PillPack Review and Details

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 29, 2015

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on-time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

PillPack Alternatives

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.


Read 81 PillPack Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 81
Sort reviews by:

  • 43 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Awful service, don’t be fooled

    • By Tammy Jones,
    • Lexington, SC,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I changed my pharmacy to PillPack over a year ago. At first, they were great. But then things started going downhill. They would send my meds with a handwritten note in the box saying certain meds were not included in the shipment because they needed a refill and couldn’t get in touch with my doctor. They didn’t email or call me beforehand saying they needed my intervention to get the prescription refilled either.

    Then, after several emails complaining, they did start calling me. However, it was an every month occurrence of them calling me to call and get the refill. My doctor office said they get calls all the time from pharmacies but has never received a call or fax from PillPack asking for a refill. I also kept sending messages via their smartphone app with questions or issues, but would never get a response back. When I first came on board with them, they would answer me within minutes no matter what time of day or night it was. Then I find out months later that their app doesn’t work anymore, but no one sent an email letting anyone know!

    I switched to Simple Meds and love them so far. Oh, and they got in touch with my doctors on the first try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Terrible, incompetent, and unethical

    This service is painful to manage. Trust me, go to your local pharmacy, sort meds yourself, and save yourself a ton of time and hassle dealings with the idiots at PillPack.

    Three weeks of calls to their customer service line (approximately 20 calls) and not a single issue resolved satisfactorily. In fact, each call seemed to come with its own issue. They never reply to emails with anything other than automated responses, and never make follow up calls regarding issues you raise with them via phone.

    I had unauthorized shipments, was overcharged, they called the wrong physician multiple times, it took me three calls to get a simple Rx transferred from CVS, was not consulted about anything (start date, calling doctors, sending supplemental shipments, etc., etc.), and I still never receive a single PillPack from them! No communication at all. They took it upon themselves to make decisions that I never authorized them to make. It's unethical. Terrible service. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 37 people found this review helpful

    The. Worst. Pharmacy. Ever.

    • By Rob,
    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve lost track of the number of times these clowns have failed to get refills or notify me of a problem with a refill. They routinely ship packages that do not have full and complete medications.

    Their “customer service” is entirely made up of “we’re sorry,” and “that shouldn’t happen.” Nothing but words, no improvement after multiple issues.

    Worst. Pharmacy. Ever.

    Avoid.

    I have switched to CVS who offers a similar service.

    P.S. I am certain that someone from PillPack will post the usual “we’re sorry” and “this is not the service that we mean to deliver.” Don't be fooled. Like others here, I have been told that the doctors don’t return calls and faxes. Like others, I have spoken with close to a dozen “supervisors” and “managers.” It’s all a shell game and a joke. Nothing ever gets better. They are NOT sorry, and this IS the level of service you should expect. Don’t be fooled. Take these 1-star ratings to heart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Won't give price quotes; rude on phone

    • By D. H.,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called on behalf of my elderly mother to try to get price quotes and find out if they could provide her with two meds that come from a specialty pharmacy. They refused to give price quotes, kept saying copays would stay the same, and couldn't understand that under her insurance she pays a percentage, not a flat price copay. It got to the point where every time I started to speak the man interrupted me. It is quite obvious that they train their employees to avoid giving out prices. I figure if it's this difficult to deal with them on what should be simple inquiries, I don't want to have to deal with them on anything else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Do not use, or run the risk of not receiving your meds!

    • By Melissa,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Mar 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack is Horrible!

    I used to be good, but every time I have a medication change, it's like I have to go through hoops to make sure it gets done. The hold times are terrible. And finally, I canceled my account but they are holding my scripts hostage! I am on life-saving meds, which are due to run out, therefore I will now have to waste money and go see my doctor since the PillPack will not do the right thing.

    I am so disappointed. They also tried to charge my card the cash price for a medication since they did not get the prior authorization!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Amazon acquires train wreck.

    • By Lisa H.,
    • Kernersville, NC,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, Amazon wants to get into the healthcare business. They believe they can disrupt the market. Good luck Amazon. Your acquisition is going to require a complete overhaul if you are going to make a dent in the PBM arena. This is more than slapping a shipping label on a Sham Wow. These are people's lives you have in your hands and should not be taken lightly.

    Good concept of pre-packing pills into day/evening dose packs. The packaging material either opens inadvertently when trying to tear off at perforation spilling your pills everywhere or you cannot get into the pack without the use of teeth or scissors. There is no in-between. The dispensing box does not keep the pills dispensing, you have to constantly open up and dig in to pull the strip of pills out.

    There is a disconnect with customer service. They don't get it. I don't think they have any pharmacy customer service training. They cannot pronounce medications; they seem clueless as to policies and procedures (shipping, ordering, delivery). Don't count on them to discover a drug, drug interaction or contraindications. Hopefully, they have board certified pharmacists that will catch those.

    The shipping time and delivery exceed national average...weeks, not days. It is sad when you can get a replacement iPhone in less than 24 hours, but your medications will take weeks to reach you. You will also spend an exorbitant time on the phone trying to set up and order your medications. Their website is not intuitive or user-friendly either. Now...rush shipment. Let's say you have a PRN (as needed) medication that you use for migraines, if you want that delivered, you can get a rush order. I went online and ordered a rush order...a rush order was two weeks. Again, from what planet is this medication being shipped from?

    Now, canceling and getting your prescriptions moved back to a real pharmacy. Good luck with that. You can call. They will tell you they will do it. They won't. Trust me. Call the pharmacy that you want your prescriptions transferred to and have them contact PillPack. It is the only way that you will get them transferred. Better yet, don't use PillPack in the first place and you won't have to worry about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Just DON'T!

    • By Stephanie O.,
    • Mountain View, CA,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a senior with a limited income and a lack of youthful dexterity, I thought PillPack was the answer to my prayers. They were not.

    1) I was told the copays would be identical to my local pharmacy. I explained that my insurance had a two-tier copay plan (preferred and non-preferred). They said they worked with my preferred pharmacy and the copays would be the same. They were not.

    2) I explained that I have trouble opening pill bottles, even those without safety caps. They sent one of my prescriptions in a pill bottle.

    3) They said they could transfer my medications from my preferred pharmacy so that I would receive all my medications in easy open packets labeled with the time of day each packet was to be taken. They only filled three of my 12 prescriptions. Only two were in a packet - see #2.

    4) They miss-filled the prescription that they sent in a bottle. The bottle read "Take one pill three times a day." For a 30-day supply, they sent only 30 pills. When I contacted them, I got apologies, but they would not transfer the prescription back to my pharmacy so that I could pick them up locally.

    3) I ended up going to the Emergency Room, as it was Sunday, and I needed the pills immediately to avoid withdrawal symptoms (common with SSRI’s and benzodiazepines). They could only give me one pill.

    4) I then found out that my pharmacy could not have filled the remainder of the prescription, as PillPack informed my insurance company that they had filled a 30-day supply. My pharmacy could not have filled a newly written prescription, as I was only ten days into my supposed 30-day supply.

    5) My doctor could not, by law, write a new prescription without an office visit. I made an appointment; my doctor wrote a new prescription on Monday. I had to pay the full cash price, as PillPack incorrectly told my insurance company that they had given me a 30-day supply.

    PillPack has refused to even entertain the idea of reimbursing me for any of my costs. I have since contacted a medical malpractice lawyer to try to recover some of the money I had to spend due to PillPack’s admitted error. I also have a call into the Pharmacy Board in New Hampshire and am awaiting their response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • By Daniel D.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Huge frustration with their constant errors that resulted in my not having medications when needed. And just an overall terrible experience with their lack of diligence, an app/website that does not reflect current information for accounts (missing medicines, wrong shipment information, etc), and despite the promises of a more seamless experience, I find it much easier to deal with my local pharmacy than to deal with these chuckleheads. Too bad, because there is a lot of promise to the concept. Unfortunately, the execution is just atrocious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Beware before you try!

    I tried them out, and they screwed up everything the first month. They promised it would not happen again, but they did again the second month. Then halfway through the third, they tell me they don't take my insurance anymore and I can pay cash for them and they will gladly continue serving me!

    This was a horrible inconvenience. I would not recommend them to anyone! The biggest waste of time and energy switching everything to them, then getting treated like crap, only to just have to switch back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Bad people

    • By Johnny B.,
    • Columbus, IN,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where to start...

    They start out by scamming you to join by saying they are calling from your doctor's office. That's how they pull you in. My very own doctor told me that I'm not her only patient they did that to. They told me they would get my scripts altogether and get them sent to me in the mail. At that time I was told to go about getting my scripts like normal through Walgreens. I went to fill my antidepressants and they could not fill them.

    Long story short of it, about 7 to 10 days later I found myself in the Emergency Room. Shaking, sweating, dehydrated, crying from severe depression. To get them to release my scripts back to Walgreens, I had to call my state reps office. If you like taking chances of doing without important medications then give PillPack a chance. I would suggest stay away from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • By Katie Scott,
    • Apple Valley, CA,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have issues with this pharmacy almost every single month. When I was on chemotherapy, they told me 4 separate times that my medication would arrive on time and it never did. I had to go without my medication for a week and fight just to get my medication. Then when I stopped taking the chemotherapy, they wouldn’t stop shipping my medication after asking them multiple times.

    They’re always shipping out my PillPacks without medications because they fail to refill my prescriptions with my doctor, or they add too many medications causing me to throw away perfectly fine pills.

    Every single month something happens. Wheather it be issues like them accidentally putting my medications in 4 separate PillPacks a day, or issues like them leaving out medications I need to stay healthy. I’m constantly having to fight between them and my doctor’s office, and it’s exhausting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 81

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review