About HelloFresh

In business since 2008, HelloFresh is a subscription food delivery service that claims to making cooking easy by delivering “delicious and healthy recipes with all the pre-measured ingredients to your door each week.”

Each HelloFresh box is claimed to include seasonal, high-quality, and fresh food obtained directly from “mall farmers, butchers, fish mongers and fellow culinary enthusiasts,” as well as signature step-by-step recipes from a variety of cuisines, each of which are reviewed by their in-house dietician to ensure they’re balanced and nutritious.

Overall, HelloFresh claims to make cooking convenient and easy, to feature fresh ingredients and exciting recipes, and to eliminate food waste by providing you with just the right portion sizes.

According to HelloFresh, the process works over 4 steps:

  1. HelloFresh creates delicious and nutritious recipes.
  2. You choose the recipes you like (more about this next), and HelloFresh will send you all the ingredients.
  3. The ingredients are delivered to your door, for free, in an insulated box.
  4. You cook your meal in about 30 minutes.

It’s hard to resist the temptation of farm-fresh ingredients and easy recipes on your doorstep. But is this really what HelloFresh offers, and are they worth the price? Consider the following:

Different HelloFresh Box Types

HelloFresh offers 2 different types of boxes:

  • Classic Box – Claimed to be HelloFresh’s most popular option. Includes three meals for 2 or 4 people, most of which feature some sort of meat (e.g. poultry, pork, etc.)
  • Veggie Box – Claimed to contain the same delicious recipes and farm fresh ingredients as the Classic Box, but tailored toward vegetarians (note: there is no vegan option).

After choosing your box, you’ll then need to enter your delivery zip code. From there, you can choose between Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday delivery options (between 8am and 8pm).

Finally, at the bottom of the page, your first delivery date will be displayed. Once you’re ready to go, simply click the Add to Cart button to checkout.

What Does HelloFresh Really Offer?

When it comes down to it, the biggest advantage that HelloFresh claims to provide is saving you from having to visit the grocery store. However, is this really the case?

After all, unless HelloFresh sends you everything you’ll need to eat for the week (which they don’t), you’ll still have to visit the grocery store to buy meal ingredients for the other 4 days of the week.

In other words, you’ll pay a premium for having your meals planned in advance and sent to your door, which will certainly save some time, but it won’t eliminate the need to regularly visit the grocery store.

See Also: The Pros & Cons of Grocery Delivery Services (Plus Comparison of Popular Companies)

Also, consider that cooking food usually the most difficult and time-consuming part; not picking up the groceries from your local store, so you’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of HelloFresh carefully before committing to a purchase.

Important note: HelloFresh currently only delivers to the 48 contiguous US states, although they claim to be working on a way to reach AK and HI customers in the future.

Other Meal Delivery Options

Next, although HelloFresh has been in business for quite some time, they’re not the only meal delivery service game in town, which includes competitors like Blue Apron and Plated. We’ll talk more about these options next.

Mixed Customer Reviews for HelloFresh

HelloFresh had an average rating of 2 stars based on 43 Yelp customer reviews (as of 5/29/15). While some reviewers found HelloFresh’s recipes to be delicious, their meals-in-a-box to be convenient, and their instructions easy to follow, the most common complaints appeared to cite:

  • Food received in poor condition or that spoiled quickly (in fact, one reviewer claimed roaches emerged from their sealed box after opening),
  • Difficulty using their website/understanding when accounts should be cancelled so as not to be charged for another box, and
  • Poor customer service experiences.

LifeHacker wrote an in-depth review comparing HelloFresh to other popular subscription food delivery services, and found that:

  • Their per-person price was the highest of the three,
  • They offered a moderate level of meal options,
  • Their recipes were simple and easy to follow, with “the most factual information, including a kitchen tools list and estimated nutrition (not just calories, but carbs, fat, protein, and fiber).”
  • However, their recipes were also noted to be “fairly basic and unsurprising—lots of pastas for the vegetarian options, for example.”

Overall, the author tied the winners between Plated and Blue Apron, essentially putting HelloFresh in the last place.

From a company perspective, HelloFresh is based out of New York, NY and held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. Of the 33 closed complaints listed (as of 5/29/15), the company failed to respond to 13 of them.

There, common complaints appeared to revolve around ingredients received in poor condition (mold, wilted, etc.), difficulty receiving refunds, and difficulty using discounts and promotional coupons.

HelloFresh Pricing & Refund Policy

HelloFresh boxes are priced as follows:

  • 2-Person Classic Box: $69
  • 4-Person Classic Box: $129
  • 2-Person Veggie Box: $59
  • 4-Person Veggie Box: $109

According to the HelloFresh Terms, a customer “must cancel his or her subscription with HelloFresh no later than midnight on Wednesday the week before the next delivery.” This means you’ll need to contact the company at least a week in advance if you don’t want to receive any additional boxes.

Once this occurs, you’ll receive a pro-rated refund for the remainder of your subscription period. Outside of this, however, unless in instances of damaged or defective products, no refunds are available.

In order to request a refund or cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-733-2414.

Should You Give HelloFresh a Try?

Chopping to the point: From less-than-stellar customer feedback to placing last in LifeHacker’s comparison, although HelloFresh certainly offers some advantages, it appears they leave a lot to be desired in the meal kit delivery industry. As such, you might be better served by some of their competition.

If you do decide to give HelloFresh a try, though, you’ll definitely want to watch a series of videos on their Managing Subscriptions page, since one of the primary customer complaints revolved around how to cancel subscriptions, skip a week, or how to switch between 2 and 4-person boxes.

Have you tried HelloFresh? If so, tell us (and 1.2 million HighYa readers) about your experience by writing a review below!

Also, you’ll find this detailed guide helpful: Comparing Costs: Popular Meal Kit Delivery Services vs. Groceries

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

123 Consumer Reviews for HelloFresh

Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 39 4 star: 16 3 star: 6 2 star: 5 1 star:  57
Showing 1-11 of 123
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Bait and switch

    • Boulder, CO,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed on for a $59/week plan and was happy at first with the recipes. They were tasty and the instructions were easy for my 11-year-old to follow (although they take way longer to prep than they claim). We did notice that the veggies were often not fresh and we once received shrimp that was inedible. I highly recommend that you avoid ordering seafood from them. It's just not fresh.

    Then they started to introduce "premium" meals, which cost quite a bit extra. I ordered one without realizing it and vowed to pay closer attention in the future. Soon after that, there was a week which I carefully skipped since we had out-of-town guests. But I received an email letting me know my credit card had been charged. I called immediately to tell them not to ship it and they said I had ordered it and they couldn't cancel shipment even though it was several days ahead. Coincidentally they were shipping me two premium meals which added $28 to my weekly bill. I don't even eat steak and had indicated that in my preferences, but they were shipping me steak and lobster which I had not ordered.

    Customer service was completely unapologetic, so I canceled my subscription. This was not the first time I had received the wrong meals and I was no longer comfortable giving them free reign on my credit card. Luckily I was able to dispute the charge with my credit card company.

    HelloFresh won't last long with customer service like this. At best they are ignorant, and at worst they are baiting and switching intentionally.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Beware!

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a coupon and was going to give HelloFresh a try. Once they had my credit card number, it was all over. Screens started flashing before my eyes, racking up charge after charge after charge. Before I could pick up the phone to tell my credit card company that fraud was occurring, the siphoning of funds had already begun. Needless to say, since I wasn't even afforded a chance to pick any food, they were stealing my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This is A SCAM!

    • Germany,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've registered and ordered my first meal with the app in Germany, but it didn't mention anything about weekly delivery!

    Now I'm getting a 43 EUR box which is actually worth 20 EUR and I don't need and won't use!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • How is this worth the price?

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mom decided to try HelloFresh a while ago. She liked it, but I wasn't impressed; I thought the recipes too simple, the portions too small, and the price too high. Mom likes to look for recipes online, so the planning angle wasn't worth it. The price seemed awfully high, so the value angle didn't work. And then it's not easy, because we still had to cook.

    Okay, so now we're coming up to Thanksgiving. Mom suggested we try the HelloFresh box, so I said I'd look into it. They say it serves 8-10; given their idea of decent portion sizes, I'd say it might stretch to 8, but not to 10. You don't get much for the $160 or so (including shipping). You get a respectable-sized turkey, but when you figure out you're paying about $60 for a turkey you could get up the street at Aldi for under $15, you start to wonder what you're paying for. The sides and dessert are probably pretty good, but for that much money, I expect something more than bread stuffing, green beans, mashed potatoes, canned cranberry sauce, and an apple crisp. None of this stuff is prepared; they say the whole thing can be done in 4 hours, but it looks like a tough 4 hours to me. None of us wants to spend the day in the kitchen, and we REALLY don't want to spend another day cleaning up after - at those prices, couldn't they include foil pans? Couldn't they throw in some dinner rolls?

    We're going to stick with having it catered. The price is a tad lower, and we get what we want and as much of it as we want.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    First order a flop, cancelled after that

    • Cameron Park, CA,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I set up my account, I started to enter my address and it pre-populated with my current address. I hit the save button and moved on. I hit the send button and awaited anxiously for my first order to arrive. As the day went on, I started to become worried about the delivery, so I tracked the package. It was sent to an old address. I went into my account and saw my old address on the account. I immediately went in and changed it using the pre-population feature. I hit the save button. Guess what? My old address was still showing up. I did this three times.

    On the fourth time, I manually entered my address, hit the save button and it worked. So, I called HelloFresh and explained what had happened. They said that the package had not been delivered so I could recall it. I told them that it had been delivered because I was aware of the cutoff time for deliveries. They told me to call UPS because they could not help me. I called UPS and, as expected, the package had been delivered.

    I went back into my account and canceled my subscription. It was my fault for not double checking my address. It is, however, an obvious flaw in their system when an address does not save. They did not offer to work on a solution. I am out the money that I paid for the meals, and now I have to run to the store to buy dinner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Minnesota,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered HelloFresh for the first time a few weeks ago. I decided to try HelloFresh because of a promo code I received where I was supposed to get $20.00 off my first three orders. After my first order, I was charged full price plus more. I did not understand why so I contacted customer service to help explain it to me. My experience was AWFUL! The female who answered my call was so rude. At one point I asked her to please stop being rude and to be more patient to help me understand the charges. She did not hear one word I was saying. After the call, I requested her name and to speak with a supervisor. I'm not the person who takes the time to make a complaint like this. I'm a firm believer that everyone has bad days but I just could not let this one go.

    I was forced to leave a message with a supervisor, Jason. Jason did return my phone call a few hours later but I was in a meeting. I returned his phone call later that day and was placed on hold for an extended amount of time and transferred to someone else. Apparently Jason had left early that day. I was told Jason would have to handle my call and that he would not be able to return my call until Monday. Although, I thought this was ridiculous considering how big of office HelloFresh has and how many employees it has, I told them I would be patient and wait with my concerns until Monday.

    Monday comes and guess what? No return phone call! I contacted customer service on Tuesday for follow up and was put on hold for another 40 minutes. My call was taken by Yesemia. I again explained my reason for calling. She assured me someone would counsel the employee who was rude to me. When I asked if the conversation was documented and asked if she knew what employee I was concerned with, she read off a name that was not correct. So you're going to counsel the wrong employee on their behavior while answering phone calls? I asked her if Jason would please follow up with me and contact me via phone. She said Jason would contact me via email or phone. I again requested a phone call. Yesemia then basically told me he would do whatever he had time for. Again, nothing was accomplished. No wonder the employees are rude! No one holds them accountable for their behavior! So here I wait...

    After my first purchase from HelloFresh, I was so impressed with their product, I got five people to sign up as new customers, but then this happened! I regret so badly getting them any new business, and I will highly recommend to those friends to cancel this service and go with a food delivery service that actually values their customers.

    Customer Service is a 0 out of 10.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good value for busy people

    • Perth, Western Australia, Australia,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical when I first tried HelloFresh, but I was given a promo code, so thought why not? I haven’t looked back. Loads of veggies and very filling meals - I’m a big eater and sometimes don’t finish my meal (yay - leftovers!).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    TERRIBLE customer service, LATE delivery, NO refund

    • New York,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ugh, I usually don't care about giving reviews, but this company deserves it. I would give it 0 stars if I could. Terrible customer service, both manager and agent. Delayed delivery and no refund for the unprofessional service. There was so email, no tracking system, nothing. Just "In Transit" after being more than an hour late. If they promised it would come between 8 am and 8 pm, 8:01 is considered late. It is definitely a few hours past 8, I'm hungry, and now need to spend extra to get food instead of the food from HelloFresh that I already paid for.

    The customer service agent and manager both did not help at all. No resolution whatsoever to keep their clients, no refund even after repeatedly explaining how much inconvenience it has caused me and my family. Even when they were clearly wrong, the agent was sarcastic and made it even worse.

    Save your money! Don't waste your time and energy. The only reason I'm doing this is to warn others so they won't have to deal with this disappointing company. There are other better options, better companies who can do better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stealing money

    • Bristol, RI,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My family and I decided to give them a try. The first week, they sent the wrong recipe card. We understood and got the right one. The second week, we received the right meats but the wrong ingredients for the dish. I was given a $23.00 refund for that meal for the following week.

    Next week, I DID NOT receive a box! I called and was told to give it 24 hours. 48 hours later I called and asked for my refund, which I received no problem. The problem was when I asked for a cash refund for the $23.00 because I was canceling the program and since I never received the meal or the "free meal." I was told they can't refund that, it's against their policy, that I could only receive it as a credit. This was after I told them I was canceling and it's not right because I never received that meal in the first place. So that's now three meals I never received. I was told there was nothing they could do.

    The first woman I talked to was fantastic and told me if the supervisor did not provide me with my refund to call corporate that they could assist me. This supervisor told me that they were the highest and that there was no one else I could speak to. When I was first on this program in June, they credited me a whole meal price because I told them one of the limes for the recipe was rotted. Obviously, they have been getting many complaints now because they are holding onto money and no longer the great customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Two reasons I won't be ordering again

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I finally decided to try HelloFresh after seeing a Groupon. The food arrived well-packaged but portions were super small, even for me and my husband, and we are fit/average size 45-ish adults. The printed instructions were well done (good marketing) and attractive. The chicken smelled funky, so I used my own one recipe. Plus it was one breast split in half, so not enough anyway.

    My biggest "beef" is discovering that the fine print somewhere must have committed me to a weekly delivery when I placed my first order. I had no idea until an email tells me my box will be here Monday. The worst part is the meals they sent, we cannot eat. Gluten in every single one. Sooo, that's going to waste.

    I canceled online once I knew I needed to.

    So for these two reasons, I will not be using this meal delivery service again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dumbest idea ever

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The problems with this dumb idea...

    1. I pay them to shop for me in Toronto and ship the food to me in Vancouver - how the heck is this environmentally sound?

    2. The potions for two people is less than needed for one.

    3. Could I have not just gone to the store and buy the ingredients myself?

    At the end of the process, I prep and cook the food. What do they do? Go shopping for me 4,400 Km away.

    4. One of the ingredients was moldy - could have been a one-off, so I won't fault them.

    I have read some good reviews. Are they mental?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 123

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review