About HelloFresh

In business since 2008, HelloFresh is a subscription food delivery service that claims to making cooking easy by delivering “delicious and healthy recipes with all the pre-measured ingredients to your door each week.”

Each HelloFresh box is claimed to include seasonal, high-quality, and fresh food obtained directly from “mall farmers, butchers, fish mongers and fellow culinary enthusiasts,” as well as signature step-by-step recipes from a variety of cuisines, each of which are reviewed by their in-house dietician to ensure they’re balanced and nutritious.

Overall, HelloFresh claims to make cooking convenient and easy, to feature fresh ingredients and exciting recipes, and to eliminate food waste by providing you with just the right portion sizes.

According to HelloFresh, the process works over 4 steps:

  1. HelloFresh creates delicious and nutritious recipes.
  2. You choose the recipes you like (more about this next), and HelloFresh will send you all the ingredients.
  3. The ingredients are delivered to your door, for free, in an insulated box.
  4. You cook your meal in about 30 minutes.

It’s hard to resist the temptation of farm-fresh ingredients and easy recipes on your doorstep. But is this really what HelloFresh offers, and are they worth the price? Consider the following:

Different HelloFresh Box Types

HelloFresh offers 2 different types of boxes:

  • Classic Box – Claimed to be HelloFresh’s most popular option. Includes three meals for 2 or 4 people, most of which feature some sort of meat (e.g. poultry, pork, etc.)
  • Veggie Box – Claimed to contain the same delicious recipes and farm fresh ingredients as the Classic Box, but tailored toward vegetarians (note: there is no vegan option).

After choosing your box, you’ll then need to enter your delivery zip code. From there, you can choose between Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday delivery options (between 8am and 8pm).

Finally, at the bottom of the page, your first delivery date will be displayed. Once you’re ready to go, simply click the Add to Cart button to checkout.

What Does HelloFresh Really Offer?

When it comes down to it, the biggest advantage that HelloFresh claims to provide is saving you from having to visit the grocery store. However, is this really the case?

After all, unless HelloFresh sends you everything you’ll need to eat for the week (which they don’t), you’ll still have to visit the grocery store to buy meal ingredients for the other 4 days of the week.

In other words, you’ll pay a premium for having your meals planned in advance and sent to your door, which will certainly save some time, but it won’t eliminate the need to regularly visit the grocery store.

See Also: The Pros & Cons of Grocery Delivery Services (Plus Comparison of Popular Companies)

Also, consider that cooking food usually the most difficult and time-consuming part; not picking up the groceries from your local store, so you’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of HelloFresh carefully before committing to a purchase.

Important note: HelloFresh currently only delivers to the 48 contiguous US states, although they claim to be working on a way to reach AK and HI customers in the future.

Other Meal Delivery Options

Next, although HelloFresh has been in business for quite some time, they’re not the only meal delivery service game in town, which includes competitors like Blue Apron and Plated. We’ll talk more about these options next.

Mixed Customer Reviews for HelloFresh

HelloFresh had an average rating of 2 stars based on 43 Yelp customer reviews (as of 5/29/15). While some reviewers found HelloFresh’s recipes to be delicious, their meals-in-a-box to be convenient, and their instructions easy to follow, the most common complaints appeared to cite:

  • Food received in poor condition or that spoiled quickly (in fact, one reviewer claimed roaches emerged from their sealed box after opening),
  • Difficulty using their website/understanding when accounts should be cancelled so as not to be charged for another box, and
  • Poor customer service experiences.

LifeHacker wrote an in-depth review comparing HelloFresh to other popular subscription food delivery services, and found that:

  • Their per-person price was the highest of the three,
  • They offered a moderate level of meal options,
  • Their recipes were simple and easy to follow, with “the most factual information, including a kitchen tools list and estimated nutrition (not just calories, but carbs, fat, protein, and fiber).”
  • However, their recipes were also noted to be “fairly basic and unsurprising—lots of pastas for the vegetarian options, for example.”

Overall, the author tied the winners between Plated and Blue Apron, essentially putting HelloFresh in the last place.

From a company perspective, HelloFresh is based out of New York, NY and held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. Of the 33 closed complaints listed (as of 5/29/15), the company failed to respond to 13 of them.

There, common complaints appeared to revolve around ingredients received in poor condition (mold, wilted, etc.), difficulty receiving refunds, and difficulty using discounts and promotional coupons.

HelloFresh Pricing & Refund Policy

HelloFresh boxes are priced as follows:

  • 2-Person Classic Box: $69
  • 4-Person Classic Box: $129
  • 2-Person Veggie Box: $59
  • 4-Person Veggie Box: $109

According to the HelloFresh Terms, a customer “must cancel his or her subscription with HelloFresh no later than midnight on Wednesday the week before the next delivery.” This means you’ll need to contact the company at least a week in advance if you don’t want to receive any additional boxes.

Once this occurs, you’ll receive a pro-rated refund for the remainder of your subscription period. Outside of this, however, unless in instances of damaged or defective products, no refunds are available.

In order to request a refund or cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-733-2414.

Should You Give HelloFresh a Try?

Chopping to the point: From less-than-stellar customer feedback to placing last in LifeHacker’s comparison, although HelloFresh certainly offers some advantages, it appears they leave a lot to be desired in the meal kit delivery industry. As such, you might be better served by some of their competition.

If you do decide to give HelloFresh a try, though, you’ll definitely want to watch a series of videos on their Managing Subscriptions page, since one of the primary customer complaints revolved around how to cancel subscriptions, skip a week, or how to switch between 2 and 4-person boxes.

Have you tried HelloFresh? If so, tell us (and 1.2 million HighYa readers) about your experience by writing a review below!

Also, you’ll find this detailed guide helpful: Comparing Costs: Popular Meal Kit Delivery Services vs. Groceries

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

104 Consumer Reviews for HelloFresh

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 38 4 star: 16 3 star: 5 2 star: 5 1 star:  40
Showing 1-11 of 104
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Not recommending HelloFresh

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I reached out to HelloFresh as soon as I received an email stating my first box was on the way. I never chose a meal or start date.

    I emailed customer service right away, stating there must be a mistake. I received responses from their customer service that was beyond rude!

    One person even canceled my account without speaking to me, and I asked for a supervisor to reach out to me so we can correct the mistake and this same representative told me that I didn't need to speak with a supervisor and that my card would stay charged. Unbelievable that they would say that to me.

    I do NOT recommend HelloFresh as they are reputable and their customer service needs an extreme makeover.

    I gave them four chances to rectify this problem and they have chosen not to correct it. So I will let the world know how awful they are as a company.

    Choose another company for your meals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Charged without ordering

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend submitted my information for a "free" coupon for HelloFresh. I was super busy and HelloFresh was not a priority, so I didn't act on the offer. HelloFresh sent me emails and correspondence constantly until I gave in to check it out.

    I went to their website and started the process, to evaluate whether or not it was for me. When I got to the point of choosing my food, everything I wanted was going to cost an additional $10. This seemed deceptive, since everything prior to that point had indicated a set price without extra charges. Since the company had broken my trust (in my opinion), and the choices that were included without extra charge were not what I would choose, I decided it was not for me, and never submitted my order.

    SURPRISE! I opened my front door to find a HelloFresh box! It has been 90+ degrees, the inside of the box was not cool, one of the cooling gel packs had leaked all over, and since I didn't know what day it came, I had to throw it away. Last night, I happened to look at my PayPal account to find that HelloFresh charged me $59.94 yesterday!

    Confused, I called today, and was told that they couldn't do anything for me because the deadline had past days ago! (even though the charge just went through yesterday). So, by the time I was charged, it was too late to do anything about it! I asked to speak to a supervisor, and was told the same - no refund. No partial refund. They won't do anything for me. I asked to escalate to that person's supervisor and was told that they don't take calls.

    I was also informed that my account was ACTIVE, so I logged in and canceled it. But they will do nothing to make this right. In the end, I have wasted food and a charge for a service, even though I never completed a request for food. I was also charged an additional $1 for some random reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great idea but needs more variety in menu selection and bigger portions

    • California,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only been with HelloFresh now for about four weeks. I really like the idea of the meal prep kits, but I'm getting a little bored already. I would like to see more variety of selection in the vegetables or be able to swap out a vegetable (green beans) on a meal if I'm already having that vegetable on one of my meal selections for the week.

    As much as I like burgers and tacos, I'd like to see more substantial items on the menu for the price point per meal as well as larger portions. Some items just aren't enough for two people. One of the meals had brown buttered corn, and we received a head of corn for two people. It was barely enough for one.

    All in all, the food is tasty and simple to fix, and I like the idea of being able to skip a week if I don't like ANY of the selection for the week. In four weeks I have already had to skip a week. And it looks like there will be one more skipped week in July. This leaves me with having to figure out a full week's meals instead of my normal two days.

    I really hope they take this feedback to heart and are able to make some changes to keep this delivery service HelloFresh in terms of meal ideas.

    Thanks for listening.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not enough vegetables

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not a large enough variety of vegetables, always sending tomatoes, arugula, potatoes, and zucchini. Way too much pasta. Zero nutritional value in pasta. No way to let HelloFresh know what items you don’t want to receive. No option for allergies or dietary restrictions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Mushroom Gravy Chicken

    • Grove City, PA,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Chicken meal was delicious; I have enough for a whole other meal. I live by myself. I was disappointed, I thought I ordered the steak meal, but instead I got the meatloaf. Can you let them know about the mix-up? I apologize if I'm wrong, but I wouldn't have ordered the meatloaf meal since I can't eat potatoes. Can you please check the order and see if I made the mistake?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Delicious! Fast! Satisfying! At last we're cooking.

    • Burlingame, CA,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before: my wife yearns that I cook. It's Sunday, 3 pm. Shall I scout and select recipes and calculate, list, and go shopping for ingredients? No, there are many more compelling Sunday activities to choose from!

    After: Open the HelloFresh box that arrived on our doorstep. Take out three brown bags with ingredients for three great vegetarian dinners. After a busy day at work, there's something so relaxing about putting the Chill playlist on the speaker and preparing a tasty meal that my wife, daughter and I love, in 30-45 minutes. Ingredients are pre-sized, so the planning and procurement are eliminated! Directions are simple and visual. Satisfaction is enormous! We savor the meals and have much more fun eating together than the minimalist, survival meals we had before. Great concept. Well-executed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Cook like a professional

    • Florida,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I love HelloFresh and have recommended it to many of our friends. The food is always fresh, and everything is delicious! We look forward to our weekly deliveries.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good and teaches

    • Niagara Falls, NY,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The menu is varied; some are excellent, some are middle of the road. Also, it is a good teaching tool as to what portion sizes should look like. It has made me use spices and vegetables I would have never gotten on my own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Delicious, easy meals

    • Minnesota,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been getting HelloFresh for several weeks now and I am really enjoying my subscription. The meals are easy to prepare (even for a non-cook like me!) and taste delicious. The servings are very generous.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wonderful

    • Menomonee Falls, WI,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HelloFresh makes dinner easy, without the hassle of making the grocery list and going to the store when I already have such a busy schedule. All the meals are packaged separately, which is a plus! It’s a great thing for my husband and I to do together. All the recipes have been delicious!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Happy subscriber- though not perfect

    • Washington,
    • Jun 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had many reasons not to join a delivery dinner service, but upon receiving a free weeks worth of meals, I figured I had nothing to lose. Fast forward, three months later, and I'm a huge fan! I can't wait for dinner to arrive on my doorstep!

    HelloFresh has saved me countless hours of driving to and from the store, meal planning, and prep, that I'll be a customer for life!

    Though, they are not perfect. I have received dinner with missing or spoiled food on more than one occasion, and have had open protein spill into the box (more than one times). So totally not cool in all areas. I suspect they grew faster than anticipated, and will work out the kinks.

    Otherwise, dinner is always good, with a fun variety, and fast, easy to make recipes. I have recommended HelloFresh many times, and will continue to do so.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 104

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review