About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 6 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  0
Bottom Line: 100% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • Total Restore

    Total Restore stopped the reflux, esophagus burning, and intestinal discomfort. My concern is the brain fog that occurred for three weeks. I am changing foods and starting to exercise more.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Healing for the gut lining!

    I have taken different supplements over the years and seldom see any notable difference. So what a surprise when I took the Total Restore the first day and later that evening had a bowel movement with no gut pain afterward. This would be the first time in many years to feel relaxed inwardly after a bowel movement. I thought, "Is this just a fluke? I wonder how tomorrow will be."

    Well, it has been a month now, and truly the gut has been healed in that there is no pain after a bowel movement! I cannot explain it other than the ingredients in Total Restore have brought a soothing and healing to the gut that allows a passing of the waste without it causing an irritation and then probable inflammation of the bowel lining.

    Thank you Dr. Gundry!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good

    I started 25 days ago. Energy is definitely good, a little stomach upset, maybe in combo with other vitamins I take. I take it with my Vital Reds in a smoothie in the morning. But I do not feel the fatigue that I have felt so often in the past. I hope once the system gets used to it the results will be even better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Lemeau! I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I am so happy to hear that you are seeing an improvement in your energy level since beginning Vital Reds! I would like to make sure that you consulted your primary physician prior to beginning Vital Reds to ensure that you do not experience any interactions with other vitamins or medications you may be taking. If you haven't done this yet, please make sure you do so right away! I would love to be updated on your experience as time goes on! Please email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com if you ever have any questions or concerns along the way!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Trying to locate gut help

    In the last six months, I have been leaking stool while walking the dog. This is a quality of life issue, one which has suddenly appeared in my life.

    I bought the product to see if could help me. I started with three a day, as recommended. I could not tell if it was helping me or not, but instead of constant stool leaking while walking, I was having occasional leaking. I moved the amount up to five a day. This seemed to solidify things a little more. Less leaking on the dog walks. This only happens when walking; it seems steady motion is a factor in causing the stool leakage.

    I am at the end of the bottle I bought. I don't know if I should keep going or not, with more time, maybe more improvement. I would be interested in any other suggestions for my problem. And any feedback that the poor person who is reading this might have. I am very active, walking the dog three times a day. I am 69 and athletic. This is a huge problem in my life, so I will take the help and any advice on any other products. I have been to the doctor, and they are saying I am fine, no disease, and don't have a clue what is causing this. Nor do I. Should I keep taking Restore and see what it does over time?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Relief at last

    I have been "shade tree mechanic" for my gut for decades. I first eliminated ice cream and lactose, pork, especially bacon, high fructose syrup, gluten, and cut back on hard to digest large portions.

    However, the vicious circle of stress's impact on (in) digestion was still making life contingent on how gut was "today."

    I had found a good combination of supplements which also helped inflammation for joint pain and my neck discs; however, there were still unexpected, "surprise" G.I. days where I had to spend a day on liquids and slowly load with light foods (eggs, gluten-free waffle).

    In recent years, Mayo Clinic's list of foods to avoid with IBS also helped, but not the problem with feeling un-nourished, and wishing I could just take nourishment with an arm patch!

    Since using Total Restore, I have remained "balanced" and have not had a down day for G.I. rehab (with its misery).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    I started on the Total Restore three weeks ago. I've lost 10 pounds and it's pretty much leveled off so far. I feel much better, although a little tired, so I think I need more fat content.

    I am eating mostly Spinach, Broccoli, carrots, pastured eggs, grass-fed meat, grass-fed milk, wild salmon, blueberries, strawberries, raspberry, avocados, coconut, walnuts, pistachios, and some almonds.

    I am trying to follow the list in the Plant Paradox.

    My blood pressure went from 149/90 to 125/75 in the three weeks, monitoring that weekly now, because my goal is to get off blood pressure medicine and improve cholesterol which I haven't tested yet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore order

    • Washougal, WA,
    • Feb 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking the Total Restore for a couple of weeks now. I was having stomach pains and diarrhea every morning before taking these.

    My gastrointestinal system is working very nicely now, and I am without pain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    So far, I sense that I'm on the right road

    I'm 78, have severe COPD, painful peripheral neuropathy in both feet, lymphedema in both lower legs, and am morosely obese due to years of inactivity. I can't move without lung power. I started Total Restore a month ago. I haven't been on a scale, but my appetite has changed and I know that I've lost some significant weight; I can see it and feel it in my jowls and lower abdominal fat. What is best of all, my legs are not as blown uptight, angry and fevered red, and blistered with "lava." The legs seem to be relaxing and becoming more human again. I'm anxious to see where month two brings me. Thanks, Dr. Gundry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great stuff, it works!

    I suffered a stroke 6 months ago. I take some blood pressure medicine that caused constipation and low energy levels, so for about 4 months I was either constipated or had diarrhea. Until I started taking the Vital Reds, Prebiothrive, and enhanced circulation formula. I made tremendous progress after about two weeks, and after adding the Total Restore and Lectin Shield, I noticed even more improvement in my digestion and energy level. Now I am walking 5-6 miles a day.

    After reading The Plant Paradox, changing my diet, and watching their YouTube videos, I lost 45 pounds, don't need any metformin for my type II diabetics, and yes, I did get a dog. I hope to reduce my blood pressure meds and lose another 15 pounds in the next 5-6 months and get off the blood pressure meds.

    Thank you Dr. Gundry. You truly made a difference in my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I have faith in Dr. Steven Gundry, Plant Paradox seals the deal.

    All is good. The immune system is the key to health beyond age 60 (that's me). The Plant Paradox argument is iron clad; it works but takes discipline. I have given the book to my health providers (a chiropractor and my general practitioner MD) and they are impressed. My good cholesterol number is climbing. Again, it takes discipline, but the alternative is degenerative health. Thank you Dr. Steven Gundry!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 33 people found this review helpful

    A general opinion

    • Manassas, VA,
    • Jan 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been teased by Dr. Gundry's new formula, Total Restore, for a few weeks now as he likes to build up curiosity and excitement. I haven't tried it yet, but I've ordered three bottles so I can report back in a few weeks and see what happens.

    He nailed me almost perfectly. I have all the symptoms he reviews, and I figure it's about the same as a visit with a gastro internist, so why not?

    Here's the reason I've decided to write. I am not affiliated with them in any way shape or form. But I've tried several things and my experience is worth noting.

    I've tried Vital Reds and still take it although I am lazy and forget. I have gotten back on a regular regimen and it helps to deal with polyphenols. It's not terrible to drink so I feel it helps. Amazing tiny amount. Like a coffee scoop but about 1/5th as big. Turns water into a very deep red/purple, and smells 'healthy' for lack of a better term.

    I tried Primal Plants and it was ghastly terrible and so bad I couldn't drink it. I tried, but it was hopelessly terrible. So, like so many online products, I figured I'd lose my money. I called and they suggested a few things that didn't help and I called again and they sent me a return authorization, and I got back 100% minus the $5 to return it, so not really bad.

    Net up, I tried their expensive Tri-Trim, and that cost $240. I tried it for a few weeks and it didn't seem to do much so I called and they instantly refunded ALL $240 on PayPal. No need to return. And I verified the refund was definitely done. I've even resumed taking the Tri-Trim and it's helped me lose a little weight. There are 5 capsules in a pouch you have to take, so if you hate pills, don't do it.

    So, for me, the bottom line is the company is legit and stands behind their products. I'm curious if Total Restore works, but I know if it doesn't they'll stand behind it. If you have to call, they are pretty nice, easy to have a conversation with without endless excuses about returning stuff. They will give you a refund without hassles.

    And lastly. Gundry is legit. He's on a lot of medical reviews and has actually done cardiac surgeries. He's not a 'name doc' who's not actually done anything. He's what he claims to be

    If you're thinking about taking Total Restore (as I am going to do), then go for it as they will not jerk you around. The Tri-Trim didn't even get returned, and I still have 2 boxes in the closet! I realize this wasn't a review of the product but this might make you more willing to give it a try!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review