About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

152 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 43 4 star: 4 3 star: 12 2 star: 22 1 star:  71
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 152
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • No!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They sold me a luxury lemon, and they did fix it all until my short term warranty was over. I went back to trade, and my credit score is much higher, and they are giving me unfair terms now with a much higher interest rate and a higher down payment. Why am I being punished?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Time waste

    • Georgia,
    • Jun 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a Scion TC through Carvana and had it set for pick up June 1, 2018. I got a call and email two or three days before saying the transport was delayed. No problem. I rescheduled for a day or two later.

    Another email/call saying there is a part that needs to be fixed on the windshield. I reschedule again. I get a call THE DAY OF, two hours before I am supposed to pick up my vehicle, that it still isn’t ready. I reschedule AGAIN.

    I got an email today (2 HOURS BEFORE PICKUP) that the part was ordered the day AFTER I was supposed to pick it up last week and it won’t be ready for another week. Absolutely ridiculous.

    The only good thing that came out of this was the $250 check they were going to send me for pushing it back so many times and the rental car they paid for for the weekend before I was supposed to pick up my new car.

    I will not order from them again. For those that have had good experiences, you’re lucky.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Amie, we want to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. The length of the delay on your delivery is completely unacceptable and know that we are so sorry. Even with alternative transportation, we know that this was highly inconvenient for you. Your feedback will be passed along to our Inspection Centers for process improvements. Although you did not move forward with purchasing a vehicle from Carvana, we do hope you are still able to find that perfect vehicle. If you are willing to give us another chance, we would love to turn your experience around!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Frankfort, KY,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    5/31/2018 Update:

    On day one, I emailed pictures of the body scratches and other faults to Cheri. I emailed some additional ones since then as well. There are a lot of scratches. She doesn't generally respond, but I assume they are reviewing the pictures.

    Chris, a "Customer Care Advocate," called me fairly quickly after my e-mail to Cheri, and I've talked to him on the phone twice, and also briefly in email. I informed him the 75th Anniversary package is a nearly $5,000 package that includes a steel bumper, a 6.5" touchscreen with UConnect, and leather-trimmed, heated seats (and several other options). The Jeep they brought me has none of those. I spoke to another gentleman as well, but he was talking in circles, and I did not receive any useful information, other than "the price is correct." Chris did admit the text description was changed after I bought the vehicle, but cannot explain why. It was something close to, "We get information from the VIN and other sources."

    What I'm hearing so far is not encouraging. They are supposed to have complete information for me tomorrow about how to settle this. They extended my 7-day review period until 5:00 PM tomorrow (Friday 6/1), so they have time to try to address these issues.

    6/9/2018 Update:

    So Carvana offered me $600 back total to buff the scratches out of the vehicle (some are buffable, some are not) and also for the cleaning. They offered to order floormats but only after my 7-day "trial" period, which I did. They haven't arrived yet, and my carpet is getting very dirty. I also ran into a new wrinkle. Carvana keeps the vehicle registered under THEIR name the entire time you are making payments. This complicates vehicle registration if you have a personalized plate, like I do. It's possible to keep your personalized plate by sending them some information, but it does make the entire process more complicated than simply going down to your county clerk and transferring tags.

    Would I do it again? Under most circumstances, I would say no. However, the vehicle I bought is a Jeep Wrangler, and getting a good deal on these is very difficult. They are wildly popular and hold their value so much that late models go for nearly new price. This gives Carvana an advantage over most dealers and individuals selling these, which is why I kept the Jeep I bought. In my particular case, because it was a Wrangler, I simply couldn't find a significantly better deal. I did find a much better deal on eBay, but it was in New York. I'd be buying long distance. I'm not a fan of that.

    So bottom line, don't think Carvana is "no hassle," because it can be a great hassle. Also don't expect a vehicle that has only the scratches/damage that they identify on the web site. There will almost certainly be more, based on my experience. I've rated them up to 2-stars, due to the fact that the price was unintentionally more competitive and I have to acknowledge it wasn't a bad deal (or I wouldn't have kept it obviously).

    Overall, though, the process was and still is a hassle, and I was slammed with disappointment when I first got the vehicle, due to the listing "error" and the additional scratches and dirty interior/exterior. I also really dislike that I don't receive a title and they keep it in their name. Why is that? Is it because it's easier to repo a car if it's in their name? Who knows. They didn't explain it, and I didn't see it in their FAQ, but I don't like it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 30, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Even though they are used vehicles, they are still new to our customers and we want them to be presented in the best possible condition, so we truly apologize that this was not the case for your Jeep at the time of delivery. With our vehicles being used, there are occasions when floor mats are not present, but we do ensure they will be ordered. Our team has been researching your concerns regarding the trim. Please know that we would never intentionally change an annotation on a vehicle to mislead a customer.

      We sincerely apologize for the experience you have received since your Jeep was delivered. We are glad to see that you have been in contact with our outstanding Customer Advocates regarding the next steps to address each of these concerns. Thank you for conveying your experience once you received the 2017 Jeep Wrangler, as we can use this information moving forward to improve our annotations as well as the condition of the vehicle upon delivery. We look forward to reaching a resolution with you as you are a part of the Carvana Family!

    • Jun 1, 2018

      Brian K.

      Your team got back to me yesterday and admitted the text was changed regarding the $4680, 75th Anniversary Edition package. After a lot of trouble, I was offered $250 as compensation. I can't decide, maybe you can help. Should I put that $250 towards new leather seats ($1200-$1400) that the package should have had or maybe towards the Infotainment System ($2000+)? Maybe the steel bumpers or one of the other options that the vehicle does not have, but was advertised as having?

      I was supposed to receive a final word on this situation today, but it's 1:03 PM and my extension on keeping the vehicle only lasts until 5:00 PM, so I am wondering if I'm going to hear something or not. I think $250 for this misrepresentation is a joke, and I've looked over all your Jeep Wranglers, and you don't have a single 2-door available, and the few I saw a week ago were overpriced. Hopefully, your outstanding Customer Advocate will call me within the next 4 hours with a solution.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • May 30, 2018

    Very disappointed - bait and switch

    So I ordered a 2017 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 75th Anniversary model a couple of weeks ago. I got it in today. I noticed it had a lot of scratches that weren't documented, it had no floormats, and it was dirty. To be honest, dirty was not a huge deal because I can wash the thing, and Beth, the lady who delivered, said she can order me floormats at no charge. Beth also she said they could refund up to $250 for damage issues, so I've been debating all evening if $250 off a $30k vehicle is enough of a discount to keep it.

    THEN I realized it's not even the 75th Anniversary model! So I go back to the website to review the vehicle, and it's no longer listed. Luckily, I had saved it as a favorite, and when I clicked on the favorites icon, I could see the old ad. The words that appeared underneath "2017 Jeep Wrangler" used to be "75th Anniversary Edition," but has been replaced by "Sahara Sport Utility 2D!" This is definitely not what it said when I purchased. I am absolutely sure. I know because that is why I picked it over a red Wrangler that was a few hundred dollars cheaper. This was a key factor to me. And now that text has been replaced. I feel cheated.

    I emailed Cheri, my "Customer Advocate" tonight to inquire about this situation.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Fast and easy

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car off them after my used one failed. It was a quick buying experience. I had been looking at Carvana for the past six months and a lot of reddit reviews. So I picked the car I wanted and uploaded the documents they needed. I also took an extra step and uploaded my earnings statements that I saw one reddit user did. I don't know if this made the process quicker, but four hours later I was approved, and setting up my delivery date, I asked if an earlier date was possible and they were able to have my car delivered a day earlier.

    The test drive went well, the driver was nice. I only noticed the carpets were a little dirty, and the driver said she would order new floor mats before I even got into the car. The car looked like it went through a $20-$30 car wash, not fully detailed, but I didn't care. I don't expect all cars to come fully shampooed and waxed. I only had one issue, which was no USB port. I called the Carvana rep, and they were able to offer me a $250 discount.

    I still have four days to decide to keep the car. I'm only disappointed that it came with one key fob and it's one of those intelligent keys that cost like $200-300 to get a spare. Also, I didn't get a goody bag that a lot of other people got.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Run - run away NOW! Do not purchase from Carvana

    • California,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use Carvana!

    A car dealership is like a luxury vacation in Tahiti compared to Carvana.

    Here’s what went down.

    I’ve been looking for the right car for over a month. I created an account on Carvana and FINALLY found the car for me! I started the process, input all my info and everything looked okay. That was yesterday. Today, I get an email that my delivery is delayed. I called them and they tell me the phone number on my account doesn’t match what’s on the credit report, and that I have to get the alert on my Experian account removed. Okay, I start looking for information on how to contact Experian, and all I can find are automated system numbers.

    I call them to find out if there’s another way to handle and the guy I spoke to said “Oh it’s all cleared up, I’ve got your number changed in the system, and you’re good to go. Your car will be delivered Tuesday.”

    Haha, what a joke!

    I then received an email stating my delivery would AGAIN be delayed. I called for the third time before noon. The young lady I spoke to said the underwriter had created a help ticket to get my phone # fixed, that she would call IT and call me back at noon.

    
Guess what? No call. SURPRISE! I called them, was transferred to the underwriter, whose name I believe is Cara. Cara told me the ONLY way I can get the car is to call Experian and get the phone number changed, they can’t change anything on their side, and she gave me the phone number. I called the number. It's a credit card company, not Experian.

    I called back and canceled my order. I have health issues and stress extremely exacerbates my condition. I’d rather have another person puke in my mouth than deal with this C word. Their people lied, gave bad information, and all they can do is say “I’m so sorry you had a bad experience.” Stop being sorry and fix the problems.

    Also, please do NOT reply to this with “Oh we’re so sorry, that’s not how Carvana does business” because I’ve found many similar reviews. Why doesn't Carvana train their people to do business properly? How about listening to the recordings and seeing how much they lie?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 13, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We want to start by thanking you for bringing the issues with your purchase to our attention. Please know we will be using the information provided to improve training on our underwriting process. After reviewing your account, it can be seen that there was miscommunication regarding this process. We do want to sincerely apologize for the experience you have received. We are glad that it was cleared up once you spoke with our underwriting department on what the correct next steps would be. However, we completely understand that by this point you had already lost trust in Carvana. If you are willing to give us another chance, we would be happy to go over each step of the process clearly so as to not have any further miscommunication and find you that perfect vehicle! Thank you again for your time and for this honest review.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great Car, No Registration

    The car itself is fine. The people I've dealt with were pleasant, and overall the experience [until now] has been convenient and pleasant. I was even going to recommend this service. However, according to a Carvana rep, Carvana is "required to complete the registration" because I used their financing.

    My temporary tags are dated 6/9/18 (TOMORROW), and when I called to check on my tags, their "third party" hasn't submitted the paperwork yet, and it could be at least two more weeks after that before I get my tags. Their representative tried to blame me for getting them the property tax receipt late, but I send it to them 25 hours after the first time asked for it.

    Now I have a car I can't drive legally! For me, the convenience and stress-free experience of buying online is completely overshadowed by this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 13, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We are discouraged to hear that you have been experiencing these issues with registration. In Arkansas, it is required to provide a paid property tax receipt in order to register a vehicle. You are absolutely correct that we could have reminded you earlier for the required document to proceed with your registration in a timely manner, and we failed to do this. We look forward to finding a swift resolution to getting you back behind the wheel in no time by expediting your registration. We are also thankful that we had our Customer Advocate team get you an extension for your temporary operating plate in the meantime so you may continue to drive your vehicle until your registration arrives! We do thank you for your patience with your registration as we get you the experience that you deserve with Carvana.

    • Jun 15, 2018

      Brittany R.

      Some corrections are needed here. It was not a matter of needing to be reminded about what I should have provided you; Carvana stated that they were taking care of the registration and that I needed to do nothing. I even sought clarification of this when my car was delivered to me. I exercised due diligence in making sure everything was complete on my end. Secondly, when I spoke to the representative, I was told they COULDN'T offer me an extension, and that I would be contacted via email (which STILL hasn't happened) on the status of my request for resolution here. I was surprised on Monday by an "overnighted" extended temporary plate (the FIRST thing that I requested, which was denied to me by Kevin, your rep.). However, I have to wonder if it's any coincidence that this extended temporary tag didn't get sent out until after I leave a bad review. Your team needs to work on clarification on the front end and getting things taken care of the first time.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    One year later and no complaints

    • Washington,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Toyota Sienna last year and have no complaints with the vehicle or the process. The only slightly annoying thing was that when it was delivered, whoever loaded the vehicles did not apparently have a map of the area in front of them. The poor driver was driving all over the place, and my car happened to be the first one loaded, and the last one off. As a result, it was an all day back and forth with the driver and having to be on constant standby. Ultimately it was delivered, the vehicle checked out by my mechanic and it's been great ever since.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Crooks and liars

    • Lakeville, MA,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car with them and it was easy enough. The day it was supposed to be delivered, I received a call at 8:30 stating the driving called out and that this car isn't in their territory so they won't be able to deliver it for another 7-10 business days.

    I tried to call back and I got a rep's voicemail. I left a message and said I'm available anytime. They never called me back, so I called the 800 number, and the rep told me that the location doesn't deliver to my house, it should have been the Boston location. I replied, "so they lied to me about someone calling out." They just aren't coming because it was brought to the wrong facility. They said no they didn't lie, someone did call out. I explained then shouldn't it be the next day. Why are we bumping me 10 days out when I was scheduled before everyone after me? I told them they had until Wednesday (which was two days away) to deliver or I'm canceling. Surprise, surprise - they were able to deliver.

    When I got the car the top rail was severely dented during offloading. I would now have to set up to get that fixed free of charge but still on my own time. I had the car for a day and then called and said I didn't like the car and with all the issues I don't want to do business with them again. They said they'll call the Connecticut office to schedule a pick up. I let them know that's the incorrect office, the Boston office is in my territory (I figured they would know this and not the customer).

    They removed the car in three days. They said I would see my money back in my bank account in 5-7 business days. It has now been 17 days with no money back into my account. I called today and they said it got stuck in the transfer and never made it. I asked if I never called you would have just kept my money. They said no, you would have gotten your money. No idea how they figured that. I also asked how often does this happen. They said not often. I said it's weird that $13,000 just gets stuck, is it perhaps that someone forgot to do it. They said no. I told them I caught them lying before to me. They said it would be two business days. I said if it's not there in two days I'm calling back and then they'll hear from my lawyer.

    They are crooks and liars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 12, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We want to first address the delay in the delivery of your vehicle. There were a couple of factors that contributed to this delay, for which we truly apologize for. We completely understand that this start to your Carvana delivery was not the ideal experience and must have been a big let down. As well, there was a system error that was showing your local market incorrectly, and we apologize for the confusion that surrounded this.

      The condition that your vehicle was delivered in was unacceptable, and we understand that even though the repairs would have been covered, it would have taken time out of your day. We are glad that you were able to utilize the 7-day money back guarantee to return your vehicle, as it was not the perfect vehicle for you. The processing time to have funds returned is typically 5-7 business days, and in this case, it did take longer due to an error.

      We know this was very frustrating for you and we are so sorry for the overall experience you received. We understand there are no excuses for this and we cannot thank you enough for your patience through and through. This is by no means the outcome we want for any customer. We understand that you are no longer interested in purchasing a vehicle from Carvana but do hope you are able to find that perfect vehicle, even if not from Carvana. If you do decide to come back to Carvana and we can gain your trust again, we'd like to have you as a happy returning customer.

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your constructive review of your Carvana experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the risk

    • Boise, ID,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you live outside the footprint of Carvana and have to pay the $399 delivery fee, it is just not worth the risk. Their "transparency" will only tell you about a couple of exterior imperfections, just multiply that by 5, and you'll have an accurate number. Their showroom lighting is very misleading - get your car out in the sun, that is after you take a filthy car down to be washed, and you'll see everything. And in the case of my vehicle, the rims had been curb rashed, look closely in the photos...

    The delivery took 25 days, so plan on that too, and be wary that the delivery company may damage your vehicle loading and unloading.

    Couple other little things - no floor mats, the interior hadn't even been wiped down, and the key fobs needed batteries replaced.

    Bottom line is, they purchase lease vehicles at auction, the more abused these vehicles can be, the cheaper they can get them, and turn them around at retail. Pretty sneaky.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      It sounds like you definitely had a terrible experience getting your vehicle delivered. This is not at all a part of our company values, nor is this a standard occurrence. We are so sorry that we failed to give you the awesome Carvana experience we strive to provide to all of our customers. Thank you for giving us this feedback so we can work on improving our Direct Delivery process. Since you are outside of our local delivery range, we had to utilize a third party transport company to take your vehicle on the journey to deliver to you.

      I’m sure it did not arrive in the cleanliness of conditions; however, we always provide our Direct Delivery family with a gift card for detailing due to this fact, since we cannot personally deliver the vehicle to you. We took a look into your account and we do see that we provided you with a reimbursement for your delivery fee due to the extra cosmetic imperfection your vehicle arrived with.

      Thank you again for sharing your honest review of your experience, we only hope we could have carried it through as a good one. If you do decide to come back to Carvana in search of a vehicle, we’d like to bring you back as a happy returning customer.

    • Jun 11, 2018

      yolanda w.

      Today, June 11, 2018, I took possession of a 2015 Smart Car (my choice) in Arlington, Texas.

      Wiley (female) was my customer rep and delivered my Smart Car. Before I even received the car, I was telling other people and encouraging them about this service. I even asked for a bumper sticker so that I can tell others where I got my car.

      I read the reviews above, and I'm sorry you didn't have a fabulous rep like I did. Carvana is the future, and except for those people who want the traditional experience of going out to a dealership, haggling, begging banks, etc., those traditional dealerships are already a thing of the past.

      One more thing, the delivery time for my delivery was between 9 am -10 am. So, I was fine with the delivery time of approximately 9:30 am. Even if it had been much later, my only concern was receiving the car. Don't quit on Carvana because of one rep, just ask for another rep.

      Signed, One Happy Customer in Arlington, Texas.

    • Jun 15, 2018

      Brittany R.

      I had a similar experience with exterior scratches. Although it wasn't a big factor for me (this is our "family" car), after the first wash, there were a ton of little scratches, especially on the driver's side. There were even candy wrappers left in the rear console. Not a problem for me with this car, but I can definitely understand how someone else would be bothered.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    150-point inspection is NO good! Now questioning integrity.

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had recently purchased a 2016 Chevy Silverado Ext. Cab. I was extremely excited to receive the vehicle as it was Hot Red (my favorite color!). All prior communication had been going great until the vehicle was delivered.

    After test driving and pre-inspection, I was a bit concerned with the condition the vehicle was delivered in. The Carvana advocate, Hunter, was upfront and honest and stated he attempted to detail interior, but the inside and truck bed were in pretty bad shape, 6 out of 10. He then took pictures to contact his repair team and said that they would work something out to have the car professionally detailed. Ok, I thought no big deal if they can get that done.

    My fiance' and I proceeded to test drive the vehicle and noticed a slight rumble or vibration in the cabin when idling at low RPMs and braking. She then pointed out a crack in the front glass windshield. I'm now in the process of doing a swap for a 2017 Dodge Ram, and hoping this vehicle will be in much better condition. Every Carvana advocate I have spoken with has been magnificent none the less, BUT this does me no good as a first time customer if the quality of the vehicle is not up to par.

    I now have two days left for the new vehicle to arrive. I still have to drive back and forth to work and drop my daughter off at daycare. I'm now being told that since I exceeded the 400-mile mark, I will have to pay $1 extra per mile over. Which will come out to about ($200). I think this is unfair as the first vehicle they sent me was a waste of my time, and now money. This is all very disheartening as a first-time buyer with Carvana. I'm now questioning the integrity of these 150-point inspections. Especially since we noticed all the things wrong with the vehicle in less than 30 minutes. I like the idea, but not sure yet if I will recommend or use them in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We love the enthusiasm you had for your Carvana purchase prior to your delivery, we only wish this was carried through up until you received the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado. As happy as we are to hear that the extent of our Customer Service has been great, we cannot say we are thrilled with the disappointing outcome. The cleanliness that the vehicle was in, is not per our Carvana standards, and we truly apologize about this along with the issues you were experiencing while driving the truck.

      We do appreciate your honest feedback so we can leverage all areas for improvements, as we take these reviews very seriously. We are happy to see that one of our executive resolution specialists has reached out to you regarding the issues you have brought to our attention and the next steps to ensure your swap of the 2017 Dodge Ram goes smoothly!

      We are glad that you utilized the 7-day money back guarantee and only want to turn your experience around from here on out. We will be following up with you until your next vehicle is delivered. We thank you for your patience through and through Jherray and can't wait to have you part of the Carvana family!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Carvana - wow, awful!

    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awful experience. They just can't seem to get my registration correct! It has been months! I think I'm being scammed at this point. Pathetic, incompetent people that work for this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Carvana is trying to make the car buying experience as easy as possible from start to finish, including the registration of the vehicle. We understand that we have fallen short of this in your case, and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings. We are glad to see that you have a point of contact with our team that handles our customers post-sale to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. Your frustrations are valid, and we want to thank you for your continued patience and understanding as we complete your registration.

    • Jun 3, 2018

      Jazz O.

      I have the same problem, and I lost my job because I can't use the car that I bought, which is crazy. So, I have found a job fast and paid for the car and new insurance. I'm depressed because I have a baby on the way. I'm so sad right now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 152

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review