Start your review of Dexcom G6:
  • 50 Customer Reviews
  • 0% Recommend This Company
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 90%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Do not rely on Dexcom.

    • By El O.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a very poor opinion about Dexcom. Their inventory is very short. They take in a lot of customers in without the ability to provide supplies. I am waiting for two weeks to get a sensor which battery is expired. They do not care, they only care about how many customers they get. It's an extremely long time to wait to talk with either customer support or technical support. Receiver works poorly, in a sense that sometimes it notifies you about low/high sugar, but in the most cases, it is not. I called them several times about this, they can't fix the receiver. I will try Medtronic to see if they are any better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • To the Dexcom board of directors

    • By Loretta W.,
    • Aurora, CO,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is Monday evening. My Dexcom CGM transmitter is telling me I need to replace my sensor in 3:16:02 hours. It will start setting off alarms periodically, counting down until my CGM quits working because I have no replacement sensors. I dread this and can do nothing about it.

    It's the second time in a row that Dexcom has failed to provide me with sensors when I need them. From now on, each time I reorder, it will be with uncertainty - will Dexcom get it right THIS time?

    I have just filed a formal complaint with Medicare.

    I was so happy when Medicare finally approved the CGM as covered durable medical equipment. Almost immediately upon receiving my kit, it changed my life. Now I can avoid dangerous and unpredictable lows that were causing me to fear being alone or going too far from home. I feel more confident and independent - except when Dexcom fails to provide me with sensors and I am back to guessing insulin dosages off static periodic testing.

    Right from the first, working with Dexcom was confusing. I would get redundant phone calls and emails when I didn't need help and no response or impossibly long waits on the phone when I did need it. Supplies come in elaborate and wasteful packaging way too large for what's inside - clearly no one at Dexcom cares about the environment! Even my billing was a mess - I never got any bills until after I had called and left emails numerous times an finally got my "reorder specialist" (who I didn't even know existed until a month ago) to refer my question to an account specialist.

    My June 4, 2018 order was the first that was messed up. I ordered sensors online in plenty of time. A few days before my sensor ran out I received a large package that contained only a tiny box of test strips. Panicked, I called the next day and dealt with the long wait times, frustrating selection menus, etc. After several calls trying different menu options, I got through to someone who had no explanation for why I didn't have the sensors. She said she'd order some. For three business days. I pointed out I would be running out on Friday. After pressing her, she agreed to have them overnighted. Which didn't happen. So I had to call in a panic again on Friday when my sensor had stopped Thursday night. When I got through to someone, they told me that expediting hadn't happened, oops, so sorry. But they' be here in three business days. It was a weekend when I was alone in my home. I was fearful and uncertain until the sensors finally came late Tuesday. During this, I learned I had a "reorder specialist" and chose to reorder by phone, since online ordering had been unreliable.

    I had five weeks worth of sensors. I used the last one last Monday. The previous week my "reorder specialist" had called me and confirmed I needed more sensors and he would put in the order. I realized on Thursday that they hadn't come. Panicked again. I called JOEL (the "ro") on Friday. Oh, quality control stopped the order because they needed an update from my doctor. Why didn't anyone contact me? Well, it's not his job. I then called my doctor's office. They assured me that no one from Dexcom had contacted them about my order. I called Joel back. Well, he told me, Dexcom HAD called and then they called again today, but no one answered. That's nonsense, I told him. This is a large University of Colorado Hospital Endocrinology clinic and they answer their phone. After pressuring him, he agreed to have them called again and said he'd let me know the result. Of course, I heard nothing. So I called him and he told me that yes, Dexcom was now going to ship me the sensors. But I need them Monday. Well, too bad, it's three business days and the orders have come down from management that there will be no expediting without the patient paying for it. (Which Medicare has told me since is wrong if the error is on the part of the supplier.)

    So now my transmitter is counting down until soon it will be of no use to me for several days. The person I talked to at Medicare called this "unprofessional" on Dexcom's part. She wanted to provide me with another supplier, but of course, there IS no other supplier.

    Which, I suppose, is Dexcom's reason for being so polite but indifferent to the needs of its clients. I see that Dexcom has a D- rating from the Better Business Burea. I also see that there are many negative reviews of Dexcom on any relevant consumer site.

    Those who are on the Board of Directors should have some idea of how business works. Right now you have the best CGM on the market and exclusive access to Medicare participants. How long will that last? You must know that we who use your CGM feel zero customer loyalty due to our treatment at your hands. The minute somebody else builds a better mousetrap, we mice will be heading to that new piece of cheese. Do your stockholders know this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dexcom's awful customer service

    • By Allison A.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I would not recommend Dexcom ever! I had a terrible experience getting incorrect information from their customer service group. I was told my Tandem t-slim would work with their G5 and it does not.

    I think they're desperate to get the consumer into a new device and technology so eventually, we'll all be on the G6 and forced to change our sites every 10 days.

    I also find that the shared technology doesn't always work, even when devices and cell phone are inches apart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst experience ever

    • By RK B.,
    • Maryland,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I’m having a hard time getting my supply. I really want to know if there is another company which makes or sell a similar product. They are inhuman people who choose to gamble over people’s health.

    I tried to get a transmitter two weeks ago. On my call with a customer service representative, I was told the availability of G6, and I was eligible to upgrade to G6. I told him I had only a week battery life on my G5. He said I would be ok, and the only thing they needed was a new prescription from my doctor. He said he would get it the next day. I agreed.

    I had waited for a week, but they hadn’t sent it. I called Dexcom again to check the status. A customer representative by the name of Andrew told me nothing happened on the order. He added that no one made a request for the prescription. Finally, he assured me he would expedite the process. I asked him if there was anything I could do from my side. He told me to call my doctor's office to have them send the prescription to Dexcom directly to expedite the process. I called my doctor’s office to provide the required doc. The next day I got an email from Dexcom saying they were in the process to get the referral from the doctor’s office.

    I called Dexcom on 06/20/2018 to check the status. After a long hold, I had got a chance to talk to a customer representative named Hector (102271). I told him what I was told in the last two calls, and asked for the status. He put me on hold for more than 13 minutes to tell me they had got the referral but the supply (G6) required a 30 days sugar reading (log sheet). I asked why I was not told in my first two calls. I also added I had always used the continues glucose monitoring (CGM) and uploaded my readings on Dexcom clarity. I also stated the question should have been to check if I use Dexcom clarity. Because it is super easy to upload the reading. He insisted they wanted 30-day logs. I asked to talk to a supervisor, but he told me I would be told the same thing, and didn’t want to transfer me to a supervisor.

    Then I gave up on the G6 and I asked for G5. He said that was easy for him to process it. He said I would be staying on the G5 until December 2018 which is six months. I told him how badly I wanted it because my commute is long, and managing my sugar is a very critical thing for me. I use the transmitter to better control my sugar for safety too. I do not get the product for free. I paid a lot of money through my insurance, but still, it is very hard to get it on time. It is a critical medical supply, not a luxury product. They should meet customer expectation 100% because their line of business is health care, and it needs maximum attention and follow-up.

    I haven’t received it yet! It has been two weeks, and counting.

    For anyone out there, do you know any other company which sells a similar product? If you do, please let me know. I am seriously considering to switch.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Failed customer service and client communication

    • By Jeffrey Lang,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    While Dexcom continuous glucose monitoring devices work well as advertised, the company fails miserably at timely and accurate customer service and delivery.

    After making timely shipments of scheduled disposable Dexcom sensors and transmitters, and despite having an unexpired physicians prescription on file and acknowledge by Dexcom as being current, Dexcom accepted an order for replacement transmitters promising immediate shipment, then failed to deliver as promised. No notice as to any exception was communicated by Dexcom as to any problem with the order.

    Upon contacting Dexcom Customer Service directly, I was told that the order was on hold "pending review." When I asked what was being reviewed, and why was I not notified of any issue, the response was that something was amiss with my previously acknowledged, verified prescription against which Dexcom had made multiple shipments without issue, was now being questioned.

    On my third follow up call with Customer Service, I was notified that Dexcom required a new prescription. I immediately contacted my physician, and the requested new prescription was delivered via fax as prescribed by Dexcom to Dexcom. Upon my fourth contact with Customer Service, I notified Customer Service of the prescription delivery, and was told that prescriptions were reviewed manually before being entered to their "system," and this process could take up to 48 hours. I then notified Dexcom Customer Service for the third time that their delay in order processing and failure to notify their customer (me) had resulted in my being without the use of my Dexcom glucose monitor for almost one week.

    Here is what I suspect is the truth. Dexcom is now in the process of transitioning to a new "G6" device, and they failed to properly forecast demand for G5 device replacements during the transition phase of the new product release (which will replace the G5). Rather than clearly communicate this to Dexcom customers, they are playing games with delayed delivery scripted replies. Even if my supposition is not completely true, the actions taken by Dexcom in their failure to provide timely service and communication to their dependent client is unforgivable. CGM devices are health monitoring, and in fact, life-protecting devices. Failing to provide timely delivery and/or services threatens the well being of Dexcom patients/customers.

    There are other equal or superior CGM devices available, and I will certainly explore these alternatives as a replacement for the devices offered by Dexcom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • G5 app warning

    • By Egh43,
    • Virginia,
    • Apr 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Warning! The Dexcom G5 mobile app does not adhere to your phone setting sound/volume choice. If you set your volume to a given level, set the phone to vibrate or set the phone to mute, the app still continues to sound an alert at the loudest volume level your phone has. Besides being an issue during a wedding, funeral, meeting, and so on, it also sounds while you are in a phone conversation. I had the phone next to my ear when it alarmed. The sound was so piercing that I had ringing and diminished hearing in my ear for several hours afterward. I have contacted Dexcom (including upper management) several times but have not received any response back from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 45-50 of 50

Write a Review for Dexcom G6!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Dexcom G6