About Fabletics

Tired of sporting drab workout wear? From brightly patterned printed leggings to fashionably designed crop tops and more, Fabletics claims to offer clothing that’s cut to keep pace with your active lifestyle.

While Fabletics is promoted by co-founder Kate Hudson, the “Almost Famous” actress known as much for her super-fit shape a starring in a slew of romantic comedies, the brand isn’t a solo celebrity venture. Instead, Fabletics is manufactured by Just Fabulous, Inc.—parent company to several other fashion and lifestyle brands.

It’s worth noting that, at the time of our previous Fabletics review, Just Fabulous, Inc. held an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau and had only 12 closed complaints.

However, the company’s accreditation has since been revoked due to their inability to maintain a minimum BBB rating. What could have caused their overall score to sink? It seems that Just Fabulous, Inc. experienced a spike in complaints—1252 to be exact.

Is Fabletics just a pretty face or do they lap the competition? To help you decide, let’s take a look at what the brand claims sets them apart:

Fabletics Says You’ll Look Great For Less

The appeal of Fabletics appears pretty straightforward: The brand claims to offer high quality, stylish activewear at affordable prices. Shoppers can surf collections by sport, or look at their complete range of tops, sports bras, leggings, accessories, and even swimwear.

We should note that Fabletics isn’t claiming to beat prices you’ll find at cost-conscious retailers, such as Old Navy and Target. Instead, they compare their stylish offerings with more fashionable activewear brands:

Image Attached: Fabletics_Pricing.png

Fabletics Price ComparisonFabletics Price Comparison

But, There’s A Catch

Those deep discounts aren’t available to just any shopper. While you can shop Fabletics without signing up, taking advantage of their slashed prices means first signing up for a VIP Membership.

Additionally, those shopping Fabletics will notice that workout wear can only be purchased as a complete outfit—individual pieces aren’t available.

With that in mind, the average Fabletics ensemble would cost a non-member about $100. Alternately, members would pay about $49.95 for the same outfit with the added perk of free shipping.

How Much Does a Fabletics Membership Cost?

Becoming a VIP Member is technically free. However, by signing up, you agree to be charged $49.95 every month. The cost is applied to your monthly outfit purchase—if an outfit costs more, you’ll be charged the difference.

As we mentioned above, standard shipping is always free for Fabletics members. You can also select express shipping for $8.95. Additionally, your first purchase as a member is discounted to only $25.00.

If you don’t like an outfit, Fabletics offers a 30-day return policy for all new, unworn items with original tags. However, your return will be subject to a $5.95 restocking fee.

How Fabletics Membership Program Works

Your first step in signing up for a Fabletics membership is taking a quiz. That’s because, while members can browse Fabletics for new outfits each month, they’ll also receive personalized suggestions based on their style and workout preferences at the beginning of each month.

To learn more about you, Fabletics asks your:

  • Gender
  • Favorite way to sweat, including yoga, running, gym, or cycling
  • Preferred colors
  • Body type as defined by shape
  • Size preferences for top, bottom, and sports bras

Unlike some top brands, like Lululemon, Fabletics clothing is available in a wide range of sizes. You can choose from XXS (0-2) up to XXL (18-20). Just note that sports bra sizes are categorized in the same way, not by standard bra sizing of cups and bands—a potential problem for women with larger bra sizes who need support during high-impact sports.

Between the 1st and 5th of each month, Fabletics will notify you of a new personalized selection awaiting your approval. You can choose what’s been suggested or shop the Fabletics collection, instead.

What if you want to skip a month of Fabletics? You can do so as many times as you’d like. However, you must log in during the same date range to select “skip a month” to avoid charges.

Suggested outfits won’t ever ship without your approval. However, if you forget to log in to either shop around or skip the month, you’ll still be charged the $49.95 and the funds will be credited to your account to be used for a future purchase.

Cancelling your Fabletics membership can be done at any time by calling 1-844-322-5384, then press “4” to speak to someone about closing your account. Note that some reviewers state customer service will offer additional credit to your account if you’re willing to give Fabletics one more chance.

What Customers Are Saying About Fabletics

Browsing Fabletics outfits, there’s little doubt that the brand offers brightly-colored and stylish activewear, or that initial prices are lower than the competition.

However, the majority of customer who’ve reviewed Fabletics on HighYa have been less than impressed with quality and fit. Common complaints include:

  • Poor quality fabric and stitching
  • Material that is thin enough to be see-through
  • Pilling of fabric on inner thigh and underarm areas
  • Tops that are too revealing

While some customers have been satisfied with wearing their Fabletics apparels as casual wear, we’re cautious to recommend this brand to those looking for athletic clothing that can keep up with more vigorous activities.

More so than questionable quality, many shoppers state feeling deceived by Fabletics questionable business practices. Specifically, unauthorized charges. HighYa reader Anna shared her experience after realizing she’d been charged an excess of $600:

“Turns out this's a commonplace problem and that I did not "forget" I signed up for a membership. Like many others, I was unaware that I had been signed up in the first place. When you confirm your purchase, you are also confirming authorization for them to sign you up for their membership and take money from you monthly -- didn't read that part? Yeah, it's in the fine print.”

Essentially, non-members attempting to purchase from Fabletics are automatically enrolled as members—and charged monthly.

Other complaints surrounding unexpected charges include Fabletics failing to make good on their promised offer of a $25 initial purchase and difficulty canceling. Combined, HighYa readers have rated Fabletics at an average of 1.4 stars.

Bottom Line: Is Fabletics A Scam?

While Fabletics promises high-quality fitness wear at reasonable prices, the number of negative reviews stating that items wore out faster than normal or just plain didn’t keep them covered leads us to believe that the brand might not perform as highly as they claim. That being said, those who are looking for a cute alternative to their loungewear might be pleased with what they find at Fabletics.

The only caveat? Make sure you read the fine print! While ongoing membership charges might not be an outright scam, enough reviewers were taken by surprise to raise red flags. Should you decide to make a Fabletics purchase, know that you may need to keep an eye on your credit card statements to avoid getting too familiar with their customer service.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

40 Consumer Reviews for Fabletics

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    "New" VIP prices - NOT

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a VIP member for five months. I got a link in an email from Fab for new pricing. I tried to order Estrella SET at New VIP Price of $29.97. I went to log in then to my Fab account, the price showed as $59.95. After calling Fab and spending 20 minutes on the phone and then having to prove to Fab with SCREENSHOTS of the pricing saying NEW VIP PRICE, they informed me that price was only for NEW VIP's signing up, not the current VIPs? WTH? So if you are a current VIP member, your pricing will be double new VIPs. Also, I believe they show different pricing when you are logged into your account and when you are not. Prices are lower when they can't see you are a VIP member and are trying to gain customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New York, NY,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After rushing through product searches as a timer clicked on in the corner of my screen, in order to get the $19 two-piece outfit deal, I noticed the two for $24 leggings and decided to purchase those as well. The leggings were priced as marked on the checkout screen but the outfit was not coming through with the deal. I went out and chose another outfit marked $19 to replace the first with since the deal was not coming through, same problem, I was being charged full price for it.

    I quickly paid as I was running out of time and figured I'd lose the two for $24 legging deal too, so I paid for the purchase and called customer service. HUGE waste of time. The rep only told me that I couldn't have both "deals." Nowhere was that readily legible, NOWHERE. Then he said I could cancel my order and place it again with some special VIP sale that was going on only today (where is this on the site?). I asked for a supervisor who was incredibly less helpful than his rep was. They both just kept repeating my name and the word "yes" a whole lot but saying and doing a whole lot of nothing.

    Basically, I could not get the deal, and now I have a monthly membership which I didn't realize I was signing up for! The timer is the kicker, forcing you to quickly make your purchase, thinking you're getting a better deal - I'll never be this stupid again. I'll never order from here again, and I'm canceling this ridiculous monthly program. I'd rather pay more at Lululemon and not have to deal with bogus "customer service" and fictitious deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Danville, CA,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Online shopping is so common that you never read the terms and condition when you click on submit button on your order. These scammers are actually signing you up for a membership $49.95 a month! Even Costco takes $65 for a year.

    Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They steal using your credit card details!

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely horrible experience!! They are a total scam and fraud. Do not give your credit card details EVER! They had been taking $50 out of my credit every month AFTER I had called and canceled my account and stole a total of $400 out if my credit card before I was able to call them again to get my money refunded! Absolutely horrible! This company should be shut down!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I’d give zero stars if possible

    • Illinois,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading all your negative reviews just makes me more infuriated with the company than I already am. Like most of you, I have had my share of nightmares with this "company."

    My nightmare started back in December 2017 when I saw a commercial for their two for $24 special. I’d just been medically diagnosed to wear compression socks and sufferers had told me about Fabletics tighter fitting yoga pants. I jumped for joy! I ordered two pairs last week in December. One month passed by, two months passed by. I never received the pants.

    I reached out to customer service, and this is when he told me that they weren’t in stock. So this shows that if I hadn’t reached out, I would have never received my pants or been refunded for my order. Then a mysterious $49.95 charge appeared on my bank statement from them. Once again I called customer service, and they told me that I’d been enrolled in this wonderful monthly program, and blah blah blah.

    Bottom line is this: I never agreed or gave them permission (to charge my card) to be a part of their VIP membership program. At this point, I called my bank to file a claim against them and they had instructed me to reach out to Fabletics directly with my needs first. I reached out ONCE AGAIN to customer service where she said they’d issue a refund check. To this day I have yet to receive a check in the mail from this company.

    I finally called my bank last week and they issued me my refund. She mentioned in this call that they get SO many claims against this store. And now I’m receiving health magazines from them as a gift from another company in the mail. I never gave them permission to give this company my address! So please, if you’re going to take anything away from my story, let it be this. Stay away! You’re just setting yourself up for trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not bad

    • Denver, CO,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a personal fitness trainer, so gym clothes are my work clothes. I have been a VIP member, canceled, and rejoined because of a client telling me about one of their special promotions.

    I find some of the pieces to be a little cheap and some to be good quality. If I return items, I typically take it to the store that is in my area and have had no problems. The items I've kept and worn have worn well. As a 34D/DD bra size, I've only tried a few of their support bras and don't like them. They're sized with S, M, L, etc. and most don't have adjustable straps and I just can't do a one size fits all bra for athletics.

    It makes me really happy to see the broad variety of items available in plus sizes. I can't say the frustrations I've had trying to advise a larger sized client on where to find comfortable, cute workout clothes in performance fabrics and with a variety of styles offered and Fabletics does that.

    I totally understand peoples' frustration with the monthly charge. When I joined, I already knew about this feature, so I set a monthly reminder in my calendar to cancel the charge by the 4th (gives me one extra day if I forget).

    Days ago I put a bunch of sale stuff in the cart and then went to pay today and all the prices were higher. I was NOT happy to see this, so I called and actually got someone on the phone. She was able to get the prices back to where they had been, which was a pleasant surprise. They had been on a 50% off markdown promotion.

    I will pretty much only buy markdown items from Fabletics. They do have multiple promotional events every year, and occasional 50% off markdown, so I'm staying with it. I hope this info is helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Very deceptive! Do not order!

    • Netherlands,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After ordering three legging last February, I didn't know that they are going to charge me until now. It was €49 ($57.69) per month. So they owe me €150 ($176.61)!

    These guys are not honest!

    Please give my money back! Aren't you surprised that your clients are not aware of this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality clothes, poorer marketing plan

    I wish I had never joined this. Clothes are incredibly overpriced, even at the discounted rate. The seams in the pants don’t last. The most recent pair I received ripped after less than a month.

    The worst part is if you don’t skip by the fifth of the month, you pay fifty dollars. Which means if you miss your email or forget or are traveling, etc., it will cost you. Yes, you can use that as a credit toward their clothes, but who wants more of their low-quality clothes anyway?

    The only reason I haven’t canceled already is it can’t be done online but requires a phone call, which I assume means talking to someone with a book of prepared responses who tries to convince you to stay. What a gimmick of a marketing strategy. Good quality items will sell themselves. They don’t need gimmicks to do it for them. So many red flags I overlooked when agreeing to their terms.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's the best. Very easy to return and wonderful customer service.

    • Virginia,
    • May 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had bought many legging and sport clothing. When I needed to return it, it was free and easy. Customer service was friendly and helpful. I’m very happy with everything. It is easy to skip the monthly if I’m not ready to buy the new style yet. There's always a coupon and discount on this website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Won't order again

    • Minnesota,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I referred my daughter to this company, and she became a VIP. She tried to place an order using her debit card and it would not accept it. She then called to ask why and they told her she couldn't use it on her first order but could use it on any order after that. This sounds totally crazy to me. To say your card is good only on none promotional orders is totally insane. I will not be ordering from here again and will be returning my things to them. If my child's card isn't good enough, neither is mine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    VIP Membership - still charged even after skipping the month. And don't wait for items to be re-stocked.

    After the initial month after my first purchase learning what the stipulations of "VIP Membership" is, I forgot for a few months to opt out of the monthly credit (aka automatic charge to my credit card after the 5th of the month to use in-store). This month I know I opted out, via my mobile device and before April 5th, and was STILL charged! Customer service said there was no record of me clicking to skip the month, and that I couldn't receive the money back and had to use it in store. I am going to be canceling my "VIP" Membership as soon as I use the store credit - it certainly doesn't make me feel like a valued customer.

    Also, don't wait for items to be re-stocked. I was waiting for over two months for some leggings to be re-stocked before canceling my VIP membership (so that I could get the better pricing) and was informed by customer service that they often don't re-stock items. I wish they would remove it from their website if it is a product no longer being offered and is out of stock!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for Fabletics!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review