Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

Overall Rating

4.4

371 Customer Reviews

Summary

The formula found in Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus combines two billion CFU of four beneficial bacteria strains with enzymes and other ingredients that could help improve your dog’s health.

Write a Review

Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 14, 2020

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients which allegedly delivers a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

The company states that this supplement may improve digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

To use, put one scoop of ProPower Plus’s powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, the company promises that your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. In this review, we will help you understand how ProPower Plus works and if it is the right option for your four-legged friend.

Analysis of Ingredients

The company indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain, Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®), Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis/longum, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

We did not find any clinical support indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, and they and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Safety

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of serious side effects.

Mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

It’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

Pricing

ProPower Plus supplement is priced at:

  • 1 jar: $69.95
  • 3 jars: $188.85 ($62.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $356.70 ($59.45 per jar)

The company offers free shipping and a 90-day money-back guarantee, less the cost of return shipping.

Popular Alternatives to ProPower Plus

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach the gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here how ProPower Plus compares to some of the top-rated options on Amazon:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

Dogs can be picky eaters, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewable, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

The Bottom Line

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food delivers enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet – including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

American Kennel Club (AKC) states that canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 371 Reviews
5 Star:60% 4 Star:28% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:5%
91% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Dr. Marty ProPower Plus:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 19, 2022

Cured "Chronic Skin Condition"

By Frances P., Norwich, CT, Verified Reviewer

After using Dr. Marty ProPower Plus for two weeks my dog's skin was completely clear of any irritation. My dog had been suffering from a skin irritation that was like the worst case of psoriasis possible. Sometimes the sores would even bleed. This had been going on for TWO YEARS. I used a special shampoo that helped soothe her, but nothing was clearing her skin completely until I used ProPower Plus.

When I told my vet I was using ProPower Plus and my dog's "chronic skin condition" was now completely clear, she said she has been hearing wonderful things about Dr. Marty's products.

Thank you Dr. Marty for such a wonderful product and Lady thanks you too!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It works wonders

Easy to use

Reasonably priced

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 16, 2021

Itching and rashes have gotten worse!

By Stephanie Renee M., Santa Clarita, CA, Verified Reviewer

I've been giving my two 5-year-old chihuahua mixes ProPowder Plus for about 5 months now, hoping it would alleviate allergies and itching, but it has only gotten worse! I make sure to measure out the doses daily as recommended per each of their weight, and split it into half in the morning and half at night. My dogs get overall redness on their tummies and hot spots that are raw and itchy since I've started this product.

I'm not sure what is going on, but it's extremely disappointing, not to mention concerning. I don't want my dogs to suffer and I thought this was going to help.

Another odd symptom I've noticed is that they both seem to secrete the white powder from their skin! After I brush them daily with my black wire comb brush, it's covered in the white residue and feels gritty. I feel like if this is in their fur and on their bedding, could it be what is irritating them so much?

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They were willing to still eat the food

Bizarre and concerning side-effects

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Dec 16, 2021

Hello Stephanie. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I'm sorry to hear about your pup's reaction. While our formula can help many pets, we understand it is not for all pets. For this reason, we stand behind our 90-day money-back guarantee. As always, we recommend consulting with your vet to see if this supplement is a good option for your pet. I have escalated your review to our Customer Relations team, so that an agent can provide you with personalized care. If you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to email me at Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 26, 2021

Unbelievable

By Melody M., Saylorsburg, PA, Verified Reviewer

Received the product, the jar is half full. For the extremely high price it should at least be filled to the top. You’d be lucky if it lasts 2 weeks.

Total and absolute rip-off for the amount received.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy use

Came with scoop

Apparently good for dogs

Amount in jar is very little

Price is extremely high for amount in jar

Crazy expensive

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Dec 9, 2021

Hello Melody. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. I completely understand your concern with the amount of product being less than you expected. Due to the nature of the powdered supplement, the contents may have shifted during transit which releases excess air and compacts the product in each jar. The size of the jar is kept larger to prevent spillage and overfilling during the manufacturing process. I can assure you, however, that our products are filled by weight and each jar will have 30 full servings as labeled. If you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I would be happy to assist you. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2021

Don’t waste your money

By Jennifer C., Texas, Verified Reviewer

My dog wants nothing to do with it and won’t eat her food when the product is added. When I contacted customer service they explained there is no smell to the product or taste, I’ll take his word, explaining how to portion, that it may take time for the dog to accept. I know my dog. She doesn’t want it today and she won’t want it days ahead.

If you want to return you are responsible for the shipping cost and in order to get the refund the company will review the item once they receive it to get the refund. So if it’s not to their liking I may or may not get a refund. I guess that’s the small print on the 90-day refund.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Sep 16, 2021

Hello Jennifer. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to hear that your pup did not enjoy our formula. While many of our customers enjoy or formula, we do understand that it may not be for all pets. For this reason we do stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. As it is an industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund. Once returned, our returns department inspects the package to ensure all jars or bags were returned. Once inspected, refunds will be processed accordingly. I apologize for any confusion. If you ever have and questions, please do not hesitate to reach out. My email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 27, 2021

It may be a good product

By Leslie G., Coventry, RI, Verified Reviewer

As I see the difference in my pet and it is true there are many positives, but he also had diarrhea and I'm not sure if it's because of the ProPower or something else. So that's the only problem, when there is a problem you won't know the culprit.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2021

Portion bad but the little product you get is good

By Patty G. , Millville, NJ

So so disappointed that my jar WAS MAYBE 1/4 full! Not a happy customer! Want to reorder but don't want to get ripped off again! Another lady here said 1/3 full. How horrible to not fill jars and charge for air!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Stopped her breath from smelling bad

Jar only maybe 1/4 full...disappointed

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2021

Energy boost and new vitality for 14-year-old

By Steve L., California, Verified Reviewer

Our neighbor initially gave us a jar of ProPower Plus citing how it keeps her 17-year-old pup active and healthy. We were amazed at how quickly and positively it worked on our 14-year-old Queensland Healer/American Bull mix. Where she used to be what you might expect from a 14-year-old dog, ProPower Plus gave her new energy and character after the first jar! She started playing with her toys again and even gave her new-found energy on her walks around the neighborhood and open space! We're sure it re-awakened the puppy in her and we're very amazed at how it has increased her quality of life, even at 14 years old! Thank you Dr. Marty for ProPower Plus!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

New-found energy in our 14-year-old

Dogs love the added taste to their meals

Simple to add to existing food

Wish there was more in every jar

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2021

High price but little product

By Celia M., Wharton, TX, Verified Reviewer

I just wanted to comment on the amount of product inside the container of ProPower Plus. After I removed the seal and opened the container I saw that only a third of the container was filled. How disappointing.

I am a first-time customer and I had high hopes that this probiotic would help my dog but, even if it does, I will not be buying it again due to the small amount inside the container.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jan 20, 2021

Hi Celia, this is Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here! I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with this product. Just a reminder that if you are not 100% satisfied with your experience using this product, we always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee! Please feel free to email me directly at kat@drmartypets.com for more information on this!

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Very disappointed

By Madelaine S., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

Ordered this for my daughter's 3-year-old Golden Retriever. Since starting it, he has had explosive diarrhea and watery poops. He seems quite ill from it. He also seems very anxious. I bought 3 jars and wished I hadn’t. Very, very disappointed!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jan 8, 2021

Hello Madelaine, this is Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to read about your dog’s reactions to our ProPower Plus. We understand that every pet is different and that our supplements are not fit for every furry friend, which is why we always recommend consulting your veterinarian to ensure that our supplements are the right fit for your pet. We always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me directly at kat@drmartypets.com for more information on this!

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

Need to reorder!

By Alice B., Aurora, CO, Verified Reviewer

I stopped ProPower Plus to try a different product by Dr. Marty. My dog did not do well on the new product and finally refused to eat it. Dr. Marty returned my money for that product and I need to reorder ProPower Plus to get my dog back to his healthy and energetic self.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Improved movements and general attitude of my dog

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

Diarrhea

By Debbie L., Enid, OK, Verified Reviewer

We gave the ProPower Plus to two of our dogs. They ate it for 2 days and seemed to like it. Then on day 3 one started having diarrhea, ending up in the vet's office after hours. We got home with that dog to find the other dog having the same problem. We are still trying to stop the diarrhea today. I'm sure the additive is good but our dogs reacted negatively.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The dogs like the flavor

Diarrhea

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Oct 2, 2020

Hello Debbie. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to read about your dog’s reactions to our ProPower Plus. This is not a common issue and we would like more information on your situation. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that our team may investigate this right away. We advise you to please follow the recommendations from your veterinarian. I wish you and your family a wonderful day and I will be awaiting your response.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 371

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.