About AnastasiaDate

Established in 1993 by a Russian-American couple, AnastasiaDate is an international online dating site that specializes in helping men meet women from Russia, Ukraine, Moldova, and other CIS countries. With a staff of 300 and offices in the United States, Russia, China, Colombia, and Kenya, AnastasiaDate claims to have more than one million worldwide members. In fact, the site has become so popular that it’s been featured on major U.S. television shows such as The Daily Show, 48 Hours, The Howard Stern Show, and across networks like CBS, Fox, ABC, and more.

AnastasiaDate differentiates itself from the competition by tackling the problem of scams head-on, which is something very prevalent within the international online dating community. They accomplish this by contacting each woman who joins the site and verifying their identity, making sure their picture is a true representation of their looks, and that their intentions involve romance, marriage, companionship, or friendship.

On top of this, AnastasiaDate hosts numerous romantic tours each year, which are primarily focused on Russia and Ukraine. During these tours, men (most of whom are from the U.S.) fly in to meet women through a variety of social events. Packaged tours are available, and include airfare, accommodations, food, guided tours, transportation, professional translation services, and more. And whether or not you’ve already met someone special on the site, you can use these tours as an opportunity to meet women, or to get to know someone better.

How AnastasiaDate Works – From a Man’s Perspective

If you’re a man seeking a woman, AnastasiaDate makes signing up free and easy. As soon as you’ve input a few of your personal details, you’ll immediately be able to begin browsing the profiles of Russian women, just like with any other dating site. You can search based on age, weight, and other interests listed in her profile, such as personal details, interests, photos, physical traits, answers to common dating questions such as what she looks for in a man, and so forth. In addition to Russian women, AnastasiaDate also includes women from the U.S.

If you browse the site and decide it’s right for you, you can then create your profile, upload pictures, and answer typical questions that you’ll find on any other dating site. When searching for women, you’ll quickly notice that:

  1. Most of the women come from Ukraine, and
  2. They typically include professional, model-like photos of themselves.

This would normally raise our red-flag-meter as a potential scam, but according to AnastasiaDate, each woman goes through a personal verification process, and a professional photographer who has teamed up with the dating site most likely took the pictures. Which brings us to our next point…

Where Do the Russian Women Come from on AnastasiaDate?

Because AnastasiaDate is specifically tailored toward men seeking women, if you attempt to sign up for the site and indicate that you are a woman, you’ll be redirected to www.svadba.com (“svadba” means “wedding” in Russian). There, a woman who is looking to be listed on AnastasiaDate will experience a wholly different process, infrastructure, and portal, all of which is completely in Russian. Soon thereafter, an employee from the company would call the applicant, and would begin the verification process.

AnastasiaDate Features & Pricing

Like most of the more popular dating sites such as Zoosk and Christian Mingle, browsing through the women’s profiles on the site is completely free. However, if you decide that you’d like to chat with one of these women, this is when you’ll start being charged—and which can become very expensive, very quickly.

When you chat with a woman on AnastasiaDate for the first time, the initial three minutes are free of charge, after which point you’ll be prompted to purchase credits. Even though the site is not subscription based, it is credit based (more about credit values in a moment). Credits are sold in bundles, and are priced as follows:

  • 20 credits = $15.99
  • 40 credits = $30
  • 80 credits = $56
  • 160 credits = $96
  • 320 credits = $185
  • 500 credits = $249
  • 1,000 credits = $399

One credit is worth one minute of chat, while two credits are worth one minute of live chat with video, (only you will be able to see the woman). For example: If you purchase 1,000 credits, you’ll have 170 minutes of two-way video chat (e.g. you both can see each other), or you’ll be able to send up to 100 letters. In addition, AnastasiaDate offers many other traditional features such as the ability to send virtual gifts, flowers, and much more.

One Little Problem: Fake Review Flood

As mentioned in our TripTogether observation, we have been receiving a ton of "overly-positive" reviews in our system all in extreme favor of AnastasiaDate. Now we're not pointing fingers here but using our undisclosed proprietary process and algorithm, our system immediately red-flagged the flood of these reviews as ones that do not appear to be genuine and legit. On the contrary, it was what appeared to be as individuals trying to pose as consumers with hopes of artificially boosting the company's rating here at HighYa. As such, we completely blacklisted them. We even went as far as kindly reaching out to AnastasiaDate and TripTogether twice and providing the courtesy of simply asking for such behavior to stop. Both times we were ignored. With that said, it makes us question all the other positive reviews for these two companies available on other review websites. So just be careful and cautious when researching reviews for these companies!

The Bottom Line – AnastasiaDate isn’t a Scam, but Is Very Expensive

AnastasiaDate works differently than most other dating sites; from the way their verification process operates and the women they “showcase,” to their numerous romantic tours each year. If you don’t have a problem dating women who potentially just want to come to the U.S. for a better life, AnastasiaDate may be a good option for you. With that said, the reality is that many of the women on the site are genuine, and are looking for honest romance with a man from the U.S. However, some are definitely looking only for a free ticket, and nothing else. So as cliché as it may sound: Be careful. If you have the moolah to spend, that is.

Despite the verification process that women undergo, or the wide variety of tours available throughout the year, AnastasiaDate is built to make money. For instance: After you chat with a beautiful woman for three minutes, your passion might be ignited, so you’ll want to chat with her more. If you and she really “click” with each other, you could easily spend thousands of dollars on credits in a matter of several weeks, only to find out that you didn’t fit together as well as you originally might have thought. And if you meet another woman soon thereafter, the process repeats itself all over again.

Now, you might be thinking, “Why wouldn’t I just exchange personal information with a woman?” AnastasiaDate makes all women agree to certain terms in order to be featured on the site, and if these guidelines are broken, they will be permanently removed. As a result, you will not be able to obtain any personal information from them, including phone numbers, email addresses, Skype usernames, etc.

So while AnastasiaDate is specifically built to give you exactly what you want, it is also specifically created to make a lot of money. If you choose to join AnastasiaDate and actively pursue Russian women, be prepared to spend a ton of money in the process.

See also: Watch Out for These 6 Red Flags When Dating Online

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Consumer Reviews for AnastasiaDate

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 0 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Of course it is a scam

    • Boston, MA,
    • Apr 13, 2015

    Of course AnastasiaDate is a scam. They of course, don't take any responsibility for the website. They merely provide a portal that links you into the agencies in Ukraine who have fake profiles, fake women, and women who are not sincere about meeting anyone. It is just a gigantic scam model where women get a small percentage of the cut. AnastasiaDate makes a gigantic profit for doing nothing. I had a friend who spent $10,000 over a few months there. The woman refused to let him come over to see her. I think he should try to get his money back. We will see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Oh no! Get me out of here!

    • Southern California,
    • Oct 16, 2015

    I had a nine month "relationship" with a woman on Anastasia Date that presumably was searching for her "soul mate". Nothing could be farther from the truth. Yulia B. is indeed a beautiful woman who lures men to Karkov, Ukraine in hopes of their having a romantic interlude with the woman of their dreams and may have the intent of marrying. Unfortunately, Yulia forgets to tell them she is a lesbian and that will never happen.

    She talks men out of getting a hotel and has them use a chosen apartment she has set up for them where they can be alone. But she is never alone with you. She constantly has her interpreter by her side (even though you may speak intermediate Russian as I do) or her realtor. The apartment is 4 stories up in an old building with no elevator and she charges you probably nine times the going rate. She makes her money off the unfortunate men by skimming off the apartment, taxis (she never uses her car) restaurants (she has a deal with) and gets a cut off the interpreter.

    She refuses to be touched, even hold hands, and is constantly wrapped up like a mummy. Beware of this woman. You easily catch her in lies and you fly back out of town like I did after only the second day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Don't fall for fake reviews

    Of course AnastasiaDate is a scam, I detail the scam, the scammer women at the site, the scammer agencies in Ukraine that work with Anastasiadate. I used the service for two years and I met nothing but scammer women who did pro dates. They would meet me and get translation fees for their friend or whatever. Most just wanted me to chat with them in video chat because they are paid 12 cents a minute. The local agencies in Ukraine make a bundle on the deal. Everyone makes money off of stupid American men. And when we meet the girl eventually after months of chatting, she is disinterested.

    That is only because usually the women at the site are married or engaged to be married.

    This industry is dying because of sites like anastasiadate. They cannot stop with the lies and the deceit. But we can all speed this along if we abandoned such horrible services and focused on the sites that actually provide honest women who look for real relationships.

    Stop believing in this garbage fantasy. Wake up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Better than being robbed by a gun, and they won't take your iPhone

    • Dec 8, 2015

    Without a doubt, the site has loads of profiles with photos of very beautiful women. Unfortunately, whether you read messages, send replies, chat or even view attached photos & videos, this site charges you for pretty much *everything*, and these 'beautiful women' (assuming they're real) use every trick in the book to lure you into reading one more message, writing one more reply, chatting for one more minute and viewing one more photo or video... and all that keeps the AnastasiaDate.com cash register ringing at an alarming rate.

    I currently live in Kiev, Ukraine, and I only contacted girls who speak English and live in the exact same city. So lining up a date on this site should have been at least as easy as any of the free sites I've used to find dates in the same place, right? Unfortunately, it wasn't. With the goal of spending as little as possible, simply to verify that this site would lead to at least one real-life date, I spent over $200 USD in just 5 days, received replies from over 40 girls, and ended up with nothing but more invitations to keep emailing and chatting, longer and longer, adding more and more $100+ charges to my credit card.

    Additionally, the profiles and messages I saw seemed VERY fake to me, and having used online dating services for years, I can spot a fake a mile away. And the girls almost always write back within 24 hours. Does that sound normal for an online dating site to you? It sure doesn't to me, but I'm sure it helps keep that cash register ringing. When you bring all this up with one of the very friendly customer service people, they'll happily send you a link to their 'anti-scam policy,' which they seem to think should convince us that we're not being scammed. But the fact is, if someone can live in Kiev, speak Russian, and not set up a single date with a girl who lives in the SAME CITY after hearing back from 40+ girls and spending $200+, when free or super-cheap sites like Badoo, OkCupid and VK work perfectly well, it's safe to say that AnastasiaDate falls far, far short of delivering what it promises.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Of course, no good

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Sep 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have met many girls on the Anastasia site from Ukraine and Russia where I met some of them later in person. As you know, I had to spend some money before I get their contacts. To make it short, all the girls I met have agencies where they charged me to have a translator along with each of the girls I met on daily basis. About $ 75 a day. So wherever I went, the translator was with us paying for food too.

    The first two travel trips were bad and costly, but nothing to compare to the last girl named Marina, who is from Nikolaev in Ukraine. She wanted me to meet her family, claiming they were poor, and we got engaged. I, of course, bought a lot of gifts for the whole family. We got engaged, and I applied for a US Visa for her. After about ten months and many costly trips visiting her, the US Visa was ready. I sent her $2000 so she can get a medical exam, transportation, and other expenses she may need. She called me asking for more money, claiming that was not enough. So I sent her another $ 1,500, not mentioning the monthly allowance I used to send her. About $ 500 a month.

    The end of this scam is that the girl never went to the US embassy. It was a scam all along. So I notified the embassy to blacklist her.

    You may think that I would not continue seeking a girl after this big scam, but I did meet more girls. However, before traveling to meet them and within few days of meeting them online, I used to call my credit card company to trace where the payment is going to while I was at Anastasia site. After an investigation, these girls that are supposed to be living and talking to me in Ukraine, the charges were coming from an island called Cypress. When I confronted the girls, they are probably prostitutes working for gangs.

    After that no more communications at all with anyone from the internet period. I do not trust anybody on the internet, back to the old-fashioned way to meet girls in person here in my city, and whatever I spend on them is much much less than the hassle of meeting an untrustworthy girl in a country I do not know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this scam, you will lose money and time.

    It is impossible to get an email or a phone number of a lady no matter how much money you pay. The ladies are not real, and you can find their photos at other sites, so it is easy for the company to create a database. The answers to your letters are written by the interpreters, and you never correspond with real ladies. Even if you do so, you WILL NEVER get any contact details. It is called FRAUD in any language. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of money

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My negative experiences with this site echo the other reviews on here. I just recently quit AnastasiaDate as of about March of 2018, as well as their sister site AsianDate. I would like to report that their fee structure for using the site(s) has changed since this article was written. You now only have four credit purchase selections of $20, $80, $160 and I believe the highest is $500. I do not recall the prices for each level but I believe that is about the same for each credit level.

    What they have done, which I feel is a rip-off, is now they have implemented a membership fee of $15.99 per month just to have the privilege of purchasing credits. There are a few perks with this membership, but almost all were useless to me. If your membership did expire, you could still use your credits you purchased, but could not see how many credits you had left. They also rip you off by charging six credits per minute for cam-share.

    Due to some great financial downturns since 2010, I considered myself as being fairly poor, so I was very cautious in making purchases and using the credits. I had some similar negative experiences on both sites, and only had one good experience with one lady on AnastasiaDate.

    Her name was Tatyana and she was a farm girl from Moldova. Unlike many other ladies, she seemed very real in our conversations. I sent her long letters and she seemed to reply to most of what I told her about, but with very short letters (even though I asked her to send a long letter back). This is one of the red flags I have about this site. She did, however, send real pictures of herself doing something, or of her and a member of her family. If these photos were fake and staged for this site, they were believable. Anyway, after several letters back and forth, I asked her to leave this site and contact me personally. She refused on the grounds that she did not believe we could continue the conversation as she did not speak or read English very well, even though she listed her English skills as intermediate. Red flag number two. I even told her that I could use a free translation site and send her letters in both English and translated for her to read. So my final message to her was if she did not want to leave this site and join me, then it was goodbye.

    I left the site shortly after that.

    I would also mention that they have ways of charging you credits even though you never meant to spend them if you click on the wrong thing. Sometimes I would click on the chat pictures to view the ladies profile and end up being charged for a chat, even though I never did chat with her. This is another rip-off. I complained about it and got some of my credits restored, but not all of them.

    The only thing good I can say about this site is their profile structure. Most of the time, all the information that I am looking for about each lady, is on their profile and it is easy to use. This site has other sister sites like AmoLatina and ArabianDate along with maybe a couple of others, that have changed their structure and are much more unfavorable to use, as you would have to waste credits to find the information you need to make decisions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Biggest scam ever!

    • New York,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is horrible! The ladies on this site are ALL paid to chat with lonely men. The longer you stay online, the more money they make, pure and simple. Two women I was chatting with admitted that to me! I am an idiot. I tried it many times and got scammed each and every time! I lost a TON of money. Customer service consists of lying scammers too. They will just say that you being scammed is your fault, etc. You have been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Yes, this is largely a huge scam

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Believing in hope against hope that if somehow stuck it out, I would eventually meet someone who wasn't a complete scammer, and sorry to report, I never did. I will just give an example of the most recent (and my very last) experience.

    Natalyia wrote seemingly an initial first letter that did not seem like the standard form letter that you get from some of the ladies, sometimes up to 40 times or more. I responded and we seemingly had a very real exchange of letters and chats over the course of several weeks. Then, in the last letter, just after she promised what she would do to me when we finally met in person, out of the blue, she mentioned that we should definitely take it slow. That raised a red flag, because not only can you not get much slower than sending letters and email chatting from over 5000 miles away, but this was frequently the "block" I would get when I would throw out actually calling them to discuss future plans.

    She also though enclosed a photo of a strategically placed tattoo she had on her lower back. Also on the picture was a Russian last name. I googled it and it was that of a very active photographer who specializes in erotic photography (she told me she was a personal trainer). Clicking on his site, I soon found Nataliya and a number of pictures that were on the Anastasia site, and also some link to their version of Facebook, called VK. So I went on her site, found her last name, and looked at many of her 500 selfies, but several of which also featured her muscle-bound boyfriend who looked like he had an IQ under 80 with his backward camouflage ball cap on.

    Just to give her the slightest benefit of the doubt, since maybe he was an ex-boyfriend, I created a separate Anastasia account using a gift card (which I would highly suggest to check the fidelity and loyalty of the woman at the other end who has pledged her undying whatever to you). I went in as "John" and simply wrote her, "I like your pics and bio. Do you currently have anybody here on the site or in real life who you have feelings for, because if I'm going to try to win your heart, I want to know that you are completely available?" Her response, as expected was of course, that she was completely free and looking, and then went into some detail about how she wanted to handcuff me and "lick every cell of my body." I didn't even get that kind of response in my real profile from her.

    So, clearly, even though this seemed to be just about the most serious one I've encountered on Anastasia after being on and off for over 5 years, she was just as full of crap and would clearly say anything to anybody to keep that 12 cents a minute coming in, or whatever they pay them for letters. Apparently, it's almost a cottage industry in some depressed Ukrainian towns.

    Do not do like I do and waste a cent on this site. There are others that are reputable and you pay for their actual contact once, not on and on and on just to maintain contact with your imaginary Slavic girlfriend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not for me

    • Chile, Santiago,
    • Dec 8, 2014

    I didn’t find the one I was looking for... But what can I do... This site is not for me...maybe somebody’s have some luck there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Deception in your emails, you open then they disappear!

    They changed the way you can view a lady. You used to be able to click on the lady to view her profile before you pay to read her letter, so if for some reason you don't like her profile or things about her, you can just pass on her (for instance she smokes, she has 3 kids, she's not from the country you thought). You just don't know. Or if you open a letter from a lady you like you better write down her ID number or you will never find it again; it just disappears. It just seems with all that money they're making they could change there website. Unless these are not real people, just people sitting behind a computer making money for the company, unless they change it. That's what it feels like. Bring back the desktop versions for letters too. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for AnastasiaDate!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review