Quip Toothbrush Reviews - Right Choice for Your Teeth?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jan 28, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure: Quip pays a monthly fee to HighYa to lease ad space only on this URL. Advertisements displayed on this page are provided by Quip. Should a reader click on a Quip advertisement or some of the links and make a purchase on Quip's website, HighYa DOES NOT earn any commission.

Many people neglect their oral hygiene more than they should, and it’s easy to assume that splurging for a pricy electric toothbrush will solve this problem.

Quip, in contrast, is a simplified electric toothbrush subscription service designed to help customers become better at brushing. This (relatively) low-cost, lightweight toothbrush is designed to mimic a manual brush but claims to include the best features of an electric brush to help you achieve your cleanest mouth.

Can Quip compete with other electric toothbrush powerhouses like Oral B or Sonicare? In this review, we’ll discuss our analysis and personal experience with Quip.

Pros
  • Takes up less space than traditional electric brushes
  • Lifetime warranty with subscription enrollment
  • Runs on AAA battery for easy replacement
Cons
  • Less cost-effective without a subscription
  • Only one-year warranty without a subscription
  • Can only buy replacement heads online

How Does Quip Work?

Quip toothbrushes start at $25 each and run off a single AAA battery that should last for at least three months before you replace it. This means you won’t need to mess with a charging stand or built-in battery, as is common with other brands.

The brush produces “sensitive, silent sonic vibrations” for two minutes at a time, and it pulses every 30 seconds to remind you to move to another quarter of your mouth. They are waterproof—meaning you can use them in the shower—and include a travel cover that also works to mount the brush to any glossy surface (like a mirror) to save you counter space.

Subscribers also receive a refillable floss dispenser that is refilled every three months.

Quip claims to be the first subscription electric brush and refillable floss accepted by the American Dental Association. This means that its products meet the ADA’s requirements for safety and efficacy.

Other brands meet this certification, including Oral B, Sonicare, CVS Health SmileSonic, and more.

Our Personal Experience with Quip

HighYa founder Vlad Rappoport has been using Quip for a while. He shared that he was initially skeptical that the brush’s vibrations weren't strong enough to be effective, especially compared to the Philip’s Sonicare he used previously.

However, the brush soon surpassed his expectations.

“Overall, after a couple of weeks of using it, my teeth were clean and sustained whatever cleanness I've accomplished with my Philips Sonicare prior”, he shared. “This is an absolutely fantastic toothbrush and cheaper than those robust electric toothbrushes.”

He also added, “You get the best of both worlds – you get that simple light manual toothbrush look and feel while still accomplishing results of high-end robust toothbrushes. My 10-year old niece somehow heard of Quip as well and specifically requested it as a Christmas present. I have never heard of a 10-year-old asking for a toothbrush for Christmas. Something must've appealed to her.”

Finally, Rappoport added, “Quip is also ideal if you travel and want to pack light. It's easy to pack and not as bulky as traveling with an electric toothbrush.”

While Rappoport shared that he doesn’t think Quip performs any better than his more expensive Sonicare, he believes it’s an excellent brush for anyone, but especially those who prefer a regular, non-electric feel to their toothbrush.

Is Quip Brush Better for Your Mouth?

One of Quip’s main selling points is that its electric toothbrush is stripped down to the essentials of sensitive vibrations and a two-minute built-in timer, without extra features like multiple brushing settings or Bluetooth compatibility.

The company states that one of the main reasons dentists recommend electric toothbrushes is that the brushes encourage gentle brushing and help users develop the habit of brushing for the full two minutes.

According to Consumer Reports, both manual and electric toothbrushes are equally effective once you brush for this long, though those with gingivitis will benefit more from going electric.

For that reason, Quip brushes are designed to help you build better brushing habits without making you pay for features that don’t necessarily make a difference for your teeth.

In this way, the company claims to combine the low-cost efficiency of a manual brush with the positive habit-forming properties of an electric model.

Quip Pricing

It’s possible to purchase all Quip products individually or in sets as part of a subscription program.

Starter Set

This three-month starter set comes with an electric toothbrush, all-in-one travel cover, mount and stand, a 4.7 oz toothpaste tube, and a 3-month supply of dental floss.

Pricing depends on your preferred toothbrush and floss materials, and include the following options.

Toothbrush:

  • Green Plastic: $30 ($25 with subscription)
  • Metal: $45 ($40 with subscription)
  • All-black metal edition: $55 ($50 with subscription)

Refillable Floss Dispenser:

  • Plastic: $5
  • Metal: $15

If you sign up for a subscription, you’ll pay between $25–$65 for the first month and then $15 every three months for the refill plan, which includes a new battery, toothbrush head, toothpaste, and floss refill.

If you choose to repay for the first 12 months, you will save 20% off your total order. Once the three prepaid refills have been sent out, your plan will switch to the three-month subscription model.

If you decide to purchase a toothbrush, replacement brush heads, floss, or toothpaste as one-time purchases, note that you will need to pay $10 shipping for each order. Shipping is free on the subscription plan.

Quip toothbrushes are also available at Target for the same prices you'd be paying on Quip's website through a subscription model. Additionally, the brush is available on Amazon, but at a higher cost.

Kids Set

This smaller toothbrush is available in four colors and has a rubber grip handle. You’ll pay $30 for the brush ($25 with subscription) and $10 every three months for a replacement brush head, battery, and watermelon flavored toothpaste.

Return Policy

Quip accepts returns within the first 30 days of purchase. You will receive a full refund once the company receives your return.

All Quip products come with a lifetime guarantee on the subscription plan. If your brush stops working, you can reach out to help@getQuip.com, and an assessment team will remotely inspect it before sending you a new one.

Note that any brush purchased without a subscription is only covered by warranty for one year after purchase.

You can cancel your subscription at any time with no charge. Just keep in mind that doing so will void your lifetime guarantee.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 650 HighYa readers have left reviews on Quip, and they average 4.4 stars, with 86% of users saying they would recommend this brand to their friends. Likewise, there are more than 200 reviews of Quip on ConsumerAffairs, and this little electric toothbrush averages more than 4.5 stars on the platform.

Here’s a summary of some of the opinions from these reviews.

Sleek Product Design

Dozens of Quip reviews raved about this brush’s stylish design. They loved how small it was when compared to other electric toothbrushes with bulky charging stations, and appreciated the Instagram-worthy design.

Many mentioned that the brush took up less space in tiny bathrooms and that they loved the option of attaching it directly to their mirror to free up the counter.

Great for Travel

Many people purchased Quip specifically for use during travel, and they loved how well it worked for this purpose. The slim design and replaceable battery meant it took up less space than other models, and they didn’t have to worry about it dying during the trip.

Others kept a Quip at the office or their gym so that they could clean their teeth easily when away from home.

Good Beginner Electric Toothbrush

For many HighYa reviewers, Quip was their first electric toothbrush experience. These users noted that the vibrations weren’t as intense as they first feared they would be and that the two-minute timer helped them develop better brushing habits right away.

Refill Policy

In a few cases, reviewers struggled with the company’s refill policy. Some had to call Quip directly to set it up because the website wouldn’t recognize their order otherwise.

Might Not Clean as Well as the Competition

Though most reviewers thought Quip worked great to clean their teeth, a few thought it didn’t compare well to other brands like Oral B. One user shared that she used Quip for a year and developed five cavities in that time, when previously she hadn’t had any. Everyone has their own subjective preferences, however.

Better Clean Than Before

Many Quip users shared that they were getting better reports from their dentist after using the subscription service. Some stated that their previous plaque buildup was gone and that their mouth felt cleaner after brushing than it ever did with a manual.

Key Takeaways: Quip customer reviews are overwhelmingly positive. Quip toothbrush is an excellent option for anyone interested in a low-profile device that works well both at home and while traveling.

Popular Alternatives: How Does Quip Stack Up Against Them?

What are you compromising if you commit to Quip over a better-known electric toothbrush brand? Our chart compares three popular options.

Quip Oral B PRO 500 Sonicare 2 Series Plaque Control
Toothbrush Cost $25-$55 ($5 less if subscribing) $34.99 $69.99
Use Modes 2-minute automatic run time, pulse alerts every thirty seconds 2-minute in-handle timer, buzzes every thirty seconds Two-minute timer, beeps every thirty seconds. Includes EasyStart program to slowly build up intensity for those transitioning from manual brushing
Time/Cost for Replacement Heads Replace head every three months, $5 each Replace every three months, prices range, starting around $1/head on Amazon Replace every three months, prices start at $15 per head
Battery AAA battery, lasts three months Charging stand, lasts five days between charges Charging stand, lasts up to two weeks between charges
Speed 15,000 brush rotations per minute 7,600 brush rotations per minute Up to 31,000 brush movements per minute
Subscription Available? Yes No Yes (for replacement heads)
Warranty Information Lifetime manufacturing warranty for subscribers (one year otherwise) Two-year manufacturing warranty

Two-year manufacturing warranty

All three of these brushes contain similar functionality. Each is automatically set to run for two minutes per session and will alert you every half minute to move to another part of your mouth. Such reminders match the Mayo Clinic’s recommendation for optimal twice-a-day brushing sessions.

Each brush differs significantly in brushing speed, with Quip falling in the middle of the pack. That won’t necessarily make a significant difference in how effective it is for cleaning your teeth, so long as you are brushing for at least two minutes per session.

Keep in mind that Quip uses a replaceable battery while both Oral B and Sonicare come with charging platforms. With these two models, you’ll save the inconvenience of switching out batteries every few months, but you’ll need to remember to charge the brush almost weekly.

For those with a small bathroom, this charging station might get cumbersome- especially if you have multiple family members with similar brushes. Likewise, if the rechargeable battery goes in the brush, you’ll have to throw it out.

It’s also worth noting that you might need to pack the charging station if you take either of these brushes on trips, which means it will take up more space in your luggage as Quip or a manual.

If you’re struggling to choose between these models, think about how you want to buy replacement heads. Oral B and Sonicare are both popular brands, meaning you should be able to buy them on Amazon and at dozens of retail locations.

Quip, in contrast, is only available online, which means you need to plan on paying $10 in shipping for every order unless you commit to the subscription program.

Some people will appreciate the convenience that this delivery system offers, while others will prefer to buy replacement heads in person on their own timing.

The Bottom Line: Is Quip Worth It?

Based on our analysis and personal hands-on experience, we recommend the Quip toothbrush.

Quip brushes offer a compromise between manual and electric toothbrushes that seems to give users the best of both worlds.

This brush goes back to the basics, so you’re not paying for more than you need while still benefiting from the primary advantage of going electric—learning how to brush your teeth thoroughly.

If you want a sleek brush that doesn’t break the bank, then consider signing up for Quip’s subscription program so you can take advantage of free shipping and the lifetime guarantee.

If a subscription doesn’t interest you, you’ll likely save more over time sticking with another brand so you can buy replacement heads at the store and save on shipping costs.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Quip Toothbrush:
  • 780 Customer Reviews
  • 88% Recommend This Product
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 77% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 8%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Nice looking but not effective,

    • By NJ,
    • New York,
    • Aug 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was really happy with my toothbrush for the first three months after which it stopped working as well as it had been. I emailed the company to inform them of my issues and they were apologetic but unhelpful. It's a great website and idea but sadly the product still needs a lot of work.

    I waited foe over two months to receive my tooth brush (the company emailed me to apologize for the delay, apparently they were in the process of improving the heads) that then only lasted three months. Total waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 1, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi NJ,

      It sounds like you had an issue that was caused by the removal or changing of the brush head?

      Quip covers your brush for life, and we ship replacements heads or brushes for the few that need them instantly.

      At no point in 2016 should you have needed to wait for two months (let alone two days) for a brush head! It sounds like there was more to your case. Could you let us know your order number, or some other identifying factor so we can better answer to your experience?

      Thanks so much!


  • Quip delivery

    • By Candice,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I can't tell you about the product because I haven't been able to receive it.

    They use USPS mail and if the tracking number says it has been delivered (which it hasn't), they tell you to call the Post Office. The Post Office has an 800 number which they don't answer. When you enter the tracking number it says that it's delivered.

    The customer service representative at Quip would only say, "go talk to your neighbors, maybe they have it." They will not give me a refund until I file a claim with the Post Office. The Post Office won't accept a claim until your package has been lost for 15-20 days.

    Bottom line, they need to step up and use an actual delivery service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 1, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi, Candice.

      We are so sorry to hear about your poor experience with USPS, and I would encourage you to leave this review on their review page also!

      The fact is, they recorded this package as "delivered." Sadly, a number of fraudulent claims online companies get that packages are not delivered when they are. Therefore, we are not able to send out a reshipment (or full refund) until we see a case started with USPS. We do this because that is something you can do instantly. The backup option is not to open a case and, as you say, wait 15-20 days for USPS to admit it as lost, but we do not encourage that.

      The reason we suggest checking with neighbors is that we have been shipping Quip for two years now, and nine times out of ten a "delivered" package that cannot be found is in fact, at a neighbors house.

      We understand the frustration experienced here, and we are deeply sorry you had to go through that. We have tried many service providers over the last few years and can assure you that USPS perform just as well (or in your case, just as bad!) as the others we tried. But we appreciate your feedback.


  • Dentist told me my dental health deteriorated

    • By Dray,
    • California,
    • Feb 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got a Quip Toothbrush one year ago and have since been to the dentist three times. I already had great oral health, but I wanted a convenient toothbrush that I didn't have to remember to buy. Quip seemed like a simple Netflix-style solution to my first world problems.

    I went to the dentist two weeks ago and have a cavity for the first time in ten years. I also have worse gum health than I did. My dentist (who knows me well) asked me what changed. I explained that I switched toothbrushes to Quip. She told me to go back to Sonicare immediately.

    Now that I've really "A and B" tested them, I can actually feel my teeth and gums feel better after I use the Sonicare.

    I'm not sure how the marketing got me, but the $40 I saved on the toothbrush (as compared to Sonicare I had), is not worth the $320 filling I had to get and my poorer dental health.

    Don't buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 1, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Dray!

      We do not know every detail of your oral health; only your dentist knows that, so we would always recommend you go with their advice first and foremost.

      With that said, we hope that they were open with the fact that a toothbrush cannot cause cavities or, in itself, deteriorate your oral health. If they did not discuss this, we would recommend reading through the ADA toothbrush guide and the consumer reports toothbrush guide.

      In short, a manual toothbrush (which Quip is identical in shape and size and design to, just with the addition of vibrations and timer making it electric) is capable of a perfect clean if used correctly, just like even the most expensive electrics on the market.

      So switching from an "ultra" level of vibration like yours, to a "sensitive" one like Quip will not cause a deterioration in your oral health (despite what the ads say, toothbrushes are not magic devices).

      With that said, switching toothbrushes of any kind CAN alter brushing habits and brushing routine. We actually designed Quip specifically to make better brushing and a better brushing routine more simple, and focus on the things that really do improve your oral health (technique, routine, upkeep) and try and ensure people not to believe electric toothbrushes do all the work for you.

      But it seems like, for whatever reason, Quip made you brush worse. And we are so sorry to hear it! All mouths are different and so are personal preference. As your dentist should tell you, personal preference is the most important thing when choosing a brush, so it sounds like your old brush is the one for you!

      We hope you get back to a better brushing routine and are sorry Quip was not for you!


  • Do not buy the product

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the toothbrush with three refills to last a year for US $70, including shipment to the Netherlands, which is already a high amount. When the first delivery arrived in Amsterdam, I had to pay the shipping company EUR 22 on top of the product.

    I submitted a complaint, and customer service canceled the other three refills with a reimbursement of US $10. Therefore, I ended up paying over US $82 for a toothbrush I did not even like.

    I do not recommend the product for the product itself, and because of the experience I had with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 1, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Carolina!

      Most importantly, we are sorry you did not have the ideal Quip experience. We know it can always be challenging when ordering an international product.

      Qe are very open with international customers. We show the shipping charge clearly on the shipping page, we also clearly state on our website (and link to from the same area of the shipping page) that you may incur customs import charges that we cannot control, depending on your local area.

      We also offer full refunds within 30 days, so you should have no need to be with a toothbrush that you have had a poor experience with.

      We totally understand your frustrations with these common issues that are a sad part of ordering any product internationally due to the challenges of international shipping. We provide international shipping for those passionate about trying Quip in any country, but we are very clear and forewarning about the challenges and potential costs.

      We are sorry for your experience and are always here to help on help@getquip.com.


  • Broken in three months

    • By Celesy,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Waste of money. It broke after three months, but I already prepaid for the 12 months of brush heads.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 1, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Celesy!

      Did you email help@getquip.com when you had an issue with your brush? If your brush broke at three months, it sounds like you may have had an issue when replacing (as the brush head should be replaced at three months with the refill you receive).

      Either way, your brush is covered for life! So please do email us so we can help you out :).


  • Awful

    • By Eric Moe,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't buy; it is a waste of money! Not at all like a Sonicare. Cleans teeth like a regular brush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 9, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi again, Eric! We are sorry that our website, the booklet that came with your brush, and our subsequent email exchanges around this subject we were not able to clear up any misunderstandings about Quip's approach, and what affects your oral health.

      As we explained in those email exchanges, the reason we built Quip was to help battle the damaging misunderstanding that electric toothbrushes, and more specifically, the power mode they are set to will magically clean your teeth far better than regular toothbrushes. We also want to battle the misconception that electric brushes particularly, the one you mention should be used differently to a regular toothbrush (as per their product manual and our manual, they shouldn't).

      The quality of "clean" your toothbrush gives you is wholly dependent on how you use it. The truth is, a regular (manual) brush is just as capable of "cleaning" as the most super-powered, expensive electric toothbrush when used well. The issue is that most people don't use them well, and electric brushes help guide better usage and harbor good habits (encourage softer, tooth by tooth brushing for a full two minutes)

      The things that ensure a better clean; brushing gently, going tooth by tooth, wiggling the bristles around the gum line, for two full minutes twice a day, changing your brush head every three months, and visiting the dentist every six months. These habits have a fundamental effect on oral health (whether your brush is set to "sensitive" like Quip or "ultra" like yours). If followed, you can attain a perfectly clean teeth whatever you use. The problem is, the majority get several of the above wrong.

      We simply built Quip to focus on these important habits, and not make our members believe that by simply owning electric toothbrushes, excuse the need to brush well. We want to guide, inspire and automate healthy habits, and improve oral health.

      With all of the above said, personal preference is everything in a toothbrush. If aggressive vibrations and horsepower are things that inspire you to brush well, then your Sonicare is the right brush for you! For many others, they would prefer the same guidance in the form of a more simple, quiet, comfortable and easy to live with a product like a quip.

      I'm sorry that Quip was not for you, but I'm happy to see our help team were able to assist you with your return that was within your 30-day trial period.


  • Did not pass customs and Quip blamed ME.

    • By Katt,
    • Germany,
    • Apr 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It would have been nice to try, but they failed to properly file through customs. German customs contacted me saying they had a kitchen appliance and needed it to be retrieved (with a fee that cost more than the toothbrush itself) in a week or else they would return it to sender. That was over a month ago. Still, I have no refund (Quip said they needed the return), and they won't refund the shipping either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 13, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are so sorry to hear that you had trouble with receiving your package!

      All customs information on your package is correctly stated and paid for. However, as per our guidance on international shipping during checkout, your package may still be subject to customs charges that are out of our control which is an unfortunate side effect risk of ordering items internationally. We can see our help team offered to provide an additional detailed invoice to present to customs to help with releasing a held package if needed.

      We have successfully been shipping to Germany over the last two years and have not received notices of any packages being classified as a “kitchen appliance” as you stated. This is a new one, and our team is looking into. It does seem like a random and unfortunate mix up by the German customs team.

      As our team mentioned, as soon as there is an update on your order that shows it is being sent back to the U.S, we are ready to refund the full purchase.

      At no point have we blamed you for this issue, it has nothing to do with you! This is an unfortunate mix up, and we are so sorry you were inconvenienced because of it. Please do email us on help@getquip.com if you require further help.


  • Quip Toothbrush

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased three toothbrushes for Christmas. Once I received the replacement brushes three months later, all three brushes did not stay on the toothbrush. Do NOT buy this product. Once you replace the brushes, they fall off. They refuse to provide a return. Do not buy; it's a cheap product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 1, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Miguel, first and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your Quips!

      When an issue like this happens, there is always the chance of a rare defect. However, if it has happened more than once, we need to ensure that it's not an issue caused by a misunderstanding of how the Quip brush head is removed or how the product is used. It is very rare to have one defect, let alone three.

      We can see a considerable amount of back-and-forth between you and our team. We are trying to help you with your replacements for a long time. It seemed they were struggling to ascertain which brush had an issue. At no point did anyone refuse a replacement, as we cover your Quips for one year, or for the life of your plan. Our team was only trying to help.

      We can assure that Quip is far from a cheap product to make, and it is made using the same materials, manufacturers, testing, and procedures as some of the biggest brands in the world.

      We are deeply sorry for your issue. Whatever the cause is, we look forward to continuing to help you in the email conversation we currently have open.


  • Disappointing product; distasteful customer service

    • By Hal,
    • Cleveland, OH,
    • May 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited to buy into Quip's "simplified oral routine," but I ended up disappointed with the product and frustrated with customer service.

    My fiancé and I bought our Quips together. At first, we found the results not particularly impressive, but minimally acceptable. They really didn't do any better than our old $4 disposable battery-operated vibrating toothbrushes, and I felt like the bristles were much too hard. In fact, the only improvement was the timed vibration feature.

    We agreed that we'd continue to give them a chance, but then my fiancé's electronic function stopped working after about a month, and mine stopped a couple of weeks later.

    It took us weeks to get a hold of a company representative. Their phone lines weren't manned, and no one responded to our phone messages or emails. Finally, a representative responded and refused a return/refund, but said I could send them in for repair at my own expense. By this point, we really didn't want to sink any more money into them.

    Good companies usually stand by their products and allow you a return or refund if the product doesn't live up to their promises, but Quip didn't. Had they offered me a return or refund after this process, I would have written my bad experience off as variable personal preference, and I wouldn't have taken the time to write negative reviews.

    My advice is, don't buy from companies who don't stick by their own products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 7, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi, Hal!

      We are sorry you didn't love your Quip, although it does sound like there are one or two misunderstandings with our simple replacement process, as well as the toothbrush's role in regards to improving your oral health.

      Whether a toothbrush is $4, $40 or $400, they do not in themselves "do better" than one another. The only way they can produce better results is if they inspire you, and guide you to brush better. The movements or functions themselves are not what improve your oral health, but you brushing better is what will.

      So you should choose a brush that helps you brush gently. Brush tooth by tooth for a complete two minutes, two times a day, and it helps to replace the brush head every three months. At Quip, we focused our features on ensuring these crucial good brushing habits were made more simple, affordable, and enjoyable without making people believe they have to spend lots of money on features they don't need.

      As you will read on the ADA website and consumer reports (or ask your dentist), the best brush for you simply comes down to which you enjoy using the most. So for you, as long as it has soft bristles! If you were simply not enjoying Quip like others then maybe it was not the brush for you. But if you did enjoy it, then it was likely helping you brush better and hopefully improving your oral health!

      We are sorry to hear you felt the bristles were hard, although we can assure you Quip uses the same soft bristles and bristle design as many big brands on the market (sourced and assembled in the same facilities).

      We are extremely sorry to hear you had an issue. To have one is rare enough, but to hear of two is incredibly strange.

      Without knowing your whole name, or order number, we cannot see your help ticket history. We can assure you that all email support tickets are answered in 7.5 hours on average, and 15 hours less than the global average, and all by 6 pm each evening (EST time). If you did not experience this, then there is a chance our responses to your emails were landing in your promotions or spam folder. It sounds like you may have discovered that since you were helped out eventually.

      We cover Quip for the life of your plan (or one year without a plan), and so we can assure you, you would have been offered a full replacement whatever the cause. We usually only require three photographs (no mailing in) for a replacement, unless a very strange issue we cannot identify in photo form, at which point we send you a free shipping label (at our expense, not yours).

      We can assure you we stand by our products for life which is why, unlike other brands in the oral care space, cover your Quip for life with free replacements and replacement shipping! We also offer 30-day (60 brushes) return policy for your Quip, if you are not happy.

      We are sorry there was any confusion, as our warranty, on-site instructions, and help emails are very clear about this process and coverage.

      Sorry once again, to hear of your negative experience. We would love to look into your ticket further if you can provide your whole name.


  • Really bad customer service.

    Overall Experience:

    I bought this quip three months ago, and now the head of the brush falls off at each brushing. This was a $60 toothbrush! They make you jump through hoops for a replacement. I loved it for the first two months, but now it can't be used. I'm going to duct tape it together until I finally get a replacement or my money back. Do not purchase this brush until they fix the problems. Oh, and the holder that you're supposed to stick into a smooth surface falls off constantly. It is a good idea, but bad customer service and cheaply made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 28, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kathleen! We can see that you called on the 19th. We emailed you that same day asking for three photos to avoid making you send anything in. We could help you instantly. We see you replied late that same day with the photos. We responded the next day saying that we were sending you a full replacement without the need to return your brush because we could see the issue in the photo.

      So that we can learn from your feedback, it would be helpful to know at which point during the 24 hours from your outreach to the replacement timeline was the customer experience was not ideal? What was particularly frustrating? We try to avoid people ever needing to leave the comfort of their own home or ever be without their toothbrush, which is why we find sending a couple of quick photos is ideal.

      We see that there was a conversation around what might have caused the crack. Our help team told you that we only have seen the brush head connection crack upon incorrect brush head removal. They were simply trying to ensure you had seen the video on how to remove the brush head, to make sure it didn't happen in the future. These instructions were not slowing down your replacement, it was just additional helpful information we like to add while you order was processing, to help ensure you have no issues in the future.

      We are sorry you did not have the best experience and we hope your free replacement makes up for this. Always here to help on help@getquip.com


  • Waste of money

    • By D Jones,
    • Texas,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible waste of my money. The first two toothbrush heads snapped in half after about a month each, and now I'm on my third and it won't click down all the way onto the base. The toothbrush literally falls apart in my hands while using it. Save your money and invest in a quality toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 28, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi D Jones,

      We can't find any help tickets in our system under "D Jones." To hear of a brush head snapping even under extremely hard brushing conditions is extremely rare, let alone twice.

      Can you please let us know your order number or send us a help email to help@getquip.com, so we can look into this for you. We are worried that there may be something about how Quip is being used, refilled, handled or stored that may be causing issues.

      Look forward to helping you.


Showing 1-11 of 780

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Quip Toothbrush