About HelloFresh

In business since 2008, HelloFresh is a subscription food delivery service that claims to making cooking easy by delivering “delicious and healthy recipes with all the pre-measured ingredients to your door each week.”

Each HelloFresh box is claimed to include seasonal, high-quality, and fresh food obtained directly from “mall farmers, butchers, fish mongers and fellow culinary enthusiasts,” as well as signature step-by-step recipes from a variety of cuisines, each of which are reviewed by their in-house dietician to ensure they’re balanced and nutritious.

Overall, HelloFresh claims to make cooking convenient and easy, to feature fresh ingredients and exciting recipes, and to eliminate food waste by providing you with just the right portion sizes.

According to HelloFresh, the process works over 4 steps:

  1. HelloFresh creates delicious and nutritious recipes.
  2. You choose the recipes you like (more about this next), and HelloFresh will send you all the ingredients.
  3. The ingredients are delivered to your door, for free, in an insulated box.
  4. You cook your meal in about 30 minutes.

It’s hard to resist the temptation of farm-fresh ingredients and easy recipes on your doorstep. But is this really what HelloFresh offers, and are they worth the price? Consider the following:

Different HelloFresh Box Types

HelloFresh offers 2 different types of boxes:

  • Classic Box – Claimed to be HelloFresh’s most popular option. Includes three meals for 2 or 4 people, most of which feature some sort of meat (e.g. poultry, pork, etc.)
  • Veggie Box – Claimed to contain the same delicious recipes and farm fresh ingredients as the Classic Box, but tailored toward vegetarians (note: there is no vegan option).

After choosing your box, you’ll then need to enter your delivery zip code. From there, you can choose between Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday delivery options (between 8am and 8pm).

Finally, at the bottom of the page, your first delivery date will be displayed. Once you’re ready to go, simply click the Add to Cart button to checkout.

What Does HelloFresh Really Offer?

When it comes down to it, the biggest advantage that HelloFresh claims to provide is saving you from having to visit the grocery store. However, is this really the case?

After all, unless HelloFresh sends you everything you’ll need to eat for the week (which they don’t), you’ll still have to visit the grocery store to buy meal ingredients for the other 4 days of the week.

In other words, you’ll pay a premium for having your meals planned in advance and sent to your door, which will certainly save some time, but it won’t eliminate the need to regularly visit the grocery store.

See Also: The Pros & Cons of Grocery Delivery Services (Plus Comparison of Popular Companies)

Also, consider that cooking food usually the most difficult and time-consuming part; not picking up the groceries from your local store, so you’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of HelloFresh carefully before committing to a purchase.

Important note: HelloFresh currently only delivers to the 48 contiguous US states, although they claim to be working on a way to reach AK and HI customers in the future.

Other Meal Delivery Options

Next, although HelloFresh has been in business for quite some time, they’re not the only meal delivery service game in town, which includes competitors like Blue Apron and Plated. We’ll talk more about these options next.

Mixed Customer Reviews for HelloFresh

HelloFresh had an average rating of 2 stars based on 43 Yelp customer reviews (as of 5/29/15). While some reviewers found HelloFresh’s recipes to be delicious, their meals-in-a-box to be convenient, and their instructions easy to follow, the most common complaints appeared to cite:

  • Food received in poor condition or that spoiled quickly (in fact, one reviewer claimed roaches emerged from their sealed box after opening),
  • Difficulty using their website/understanding when accounts should be cancelled so as not to be charged for another box, and
  • Poor customer service experiences.

LifeHacker wrote an in-depth review comparing HelloFresh to other popular subscription food delivery services, and found that:

  • Their per-person price was the highest of the three,
  • They offered a moderate level of meal options,
  • Their recipes were simple and easy to follow, with “the most factual information, including a kitchen tools list and estimated nutrition (not just calories, but carbs, fat, protein, and fiber).”
  • However, their recipes were also noted to be “fairly basic and unsurprising—lots of pastas for the vegetarian options, for example.”

Overall, the author tied the winners between Plated and Blue Apron, essentially putting HelloFresh in the last place.

From a company perspective, HelloFresh is based out of New York, NY and held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. Of the 33 closed complaints listed (as of 5/29/15), the company failed to respond to 13 of them.

There, common complaints appeared to revolve around ingredients received in poor condition (mold, wilted, etc.), difficulty receiving refunds, and difficulty using discounts and promotional coupons.

HelloFresh Pricing & Refund Policy

HelloFresh boxes are priced as follows:

  • 2-Person Classic Box: $69
  • 4-Person Classic Box: $129
  • 2-Person Veggie Box: $59
  • 4-Person Veggie Box: $109

According to the HelloFresh Terms, a customer “must cancel his or her subscription with HelloFresh no later than midnight on Wednesday the week before the next delivery.” This means you’ll need to contact the company at least a week in advance if you don’t want to receive any additional boxes.

Once this occurs, you’ll receive a pro-rated refund for the remainder of your subscription period. Outside of this, however, unless in instances of damaged or defective products, no refunds are available.

In order to request a refund or cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-733-2414.

Should You Give HelloFresh a Try?

Chopping to the point: From less-than-stellar customer feedback to placing last in LifeHacker’s comparison, although HelloFresh certainly offers some advantages, it appears they leave a lot to be desired in the meal kit delivery industry. As such, you might be better served by some of their competition.

If you do decide to give HelloFresh a try, though, you’ll definitely want to watch a series of videos on their Managing Subscriptions page, since one of the primary customer complaints revolved around how to cancel subscriptions, skip a week, or how to switch between 2 and 4-person boxes.

Have you tried HelloFresh? If so, tell us (and 1.2 million HighYa readers) about your experience by writing a review below!

Also, you’ll find this detailed guide helpful: Comparing Costs: Popular Meal Kit Delivery Services vs. Groceries

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

117 Consumer Reviews for HelloFresh

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 39 4 star: 16 3 star: 6 2 star: 5 1 star:  51
Showing 1-11 of 117
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Good value for busy people

    • Perth, Western Australia, Australia,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical when I first tried HelloFresh, but I was given a promo code, so thought why not? I haven’t looked back. Loads of veggies and very filling meals - I’m a big eater and sometimes don’t finish my meal (yay - leftovers!).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • TERRIBLE customer service, LATE delivery, NO refund

    • New York,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ugh, I usually don't care about giving reviews, but this company deserves it. I would give it 0 stars if I could. Terrible customer service, both manager and agent. Delayed delivery and no refund for the unprofessional service. There was so email, no tracking system, nothing. Just "In Transit" after being more than an hour late. If they promised it would come between 8 am and 8 pm, 8:01 is considered late. It is definitely a few hours past 8, I'm hungry, and now need to spend extra to get food instead of the food from HelloFresh that I already paid for.

    The customer service agent and manager both did not help at all. No resolution whatsoever to keep their clients, no refund even after repeatedly explaining how much inconvenience it has caused me and my family. Even when they were clearly wrong, the agent was sarcastic and made it even worse.

    Save your money! Don't waste your time and energy. The only reason I'm doing this is to warn others so they won't have to deal with this disappointing company. There are other better options, better companies who can do better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Stealing money

    • Bristol, RI,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My family and I decided to give them a try. The first week, they sent the wrong recipe card. We understood and got the right one. The second week, we received the right meats but the wrong ingredients for the dish. I was given a $23.00 refund for that meal for the following week.

    Next week, I DID NOT receive a box! I called and was told to give it 24 hours. 48 hours later I called and asked for my refund, which I received no problem. The problem was when I asked for a cash refund for the $23.00 because I was canceling the program and since I never received the meal or the "free meal." I was told they can't refund that, it's against their policy, that I could only receive it as a credit. This was after I told them I was canceling and it's not right because I never received that meal in the first place. So that's now three meals I never received. I was told there was nothing they could do.

    The first woman I talked to was fantastic and told me if the supervisor did not provide me with my refund to call corporate that they could assist me. This supervisor told me that they were the highest and that there was no one else I could speak to. When I was first on this program in June, they credited me a whole meal price because I told them one of the limes for the recipe was rotted. Obviously, they have been getting many complaints now because they are holding onto money and no longer the great customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Two reasons I won't be ordering again

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I finally decided to try HelloFresh after seeing a Groupon. The food arrived well-packaged but portions were super small, even for me and my husband, and we are fit/average size 45-ish adults. The printed instructions were well done (good marketing) and attractive. The chicken smelled funky, so I used my own one recipe. Plus it was one breast split in half, so not enough anyway.

    My biggest "beef" is discovering that the fine print somewhere must have committed me to a weekly delivery when I placed my first order. I had no idea until an email tells me my box will be here Monday. The worst part is the meals they sent, we cannot eat. Gluten in every single one. Sooo, that's going to waste.

    I canceled online once I knew I needed to.

    So for these two reasons, I will not be using this meal delivery service again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Dumbest idea ever

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The problems with this dumb idea...

    1. I pay them to shop for me in Toronto and ship the food to me in Vancouver - how the heck is this environmentally sound?

    2. The potions for two people is less than needed for one.

    3. Could I have not just gone to the store and buy the ingredients myself?

    At the end of the process, I prep and cook the food. What do they do? Go shopping for me 4,400 Km away.

    4. One of the ingredients was moldy - could have been a one-off, so I won't fault them.

    I have read some good reviews. Are they mental?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing customer service

    • Washington,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted HelloFresh customer service via the online messaging feature because it was too late to call. I explained how I saw an email notifying me that a package was being delivered, but explained that I had not ordered this package and that the food was not selected by me. They told me it was too late to send it back.

    I asked if they could do anything to help me because I thought I had pushed cancel for this period and I didn't choose this food and cannot eat these options. They said I had canceled the previous 12 weeks but after that, it auto-renews to automatically select an order for me. I told them I didn't realize that is how it worked. I thought I was able to cancel all the future and just select when I wanted to make a shipment, but I misunderstood how the company works. When I did it before, I thought it was all in the red. I also did not get emails notifying me in advance that an order was upcoming. I only received an email the day before telling me the shipment was already on its way. I didn't feel that I had a chance to even try to cancel it.

    They told me they couldn't do anything for me and I told them I don't think that is a good practice, and if that is how the company works, taking money from the customer with no regard for their happiness with the product, I would like to cancel my subscription. Their response was to say goodbye and essentially "hang up" on our conversation.

    Today, I called HelloFresh customer service and spoke to a manager. They essentially did the same thing. The only difference was to cancel my subscription for me when I asked. Otherwise, they did nothing for me and gave me absolutely no incentive to stay on with their service. There is a lot of competition out there and many other services like this, and there is no way this company will last with service like this - I was shocked at the lack of care for my issue, especially because this is the first time I have had an issue. You could tell they just wanted to be off the phone and finished with the conversation, they were not worried at all that they lost a potentially long-paying customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Theft

    • Oregon,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are as dumb as I and you enter your credit card information and don't see anything you like, too bad, they will take your money and send whatever they want. They will take the money no matter what you want. It is theft. THEFT. Run away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed in through Facebook to see the recipes. They made me enter card information, but I did because I was curious about meal plans. I didn't see anything I liked, so I exited the page. Then they charged me $10 and shipped out random meals. I only knew this because I got an email from UPS. THEN I asked for the subscription to be cancelled because I never signed up for a subscription. They said they would cancel, and didn't.

    Long story short, I've been scammed out of $60 for food I don't want. The selection is garbage and the random meals they sent were things I had no interest in. If I had the time and money I'd sue just to be petty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Rotten food and rotten customer service

    • Surre, England,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rotten food, rotten customer service. We've parted ways now; I realize that this is a new segment. If a food delivery company can't deliver its food in one piece, not left out in the rain and with all the ingredients ok, then they should close up shop. Last straw for me was when the meat was not refrigerated properly and stank with two days to go. Here's a 20% discount. What for, no meals? No thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Hello Fresh is "sorry (not sorry)" about your problem

    • California,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently joined HelloFresh and had a terrible experience! I had tried other home prep food delivery services and thought I'd try HelloFresh. My first red flag was that they didn't provide all of the ingredients for my meal like other services such as Blue Apron do. Sure it was just small things like garlic, butter, and oil, but sometimes it can make or break a meal if you don't have it at home. My second my delivery date somehow got changed without me knowing until it was being shipped, and was too late to change.

    The customer service I received was horrible. Sure they responded quickly, but it was like "we're sorry(not sorry) that this happened. Oh well! They did absolutely nothing to help me and seemed to be responding with autogenerated messages. They never explained how it happened or expressed regret or tried to make it better. It was just "sorry you just wasted $60, and there is nothing we can do! Do yourself a favor and order from Blue Apron or Purple Carrot instead!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Charged for two boxes

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I usually get my boxes on Thursdays. I was showing someone what I had coming. One meal wasn’t what I ordered. I checked my account, and I was charged twice.

    I called their customer service. I got someone I couldn’t understand. She told me I had set up two accounts and had my box I ordered coming on Thursday and another box coming on Friday! I said why would I set up two accounts and order the same thing to come on Thursday and then the same box coming on Friday? She said people do it all the time! She said she couldn’t give me my money back but would give me one free meal ($17.95). After she charged me $56 twice. No way!

    The customer service was in no way helpful partly due to the language barrier! I ordered from Blue Apron and had a problem, but they were really helpful and accommodating. Customer service is everything to a business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 117

Write a Review for HelloFresh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review