About The Black Tux

If you’re looking for inexpensive, high-quality tuxedo and suit rentals, The Black Tux claims to take the hassle out of the whole process by providing online ordering, and pre-paid shipping both ways. On top of this, The Black Tux even claims to provide a Fit Guarantee on all of their orders, which can help you look your best on the day of your event.

But can the Black Tux really help you avoid the last-minute pickups, low quality materials, and high prices associated with traditional suit and tux rental shops? Let’s suit up and find out.

Quick Facts About The Black Tux

By partnering with one of America’s top suit-makers, The Black Tux claims to provide wool and cotton suits that feature 150s Merino wool, classic and slim fits, and a wide range of accessories, for prices much lower than traditional tux shops. With this in mind, The Black Tux carries jackets ranging in size from 34-58 inches, and pant waist sizes from 28-54 inches—although all pants come with a 2-inch waist adjuster. If you can’t find the size you need, the company claims that they can manufacture a custom size if necessary, though this will require extra production time.

Because The Black Tux rental process is handled completely online, it occurs over 4 steps:

  1. Visit The Black Tux website, pick the individual items you like, or choose from a range of complete outfits. Once you’re finished, add them to your cart.
  2. Get measured. To accomplish this, you can visit your local tailor in advance, or use the 10-minute measurement tool on The Black Tux website. If necessary, the company can even send you a free tape measure.
  3. Your garments will be shipped via FedEx and will arrive seven days prior to your event. If you’re within 14 days of your event and need something ASAP, a rush shipping and handling fee will apply.
  4. On the business day after your event, place your garments back in the original box, add the pre-paid shipping label, and send it back to the company.

The Black Tux Pricing & Refund Policy

The Black Tux claims that their suits and tuxes would retail for $1,200, although they can be rented for the following prices:

  • Tuxedos: $95 - $120
  • Suits: $95 - $110
  • Shirts: $15
  • Vests: $15
  • Neckwear: $5 - $10
  • Cufflinks & Studs: $5 - $10
  • Shoes: $15 - $30
  • Misc. Items (Suspenders, cummerbund, tie clips, etc.): $7 - $15

All rentals include free shipping both ways, unless your order requires a rush shipping fee. Your garments will arrive folded in a garment bag, and should be ready to wear right out of the box. If there are any wrinkles, the company claims they should naturally fall out within a couple hours.

The Black Tux rentals come with a Fit Guarantee, which means that if your tux or suit doesn’t fit properly, the company will cover the cost of alterations, or will send a replacement item.

If you cancel your order more than 30 days prior to your event, you’ll be eligible for a full refund. Inside of 30 days however, you’ll receive a merchandise credit that can be applied to future orders. If your order has already shipped, you can send it back to the company as soon as you receive it, and you’ll then receive a merchandise credit upon arrival.

Keep in mind that if you fail to send your suit or tux back on the first business day after your event, you may be subject to a late fee of 25% of the rental price, per day.

For questions, concerns, or returns, you’ll need to contact The Black Tux customer support at 888-717-1588.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Black Tux?

The Black Tux is based out of Santa Monica, CA, and has been in business since 2012. Since that time, they’ve been featured in BusinessWeek, TechCrunch, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, and more. Despite this, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Online reviews regarding The Black Tux appear to be overwhelmingly positive, and cite great quality, good fit, and high marks for customer service.

What’s the Bottom Line About The Black Tux?

The founders of The Black Tux claim that they were inspired to start the company due to their poor experiences with the traditional suit and tux rental process. But have they lived up to their vision?

By all appearances, it would seem so. In less than 2 years, The Black Tux seems to have made a big name for itself, and every review we read during our research seemed to provide glowing feedback.

Have you used The Black Tux for one of your events? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

330 Consumer Reviews for The Black Tux

Average Consumer Rating: 4.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 308 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 330
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Like Rent the Runway for men, but better!

    • Austin, TX,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hands down the best tux rental experience I've ever had. My wife is super jealous that I received my tux more than two weeks ahead of the event and had a few days after to send back. With Rent the Runway the timeline was much shorter for her. Beyond that, the service was fantastic when I did have an issue, and the tux fit extremely well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Easy process

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy and hassle-free. Much more convenient than going to a store for a fitting and returning when done.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good looking garment too

    • Studio City, CA,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went into the store to get measured up. So far I have used the service twice and both times had a great experience. Truth be told, my last tux was owned and when I thought I would wear it again, it was very dated - so a no go.

    The 2nd time I used the service, I just ordered up the tux, it arrived ahead of time of my event, tried it on and it fit perfectly. Returning was easy, just a drop off at FedEx.

    Ease of use - A+

    Style - A+

    Will I use this service again - you better believe it!

    P.S. Do I care about gravy stains? Heck no.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing service and a fantastic product!

    • California,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We started at a well-known suit brick and mortar store and were not impressed. I searched on the internet and came across The Black Tux. And I am so glad we went with The Black Tux. The customer service was excellent. And the suit was so nice! My husband looked amazing!

    After we placed the rental order, we were contacted right away so that they could verify the sizes we ordered. They asked some questions about body size and type. The responses were almost immediate every time I responded to them.

    The suits came a day ahead of schedule. The box they come in is very cool. The return shipping label was already attached under the original shipping label and they even had a strip of tape inside the box to use for returning the suit. They also had little cards inside that had tips about the suit and information on how to get a replacement if anything wasn't the right size, or there was a defect. The groomsmen suits came with a funny and informative keepsake book on being a great groomsman.

    My dad's suit jacket was too small and to be honest, my parents didn't contact The Black Tux within the requested time frame to get a replacement. Despite that, another suit arrived extremely fast and with plenty of time to spare, and it was the perfect fit.

    I can't say enough good things about this company. We were very impressed, especially since everything comes through the mail.

    The suits arrived in ready to wear condition. No wrinkles! We took it out of the box as soon as it arrived and literally did not have to have the wrinkles removed. (But if we did, they offer to pay for a local company to remove the wrinkles!)

    To sum it up, we highly recommend The Black Tux. My husband looked amazing and the entire process was so easy. When we need suits in the future, this is the only company we will use! And they had the best price we could find also!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience

    • Texas,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some issues but it was not the fault of The Black Tux. My suite got lost in the shipping. Once I realized it, I called customer service and they had a new one out in two days. Great look and fit all the way around.

    Just a lesson learned, if you receive a replacement there is no return label on the box. All you have to do is contact customer service and they will email you a return label.

    Great people to work with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Winter wedding

    • Winter Park, FL,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found out about The Black Tux through a friend that got married a year earlier. When shopping for tuxes for my guys, the "big" men's stores would have worked, but it was too much money to put towards a tux. I looked into The Black Tux per my friend's recommendation and went with it.

    The prices were very reasonable, and it seemed very easy to do. My major concern was ordering online, and it not fitting well with only two weeks prior to my event. When the tuxes arrived, a few of my groomsman's tux's didn't fit, such as jackets, shirts, etc. They informed me that the online process to request new items was very easy, and they arrived within a few days. I even had my bow tie break, and had a new one sent in a couple of days. After the wedding, the tux return process was also so simple. All we had to do was throw the tux and accessories back in the original box, peel off the original shipping label, and slap on the packing tape (that they provided) and ship it out!

    I would highly recommend The Black Tux to anyone looking for tuxes for a group! The overall process was simple and easy. The price was fantastic! And any problems were resolved immediately. Cheers to The Black Tux for revolutionizing the process for formal wear!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent service and quick response

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When filling out your sizes, trust the experts! I always wear a 40L and insisted this was the size I be sent, even though the recommendation I assumed the machine spit back was a 42R. I emailed the customer service who got back to me within minutes. After going back and forth, and despite their recommendations, I went with what was comfortable with. Sure enough the coat I was sent as too tight, something I realized on a Sunday 13 days before the wedding. I emailed on Sunday assuming I'd hear back Monday morning. The representatives got right back to me within 20 minutes with the solution to send out the new size, and it was on my doorstep within 3 days. Their commitment to getting everything right and on time is an honest representation of their business model. And it's great to work with those who fully understand the stresses and time sensitivity that associated with the business. We will be recommending this great team to future wedding parties.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A great place to rent a tux!

    • Sterling, VA,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Using the online portal was so easy and user-friendly. Everything came in as I had ordered. Returning was also a piece of cake. The return labels were included and it made everything go smoothly!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Responsive service!

    • Chanhassen, MN,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My brother used The Black Tux for his wedding party. I seldom like to get clothes from an online source because I want to touch it and try it on first. The Black Tux made this process very easy by being very responsive when the fit wasn't as expected. Bravo!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Easy, good quality!

    • Warsaw, IN,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot think of an easier, less painful way to get my husband in a tux!

    The process was quick and easy, and the garments (jacket, pants, dress shirt and tie) arrived in plenty of time in case an exchange was needed, yet it fit like a glove in every respect right off the bat!

    We’d absolutely use this service again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome experience

    • Washington,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did The Black Tux order late one night in a pinch and had a perfectly fitting tux within a couple days. The packaging was great, and they had nice little notes explaining everything.

    I highly recommend them and will order from them again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 330

Write a Review for The Black Tux!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review