About FabFitFun

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 25, 2017

Do you love discovering new products and the promise of a great deal? With FabFitFun, you can receive a present-like box chock-full of beauty, fashion, and lifestyle goodies delivered four times a year.

That’s the promise behind FabFitFun’s urge to “Subscribe to happy!” This subscription box service offers seasonal deliveries of full-size beauty, wellness, fashion, and lifestyle products right to your door at the start of each season.

What’s a Subscription Box Service?

Like FabFitFun, subscription boxes have been all the rage over the past few years. If you’re unfamiliar with what these are, here’s the scoop:

  • They’re physical packages. Subscription boxes are actual, mailed deliveries that are sent out at regular intervals—this can be monthly, seasonally, or bi-annually.
  • They’re generally tailored to a niche interest. For example, BarkBox sends toys and treats to dog owners, BitsBox sends out monthly coding projects for kids, and Conscious Box claims to make healthy living easier to achieve.
  • The contents are almost always a mystery. What’s inside your subscription box will be within a general category, but the individual items aren’t known until you receive the box. (More on this shortly.)
  • They usually use recurring billing. Because the point of subscription boxes is to receive regular deliveries, most of them require that you accept automatic charges.

What’s Special About FabFitFun?

FabFitFun offers subscribers an eclectic mix of beauty, fashion, and fitness products. Boxes are sent out seasonally (every three months), which is less often than other beauty and fashion related boxes.

However, FabFitFun gives good reason for the wait — here’s what the company claims makes their subscription box service stand out:

  • Boxes are specially curated for the season. For example, according to CBS News, “the 2016 Fall Box included 11 items. The products ranged from a $35 ModCloth scarf — a large plaid scarf billed as perfect for cold weather or keeping warm while traveling over the holidays — to a $50 eyeshadow palette from Pure Cosmetics.”
  • FabFitFun items are always full size. Unlike other subscription box services that send boxes of trial size items, FabFitFun sends you regular-sized products, from makeup palettes to shampoo/ conditioner sets and more.
  • Boxes claim to be worth at least $200. FabFitFun states that the total value of every box is at least $200 worth of products and items — which means they’re worth four times what they cost members. Plus, they claim that all the brands picked to be included are top-rated by consumers.
  • Instructions are included. Each FabFitFun delivery comes with a mini-magazine that explains the contents in detail, from application tips to different ways to wear that aforementioned scarf.

Again, it’s important to remember one unique element of subscription boxes, whether you’re selecting FabFitFun or another company: Subscription box companies don’t tell you what’s inside before they send it’s out.

While what you get is a surprise, you can glean some information on what to expect by looking at past boxes.

Additionally, because FabFitFun sends out one box per season, you can always wait to order until after the initial rounds of boxes are sent out and items have been reviewed. More on this soon. But, just remember, there’s no way to know what’s in the next season’s box when signing up.

A Look At Previous FabFitFun Boxes: What's Inside?

What’s the best way to tell if you’ll enjoy a FabFitFun membership? Just take a look at what YouTuber Dizzy V reported was inside their Fall 2016 box:

  1. ModCloth Loch and Key Blanket Scarf – Value $34.99
  2. The Created Co. To-Go Coffee Mug – Value $19
  3. Pure Cosmetics Nude Collection – Value $50
  4. Spongelle Bulgarian Rose Body Wash Infused Buffer – Value $16
  5. Mullein & Sparrow French Lavender Body Oil – Value $18
  6. Skin Laundry Restoring Night Serum – Value $50
  7. The BrowGal Brow Gel – Value $20
  8. Toesox Toeless Fitness Socks – Value $17
  9. FabFitFun Coloring Book + Pencils – Value $16
  10. Cottonelle Fresh Care Wipes – (42 Count)
  11. Secret Outlast Xtend Clear Gel Completely Clean Deodorant – .5 oz

As you can see, the FabFitFun box contents really span a variety of accessories, beauty products and lifestyle items. Out of the 11 items, our total tally for each category is:

  • Four clothing and accessories (scarf, mug, socks, coloring book).
  • Two cosmetics (eyeshadow palette and brow gel).
  • Five personal grooming products (body wash buffer, body oil, night serum, face wipes, and deodorant).

FabFitFun states that the total value of this box is $241. The question for prospective customers would be: Are the contents of this box worth $50 to you? We’ll help you answer that question shortly.

How Do You Order FabFitFun?

While FabFitFun boxes are uniquely tailored for the season that they ship out for, there isn’t a way to choose between selections to fit your preferences.

Something else that we found a little confusing when researching reviews: Boxes are given names, such as the Editor Box or the Welcome Box — which we initially thought were different choices, but that turns out not to be the case.

With the understanding that FabFitFun offers one box a season, the next question we had was: What’s the cut-off date to sign up for a specific one?

FabFitFun customer service was very helpful, and informed us that, to ensure you get a specific season’s box, you’d need to sign up before that season’s billing date:

  • Spring box deadline is March
  • Summer box deadline is June
  • Fall box deadline is September
  • Winter box deadline is December

When signing up for FabFitFun, which box you get depends on the date. At the time of writing, (January 2017), they’re still shipping out winter boxes (called the Editor box). Whether or not someone who signed up today or tomorrow gets that specific shipment or must wait until the spring box release depends on how many they have left.

This means that, unlike many other subscription box services, astute shoppers can actually wait until a boxes release to read reviews of them online before ordering. This gives you a chance to decide if you have to have it, or would rather pass.

» Related: The Best Beauty Box Subscription Services for 2019

FabFitFun Pricing and Shipping

FabFitFun offers two ways to order. If you’d like to pay as you go, you can sign up for a single box for $49.99.

Note that, even when purchasing a single box, FabFitFun members agree to ongoing, seasonal billing. This means that, if you do not take steps to cancel your membership, every three months you will be charged an additional $49.99 before another box is sent out.

FabFitFun states that you can cancel your membership to avoid ongoing charges at any time by calling (855) 313-6267. If our experience with their customer service was any indication, reaching someone takes little to no time and their agents are very helpful.

If you know that you’re interested in receiving ongoing FabFitFun shipments and would like to pay upfront, you can also order an annual subscription.

This commits you to four boxes at a total price of $179.99. That’s a total savings of $19.97, or $4.99 per box.

FabFitFun also offers “Add-Ons”: These are individual products that are either editor’s favorites or new items in stock that you can add to your shipment individually. They’re available at a discount from normal store prices, and can be added on at any time before your box has shipped.

Shipping of FabFitFun subscriptions is always free for members in the continental US. Those in Canada, Alaska, and Hawaii should expect to pay $8 a box.

FabFitFun Return Policy

If your FabFitFun delivery is damaged, missing an item, or is lost, it’s requested that you notify customer service within two weeks of the delivery date specified on your confirmation email.

With that in mind, FabFitFun purchases are final sale and nonrefundable. The company does not accept returns of boxes, add-ons, or additional box purchases. Any returns that are sent back will not be eligible for a refund.

What Are Customers Saying About FabFitFun?

FabFitFun customers agree that the products inside their seasonal boxes are of high-quality, and they’re happy with the brands. Positive reviews make mention of:

  • The variety of products and items included in each box. This can include gift cards, jewelry, fragrance, accessories, and high-end cosmetics.
  • Fast shipping and responsive customer service.
  • That FabFitFun offers a good value in the number and quality of products that you receive for the price.

Negative reviews of FabFitFun were few and far between, with complaints centering on:

  • Customers who were surprised at recurring charges.
  • That contents were “hit or miss” when it came to their personal tastes.

Overall, reviews of FabFitFun left us with the impression that the brand lives up to their promise of delivering a variety of high-quality, full-size products that are top-rated and generally well-received by members.

Here’s how to decide if FabFitFun is right for you.

Bottom Line: Should You Sign Up For FabFitFun?

When considering any subscription box service, it’s important to remember that, even if the actual value of what’s inside is more than you paid, there’s a risk that the contents won’t be to your taste.

Subscription boxes tend to be best for consumers who enjoy a little mystery. Or, a better way to phrase it might be, who can afford a little mystery!

Here’s our thoughts on who would probably get the least value out of FabFitFun:

  • If you have your heart set on a few specific items for an upcoming season.
  • If you have product allergies or strong preferences, such as avoiding fragrance or parabens.
  • If you’re on a budget.
  • If you have very specific tastes or product/ cosmetics regimens and don’t like to explore.

Do one or more of the above describe you? Then, there’s a chance that you’re better off just shopping for what you love.

Additionally, the box that we shared was valued at $241, but only costs customers $50. However, when considering whether to buy, it’s important not to look at the implied value and how much you’re saving, but whether or not you’d spend $50 on those products yourself.

If you’re still curious about FabFitFun, we think there’s a good chance that this subscription box service will make you feel as if you’ve won the jackpot! As consumers, here’s what we would do before ordering just to be sure:

  • Contact FabFitFun customer service to see what box you would get if signing up today, then check to see if that box has already been released. If so, look at reviews — do you like the contents?
  • If you’d be receiving next season’s box, check out reviewers on YouTube sharing their past unboxings to really confirm that you enjoy FabFitFun’s curations style.
  • Finally, remind yourself that, if you want to avoid recurring charges, you’ll have to call and cancel your membership.

With all that in mind, if you’re in the market for a monthly subscription box, we think that the quality, variety, and size of items in FabFitFun makes this a service a great pick.

And, if you’re interested in subscription boxes, but want to check out a service that’s slightly less costly, offers more frequent deliveries, of focuses on trial-size products, we recommend that you read our review of Birchbox for a comparison.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 23 FabFitFun Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • Canceled July 10th and still receiving product

    • Nebraska,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Can't get ahold of them. Didn't order. Canceled it, and still receiving the product. I am lost. Calling the credit card company tomorrow. I would not recommend this company to anyone. No customer service. How does one get a hold of them? I have the number I called when I canceled my membership - but odd, there is never an answer now. DON'T USE THEM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Albany, NY,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The boxes weren't bad. The edit sales, however - atrocious, and shady practices. I ordered 6 items from the Summer edit. I received notification 6 days later that one of my items was a "drop ship" item and I would receive separate tracking information regarding this order. 10 days later, no information. Numerous emails back and forth and no one from FabFitFun could provide me with 1) vendor's name, 2) vendor's contact info, 3) a confirmation number/order number, 4) proof of my purchase, 5) estimated shipping timeframe, or 6) a refund. So now they have my money and can provide not one detail about my order. I filed a complaint with BBB and I hope NO ONE gets scammed like I did! Absolute thievery. I will write this review everywhere I can. I hope this company gets shut down. Some excerpts from their "customer service" department:

    "I cannot provide a shipping estimate, as I do not want to give you false hopes."

    "I do not have any information on that vendor."

    "Unfortunately, since the order is with an outside vendor, we can not issue a refund."

    "I do not have contact information to provide."

    "We do not have an order number, as the order is with an outside vendor." (Then how will I contact this vendor and inquire? With no order number to reference?)

    ABSOLUTE TRASH COMPANY, USELESS CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Scam artists

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Order 1 box and they will sign you up for more boxes in a sneaky "subscription" that you don't even know you're signed up for. They will then steal your $50 and ship a box that they refuse to refund. Of course box 1 was filled with things I wanted, and the box that they tricked me into receiving was filled with garbage I can't use. Never again with these scummy subscription companies and their overpriced Dollar Tree garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Single Boxes are a great value!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a skincare, fitness and gadget junkie and love trying new things from quality companies. I do a couple of beauty box subscriptions that aren't expensive and if I get one or two things I can use I am excited. The rest I give away. When a friend first told me about FabFitFun in late Spring 2018 and gave me a discount code I checked it out. They were taking orders for the Summer 2018 box. I looked at all the offerings for the box and went to each individual product website to looked at reviews and pricing and determined $39.99 for $400 worth of quality products was worth it. I signed up for the Summer box in mid-May and heard nothing for a month and then went to the website and realized the boxes would ship June 1 or 15.

    I finally got mine in late June and was disappointed that the main item I wanted, a $55 beach towel, was not included. They had substituted a $50 train case that was lovely but I wanted the towel. I sent an email and someone responded a couple of hours later and said I had not selected the towel but she would be happy to send it to me. I offered to send the train case back but she said that wasn’t necessary. The total value of my box was almost $500. I didn’t end up using everything myself but most every product was worth $35-$89. I used the extra items as stocking stuffers at the holiday. I considered subscribing for the year but after looking at the Fall and Winter boxes from past seasons I determined they were not as big a bang for your buck, most valued at $200-$250 and didn’t contain things I would use.

    I got the Summer 2019 box and they let me use a coupon again so I got it for $39.99. I ordered in early June and it shipped within a week and it arrived a day earlier than expected. I received all of my first choices and the other standard items were wonderful too. I calculated the value at $416. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the contents of both Summer boxes. These boxes are developed for women by women with products from women-owned entrepreneurial companies. Many are trying to get the world out about their brands so that’s how you get merchandise for 85- 90% off retail. Because Spring and Summer are the seasons of renewal and vacation I think they really go all out on these boxes.

    To anyone who wants to treat themselves or another woman (young or old) in their life, these boxes are a fun option but I would definitely research the contents of the box and print your selections just in case there is a mix-up. I think a subscription sets you up for disappointment once you start with a great box. Just check out the boxes each season. I haven’t done add-ons, there were a couple of cute things I did not select and would have purchased if available at a good price. Your box includes a magazine describing the products and brands and they give you coupon codes to all of the brands and you can purchase items you didn’t select or more of what you did at 15-30% off retail. Some items are actually marked down and with the extra discount, you can get a good deal. I recommend paying with a credit card like Amex or another bank who will advocate on your behalf and refund your money if your delivery doesn’t arrive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love FabFitFun

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm thrilled every time I receive my box. You definitely get bang for your buck. Fantastic quality, full sizes and the add-on option is incredible. I have tried several products that I would have never considered at regular pricing and found that they are worth purchasing regularly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Non-order order

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My credit card was compromised and it called me last week with a series of charges on my card and they asked if I ordered different items and amounts. There were about four that I have never heard from and one was FabFitFun. Now, as a 75-year-old man, I do not have much use for anything they offer. When I did an online chat with them, the guy says that he will refund my credit but I have to pay for the return.

    I will take it up with the bank tomorrow, but if anyone who has not dealt with this company does so in the future...Carpe Diem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 14 people found this review helpful

    That’s a scam

    • Virginia,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hahahahah, if you want to waste your money on getting some crappy stuff, then FabFitFun is the site you go to. I ordered the Editor Box just to see how good/bad would this company is. Turns out is bad enough that I’m alighting while I’m writing the review for it. One of the products is a Mark & Graham colorblock throw, it has holes on it...not just some small ones, those are big enough to let my finger go through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    2 and 1/2 months and no shipment

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a standard annual subscription. The first couple of boxes came with no problem, and the items are ok quality. I had gotten a make-up bag where the zipper broke on the first use. I didn't attempt to try to get a replacement. It's kind of fun to get the box in the mail. They are like a present to yourself.

    However, I would not recommend trying to do anything non-standard. They don't have systems in place for extra/odd orders. They want you to order extras, they make that very easy. I made the mistake of ordering an additional add-on box to send to my daughter. I also ordered some add-ons for myself. After 2 and 1/2 months of chats and phone calls with them, I still don't have my own box or my add-ons. After about three attempts I did finally get a box shipped to my daughter.

    I had to really insist on getting my money back. They said they don't normally issue refunds. They just keep saying the box shipment is expedited and they are "making sure" it ships to me right away. And then it doesn't. Finally today they said they are refunding my money. Although I have yet to receive the email confirming that. If you can't ship me a product in 2 and 1/2 months, I deserve my money back. They acted like they were doing me a favor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unresolved issues. Terrible customer service.

    • Flagstaff, AZ,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had ordered two other subscription boxes in the past and enjoyed them, so I decided to upgrade to the annual membership so that I could make choices on certain products offered in each box. The last subscription shipped out in November and I never received anything. When checking the tracking number, it just kept saying "in transit." I had a difficult time trying to find a telephone number to contact anyone. I finally found a customer care chat and addressed the issue to someone, probably in another country in a data center. They told me that they would resend my subscription box, which included an extra FabFitFun box and a lotion that I had added on as Christmas gifts for my sister (which now would not be there in time for Christmas).

    I finally received one subscription box (which did not have any of the product choices I specifically picked out) at my door on January 5th. The second box or the lotion I had ordered additionally was not with the package. So again, I had to chat with someone else. They could not give me an answer and told me somebody else would get back to me in an email. I told them that I wanted somebody to call me on the phone directly, to which they replied okay and took my phone number. It has now been two days later, and I have still not heard anything from anyone with this company. I am furious with this issue that has still not been resolved and I will be demanding my money back and never again will order anything from this company and will tell everybody all about my bad experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    No returns...

    • Scranton, PA,
    • Jan 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received an add-on as a gift. I tried to return it, but they have a no return policy.

    I have a policy that I don't deal with companies that have no return policies.

    There are lots of good companies out there. All of the good ones accept returns.

    This is a borderline scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Sneaky company!

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My sister is a diehard fan of FabFitFun and sent me the option to try "The Starter Kit." All I had to do was pay $5 for shipping. Done and done! I made an account and put in my information to receive the starter kit. Little did I know they would SUBSCRIBE ME without knowing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for FabFitFun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review