Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

538 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 538 Reviews
5 Star:19% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:57%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Oct 1, 2019

Dishonest company

By Carl M., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

Bait and switch.

I purchased a car from them online and photos don't show all the damages. I get a call that they damaged the car in transport, when I get there to pick it up they say "don't worry, I will take photos and they will fix it" as well as additional damage. The problem is, they don't fix it. I then decided to swap for another car but a day later after signing contracts they call and say they need more money down, so I said just leave it alone, I will keep the original car until I find one that fits with down payment, in the meantime they had to rebuild the original car and it ended up putting me out of the 7-day return period. Very dishonest and deceptive car dealer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 4, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Carvana's mission is to provide customers with a streamlined car buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We are truly sorry for the cosmetic issues you have experienced. A 150-point inspection is conducted on every car to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have worked with the inside team to have this resolved. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 1, 2019

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!

By Steve A., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

One of the biggest disappointments of my 57 years on the planet. Put a purchase on a car they say is coming soon, takes 3 weeks to come soon and this is for a CASH buyer. They say they sell only non-accident cars that they put through a 150-point inspection.

Well, they LIE and must have very incompetent people doing the inspections. I paid an outside source to check the car, something I advise you do on any used car. The things they found amazed me for a car they supposedly check before selling. Rear windshield wiper not working, breaks in bad need of repair, and WORST OF ALL, the driver side of the car has been REPAINTED. I was told no way they did not notice this if they inspected the car.

Read their reviews on their website closely, all the 5 stars are people that SOLD cars to them. Read the reviews of people like me and they are not that good. I've already told them to pick up the car. Interesting thing is so far I don't see how I can leave a review on their website. Buyer beware of Carvana!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 3, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Carvana strives to provide customers with an excellent car buying process coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We are truly sorry for the delay in your delivery and for the issues you experienced with your car. A 150-point inspection is conducted on every vehicle to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. During this inspection, we want to take the necessary time to review every aspect of the car and address any areas of concern. We can assure you the proper teams have been notified of what transpired with your purchase to hopefully prevent this from occurring again. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2019

Stay away from Carvana!

By David W., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I cannot begin to describe how horrible this company has been, but I will give it a try none the less. I bought a vehicle (2013 WRX with 25k miles one it) back in March of this year. I got a call on the delivery date informing me that there had been a delay in shipping, and that the vehicle would be a week late, and no explanation was given. After a week, about 2 hours before the vehicle was suppose to be delivered, I got another call informing me that they had damaged the vehicle, and had to replace the front bumper. I was assured that the damage to the vehicle would not show up on a Carfax, and that the repair work was guaranteed, in addition, they would also take $250 off the sticker price. The fact that only $250 was offered after they damaged the vehicle I was buying was a joke in the first place. Well that $250 never came off the sticker price. When I asked about it later, I was told that they couldn't do the change to the sticker price because I had already signed a contract, and it would be too much work to rewrite the contract, so they offer to just send a $250 check. I attempted to explain that the difference between $250 off the sticker price was considerably more than just a $250 check when you take interest paid on the car into consideration. I was told, there is nothing they can do except send the check. I said fine, and accepted the check. The bumper that was also "replaced" started so slip, creating a large gap between the corner panel, and the bumper flaps any time I get on the highway. They said they would submit the repair, and a shop would reach out to me...

Fast forward to today. I still have never seen a check, nor have I heard from a shop. So when I called today, I was told, "Sorry, they never submitted the check for approval, but we will do it now, and the repair center said there are many reasons why the bumper could be loose, so they will not accept, or fix the bumper."

In summary, Carvana has dropped the ball in every step throughout this process, and on every single occasion, I, the customer, has been on the short end of the stick with no regard whatsoever on their behalf. If I had the option to void the loan, and just give the car back I would, but seeing as how Carvana seems to genuinely not care, I have resorted to complaining about every last website that will listen. BEWARE...STAY AWAY...YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are truly sorry for the issues you are experiencing and for the delay in your delivery. Carvana takes great pride in selling high-quality vehicles. We do conduct a 150 inspection on every car to ensure that it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. Additionally, we want to assure customers that the time frames we provide are accurate, though we understand at times we will fall short. As Carvana continues to grow, we want to improve every aspect of the customer car buying process. We take your feedback very seriously and have notified the proper teams of your experience. After reviewing your account, it does look like you are working with our inside team on your concerns. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2019

Carvana? Joke.

By Nije R., New York, Verified Reviewer

Please, this is a joke...put car info in and figured let me see for real what the deal is here. A car that is legit worth $5000, a 2017 Cadillac DTS, these shysters offered literal pennies on the dollar. Advice, sell privately or trade in with a dealer and get half of what the car is worth!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 2, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with the offer we provided. Carvana strives to provide every customer with a fair and streamlined appraisal process coupled with an easy pickup service. These appraisals are based off a variety of factors which include, year, miles, and features of the vehicle. We are happy to hear that you were able to find a better offer! Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2019

Wasted 4 days of my life I can't get back!

By Ryan S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I do NOT see how this is easier, quicker or better than going to a traditional dealer? The only advantage I could find was there is no "dealer fee" that's tacked on at the end that we ALL hate. Unfortunately, I can NOT recommend using Carvana until they get the stuff together, they are very disorganized, different departments have no idea of what documents have been sent, and they NEVER call you, only email. I called the customer service line twice, the first time I got a message that my wait time was 8 minutes and I could either wait or have a rep call me back in approximately 8 minutes, the message said I would NOT lose my place by choosing that option which I did. It's now been 3 days and I still have yet to hear from ANYONE at Carvana. Sadly the call was about trying to finalize my pending deal that was stalled due to them not being organized.

About a day later I tried it again and this time it was a 15-minute wait and the same thing, no phone call back again. You don't have to enter anything when choosing that option so it wasn't my error, they pick your number via caller ID, repeat that number to you and then ask if this number is correct. I would love to know how many deals and/or customers Carvana has lost because of such POOR service, according to several recent professional reviews Carvana still has yet to turn a profit, uh-duh, really, that's a no brainer. I have owned an eCommerce business for several years and when you're an online ONLY business you had better make your number one priority that the customer is quickly and constantly contacted until the sale is finalized! If you do not do this simple task "potential customers" will walk, find another online seller or in this case another online seller or traditional dealership, find a different color, model, etc. they like better. With every traditional dealership have expensive websites advertising their cars and with there being 2-3 other "valid" online-only car dealers operating, staying in constant contact until the sale is finalized is just common sense Carvana...come on!

Carvana lost out on $36,000 with my sale plus whatever they would profit off my trade (BMW X5 M-Sport) simply because they couldn't find the payoff my bank faxed to the number THEY provided with the requested info attached. I received an email stating my time had elapsed and because I did provide that document the car is back for sale. I could have fixed the issue by calling in a 3rd time I'm sure and WAITING to speak with someone this time and not select the "callback option," but I had already wasted 4 days doing this crap when I do NOT have to do it at a traditional dealership. So I guess I'll just find my new car at a traditional dealership and screw the online crap, because in my opinion that's what it is, you shouldn't expect to get your vehicle quickly even though they tease you with it! With a traditional dealership, I simply drive there, do a little negotiating which isn't a big deal to me, pay for it and then drive home WITH the new vehicle all within about 2.5 hours and won't have to waste 4 days talking to a damn computer chat rep!

There are plenty of great books out there that explain the "must do's" when running an online-only business, I might suggest a little research, respectfully...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 28, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us in regards to your experience. We are genuinely sorry for the lack of communication throughout your purchase process. Carvana strives to make the car buying experience as easy and stress-free as possible. As a rapidly growing company we are working to perfect every aspect of our service, but we understand at times we will fall short of this. We do desire that we provide customers with accurate next steps and constant communication to avoid any possible confusion or missteps. Carvana can assure you we have notified the proper teams of your situation to hopefully prevent this from occurring again. After reviewing your account, it does look like you were able to work with our inside team to have your issues addressed. We are truly grateful for the opportunity to resolve your concerns. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2019

Where is my registration?!

By Maria B., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I received my vehicle on July 3rd. Almost 3 months later and I have yet to receive my license plate and registration card. My temporary license plate expired in August. I have to drive out of town for a conference in a week and I am worried that it will not arrive by then. I have called so many times for information and never get an answer. I’m at my wit's end. This is a nightmare.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 30, 2019

As a company that strives to ensure the customer experience is exceptional, we are disappointed to see that yours has fallen short of this. We do see that it has been quite some time since you have received your vehicle and apologize that your registration has not been completed yet. It looks like you have been in contact with our team of specialists who are working diligently with our third-party vendor to resolve this issue. If you do need additional assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 23, 2019

Buyer beware

By Paula G., Texas, Verified Reviewer

And their stupid response is call to get "looked" at, we have a warranty, but they fail to tell you they won't cover anything. And you have to take off work, find a dealership with a shop, weeks spent of wasted time on a piece of junk that doesn't start half the time. And they are not a company you can go and speak with someone - they are nowhere other than online so call, hold for hours, get hung up on, that is how they do business because you have no dealership to go to and speak with a person. You get no help at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 23, 2019

Unable to deliver on delivery multiple times

By Keith W., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I will start off by saying yes, the car search and initial purchase experience was easy and almost relaxing compared to the stress of having to go to a dealership and fight tooth and nail for a good deal. But that is where the good experience stops.

Completing all the paperwork becomes quite time-consuming. And the whole time you are filling out the forms you watch the timer tick down saying "complete now for guaranteed delivery." After rushing thru I was guaranteed delivery on a Tuesday (7 days away). The first bummer. Monday, the day before pickup, I received a phone call from a rep that the delivery truck never showed to pick up the car. Quite a head-scratcher. So the next delivery date will be the following Tuesday. The rep 100% guaranteed me this date the car will be there. 6 days later again another phone call. Right away I could tell by the rep's tone of voice it was more bad news. Again I’m told the delivery truck just never showed up and my car was sitting in Cleveland. Well, that’s a shocker because originally I was told the vehicle was coming from Indiana. I tell the rep I can’t wait 7 more days. I need this car and I will be away the next week. All he says is I don’t know what to tell you. You can cancel the order.

I almost feel like the vehicle I ordered didn’t exist. There is no way Carvana wouldn’t be able to get the car to me, especially if coming from Cleveland, which is only 7 hours from my house in over 14 days. It’s truly a shame because buying online seemed like a great change from traditional options but don’t fall for it. I also think Carvana needs to look up the definition of guaranteed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 26, 2019

Thank you for providing us feedback on your experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear of the multiple delays you received. Carvana prides itself on making the car buying process as easy and seamless as possible. We would never want to inconvenience a customer in any way with any unexpected last-minute changes. We would love the opportunity to earn your trust again and rectify the situation. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 22, 2019

Everyone tells me something different

By Adam S., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Three reps told me 3 different things. Wasted my day and had a pull on my CREDIT FOR NO REASON! Only to again be told something different. If I could give a negative star, I would! I hate when companies wait until the last minute to tell you fine details. If they would have been upfront I could have not wasted my time...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 24, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana's goal is to make the car buying process as easy as possible for every customer. We truly apologize if you feel this was not the case. As Carvana continues to grow and improve we utilize our customer's feedback to make necessary changes in our process. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2019

Go to CarMax instead

By Jack H., Greenville, SC, Verified Reviewer

Great way to purchase a car, unfortunately, everything after clicking the buy button was a nightmare. I found a car that I liked and the purchase process was straightforward and easy. I was then able to schedule a time for delivery.

My first delivery date was canceled and postponed over a week. A couple of hours before the second delivery time Carvana called and said that it would be delayed again until the next day. I had plans to go out of town the following morning. Finally, the delivery driver (the only competent Carvana employee I've dealt with) said that he would be able to deliver the car several hours later that the original time. It ended up being almost midnight before he showed up.

The car had numerous chips in the paint that were not documented in the sale listing. In fact, the sale listing said that there were no cosmetic issues with the car. The delivery driver apologized for the issue and said they Carvana would have this fixed. The repair team contacted me and said the paint would not be fixed.

Upon the second delivery delay, the local manager said that I would be compensated $25 per day from the original delivery date. He said that a check would be mailed after the 7-day trial period was over. I'm writing this review almost 2 months later and that check has yet to come. I contacted Carvana again and was told that they have no record of this promise.

Stick with CarMax if you want a better experience. I've bought several cars from them and never had any issues.

To be sure, this should be a 1-star review. Carvana as a whole deserves 1 star. The delivery driver, Will T, is the sole reason for bumping it to 2 stars.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 24, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reach out in regards to your experience with Carvana. We sincerely apologize for the delays and that your Carvana experience was less than exceptional. It is unacceptable to have a car delayed that many times and Carvana takes full ownership of our errors - especially for the cosmetic imperfections. Carvana prides itself on providing accurate time frames and having a transparent process. We apologize for the many inconveniences this has caused you as this was never our intent to delay your delivery. We would love the opportunity to rectify the situation but we are having a difficult time locating you in our system. Please contact us at your soonest convenience.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 19, 2019

Worst experience!

By Jessica G., Gilbert, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Unfortunately, nothing about this experience has been stress or hassle-free. The first truck we picked was dirty when we picked it up (large black handprint on the side panel of the door, covered in bugs across the mirrors and front of the truck, crumbs and dirt on the seats, and a large wet stain on the passenger side), when we test drove it the truck pulled hard to the right. We explained our concerns and we were assured that we could get an estimate for repairs (assuming it was the alignment) and Carvana would send a mobile detailer out. Sounded easy so we accepted the vehicle.

After a day of driving it and realizing the time it would take us to be able to get an estimate, wait for it to be approved and the truck has to be taken in for repairs, we decided to pick another vehicle. No big deal. So I thought. The new truck was delivered a few days later. I immediately noticed the tread on the tires was extremely low and there was a large white scratch on the upper and lower bumper of the truck. As soon as I saw it, Derek, the gentlemen who delivered the truck, said my manager Luis already approved to have that scrape repaired. Awesome! And he said it would be easy to set up a claim to get the tires replaced since they were so bad. Again, having the time to do these things is hard for us right now with it being our busy season with work and the kids starting their football season.

I looked online to see if there was another truck so we could try this again. There was nothing available that was similar. I felt assured that these things would be taken care of so I was just going to follow the instructions I was given to get these two things remedied. Not only did Carvana deny the repair on the bumper but I was given the run-around. Derek gave me his direct line and after leaving several voicemails, and calling Carvana to check on it for me, I was told that Luis had no clue about approving the damage and I also could not speak directly to him. After 5 days I was finally able to get ahold of Derek who finally got an approval for the scratch to be repaired. In the meantime, I had gone to my tire shop twice for him to get the information Silver Rock was asking for on the claim for my tires. After I had left for the second time Silver Rock then had asked for photos. I did not have time to go back to the tire shop for the third time since I had already taken time off of work to do so the other two times. I personally called Silver Rock asking for what pictures were needed. The lady I spoke to told me she needed pictures of the chunks missing for the sidewalls, the VIN on the truck as well as the odometer reading. I sent the photos in immediately. The next day, which is today, I called Silver Rock to get an update on the claim. They are now requesting me to go back to the tire shop because now they need pictures of the tread depth. I have ZERO time to go back to the tire shop for the third time. I already had to take my truck in to get an estimate on the bumper repair and now have to figure out a time to take it back for the actual repair.

I called several times within my 7 days and was reassured all the way around that this will be an "easy" process. I am driving with tires that have tread depths of 3/32 and 4/32 and chunks missing from the sidewalls. So unsafe for myself and my family! This has been the most miserable, stressful, time-consuming vehicle purchase ever. I trusted Carvana and I was greatly disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 21, 2019

Thank you for reaching out to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry for the issues you have experienced with your tires, in addition to the cosmetic concerns. Carvana takes these situations very seriously and strives to provide customers with the ideal car-buying experience. It is disappointing to hear your experience fell short of this ideal. We do conduct a 150 inspection on every car to ensure that it meets our high standards. The last thing we would want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have been working with our inside team to have these concerns resolved. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted
Showing 144-154 of 538

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.