About HelloFresh

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 29, 2015

In business since 2008, HelloFresh is a subscription food delivery service that claims to making cooking easy by delivering “delicious and healthy recipes with all the pre-measured ingredients to your door each week.”

Each HelloFresh box is claimed to include seasonal, high-quality, and fresh food obtained directly from “mall farmers, butchers, fish mongers and fellow culinary enthusiasts,” as well as signature step-by-step recipes from a variety of cuisines, each of which are reviewed by their in-house dietician to ensure they’re balanced and nutritious.

Overall, HelloFresh claims to make cooking convenient and easy, to feature fresh ingredients and exciting recipes, and to eliminate food waste by providing you with just the right portion sizes.

According to HelloFresh, the process works over 4 steps:

  1. HelloFresh creates delicious and nutritious recipes.
  2. You choose the recipes you like (more about this next), and HelloFresh will send you all the ingredients.
  3. The ingredients are delivered to your door, for free, in an insulated box.
  4. You cook your meal in about 30 minutes.

It’s hard to resist the temptation of farm-fresh ingredients and easy recipes on your doorstep. But is this really what HelloFresh offers, and are they worth the price? Consider the following:

Different HelloFresh Box Types

HelloFresh offers 2 different types of boxes:

  • Classic Box – Claimed to be HelloFresh’s most popular option. Includes three meals for 2 or 4 people, most of which feature some sort of meat (e.g. poultry, pork, etc.)
  • Veggie Box – Claimed to contain the same delicious recipes and farm fresh ingredients as the Classic Box, but tailored toward vegetarians (note: there is no vegan option).

After choosing your box, you’ll then need to enter your delivery zip code. From there, you can choose between Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday delivery options (between 8am and 8pm).

Finally, at the bottom of the page, your first delivery date will be displayed. Once you’re ready to go, simply click the Add to Cart button to checkout.

What Does HelloFresh Really Offer?

When it comes down to it, the biggest advantage that HelloFresh claims to provide is saving you from having to visit the grocery store. However, is this really the case?

After all, unless HelloFresh sends you everything you’ll need to eat for the week (which they don’t), you’ll still have to visit the grocery store to buy meal ingredients for the other 4 days of the week.

In other words, you’ll pay a premium for having your meals planned in advance and sent to your door, which will certainly save some time, but it won’t eliminate the need to regularly visit the grocery store.

See Also: The Pros & Cons of Grocery Delivery Services (Plus Comparison of Popular Companies)

Also, consider that cooking food usually the most difficult and time-consuming part; not picking up the groceries from your local store, so you’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of HelloFresh carefully before committing to a purchase.

Important note: HelloFresh currently only delivers to the 48 contiguous US states, although they claim to be working on a way to reach AK and HI customers in the future.

Other Meal Delivery Options

Next, although HelloFresh has been in business for quite some time, they’re not the only meal delivery service game in town, which includes competitors like Blue Apron and Plated. We’ll talk more about these options next.

Mixed Customer Reviews for HelloFresh

HelloFresh had an average rating of 2 stars based on 43 Yelp customer reviews (as of 5/29/15). While some reviewers found HelloFresh’s recipes to be delicious, their meals-in-a-box to be convenient, and their instructions easy to follow, the most common complaints appeared to cite:

  • Food received in poor condition or that spoiled quickly (in fact, one reviewer claimed roaches emerged from their sealed box after opening),
  • Difficulty using their website/understanding when accounts should be cancelled so as not to be charged for another box, and
  • Poor customer service experiences.

LifeHacker wrote an in-depth review comparing HelloFresh to other popular subscription food delivery services, and found that:

  • Their per-person price was the highest of the three,
  • They offered a moderate level of meal options,
  • Their recipes were simple and easy to follow, with “the most factual information, including a kitchen tools list and estimated nutrition (not just calories, but carbs, fat, protein, and fiber).”
  • However, their recipes were also noted to be “fairly basic and unsurprising—lots of pastas for the vegetarian options, for example.”

Overall, the author tied the winners between Plated and Blue Apron, essentially putting HelloFresh in the last place.

From a company perspective, HelloFresh is based out of New York, NY and held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. Of the 33 closed complaints listed (as of 5/29/15), the company failed to respond to 13 of them.

There, common complaints appeared to revolve around ingredients received in poor condition (mold, wilted, etc.), difficulty receiving refunds, and difficulty using discounts and promotional coupons.

HelloFresh Pricing & Refund Policy

HelloFresh boxes are priced as follows:

  • 2-Person Classic Box: $69
  • 4-Person Classic Box: $129
  • 2-Person Veggie Box: $59
  • 4-Person Veggie Box: $109

According to the HelloFresh Terms, a customer “must cancel his or her subscription with HelloFresh no later than midnight on Wednesday the week before the next delivery.” This means you’ll need to contact the company at least a week in advance if you don’t want to receive any additional boxes.

Once this occurs, you’ll receive a pro-rated refund for the remainder of your subscription period. Outside of this, however, unless in instances of damaged or defective products, no refunds are available.

In order to request a refund or cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-733-2414.

Should You Give HelloFresh a Try?

Chopping to the point: From less-than-stellar customer feedback to placing last in LifeHacker’s comparison, although HelloFresh certainly offers some advantages, it appears they leave a lot to be desired in the meal kit delivery industry. As such, you might be better served by some of their competition.

If you do decide to give HelloFresh a try, though, you’ll definitely want to watch a series of videos on their Managing Subscriptions page, since one of the primary customer complaints revolved around how to cancel subscriptions, skip a week, or how to switch between 2 and 4-person boxes.

Have you tried HelloFresh? If so, tell us (and 1.2 million HighYa readers) about your experience by writing a review below!

Also, you’ll find this detailed guide helpful: Comparing Costs: Popular Meal Kit Delivery Services vs. Groceries


Read 135 HelloFresh Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 40 4 star: 16 3 star: 6 2 star: 6 1 star:  67
Bottom Line: 41% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 135
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Bad idea

    • Kansas,
    • Nov 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The food wasn't fresh, limp produce. Started with a promotion, that disappeared, my Groupon was rejected. The food is all roasted with oil. I never use that much oil. Not healthy at all, food gots monotonous. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Don’t take a chance on this service

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have known better when they have you enter a credit card before you can see meal options. After seeing meal options I canceled immediately. Today I saw an email about a shipment on the way. I called their non-toll free customer service number where they said they would refund my credit card and the shipment was mine to use or give away. But the scary part was they said their system showed a PayPal charge. They couldn’t tell me which credit card was charged. Now I have to check all cards for a charge and watch whichever one for the refund as I know I didn’t use my PayPal account.

    The emails I received from company showed:

    1. Welcome.

    2. Canceled subscription.

    3. Action needed to correct payment information.

    Those 3 emails were on the same day.

    The 4th email 4 days later "your box is on the way."

    Do not have any interaction with the company. Their systems are out of control.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Glad I didn't pay for this rubbish!

    • Florida,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My step-daughter gave us two dinner kits because she was leaving town for a week and didn't want them to go to waste. First of all, the portions were insanely small. No way this would serve 4. The vegetable ingredients were wilty, green beans were oozing some kind of milky fluid, tomatoes way under-ripe and dried out limes were the size of walnuts. The amount of meat would be considered one serving anywhere else, not four! I've always done the grocery shopping so I have a very good idea what these ingredients would cost if you bought them yourself. About $2.50. And that's not per person. That's the entire meal! A bad value for sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love this service, perfect for people who know how to read

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Read the complaints and can't help but laugh. Like every subscription service, they detail exactly how and when you can cancel. It is also SO extremely easy to use the "skip week" button on the website and the app. They have the best variety of recipes, and are extremely delicious, which is why I went with this company over a few others I checked out. Product arrives well packaged and cold (I'm at work all day) - and the ease of directions is wonderful for rushing to feed myself and toddler after work. So glad I started this subscription. I would only recommend not doing it if you don't know how to read directions.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awful company

    Tried the product, then decided it was not worth the money. Tried several times to cancel. But to no avail. Needless to say, my account was charged again, and this time my bank account was overdrawn. Spoke to several representatives. And did receive the $96.87 refund and was told they could give me a $20 credit for my inconvenience.

    WHY WOULD I WANT A $20.00 CREDIT?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Aggressive selling

    • Duluth, GA,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I ordered the first time, the lady asked me if I want to order for the future and I replied, once we taste it, we will contact and order. But suddenly I noticed my credit card was being charged again, so when I called them, I was told that the next order will arrive in 3 days. This is without my ordering and not knowing what is coming, so I asked them to cancel it, which they declined to do. The strange thing is when I placed the initial order, nowhere it was mentioned about auto subscription/repeat anything like that. So I would advise to be very careful, this company automatically enrolls you in repeat order program.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Overpriced and bad policy about cancellation

    • Switzerland,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried HalloFresh and was called to see if I wanted to give it another go when receiving a discount of $20 on the next 2 boxes. I told them that I don't need it but thought okay, give it another try, then 3 - 4 days before the delivery, I changed my mind and wanted to cancel. But was told that I am forced to still get the box that is on the order because I didn't cancel 1 week prior on Wednesday night.

    I am angry that I now need to accept the order and pay for it, when I have no interest in having it, simply because their policy forces me to do so and their customer service refused to cancel it for the upcoming delivery.

    Won't be ordering from them again, that's for sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT ORDER

    • Maine,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not order from this company. I wanted a vegetarian menu. The directions wanted my credit card information FIRST then I could select my meal plan. After my submission of payment there was no option and now (10 minutes after my order) they will neither refund my money nor cancel the delivery of food I do not want.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This company is a rip off, do not do it!

    • Texas,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend of mine recommended a company called HelloFresh. So I went on their site to see what it was all about. The first thing they ask you to do is to put in your information and choose a method of payment. I should have stopped right there as that was a huge red flag, but since she had worked with this company, I thought I would check it out. Well, they charged me $69.88 when I never selected any food or completed an order. So I called the company today and they said I did complete the order and the food is already on the way. Darn scam! They would give me back $49.95 but no more since I had the coupon. That is crazy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best home delivery food service

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been using HelloFresh for approximately six months with great results. The food has always been fresh, delivered when they said it would be and the recipes are easy to follow. We have recommended HelloFresh to many family and friends. Most have schedules that don't work for this type of service, but for us, it is great. We highly recommend it and do so to as many people as we can.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    CROOKS

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for HelloFresh wanting to give it a try. After spending wasted time figuring out what the heck is going on on the website, I decided to cancel. Exactly 23 minutes after signing up.

    Apparently clicking a picture authorizes HelloFresh to charge your credit card and still send an unwanted delivery after a canceled subscription. A $33.94 + $11.97 gourmet upcharge on my credit card?! A 23-minute subscription!? OUTRAGEOUS. Needless to say I went to the web chat followed by a live phone call to resolve (or attempt to) the charges. Terrible customer service, it is absurd how they treat their customers and won't even at least TRY to make things right.

    Well, I got the delivery I didn't want so I figured I might as well whip up the Salsa Verde meal I unwillingly paid for. The result - mediocre-unsavory meal, food poisoning, 18 hours of torture, and a trip to the hospital to get IV hydrated. Today - recall on HelloFresh red chili peppers for salmonella. HelloFresh, you are a bunch of CROOKS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 135

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review