What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

135 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 79 4 star: 5 3 star: 5 2 star: 2 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 63% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 135
Sort reviews by:

  • 39 out 42 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Adelaide, South Australia ,
    • Feb 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the "free" trial samples. I did not return the product within 30 days, because did not read the terms and conditions, and they did not provide this information in the order confirmation email, so I was charged for the samples, and kept being charged, month after month. The customer service is impossible to deal with. On the phone, they said that they will reimburse the charge, and tried to sell me more stuff, but in the end, I was charged again. So once I've had enough, I canceled my credit card. The product made my hair even more dry and brittle. It a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Customer service is horrible

    • Mar 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product is fine, but too expensive. I called the 800 to cancel and was promoted to press buttons to cancel. I canceled, and they offered me a lower payment amount, I accepted and then the next week I was charged $79.95. I called and the customer service rep told me that she couldn't refund my money and that I never called in, but she offered me a ton of other options. She didn't let me talk, talked right over me instead. I asked for a supervisor, she ignored me and then told me she's at work and she has to do her job. Really? I've said no about 10 times already to all of their options.

    I asked for a supervisor about five times, she told me she would take my number and have them call me back within 48 hours, I told her I didn't trust her to do that, so she said I could hold for that amount of time if I'd like to. She finally got a supervisor on the phone, very unprofessional, but at least she answered my questions. Never again will I deal with them or refer them to anyone, not even my worst enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 56 people found this review helpful

    I will never try this product again!

    • Brooksville, FL,
    • Mar 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using this product for about 3 months now and have not noticed my hair getting thicker, growing faster or anything better about it. The only thing I've noticed is my hair falling out more than normal!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing results especially for the extreme pricing.

    • Cypress, TX,
    • Apr 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Shampoo and conditioner did not make my hair feel and look thicker and fuller as advertises. The Lift Repair and Treatment Spray made my hair look dirty and greasy.

    The hair re-growth treatment may have worked if continued for longer, but not worth the price for all the rest of the products and only sold as a package. Very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 70 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Worst product for kinky African American with type 4 hair

    • Fort lauderdale, FL ,
    • May 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My hair is naturally kinky and dry. After using this product, my hair became so brittle and dry that I lost over 2/3 of what I started with. Even though I conditioned it with both leave ins and washout chemical free products, it couldn't overcome the dryness that occurred from using this product. I had bald patches all over my head as a result of this. Since stopping this product, my hair is starting to grow back, but its practically all new growth. I'm sticking to the natural oils and conditioners, even though my growth is slow and my hair is not as full, at least I don't have any more bald spots. This product is very bad for type 4c African American hair.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 75 people found this review helpful

    You will be sorry.

    • Brooklyn, New York,
    • Jul 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the FREE trial and only paid the shipping. Before I got the package, I called in to cancel future shipments and they canceled it for me. But then I kept getting emails that they were going to charge my card $80 and I was so confused so I called them and I asked them about it and the lady told me the payment was $297. First off, they lied to me and were planning to take out more money than they said. And second, the lady was trying to tell me I had to pay $297 for a FREE TRIAL. I didn't get a second box or anything, they were making me pay for the first box which was supposed to be free. So I canceled my card and got a new one before they even got a chance to scam me. Ladies, you should do the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2017

      Nguyễn Yến

      I wish I would have seen these comments before I ordered from this website. They scam their customers. I had to close my bank account.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 69 out 71 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Killeen, TX,
    • Aug 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't order it. I was getting it over target not knowing what I signed up for. The product arrived saying my card will be charged for $169.00. Oh no. I am a single mom and a cancer survivor. I can't afford that. Also, be aware of the ingredients, it contains a 2% minoxidil lotion which you can get at Wal mart and only try the shampoo and conditioner from literal. My hair is growing back now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 84 out 88 people found this review helpful

    SCAM, beware.

    I ordered this product after I got email from Amazon. I ordered free trial for which they said that i only have to pay for shipping which is around $3.98. And I got the product. After few days I got an email from them that they will charge $84 for next supply. So I called them and they sent me through product cancellation automatic system. I canceled my account and after cancellation they said I will be charged $35.90 for the products I got in free trials and then the call got disconnected.

    Then I again called customer service and product manager talked with me. Her name was Dianna or Dona and she literally shouted on me when I was trying to talk with her about my purchase. I asked her for refund and she said that they don't want my product back and that's why they are charging my card. When I was angry again and I asked her to transfer me to her superior, she said that she is offering me a refund now. When I checked my debit card they have already charged me $35 for this product plus 3 transaction of $1. I still don't understand why they charged me for those 3$ . Please ladies, beware of this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product, even a worse company experience

    • Sep 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered their free trial which only charges you for shipping. This they make very clear, along with all of the things the product is supposed to do for your hair. My hair felt more damaged than ever while using this product and I gladly went back to the brand I was using before.

    I received an email saying my free trial time was coming to a close, and they provided a link that took you to a page that gave you 3 options to choose from towards what step you would like to take next to the product.

    I cancelled it, expecting to only be charged to keep my product. Come to find out, you're supposed to call them, and they charge you full price, divided up into a couple of payments, for the whole product. When I tried to argue them on it, they were incredibly rude and condescending.

    Never again would I buy this product or recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 31, 2016

      cai

      Hi,

      I've had the same experience. It's infuriating when you're asked to pay for a product that does no good for your hair. And the customer service was rude, as if they were the ones scammed by this product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 64 out 65 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted/Scam

    • New Mexico,
    • Nov 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The bill was just over $100 bucks on this worthless supplement. I am better using prenatal vitamins! My hair has not grown nor has gotten thicker. There's absolutely no change. What a waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 96 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Keranique fraud

    • Midland, TX,
    • Nov 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well to start off, the shampoo and conditioner caused a lot of breakage to my hair, it made my hair extremely dry. The vitamins made me extremely tired and fatigue. And regrow solution would burn and cause dandruff in the spot I put it on. When I stopped using the product, my hair started falling out triple the times. Products are a fraud and not worth a penny that they cost. I paid a lot for nothing and customer service is the worst and no help. I asked for a refund, I simply got a "keep trying it and it will work." Never buy this product, you're probably better of with cheaper hair stuff. Oh and let's not forget how they kept charging my account after canceling the order and filling bank disputes. Frustrating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 135

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review