BioTrust Reviews - Do These Supplements Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jul 10, 2019

Headquartered in Austin, TX, BioTrust sells a variety of protein, healthy living, digestive health, and anti-aging dietary supplements intended to help you achieve your health goals.

Compared to competitors, the company submits all of their products to an industry-leading 7-stage research and testing process they say ensures optimal potency and purity. They also provide free health and wellness coaching to all of their customers to help maximize their success.

Between their fully transparent formulations and unmatched quality, the BioTrust website tells us they’ve shipped more than 15 million of their products to families worldwide.

But, are they the right supplement company for you? In this article, we'll take a high-level look at the company and a couple of their top products, compare them to competitors and help you find actionable answers.

How Does BioTrust’s Research and Testing Process Work?

BioTrust Nutrition was co-founded in 2011 by self-described big-hearted “science nerds” Josh Bezoni and Joel Marion, who say they were focused on launching a “mission-based nutrition company that was authentic, honest, charitable, and always put quality and customers first.”

Since that time, they’ve grown into a team of more than 100 employees, which they advertise makes them one of the fastest-growing online nutrition brands in America.

A big part of this success, they emphasize, is their rigorous seven-stage research and testing process, which was developed by supplement formulation and quality control experts:

  • Step 1: BioTrust’s world-class formulators “rigorously scour the research for the finest and most innovative ingredients” to include in their supplements.
  • Step 2: The company only adds the clinically substantiated dosages of ingredients to their formulations.
  • Step 3: All ingredients found in BioTrust supplements represent the purest, highest-quality versions available without antibiotics and artificial sweeteners, colors and preservatives. There are no GMOs, gluten, antibiotics, or synthetic growth hormones as well.
  • Step 4: These ingredients come with a certificate of analysis for potency and purity, and BioTrust goes one step further by performing microbiological testing during manufacturing.
  • Step 5: All ingredients are produced in GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices)-certified facilities that adhere to proper food safety and quality performance guidelines.
  • Step 6: BioTrust works with an independent third-party company to double-check these ingredient levels.
  • Step 7: These same third parties also test for “impurities, microbe contamination, heavy metals, and allergens” in BioTrust’s finalized formulations.

With these high-level details in mind, let’s zoom in and explore some of the ingredients you’ll encounter in BioTrust’s most popular formulations.

Which Ingredients Will You Find in BioTrust’s Dietary Supplements?

As of this writing, BioTrust offers a lineup of 17 different supplement formulations. In the interest of maximizing your time, we’ll quickly go over the ingredients found in two of the top-rated options on their website—each of which the HighYa team has also written about in the past—to help provide further insight.

BioTrust Brain Bright

According to the supplement facts label listed on the BioTrust website, Brain Bright contains:

  • Vitamin B12 1,000 mcg
  • Calcium 130 mg
  • GinkgoClean Ginko Biloba Extract 240 mg
  • RhodiolaMax Rhodiola Rosea Extract 200 mg
  • N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine 500 mg
  • Acetyl-L-Carnitine 500 mg
  • L-Theanine 100 mg
  • Bioperine Extract 5 mg

According to sites like the Natural Medicines Database, WebMD, and Examine.com, taking between 60 mg and 480 mg of ginkgo per day is possibly effective for addressing aspects of anxiety and dementia. Furthermore, 100–300 mg of tyrosine could improve memory and mental performance under stressful situations, and 12–100 mg of theanine may help reduce errors on tests.

On the other hand, they indicate there’s insufficient clinical support for the other claims and ingredients found in Brain Bright.

BioTrust IC-5

Comparatively, BioTrust’s IC-5 supplement contains the following:

  • Chromium 200 mcg
  • Berberine 500 mg
  • 25:1 Cinnamon Bark Extract 100 mg
  • Benfotiamine 80 mg
  • Naringin 50 mg

Using these same sites as our guide, they cumulatively report there’s insufficient clinical evidence to support BioTrust’s carb-related claims for IC-5.

A BioTrust representative sent us three documents outlining several studies showing that some of the ingredients in these supplements could deliver on their claims.

However, it’s important to point out sites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database only report the cumulative level of clinical support related to an ingredient’s specific benefits and not specific studies like the ones BioTrust provided.

Could BioTrust’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

Sites like Examine.com and WebMD report that for most individuals, the ingredients in Brain Bright and IC-5 likely won’t cause side effects worse than mild, temporary digestive upset—if anything at all.

With this in mind, they indicate other potential side effects (no circumstances or other specifics provided) include:

  • Headache – Ginkgo, theanine
  • Dry Mouth – Rhodiola
  • Dizziness – Ginkgo, Rhodiola

Ginkgo can also cause constipation and allergic reactions, Rhodiola can lead to excessive saliva production, and carnitine can cause heartburn or diarrhea. These same sites indicate the long-term safety of Rhodiola and theanine is unknown.

To help reduce the potential side effects or medication interactions related to any supplements you’re taking, be sure to talk with your healthcare professional in advance.

How Much Do BioTrust’s Products Cost?

In general, you’ll find BioTrust’s products priced in the following ranges:

  • Proteins: $29–$59
  • Healthy Living: $34–$69
  • Digestive Health: $49
  • Anti-Aging: $34–$69
  • Gear: $14.99–$24.95
  • Ageless Glow: $29.00 to $79.00

BioTrust emphasizes that every order placed helps feed a child through their partnership with the No Kid Hungry® campaign and that they’ve helped provide more than three million meals to date.

You can also subscribe to recurring shipments and save 20% on any products, which you can edit or cancel at any time.

U.S.-bound, one-time orders come with a $6.95 shipping charge, with international costs calculated at checkout. On the other hand, all recurring orders come with free shipping.

BioTrust offers a 60-day money-back guarantee on all of their supplements, including a pre-printed return shipping label, as well as a 1-year exchange program and in-house credit procedure. It's important to keep in mind that you will still be responsible for shipping charges when sending your product back. To initiate the return process, you can reach support at 800-766-5086 or via their site’s contact form.

Our View: Should You Order BioTrust Supplements?

Keeping in mind everything we’ve learned, it’s positive that BioTrust only uses high-quality ingredients in their supplement formulations, which also come with competitive prices.

However, while their 7-stage research and testing process is unique, overall, we also learned that several other companies implement many of its same components (e.g., third-party testing, sourcing from GMP-certified factories, obtaining certificates of analysis, etc.).

Furthermore, sites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database report that most of the ingredients found in their popular Brain Bright and IC-5 supplements have insufficient clinical evidence supporting most of the manufacturer’s advertising claims.

With all of this said, BioTrust and its supplements seem to come with mostly positive online customer feedback, here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online. They also stand behind their products with a 60-day refund policy, which represents more than enough time to decide whether or not they meet your needs and preferences.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of BioTrust:
  • 136 Customer Reviews
  • 62% Recommend This Company
3.5 out of 5
5 star: 49% 4 star: 10% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 26%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • The BioTrust Experience

    • By John,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I think BioTrust probably has some good products but there is a big downside.

    You go to their website after listening to one of their VERY long winded infomercials. You purchase the product you want and then you are barraged and insulted by multiple (and I do mean multiple!) upsells. Their products are on the expensive end of the supplement world. Chances are, when you pick a package of the supplement you choose, price is a limiting factor. BioTrust doesn't quite get that. They try to make you spend even more money and they ambush you to do it. No hint that you are about to be forced to endure their upsell barrage until AFTER you submit your credit card information. Then they don't give you a choice. You HAVE to sit through the assault in order to get to your final statement. The word "offensive" doesn't quite cover it. You are FORCED to sit through multiple (unwanted) upsells.

    All that did for me was tell me where the true price point for their products SHOULD be -- anywhere from $5 to $15 per bottle less than what I just paid! In other words, I felt like I'd just been taken for a ride by a greasy internet scam. Aside from this upsell assault, what I also found really offensive was this: I bought a 3 bottle package. The six bottle package, while giving me a $5/bottle discount, was just too expensive. So, the upsell comes in and I'm forced to endure it. The upsell I'm offered is an extra 3 bottles at a steeply discounted rate. This discount, had I taken it, would have brought my total expenditure to EXACTLY the same as if I had bought the 6 bottle package in the first place. A package I rejected in the first place because of the price. Why in the world would I now spend up to that amount? There's a rational thought disconnect at BioTrust.

    The thing is, there is an extremely easy fix for this. First, offer the products at an honest price. Don't make your customers think they've just been scammed. Second, think about your customer's perspective! Give the customer a choice, whether or not they want to hear other offers. If they say no, send them directly to checkout. They've already endured a very long and winding infomercial. Most are in no mood to be assaulted and insulted by multiple upsells.

    One more thing about the absurdity of these upsells. If I've never tried the product before, why would I want to buy 6 months or more of it? The time to come back with better offers is a month or two AFTER the initial purchase. If the product works as advertised, you should have no problem making the sale.

    As is, the online experience with BioTrust is HORRIBLE! Among the worst I've encountered online. It was bad enough to make me never want to go back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 28, 2016

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi John,

      Happy Holidays! I hope that this finds you doing well. My name is Tim Skwiat, I am the Director of Nutrition and Exercise with BioTrust Nutrition, and I am a member of the BioTrust Science Team.

      First and foremost, I'd like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your experiences ordering products on our website. We appreciate all customer input, including constructive criticism such as yours. Who better to tell us how we can improve than our trusty customers. Rest assured that your feedback will be passed along to the pertinent parties.

      I completely understand that you take exception to the ordering process. However, the majority of our customers appreciate the opportunity to learn about our other products and to purchase additional products at a discounted rate.

      With that being said, I know that you chose BioTrust for a reason, and while the ordering process may have left you with a sour taste in your mouth, I'd be curious to know if you've had the opportunity to try our products. Further, I'd like to make myself available to you moving forward as your personal nutrition and exercise coach. You can contact me directly at tskwiat@biotrust.com with any questions, concerns, or comments that you have. Believe me, it will not fall on deaf ears. I'm here to help and happy to do so. I look forward to hearing from you, John, and you can be sure I will do everything I can to help you achieve your health and fitness goals.

      My best,

      Tim


  • 100% Money Back Guarantee = 100% Lie

    Overall Experience:

    Just this last weekend I ordered some products from this company (sold on what I was thinking was a Reputable and Honest Company).

    First - the 100 % money back guarantee is 100% crap.

    Second - The buyer does NOT get the opportunity to review the order before it is charged to your account. If customer service is unavailable (not in business hours when I ordered) your only recourse is to email them. I noticed an incorrect item was added on my order when the confirmation page showed after I was charged and I literally called and emailed them with 5 minutes of placing the order, asking that they remove the product and refund the amount of the product onto my card.

    Third - they are quick to reply, which was nice. However, they answer by stating that they ship through a 3rd party company and cannot cancel or change and order once placed.

    Fourth - The options offered for compensation are not A 100% refund.

    These were the choices given, which to Biotrust constitute a 100% Money Back Guarantee:

    1. Either an immediate 25% credit of your total order can be credited back to your card. (So why can't the full amount be credited back?)

    2. A 50% credit of the total order amount to your account with them that can be used for future product purchases (i.e. if the bill was $120, they would credit you $60).

    3. An exchange of products for up to the amount of the product incorrectly added to the order. (This is the option I chose as I am praying the products are better than their customer service and still want to try the products.)

    None of this actually gave me what I or 99% of America would consider a 100% money back guarantee.

    I sent an email response to customer service to let them know how unhappy I was and how DISHONEST this made Biotrust look and how leery this made me of Biotrust - all before I have even received a product. Again I did quickly receive an email from them stating they were sorry for the confusion. It stated that the Shipping was from a 3rd party company and unable to be changed or canceled and they confirmed they would be resending the product I wanted. From the details in their email, they also made it sound like it was supposed to be a great convenience to me, that they were not going to charge me another shipping fee and from the wording made it sound as if I would normally have to PAY A RETURN SHIPPING CHARGE for any items actually returned to the company.

    So far, they seem very unethical and dishonest in their practices.

    I will update my review on the actual products after I get them and have the chance to use them.

    Lastly, You will get what seems like a million and one emails from them once you order something. The nice little books they show and will "send" you are NOT actual hard copy type books, they are ebooks you have to download. So if you prefer hard copied books or don't have a printer you’re just out of luck.

    So far I a very unimpressed with Biotrust.

    So beware when ordering. Be extremely careful as they are very good at the upsale of products and not making things clear and it is easy (which works to their monetary advantage) to mess up your order and not know till after your money is basically stolen (in my opinion).

    I will state now, that I will be leaving this review on other sites as well to warn the masses before they get ripped off by the billing and selling practices of Biotrust. I am a real consumer and not a bot. I am on Facebook and you can find me by name and message me if you have any other questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 13, 2016

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi Wendy,

      I hope this finds you in the best of spirits, and I hope that you have enjoyed a nice week. My name is Tim Skwiat, and I am the Director of Nutrition and Exercise with BioTrust Nutrition, as well as a member of the BioTrust Science Team and Fitness Team. I’m reaching out to you today because I received notification from this website that your review was just published today (May 6). [Note: I initially submitted my response on Friday, May 6.]

      I am remiss to read your review, and I’m terribly sorry to learn of your disappointment. My hope is that you allow me the opportunity to do everything I can to take care of you and ensure a completely positive all-around experience.

      Before proceeding, I do want thank you and commend you on leaving such an elaborate review of your experiences. We graciously accept customer feedback with open arms, and while the majority of that is positive, we invite constructive criticism as well. After all, who better to tell us how we can improve than our customers. Our goal is to provide you not only with the highest quality, most efficacious products but also world-class customer service.

      To speak to the theme of your review (i.e., money-back guarantee), we most certainly stand behind our products 100 percent, and your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you are unhappy with the products, we will promptly and cheerfully issue you a refund even on empty bottles. You can find the details of our return/exchange policy on our website; simply select the Return/Exchange Policy link from the bottom of any page on our site.

      As noted there, in order to get said refund, we do require that empty and unused bottles be returned within 1 year accompanied by a return merchandise authorization number, RMA, which will allows our distribution center to associate the returned package with your account. If you decide to return the products immediately after receiving your order, you are more than welcome to do so. Just give our customer service team a call or e-mail, and one of our customer care specialists will cheerfully assist you.

      That said, we know that you came to BioTrust for a reason, and I do hope that you allow us and our products the privilege of accompanying you on your journey to improved health and fitness. After all, you are protected by the one-year money back guarantee, and we will refund even empty bottles; so, it’s worth giving the scientifically-backed products a shot. I would like to make myself available to you as your own personal nutrition and exercise coach. I would consider it an honor to provide you guidance, support, accountability, and encouragement as you progress toward your goals. Please feel free to contact me directly at tskwiat@biotrust.com at your convenience.

      Speaking to your concern about the e-mails, I’m very sorry to hear that you don’t find our daily health and nutrition tips to be beneficial to you. The overwhelming majority of our customers look forward to reading our newsletters, learning about the most recent research, and gathering advice on how they can improve their health and fitness. If you would like to unsubscribe, however, you are more than welcome to do so at any time. You can do so by accessing our Support portal on our website, or you can simply scroll to the bottom of any e-mail newsletter and select Manage Email Subscriptions to your preference.

      With regard to our free reports, I’m sorry to learn about your disappointment. We spend an enormous amount of time and resources in creating these free resources for our customers. We do provide them in electronic format (i.e., eBook), as our customers have informed us that this is their preferred format. This also allows us to provide our customers with the information sooner, and it also allows us the opportunity to create more of these valuable resources faster.

      With all of that being said, Wendy, I invite you to contact me at your convenience. We’re here for you, and our ultimate goal is to help you achieve yours. I look forward to the opportunity to make this right for you and turn your 2-star review into a 5-star experience!

      My best,

      Coach Tim


  • BioTrust

    • By P Connell,
    • Seminole, FL,
    • Nov 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been flooded with emails and have tried to unsubscribe but keep getting new screens. The first said I could limit the number of emails but I wanted no more so I tried again.

    Then I received an offer for a free product. On that screen, there was no further contact information and no option to unsubscribe. I have talked with their customer service on other things and they always try to upsell rather than handle my question.

    There are many excellent products on the market with better customer service and less influx of email. I prefer to work with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 6, 2016

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi P Connell,

      I hope this finds you doing well. My name is Tim Skwiat, and I am the Director of Nutrition and Exercise with BioTrust.

      I would like to start by saying thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We've worked incredibly hard to build our company over the last several years, and there is still room for improvement. Honest, constructive feedback like yours is truly helpful in serving our customers and providing them with the best products and most enjoyable experience.

      I'd like to make myself available to be your personal coach and concierge. I am confident that we have the best products on the market, and I would like to do everything I possibly can to earn your business and help you achieve your health and fitness goals.

      Please contact me at your convenience at tskwiat@biotrust.com. I look forward to speaking with you.

      My best,

      Tim


  • Products promise more than they deliver, overpriced

    • By Keri Anderson,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jun 3, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The reason I am giving this company a poor - average rating is that I have had both positive and negative experiences with them. First, I'll start with the positive.

    I think they are on the right track to provide quality products made from quality ingredients. So many of the supposed 'health' food supplements are loaded with garbage - high fructose corn syrup, etc. This company strives to keep their ingredients whole and clean, and I really appreciate that. I like the taste of their protein powder and their protein bars well enough, and have learned to attribute the *slightly* better taste to other companies' powders to the extra sugar and crap they put in it. I'm much happier with quality ingredients that will actually improve my health.

    I have always received every order in a timely fashion.

    Now the cons: I find their advertising tactics beyond annoying. Instead of a trustworthy, on the up-and-up company, they come across as a used-car dealership. I appreciate companies that just deal with me in a straight-forward way, instead of constantly trying to ad things to my order on the sly ("Ok, now that you have already purchased our product for the most fabulous price we have to offer, after checkout we'll tell you what the real best price is so you have to buy more. And, we'll tell you about all these other products you just have to purchase right now or never see this wonderful price point again" geez).

    On the point of advertising, BioTrust floods the web with their own reviews (often just advertisements in disguise). You are hard-pressed to find a 'real' review from a 'real' consumer anywhere.

    Their products are too expensive. The jars are already smaller than most other protein powders, and when you open it, it is only half-full. I expect to pay a bit more for better quality, but this company is charging more than they need to, just because they can. I hope they come down in price.

    And the biggest con that prompted me to write this review: I have found that many of their product promise way more than they can deliver, especially those that come in pill form. I tried the Leptiburn, hoping that it would help me lose weight. I started out with the dose recommended, only to find that I felt I had overdosed on caffeine (I had the jitters, was unable to focus, and my sleep became a bit erratic).

    Further, I found that if I didn't closely monitor my food intake like I would if I were just going on a diet without the pills, Leptiburn made no difference in weight loss. Their claim is that you can lose weight without changing your diet, not my experience. If these pills help with metabolism at all, the difference is so minuscule that it isn't worth the hefty price tag. Won't be purchasing these again. I didn't attempt to take them up on their money-back guarantee. Just too much hassle, which I suppose is exactly what they are counting on.

    I have also tried their pro-biotic supplement, because I like the idea behind taking probiotics. Since I have started these, I have had non-stop gastro-intestinal issues. At first I chalked it up to "just needing to cleanse", but after almost two months, it hasn't stopped. Guess I need to re-think taking these as well. I also haven't seen any noticeable improvement in my health in any other area.

    Bottom line: Buyer beware. They have some quality products, but if you think they are some kind of miracle cure, they aren't. You have to plan on changing bad habits and better food intake, because these pills can't compensate for poor diet decisions. I guess it is up to each buyer to decide which products are worth their hefty prices, and which aren't. As for me, I'm just sticking to their protein powders and protein bars, and certainly waiting for their 20% off coupons before I buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 4, 2015

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi Keri,

      I hope this finds you doing well and in great health! My name is Tim Skwiat, and I am the Director of Nutrition and Exercise with BioTRUST Nutrition.

      I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share this well-written, well-thought-out review. At BioTRUST, our number one goal is to ensure that our outstanding customers like yourself are completely satisfied. In fact, BioTRUST has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, a reflection to our commitment of excellent customer service. It's much easier to ensure customer satisfaction when the lines of communication are as strong and clear as yours. So, thank you.

      Overall, we welcome all customer feedback and testimonials, and while the majority of that is positive, we accept negative criticism with open arms as well. We are committed to excellence, and who better to tell us how to improve than our loyal customers.

      If you don’t mind, I’d like to take a moment to speak to your concerns, and I also want to make sure to make myself available to you for any additional questions or concerns that you may have. With regard to our advertising, we appreciate your feedback, and we will be certain to pass it along to our Marketing team, which does extensive testing to find the most customer-friendly methods to deliver high-quality information about our products.

      If you’re not particularly fond of watching the educational videos that we’ve prepared, I invite you to simply visit BioTRUST.com to learn more about our products. There, you can learn about our entire line of premium products made with natural ingredients. You can view the Supplement Facts, ingredients, and recommended use, and you can also read about the products (including all of the supporting research studies) at your own pace.

      With regard to the package options presented during the checkout process, we share these as a courtesy to our customers. For instance, many customers may not know about our entire line of products, and these suggestions during the checkout process provide them with additional options that other customers who have made similar purchases have also chosen. As noted, these are often provided at a special discounted rate as a reflection of our gratitude toward our loyal customers.

      BioTRUST supplements are premium products made with natural ingredients. We only use the best ingredients, in the most effective forms, at optimal levels (i.e., amounts proven efficacious in research studies), packaged in the most efficient delivery systems to create products that are better than anything else on the market from a quality, safety, and effectiveness standpoint.

      Yes, this is reflected in the price tag, but we do offer a number of ways in which customers can take advantage of significant savings. For instance, we offer discounted bundles, monthly ship-and-save (with discounts and free shipping), and regular coupons (as you mentioned) through electronic and regular mail as well as social media outlets.

      Ultimately, we are committed to customer satisfaction—and your results. In addition to our products, we have a number of free resources available to ensure our customers’ success, including our free BioTRUST Community and Coaching Forums, our daily newsletter, and over a dozen free eBooks.

      As far as the reviews that you see online, these are not paid advertisements. BioTRUST has many affiliates who promote our products to their subscribers because they themselves use them, believe in them, and recommend them. Further, there are numerous independents websites online where you can view customer testimonials. There are two verified review sites (including this one) on which BioTRUST has a 4-star (out of 5 stars) rating. What’s more, you are more than welcome to visit out Online Community to interact with other real customers like yourself.

      With regard to LeptiBURN, I am very sorry to learn about your experience. There is a warning on the label that states, “Do not take with any product containing caffeine or any ingredients with a known stimulant effect.” With that being said, we take adverse event reporting like this incredibly seriously, and along those lines, I’d like to make sure that I collect some additional information from you about your experience.

      At BioTRUST, we believe in a lifestyle approach to optimizing health, body composition, and vitality. Such an approach involves good nutrition and health eating habits, regular physical activity, better sleep quality, adequate hydration, and proper stress management. Supplements, which should be selected on an individual basis based on goals and a needs analysis (and we have expert coaches available to help with this), are meant to be an addition. In other words, our scientifically-backed supplements are designed to make a good plan markedly more effective and efficient.

      For instance, in a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study, healthy, overweight participants received 300mg of IGOB131 (the exact same Irvingia gabonensis extract and exact same amount found in two daily servings of LeptiBURN) or a placebo for 8 week. After just 4 weeks, the folks taking the supplement lost, on average, over 8 pounds, and after 8 weeks, they had lost an average of 16 pounds, which was over 5 times the amount of the placebo group.

      Another example is Metabo379. The safety and efficacy of its primary ingredients have been demonstrated in two randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled human studies. Folks who supplemented with SIGMALean (the primary ingredient in Metabo379) for 8 weeks (combined with a modest reduced-calorie diet and moderate physical activity) lost, on average, nearly 4 times more weight than the placebo group (i.e., diet and exercise alone). If that’s not impressive enough, the folks taking SIGMALean lost over twice as many inches from their waist and hips, significantly improved quality of life, boosted confidence, and optimized health (i.e., decreased cholesterol, triglycerides, blood sugar).

      With regard to Pro-X10, I’d be interested to learn more about your experiences. In many cases, your initial intuition is on point. In other words, what you noticed may be attributable to a favorable conversion of the gut microbiota. One of the primary tasks of good bacteria is to damage or kill pathogenic bacteria, something that is done by secreting chemicals, changing the pH of the environment, or simply crowding them out.

      In other words, there’s a constant life and death struggle between good and bad bacteria, and the bad guys don’t always go quietly. Many experts suggest that temporary reactions such as minor bloating or a mild laxative or constipating effect are signs that the beneficial bacteria are remodeling, detoxifying, and improving the gut environment. There are a number of things that one can do to help in a situation like this: decrease (or, in some cases, increase) the amount taken; make sure you’re taking probiotics with food; add digestive enzymes; stay hydrated (i.e., drink plenty of water); and give it some time (which it sounds like you did do).

      With that being said, it may also be important to look into any potential food sensitivities. In certain instances, some folks may experience gastrointestinal issues due to prebiotics (e.g., Actazin), which serve a very valuable function acting as “food” for the probiotics and helping them proliferate. These prebiotics are often soluble fibers may result in digestive symptoms in some people.

      With regard to our refund and exchange policy, all of our customers are protected by our one-year money-back guarantee, and details about the policy can be found on our website. Because we value you as a customer, we have provided you with a full refund. In the future, if you would like a refund or need to exchange for another product, please don’t hesitate to contact our Customer Service department. We stand by our policy 100%.
       
      All of the being said, we’re here for you, and we’re committed to your success. Please let us know how we may be of additional assistance, and you are more than welcome to contact me directly at tskwiat@BioTRUST.com at any time. I'm here to help and happy to do so.
       
      Sincerely,
      Tim Skwiat
      Director of Nutrition and Exercise


  • Charged for monthly subscription

    • By Yevette T.,
    • Louisiana,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the trial size paying only the shipping cost of $4.95. I did not sign up for any other products or any monthly subscription service, but I was charged $39.99 for a monthly subscription. I emailed BioTrust about this and was told it had already been shipped out. I was given options as to how I could keep it and continue my monthly subscription service, but I still want to return the product. I could, but apparently with me paying the shipping return cost.

    Do not give this company your credit card number because you will get charged for monthly payments. I read several of the reviews where others are complaining about this same thing being done to them also. I haven't tried the sample size so why would I pay $39.99 for any more product. My next step is filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau as should all the other customers that have had the same thing happen to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 25, 2018

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi Yevette,

      I hope this finds you in the best of health and spirits. My name is Tim Skwiat, and I am a BioTrust employee. I'm reluctant to read your review and to find out that you're anything less than completely satisfied.

      I have contacted our Customer Service Team, and one of our Customer Care Specialists will be reaching out to you -- if you haven't been contacted already (by the time this response is published) -- to make sure that all your concerns are addressed to your satisfaction. We will take the following actions:

      1. We will refund you $39.99 for the product that you were shipped.

      2. You do NOT need to send anything back.

      3. Any future shipments/subscriptions have been canceled.

      Is there anything else that we can do to assist you? If so, please let our Customer Service Team know, or you may contact me directly at tskwiat@biotrust.com.

      Thank you for the opportunity to serve you, Yevette.

      In Health,

      Tim


  • A Complete Review of the BioTrust Line

    • By James Cipriani - CPT,
    • Brookfield, CT,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    A little bio on me: I'm no stranger to working out. I've was a competitive bodybuilder and powerlifter for well over a decade. And I have run a successful personal training company since 1994. Although I do see the merit in quality supplements, I am more jaded than not with what is out there. Here are my thoughts on BioTrust.

    1. The Low Carb Protein may be the best protein powder on the market. The quality is second to none. I was hesitant when it first came out because A) it seemed expensive and b) I was jaded. Once I tried it, I was hooked. After that, I found out there are so many ways to save money that it doesn't seem so expensive anymore. Plus, you get what you pay for! My experience with the Low Carb made me want to try the whole product line. Here is my experience one by one.​
    2. Leptiburn - Quality product. But not a magic bullet. If you aren't eating right, don't expect to walk away ripped. There are NO magic pills!​
    3. IC5 - Again, it's ok. I'm not a huge carb ingester, so this product isn't really made for me. Again, no magic pills!​
    4. ProX10 - EXCELLENT! It's rare I can say I "notice" a probiotic having an effect. This one is different. Highly recommend this product for gut health (which effect EVERYTHING!)
    5. Cookies and Bars - High quality, but I like to keep these down to a treat and at most, one per day. They are loaded with fiber, so it can play havoc on digestion if you aren't careful.
    6. Omega Dessert - Love this product. The American Diet is so overloaded with Omega 6's, it's nice to have a high grade Omega 3 product that makes it easy to get in daily.​
    7. BCAA Matrix - Great branched chain amino product. Recommend it for anyone who is into maximizing lean muscle, or if you are someone who is into intermittent fasting.
    8. Absorb Max - I think it's good. Although I didn't feel an "effect" like I did with the probiotic. I do like to take this when I'm eating something higher in dairy or gluten (which is not frequent at all).
    9. Omega Krill 5X - A MUST product! Probably thee best fish oil in a capsule product I've ever taken.

    That's my full assessment. If there are "musts" on my list, its the Low Carb and Omega Krill. The Probiotic isn't far behind. Biotrust has a CLA product coming out soon that I'm really excited about! I'll put up another review when I get to experience that.

    Hope you find this helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 1 year return

    • By Phyllis,
    • Hampstead, MD,
    • Oct 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I requested a refund via emails as required and waited thee weeks with only an automated assignment of a number. I then tried to call the 800-number listed for customer service. It was some number that wasn't answered by BioTrust and asked for a pin number which I didn't have. I only purchased the product because I could have sworn on the video they said it was FDA approved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 2, 2015

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi Phyllis,

      I hope this finds you doing well! My name is Tim Skwiat, and I am the Director of Nutrition and Exercise with BioTRUST Nutrition. First and foremost, I want you to know that I'm going to do everything I possibly can to help you and make sure that you're completely taken care of.

      You are absolutely right; our customers are protected by our one-year money back guarantee, which entitles you to a refund or exchange. (Specific details can be found on our website.) For a refund, we request that customer call or e-mail our Customer Service Department to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number. This RMA number is really important because, when you return your products, they are sent to our distribution center. This RMA number then allows the folks at the distribution center to verify your specific return, which in turn allows us to process your refund.

      For reference, the following are the best ways to get in touch with our Customer Service Department:

      Support@BioTRUST.com

      (800) 766 - 5086

      From what you're describing, I wonder if somehow you might have had the wrong number for our Customer Service. Unlike many companies that outsource customer service to a third-party vendor, we have an in-house Customer Service Team, which has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

      If you would like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so at tskwiat@BioTRUST.com. I'll be happy to put you in direct contact with one of our Customer Care Specialists so that we can resolve this issue quickly and to your complete satisfaction.

      Speaking to your last statement, I do want to confirm that BioTRUST Nutrition is FDA registered and internally audited by the NSF, an organization that sets the highest standards for safety and quality in the dietary supplement industry. We only work with the highest-tier manufacturers that strictly follow Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP) requirements for dietary supplement and food manufacturing. Our manufacturers are FDA-registered and inspected, and they are registered with the most trusted names in food quality and safety (e.g., NSF).

      With that being said, the FDA does not certify/approve dietary supplements. However, the FDA regulates both dietary ingredients and finished dietary supplements, including those distributed by BioTRUSt Nutrition. Accordingly, BioTRUST Nutrition and all of our products must meet all requirements of the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act (DSHEA) and FDA regulations.

      For instance, under DSHEA, the United States government defines dietary supplements as a subset of foods, not drugs. Accordingly, dietary supplement companies like BioTRUST Nutrition and its products are subject to FDA oversight.

      With all of that said, Phyllis, please feel free to contact me or our Customer Service Team at your earliest convenience. I ensure you that you will be taken care of swiftly and to your complete satisfaction. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

      My best,

      Coach Tim


  • Great Customer Service

    • By Valerie,
    • Port Orchard, WA,
    • Jul 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently purchased the LeptiBurn BioTrust product. I was unable to finish the video and I didn't understand that the deal was 6 bottles at 49.95 each. I thought I was getting 3 bottles for $49.95 for all 3. There isn't a place to confirm the order which is the only problem I have with the company as yet. Once you put in the information it automatically charges you without any confirmation of what you ordered until after being charged. My bill was over $200 more than I was willing to spend as I never dealt with this company before and I never purchase something online for an amount that I am willing to lose (just in case). I called customer service upon seeing my charge of $200.00.

    My call went through to an actual person (from America) which I greatly appreciate as I can never understand people from other countries. I explained what happened and he was able to stop the order from going through. I was given several choices of options to keep my order with the company as well as completely canceling and refunding the whole amount. This told me that what I read about their refunding was true. I decided to try one bottle to see if I liked it and signed up for a monthly deal for 1 bottle with the option to cancel at any time. I started the product yesterday. I noticed a nice boost in energy and I was able to eat less for lunch as I wasn't very hungry. I am happy so far with the product. I will write another review after I have taken it for a longer amount of time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My personal summary of excellent results

    • By Jimmie Dean,
    • Belleair, Florida,
    • Dec 19, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a 64 year old active male with a history of cardiac and weight problems. After bypass surgery, two heart attacks, one knee replacement and several other knee surgeries I had become somewhat sedentary. With BioTrust products my weight loss and inches just accelerated. I started taking the Metabo379 in September and Bellytrim XP in October. This was in addition to the Leptiburn that I was already taking.

    Probably my biggest surprise is how flat my stomach has become in such a short period of time. I started at about a tight 46" waist in September and now have a very comfortable 40" waist. I have cinched my belt by about 8".

    I will follow up with the actual numbers after this. I do find that the products seem to be a little pricey. Consequently, I tend to buy it in greater quantities and utilize their discount offerings. If I calculate the price based on cost per pound loss or inches dropped, this is by far the cheapest regimen that I have ever followed.

    I started keeping a record of all my efforts on 14 August, 2014. At that time I weighed 335 pounds. (6'4"). I had been on a strict vegan diet for over a year with no oils, sugars, meats, fish, etc. I was swimming around an hour a day, 5 days a week. After all of this, I gained weight and topped out at 349.2 on March 24, 2015. Truthfully, I had basically given up.

    At the end of June, 2015 I decided to go on a reduced calorie, no sugar diet, which helped some but just could not break through. At that time I received one of the BioTrust free bottles of Metabo379 which seemed to accelerate my loss and helped to flatten my tummy.

    With those results I bought more in October for my wife (skinny) and me. I also bought some Bellytrim XP which has been great as well.

    Today is December 7th and I weigh 271.4 for a loss from my highest of 77.8 or over 22% of my body weight. I do have a small problem with loss of muscle mass and loose skin. I will probably take another BioTrust product to help with the muscle mass.

    One thing I would like to point out is that I have found customer service to be a top priority. They have an excellent forum for questions and the answers come quickly. When I asked about muscle mass the coaches suggested weight training rather than hawking more products. I like that.

    There is a lot more to say, but this has been too long.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Another Recurring Billing Complaint

    • By Mike E.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered a promotion for BrainBright, Free for 4.95 shipping. After reading the reviews, the biggest complaint was their billing practices. So I deliberately placed the order with a used up Visa cash card with only $6 left on it. When I ordered I made sure to look for any opt-in/out links for automatic reordering. Made triple sure I wasn't getting involved in any product clubs, where they endlessly mail you stuff and automatically bill you. Sure enough. Biotrust has been trying to bill that empty card $39 for months now.

    The product really didn't do anything for me, but that's beside the point. These companies piss people off with their shady billing practices. Opt-OUT should be the no-action required default setting. Opt-in should be a big obvious link saying 'Yes. Send me refills automatically every month'. But it's the other way around. You are automatically opted-in for reorders, and it's up to you to know enough to look for the buried or hard to find opt-out link.

    But it's no accident they don't do it that way. They're making thousands on unwanted reorders.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 21, 2016

      Company Response from BioTRUST

      Hi Mike E.,

      I hope this finds you doing well. My name is Tim Skwiat, and I am the Director of Nutrition and Exercise with BioTrust Nutrition.

      First off, please accept our apologies for the tardiness in responding to your review. While it is dated 14 MAR, I just received notification of its publication. This is very important to us because at BioTrust it is our goal to provide our customers with world-class customer service as is evidenced by our A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

      With that being said, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your personal experiences; we are very sorry to learn that it has been anything short of superb and did not match our intention of providing you the best products and service.

      At BioTrust, we strive for excellence in all that we do, and it’s our goal to build our brand on integrity, trust, and compassion. We truly appreciate our loyal and outstanding customers like yourself, and it’s our goal to provide a completely positive all-around experience for you. Along those lines, we value all feedback and welcome it with open arms, and while the overwhelming majority of that is positive, we accept constructive criticism just the same. Who better to tell us how we’re doing than our customers.

      With that being said, it's important to note that BioTrust does not require auto-shipments/subscriptions nor does BioTrust charge customers for anything that was not selected by the customer during the checkout process. During the checkout process, we do provide customers the option of a monthly subscription—which involves significant per order savings and free shipping—but that is completely optional, and the customer is more than welcome to decline that option. What's more, customers can cancel/reschedule their subscription at any time by contacting our Customer Service Department:

      BioTrust.com (Support Tab)
      Support@BioTrust.com
      (800) 766 - 5086

      With that in mind, if you do believe that you were wrongfully charged, I want to make this right for you, and I want to make sure that we refund you completely. Please contact me at tskwiat@biotrust.com so that I can make sure that you're completely taken care of.

      The same goes for any and all customers, who are always protected by our industry-best one-year money-back guarantee. While monthly subscriptions are based on the program the customer chooses, if a customer feels that s/he overlooked this and did not intend to subscribe to the auto-ship program, then we will cheerfully refund the customer and allow him/her to keep any additional product received. Again, it's our goal to help enrich and enhance the lives of our customers; not detract from them.

      With regard to the product itself, I'm very sorry to learn that it did not meet your expectations. There is an extensive body of peer-reviewed research demonstrating the safety and efficacy of the ingredients in the Brain Bright formula, and they are provided in efficacious doses.

      In addition to the robust research on each of the ingredients demonstrating their efficacy and safety, we have also conducted a collection of randomized, crossover studies on the finished product itself. Researchers from the University of Tampa found that after supplementation with Brain Bright (for just one week), participants improved concentration and accuracy on tests for short-term memory by 240 percent (compared to placebo). What’s more, supplementation with Brain Bright also significantly improved performance on tests for reaction time, processing speed, and attention.

      With that said, as individuals vary, so too do results. Along those lines, we do recommend that folks experiment with taking 1 - 2 tablets at a time to see what works best for him/her. Personally, I use 2 tablets at once on a daily basis to garner both the acute (e.g., focus, attention) and long-term (e.g., cognitive health) benefits.

      With all of that said, I am very sorry to hear that you're not completely satisfied, and I want to do everything I can to assist you. Please do not hesitate to contact me at tskwiat@biotrust.com so that I can help make this right for you.

      Thank you,

      Tim Skwiat


  • Used BellyTrim - it is a great product.

    • By Martin,
    • California,
    • Aug 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have used the BellyTrim for 3 months, it does all it says. I lost 8 pant sizes, from a 48 to a 40. I am so happy. A great company and thanks to all of them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 136

Write a Review for BioTrust!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BioTrust