About The Black Tux

If you’re looking for inexpensive, high-quality tuxedo and suit rentals, The Black Tux claims to take the hassle out of the whole process by providing online ordering, and pre-paid shipping both ways. On top of this, The Black Tux even claims to provide a Fit Guarantee on all of their orders, which can help you look your best on the day of your event.

But can the Black Tux really help you avoid the last-minute pickups, low quality materials, and high prices associated with traditional suit and tux rental shops? Let’s suit up and find out.

Quick Facts About The Black Tux

By partnering with one of America’s top suit-makers, The Black Tux claims to provide wool and cotton suits that feature 150s Merino wool, classic and slim fits, and a wide range of accessories, for prices much lower than traditional tux shops. With this in mind, The Black Tux carries jackets ranging in size from 34-58 inches, and pant waist sizes from 28-54 inches—although all pants come with a 2-inch waist adjuster. If you can’t find the size you need, the company claims that they can manufacture a custom size if necessary, though this will require extra production time.

Because The Black Tux rental process is handled completely online, it occurs over 4 steps:

  1. Visit The Black Tux website, pick the individual items you like, or choose from a range of complete outfits. Once you’re finished, add them to your cart.
  2. Get measured. To accomplish this, you can visit your local tailor in advance, or use the 10-minute measurement tool on The Black Tux website. If necessary, the company can even send you a free tape measure.
  3. Your garments will be shipped via FedEx and will arrive seven days prior to your event. If you’re within 14 days of your event and need something ASAP, a rush shipping and handling fee will apply.
  4. On the business day after your event, place your garments back in the original box, add the pre-paid shipping label, and send it back to the company.

The Black Tux Pricing & Refund Policy

The Black Tux claims that their suits and tuxes would retail for $1,200, although they can be rented for the following prices:

  • Tuxedos: $95 - $120
  • Suits: $95 - $110
  • Shirts: $15
  • Vests: $15
  • Neckwear: $5 - $10
  • Cufflinks & Studs: $5 - $10
  • Shoes: $15 - $30
  • Misc. Items (Suspenders, cummerbund, tie clips, etc.): $7 - $15

All rentals include free shipping both ways, unless your order requires a rush shipping fee. Your garments will arrive folded in a garment bag, and should be ready to wear right out of the box. If there are any wrinkles, the company claims they should naturally fall out within a couple hours.

The Black Tux rentals come with a Fit Guarantee, which means that if your tux or suit doesn’t fit properly, the company will cover the cost of alterations, or will send a replacement item.

If you cancel your order more than 30 days prior to your event, you’ll be eligible for a full refund. Inside of 30 days however, you’ll receive a merchandise credit that can be applied to future orders. If your order has already shipped, you can send it back to the company as soon as you receive it, and you’ll then receive a merchandise credit upon arrival.

Keep in mind that if you fail to send your suit or tux back on the first business day after your event, you may be subject to a late fee of 25% of the rental price, per day.

For questions, concerns, or returns, you’ll need to contact The Black Tux customer support at 888-717-1588.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Black Tux?

The Black Tux is based out of Santa Monica, CA, and has been in business since 2012. Since that time, they’ve been featured in BusinessWeek, TechCrunch, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, and more. Despite this, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Online reviews regarding The Black Tux appear to be overwhelmingly positive, and cite great quality, good fit, and high marks for customer service.

What’s the Bottom Line About The Black Tux?

The founders of The Black Tux claim that they were inspired to start the company due to their poor experiences with the traditional suit and tux rental process. But have they lived up to their vision?

By all appearances, it would seem so. In less than 2 years, The Black Tux seems to have made a big name for itself, and every review we read during our research seemed to provide glowing feedback.

Have you used The Black Tux for one of your events? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

157 Consumer Reviews for The Black Tux

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 147 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • Great experience

    • Ogden, UT,
    • Jan 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had such a great experience working with The Black Tux. The transaction was smooth and easy. The customer service was exceptional. They walk you through the sizing process. Every one of our suits fit perfectly. We had groomsmen in multiple states, and this was not a problem at all. The return process could not have been easier.

    I would highly recommend this company to anyone who is looking to rent high-quality, at affordable prices, and in a very convenient manner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great look and easy experience

    • New York,
    • Jan 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the tux I rented from The Black Tux. The style was very sharp looking and was a really good fit, especially for something that I ordered online. I will be using them for another wedding in April, and I actually am using it for all of my groomsmen for my wedding in May.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Exceptional experience

    • California,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything was very seamless, except the threads! The tux was in pristine condition, and everything fit well! Everyone in the wedding party had a similar experience and looked great! It was quick and easy to send it back. Excellent experience. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing experience

    The midnight blue tuxedo was unbelievable, and the service The Black Tux provides is actually incredible. It came a day before it was expected to, fit perfectly, and I looked sharp. All around, it was an amazing experience, and I'll never buy a tuxedo again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding service experience

    My son recently got married and chose The Black Tux for our tuxedo rentals. I'd never done a mail order tuxedo rental before and was skeptical. When my garments arrived and didn't fit, I followed the enclosed instructions. They paid to make some slight adjustments to pant and jacket sleeve length, and promptly shipped me out a new shire.

    Their customer service representatives are outstanding. Queenie, in particular, was genuinely interested in my complete satisfaction with the fit of the tux.

    Best service experience in a long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do it

    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The entire experience was great.

    I mistakenly selected the wrong size shirt and jacket at first, thinking I knew my size. These guys made it super easy to get the right fit back to me in time for my event. Plus my tux looked killer!

    I would do it again in a heartbeat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great styles, better service

    • Virginia,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was going to a New Year's Eve Gatsby-themed party, so I needed a tux. After visiting a couple of local shops, I didn't really see anything I liked, so I went online after hearing about The Black Tux.

    I loved the styles, especially the oddball Gray Melange, which, while not exactly 1920s-appropriate, was totally eye-catching and unique. I placed my order and was happy to know that if anything was wrong, they'd quickly work to fix it before my event.

    The tux arrived within the week, but the jacket was a bit too big. So I went back online to see what could be done to get a smaller size. A couple of clicks and a new one was on the way. I didn't even have to send the bigger one back right away; I could just send everything all at once.

    The same box, label included, even extra tape to close it back up. Super simple.

    And the tux itself? Smokin'! I got tons of comments and compliments (from both sexes). I would totally recommend and use again if needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best company ever

    • Rockville Centre, NY,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Customer service is top notch. Quality of tuxes was exceptional. Packaged beautifully. So easy to order and send back. I would recommend this company to anyone wanting a fabulous look at their affair. So reasonable! Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service and a great tux

    • Utah,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved this! I'm so happy that I gave it a shot. The process was great, and the tux fit perfectly in the end. Prep for Black Tie events will no longer be a hassle. I even went into my studio and took photos of myself, and I liked it so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a great service. The tux was delivered on time and they were super helpful and responsive when I needed a new size jacket and shirt. Both replacements came in plenty of time for the wedding. Everything fit great, very modern, and I got a lot of compliments on my tux that night (I went with the navy and black tux). I will definitively use The Black Tux again and highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome service!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very convenient service. Love the prepaid shipping label and reusable box, and in particular love the extended return time. Most places require the clothing back the very next day after the event. Having a couple days to take care of the return was a huge help!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 157

Write a Review for The Black Tux!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review