SkinnyFit Detox Tea Review: Effectiveness, Side Effects, Cost

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 5, 2019

Made with 13 whole, all-natural superfood ingredients, SkinnyFit Detox Tea promises to help boost your energy, immunity, and metabolism, burn fat, fight bloating, and release toxins, all in one simple step.

All you have to do is drink one eight-ounce cup every morning about 30 minutes before breakfast, which only takes five to seven minutes to make.

From there, we’re told its blend of lemongrass, ginseng, Sencha green tea, and goji berries will start working to provide a variety of benefits, including supporting healthy digestion, promoting healthy skin, and using antioxidants to flush out cell-damaging substances.

If necessary, you can drink more than one cup of tea per day (such as later in the afternoon or before a workout) to maximize these results. However, the company also recommends eating more whole fruits and veggies while undergoing your detoxification.

Based on these claims, one of our biggest questions when researching SkinnyFit was: Outside of reducing calorie intake and exercising regularly, is there anything contained in this blend that can boost your weight loss results? What about cleansing the body of toxins?

We’ll take a much closer look at Detox Tea’s formulation in a moment. But before we get there, let’s discuss the topic of detoxification.

What Is Detoxification and Is It Good for Your Health?

In Detox vs. Cleanse, we start by emphasizing that the exact purpose served by modern detoxes and cleanses is a little unclear. But in general, the idea is to alter the diet in order to clean out the digestive tract, thus eliminating toxins like:

  • Cigarette residue
  • Chemicals
  • Heavy metals
  • Environmental elements
  • Fecal matter
  • Parasites
  • Fungi
  • Potentially aggravating foods like dairy, eggs, soy, refined sugar, caffeine, and alcohol

According to The Gut Health Project, side effects of having too many of these toxins in the body include “fatigue, headaches, joint pain, food sensitivities, mood swings, anxiety or depression, high blood pressure, or constipation.”

But here’s the most important part: During our research for this article, we learned that most health professionals don’t recommend detoxes or cleanses (whether teas like SkinnyFit, or otherwise). Why? Because healthy bodies are able to remove unwanted toxins with relative ease.

To this note, Dr. Morton Tavel, Clinical Professor Emeritus of Medicine, at Indiana University School of Medicine and author of “Snake Oil is Alive & Well: The Clash between Myths and Reality, Reflections of a Physician,” who was interviewed for our article, was quoted as saying:

“The basic concept of detoxifying is blatantly flawed. Our natural processes, especially liver and kidney function, cleanse our bodies far better than any extrinsic activities or substances could possibly achieve.”

In fact, he emphasized that by increasing the laxative effect commonly associated with cleanses and detoxes, they can actually do more harm than good. How? By weakening the body’s ability to fight infections and inflammation, upsetting blood sugar, potassium, and sodium levels, and resulting in vitamin and mineral deprivation.

For more about this topic, be sure to read Detoxification Supplements May Not Be What They Seem.

What Ingredients Does SkinnyFit Detox Tea Contain?

Based on the nutrition facts label posted on the SkinnyFit website, each bag of Detox Tea bag contains 1.7g of material (including 5 mg of potassium and 17.98 mg of caffeine), comes in at 10 calories, and contains the following raw ingredients:

  • Matcha green tea
  • Yerba mate
  • Sencha green tea
  • Oolong tea
  • Goji berries
  • Milk thistle
  • Ginseng
  • Lemongrass
  • Nettle leaf
  • Dandelion leaf
  • Guarana
  • Stevia leaf
  • Peach powder

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like Examine.com, the Natural Medicines Database, and WebMD report that consuming between 150 mg and three grams of green tea (no specific variety) can possibly address many health conditions, including high cholesterol, clogged arteries, osteoporosis, and Parkinson’s disease.

It might deliver high levels of antioxidants that can help fight free radical damage (known as oxidative stress). And in some mice-focused studies, it’s been shown to lower cholesterol and blood glucose levels. However, its weight loss-related benefits in humans are reported to be unclear.

Regarding green tea in general, we’ve also learned from our past research that its caffeine content can slightly boost daily calorie burning (between three and four percent; or 60-80 calories per day). Certainly, every little bit helps, but we include these details to help you maintain realistic expectations for detox teas, whether from SkinnyFit or other brands.

In other words, as far as pounds lost, the clinical evidence indicates green tea varieties will only deliver a small amount of assistance.

But because we learned earlier that the majority of health professionals don’t recommend detoxification in general, there remains little clinical evidence support green tea’s ‘cleansing’ ability.

Outside of these details, these same sites reported insufficient clinical evidence showing any of SkinnyFit Detox Tea's remaining ingredients can reliably boost energy, immunity, and metabolism, or increase fat burning in humans.

Could SkinnyFit Detox Tea Cause Side Effects?

If you’re “pregnant, breastfeeding, have preexisting medical conditions, abstaining from food (fasting), or under the age of 18,” SkinnyFit recommends consulting with a healthcare before undergoing a detox, whether using their Detox Tea or another product.

WebMD, the Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com also report that the natural caffeine content found in Detox Tea’s blend could lead to nervousness, jitteriness, and insomnia, especially for those sensitive to stimulants.

With this said, the SkinnyFit website emphasizes that their tea only contains approximately 17.98 mg of caffeine per tea bag, compared to 30-50 mg per cup for regular green or black tea, or 95 mg for a cup of regular coffee.

Finally, these same sites indicate nettle can cause sweating and milk thistle can have a laxative effect (no specific circumstances or dosages noted).

How Much Does SkinnyFit Detox Tea Cost?

You can order SkinnyFit Detox Tea online or over the phone. Their pricing for non-subscription purchases is as follows:

  • 1 bag (28 individual tea bags): $69.95, plus $5.95 shipping
  • 2 bags: $115.95 ($57.98 per bag), plus $7.95 shipping
  • 3 bags: $149.95 ($49.98 per bag), plus $9.95 shipping

When checking out, customers can choose between a one-time order or an ongoing subscription. With the latter, you’ll receive the same quantity each month at lower prices, which are listed below:

  • 1 bag (28 individual tea bags): $59.95, plus $5.95 shipping
  • 2 bags: $99.95 ($49.98 per bag), plus $7.95 shipping
  • 3 bags: $135.95 ($45.32 per bag), plus $9.95 shipping

Regardless of how much you’re looking to buy, all SkinnyFit orders come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less the cost of shipping to send it back. In order to request one, or to cancel your recurring shipments, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at 888-862-1758, hello@skinnyfit.com, or via their site’s contact form.

Can SkinnyFit Detox Tea Customer Reviews Provide Meaningful Insight?

At the time of publishing, SkinnyFit’s detox tea had more than 370 customer reviews on Amazon. The product had an average review of 3.6 stars. Forty-six percent of the tea’s reviews gave 5 stars, while 24% were 1 star.

The eight most recent reviews were largely positive, with reviewers saying they liked the flavor and that they were happy with the product. Of those eight reviews, there were two one-star reviews in which the customers said the product did not work.

SkinnyFit vs. Other Detox and Weight Loss Teas

We mentioned earlier that there are several other detoxification/ fat-burning teas competing for the same customers as SkinnyFit, including top search engine results (and options that we’ve researched in the past) like Fit Tea, Bootea, Flat Tummy Tea, and SkinnyMint. How does SkinnyFit’s formula compare?

Taking a look at their individual ingredients, we found most contained one or more green tea varieties, ginger, nettle, dandelion, lemongrass, and nettle, along with a possible laxative like senna or psyllium husk.

If you’re trying to wade through all these options and find the right one for you, it’s always a wise idea to start by talking with your doctor, whether you’re considering SkinnyFit or any other detox or weight loss product.

They’ll be able to take your goals and health diagnosis into consideration when recommending options, and whether or not teas like this should play a part in your treatment.

From there, just like when shopping for any dietary supplement, it’s important to look for companies that:

  • Support their claims with double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical evidence
  • Price their products competitively
  • Don’t sign customers up for an autoship program
  • Provide plenty of time for you to try the product and return it if you’re dissatisfied
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, both for the product and the manufacturer

Our Bottom Line on SkinnyFit Detox Tea

During our past research on the topic, as well as after interviewing relevant professionals, we’ve learned that most medical professionals don’t recommend detoxification (whether tea-based or otherwise). As consumers ourselves, this makes it difficult to see any value in products that promote this benefit.

Furthermore, websites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that while green tea can provide a whole host of benefits, there’s insufficient reported clinical evidence indicating it can deliver meaningful weight loss in humans.

On the upside, SkinnyFit stands behind their product with a 90-day money-back guarantee, so you might not lose more than a few dollars in return shipping if you’re not satisfied with Detox Tea’s performance.

Just keep in mind that although it claims to be laxative-free (if this is one of your main concerns), milk thistle is often used as a natural laxative, which could have a similar effect, especially for sensitive individuals.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 17 SkinnyFit Detox Tea Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wait for it...

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Doesn’t seem to do anything. Don’t think that you will lose weight or inches because you won’t. Even combined with their ZZZTOX nightly tea, yep, nothing. I just have not seen anything the product claims to do, sorry.

    I don’t think I’m drinking it wrong; it’s pretty straight forward.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 19, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Maria,

      Thank you for your feedback.

      We are truly sorry to hear that you have not seen the results you expected, but we greatly appreciate you giving SkinnyFit a try. As with all health supplements, individuals results may vary and some results take a bit more time to appear than others. Sometimes it is based on your diet and exercise too.

      As always, we have our blog with great tips and tricks to help maximize results and most customers seem to find it helpful. It is free to access and can be found here: skinnyfit.com/blog.

      Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, so if you are not 100% satisfied with you order, we would be more than happy to help you with finding another product that suits you a little better and we can also chat about generous 90 day money back guarantee for the product you were not satisfied with. We will reach out to you shortly, but in case we miss you, you can reach us at 1-888-862-1758 and hello@skinnyfit.com.

      Thank you again for trying SkinnyFit, and we look forward to assisting you.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfaction

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered SkinnyFit from the site. It said "one-time trial." It was about $25 for the detox and bedtime tea. When I checked my credit card statements the next month, they charged me $99. When I called, I was told that I had to send back the unused tea to get my entire refund back ($99). Remind you, I paid $26 for the promotion they were having. Because I didn't want to go through the hassle of sending it back they only refunded me $49 of the extra $99 charges to my card. I am very disappointed! The tea was actually ok, but not for $99!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 28, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Karla!

      Thank you so much for your honest feedback and we do sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding.

      The way our trials work is you are given a full month supply of the product of your choice for an 18-day trial period. This trial period is meant to allow you to try the product and see how it works for you without committing to the retail price of the products just yet. After your trial ends, on the 18th day, you are billed for the product(s) in hand as they are a full-month supply of the product and because we assume that you are loving your product and have decided to continue using it. We do make sure to list these trial terms on our check out page, as well, to ensure our customers know what to expect and to make sure there is no confusion when purchasing.

      During your trial period you are more than welcome to reach out to us and customize your trial, extend it, or cancel it altogether. In fact, we encourage our customers to keep us posted and let us know how they are liking their products. We try to be as generous as possible with our trials since we know not every person sees the same results with each product and that everyone’s body is different.

      Additionally, we have a great 90 day return policy. If for any reason you are unsatisfied we have the option to return your product for a refund.

      Again, we sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding. We do our best to help each and every one of our lovely customers as we know everyone’s health journey is different and not everyone sees the results they intend to. As always, we value your experience and only want to deliver the highest degree of service to you. If there is anything we can do for you at this time, please let us know and we would be more than happy to help! We will also follow up via email to ensure that you are as satisfied as possible.

      We thank you for giving SkinnyFit a try and look forward to assisting you in the future.

      Thanks,

      Briana

      Customer Success


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    My experience

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to tell you I loved this tea. The flavor and the energy I got from it...until I became terribly ill and was rushed to the hospital. They called my problem initially Diverticulitis, then saw extreme intestinal inflammation and irritation. I was on medication for a week and wasn’t able to eat solids for two weeks. For some reason, my daughter decided to take it and right now as we speak (or write), we are on the way to the hospital to see her. She’s 200 miles from home in school. I’m a mess. So I not only don’t recommend it, I urge you to take it off the shelf.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Corinne,

      We are glad that we were able to talk to you and learn more about the situation. We are looking into this and we will follow up via email for any updates. Please let us know if you have any other questions we can answer.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not for me

    • Florida,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for SkinnyFit, I receive the product, but didn't work for me, so I canceled and returned the product. They kept my money of $119.90. I disputed the charge through my bank, but they lied to them, telling them that I never cancel the account. So my bank paid them money back. After that, I call them asking for my money and they told me to email the letter from my bank showing that the dispute was canceled, and I did that.

    I call them today (12/5/2018). Now they don't want to refund my money. This company stole my money. I return the product on August 30th and I dispute the charge September 10th. One of the managers was telling me today that I disputed this charge on August 28th, so I put them in a three-way with my bank and my bank tells them that I disputed the charge on September 10th. These people lied to much. My advice to you people, be very careful with this company.

    I don't have my order number but have this email:

    Danielle P (SkinnyFit)

    Nov 28, 17:38 PST

    Hi Judith,

    Thank you for reaching out to us.

    I did attempt to refund you, as I see the dispute is now closed, but I was not quite able to:

    11/28/2018 08:31pm By CRM - Refund Failed by Payment Gateway (PayPal Refund Transaction with an Open Case Not Allowed)

    I do want to assure you that we are going to refund your $119.90, but there may be a slight delay in doing so.

    I will work with my supervisor to ensure we can refund you in a timely manner, even if it means sending a money order.

    We will remain in contact and I look forward to getting you the refund as soon as possible.

    Sincerely,

    Danielle P

    Customer Support

    Office: 1-888-862-1758

    Email: hello@skinnyfit.com

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 11, 2018

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Judith,

      Thank you for contacting us and bringing this to our attention. I am happy that were able to get on the phone to clear up any confusion. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us, so we thank you for your patience and working with us on the best solution!

      We were able to successfully refund you via PayPal, and that transaction should show in your account in the next one to two business days. If you have any other questions or if we can help in any way please feel free to reach out to us directly, we are always happy to help!

      Thank you,

      Briana

      Customer Success

      hello@skinnyfit.com


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Yummy tea

    • Florida,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ZzzTox tea tastes delicious, however, I didn't buy it, my mom found a brand new unopened bag at her motel job, and I was shocked to know it was so expensive. If I had known, I would've left it sealed and sold it for cheaper. However, it tastes really good and I wanna lose around 10 pounds, and I hope it works out!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 11, 2018

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Adela!

      Thank you so much for your feedback! Glad that you and your Mom are enjoying the find. Here is a link to our blog with various tips and tricks on how to obtain the best results, https://www.skinnyfit.com/blog/.

      Cheers!

      Briana

      Customer Success


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Yay! No laxatives!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been on SkinnyFit for a couple of months now and really enjoy it.

    I've tried quite a few different brands - most of them cheaper, to be honest. But I don't like that they all contained laxatives. At first, I thought it was great and that's just how detoxes work until I started to read it, it's actually pretty bad to constantly have that in your system.

    I still wanted something to help my diet during the summer though. I can't say for sure it's helped me shed extra pounds, but I was really surprised how much it helped with my daily bloating. I honestly didn't even realize it was an issue until it started to go away with this detox. I'll keep on SkinnyFit for a bit longer because of that reason, and I really like the taste (I'm an avid tea drinker).

    Just keep in mind...it's a little pricey (cheaper if you subscribe though), but worth it for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 10, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Jean!

      We're so happy to hear that you have seen such great results with SkinnyFit. We pride ourselves on only using all natural ingredients in our Detox tea, and that does include staying away from laxatives!

      Enjoy the rest of your Detox!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Bad for migraines or headaches

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this was inoffensive for me since it claims it's all natural ingredients, but I have migraines, and this tea made them WORST! It has something in it, that gave me three horrible migraine days, I had to take really strong medication because of it, so, it is NOT RECOMMENDED for people with headaches or migraines. Be aware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 11, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Emily,

      We are so sorry to hear that you were having trouble with your Detox tea. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority here at SkinnyFit. This is why we happily offer a 90-day money back guarantee.

      We wouldn't want you to have a product that you cannot take, so feel free to reach out to us at 1-888-862-1758. Our telephone support is available 24/7.

      We look forward to speaking with you and we can't wait to help you out with your refund.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my first bag of tea from Amazon mid-July. I am on my second bag now, and it's 9/21/18. I have lost to date approximately 10-15 lbs. I haven't been working out...my work schedule sucks. I have been drinking veggie/fruit smoothies, drinking tons of water, and cutting back on red meat, breads, carbs, etc. I had already changed my diet since April of this year. So I'm sure some of my weight loss is attributed to my diet change, but overall I'm happy with my results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 10, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Tanya!

      We love that SkinnyFit is a part of your health journey! We understand that this journey is tough at times, so we are happy to hear that our Detox tea is right there with you!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Pricey, but so worth it!

    • Lakeport, CA,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this over a month ago, with some feeling of another product promising empty results. I am 47 and not overweight but really want to drop 10 pounds to feel slim again. In four and a half weeks. Having hot tea in the morning and cold after lunch, I’ve lost 5 lbs and one inch off my waist! That’s with weighing myself every morning if that makes a difference.

    I’d say the most noticeable things are that my bloating is a bit better, and I'm feeling more energy and less food cravings right after I started. Less cravings might be from drinking more water and tea though. I bought another month's worth. I have also been on a 1660 calorie/day diet with lots of healthy veggies. I’m convinced this tea, plus the diet is helping me achieve the results thus far.

    A big bonus is that when I first started the tea, I honestly had no idea the best way to take it. I called their customer service, and it must be a question they get a lot because they’re the ones who told me that it’s good both hot and cold! I like to know I can get answers to questions from nice people!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 10, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Colleen!

      We love hearing that you enjoy your tea hot and cold! Have you tried SkinnyFit with fresh fruit, yet? I think you'll love it! We also have delicious recipes on our blog page. We update it weekly, so don't forget to check in every once in awhile! https://www.skinnyfit.com/blog/

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 32 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Hasn't worked

    • Merrimac, MA,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been drinking SkinnyFit for two months now with no results. I have also been drinking the Zzztox at night with no results.

    I watch what I eat, exercise five days a week and have seen no results. So I would not recommend this to anyone who is looking to lose weight. I have lost nothing. So please let me know where I can send the empty bags to get my money refunded.

    Thank you for your quick response to this message.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 11, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Corinne,

      We take customer feedback very seriously here at SkinnyFit, so we are so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your results.

      We see that we were able to reach out to you via email, in which we sent you instructions on how to return your orders for a full refund.

      If you have any questions or concerns about the return, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

      Once again, we truly appreciate you giving SkinnyFit a try.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


  • 55 out 59 people found this review helpful

    False and misleading advertisement

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the trial offer which you only pay for the shipping, and my order arrived almost two weeks later. I signed up for the trial but it turned out to be a subscription, and after a week that you received the product they will charge your credit card $109.62. The product is not really good, I got an upset stomach, and they said I could return those samples, but I have to pay for the return shipping fee. They said that they would only refund the $109.62 when they receive the samples that they sent me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 11, 2019

      Company Response from SkinnyFit

      Hi Le,

      We are truly sorry for the miscommunication on our end. We pride ourselves on helping each and every one of our customers.

      We want to give you a chance to try our products, so we would be happy to refund you the $109.62 charge without returning your trial order.

      Unfortunately, we were unable to locate your order, so if you can reach out to us at hello@skinnyfit.com and title the email "HighYa Review" we would be more than happy to make this right.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for SkinnyFit Detox Tea!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review