About Simply Fit Board

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Apr 21, 2016

The Simply Fit Board is a plastic exercise device intended to strengthen core muscles and trim waist fat by using its balance-board design to enhance workouts.

Balance boards come in all shapes and sizes and have been around the workout world for some time now, but the Simply Fit has gained a lot of popularity since it made an appearance on Nov. 6, 2015, on the popular ABC entrepreneur show Shark Tank. There, founders Linda Clark and her daughter Gloria Hoffman were thrilled when shark and QVC personality Lori Greiner agreed to invest $125,000 for a 20% stake in the company.

We’re guessing you came to our page either because you saw Simply Fit on Shark Tank and wanted to learn more, or you’ve heard about the balance-board workout craze and came across the trending board as you did some research.

Either way, we’re glad you’re here. Over the next few minutes we’re going to answer the following questions:

  • What is the Simply Fit Board?
  • Do balance boards really offer any benefits?
  • What are people saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What is the Simply Fit Board?

The Simply Fit is crafted from a special plastic, a video on the website says, that allows you not only to rock back and forth like a traditional balance board, but also to twist from side to side. The board’s surface includes handles for hands and non-slip surfaces for feet.

It comes in five different colors with descriptive names like atomic orange and bright magenta. The boards cost $44.95.

In addition to highlighting the board, the Simply Fit website also pushes their series of 10-minute YouTube workout videos that offer tutorials on how to use the board, workouts designed for kids as well as a variety of workouts for adults.

The website claims their board helps weight loss, targets abdominal fat (a.k.a. muffin tops), tones legs, improves balance and offers several other benefits.

Do balance boards really offer any benefits?

As we mentioned earlier, balance boards (they’re also called “wobble boards”) have been around for a while. They literally come in all shapes and sizes. Some are discs with rounded bottoms, while others are shaped like skateboards with knobs underneath them.

Even though they’re all designed differently, balance boards, in general, try to do one thing: improve your balance.

But are they really effective in this end, or just gimmicky pieces of workout equipment? We wanted to know, so we did some research through the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM).

In 2011, they published a piece on using balance training with older adults. It pointed out that our balance can be maintained and improved as we get older. We think this bodes well for balance boards (Simply Fit included) because they can be a “lifetime” type workout equipment rather than a passing fad.

Specifically, the ACSM said balance training can:

  • Rehabilitate injuries
  • Strengthen muscles
  • Condition the body
  • Improve stability and postural alignment
  • Help prevent falls

Another published piece from the ACSM, “Ankle Sprains and the Athlete”, points out that balance boards are “an excellent rehabilitation technique that helps strengthen and stabilize the ankle.” It even goes as far as to say that you can reduce the risk of re-injury by up to 50% using balance boards during rehab.

Even Mayo Clinic has pages devoted to balance exercises, which, they say, should be included in your daily routine and can improve your stability.

So what’s the takeaway here for the average person who’s interested in using these boards? They seem to be an excellent way to improve your balance, posture and rehab injuries. We run into a lot of junk science during our reviews, but, based on what we’ve read, we feel pretty positive about the benefits balance-board workouts can provide.

We think it’s important to point out something we noticed on the Simply Fit website, though. The site claims that their balance board fights “muffin top” and helps you burn fat.

Based on the research we’ve done, there’s not a lot of evidence to support that claim. It’s our opinion that the fat-burning benefits listed on the Simply Fit site are the result of the company’s workout videos and not the board itself.

But our opinion is just part of the bigger picture. What are your fellow consumers saying about the Simply Fit Board?

What’s the feedback so far about the Simply Fit?

The two main sources of feedback from consumers about the board were found on Simply Fit’s Facebook page, and on the item’s QVC page. The board received 160 reviews on its Facebook page, averaging 4.7 stars and gaining 146 5-star reviews.

Several of the most recent reviews mentioned Shark Tank, others talked about the company’s excellent customer service and many praised the product’s ease of use. The reviews, in general were glowing.

Simply Fit’s balance board has an average rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars on QVC, where 13 of 19 reviewers gave the product the maximum 5-star rating.

Two customers mentioned Shark Tank, while two others said they stopped using it because they were scared they might fall over.

When we look at these reviews as a whole, we think there’s a good chance you’ll be pleased with your Simply Fit Board if you choose to buy it.

How does the Simply Fit Board stack up against other balance boards?

Let’s cut to the chase: while balance exercises are proven to help coordination and muscle strength, those same studies haven’t identified which balance boards work best.

For the average consumer, we think the two factors which matter most when selecting a balance board are weight limits and price.

The Simply Fit Board has a weight limit of 400 pounds and costs $44.95. We found a couple of similar boards on Amazon:

Based on these comparisons, we think the Simply Fit Board is a good value because it supports up to 400 lbs. and costs less than some of its competitors. If you weigh less than 300 lbs., the Isokinetics Deluxe could be a great fit for you.

Our conclusions about the Simply Fit Board

As we mentioned before, we deal with many products that provide a lot of hype and very few benefits. We don’t believe this is the case with Simply Fit’s balance board. It is the latest piece of equipment in a long line of balance tools that can help you with stability and certain rehab programs.

We also think the founders have done a good job of creating a balance board with style. Their bright colors are a breath of fresh air in a market where most boards are made from wood or dark plastic.

It’s important to remember, though, that a balance board by itself has limited benefits. We believe it’s best to buy the board understanding that you’ll need a series of balance-specific workout videos to get the full benefit of the board.

Simply Fit knows this, and we think they’ve done a great job of providing customers with 10 different workout videos that included the balance board.

Before we end our review, we’d like to point out that Mayo Clinic and ACSM said it’s important to start slow with your balance board. As you work up your strength and stability, branch out to more complex exercises.

All in all, we think the Simply Fit Board falls in line with most balance boards in terms of what they do. While the company hasn’t reinvented the wheel, it definitely has captured consumers’ attention with good-looking equipment and free workout videos.

If you’re looking for ways to improve your balance without a balance board, check out these balance exercises. They’ll strengthen your body and improve your stability for free.


Read 98 Simply Fit Board Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 35 4 star: 12 3 star: 5 2 star: 10 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 53% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 98
Sort reviews by:

  • 96 out 111 people found this review helpful

    Fun and sweaty!

    • Sep 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got mine. I was really excited to try something quiet because I have a gazelle machine that is very squeaky and everyone complains when the TV is on if I'm trying to use it. I jumped on it in my bare feet and started twisting. I absolutely love it!

    It's a lot of fun and you don't even notice that you're working out. I was sweaty just from the basic twist without weights after about five minutes. Yes, the board walks around a little bit depending on how your body is leaning while you're twisting. I would assume it works when you are not engaging and focusing on your core. When I'm paying attention, it doesn't scoot around the floor. So my guess is that as my cord get stronger I will stand up straighter and not lean into it and that won't be an issue. But for right now I am very happy with the product. I plan to use it every day so that I can probably jump into my bikini and feel really good about it! I think that is an attainable goal for a 40-year-old with this product. I think I will probably purchase more of these for holiday gifts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 114 out 129 people found this review helpful

    It's working for me.

    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 60 years old and well over 300 lb. It took some practice to learn to balance on the board, and even more practice to use it for any length of time. I use it for 30-60 minutes per day while watching TV. My personal preference is to use it barefoot. If I get tired or lose my balance, I just get off of it for a while and try again later. The board is not my only form of exercise, but I really enjoy it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 77 out 90 people found this review helpful

    I Love It!

    I got my Simply Fit Board approximately two weeks ago. I try to use it daily and have already seen results, I have already dropped 5 lbs!

    I work in the school system and often don't have time for exercise but this makes it so easy. I told several of my co-workers about it and took it to work with me today and let everyone try it and they loved it. I have had several co-workers text me for the order info and they are all ordering it. We are even considering after work group workouts in the school cafeteria.

    This board makes workouts fun and easy! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 141 out 156 people found this review helpful

    Once you learn to use it correctly, you will LOVE IT

    • Ohio,
    • Nov 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Simply Fit Board a few weeks ago. I absolutely love it. I read some previous complaints, and the major one was that the board tends to "walk" as you use it. This goes away after a few workouts, I promise! I was frustrated at first, just like other new users. Now, I stay in the same place and don't even think about it. It is all about your body adjusting to the balance. Don't give up or get frustrated. This is a great product, it is easy to store, absolutely silent, and gives a full body workout. I do not normally enjoy strength training. The strength exercises they have come up with are enjoyable and actually produce results. The rocking plank is genius. Thank you so much for this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 62 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Great Product - Try It, You'll Love it.

    I'm 69 years old and my doctor wanted me to do something to build my core. Four years ago, I had gastric bypass surgery and even though I lost a lot of weight, my core became weak. I hate to exercise and had tried many things. I even hated yoga. I saw the show with Lori and the Workout Board and decided to try it. I LOVE IT. I use it every day, my core is building, and my balance is becoming better all the time. I'm walking straighter and have so much more energy. We've only been using it for a month and love it. I add time to my workout every day without even realizing it. My husband uses it also and we are both enjoying the heck out of it. It doesn't feel like exercising and works. Thanks, Lori. This was a great move on your part. Merry Christmas to all of you on Shark Tank. Keep up the good work. And, thanks again for the Workout Board.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Simply Fit Board review

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm so glad I did not order mine based on the reviews. Thankfully, I bought mine at WalMart.

    This is my 3rd day using the board, with Rosalee Brown's YouTube videos and fantastic toning results. I did sweat a lot on the 20-30 minute videos, and I can do my free weights while twisting or rocking on the board. I had been spending too much time watching TV or being on my computer on a daily basis and was unable to pull away for any meaningful exercise routine. I also have back, ankle, foot, and other limitations where I always hurt myself, and have a hard time starting up again, but this has helped with my balance, motivation, and strength.

    Each time I finish using the board, I want to stretch, do yoga and other exercises, and because of this, it was worth every penny of the $39.95, (and more if I keep up with it). It just took a few days to get used to the board. I have area rugs, so yea, it works best on a rug. One review said it made a hole in their rug, so watch out for that and get a cheap area rug if you notice any wear.

    Merry Christmas to me, as I couldn't be happier with this product, but for heaven's sake, they need to fix the nightmare their sales/customer service is providing according to the reviews here. That's why I hate ordering online or by phone with my credit card.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    So fun, we love it! LOL

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never make fun of those doing the commercial again. I LOVE it, and will like it even MORE when I master this contraption! But, we have had so much joking fun with it, and we've each only used it twice so far. I think I will do much better on it when I can stop laughing. Here is my story.

    This is a bit upsetting (but really, it's FUNNY). While trying my Simply Fit Board (that I received as a Christmas gift from my husband Mike), he hears this crackling coming from the board. From the TV room he says, "What's that crackling? It doesn't do that when I use it!" Hmmmmm. I told him, "It's because I'm on the edge of the rug." I look down, and I'm not on the rug at all, because by that time I had traveled off the rug, and the thing was still crackling. I then told him, "It must be because I have heavy muscles and bones (because I am under 200 pounds), and this thing is supposed to hold people up to and including 400 pounds." To which he just sits in his chair and laughs!

    Then he hears a WHOOP and quickly asks what happened. I didn't want to answer him, but told him anyway, "I just did a complete 360 turn." He gets up and thinks I'm going to let him get his camera to make a video of me on this contraption, LOL. Guess AGAIN, honey, no way, SORRY!

    Does it benefit the body? Yes, it does! I feel it, and I'm not even doing it the right way. Well, I AM, but I need a little bit more practice on it before it will turn into a breeze exercise routine, LOL.

    Would I recommend it to a friend? Already HAVE! :)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jan 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    At 51 years of age, I have worked out most of my adult life and always looking for something new to shake things up. I love this board, you will get a good workout in, in a short period of time. I recommend it highly!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Best exerciser ever

    • Belmont, MA,
    • Jan 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this as a present and to improve my balance.

    First, I was scared to get on that thing, because I'm a senior and my balance was not there to start out. So I got myself a metal rod to fit between doors, something I could hold on to and not fear to fall. I now find the board more effective than most other training machines. I do several rounds of 100 a day, and feel my strength and balance has already improved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Simply Fit Board

    I purchased my Simply Fit Board at a local store. It comes with a CD that has an instructional section along with several workouts. I recommend you to watch it, as it explains why the board may be "walking" all over the room (it has to do with balance). I love my board and the workouts that come with it. I purchased a small bath rug to put mine on just to keep it from scratching my wood floors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 24 people found this review helpful

    New love affair

    I asked for and received a Simply Fit Board for Christmas. I am 71 years old and "a little" out of shape, so wasn't sure if it would be for me or not. I have had several bad falls in the past few years and thought it might help with my balance.

    I simply love my Simply Fit Board. I'm only up to three minutes every other day, having started using it two weeks ago. Today I used three lb weights with my little workout. My tummy has tightened, I've lost most of the "cottage cheese" in my waistline, and my balance is definitely getting better. I like to use it while watching TV.

    This is the most wonderful workout for me because it isn't boring and is fun. I really look forward to adding minutes to my routine. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 98

Write a Review for Simply Fit Board!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review