About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

233 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 60 4 star: 10 3 star: 18 2 star: 28 1 star:  117
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 233
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst used car junk dealer!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a victim of this gimmick used car sales dealer and want to strongly advise others to please do your research about this place before doing business with them. Speak to their behind the scenes employees and find out all the dirt about the junk auction cars they buy and then wash and wax and pass on as inspected and reliable. There were so many issues with the car, I don't know where to begin. I'm not going to mention my specific issues so as not to influence you, however, all I ask is that you speak to the mechanics, drivers, haulers, etc. You'll find out plenty as I did. Ultimately, I returned my purchase and never looked back. Please don't fall for their gimmicks and misleading sales staffs false promises. Buyer beware!

    If I could give zero stars, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Easy process but a few glitches

    • Maryland,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to submit a review on the Carvana.com website but couldn't find a way to do it. They display reviews, but there was no way for me to participate, which I thought was a little weird.

    I bought a very nice used 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport.

    The process was easy and fast. I like how you can do everything online. Very convenient.

    The rep who delivered the car was very nice and provided good customer service.

    A few disappointments:

    1. They don't give you as a spare key. I wish I had inquired about that earlier. I think it should be standard to give the buyer two keys, so you have a spare.

    2. The rep made a point to address the fact that it was not noted online in the description that there were a few minor interior stains. She said someone would contact me about either doing another cleaning/detailing or giving me some sort of credit for it, but I never heard from anyone. Other than that, the car was in good condition in appearance.

    3. On the 8th day, my car wouldn't start and eventually figured out it was a dead battery. Batteries aren't included in the warranty, so I had to spend money I didn't have on buying a new battery. I find that very frustrating. I would think they would put in a new battery before selling a car with high mileage. Once again, I wish I had thought to inquire about that before my purchase. It was also very frustrating that it happened the day after the 7-day trial was up.

    4. I think a copy of the state inspection should be provided to the customer. I have inquired about this and was told my "local hub" would contact me about it, but they haven't. I would think this could be easily done. Since they do the registration for you (a very nice part of buying through Carvana!), I would think the car would have already passed in inspection before the sale and they could just email me a copy. So far, that has not happened.

    Other than what I listed above, I found the process much easier and faster than other dealerships. I would probably do it again, but ask more questions and do a little more research before making the commitment next time. And other than the car battery problem, I do like the car, and it is driving well so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Failure to provide required registration documents

    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a vehicle (~$39,200) on the 4th of October 2018 and funds were collected by Carvana on the 5th of October, 2018, but the title and tag information still were not received on the 6th of December 2018. The temp tag expired the 2nd of December 2018.

    I called and Carvana stated the delay was due to DMV, and if my temp tag expired, I could go to DMV and request another temp tag, costs would be reimbursed by Carvana. They also agreed to reimburse my fees if title and tags not received by the expiration of my temp tag. I can't use the vehicle to go on vacation because I have to wait on tags. Temp tags have expired. I can't use the vehicle which was fully paid for on the 5th of October 2018.

    I paid on the 5th of October for Tile and Documentation ($119) and Carvana did not submit documents until the 24th of October 2018. I am not arguing the price, but instead the poor delivery on promised document services. If there was a problem, they should have resolved the issue for the customer. (They have an operation in Austin, Texas!!) Now the problem with receiving title and tags becomes MY PROBLEM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We are sorry to hear there was a delay in your registration process. We understand the frustration towards your dream car, and then not being able to drive it because the temporary operating plate has expired. That is not the customer experience we wanted you to have and we take full ownership of the situation. We are happy to see you have received your plates and that you were reimbursed for the title and registration fees. From here on out, we hope you are able to enjoy your new ride and please reach out at (800) 333-4554 should anything arise. Thank you for your continued patience and being part of the Carvana family throughout it all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My advice is to go to a dealership where you can get more information on the car you're trying to purchase. I bought a car from Carvana and the oil was black, then when I called to tell them about it, they told me to get the oil change and they will reimburse me through a claim. So I got the oil change myself and in four months my engine went out. I purchased the extended coverage and they denied my claim. Now I’m stuck with an $18,000 debt. Please don’t buy from these scam artists, they don’t do inspections on the cars they’re selling! Go to a real dealership, do not buy a used rental car. They don’t take care of those cars, and they don’t have to report accidents either! What a lesson learned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 11, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Our primary goal is to provide our customers with quality vehicles that have been vetted by our inspection process as we only want the best for our customers. Every vehicle listed on our website has passed our 150-point inspection process, which includes a routine oil change. After reviewing your account, we confirmed an Inspector came out to look further into your engine related issues. Upon examination, it was determined that the damages to your engine were due to improper use of the vehicle. Our warranty does not cover any accidental damage, so we were unable to offer any assistance after further review. If you have any further questions or feedback please reach out of us via phone (800) 333-4554, email or chat seven days a week.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Carvana - "CarHell" would be a better brand name. They are horrible!

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They get one star because ZERO was not an option. Do not trust any 4.5-star ratings, since it is utterly unlikely those are honest reviews. Carvana sucks! PERIOD! I just had to find the CEO's email to tell him, Mr. Garcia III, about our ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC experience with them and we really - before this - hoped they would offer a MUCH better experience than regular dealers and CarMax (that relative to Carvana was heaven of car-buying), but Carvana has offered BY FAR the worst experience by any company ever that operates in a non-monopolistic market (so we exclude GA Power and Comcast). So avoid them at all cost in my opinion. That is the short version.

    The long version is that they were supposed to be here at 7 PM today so we cleaned out our exchange car and called them 7:03 PM to ask why they were not here and after about 50 minutes on the phone, the rep, Aron, told me that the delivery had tried to contact me to say it has to pass inspection. But THEY LIED, since NOBODY has called my cell phone at that time, or they had the wrong number. Either way, that was the last big issue.

    The others were:

    1. The rep did not know it is hybrid.

    2. They forgot to tell us it comes with a car charger.

    3. They dinged the first BMW so we had to change all documents for a new one.

    4. They said they would deliver the new BMW, but then a few days later said that it needs a new battery (ok fine, no big deal), but then said it would be done for delivery today at 7 PM and they do not even contact us via text, email, or phone when they cannot/will/do not show up due to "That the car must pass emission inspection and if those lights light up, the car will not pass..."

    End of story. HORRIBLE COMPANY, though I really hope they or other online car companies will succeed in improving the car buying experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for voicing your situation with us regarding your Carvana experience and for the constructive feedback. The experience you had is regrettable, and we sincerely apologize that you had to endure so many difficulties. In addition to these difficulties, we missed our appointment with you which we also truly apologize for. The type of experience you are having is not something we are proud of and we want to work directly with you, as well as working to improve the Carvana car buying experience. By no means is this acceptable, and a member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly to assist you and answer any questions you may have. You gave us undeserved patience and we cannot thank you enough for this.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Carvana is shiesty

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are on the hunt for another car because our Mini Cooper was totaled in a hit and run wreck. We had found a car on Carvana.com and were in the process of purchasing it. They were offering a $1,000 Black Friday discount off the price of the car. Monday night, 11/26/18, I received an email offering an additional $1,000 Black Friday-Cyber Monday discount. I logged into my account and noticed a $2,000 discount on the vehicle we were purchasing as well as all of the other vehicles on the website. I immediately called Carvana at 10:30 pm but they were closed. I then sent Carvana a message stating I would like the lower price on the car and asking who did I need to contact. I took snips or screenshots of everything since I couldn't reach anyone at Carvana to confirm I wanted the additional Black Friday-Cyber Monday discount that was being offered. Seeing as how it was late Monday evening roughly two hours before the sale ended at midnight, I figured they snuck the additional discount in last minute to snag more sales.

    The next morning I called Carvana at 7:31 am. I explained the situation to a young lady named Candice. She was kind enough but told me they would not be honoring the discounted price. I explained I had taken screenshots of the price decrease and I asked to speak to someone above her. Many years of experience has taught me she wouldn't have the authority to change anything anyway. She put me on hold for a long time then came back on and stated her manager would like to see my screenshots before proceeding further. I got the feeling she thought I was bluffing about the evidence I had, so I immediately pulled over on my morning commute to work and emailed them. She then forwarded me an email they sent to their management team. The tone was a wee bit rude in my opinion. Several phone calls later they stated they would not be honoring the discounted price.

    In the meantime, I had contacted my credit union, Oklahoma's Credit Union, because I had to finalize the financing before 1:00 pm or I would lose the car. I apprised my Financial Services Representative of the situation. She said to keep her in the loop on whether Carvana would honor the discount they gave me or not. The credit union took a vested interest in the outcome because they had recommended Carvana to me. Once I received a phone call and the requested email stating their final decision was that they would not be honoring the discounted price of the vehicle, my financial institution Oklahoma's Credit Union stepped in to our defense. They began discussions with Carvana's representatives that ultimately went up the chain of command to the vice presidents.

    The final meeting between those in power was completed this afternoon. I received word from Oklahoma's Credit Union that Carvana declined to honor the discounted price of the vehicle claiming it was a computer glitch that affected many customers and if they honored mine they would have to honor theirs. My husband said, "Carvana was stepping over dollars to pick up dimes." I'm sure that's someone else's quote, but it's fitting. They lost an $18,400 sale because they would not honor the additional $1,000 discount they gave me.

    The take away from all of this is 1) Never do business with a shiesty company that treats their customers poorly. I will spend my money where I am appreciated and treated fairly. 2) Never buy a car from Carvana. They are shady. The experience was great. Buy a car completely online never having to deal with a sleazy car salesman. If it's too good to be true, it probably is. 3) Don't trust a company if all of their reviews are 5 stars. The reviews are most likely faked because they have poor customer service. 4) Most importantly, if your financial institution doesn't call you personally after business hours, jump up to plead your case to ensure you aren't taken advantage of and for a fair deal, have their Vice President step into the negotiations, or actually really care about you as an individual then you need to take your money and open an account at Oklahoma's Credit Union.

    Nowadays personalized customer service that goes above and beyond means more than anything. I have images to prove my claim. In the meantime, can anyone recommend an trustworthy car dealership? Or one that's as nasty to their customers as Carvana is so I can avoid it?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 2, 2018

      Andrey D.

      The same thing happens to me, they not only gave me a $1000 for Black Friday, but also my car is not available, since I first ordered it six weeks ago, and the second time, I ordered it over 23 days ago. They told me that it was a computer glitch.

    • Dec 5, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to notify Carvana of your experience and provide thorough detail from your situation. Black Friday is definitely one of our busiest times of the year with our $1000 promotion that we offer. This year we ran into some technical difficulties when we launched the promotion. Some customers were seeing different discount promotions off of every vehicle on our website instead of $1000. While we absolutely take ownership for this mistake, we had previously notified customers via email, television ads and detailed clarification through our website that the offer would only be good from Black Friday through Cyber Monday and would only be for the amount of $1000. We notated that this offer would not be able to be combined with any other discount amounts in an effort to avoid confusion during that technical difficulty.

      We are disappointed to see that despite our efforts to provide an incredible and fair promotional offer to all of our customers, you have decided not to purchase with us. The reasoning behind this decision has everything to do with equal opportunity, and nothing to do with not wanting to honor the extra $1000. We stand by our reasoning and will strive to make sure each customer is given the same opportunities as the other. We hope that down the road you will give Carvana the chance to provide you with an awesome car buying experience, but until then, we wish you the happiest of Haulerdays and encourage to call us with any additional questions or concerns!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great car trading experience

    • Hopkinsville, KY,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It could not have been any easier to find a new car, make trade-in, and finance all in same place and time. Although we ended up driving to the Nashville location due to Carvana having many deliveries and booked up, we were compensated for our time and had a full tank of gas in our new car. We absolutely love our new car, most of all, did not have to deal with pushy car salesmen. We will look to Carvana on next car purchase. Recommend highly!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Manalapan, NJ,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car through Carvana several months ago and the process was very easy. It took me about 30 minutes total to pick the car online, upload the necessary documents and fill out the paperwork. The car was delivered to my home for free the next week. The woman who delivered it was great - Katherine Swan. She made the handoff process very easy and pleasant. I did get the car inspected during the 7-day trial period and everything was perfect with it. I’ve seen a lot of negative reviews about the time it takes for the plates to arrive, but mine came within a few weeks so no issue there. I also financed through Carvana, which was extremely easy. The car itself has been great, and I’m very pleased with the price I paid for it. I will definitely be using Carvana again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never buy from Carvana

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I attempted to purchase a car with Carvana this weekend. Everything went smoothly at first. We submitted all the necessary documents and received a couple of calls back and forth discussing the sale. This morning we received a voicemail from them that we would need a 3-way call between us and our bank to ensure the funds were available to purchase the car. When my husband called them back to arrange the call, they said that they had canceled the sale due to discrepancies in our documents and that the only recourse we have is to correspond with them via letter to address these concerns. Despite many calls and attempts to find out what the discrepancy might be or any other way we might be able to fix the problem, they would not help us. I'm not blaming the customer service reps, obviously they've been given rules on how to handle this, unfortunately, I think it is the company itself that purposely set up their system this way.

    Honestly, I think that this was done so that the Black Friday Sale deal would not go through. The fact that they would design their system like this makes me think that they are a shady company. Has anyone else had this experience with them?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 30, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Danielle, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. Our underwriting team does have policy and procedures that must be followed. Unfortunately, there were discrepancies found in the information provided, therefore we could not move forward with the purchase. Please know Carvana has every intention to allow our customers to move forward with their vehicle purchase during this exciting time of the Black Friday promotion, as long as the documents and information are accurate. We wish you all the luck and success in your vehicle search.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Tennessee,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my car a few months ago (2015 Kia Sorento), and now it's burning oil pretty rapidly. Unfortunately, it is already passed the 100-day warranty window, and now I need a new engine. I don't trust Carvana's inspection at all.

    I would have found this problem earlier, but it was misdiagnosed twice. One mechanic said it was the drain plug. After finding the oil low again, I took it to another mechanic, who said it was the oil filter gasket. After finding it low again, I took it to the Kia dealership, who performed an oil consumption test over the next month or so. I'm losing about a quart and a half every 500 miles (The low engine oil light doesn't appear to work either). Shame on Carvana for selling me a faulty car, and shame on me for purchasing from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 30, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your Carvana purchase and for taking the time to leave a review of this experience. First, we are sorry to hear that you are experiencing problems with the oil in your vehicle. We understand how frustrating it must be to take time out of your day to have the problem resolved. After further review of your account, we understand you called Carvana back in April of 2018 to discuss the oil leakage and we advised to get in touch with our warranty company, Silverrock, to find a solution. We apologize your mechanic was not able to diagnose the issue and we do hope the Kia dealership was able to fix the oil leak in a timely manner.

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Joy S.

      I personally had no issues purchasing my vehicle. It was easy, smooth, and will receive our black Friday bonus after December 30th. I wish we could get it earlier so we can buy a little extra Christmas for our children. We only purchased now because we didn't have enough room in our small SUV for both teenagers and a younger one in a full car seat. Again, we love our minivan. I do wish it had heated seats like the as stated, but it's ok.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Some frustrations...

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a 2016 van with 50,000 miles on it. The buying process was actually really cool. Carvana’s service, overall, was also good. I like the concept of Carvana - you get 7 days to test car, can swap up to 3 times, etc. However, there several annoyances related to my purchase:

    1. I realized right after my van was delivered that the rear vents did not blow. The van had to go the shop for two days of my 7-day trial. Thankfully, Carvana did ok handling the warranty process and van was fixed. It’s a little frustrating that their "inspection/certification" process didn’t catch this and makes me wonder the extent to which they actually inspect vehicles.

    2. First time taking my vehicle out of town (an hour drive) it turns out my vans tires need to be balanced. Not a big thing but once again, irritating that I have to go spend money on this as the 100-day warranty does not cover, as far as I understand. I guess I should have taken my van up to 75-80mph before the 7-day period was up...but not sure I would have gone through the hassle of returning/swapping for tire balancing anyway.

    3. Two weeks after my sale is finalized, Carvana has a Black Friday sale where all vehicles are $1,000 off. This is a great sale. One that I would have waited for. So I talk with customer service, ask if there’s anything that can be done (price matching, etc.) seeing as I am within two weeks of purchase. The answer is "no." Now, I understand this - policy is policy. But it’s annoying nonetheless, and many companies would do what they can to create some equity in a situation like this.

    4. My van did not come with mats. At the time of delivery I was made aware of this. I was also told that after my 7-day trial, they would be ordered. When I asked the support person (during the same conversation regarding the $1,000 discount) for an update, found out that they were not ordered. Again, not huge. But very annoying.

    Overall, I would say that the Carvana experience is so-so. Some great aspects and some not so great aspects. My complaints are relatively minor, but as I mentioned, it makes one think if they have business processes in place to catch major issues since they failed to catch some small but noticeable issues. Would I do this again? Not sure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you, Brian, for providing us such a detailed and honest review of your experience with Carvana. We appreciate the kind words about our concept, as we give an honest effort to make buying a car as quick and easy as possible. With that said, we definitely appreciate all levels of feedback. Our inspection process should have caught an issue with your rear A/C unit, an improper balance and lack of floor mats prior to delivery. Your experience following the delivery of your vehicle was well below our expectations, and we sincerely apologize for the time you had to spend alleviating those problems. We are happy to hear we were able to resolve your vehicle claim and thank you for your patience while we worked to resolve your qualms! Lastly, we do apologize for our inability to offer the Black Friday discount due to you being out of the specified promotional range. Since your purchase was finalized more than a week before the beginning of the promotion, we are incapable of making any form of change to your deal. If you have any further questions or need assistance with any concern please reach out to our customer advocate team at (800) 333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 233

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review