About Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt

If you recently saw an advertisement or watched an infomercial for Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt, you’re probably wondering if the traction it provides really can help treat your chronic, acute back pain. And if so, does Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt really make the process as easy as it claims?

To put the claims of Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt to the test, and to find out if it’s worth your hard-earned money, we did some in-depth research, and here’s what we found out.

How Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt Claims to Work

Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt, also known as the HoPhysio Belt, is a 2-in-1 decompression belt that claims to provide gentle clinical-grade traction and decompression therapy (hence the “2-in-1” designation), which is claimed to provide relief from chronic, acute back pain resulting from degenerative, herniated, or bulging discs. In fact, the product’s website claims that this technology has been endorsed by medical professionals for use on patients with upper and lower back pain, which is something we’ll discuss more in the Bottom Line section.

In addition, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt is also claimed to provide other benefits, such as:

  • Keeps weight off your lower back
  • Stabilizes your lower back and improves posture
  • Strengthens your back and core
  • Stretches lower back muscles
  • Relieves stiffness

After placing Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt around your waist, you’ll then need to attach the pump and inflate. Once this occurs, the product’s website claims that the belt will expand vertically, which tractions your lower back while decompressing spinal discs and relaxing the muscles surrounding them. As such, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt claims to help you reduce your visits to the doctor, as well as to avoid surgery and overdependence on pain medications.

For the first week, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt should be used 3-4 times per day, for 20-30 minutes each session, which can be increased if necessary thereafter. The product’s website claims that it can also be worn under your clothes, which is claimed to allow it to relieve pain wherever you are (including in bed), while also giving you the ability to be more active.

Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt is claimed to be safe for use by anyone, regardless of age or size, although you should always consult with your physician beforehand.

Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt Pricing & Refund Policy

Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt is priced at $179.96, and while it appears that standard shipping is free, this couldn’t be confirmed since a total isn’t provided on the checkout page. However, rush shipping will cost you an additional $34.99.

You can also purchase packages such as:

  • Deluxe Package: $209.94 – Includes DR-HO'S Neck Comforter, Spinal Secrets DVD, and "Relief" Book by Dr. Michael Ho.
  • Ultimate Package: $304.94 – Includes everything found in the Deluxe Package, in addition to DR-HO'S Neck & Shoulder Shiatsu Massager, and Bonus Car Adapter for Shiatsu Massager.

Regardless of which package you choose, Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt is available in 2 sizes:

  • Size A for 25”-41” waists
  • Size B for 42”-55” waists

Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges, as well as a 90-day warranty. In order to initiate the refund process or to file a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-374-6669.

Keep in mind that during our research, we also found Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt for sale on Amazon.com, Newegg.com, and several other online retailers for as little as $95.

Important note: Since Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt is considered a medical device, you may want to check with your insurance provider to see if they provide coverage for “lumbar support belts.”

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt?

Overall, it appears that Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt has mixed online reviews, which tend to lean toward the negative side. Some of the most common complaints we encountered included that it is bulky, uncomfortable, and hot (see more about this in the Bottom Line section), and that it doesn’t provide results. Specifically, many customers stated that if the belt did provide any results, pain reappeared soon after taking it off. In fact, many of these same customers stated that it doesn’t provide any more support or pain-relief than elastic belts, which are much less expensive.

It should also be noted that learning the truth about other customers’ experiences with Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt can be a time-consuming process, since you’ll encounter numerous affiliate websites during your research.

What’s the Bottom Line About Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt?

Now that we’ve outlined all the details surrounding Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt, let’s get to the bottom line: Is it worth your hard-earned money? As with most devices of this type, the answer is that it depends. Here’s why:

First, decompression for back pain, whether applied at home or in a doctor’s office, has not been conclusively shown to work. This is because, as with any other treatment, the relief it provides is highly dependent on a number of factors, including what’s causing your back pain, where the injury occurred, how long you’ve had the injury, etc.

To support this, according to this article, “the benefit of [spinal decompression] treatments is not established.” However, the British Medical Journal took it one step further in 2004 when they published that, “Routine physiotherapy seemed to be no more effective than one session of assessment and advice from a physiotherapist.” As you can see, while the Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt website claims that its technology is endorsed by medical professionals, this doesn’t mean that it’s been proven to work, and you may not experience any pain relief from using it.

Finally, keep in mind that, according to the product’s FAQ, it must be worn over a layer of light clothing. This means that if you venture out into public with it on, you’ll likely want to wear another piece of clothing to conceal it, which could be problematic during the hotter months of the year. The FAQ also notes that you’ll receive faster and more pronounced results if you wear the belt while laying down, which means that if you’re expecting to receive good results while going about your day, you may be disappointed.

Bottom line: If you’re desperate for non-surgical, non-drug relief from your lower back pain, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt may provide you with relief. However, based on the numerous negative customer reviews we read, it’s really a flip of the coin as to whether or not it will effectively work. Instead, you might first try a much less expensive elastic belt and go from there.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

28 Consumer Reviews for Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • It helps me

    • Green Bay, WI,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical, but when you are in tears and falling due to a lower back condition, what the heck. The belt has helped me tremendously. I am 71 years old, and have a couple of part-time jobs that I am confident I can now do. You have to do it daily and do some of the exercises too, but it works for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Venice, FL,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After calling them and getting set up, I received a call from Victor yesterday (2/8) stating my doctor did not give the ok for the belt. This is 5 weeks after I did all the paperwork with them.

    I called my doctor's office the day they told me to do so telling them to look out for a fax for my doctor to approve. Once again this was 5 weeks ago, and they said no problem, so why Dr. Ho’s office waited so long to get back to me is unknown.

    There is no way my family doctor would have turned the belt request down without calling me first. All I can say is the service is not very good.

    I was okayed by Dr. Ho’s office that my health insurance would cover the belt purchase early January.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    On the fence

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The very first time I used the belt I wore it upside down (the inflation tube positioned on the bottom of the belt on my right). IT HURT! I had to remove it within 2-3 minutes. The next day, I decided to try it again. I actually read the directions and positioned it correctly (with the inflation tube positioned on the top of the belt, my left side). It worked great while I was wearing it but as soon as I took it off the pain returned immediately. Obviously not able to wear it 24/7, but when it is used and used correctly it works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Scam, beware!

    • Albany, NY,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They take your Medicare insurance information then tell you that you're approved for the belt. Then they tell you that you're going to have to talk to another doctor in their network who will contact you at a later date. Keeping in mind they already have your Medicare number, and your personal contact information attached to the number! Even your place of residence...don't do it! PLEASE. I'm contacting BBB...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I love my Dr. Ho belt

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Best yet, and I have tried a lot of things for my back. I injured my lower back in 1990, tried chiropractic, pain medication therapy. Since receiving my belt, I am pain-free. Thanks for making this great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 53 people found this review helpful

    The customer service

    • California,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called three times. The first time I gave all my information to the woman and she'd put it in the computer. The second time was to check on the status, and the supervisor said that they had none of my information at all and asked if I called the same number as before. The last time I called was within the hour, and when the woman answered, I asked to speak to the supervisor because I wasn't going to go through what I had before. After a short hold some woman came on the phone claiming to be the supervisor and asked how I was getting the belt, (insurance, cash or Medicare), I told her that she sounded like the woman that answered the phone and that I'd call back later. Horrible customer service unless you talk to a real supervisor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Sandy Springs, GA,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 86-year-old dementia mother bought this online TWICE. The first time, it was too big for her very small waist. I called to return, it was easy as long as I had the receipt.

    Well, she ordered it AGAIN, completely forgetting the first experience of it not fitting and too cumbersome to manipulate all the belts, pump, etc. Mom thought this guy was a real doctor. He is a DC. I like DC's but not these kind that prey of peoples' pain and make confusing contraptions that elderly can't use.

    This time, I cannot find the receipt...dead in the water. No way to return it. Besides, they charged her Medicare, I am sure the entire amount of $250+! No wonder we can't afford Medicare...because of scammers like this guy.

    BTW, I tried to call the 877 #, the wait was OVER 45 minutes the recording said...probably LOTS of returns!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 59 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Ho's Belt - poor quality

    • Kent Bridge, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this belt some time ago and wore it as required. The smaller belt helped my back pain, but I found that the outside belt should have had a Velcro pad on it to keep it done up. What was on it was unsatisfactory. I then ordered the larger belt but found that was too large. I then found out that the cheap Chinese rubber that was in the bladder leaked and would not hold the pressure. As a result, I now have two belts that are not worth damn! The things lasted just long enough to get them by the warranty period.

    I would not recommend these things to anyone. Just save your money, they are not worth what they are charging!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 61 people found this review helpful

    2 in 1 back relief belt

    • Cardinal, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only relief I got was in my bank account. Save your money. Go and see your doctor...it's cheaper and it "WORKS."

    GOODBYE Dr. Ho Ho Ho. I would not recommend this belt even to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 61 people found this review helpful

    Worst company I've ever dealt with

    • Hazlet, NJ,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just had the worst experience of any company I've ever dealt with! I've had four strokes and a heart attack due to a-fib. I also have back problems and a friend let me try Dr. Ho's back brace. I am on Aetna Medicare Advantage program. I called Aetna first and advised that I needed Dr. Ho's back brace for the traction aspect and they advised me that it was covered, but I would be responsible for 20%, which was fine.

    I called Dr. Ho's number 800-319-4976. They told me that they wouldn't bill Aetna and I would have to pay for it myself, because they said Aetna would not pay for it. I offered to give then Aetna's phone number and that I just got off the phone with them and yes they would pay for it. I gave them my debit card number for the 20% not covered by Aetna, and the women kept trying to charge me more. I can't put out more as I have a cardiologist, neurologist and General Practitioner that all prescribe expensive medicines. She had the audacity to tell me I need the belt even though without my medications I will have another stroke or a heart attack. It didn't matter to her as long as she sold me a back brace. Due to my strokes, I have to record my phone calls. I told her that by the time I was done I had to check my blood pressure and heart rate.

    Apparently, Dr. Ho doesn't prescribe to the Hippocratic Oath but the hypocritic oath. I want and deserve an apology for the way I was treated. I am copying this message and will be sending it on to any other addresses I feel will be pertinent, I will bring the copy of the phone conversation to my doctors and chiropractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Trash

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the belt a few days ago. Placed the belt around my waist. Pumped it up, stood up, and within the usual 60 seconds, the pain was exactly as always. Just another TV scam. A complete waste of my money and time. I tried it in several different positions. No difference.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a Review for Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review