About HelloFresh

In business since 2008, HelloFresh is a subscription food delivery service that claims to making cooking easy by delivering “delicious and healthy recipes with all the pre-measured ingredients to your door each week.”

Each HelloFresh box is claimed to include seasonal, high-quality, and fresh food obtained directly from “mall farmers, butchers, fish mongers and fellow culinary enthusiasts,” as well as signature step-by-step recipes from a variety of cuisines, each of which are reviewed by their in-house dietician to ensure they’re balanced and nutritious.

Overall, HelloFresh claims to make cooking convenient and easy, to feature fresh ingredients and exciting recipes, and to eliminate food waste by providing you with just the right portion sizes.

According to HelloFresh, the process works over 4 steps:

  1. HelloFresh creates delicious and nutritious recipes.
  2. You choose the recipes you like (more about this next), and HelloFresh will send you all the ingredients.
  3. The ingredients are delivered to your door, for free, in an insulated box.
  4. You cook your meal in about 30 minutes.

It’s hard to resist the temptation of farm-fresh ingredients and easy recipes on your doorstep. But is this really what HelloFresh offers, and are they worth the price? Consider the following:

Different HelloFresh Box Types

HelloFresh offers 2 different types of boxes:

  • Classic Box – Claimed to be HelloFresh’s most popular option. Includes three meals for 2 or 4 people, most of which feature some sort of meat (e.g. poultry, pork, etc.)
  • Veggie Box – Claimed to contain the same delicious recipes and farm fresh ingredients as the Classic Box, but tailored toward vegetarians (note: there is no vegan option).

After choosing your box, you’ll then need to enter your delivery zip code. From there, you can choose between Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday delivery options (between 8am and 8pm).

Finally, at the bottom of the page, your first delivery date will be displayed. Once you’re ready to go, simply click the Add to Cart button to checkout.

What Does HelloFresh Really Offer?

When it comes down to it, the biggest advantage that HelloFresh claims to provide is saving you from having to visit the grocery store. However, is this really the case?

After all, unless HelloFresh sends you everything you’ll need to eat for the week (which they don’t), you’ll still have to visit the grocery store to buy meal ingredients for the other 4 days of the week.

In other words, you’ll pay a premium for having your meals planned in advance and sent to your door, which will certainly save some time, but it won’t eliminate the need to regularly visit the grocery store.

See Also: The Pros & Cons of Grocery Delivery Services (Plus Comparison of Popular Companies)

Also, consider that cooking food usually the most difficult and time-consuming part; not picking up the groceries from your local store, so you’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of HelloFresh carefully before committing to a purchase.

Important note: HelloFresh currently only delivers to the 48 contiguous US states, although they claim to be working on a way to reach AK and HI customers in the future.

Other Meal Delivery Options

Next, although HelloFresh has been in business for quite some time, they’re not the only meal delivery service game in town, which includes competitors like Blue Apron and Plated. We’ll talk more about these options next.

Mixed Customer Reviews for HelloFresh

HelloFresh had an average rating of 2 stars based on 43 Yelp customer reviews (as of 5/29/15). While some reviewers found HelloFresh’s recipes to be delicious, their meals-in-a-box to be convenient, and their instructions easy to follow, the most common complaints appeared to cite:

  • Food received in poor condition or that spoiled quickly (in fact, one reviewer claimed roaches emerged from their sealed box after opening),
  • Difficulty using their website/understanding when accounts should be cancelled so as not to be charged for another box, and
  • Poor customer service experiences.

LifeHacker wrote an in-depth review comparing HelloFresh to other popular subscription food delivery services, and found that:

  • Their per-person price was the highest of the three,
  • They offered a moderate level of meal options,
  • Their recipes were simple and easy to follow, with “the most factual information, including a kitchen tools list and estimated nutrition (not just calories, but carbs, fat, protein, and fiber).”
  • However, their recipes were also noted to be “fairly basic and unsurprising—lots of pastas for the vegetarian options, for example.”

Overall, the author tied the winners between Plated and Blue Apron, essentially putting HelloFresh in the last place.

From a company perspective, HelloFresh is based out of New York, NY and held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. Of the 33 closed complaints listed (as of 5/29/15), the company failed to respond to 13 of them.

There, common complaints appeared to revolve around ingredients received in poor condition (mold, wilted, etc.), difficulty receiving refunds, and difficulty using discounts and promotional coupons.

HelloFresh Pricing & Refund Policy

HelloFresh boxes are priced as follows:

  • 2-Person Classic Box: $69
  • 4-Person Classic Box: $129
  • 2-Person Veggie Box: $59
  • 4-Person Veggie Box: $109

According to the HelloFresh Terms, a customer “must cancel his or her subscription with HelloFresh no later than midnight on Wednesday the week before the next delivery.” This means you’ll need to contact the company at least a week in advance if you don’t want to receive any additional boxes.

Once this occurs, you’ll receive a pro-rated refund for the remainder of your subscription period. Outside of this, however, unless in instances of damaged or defective products, no refunds are available.

In order to request a refund or cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-733-2414.

Should You Give HelloFresh a Try?

Chopping to the point: From less-than-stellar customer feedback to placing last in LifeHacker’s comparison, although HelloFresh certainly offers some advantages, it appears they leave a lot to be desired in the meal kit delivery industry. As such, you might be better served by some of their competition.

If you do decide to give HelloFresh a try, though, you’ll definitely want to watch a series of videos on their Managing Subscriptions page, since one of the primary customer complaints revolved around how to cancel subscriptions, skip a week, or how to switch between 2 and 4-person boxes.

Have you tried HelloFresh? If so, tell us (and 1.2 million HighYa readers) about your experience by writing a review below!

Also, you’ll find this detailed guide helpful: Comparing Costs: Popular Meal Kit Delivery Services vs. Groceries

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for HelloFresh

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  24
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from the HelloFresh scam

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter suggested HelloFresh for us to use after my wife got out of the hospital for hip replacement surgery. She used an introductory Groupon coupon that had a $30 rate for three meals for two people. The meals were ok for the price, nothing special, just ok.

    The problem is that once they get your credit card information, they keep shipping meals at twice the price and are difficult to stop. Hector in customer service was difficult to understand in English, probably in India, and English was his second language.

    Stay away from HelloFresh; it is more of a scam to continue to charge your credit card once they get your information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't give them your credit card info

    I got a Groupon for HelloFresh as a Christmas gift for two weeks. I was inundated with all kinds of emails from HelloFresh about selecting the next week, and skipping a week and rating the food. All designed to throw you off and confuse you. They also sent emails offering your friends two free weeks of food.

    At the end of two weeks, I thought I would have the option to continue or not with the meals, but I ended up getting two boxes (four meals) delivered to my house at once and two $59 charges to my bank account. Customer service gave me the crap about it being an automatic subscription, but they messed up and sent me two boxes so they can credit me back for one. Nice scam, so now the got me for $59 and I thought this was going to be just a gift from my daughter.

    Do not give up your credit card info unless you know about and agree to their scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad website, will not let you cancel

    • Littleton, CO,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave HelloFresh a try this past week. The meals from HelloFresh were not any better than other food order companies. My app and customer service experience with them left me frustrated, disappointed and exhausted. I will not recommend their service to everyone.

    There is no email confirmation of orders and/or cancel. Even if you make no selection they will send you an order you didn't choose. The app is not user-friendly but it is "order-friendly" as it always defaults to an order placement even if a food selection is not made. I am sure this is to their benefit. I tried to cancel my account and thought I had canceled in time for the shipment online. My best advice is, buyer beware.

    I have gone back to every single person I recommended the service to and told them not to ever use them after my customer service experience. In the future, I will use a competitor and recommend a major competitor instead of HelloFresh. All they had to do to keep a customer and keep my recommendation was simply; try to find out what happened and how we can help them improve so we both succeed. There was no acknowledgment that they might have a problem with their non-intuitive app and no explanation on why we didn't receive an order confirmation email. They simply did not provide a symbiotic relationship between customer and retailer for the frustration they created.

    I have spent too much time and frustration and now money as they have this part finely tuned. When I asked for a supervisor, I was put on hold for a long time and then they hung up on me. They didn't try to call back. This might say something more about how this company is run.

    I have no idea what food they selected for me that I will receive tomorrow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Refused to reverse unauthorized charges to my credit card

    I purchased a Groupon for two weeks of HelloFresh. Unbeknownst to me, they continued to charge my credit card even after I canceled the “subscription" I never signed up for. They refused to credit me even for meals I have yet to receive.

    Food was pretty blah and bland. Definitely not worth $10 a meal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Two years of healthy and delicious meals

    I have been a HelloFresh customer for two years. There have been 2 or 3 meals that we didn't like, and I always received a refund and/or credit. Customer service has always been polite, responsive and customer-centered. You have to read the guidelines, and you can skip a month, skip a week or postpone or cancel your subscription. Due to the use of regional delivery services, you may receive late shipments, but that is not on HelloFresh, and they will always make it right.

    The meals do NOT take an hour to prepare unless you can't cook. They are tasty, creative and healthy. I love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware - deceptive offer

    • Homestead, FL,
    • Dec 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a HelloFresh customer until today.

    I was sent an offer to share with three friends. My friends were to receive “3 free meals for 2 people with delivery included." When one of my friends attempted to utilize the offer, he was prompted to use his credit card to pay $16 for delivery. He did not finalize the transaction and contacted me. I, in turn, contacted HelloFresh and was told: “yes, we are attempting a ‘trial’ on charging for shipping." I replied, “but the offer I received stated “delivery included."

    I further stated there is nothing wrong with charging for delivery as long as you are upfront about it and disclose the amount. Instead, they choose to be dishonest and use a “bait and switch” tactic. Sadly for them, they not only did not gain three new customers but they also lost a current customer.

    Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Abysmal experience

    I ordered the HelloFresh service for my daughter as a Christmas gift and have been extremely embarrassed by the comedy of errors that this experience with HelloFresh has been. The first delivery was supposed to arrive on Wednesday but was not delivered until Thursday after sitting on a food truck for four days. Then when it was delivered, my daughter finds there is no meat in the order when it is received.

    When I called customer service (Ashanti, then Hector) about these problems, I was not offered any compensation for the embarrassment I endured by ordering such a substandard gift for my daughter so I am canceling my service after only one incomplete order and one very unsatisfactory experience. I am going with Blue Apron.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not fresh

    • Cochiti Lake, NM,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first and only box I received confirmed why I was skeptical. I ordered a shrimp, beef, and pork dish. I decided to cook the shrimp dish first. It was not fresh. It smelled strong and despite that, I cooked it anyway. It had a strong taste. The green beans were wilted but useable. The green beans were also not fresh. We had to cut those parts off.

    My husband cooked the pork dish. It was fine. I cooked the beef dish. It also had green beans. I couldn't use it. We received the box on Wednesday and I cooked it 3 days later.

    I was hoping this would work for us because we are busy folks. Unfortunately, the quality isn't there. I canceled future orders.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • Pensacola, FL,
    • Nov 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to the HelloFresh site and saw that their price per meal was $4.99, and I thought that was reasonable, so I entered my credit card number, and what comes next? Menus with the price of $9.99! I canceled right then! A couple days later, I see where they've charged my card with $29.94!

    I called them and told them to cancel right away and return my money. They said "unfortunately" they cannot do this because they're preparing a box to be sent to me. "A box of what?" I asked because I didn't choose anything. "A box of food." I guess anything will do, right?

    Well, these people are rip off artists, don't do business with them! The food? I don't know, it's going into the garbage as soon as it arrives.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Mount Pleasant, SC,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the service with a coupon given by my employer. I didn't realize it was a weekly subscription that I was signing up for. Customer service wouldn't even consider canceling my subscription even though my next delivery was not scheduled for four days. Meals take hours to prepare. Don't even think about wasting your money with these guys.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sneaky subscription and unethical order process

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, my husband and I loved the food but wanted to try before we subscribed to their program. We were gifted a trial by a friend and received three meals free. However, due to the process of giving your card on the front end, it automatically signs you up for a subscription.

    There was no clear warning or description on the front end ordering process that you were locked into a multiple order subscription. I found that to be a sneaky way to get your business and unethical.

    They should give you a clear message on the key factors of the terms up-front and with clear visibility so that the customer is making an informed decision.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review