About HelloFresh

In business since 2008, HelloFresh is a subscription food delivery service that claims to making cooking easy by delivering “delicious and healthy recipes with all the pre-measured ingredients to your door each week.”

Each HelloFresh box is claimed to include seasonal, high-quality, and fresh food obtained directly from “mall farmers, butchers, fish mongers and fellow culinary enthusiasts,” as well as signature step-by-step recipes from a variety of cuisines, each of which are reviewed by their in-house dietician to ensure they’re balanced and nutritious.

Overall, HelloFresh claims to make cooking convenient and easy, to feature fresh ingredients and exciting recipes, and to eliminate food waste by providing you with just the right portion sizes.

According to HelloFresh, the process works over 4 steps:

  1. HelloFresh creates delicious and nutritious recipes.
  2. You choose the recipes you like (more about this next), and HelloFresh will send you all the ingredients.
  3. The ingredients are delivered to your door, for free, in an insulated box.
  4. You cook your meal in about 30 minutes.

It’s hard to resist the temptation of farm-fresh ingredients and easy recipes on your doorstep. But is this really what HelloFresh offers, and are they worth the price? Consider the following:

Different HelloFresh Box Types

HelloFresh offers 2 different types of boxes:

  • Classic Box – Claimed to be HelloFresh’s most popular option. Includes three meals for 2 or 4 people, most of which feature some sort of meat (e.g. poultry, pork, etc.)
  • Veggie Box – Claimed to contain the same delicious recipes and farm fresh ingredients as the Classic Box, but tailored toward vegetarians (note: there is no vegan option).

After choosing your box, you’ll then need to enter your delivery zip code. From there, you can choose between Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday delivery options (between 8am and 8pm).

Finally, at the bottom of the page, your first delivery date will be displayed. Once you’re ready to go, simply click the Add to Cart button to checkout.

What Does HelloFresh Really Offer?

When it comes down to it, the biggest advantage that HelloFresh claims to provide is saving you from having to visit the grocery store. However, is this really the case?

After all, unless HelloFresh sends you everything you’ll need to eat for the week (which they don’t), you’ll still have to visit the grocery store to buy meal ingredients for the other 4 days of the week.

In other words, you’ll pay a premium for having your meals planned in advance and sent to your door, which will certainly save some time, but it won’t eliminate the need to regularly visit the grocery store.

See Also: The Pros & Cons of Grocery Delivery Services (Plus Comparison of Popular Companies)

Also, consider that cooking food usually the most difficult and time-consuming part; not picking up the groceries from your local store, so you’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of HelloFresh carefully before committing to a purchase.

Important note: HelloFresh currently only delivers to the 48 contiguous US states, although they claim to be working on a way to reach AK and HI customers in the future.

Other Meal Delivery Options

Next, although HelloFresh has been in business for quite some time, they’re not the only meal delivery service game in town, which includes competitors like Blue Apron and Plated. We’ll talk more about these options next.

Mixed Customer Reviews for HelloFresh

HelloFresh had an average rating of 2 stars based on 43 Yelp customer reviews (as of 5/29/15). While some reviewers found HelloFresh’s recipes to be delicious, their meals-in-a-box to be convenient, and their instructions easy to follow, the most common complaints appeared to cite:

  • Food received in poor condition or that spoiled quickly (in fact, one reviewer claimed roaches emerged from their sealed box after opening),
  • Difficulty using their website/understanding when accounts should be cancelled so as not to be charged for another box, and
  • Poor customer service experiences.

LifeHacker wrote an in-depth review comparing HelloFresh to other popular subscription food delivery services, and found that:

  • Their per-person price was the highest of the three,
  • They offered a moderate level of meal options,
  • Their recipes were simple and easy to follow, with “the most factual information, including a kitchen tools list and estimated nutrition (not just calories, but carbs, fat, protein, and fiber).”
  • However, their recipes were also noted to be “fairly basic and unsurprising—lots of pastas for the vegetarian options, for example.”

Overall, the author tied the winners between Plated and Blue Apron, essentially putting HelloFresh in the last place.

From a company perspective, HelloFresh is based out of New York, NY and held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. Of the 33 closed complaints listed (as of 5/29/15), the company failed to respond to 13 of them.

There, common complaints appeared to revolve around ingredients received in poor condition (mold, wilted, etc.), difficulty receiving refunds, and difficulty using discounts and promotional coupons.

HelloFresh Pricing & Refund Policy

HelloFresh boxes are priced as follows:

  • 2-Person Classic Box: $69
  • 4-Person Classic Box: $129
  • 2-Person Veggie Box: $59
  • 4-Person Veggie Box: $109

According to the HelloFresh Terms, a customer “must cancel his or her subscription with HelloFresh no later than midnight on Wednesday the week before the next delivery.” This means you’ll need to contact the company at least a week in advance if you don’t want to receive any additional boxes.

Once this occurs, you’ll receive a pro-rated refund for the remainder of your subscription period. Outside of this, however, unless in instances of damaged or defective products, no refunds are available.

In order to request a refund or cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-733-2414.

Should You Give HelloFresh a Try?

Chopping to the point: From less-than-stellar customer feedback to placing last in LifeHacker’s comparison, although HelloFresh certainly offers some advantages, it appears they leave a lot to be desired in the meal kit delivery industry. As such, you might be better served by some of their competition.

If you do decide to give HelloFresh a try, though, you’ll definitely want to watch a series of videos on their Managing Subscriptions page, since one of the primary customer complaints revolved around how to cancel subscriptions, skip a week, or how to switch between 2 and 4-person boxes.

Have you tried HelloFresh? If so, tell us (and 1.2 million HighYa readers) about your experience by writing a review below!

Also, you’ll find this detailed guide helpful: Comparing Costs: Popular Meal Kit Delivery Services vs. Groceries

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

22 Consumer Reviews for HelloFresh

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  15
Showing 1-11 of 22
Sort reviews by:

  • Sent meals I never ordered

    • Walcott, CT,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use this company unless you want to get screwed out of money and then be told you can't talk to anyone. I will be making a formal complaint against them with the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    They didn't deliver all the meals I requested. I have a student discount link but they won't apply it. Customer service put me on hold for half an hour. I had high hopes at first and thought it was a great concept. It's clear that customer satisfaction isn't a priority for them. I would try Meals On Wheels instead. They would be much more accommodating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They an sent order which I did not order

    • Florida,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered through the 50% off for first-time users. I had help through ordering that first time through "chat' online. At no time did I know it was an "automatic" subscription and that other orders would be sent. I will be disputing the charge with my credit card company now, but I guess the bottom line is to check and recheck what you are ordering especially on a "special offer program." So sad the way they con people.

    As to the food, some are good. I am not over enthusiastic and certainly could buy cheaper. I have learned the hard way!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 21, 2017

      David Newell

      I also redeemed the 50% offer, however, during checkout it was advised to be enrolled in an auto-renewing subscription plan. Of course, I immediately canceled to prevent this, but potential customers will be advised they are signing up for a service. I want to express this because HelloFresh has greatly improved my lifestyle, so I would hate for anyone to miss out on a great service due to misinformation from another person's experience. I really hope this helps clarify HelloFresh's operating model and reputation!

      P.S. After canceling, I signed up for a buy one get one free promo. What a better way to bring a customer back!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Diabolical

    • United Kingdom,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Diabolical and absolutely criminal!

    16 months ago I had a very pushy door to door salesperson push me into signing up for this service. I had one box, it was delivered to my front door in the middle of the street and sat there all day as I was at work, despite instructions to deliver to the rear of the property. I made a complaint and got a mere sorry in a message for this. As I don't want to spend £40 ($51.72) per week on food to be left in the street and could not trust this wouldn't happen again, so I haven't used the service.

    Come to today, 16 months later, and £39 ($50.42) has been charged to my bank account. I've received no email or phone call that this would happen despite my account being inactive for 16 months! You would think this is odd, wouldn't you? And surely flag up and possibly try to call the customer in question to see if this is an actual order or just an oversight on such a long time inactive account? Well, they don't do that. I have a box of majorly overpriced food (meals that I have not and would not have selected) being delivered on Tuesday, even after pleading with two very patronizing ladies on the phone, the highest being a team leader (apparently you can't contact anyone above her).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Unsubscribes ignored

    I had a bad experience with them which was poorly "resolved" by Customer Service, so I canceled the service. I have continued receiving emails. I unsubscribe to the emails, yet continue to receive them. I finally just had to set my Gmail account to block anything HelloFresh, hopefully that will work.

    HelloFresh customer service: If you are reading this, please DO NOT contact me! No phone calls or emails!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Most terrible business practice ever

    So a cute young lady pulls me aside on the street in Columbus and signs me up. I wanted to try a service anyway so let's go with it. Two boxes with two meals each. The stuff came and it was not great, not worth $49, not worth $69.

    I went online and canceled the service. I also gave them feedback that the gel packs broke and got all over everything. They smelled like alcohol and I had to throw the food away. Mauricio C. could not help me on the Chat and Chat Supervisor was even worse. Turns out, this is a regular thing for them. I gave one star because I could not give any less.

    Stay away from HelloFresh, especially if they try to sign you up on the street.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service resolution

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We started HelloFresh from a friend's coupon, and we really enjoyed the meals. I even had most of my office sign up on my recommendation.

    We started to pause shipments, yet they were still delivered. When we would discover the box on the patio, the food was spoiled. I found out the same had happened to my partner's shipments. HelloFresh told us they had no record and they would not reimburse or send out a new shipment. We then canceled the company, and then shipments started again a few months later. When we called, we got the same response: "we have NO record of you canceling."

    I would NEVER use this company and will make sure people understand what it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Meh

    • New York, NY,
    • May 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I finally convinced myself to try this a couple of times due to the constant subway advertising. The outcome: it was fine overall.

    Pros: The convenience was nice, and the portions were solid.

    Cons: The freshness. I'm a vegetarian, so I can't speak for the meat courses, but I found the veggies weren't incredibly fresh, which is kind of disappointing/ironic given the name.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good idea, but hard to deliver

    I wanted HelloFresh to be a way to get me to cook more, save money and eat healthier. I often eat fast food as a means of convenience. I don't have much time to cook. I thought HelloFresh would make this easier, however, it's actually difficult to time it right so you're home for the delivery, and if you don't use it all, the food goes bad.

    This isn't necessarily a knock against HelloFresh, I just think I learned that for me, the issue of eating and cooking wasn't going to the store it was my time in general. HelloFresh couldn't help that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So far, good experience

    Some of the reviews scare me, but so far we have had our tenth meal and have no problems. The meals have been really delicious, with fresh veggies and other items arriving well packaged with a cooling pack. Billing so far has been accurate, but we have to remember to "pause" deliveries that we don't want. We will keep using them, and if we run into problems, then we will have to discontinue. I hope not because we love the meals.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Easy to make, great taste

    My husband has been cooking for many years (I don't cook) and HelloFresh has helped him discover new recipes and different ways to cook things.

    I order three times a week, and it has been great! The portions are perfect, and the instructions are easy to follow. We love the different options, and I would highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 22

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review