Gundry MD Bio Complete 3 Review - Does It Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 19, 2020

Medically Reviewed by Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

This article contains links that should you click and make a purchase, we may earn a commission from the sale. See our Advertiser Disclosure.

Bio Complete 3 is a supplement that claims to improve your gut health and combat leaky gut through butyrate and fiber.

A bottle of Bio Complete 3 has a 30-day supply of capsules. According to the company website, two capsules should be taken twice daily.

Our review of Gundry’s Bio Complete 3 will examine how to take it an what it does, what its ingredients are, and the scientific evidence for the supplement’s efficacy.

Bio Complete 3 Ingredients: Do They Work?

Each capsule contains the following main ingredients:

  • Tributyrin: 1,000 mg
  • Sunfiber: 200 mg
  • Bacillus coagulans: 16 mg (2 billion CFU)

Tributyrin is a form of butyrate, a short-chain fatty acid that probiotic bacteria produce as they break down starches. Butyrate is formed by the fermentation of unabsorbed carbohydrates and is known as a post-biotic.

Sunfiber is what’s known as a “prebiotic” or food that your body’s probiotics need. In addition to supporting the actions of probiotics, they are thought to benefit weight management, digestive health, and immune function.

The final ingredient, bacillus coagulans, is a probiotic. These friendly gut bacteria live in your gut and may offer a wide array of health benefits.

The core of Bio Complete 3’s claimed efficacy is butyrate, a “postbiotic” that your body typically produces as good bacteria work in your stomach and intestines.

By taking postbiotic as a supplement, you supply it to your intestines as an addition to what your body is already making.

Butyrate in low concentrations (<2mM) in your intestines can be helpful but that taking too much (5 or 8mM) of it can harm your intestinal barrier. The 1000mg of tributyrin in Bio Complete 3 falls well within the safe range.

The studies that analyzed butyrate’s effect on the intestinal lining were done in a laboratory setting, so it is unclear if these levels are comparable to what would be safe in real life.

As for helping with weight loss, the analysis said the current research indicates some positive results in mice, but there were no mentions of human studies.

With that said, the preliminary research is promising that butyrate can help with weight loss in obese individuals.

A few studies showed that levels of butyrate could contribute to obesity instead of combating it. Keep in mind, these findings were in laboratory and animal models; this does not guarantee the same effects in humans.

We talked with a Seattle-based doctor who told us that butyrate is helpful in some cases but not in most. That is because it takes evaluation to understand if taking supplemental butyrate will solve the issues the patient is dealing with.

Another source, board-certified gastroenterologist Dr. Lawrence Hoberman, told us that butyrate plays an important role in nourishing the lining of the colon.

While he didn’t say how effective butyrate could be when consumed as a supplement, he said you can boost your production of it by taking prebiotics and probiotics that promote the growth of the good bacteria that produce butyrate.

Finally, an additional study in a 2011 edition of the World Journal of Gastroenterology analyzing existing studies about butyrate’s effectiveness found myriad uses fatty acid. However, more studies would need to be done to pinpoint for which conditions it works best, HighYa’s medical advisor Dr. Jason Reed, PharmD, said.

As for Bio Complete 3’s other ingredients, there’s extensive literature supporting the benefits of taking fiber (Sunfiber) and probiotics.

Daily doses of B. coagulans MTCC 5856 at 2 billion CFU improved digestive symptoms and reduced inflammation in 40 patients with IBS.

Gundry MD does not share the specific strain of B. coagulans, however. This makes it challenging to compare to the available literature as the effects are strain specific.

Tthe study says the probiotic had a positive effect on IBS patients. This does not mean that it will have a positive effect on healthy patients. More studies would have to be done to find out if taking bacillus coagulans would be worth taking for healthy people, Reed said.

Sunfiber may also offer benefits, particularly in those with IBS. Three grams per day over a week improved bloating and gas when compared to placebo. Though benefits were seen, doses more than 10x higher than what is offered by Bio Complete 3 were used.

Also, similar results may not be seen in healthy subjects.

Takeaway: Although some support exists for these ingredients, results seen in laboratory and animal settings may not relate to human subjects. More research is needed to support the claims made by Gundry MD.

Safety and Side Effects

Earlier, we’d mentioned that the Gundry MD phone rep told us that those who are new to gut supplements should start with two capsules a day.

This is because taking four capsules could have a pretty substantial effect on your gut; the phone rep used the word “shock.”

Also, taking butyrate at doses much larger than what is found in Bio Complete 3 may actually damage the lining of your digestive tract.

You may experience mild gas and bloating, which are commonly reported side effects with probiotic use. These symptoms are easily relieved by reducing the dose or discontinuing the supplement.

Cost and Return Policy

This supplement comes at three price points:

  • 1 Bottle: $69.95
  • 3 Bottles: $188.95
  • 6 Bottles: $353.70

Gundry MD covers their supplements with a 90-day, money-back guarantee. If you aren’t happy with Bio Complete 3 within the first 90 days after your purchase, you can contact customer support at (800) 852-0477 to start your refund.

Their website says that they’ll process your refund with “no questions, no hassle.” We read through the fine print and found no hidden rules or exceptions that negate the guarantee.

The Bottom Line

This supplement presents some serious question marks about its ability to follow through on its claims to improve your gut health and help you lose weight.

There isn’t a consensus among medical experts that taking butyrate supplements will provide the benefits found in testing done in labs and on animals. Therefore, we think buying this supplement is a risk because the outcome is unknown.

That being said, the fiber and probiotics the supplement contains are a starting point if you’re looking to improve your gut health.

Fiber, in particular, is well-known for helping with regular bowel movements, lowering glucose levels, and dropping your blood cholesterol.

Probiotics are a burgeoning field with new research appearing regularly.

Special Offer

Looking for a Way to Get in Shape, Lose Weight, and Improve Your Health?

We recommend the Noom wellness app based on our extensive research and high customer rating. Noom is offering our readers a 14-day trial for a limited time. Click here for this special offer and to learn more about the program.



Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD Bio Complete 3:
  • 139 Customer Reviews
  • 89% Recommend This Product
4.1 out of 5
5 star: 34% 4 star: 51% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 5%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • 5 STAR

    • By William C.,
    • Harleysville, PA,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Started taking this over 2 weeks ago, I had IBS and within 4 days it was gone. Last 2 weeks no more IBS. For me, Bio Complete 3 has to be the reason. I'll continue on this supplement and will look into Dr. Gundry's other products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Definitely recommend Bio Complete 3

    • By Toni C.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I believe this product has helped me with bloating and constipation within the first week of taking. I have had these problems most of my life and tried other probiotics with no noticeable difference. I take 4 capsules at night before bed. Overall I do feel like I have more energy and less joint and muscle pain. I would definitely recommend this product. Works for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bio Complete 3 works!

    • By Lauren S.,
    • Southern California,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been plagued with occasional IBS, constipation, loose stools, indigestion, and bloating over the past few years. The bloating was getting terrible this past year (2019). My doctor prescribed a probiotic and it helped some, but it didn't seem to be enough. Lately, I was buying Gas-X (simethicone) and taking an extra-strength pill nightly to ease my big, gassy belly. I read Dr. Gundry's information, and it made sense. I purchased a whole year's worth of Bio Complete 3, knowing I could return the balance of any unused product within 90 days if I did not feel it worked (but locking in the better bulk price). Let me tell you, IT DOES WORK. I have not taken a Gas-X pill for a month, since starting on the supplement, and my belly has reduced. I plan to keep up with the supplement (I started with one tablet week one and two, then graduated to two; I don't feel I need four so am staying on two a day for now) and add in some good health changes (diet and exercise) to make positive strides toward weight loss and feeling better. I'm 66 and feeling great. I recommend you try Bio Complete 3 if you have digestive trouble. It definitely is working for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bio Complete 3 caused constipation and blockage

    • By Patricia I.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I do not have any chronic gut problems but Dr. Gundy's video was so compelling I decided to give it a try to see if it helped with weight loss as promised. After taking the Bio Complete 3 as directed for 12 days, I noticed that I was feeling constipated, having chronic urges to try to have a BM, and having diarrhea along with the feeling of having a blockage that the loose stools were attempting to work their way around. I had such a hard time, that I purchased an enema, glycerin suppositories, and Seneca tea which finally assisted in clearing the blockage and returning to normal bowel movements. When I wrote to Dr. Gundy MD, I was shocked to receive a reply from a customer service rep who asked me the IDENTICAL QUESTIONS that I was asked a few months ago when I returned pro-biotics to DR. MARTY, a veterinarian who sells probiotics for dogs. My dog had a serious skin reaction to his probiotics. I am thinking the two companies are one and the same, and selling junk science to unsuspecting customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 21, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Patricia, I'm very sorry that our Bio Complete 3 was not the right fit for you. We understand that everybody is different so we ask that our customers consult their physician prior to starting any new supplement. Those are not typical side effects so I have escalated your issue to our Customer Relations team. Please expect to hear back within 1-2 business days. With that said, I ask that you email me at aria@gundrymd.com as I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. In regards to Dr. Marty, we are in no way associated with that company. Thank you for leaving a review.


  • Starting the program

    • By Martin N.,
    • Boone County, KY,
    • Jan 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My weight is 212lbs and I am in excellent health and shape. My issue is stubborn belly fat ugh. So here I am starting the program today. I have six bottles and I am taking 4 pills and drinking 9 oz 1 pt of water. So in 30 days I will revisit and tell you my progress. I measure 44" around my belly. With a 31" waist. So I am hoping I will reduce belly to 43 in a week then 42 in two days, 41 in two days. Wow, that means I need another .5 lb to drop a day to reach the 30-day goal. I have to admit this may take 2 to 3 months. We shall see. "Good luck chap," as the Brits would say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 27, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Martin, thank you for giving Bio Complete 3 a try! Keep us updated on your progress and if during your trial you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you! Thank you!


  • Bio Complete 3

    • By William L.,
    • Indiana,
    • Jan 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Have taken Bio Complete 3 for the last three weeks and have been quite happy with the results. Was having bloating and gas and some of the symptoms of IBS, no bloating and regular BMs, so have no complaints about the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works for me

    • By Lorrie L.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Feb 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I’ve now completed 3 weeks at the recommended dosage. Two in the am and two in the pm. My BM is finally normal, meaning 2-3 times a day and feeling as if I’m emptying out. Prior to that I never felt like a completed BM. I suffered with bloating. Gas. Constipation. Feeling awful. I also suffer from Diverticulitis. I think I might have lost a couple of pounds but mostly just feel satisfied most of the time. I eat portion-controlled meals, drink a lot of water.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love the product

    • By Verna H.,
    • Gasport, NY,
    • Feb 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using Bio Complete now for a couple of weeks. I am 85 years old and had a lifetime of constipation and bowel problems. I am doing great, feel so much better and have a granddaughter with the same problem. She loves it too. So I am going to order 6 bottles and we are both going to stay happy. Thank you Dr. Gundry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • SO FAR GREAT!

    • By Gerrette B.,
    • California,
    • Mar 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just started taking Bio Complete (4 days), so this review may be a little early to complete (hence the 4 stars instead of 5), BUT I felt compelled to write this because the change in my BM’s and overall energy is remarkable in just a few days. Prior to this I was taking probiotics recommended by my local health store and have for years suffered from constipation, bloating, hemorrhoids, and overall gut problems. I have been taking two a day, one in the early AM and one before bedtime. Feeling great and BM’s are easy, painless, and back to daily!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bio Complete 3

    • By Marsha F.,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Mar 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using Bio Complete 3 for 3.5 weeks. There is no doubt that I am having less constipation, which is great! However, my concern is that the color of my bowels has turned yellow. This has me concerned. The color is usually brown. I stopped taking the Bio Complete 3 for 2 days and although slightly constipated (again) the color returned to brown. I have read that yellow bowel color is not good. I'd like to know if anyone else has had this problem and if after time this goes away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 12, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Marsha, as always, we ask that our customers consult their physicians prior to starting any new supplement to ensure that it is the right fit. With that said, I suggest that you stop taking Bio Complete 3 until you've done so. You can find a full list of ingredients on our official website. If you find that Bio Complete 3 is not the product for you, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you with a full refund.


  • Feeling the difference

    • By Keith B.,
    • Michigan,
    • Apr 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I want to start by saying I work in the health care field and I understand that majority of the medical community treats symptoms not dysfunctions. Therefore, I am very skeptical of many products and understand it's a billion-dollar industry, in which everyone is trying to make a "buck." After researching the claims Dr. Gundry teaches us, I was convinced and had to buy his book "The Plant Paradox" and the cookbook that goes with it. He hits every level of commonsense with his explanations. I eventually had to try the product Bio Complete 3. I have to admit, everything he claims this product does; more energy, less foggy brain, regular bowel movements, etc., is true. My gut feels better and I have lost 5-8 lbs, and have only been using this product for roughly 2-3 weeks. I did not buy Bio Complete 3 to lose weight, I just wanted to have a normal gut. I will be using this product to help bridge my "feeling better" to improving my family diet (hard to convince a 4-year-old that Kraft Mac and Cheese is terrible).

    I recommend this product and get Dr. Gundry's book, "The Plant Paradox."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 139

Write a Review for Gundry MD Bio Complete 3!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD Bio Complete 3