About Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt

If you recently saw an advertisement or watched an infomercial for Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt, you’re probably wondering if the traction it provides really can help treat your chronic, acute back pain. And if so, does Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt really make the process as easy as it claims?

To put the claims of Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt to the test, and to find out if it’s worth your hard-earned money, we did some in-depth research, and here’s what we found out.

How Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt Claims to Work

Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt, also known as the HoPhysio Belt, is a 2-in-1 decompression belt that claims to provide gentle clinical-grade traction and decompression therapy (hence the “2-in-1” designation), which is claimed to provide relief from chronic, acute back pain resulting from degenerative, herniated, or bulging discs. In fact, the product’s website claims that this technology has been endorsed by medical professionals for use on patients with upper and lower back pain, which is something we’ll discuss more in the Bottom Line section.

In addition, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt is also claimed to provide other benefits, such as:

  • Keeps weight off your lower back
  • Stabilizes your lower back and improves posture
  • Strengthens your back and core
  • Stretches lower back muscles
  • Relieves stiffness

After placing Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt around your waist, you’ll then need to attach the pump and inflate. Once this occurs, the product’s website claims that the belt will expand vertically, which tractions your lower back while decompressing spinal discs and relaxing the muscles surrounding them. As such, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt claims to help you reduce your visits to the doctor, as well as to avoid surgery and overdependence on pain medications.      

For the first week, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt should be used 3-4 times per day, for 20-30 minutes each session, which can be increased if necessary thereafter. The product’s website claims that it can also be worn under your clothes, which is claimed to allow it to relieve pain wherever you are (including in bed), while also giving you the ability to be more active.

Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt is claimed to be safe for use by anyone, regardless of age or size, although you should always consult with your physician beforehand.

Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt Pricing & Refund Policy

Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt is priced at $179.96, and while it appears that standard shipping is free, this couldn’t be confirmed since a total isn’t provided on the checkout page. However, rush shipping will cost you an additional $34.99.

You can also purchase packages such as:

  • Deluxe Package: $209.94 – Includes DR-HO'S Neck Comforter, Spinal Secrets DVD, and "Relief" Book by Dr. Michael Ho.
  • Ultimate Package: $304.94 – Includes everything found in the Deluxe Package, in addition to DR-HO'S Neck & Shoulder Shiatsu Massager, and Bonus Car Adapter for Shiatsu Massager.

Regardless of which package you choose, Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt is available in 2 sizes:

  • Size A for 25”-41” waists
  • Size B for 42”-55” waists

Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges, as well as a 90-day warranty. In order to initiate the refund process or to file a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-374-6669.

Keep in mind that during our research, we also found Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt for sale on Amazon.com, Newegg.com, and several other online retailers for as little as $95.

Important note: Since Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt is considered a medical device, you may want to check with your insurance provider to see if they provide coverage for “lumbar support belts.”

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt?

Overall, it appears that Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt has mixed online reviews, which tend to lean toward the negative side. Some of the most common complaints we encountered included that it is bulky, uncomfortable, and hot (see more about this in the Bottom Line section), and that it doesn’t provide results. Specifically, many customers stated that if the belt did provide any results, pain reappeared soon after taking it off. In fact, many of these same customers stated that it doesn’t provide any more support or pain-relief than elastic belts, which are much less expensive.

It should also be noted that learning the truth about other customers’ experiences with Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt can be a time-consuming process, since you’ll encounter numerous affiliate websites during your research.

What’s the Bottom Line About Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt?

Now that we’ve outlined all the details surrounding Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt, let’s get to the bottom line: Is it worth your hard-earned money? As with most devices of this type, the answer is that it depends. Here’s why:

First, decompression for back pain, whether applied at home or in a doctor’s office, has not been conclusively shown to work. This is because, as with any other treatment, the relief it provides is highly dependent on a number of factors, including what’s causing your back pain, where the injury occurred, how long you’ve had the injury, etc.

To support this, according to this article, “the benefit of [spinal decompression] treatments is not established.” However, the British Medical Journal took it one step further in 2004 when they published that, “Routine physiotherapy seemed to be no more effective than one session of assessment and advice from a physiotherapist.” As you can see, while the Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt website claims that its technology is endorsed by medical professionals, this doesn’t mean that it’s been proven to work, and you may not experience any pain relief from using it.

On this note, if you’re looking for a detailed analysis of Dr. Ho’s Compression Belt, as well as many clinical studies performed using similar technology, a thorough evaluation can be found here.

Finally, keep in mind that, according to the product’s FAQ, it must be worn over a layer of light clothing. This means that if you venture out into public with it on, you’ll likely want to wear another piece of clothing to conceal it, which could be problematic during the hotter months of the year. The FAQ also notes that you’ll receive faster and more pronounced results if you wear the belt while laying down, which means that if you’re expecting to receive good results while going about your day, you may be disappointed.

Bottom line: If you’re desperate for non-surgical, non-drug relief from your lower back pain, Dr. Ho’s Decompression Belt may provide you with relief. However, based on the numerous negative customer reviews we read, it’s really a flip of the coin as to whether or not it will effectively work. Instead, you might first try a much less expensive elastic belt and go from there.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 58 out 62 people found this review helpful

    A $1703.13 rip off

    • Woodward, IA,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was told Medicare would pay for the belt. They never said it cost $1703.13. They did say I might have to pay $200.00, like that was the cost of the belt. They said they knew how to bill Medicare so it would be paid. I didn't need to worry.

    I tried it twice, it caused more pain, I waited a couple of days after the first try before I tried it again, but got the same result. I hurt! I called got a return number and sent it right back. They are still trying to bill Medicare and my secondary insurance for $1703.13. Had I kept it, I would have to pay for that!

    Don't fall for this scam! It doesn't work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Did it work

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I say no, it caused more pain than doing nothing did. I used the belt with the solid shell board that the belt attaches to. And in less than 10 minutes, I was done. It did nothing good, so I gave it to Goodwill. Sorry, but your product sucks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Best thing that ever happened to me!

    • Clinton, MS,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a herniated disc and a slipped lumbar 4-5. I saw a surgeon that told me I needed to have a front and back spinal fusion. I saw the infomercial on TV and was convinced this could help me. My pain was from 0 to 10. A 10+++++ going down my left leg causing foot drop.

    I received the Dr. Ho’s belt, slept with it on and wore it 24/7. Inflating it 3 times a day for 60 minutes. The first day I did this, I went to a pain level of 0! I went to a follow-up visit a week later with my Neurosurgeon, told him I’m pain-free, showed it to him, and he said this belt is the best thing he’s ever seen because the traction concept is right on! I told him I’m not having surgery when I’m totally pain-free. He then told me to go out the back door and do not tell any of his patients about this belt or he’d go bankrupt. LOL.

    That was 6 months ago. I am now only wearing it as needed because my back doesn’t hurt except when I’ve had a very busy day working as an RN in surgery. Thank you, Dr. Ho, for saving my life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 29 people found this review helpful

    It really works!

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a knock-off of this belt on affiliation three weeks ago for $39.00 with shipping included. I have had severe back issues for almost 30 years. I've had pain pills, physical therapy and almost went for surgery. Out of desperation, I bought the belt and was amazed. The first time I used it the pain went away in 10 minutes. I now use it every morning for about 1 hour. The one problem I've experienced with it is, it makes your back sweaty and itchy if worn too long, but that's a small price to pay for back pain relief. Please know, I am not being paid for this review, and have no affiliation with this company. My honest opinion for this product is it really works! Hopefully, anyone who tries it will get as much relief as I have.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Never received

    • Lousiana,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and paid for this, but did not get the belt. I cannot get them to answer me at all. Where is my belt or money? I ordered and paid for it on eBay, but I did not get my order. I tried to get an answer but cannot get them to answer me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2018

      Helen S.

      Ordering from eBay was your mistake. I've known several people who canceled their eBay accounts due to not receiving items they ordered. If and when you want to order such items, I'd suggest paying a little more and ordering directly from that site.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 76 out 78 people found this review helpful

    Not good!

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered the belt. It came with someone else's name and invoice on it so I called customer service. Since I ordered it via Medicare, I got the runaround. It took a total of eight back and forth phone calls before they finally sent us a return label for the mix-up. We tried the new belt, and it still didn't work. Six more calls and I finally decided that the deplorable customer service between the people in Canada and Georgia (the heavy accents leads me to believe the Georgia people are just a relay from another country), the conclusion is their customer service reps are the worst. You can find via a scripted service with little training. The belt is a good product but not to be used for true back ailments! Save your money and get a consult from a local physician it's free, and would probably last longer and be better for you in the long run! Find something else to throw your money at, this isn't it. No golden relief here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 99 out 103 people found this review helpful

    The return policy

    • Kingston, PA,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The return policy is a lie. When you call to order the belt. everyone understands you just fine, but when you have a problem with the belt, as I did, no one understands you. They keep switching you from one person to another having you hold on up to and more than a half hour. My belt was the wrong size and they’ve said they’d send me another about 3-4 times and it’s been about a year and I still have not received it yet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 172 out 183 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Livingston, SC,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is literally a floatation device and does nothing for back pain. I said what I had to say and that's it, it's garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 230 out 233 people found this review helpful

    Medicaid ripoff benefits

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchase the Dr. Ho's Compression Belt on TV and I went through my Medicaid because they told me that I qualify for the benefit. They billed Medicaid $1997, Medicaid paid $888, and now they're going to bill me $226. And the belt only cost $199 on TV. Be very, very careful if you are on Medicaid. They are trying everything they could to rip you off. The belt does not work at all. I'm returning the belt, and they better refund the money back to Medicaid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 23, 2018

      David W.

      I would buy it out right. I know when I paid a fortune for spinal decompression, it helped while I was hooked up on it, but once I was done, the pain came back. The way I look at it is, if I can wear it almost all the time and I don’t need the meds and reduce my pain it would be worth it! I will keep people posted up to date on I view it!

    • Sep 27, 2018

      Laurie S.

      I would just like to hear from Medicare subscribers what the balance was after Medicare paid?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 119 out 154 people found this review helpful

    I think it works.

    • Ville Platte, LA,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an octogenarian with a long history of back problems. I have tried chiropractors, acupressure, BENGAY, Capzasin, exercises, bed rest, Advil, massage, and back braces. They all help.

    I particularly like this brace. I have had it for about one month. Whether my back is hurting or not, I put it on and pump it up for about an hour every day and wear it while I am walking around, at the computer, etc., then let the air out and either leave it on for several hours or take it off immediately. Yesterday I left it on for 6 hours while on the tractor bush hogging and my back felt fine afterward. When on the tractor or taking long trips, I wear it outside my clothes because I cannot button my trousers over it.

    The video that comes with it demonstrates about 10 different back exercises. I tried them once, and they really work, but I am too lazy to stick with them. So far I like this better than any remedy I have tried.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 374 out 391 people found this review helpful

    Hoax

    • Shoreline, WA,
    • Sep 14, 2015

    I called them in June and was told by the rep that it was to be covered by Medicare if I get a prescription from the doctor. I received the belt and it was defective. I contacted SMS, the company that sent it. They said they would mail me the label so that it could be sent back (waited two weeks) and was sent back.

    Then I received a bill from SMS for the balance of the cost showing the belt was paid by Medicare for $1,295.00 and I was shocked since the ultimate package on the web costs only $304.94, that's quite a big difference! I contacted SMS and requested it be canceled but was told the replacement was sent 8/25 along with a return label.

    I called them on 9/8 asking why I did not receive and to stop the delivery. I was treated so rudely and with such disrespect. They said that the belt would be delivered by UPS 9/9 and to refuse it. This has been the most horrible buying experience ever from beginning to end!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2017

      Phillip L.

      You need to report Dr. Ho to Medicare about this Medicare fraud. It's against the law to charge more to Medicare than what it normally sells for. Fraud happens when you overcharge Medicare even if they will pay more for it.

    • Nov 27, 2018

      M H.

      This is a complete waste of time. I'm a large person for one. The sizes fit for people up to a 2x or a smaller 3x sized person. The customer service personnel claim that the sizes go up to a 7x, but when I asked the inches the rep said it was 53 inches long. Well, 53 inches is and definitely will not work for persons that may need that 7x size, 53 inches is a 2x or as said a smaller side of 3x. So don't by it if you're larger than a 2x, to be on the safe side. It is uncomfortable and bulky and itchy, but does it work? When it's on and pumped while being extremely painful at first because of the amount of traction that must be used to relieve your pain.

      FYI, this brace is mainly for persons with sciatica pain or at most a bulging disc, and in persons with less than three years of pain, within these two conditions. They most definitely are overcharging Medicare. They are sending bills to Medicare for $1299.00 with sometimes that copays of $200. Beware. If you want to honestly try this best, the same one is available on Amazon for less than $100.

      Don't be scammed by Dr. Ho.. his name should be doc hoax. I bet he is not even a medical doctor. He's probably a chiropractor. While some chiropractors help many of their customers and some are way better than others claim to be. Beware of these people that try to offer false hopes of pain relief. Beware of Medicare greatly overcharging people and possible copays. Beware, elderly persons who just want some relief. The customer service reps are trained to keep repeating the advantages to relief in these elderly customers who get talked into these things after they often say "it's not cost to you." That's wrong, so wrong!

      Just beware of As Seen on TV items because more than likely you will see those items at Walmart or Big Lots within that same year for a whopping price of $9.99 to $39.99. Listen to your first instinct, it's usually correct. I was always told too, with either my first instinct or my initial reaction, it usually steers you in the correct direction. Don't let anyone talk you into something from cold calling, which is what they are all doing. They get your name from any business you work with on the internet or even just on your phone. It seems unbelievable, but oh how it's very true. Be careful all, and have a safe and happy holiday and life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Dr. Ho's Decompression Belt!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review