About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

79 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 4 3 star: 7 2 star: 12 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 79
Sort reviews by:

  • Desperate times call for desperate measures

    When my Civic was flooded from Hurricane Harvey, I was uncomfortable purchasing a car from a dealership in a flood-soaked area. I knew there would be a lot of fraud going on selling cars.

    Carvana seemed to be a good idea for the situation I was in. The process as a whole was okay, but it's best if you know exactly what car you're looking for before even considering it.

    I chose a Mazda3, and it was delivered with a few issues. First, there was a piece of plastic missing from the front and a large scratch on the front and back that wasn't disclosed in the listing. I was under the impression from the delivery driver that I could take it to Mazda to at least get the plastic piece replaced. Mazda wanted to charge me for it. Since the car was used, I understand it wasn't going to be perfect, but I just expected it to be in the condition they had it listed. They also listed the wrong color. They advertised it as "meteor gray" when in fact it was "titanium flash."

    Had I purchased it from a dealership, I would have insisted this be fixed before purchase. This is a little more difficult buying a car online. Had I turned it away, I probably would have had the same experience with any car. Altogether, Carvana is a legitimate company, and it's great you avoid dealership fees and can skip bullying from the finance office. Would I buy from Carvana again? Sure, if my area ever floods again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No convenience

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone referred me to Carvana. I kept saying I'd rather buy a car the traditional way. But I caved and gave it a shot. After submitting all documentation, updating information on my credit report, receiving two hard inquiries, speaking with multiple reps who all placed me on long holds, contacting my bank and proving the funds were available, a week later I still have no car. Horrible experience. I will never refer them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible long drawn out process

    I found a Toyota 4Runner 4x4 with a third-row seat online through Carvana. Well, basically you have to buy the car before you even see or test drive the vehicle. You cannot see the vehicle first; you have to buy and then they will deliver it. You have to give them a copy of your driver's license, bank account, you have to give them the money for the vehicle, get insurance on the car, and sign the buyer agreement before you even see the car.

    This has been a horrible experience. I promise if they keep this business model they will be out of business very soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out with feedback regarding your recent Carvana experience. We apologize for any confusion that may have taken place during your online purchase process. Please note, that Carvana’s policy mandates that we do not process any funds prior to your delivery if you reside in a local market. In your case, you would not be charged anything for the vehicle until it arrives at your front door in order to give you an opportunity to inspect and drive the vehicle. While we do require certain items such as your driver’s license, banking information (for any applicable down payment) and loan verification with your third-party lender, we do this to ensure that if you do choose to accept the vehicle upon delivery, we have everything in order to finalize the purchase that day. We do ask that you sign a few contracts prior to your delivery, the contacts will always be dated for the tentative date of your delivery/pick-up and do not fully take effect until you choose to accept the vehicle.

      Those contracts are tentative and if for any reason you need to make changes to or choose to not move forward with the purchase, the contracts can easily be changed and resigned. We understand that our process is not for everyone and encourage those who are confused to ask us as many questions as possible to gain a further understanding of our policies. If you would like to continue with your purchase reach out to us at 800-333-4554 and we will be happy to assist with the process and verification steps.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The experience

    The process was fairly seamless, but no communication at all with their finance people yet (GO FINANCIAL). I do find that somewhat odd. I got financed in minutes, but still haven't heard from anyone about setting up my payment preference. I picked up my car today, no "gift bag," which I really don't care about, and no "souvenir coin," which is okay (was told they were out of coins). I bought a $40 K CTS-V and only received one key, ain't happy about that.

    The car is really nice with very low mileage. I am taking it tomorrow for a pre-purchase inspection. It does have a hot oil odor, but hopefully some idiot just spilled oil during their oil change pre-delivery maintenance. So we shall see. Stay tuned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 16, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out to us about your recent Carvana purchase experience. We appreciate your feedback about the lack of communication between "Go Financial" and yourself. We apologize that they haven’t reached out yet, however, they should be contacting you within the next few weeks prior to the due date of your first monthly payment.

      Please know you can also contact them at 877-235-9900 and they will be happy to set up an account earlier so that your payments can be processed. One of our Executive Resolution Specialists will be reaching out in regards to the second key and the inspection you had completed on the vehicle, so that we may address any further concerns you may have. If you need any assistance in the meantime, please reach out to us at 800-333-4554 and we will be happy to help!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    It's the small stuff that counts

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had high hopes for our Carvana purchase. It started well and was not an altogether horrible experience, but in the end, Carvana dropped the ball. Our 2016 Tacoma was delivered yesterday with only one key fob. What? The Carvana web page stated that the truck purchase includes a set of keys.

    The delivery person helpfully offered to follow-up with his office and request another key fob. The official response was that we had not spent enough money on the car purchase to qualify for two key fobs. Again, what? We have never bought a new or used card from a traditional dealership and not received two keys with fobs as part of the purchase.

    Later, a Carvana customer advocate, Michael, explained that in Carvana-speak, a set of keys means one (1) key and one (1) fob. Voila, a set! We were dumbfounded. So, now I have to buy another key with fob at a Toyota dealership. Hmm. We ought to have started and stayed with a dealership.

    So, in the end, the Carvana experience is deceptive, and will not be repeated by us. Just today someone stopped us in a parking lot and asked about Carvana (the temporary truck plates say Carvana). We warned him about the one key fob policy and advised against trusting vehicle descriptions found on Carvana web pages. The aggravation of having to pass around one key fob between drivers reminds us that Carvana is no better than a regular dealership. Both mislead and exploit the customer; Carvana just does it online vs. face-to-face.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 10, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for providing us with this feedback regarding your recent Carvana purchase. We apologize that you were not provided with further clarification on our key policy earlier in your car buying process. We do our best to provide total transparency during your purchase process and have added the ability for customers to know how many keys will be present upon delivery by providing pictures of all keys and fobs. These images are found on the vehicle detail page for every car in our inventory and for your vehicle, it does indicate that one key fob will be present with the vehicle.

      Again, we apologize for any confusion there may have been about the number of keys and hope that the vehicle itself has been satisfactory thus far. If you have any other concerns or questions, please reach out to us at 800-333-4554 and we will be happy to assist.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Outstanding experience

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Oct 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana is an amazing company to work with. The entire process was outstanding, and delivery of the car at the vending machine was a fantastic experience. Carvana seems to really pay attention to every detail of the process, and it shows in the car that I received from them.

    I will definitely be buying more cars from Carvana.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 25, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out about your recent experience with Carvana. We apologize that your verification process caused frustration and confusion. We do see that you did talk to multiple advocates about your Uber/Lyft employment and we apologize that they did not inform you of our current policy. For any self-employment financing, we must remove an additional 30% from the verifiable income to compensate for expenses due to the nature of the income. We understand that the knowledge of this reduction would have caused less stress and frustration. We will be communicating your experience to the proper management channels. We do see since then you have been able to move forward with a vehicle and are set for your delivery. Please let us know moving forward if there are any other issues and we will be happy to assist.

    • Oct 27, 2017

      Anita Day

      I'm very disappointed in this company. I applied for a vehicle about two weeks ago. From there I was happy, the people were very nice. I asked them what I needed and I sent the information. I picked out the first car and then I waited, and waited, and waited, so I finally called them. They asked for more documents and I sent them and waited again. So, I called them and they told me I didn't have enough income. I told them there must be a mistake and they told me 10,000. I said yes to that and approved it.

      Then I called again and they told me that they needed more proof. I went and sent them my bank statements but they needed more proof. I went online to get the rest of the information and then I called them back and then they told me that they couldn't see the information. I faxed it to them last night and called them again. I waited for two hours and then the nice man tells me that the underwriter still says no. I told them I will go to my bank and have them write me a letter, and then they call back and still say no. I told them I was going to get the president to write this letter and sign it and he tells me no still.

      This was an ongoing case for two weeks. I wasted two weeks and I'm very hurt. I was told I could get a third party or go to another finance company. This company I give it a 10, the cars are reasonable and the service was nice but a few were a little cold. If you’re not able to help someone please don't lead them on just tell them the truth. Perhaps your company could be a little kinder, mostly the underwriter could have called the bank like people do when you apply for a job. No one is perfect but if you were in my spot would you like someone to get your hopes up and then they get shot down. I was trying to just get a smart two-seater car for 6,000.

      I have a private income and child support, this is enough which actually added up to their qualifications, remember they said 10,000. I had six and four and then some, and my bank told me that they would write the letter or they were welcome to call. Altogether which added up to what they were asking but somewhere something was wrong. I hope in the future maybe I can try again when I have more income or money to put down. No disrespect just disappointed lucky for me that I have gotten a few phone calls back from other companies. I chose your company because your prices were good but I didn't realize that there were bad reviews on hearing. If I recommend anyone I would make sure to tell them this company is a yes and a no. Be prepared to have a job that shows proof from a job, don't waste your time if you are trying to use private income. Make sure you have your taxes, pay stubs, an account with no money (except your paycheck for three months), your license, $500 or more in a checking account, and your registration and insurance card as well. That is a cheap vehicle.

      Otherwise, this company is pretty cool except for a few things. Remember they always find you a car but you just don't get it because it's like a game. You win some and lose some. I had recommended six people and told them about this experience including my family and son. They are looking for other options after they read the bad reviews which I just ignored but I haven't given up on this company. When my situation improves I will probably call them back. Thanks for being so kind to the underwriter and your staff just remember everyone deserves a chance and please consider calling the places to verify if you can’t read the state letter or bank statements. A little more honesty would be nice as well. Not everyone is rich but if you see someone trying don't be so mean, please. Especially if someone has MS and cant prove their income. This could be you. I hope I haven't made anyone angry and if so I'm sorry. I hope you will give me the benefit of the doubt or someone else who is in need of help. To make it worse I was referred to you from my private income company. Thank You again.

    • Nov 10, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Anita, thank you for reaching out about your recent Carvana experience. We apologize that the verification process became frustrating and ultimately led to disappointment regarding our communication. Our policy for obtaining financing for a loan with Carvana requires that we are able to verify a minimum income of $10,000 annually. This must be supported by fully verifiable income documents, ranging from bank statements, paystubs, offer letters or canceled checks. When any type of income is not cataloged in a way to where a paper trail is visible showing taxable income, we will not be able to verify that additional income.

      We apologize we were unable to use a portion of the income that you presented and sue to the guidelines required by our lender. If you believe you are able to provide sufficient information from your employer supporting the income you are earning, we can reevaluate and make sure that we are able to verify to our $10,000 minimum requirement.

      We apologize again that our communication regarding this was subpar as we strive to treat each customer with equal respect and kindness. We will utilize our feedback to further improve this in the future. If you would like any further information, please feel free to reach out to us at 800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 25, 2017

    Same BS from financing

    They advertise that they are different than other car dealerships and that you know up front the financing terms. Well, this is not entirely true, especially if you have to earn your income from companies like Uber and Lyft.

    I submitted close to accurate income numbers, spent 4 days looking at cars and finding the right one based on what they had said I was able to purchase. I even spoke to 3 different customer service reps to make 100% certain that there would be no issues with self-employment income. I then made certain I had the cash in the bank for the downpayment. They verified with the bank. I spent time as they requested getting all my income validation uploaded.

    Well, guess what happened next? YES. Same old car finance nonsense. The guy that calls from underwriting is really snotty about it, and starts going on about his algorithm and that it takes into account all these other things and they reduced my income in half. The result is now they want a whole lot more down for a lot less car.

    So much for changing the way cars are sold. The very thing I was trying to avoid and called numerous times about is what I had to go through with a pretty obnoxious finance guy who said, "Well, you could get a smart car." "Oh no, I guess you couldn't use that for Uber!" Nice Carvana.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service and bad car that has major things to be replaced that is life threatening

    False advertising and horrible car.

    When I first purchased the car in May, I had to get it serviced at a Mercedes Benz because the tires were in critical condition and the speedometer and dashboard sensors were not correct. The back seat was lifted up, the seats and air vents were pealing, headlights went out the 3rd week I had the car to be scheduled for service three times.

    Carvana and SilverRock stated that the repairs would be done and now that the car has been repaired they don't want to cover the bill. I've been without my car for four months because repairs are life-threatening.

    Advocates at Carvana and SilverRock didn't put in the correct notation about my 2014 Mercedes C250. I have emails and recorded phone conversations with multiple advocates from Carvana. Before you purchase, get the car inspected on the first day because they will do anything to sell you a lemon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We are sorry to hear that your recent experience was less than satisfactory. We know you had contacted us earlier this year about a few issues you have been experiencing with the vehicle. At that time, we went over the procedure to have information from a mechanic or dealership sent over to our repair team.

      However, after speaking with you we never received any information stating what those issues were, therefore, we couldn't process any repairs. We know you chose to add the additional Carvana Care warranty prior to the completion of your purchase. After cross-referencing our recent conversations with our Carvana representatives and the SilverRock representatives, we are able to see that the issues found are not covered under Carvana Care warranty.

      While we understand this response is not what you were hoping for, we are only able to work with what our extended warranty package includes in coverage. We know you have been in contact with one of our Executive Resolution specialists in regards to this response as well. However, if you would like any additional follow up, please feel free to contact us at 800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely terrible!

    I'm so upset I want to cry.

    I've had my car for exactly three months and I've been experiencing so many different issues. I had to get an oil change one month after I got the car. I had to replace my battery 2 and 1/2 months after I bought the car. My headlight needed to be changed five days after I bought the car, along with putting air into my tires because I had low tire pressure. Now I need to buy new brakes and rotors.

    All of these things were supposed to be checked before the vehicle was delivered and clearly wasn't. I've written to Carvana's repair department, left a message on the corporate phone and emailed the president of the company and haven't heard back from any of them.

    Do not purchase a vehicle from here, I am warning you. I've already informed Carvana that I would be writing reviews and contacting the media due to this issue. It's not fair how I have to come out of my pocket to pay for the things that should've been inspected. This is an additional $2000 added. I also have the receipts for all of my services that I sent to Carvana just in case they didn't believe me, but clearly they do, and that's why I haven't heard back from anyone. As a new company, they should be concerned how they treat their customers. Sooner or later this company will no longer exist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 12, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for sharing your experience with Carvana. We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your vehicle and we offer the complimentary 100 days or 4,189-mile limited warranty to help cover any mechanical failures during that time. All of our vehicles go through a 150-point inspection to ensure all items meet Carvana standards and at the time of sale. The brakes and rotors did exceed our specifications at this time.

      We did speak with you regarding the brakes and rotors but were not able to offer any assistance as the vehicle was driven over the 4,189-mile limit. Given brakes and rotors are wearable parts, replacement time does vary on the driving conditions of the vehicle. The headlight issue was brought to our attention and we offered to get it resolved, but do not see a claim was submitted to our warranty company from a repair facility.

      Again, we are sorry to hear about the concerns with your vehicle but appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out at 800.333.4554 to provide any additional feedback or address any concerns.

    • Oct 16, 2017

      Nicole Carrington

      I'm disappointed in Carvana's mediocre response. Instead of offering a refund for my oil change, battery and DRL, you simply respond with this. The 150-point inspection clearly FAILED. No one contacted me after I sent my email. This is the first response I've receive after I spoke with your nasty representative.

      Again, I've never had to replace these things on my Camry that I put 60,000 miles on. I was over the mileage for my warranty AFTER I've experienced these issues with my vehicle. Please stay away from this company everyone. I will contact my attorney since they're acting like this is normal "wear and tear" on my vehicle.

      I'm tired of coming out of my pocket for this vehicle. If I didn't need a vehicle in a rush I would've never purchased from them.

      UPDATE: My back right light went out recently too. Would you like the receipt for that as well?

    • Oct 24, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for your follow-up. We apologize no one reached out after your email. However, we did speak with you over the phone regarding your concerns prior to the email. We genuinely apologize if your phone experience was less than satisfactory. Given the number of miles put on the vehicle, we are not able to reimburse for the oil change or battery.

      Additionally, brakes and rotors are wear and tear parts that vary based on driving conditions and again, due to a number of miles put on the vehicle, we are not able to cover that cost. Please reach out at 800.333.4554 if you have additional questions or concerns.

    • Oct 31, 2017

      V

      Brakes and rotors after three months? Really? The response from your company is atrocious. I'm in the process of shopping for a used SUV and I will definitely avoid your company. This is "Buy here, Pay here" level of service. I bought a certified pre-owned car before and two months later brought it back for a bad stock subwoofer and a warped rotor. Guess what they did? Repaired BOTH items, with a smile and a what else can we help you with sir? Rotors are wear and tear on their warranty too but its called "standing behind your product." I am thankful you replied to these though. Reading your response helped me from making a costly mistake.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    A total nightmare

    I bought a 2014 Jeep Cherokee Sport with 42,000 miles on it from Carvana six months ago. The process itself was not a bad experience, but about three weeks ago, while driving my kids to a piano lesson we stopped under a red light on a hill and the vehicle shut off, wouldn’t start and the check engine light and battery light came on.

    I had the vehicle towed to my house because it was too late to take it to a garage at the time. At my house, the vehicle started again, so I called Carvana Care (SilverRock) and told them what was happening with the vehicle, and they told me to take it to one of the garages listed on their website to get it looked at, which I did. I took it to Midas in Chapel Hill, Akron, Ohio.

    First, the Midas Mechanic told me after diagnosing the vehicle that it was the head; that was when my nightmare started. After that, they told me it was the head gasket, and then it was air conditioning, and the then there something wrong with the vehicle computer, and now there is a problem with one of the valves. I have requested they give my vehicle back to me, and they have refused to do so because they took out the head again.

    During all this time I have been calling Carvana and letting them know what these guys are telling me and wondering aloud if they sold me a lemon. I even asked them if they would allow me to exchange this vehicle with all the problems it has and how much I am paying for it. Carvana refused to do that, but they want me to trade it in for far less for what I bought the vehicle for and buy another vehicle from them.

    I have already missed a few days of work, and I can’t take my kids to their events because I currently don’t have a vehicle. I drive about 40 miles to and from work every day, which is why I need a reliable vehicle but Carvana doesn’t care about that. They got their money and that's all that matters to them. What kind of mess have I got myself into?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 13, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out to us with your feedback on your experience with Carvana. We sincerely apologize for the issues that have occurred with your vehicle. All of our vehicles go through a 150-point inspection, as well as a pre-delivery inspection to make sure they meet our standards. Our inventory is made up of used vehicles, which means there will be standard wear associated with them.

      However, we are disappointed to hear extensive repairs were needed on your vehicle. Although we do not want any of our vehicles to need repairs completed on them, we are glad that you are able to utilize your extended warranty to assist with the repairs on the vehicle. Someone from our executive resolution team will be following up with you to discuss if transportation is still needed while your vehicle is at the repair facility. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at 800-333-4554!

    • Oct 17, 2017

      Francis Rogers

      I got the vehicle back and there is a leak of some fluid which I'm still trying to figure out from where it's coming from. The vehicle is idling rough. I tried calling you guys but I am always put on hold for the longest time. So I am taking it to another garage to get it checked again, But I can't do that because I will need another vehicle for work. This 2014 Jeep should not be having all these issues but nobody wants to help or listen to me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    It's really not that convenient

    I really hate dealerships in that it takes forever to get from point A to point B. It should not take three hours to buy a car, especially if you have done all of the research on the vehicle that you are looking for as well as coming prepared with all of the necessary documentation necessary. We all know the "waiting game" is a car salesperson technique, but you would think this site would be different. Unfortunately, NO.

    After they sent an invalid link to upload my documents and me fighting with trying to find the valid site to submit them, they canceled delivery and made an arbitrary delivery date in which I wasn't available. They couldn't coordinate with my immediate schedule and told me that the new delivery date was too far out so I would have to start the whole process over again. Are you kidding me? How is this taking longer than if I went to dealership? What exactly did I save?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 5, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Our purpose is to provide a better alternative to the dealership experience and we apologize if we missed the mark. Our team attempted to reach out regarding the items needed and scheduling, but unfortunately, were not able to make contact. If additional documents are needed for underwriting purposes, we do request them within a certain timeframe so all information is collected prior to delivery.

      We apologize if there were technical difficulties with our website preventing you from uploading the items requested. This is vital feedback for us as a growing company and we can assure you it will be used to make improvements for the future. Please let us know if there are any additional questions or concerns we can address for you at 800-333-4554. Thank you Jessica!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Too good to be true

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The process was SO simple. I found the perfect car in less than five minutes, emailed all the paperwork and submitted each document as requested.

    The car was to be delivered today at 9 am, and suddenly I received an email asking why we didn't pick our car up. We were scheduled for a delivery and the employees to speak with were either friendly and understanding or condescending and unpleasant. Why would we pick up a car when the whole advertisement is a simple process from home being delivered to you, we clicked delivery and never thought anything about it until the car didn't show up? And when it was discussed, there was never an apology, and the car was not going to be "re-delivered" until later this week, and that was not an option.

    We canceled our perfect car and realized dealing with the dealership is clearly less stress than this joke of buying a car before you can even touch it. Great concept but they dropped the ball big time, so upsetting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 9, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you very much for writing a review to share your Carvana experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed the ease of our online car-buying process and found the perfect vehicle for you. We apologize for any inconveniences or miscommunication you may have experienced along the way. Customer service is our top priority and what we take pride in and would like to apologize if you felt that our customer advocate team was unpleasant at any time.

      We do give the option to our customers to either pick up the vehicle at one of our Vending Machine locations or get the vehicle delivered. Your selection was for pick up and we did confirm via email about your pickup day and time. Again, we apologize for this miscommunication and would be more than happy to change it to "delivery" for you!

      The reason for the later delivery date is because we do have a calendar we adhere to for our schedule availability that week. If you do decide to change your mind and come back to Carvana, we would want nothing more than to turn your Carvana experience around.

      Please don’t hesitate to reach out to one of our executive resolution specialists at 800-333-4554 if you have any questions or additional concerns, thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 79

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review