• 658 Customer Reviews
  • 91% Recommend This Company
4.5 out of 5
5 star: 78% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 5%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Review Insights

Here are the most common comments about Freedom Debt Relief based on customer reviews:

Common Compliments:

  • An effective way to receive debt relief
  • Lifesaver for anyone in a dire financial situation
  • Customer service willing to work with users for unique solutions
  • Pleasant and low-stress interactions with the company
  • Many people had their payments negotiated down to a third or less per month

Common Complaints:

  • The website could be difficult to navigate
  • Customer service is nice but not empowered enough to be helpful
  • Expensive service fees
  • Some users felt ripped-off with the repayment policies
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Not out for the client they are out for themselves.

    • By DMD.Saulnier,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Apr 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First off, most of the people get into a program like this because they are already in a bunch of debt. I was in the program and not very long due a decision my attorney and I made. At this time, they had come to a settlement agreement with one of my accounts. One payment was made and their fees were taken out when they made that payment. Days later when I called to cancel, I was told the my remaining balance would be back into my account within 7 to 10 business days.

    Well of course after a week, I never saw the money so I called. At that point I was told that I was not getting any money back because it was part of their settlement fees. Talk about livid, I am trying to make my mortgage payment and the one account they settled which they wrote to me and said was now "NULL & VOID" is costing me the balance of my funds because it was their settling fee.

    This place is nothing but highway robbery. That is totally ridiculous. Don't waste your time! Work with the creditors yourself or contact your own attorney. This place is a JOKE and will cost you more than getting it resolved yourself. I am not done with them yet, my attorney will be getting in touch with them. It might not be a lot of money to them but for someone barely surviving in this economy, I couldn't afford to lose all that money. I am pissed of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      I'm with the Executive Services team with Freedom Debt Relief and wanted to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss further?


  • Don't use

    • By Amanda S,
    • Aug 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not use Freedom Debt Relief financial services unless you want to be sued! I had 8 accounts listed with those swindlers. I was sued on 5 of them, and I actually had to negotiate for myself the settlement on the remaining accounts. This company should be shut down immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 13, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      I'm with the Executive Services team with Freedom Debt Relief and wanted to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss further?


  • Sucker

    • By Mike,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Aug 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I would keep away from this place, they will tell you one thing and then do the complete opposite. Stop payments for 3 months saying you are done with the program, then start again, and say "sorry" you should have been told that. They are the most apologetic company I have ever seen. Do yourself a favor and go with another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      I'm with the Executive Services team with Freedom Debt Relief and wanted to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss further?


  • Went with FDR & was served Saturday morning

    • By Noel,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I knew all of the online reviews seemed a tad too good to be true, but I consolidated with FDR in Dec 2015 (as they seemed to be the most reputable). I've made every bi-weekly payment on time. Well, I was served papers at my apartment Saturday. The best part is that I thought the sweet-looking lady was Amazon. Oh no, not Amazon.

    "Good morning, are you X?" Me: "yes." Her: "sorry to wake you up, you are being sued by Bank of America." Me: "wait, what?" Too late, the lady was gone.

    In my panic, I found out FDR has a different number and "department" to handle when X is being sued. I'm guessing I'm not alone. And I hate everything. To make matters worse, as I was choking and confused, talking to the FDR lawsuit expert operator about my getting served, I asked about another debt.

    The house of cards was crumbling! I had a different letter where a collection agency offered to cut a $10,000 debt to $2,500. I thought FDR was negotiating for me. (This is my fault, why didn't I do it?) FDR operator, "wow, that's a really good deal. Did you say the debt was sold to a new collection agency?" Me: "YES!" (sobbing). I've known several people who have successfully consolidated bigger debts and ain't NOBODY been sued. Like, actually served civil court papers at their home. FDR STINKS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      I'm with the Executive Services team with Freedom Debt Relief and wanted to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss further?


  • Car Payment

    Overall Experience:

    I joined Freedom Debt relief in July of 2015, I needed them to help me resolve some debt I had incurred. They were taking $175 out of my account each paycheck, almost immediately it was games and scams with this company.

    I had a $18,000 car payment that I had fell behind on, the finance company reached me and offered to settle the amount for $5500. I called freedom Debt Relief and spoke to a lady by the name of Cynthia Brittenum, to see if I had enough funds to cover the amount. She told me that I did, and to email her the settlement letter and on November 10, 2016, to call in and make my last payment to them of $105 to bring my account balance to $5500.

    I called in and tried to make my payment and they informed me that I would have to pay $4000 for their service charge and I do not have enough to make the payment. This was after I had made an arrangement with the finance company.

    The finance company informed me that they were going to rescind the settlement, and charge me fully for the vehicle because of this. I canceled out of the program because they are not honest and will play with your money and their customer service agents know nothing. I would not use them unless your bill is somewhere between the $200 - $1000 range anything above that they will get you, and act like they did nothing wrong

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 8, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      I'm with the Executive Services team with Freedom Debt Relief and wanted to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss this further?


  • Scam, liars!

    • By B Jones,
    • Clemmons, NC,
    • Jan 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This a scam. If I can pay their $9,000 fee, I can pay the creditors!

    I emailed my cancellation the day after I started this process and six days later they still took out $647 out of my checking account. I am having a tremendous time getting my money back. They claim that they require you to call to cancel, but the CONTRACT says you can do this by email, mail or delivery. When I questioned them (call center), they didn't care what the contract said.

    RUN, this is a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 24, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. Jones,

      We are sorry to hear about the trouble you have had with the program. As a nationally accredited company with an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, we would like to work with you to resolve your concerns. Please let us know the best time someone may reach out to you.

      Thank you.


  • Freedom Debt Relief

    Overall Experience:

    We used Freedom Debt Relief for 18 months and then decided it wasn't worth all the fees they were charging. It turned out to be too expensive, so we decided to file Chapter 11 bankruptcy.

    After terminating my account, they continued to text me with settlement requests and also took money out of my bank account three week's after I terminated my account. I spoke with three different supervisors and each time was assured the account was closed, and no money would be taken out. They lie, or they do not communicate with their own bank (Crossroads Financial). I had to call my bank and pay $30 for a stop payment against them, as well as file a claim to get back the money they withdrew from my account.

    BEWARE! My bankruptcy lawyer says they are a scam, so use them at your own risk. They are very friendly until you want to close your account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 17, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Ms. Goss,

      We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced while closing your account. If there is anything that we can do to further assist you and resolve your concerns, we would like the opportunity. Please let us know the best way to reach out to you if you would like further assistance.

      Thank you.


  • Don't do it.

    • By Mona,
    • Frostburg, Maryland ,
    • Feb 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you're thinking of trying this, don't do it.

    You are paying this company to negotiate a lower rate or pay-off, and for what you pay them, you may as well negotiate it yourself. It will be half the price.

    It was two years ago that I pulled from Freedom Debt Relief. One of my credit cards was down to one payment, and they didn't pay it. When I inquired as to why, they said they didn't have enough money in my account. At the beginning, they told me what monthly payment I would need, and I didn't miss a payment. They didn't even bother to call me and tell me that it was not paid.

    Now, two years later, I again am being bothered by a debt collection agency for a debt that should have been taken care of two years ago. For $250, that should have been paid by Freedom Debt Relief.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 17, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mona,

      We apologize for any confusion regarding your account and settlement payments. While we understand you are no longer enrolled, we would still like to resolve your concerns. Please let us know the best way to contact you so that we may discuss resolution.

      Thank you.


  • Terrible

    Overall Experience:

    They have terrible customer service. I've already called three times to get a simple email, but they can't seem to do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 17, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. Calhoun,

      We are sorry to hear about the difficulty with receiving a specific email. We would be more than happy to assist you with your correspondence request. What is the preferred way for us to contact you so that we may resolve your concern?

      Thank you.


  • Scam!

    Overall Experience:

    Upon entering the program, I had a customer service person who really took great care of me. After I actually signed up with the program, everything has been crashing down.

    What they DON'T tell you is that you will MOST LIKELY get sued by the creditors! I have experienced four so far and a lien on my property. Oh, and also, you WILL be getting forms (after the settlements on accounts) that show the DIFFERENCE (saved amount) and you will have to report this amount as income on your taxes when you file them!

    And, though the attorneys representing FDR through NLLG are legit, they are only limited to a certain amount as well, and the fees that pay them (from your account) on a monthly basis, are CRAZY. Now, I realize people need to get paid, however, I was CRAZY trying to keep my head above water BEFORE entering into the FDR program.

    Now, well, my advice is: DON'T do it! Try and handle things yourself in any way possible. I have been on the phone for three days STRAIGHT trying to get a litigation settlement payment from my account straightened out, and all I have gotten is, "I will handle it," but NOTHING has been done.

    They keep raising my payment amount and auto withdrawal when there is a settlement. I started at $300, to $486, and to now $526$! Really? Not to mention my credit score it bottomed out. If you want a real person's advice, stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 1, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Ms. Vetter,

      We are sorry to hear about the concerns you have and the frustrations you are experiencing. We would like the opportunity to go over things with you and assist you however we can to resolve your concerns. Please let us know the best time that we may reach out to you!


  • Not a happy customer

    • By sally,
    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In the beginning, I was happy with the representative. I thought all the creditors were informed. Then I get a summons that I am being sued by a creditor. I tell Freedom Debt Relief and am told they cannot handle it because I did not sign up initially with their legal department. Now I have to handle it on my own and get an outside lawyer.

    I also informed them about my payment amount and for them not to increase it. I called several times and sent an email. Of course, no one listened, and they increased my payments, causing me to stress ion getting the extra funds back into my account.

    One account was reduced by Freedom Debt Relief, but the rest of my accounts are in worse condition since joining this group, and now I am more stressed than before. I need to check out another group to help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 21, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We are sorry to hear about your experience but we would like the opportunity to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss this further?


  • Dissatisfied

    • By Linda Bowles,
    • Cotton Town, TN,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I thought I was being protected in this program, but it's awful. I am more stressed out in this program than I was before I started it.

    I got a summons to go to court, and Freedom Debt Relief asked me to get the court date changed so I did, and they had another six weeks to work on it, and still nothing is worked out. My second court date is in less than a week, and still, nothing is being done.

    Another thing is that I thought I was enrolled in legal counsel and I was not, so I have to go to court without legal services and lose half a day of work that I can't afford to miss. There is more than enough funds taken out of my account to settle this one; I have been in the program for five and half months. Please check into other companies before you choose. Do your research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 27, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Ms. Bowles,

      We are sorry to hear about your concerns regarding the program, specifically the legal action happening on one of your accounts. We would like the opportunity to review your account with you and assist you in reaching a resolution as quickly as possible. Please let us know the best time that we may reach out to you!


  • It's a farce

    Overall Experience:

    I joined the program having never been late on one payment. After a call to Chris Karen of Freedom Debt financial, I was convinced this program was for me.

    Everything went well for 4 to 6 months; I made my monthly payments without fail. Then I received an offer from their "sister" company Consolation Plus that I did not want a personal loan at 22% interest, as it was as much if not more than my credit card interest. After refusing their loan, it started. I was sued three or four times.

    I was told not to talk to my creditors so I asked my "representatives" at Freedom to explain to my creditors that they'd get their money and not to sue, but they did NOT! My program lawyer called me one day before a trial I was supposed to begin to tell me that I needed to come up with three or four hundred dollars or my checks would be garnished. Then they proceed to tell me that if I'd pay my bills, I would not be in this position!

    I take the personal loan, they pay off my creditors, and then yesterday, April 15, I receive to my house via priority mail from Freedom Debt financial one 1099-C form that after a call to Freedom Debt to find out why they would hold a tax document (that I'd already called the IRS to find out should have been mailed by my creditors by February 15), and Freedom Debt had (since March 15) lied and refused to acknowledge that the postmark is April 13th and they've sent via priority mail. They say it's been put in the mail a month ago and it's not their fault that the US Post Office took so long to deliver it.

    The only problem is I live in AZ! That's 129 miles from where the Scottsdale, AZ address my creditor mailed it to them at! Oh, and come to find out there are four 1099-C tax forms of mine they held on to for over one month! It's all a huge scam to get you to take a consolidation loan. Do not believe these crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 19, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. Zabala,

      We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and we would like the opportunity to speak with you to address your concerns and resolve the issues you are having with the program. Please let us know the best time that we may contact you.

      Thank you!


  • Ripped Off

    • By RM,
    • Ohio, USA,
    • Apr 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Enrolled in this program 2 years ago. Unlike others, we DID sign up for the legal services at $12 a month with National Litigation Law Group.

    After fees, and the negotiated settlement, we ended up paying 111% of the balance we originally owed on that account that our creditor sued us over. So, don't believe that the litigation services are going to help you. We have paid faithfully into this program for the past 2 years, trusting in this company to advocate for us.

    According to their dashboard, we have 3 more years to go. I am researching other options. On their dashboard, they show the amount they have ”saved” you in negotiated settlement, but you have to click deeper to learn that when you add in their 20% of the original balance fee, you've actually ended up paying about 60%. Or, in the case of that one account of mine, 111% of the original balance.

    I am so incredibly angry. We had a lot of accounts and were overwhelmed, which is why I originally signed up with them. Now, after having looked in detail at what they are actually doing with my money, I see that they play on people's fears and desperation and you end up worse off than if you had tried to negotiate with the creditor on your own.

    They let your account balances increase because that account balance is what they use to calculate their fee. They let your accounts go to collections because it makes them more money to drag things out. We have had 3 of our creditors serve us with summons that they are suing us.

    It's clearly not true when they tell you that they get a better settlement for you because of their negotiating power, nor that they will communicate with your creditors. I know precious little, but I've educated myself enough in the past 30 minutes and mustered up the chutzpa to negotiate a better settlement than paying 111%.

    My taxes were filed. I was getting nearly $800 back in a refund until I got my form from FDR for the 'debt forgiveness income' THE DAY BEFORE TAXES HAD TO BE FILED. I had to file an amended return and ended up OWING $240 on my taxes. Think about that for a minute.

    Not only did FDR negotiate settlements for me and charge me fees that had me paying 84% of the original balances of my debt (and actually it was MORE than my original balances, because they let interest and fees rack up to inflate the fee they would be able to collect), they cost me my $800 tax refund PLUS $240, my credit is trashed, and I've been sued three times.

    Do not have them help you. It is NO HELP. On the positive side, I can say that any time I called customer service, I felt real good after I hung up the phone. FDR trains their customer service well to reassure you and make you feel wonderful while they take advantage of your poor financial choices and/or desperate feeling situation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 24, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello,

      We are sorry to hear about the experience you are having, and we completely understand your concerns. Please allow us the opportunity to reach out to you to discuss your legal accounts, the 1099-C forms and any other aspects of the program that are causing you this frustration. Ultimately, we would like to resolve this with you as quickly as possible. Do you have a preferred time that we may reach you? Do you prefer phone or email communication?


  • They steal your money

    Overall Experience:

    They steal your money and do not pay your debt. I had to cancel because they refused to make a $126 payment. I had $240 in the account to make payment. Then I canceled, and they took money out of my bank account. I then had $450 in my account, and they told me I only get $139 back. They kept the rest of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 17, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Lea,

      We apologize that the program has not met your expectations. We would like to resolve any concerns that you are currently experiencing. Please let us know the best time we may reach out to you, to further discuss your account!


  • Our nightmare with FDR

    • By Helen Wagner,
    • Partlow, VA,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We signed up with FDR in 2015. We did it because I had been out of work ten months and then my husband has a stroke. Jonathan at FDR promised he could have us debt free in three years. From the beginning, it was us doing the leg work. Then the harassing calls started coming in from creditors. They had us change our address and phone number to their address.

    A few months later we get a notice on our door to appear in court even though our address was changed to theirs. I called Jonathan, and he says that happens, but there is a bank that will take it on. He did say the interest was higher so our payment would be more. We thought we were on the down hill stretch of this and I contact them to find out Jonathan never told us it increased us to over five years an an extra $28,000 on top of our debt.

    I have asked them for copies of anything we signed to show we agreed to this no response. We are considering a lawyer at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 10, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Ms. Wagner,

      We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you are experiencing along with the legal action that has been pursued against you. We would like to resolve your concerns as quickly as possible. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com so that we may further assist you.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • A complete disaster from the beginning of the process to the very end.

    • By Kelly Poulsen,
    • Bel Air, Maryland,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with Freedom Debt Relief has been a complete nightmare. From the beginning of the process, they calculated my monthly payment incorrectly, and they then continued to contact me for additional funds to resolve the first account. That just continued.

    Then I was summons to court by the Discover credit company. Freedom Debt Relief gave me no help. I had to contact Discover's attorneys myself and resolve it, and Freedom still paid themselves for the resolution of that account.

    Then when I thought all my accounts were resolved, I noticed one small creditor was not resolved, so I have been calling Freedom Debt Relief for the past year and a half to please ESCALATE this account, so they said they did. I probably have talked to more representatives than any client ever. Many representatives told me to stop my monthly payments because of the surplus in my account.

    So I continued to call every month to check on the status of the last account and talked to managers and whoever they would promise to contact me they never did. So just this August my last account was settled. What a joke. All that time it gained so much interest. So they finally contacted me to give them more money. What a joke. They did not save me much and still took $375 for themselves for resolving the account. If I was not persistent about resolving my debt and contacting them monthly, the account would not have been touched and I would have a crap load of money in my account from monthly payments.

    After disputing this with them and I told them to check my account notes and the conversations they say they record, and that I have been diligent in trying to resolve this myself. Their response was they did not see anything about that in my account notes.

    Do yourself a favor and never do debt relief, and not with this company, and if the company says your conversation is being recorded, tell them you are recording them. I still have to pay the company $26 to be finished with them. I told them you can eat that $26 after all that I have been through. They said no and told me to have a good day. I am glad to be finished with this nightmare and would not wish this on anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Ms. Poulsen,

      We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you have had with Freedom Debt Relief. We would like the opportunity to speak with you and resolve the concerns you are having. Please let us know if you have a preferred time we may reach out to you, as well as a preferred method of contact.

      Thank you.


  • Not a company I would go with

    Overall Experience:

    First, too many fees. Second, every time I call you get a different agent. They should have one person that knows your case. Last, I should have done my homework and went with a different company. In conclusion, I am not happy with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 20, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Ms. Prescott,

      We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with our company. We have some of the lowest settlement fees in the industry and our Department of Client Services is highly trained to ensure you are receiving the utmost quality customer service when you call, regardless of who you speak with. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you would like to speak with someone and attempt to resolve the concerns you are having.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • What actually happens

    Overall Experience:

    I became a client of Freedom Debt Relief when my only other option was to file bankruptcy. When the economy tanked, my job went from full time to two days a week. I continued to make my monthly payments by emptying my savings account while I looked for work. In the end, I reached out to Freedom Debt Relief.

    In the beginning, the lady on the phone was sympathetic. Like she understood everything that I was going through. Once I signed up, customer service changed. My agreement was for $152.00 each payday. When I went back to full time, I called to increase my payments. From what they tell you, that will help you resolve your debt faster.

    This went on for a year and a half. I never missed a payment or had any issues. After a decade of having the same bank account, I changed bank accounts. The ONLY company I forgot to advise was Freedom Debt Relief (that's because the program was seamless and you really don't think about it). When I missed the payment (after being with them for a year and a half), they didn't call and say, "Hey Ms. Anderson, is something wrong? You missed your payment." NO! I didn't realize that I missed a payment until I started getting emails from them to get back on track. After then, I realized that they quit making payments on my behalf, which in turn, canceled my settlement with the said company.

    IF they had called, I would have given them the new bank account number, and then things could have remained the same. Instead, they tell me that I'm in default and now I need to restructure my payments because I have to pay a different amount to the creditors. The best example of what happened is with American Express. I missed my payment to Freedom Debt Relief, and they did not pay American Express. The following month I was on track, and they tried to pay American Express, who rejected the payment because I defaulted on the agreement.

    This went on for over three months, meaning that American Express did not get paid for three months. I (not Freedom Debt Relief) reached out to American Express and explained what happened and even after not getting paid for three months, they honored the settlement agreement (the only thing Freedom Debt Relief did was offer to restructure my payments so they would have the money to pay American Express the full amount of the original debt).

    I got over that and stayed with the program. I shouldn't have! I am paying them $202.00 bi-weekly ($404.00 a month). I have two accounts left. One, a settlement was agreed on and I only owe them $4,080.00, and the other is for less than $1,300.00. But, they have me in the program for another 20 months. That is because they are only paying $204.00 every month for the company with the agreement. They will not be paid off for 20 months (1 year and 8 months). If they would apply more money to them, it would be paid off in 10 months.

    I asked Freedom Debt Relief to increase the payment to them (I just wanted all this behind me), Freedom Debt Relief wouldn't do that. I told them that I was considering pulling that company out of the program so I could make the payments myself. Freedom Debt Relief made that sound like the worse possible thing to do. They told me all the "worse case scenarios," although, that's not how they put it. They just said, "We'll send them a letter telling them that you are no longer in agreement with them which would void the agreement." Which means that I would have to try and negotiate with them or I would be sued for the full amount (after Freedom Debt Relief took their fees of $2,725.00 for that account), which means that it would have cost me more to pay them off.

    I FOUGHT with Freedom Debt Relief to get contact information (in the beginning of the program, you sign papers so that collectors only talk to Freedom Debt Relief and you are completely out of it). I was on the phone with them for over 30 minutes while they repeatedly and continually told me that they strongly advise against me reaching out to the collection agency.

    I finally got a phone number from them. It was the wrong number; they did not give me the number to the company they were sending payments to! However, I did find the collection agency with the account, and I was able to find contact information. I am happy to say that the account will be paid off in 8 months compared to the 20 months Freedom Debt Relief had me set up for. Of course, the collection agency just wants to get paid. When I offered them the entire $404.00 a month that I was paying Freedom Debt Relief, they were more than happy to take it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 10, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Ms. Anderson,

      We are sorry to hear about your frustrations and disappointment with our program. We would like to speak with you to resolve the concerns you are having. Please let us know the best time that someone can reach out to you, and if you prefer phone or email communication.


  • Pay off loan

    Overall Experience:

    I try to pay off my loan, and they try to get me for another $7.00 because my check needs two days to be processed. What an unprofessional company. Let’s charge everyone $7.00 to pay off their loan in full. They would not work with me. I am paying $6,195, and they still wanted the $7.00. I have never been late, only this month because I was paying it off. After one day late they call me at work. My payment was due on the 10th and today is the 13th. Please do not do any business with them. I only had problems. I am glad it is over. Very difficult people to deal with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 21, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We are sorry to hear about the concerns you are having with the program and your account. We would like to work with you to resolve these concerns. A customer experience advocate has reached out to further assist you.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • Run from this place!

    Overall Experience:

    This company is a total scam! Do not walk from this place; I suggest you run. I was charged huge fees after making monthly deposits, and very small amount went to my debt. I will be filing a complaint with the better business bureau. The employees there are liars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We're so sorry to hear about the concerns you are experiencing Regina. Our fees will vary rarely surpass the settlement amount, and if that's the case, that would mean your settlement was less than 25%, a savings of at least 75%. We would be happy to review the account with you, and a customer experience advocate will be reaching out to you shortly.


  • Not satisfied with Freedom Debt Relief

    • By April N,
    • Michigan,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up with Freedom Debt Relief this past January. Although the customer service was good, this program did nothing for me other than cause my credit score to decrease. They did explain about depositing into your dedicated account monthly, stop paying your bills in order to help with settlement offers, and did state my credit would go down some. In three months, my score went down by 46 points. They also didn't state that not all creditors accept settlement offers. At that point, I called them to cancel my program. Luckily, I didn't go past four months with this program, otherwise, I probably would have received charge-offs and could have been sued. Thankfully, my creditors have been nice in working with me after explaining what happened.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the program April. While we work with all creditors and collection agencies, it can be 4 to 6 months before seeing your first settlement. We strive to maintain transparency around the credit impact, and rebuilding your credit score without a large debt to income ratio is often easier than rebuilding while carrying the burden of a large debt. We would be happy to further review the account with you, and determine if anything can be done at this time. Please provide us with an email address that we can reach you at, so a customer experience advocate can contact you.


  • Don't be fooled

    Overall Experience:

    Everything seemed so great at first, one payment a month and then you're done, right? Wrong. I'm in my 6th year with them, mostly paid off, but they won't close them, so it shows on my credit report. They do this because you pay a monthly fee with them (~$9). I've had a large account paid off for literally 18 months, and I can't get anywhere with it. Don't be fooled by the enticements of less stress. I've never been more stressed out after working with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 2, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Thank you for allowing us to work with you in resolving your complaint, Mr. Willison. We understand that this review was published publicly after the initial outreach had been made, in order to discuss your concerns. We look forward to a successful completion of your debt relief program, and we want to thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • Terrible experience so far

    • By Sara H.,
    • South Dakota,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been enrolled in the Freedom Debt Relief for around two months. Absolutely nothing has been done by Freedom Debt Relief. The only thing that has happened is my credit score dropped 75 POINTS (I wish I could bold and highlight this) due to my missed payments, which is a program requirement. My "specialist" gives me the runaround. When I asked for an update via email, I was told to look at my dashboard and that he didn't "write long emails." Seriously? I was also told when I signed up for the program that due to the amounts owed, ALL of my accounts would be taken care of "right away." We clearly have different views on what "right away" means. So far, my experience has been absolutely terrible, and I am super disappointed (and worried). They definitely sucker you in with promises of your debt improving, but so far, mine is just getting worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 27, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We're sorry to hear the program is not progressing in the way you expected, Sara. Most of our clients will see their initial settlement around 4-6 months into the program. We would be happy to review your account with you and go over any program information, in order to resolve your concerns, please contact our client services department at (800) 655-6303 so we may further assist you.


  • Let's see...hmmmm how about crap?

    • By John F.,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So far they have taken my money when I told them to hold off, then they tell me that I have to wait until Saturday 08/04 (four days later) to call them again to get my money back that I never authorized them to take in the first place.

    So what do I think so far? CRAP, just pure worthless crap!

    Would I recommend them to anyone, a dog, an ape? NO WAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 6, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We're so sorry to hear about your experience, John. We would like the opportunity to correct this for you. A member of our team will reach out to you shortly.


  • Deceptive business practices

    • By Jane W.,
    • California,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They resolved my first debt, and I fell on harder times so I could not make my monthly payments. They should have just terminated my account, but they kept me and charged me $7.25 a month. I got a better job and continued my payments. They offer you a settlement and tell you it is time sensitive, what they should do is call you to discuss the settlement. Be careful as the first settlement they make is not the same as the next one. I found out they offered 24 payments of $10 and a lump sum after that and they take their fee first.

    They then settled a second debt like the first one and planned to take their fee in advance again, cleaning out my account. They are deceptive and use unfair business practices to get you to accept a settlement. Don't fall for it. I canceled my account on 8-24-18, and they took their fee today out of my outstanding balance. I want my money back. I will dispute their charges with my bank tomorrow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 5, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We're sorry to hear you're dissatisfied with the program, Jane. We do our best to negotiate settlements with your best interest in mind. We would be happy to further assist you and a member of our leadership team will contact you shortly. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • Still not very clear on what's happening to my payments

    • By Mary M.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Still not very clear on what's happening to my payments that are being ducked. Creditors keep calling me, texting, and sending emails because they need a payment. At this point, I am not sure if I should recommend this company to anyone because I haven't seen any progress in my account. Honestly, I feel that I should cancel everything and just do it myself. I feel they made me stay behind on all my accounts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Mary,

      We’re so sorry to hear you have had a negative experience. Could you please send us your contact information in a private message so we can look into this further and have someone contact you?


Showing 1-27 of 658

Write a Review for Freedom Debt Relief!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Freedom Debt Relief