone would file a lawsuit for their FALSE ADVERTISING.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Proactiv Plus Review

    • by Amanda ,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 9, 2015

    Started using PROACTIV + in September 2014. I've been having breakouts. This stuff really helped my skin. I hardly have anymore breakouts. Love love love this stuff.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Caused cystic acne for me too!

    • by Miranda Ottem,
    • Antioch, CA,
    • Dec 14, 2014

    I found this review page in hopes of finding tips on how to make a successful return of the unopened 90 day supply. I knew about the automatic ordering, just forgot to cancel. I've been really stressed and busy so I figured my breakouts were from that. Then I realized after reading other people had cystic acne after starting proactiv plus, that's when I connected the dots. I'm so pissed, I can't wait to call to cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The Original Proactiv is better

    • by Chrystal Hubbard,
    • Omaha, NE,
    • Dec 4, 2014

    The original Proactiv worked miracles for me, yes it's expensive but it's worth it. Nothing works better than it for me. I always am told I have the best, most clear skin and I thank the original Proactiv for that. I was so excited to hear they were making a Proactiv plus and I thought it was going to be better. I was wrong. Not only did I pay $30.00 more dollars just for the small package of Proactiv plus, it didn't work for me. I broke out as if I wasn't using any skin care at all. I was extremely disappointed. If you're like me, use the original Proactiv. The original Proactive never ever did that to me, it always worked wonders and I was never disappointed with it and I have been using it for 10 years now. Minus the sad 4 weeks I used Proactiv plus.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Yeah customer service has its down times

    • by Ashley ,
    • Houston, Texas ,
    • Nov 22, 2014

    I've used both lines of proactive. The original I used for almost four years and then it quit working all the sudden. Come to find out they made a change to the original formula in preparation to develop the new line. I was devastated. Im extremely vain. For that year in between old proactive and new proactive, I searched in vain for a new skin care line from Sephora high end brands and drug store brands. Nothing worked for me like Proactiv. When the new Proactiv was launched I was ecstatic. I ordered right away. Yes I agree customer service sucks. Usually.

    They do hustle the kits on you. So watch your charges. But I always did get my refund. You should use a prepaid card instead. While I agree it's expensive it's comparable to middle higher end stuff at least price wise. But it does perform. The eye cream they give me for free sucks. I prefer my Clinique or Lancôme but my skin is clear except for the occasional pimple. My mom and sister never had any luck with Proactiv. I think you either love it or hate it. But either way what have you got to lose?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrid customer service

    • by Sarah,
    • Oregon,
    • Nov 7, 2014

    Found the product didn't work for me, so I sent the items back. Nothing for a month, so I checked in.

    Apparently I sent back a 'free gift' and so I can't get my return! Their customer service is abominable (phone or email) as they repeat the same things over and over. Once they have your money it's theirs- be absolutely sure you cancel and get written proof of such!

    I'm seriously considering flagging them as 'fraudulent charges' at this point, I'm so frustrated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    • by Max,
    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 28, 2014

    This is a miracle product. I saw results within one week of use twice a day. I have seen some complaints about getting sores, dry skin, and it just not working. Honestly it is a product that only works for certain skin types. If you have sensitive skin, then you should definitely not be using an acne treatment system because it will irritate your skin and leave sores. If you have very dry skin, then this will make your skin even more dry. You should be mindful of your own skin type before purchasing an expensive skin care product. I highly suggest visiting a doctor and asking if proactive is a good choice for your specific skin, and how often he/she thinks you should use it. Proactive has been an absolutely fantastic breakthrough in my life, and I hope it does the same for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2014

      Dee

      I agree,I started using this product about 10 months ago. I am in my 50's with mild adult breakouts. My face is remarkably improved with the plus system. Glad I decided to try it. It works for me!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Proactiv Plus Scam

    • by Pat,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Oct 18, 2014

    Product did not work and when you try to get your refund it's horrible customer service. They send out the 2nd shipment early so they can get you on the shipping costs for that one too. Takes 4-6 weeks to get your refund and credit the account balance of a 3 month supply even though you declined it when you initially ordered the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    proactive plus

    • by William,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 13, 2014

    Well for all of people wanting to try proactive plus, but many complaints about getting your credit card hook and they will continue sending the product so they can keep charging. Buy the product at any store using a prepaid credit card for the amount of the cost and that's the end of it until you want to order again at your own will.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 15, 2014

      Jovie

      Hi you can order to ebay instead. No commitment, so you don't worry about your credit card.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It was pretty good

    • by Katlin ,
    • Jun 28, 2014

    I was breaking out and I didn't know what to do I had tried Clearasil and I broke out really bad on my forehead (where most of my acne consist) and then I was using Oxy for a while then it slowly stopped working and then I turned to original proactive and it work but it did the same thing as Oxy and then right before I was about to quit Proactive plus came out then I have been trying it for a while and it had been mostly clear but sometimes I'll have black heads and pimples and I've been trying to use the lightener and it doesn't seem to be getting rid of my scares so I'm going to try Murad but if it doesn't work in going back to the Proactive plus.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 22

Write a review for Proactiv Plus!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review