About Tommie Copper

Tommie Copper is a clothing manufacturer that specializes in helping their customers relieve persistent aches and pains through copper infused compression-oriented shirts, shorts, gloves, and socks. According to the company, their unique clothing line helps support muscles, joints, and surrounding tissue, which ultimately decreases swelling and increases mobility.

Tommie Copper is based out of Kisco, NY, and has been in business since 2010. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 19 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing long shipping times and failure to work.

Tommie Copper Features & Products

Similar to Copper Wear, Tommie Copper manufactures “Pro+ Ionic” copper-infused compression wear that is claimed to release ions that “may help reduce the oxidants in the body and is a natural, permanent anti-bacterial agent with skin benefits.” Additional benefits include increased oxygen transport, improved muscle tone, “free radical” neutralization, relief from muscle soreness and stiffness, and much more.

With numerous compression and non-compression products for men and women, in addition to several accessories, the Tommie Copper brand has a wide target audience. These include everyone from high-level athletes to grandmothers who enjoy gardening—essentially anyone who experiences fluid buildup in their joints, muscle stiffness, or sore, tired legs.

In addition to its health benefits, Tommie Copper claims their compression wear is designed using “3D compression” technology, and is the most comfortable on the market; because after all, if people aren’t wearing their clothing, they won’t be able to reap the benefits. However, the company admits that not all customers will immediately experience the benefits of their compression wear, as some will take longer due to their individual physiology.

Tommie Copper Pricing & Refund Policy

Due to the wide variety of Tommie Copper products available, prices can vary widely. However, based on our research, most products range between $24.50 and $169.50.

All Tommie Copper products come with an unrestricted 60-day return policy. If you’re dissatisfied for any reason within this time, you can send your clothing back to the company—used or otherwise—and will only be responsible for shipping and handling fees. Simply contact customer service at 855-692-8291 to begin the process.

Does Copper Even Work For Pain Relief?

There is no known scientific evidence available demonstrating that copper infused compression wear will provide constant and reliable relief. In fact, according to this study done on 70 patients, the conclusion drawn was that magnetic copper bracelets (mixed with other placebos) do not provide much pain relief to the individuals who were suffering from rheumatoid arthritis. In addition, after looking through the Tommie Copper website, we were unable to find any clinical evidence supporting that copper works for everyone.

Pros

  • Claims to help relieve persistent aches and pains through compression-oriented clothing.
  • Reduces swelling and stiffness, while increasing mobility.
  • Can be worn by anyone—not just athletes.
  • Some individuals may experience immediate relief.
  • 60-day unrestricted return policy.

Cons

  • Instead of instant relief, some individuals may experience results over a longer period of time.
  • Most common complaints cite long shipping and failure to work.
  • No scientific evidence available that copper actually provides relief including on the company website.

Bottom Line: Should you buy Tommie Copper?

Since our original review, more than 129 HighYa readers have chimed in and offered their two cents on Tommie Copper compression wear products. What do they have to say?

Overall, HighYa customer reviews appear to be evenly split, with most negative reviews referencing high price, failure to work, poor quality construction (insufficient compression, garments will not stay in place, that quickly fray at the seams, etc.), and negative reactions or stained skin/clothing from the copper content. On the positive side though, it appears that many people have found pain relief from less severe conditions such as arthritis, inflammation, and carpal tunnel syndrome.

However, one question we kept asking ourselves when reading several of the positive reviews from individuals with severe medical conditions requiring professional medical attention: Had they previously tried any medical-grade compression garments, such as those sold through RejuvaHealth? We bring this up because if they claimed to have tried everything, it would seem that their physician would have already made this recommendation based on their symptoms. With this said, several HighYa readers wrote very detailed reviews, and although they gave Tommie Copper high marks, they claimed that they were going to try other brands prior to ordering additional garments from the company.

Nearly all HighYa Tommie Copper reviewers appear to have been seeking pain relief, which is a positive sign. This is because, as we mentioned in our Science of Compression Wear article, compression wear has been shown to provide clear medical benefits, including increased circulation, improved blood flow, hastened wound recovery, reduced risk of forming a blood clot, and improved venous function. However, other than reducing the buildup of lactic acid and decreasing post-exercise recovery times, they have not been shown to provide any sports-related performance benefits, which is a claim that many consumer-grade compression wear manufacturers make.

The Final Take on Tommie Copper Compression Wear

With evenly split HighYa customer reviews, it would appear that you have a 50/50 chance of experiencing benefits from Tommie Copper compression wear, which may be increased slightly if you experience mild to moderate pain related to arthritis, inflammation, and carpal tunnel syndrome. It really depends on each individual's personal circumstance.

From our perspective, it appears that an individual who is suffering from severe arthritis or other major pain would have decreased chances of experiencing substantial relief using Tommie Copper or other branded copper compression wear alone without doctor prescribed medication.

However, if you’re looking for any kind of enhanced sports performance, Tommie Copper may be good fit for you assuming you don't have any other major medical conditions. You probably see a lot of athletes in the NBA constantly wearing compression wear.

See also: Can Copperwear Provide You With Pain Relief?

157 Customer Reviews for Tommie Copper

Average Customer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 66 4 stars: 17 3 stars: 6 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 60
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The return policy

    This company has the worst customer service when it comes to returns that I have EVER encountered. I placed a first order using their sizing guidelines and received 15% off. I received the item and it was too big. I wanted to exchange for a smaller size and was told I had to return my item and place another order but I would not get the 15% off because I had already used it originally. Today I received my refund and was still charged for the $4.95 shipping. So I paid a total of $7.27 shipping at my expense for an item I was unable to use that I purchase using their guidelines. I won't know if the product ever works because I don't do business with a company with such poor policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Tommie Copper Sucks

    • by Anthony Silvestro,
    • Hamilton Square, NK,
    • Mar 2, 2015

    I purchased the largest size knee supports thinking I was doing a good thing. I put them on only to find them rolling down my leg and I was unable to keep them on due to the cutting off if the circulation in legs. Believe me this is not a product I would recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Tommie Copper Knee Sleeves

    • by Marianne Distefano,
    • Omaha, NE,
    • Mar 1, 2015

    I love them. I do get relief from my arthritis pain. I really need them. I will be having knee surgery soon. I feel they do help ease the pain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Tommie Copper Wrist/hand glove

    • by Gary Hix,
    • Kenosha, Wi. ,
    • Mar 1, 2015

    I have been using my Tommie Copper gloves and wrist bands for the last 10 months. I love golfing, fishing and various types of racket type sports.

    I have very bad arthritis in my wrist and thumb on right dominate hand. I wear the glove on my hand when I'm doing athletic things. I know it's not going to cure my arthritis but so far it has helped reduce the level of discomfort after my athletic endeavors.

    Controlling pain that can not be eliminated is what I was seeking and Tommie Copper has helped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't belive it worked

    • by Kelli,
    • Emerald Isle, NC,
    • Feb 28, 2015

    My sister in law worked as a telephone company installer, climbing up poles and under buildings and homes, so she knows some pain. She tried one, and when I was visiting, suggested I "try" hers to see if it worked, since I am BROKE and spend every dime I have on medical care for me and my disabled child.

    I was injured in a car accident in 2002 (driver was high) and am now a disabled mom of a disabled 15 year old. I have permanent spinal cord damage, nerve damage is the WORST of all. 24/7 pain, It's worse at night. Doctors call it "night time pain syndrome", your stop doing everything and you try to sleep - your body has NOTHING to think about but the pain you are in. NO SLEEP

    The nerve damage is set off by muscle spasms, I take 6 Vicodins, 3 different muscle relaxers, anti-anxiety meds, anti-depressants (who in my condition wouldn't need them?!), and use Lidoderm patches - every day. I get to pay for all that, and kill my liver at the same time, just so I don't blow my brains out from pain. It's something like having a Charley horse 24 hours a day since August 31, 2002.

    NOW, I won't tell you the knee brace has "cured" the problem, but what I WILL tell you, honestly, that it has helped about 20%. To anyone NOT having experienced the sheer mind-numbing amount of pain patients like me suffer, that might not seem like much. To me, it makes life worth attempting again, trying to get out of bed worth most days again.

    The compression on the sciatica nerve running along the outer side of my leg has helped DECREASE the electrical shock, the "walking on cut glass", the barbed wire, the being shot in the foot, the dog bite, the boiling water, etc.. sensations that my frayed and damaged sciatica nerve kept sending to my brain. There is nothing wrong with my foot or leg, but my sciatica insists on telling my brain there is.

    I ALSO have a $75,000 spinal cord stimulator/implant to help with the pain of the injury, so I am NOT talking some little back ache here. I am talking can't walk some days, close to a wheel chair. And, oh joy, the internal battery in my stimulator is dying and will need replacing within the next few months, another $35,000. My portion? A measly $3,000.

    I suggest you go online to Hamrick's. It is a discount store in the south. They sell for between $9.98 and $12.98 (don't know why there is a difference) The reason I know? Lost mine that I bought for $12.98. CRIED. My sweet, supportive husband of 29 years drove a 7 hour round trip to pick me up another one, it was $9.98. Less a 10% coupon in the local paper, and a 15% discount card he signed up for (FREE) and he arrived on Senior Day with his Senior Mom, so he got ANOTHER 10% off. LOADS less than the TV price.

    Took the opportunity to visit his mother who lives close by, so it does pay to go see the old folks!

    I was NOT solicited by, NOR PAID for this review. BUT, if they'd like to contact me, well now, I would be more than happy to accommodate them!

    Blessings world, from a small island off the coast of NC where we moved so I could recover my health, sanity, joy and peace.

    With God's grace and love, the healing of His Son and with the love and support of my husband and daughter I am on that path. May you be, also!

    Kelli

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Osteoarthritis Relief

    • by Deb,
    • Battle Creek MI,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    I bought the knee sleeve a few years ago after watching a commercial on TV. I must say that wearing the sleeve every day definitely helps with the knee pain I experience. I can tell the difference if I do not wear it. It is so light weight that I don't even realize that I'm wearing it. I can honestly say that the knee sleeve certainly helps with walking, standing and the swelling that goes along with osteoarthritis. I plan on ordering 2 more soon!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Unable to Cancel order/Returns Policy

    • by Tony,
    • Toronto,Ont. CA,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    I have used the Tommie Copper knee sleeve for many years in order to reduce the swelling effects after my ACL surgery. I have been very satisfied with the product as it seems to work better than the over-the-counter tensors and I wear it everyday, all day. I play goalie in a men's ice hockey league, so my knees do take a beating. In the past I have used various knee injections (i.e Synvisc, Orthovisc) to minimize the pain and swelling, this year I have not used the injections but only the sleeve. That's the good part of the story, now for the bad.

    Recently I ordered an ankle sleeve, received a 15% discount email to apply to the order, of which the coupon didn't work. Before the order was processed, I tried to cancel it as I had located the same article in a store locally. I sent numerous emails to their Customer Service Department, only to be told the order cannot be canceled as it is processed in another warehouse. What company these days can't cancel an order less than 24 hours after being ordered? I was told I could return the order (minus the $12.50 Shipping & Handling Fee) once the product arrives for a full refund. I was also offered a ridiculous offer of a 15% off my next order for the inconvenience which I declined. The final outcome to this transaction is yet to be determined as I am waiting for the 5th email response from their Customer Service department.

    There are many other retailers that now carry the product & very similar ones too if you must have it (Amazon, Bass Pros & As Seen On TV are a few).

    Long story short:

    Pros: good product, it has various results depending on the individual & yes I have recommended the product to friends.

    Cons: Terrible Customer service, returns and shipping policy. Not recommended to purchase from the website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Just doesn't work as advertised, so...

    Tommie Copper is in breach of Federal Internet Scam laws. When you sell a product you better be sure it works as advertised or the Feds will be knocking on your door with a cease and desist order.

    I ordered the knee sleeve in the proper size hoping it would relieve the chronic pain in my knee. All I got was nylon with bands at the top and bottom and a warning that the upper band might irritate your skin. I wouldn't mind a slight irritation if the damned thing stopped sliding down my leg to my ankle.

    When I first got the sleeve I really thought I had made a great investment. My knee got nice and warm and the pain started to subside, but after walking around the block, I had to drop my jeans and pull the sleeve back up to where it had started out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2015

      Bella

      Wear suspeders lol

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Tommie Copper knee Compression

    • by Dan Johnson,
    • Lees Summit, MO,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    I love my Tommie Copper Knee Compression (what do you call them, wraps? Sleeves?). I have arthritis in both knees and they provide instant relief and support. I fly weekly and wear them all the time. When getting up from cramped sitting positions, driving my car, or lots of walking they are a great aid. My daughter and I frequently go to Disney World and on average, walk about 12 miles a day on concrete and wearing Tommie Copper has been a huge benefit. I highly suggest them. I am going to order an ankle support next.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Thumbs up for Tommie Copper

    • by Labs,
    • MA,
    • Feb 16, 2015

    I bought the performance knee band and the recovery band for my very young, very dedicated daughter. She refused to wear any sort of brace until Tommie Copper. She is an extremely dedicated athlete who was struggling with overuse knee strain. She swears by it and after working out keeps her recovery sleeve on overnight. I can attest to no more swelling and she finds that even after the most rigorous of days, her knee is sore but bearable. Pain is relieved after a short time in her recovery sleeve. Thanks Tommie Copper from a great youngster who pushes the boundaries!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Quality of the product

    • by Rhonda Flint,
    • Natural Bridge VA ,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    I bought two pairs of women's tights, one shirt and a pair of socks. I had a hole in one pair of my tights. So far, considering I only have them for 8 months, and having only wore them about 20 times, for what they cost I don't think they held up very good. And the socks where way too tight, I couldn'y wear them. The tights and shirt did make my joints feel better while working out, just didn't hold up very well for the price. Just two pair of tights and shirt were 69x2+49=$187.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 157

Write a review for Tommie Copper!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review