About The Black Tux

If you’re looking for inexpensive, high-quality tuxedo and suit rentals, The Black Tux claims to take the hassle out of the whole process by providing online ordering, and pre-paid shipping both ways. On top of this, The Black Tux even claims to provide a Fit Guarantee on all of their orders, which can help you look your best on the day of your event.

But can the Black Tux really help you avoid the last-minute pickups, low quality materials, and high prices associated with traditional suit and tux rental shops? Let’s suit up and find out.

Quick Facts About The Black Tux

By partnering with one of America’s top suit-makers, The Black Tux claims to provide wool and cotton suits that feature 150s Merino wool, classic and slim fits, and a wide range of accessories, for prices much lower than traditional tux shops. With this in mind, The Black Tux carries jackets ranging in size from 34-58 inches, and pant waist sizes from 28-54 inches—although all pants come with a 2-inch waist adjuster. If you can’t find the size you need, the company claims that they can manufacture a custom size if necessary, though this will require extra production time.

Because The Black Tux rental process is handled completely online, it occurs over 4 steps:

  1. Visit The Black Tux website, pick the individual items you like, or choose from a range of complete outfits. Once you’re finished, add them to your cart.
  2. Get measured. To accomplish this, you can visit your local tailor in advance, or use the 10-minute measurement tool on The Black Tux website. If necessary, the company can even send you a free tape measure.
  3. Your garments will be shipped via FedEx and will arrive seven days prior to your event. If you’re within 14 days of your event and need something ASAP, a rush shipping and handling fee will apply.
  4. On the business day after your event, place your garments back in the original box, add the pre-paid shipping label, and send it back to the company.

The Black Tux Pricing & Refund Policy

The Black Tux claims that their suits and tuxes would retail for $1,200, although they can be rented for the following prices:

  • Tuxedos: $95 - $120
  • Suits: $95 - $110
  • Shirts: $15
  • Vests: $15
  • Neckwear: $5 - $10
  • Cufflinks & Studs: $5 - $10
  • Shoes: $15 - $30
  • Misc. Items (Suspenders, cummerbund, tie clips, etc.): $7 - $15

All rentals include free shipping both ways, unless your order requires a rush shipping fee. Your garments will arrive folded in a garment bag, and should be ready to wear right out of the box. If there are any wrinkles, the company claims they should naturally fall out within a couple hours.

The Black Tux rentals come with a Fit Guarantee, which means that if your tux or suit doesn’t fit properly, the company will cover the cost of alterations, or will send a replacement item.

If you cancel your order more than 30 days prior to your event, you’ll be eligible for a full refund. Inside of 30 days however, you’ll receive a merchandise credit that can be applied to future orders. If your order has already shipped, you can send it back to the company as soon as you receive it, and you’ll then receive a merchandise credit upon arrival.

Keep in mind that if you fail to send your suit or tux back on the first business day after your event, you may be subject to a late fee of 25% of the rental price, per day.

For questions, concerns, or returns, you’ll need to contact The Black Tux customer support at 888-717-1588.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Black Tux?

The Black Tux is based out of Santa Monica, CA, and has been in business since 2012. Since that time, they’ve been featured in BusinessWeek, TechCrunch, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, and more. Despite this, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Online reviews regarding The Black Tux appear to be overwhelmingly positive, and cite great quality, good fit, and high marks for customer service.

What’s the Bottom Line About The Black Tux?

The founders of The Black Tux claim that they were inspired to start the company due to their poor experiences with the traditional suit and tux rental process. But have they lived up to their vision?

By all appearances, it would seem so. In less than 2 years, The Black Tux seems to have made a big name for itself, and every review we read during our research seemed to provide glowing feedback.

Have you used The Black Tux for one of your events? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

294 Consumer Reviews for The Black Tux

Average Consumer Rating: 4.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 273 4 star: 5 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 294
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Great customer service, product and service - would definitely recommend!

    • Crofton, MD,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Black Tux made ordering men’s wear such a breeze. The website is so easy to work with, and it shows you updates of each members’ order. I would HIGHLY recommend. Such a great, easy, streamlined process for something I was dreading!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Experience vs. Expectations

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Execution simplicity made me wonder. Everything fit very well. Tux quality was great, receiving many compliments on how it looked. Returns were easy...what more can you ask when expectations are clearly exceeded!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best decision I’ve made

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical, but after their bold try on at home, you get the feel of what type of suit it is and how it’s high-end quality. People just loved the way it looked. The whole process of getting the right fit, The Black Tux made it the easiest experience, stress-free. After it’s all said and done, what makes The Black Tux stand out is their speed and response, especially in those last two weeks! Also, they are aware of travelers; it’s on its game in sending it to the location if anything didn’t fit right! Everyone loved the suit. I loved the way it looked on me, and I would definitely recommend The Black Tux to anyone for any occasion they’ll come through!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best customer service experience!

    • California,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used The Black Tux for my wedding and it was far and away one of the best wedding decisions I made. Like many couples, my bride and I were focused on so many other details of our wedding that when it came time to pick out a tuxedo, I was a little overwhelmed and lost. The Black Tux streamlined all of the options and I was able to pick out my style and all accessories within minutes.

    Once I received my tux, it turned out the shoes I selected were a size too small and because I didn't try the shoes on immediately (not smart I know!), I had to call the Black Tux less than a week before my wedding to ask for a bigger pair of shoes. They sent me a new pair of shoes in just two days!

    Finally, when it came time to send back my tux, the hotel my wife and I were staying in at the time of our wedding, misplaced my tuxedo. It took them a few days to locate the tuxedo, and by the time the hotel located the tux, the day to send back my tuxedo to The Black Tux had come and gone. I called and explained the situation to The Black Tux, and they were willing to change my return date without any additional charges.

    Most importantly, I loved the style and fit of my tuxedo, and so did my bride! With weddings, so many issues and problems outside of a couple's control can come up. I cannot thank The Black Tux enough for making this aspect of our wedding such a painless, easy, and successful option!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Nailed it!

    • Menlo Park, CA,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely loved using The Black Tux for my wedding. My groomsmen, father of the bride, father of the groom and myself had a flawless experience. I even went into a retail location after my free try-on to make those last little small adjustments. It was the best suit I ever had!

    I'm so excited to use The Black Tux for upcoming events - holiday parties, weddings, just because. I'm not going to hesitate since I am confident I'll be lookin' good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome experience!

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company is awesome. My whole experience was great from beginning to end. The home try-on went very well, and I got my tux in plenty of time for my event. The customer service here is top notch, and they are very easy to get a hold of. Great experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best experience, ever

    • Oregon,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Black Tux was so awesome to work with from start to finish. Their customer service is incredible and easy to get in touch with. All of the groomsmen and fathers said their suits fit perfectly, and everyone was so impressed. I will always recommend this company to anyone who needs a suit and doesn't want to deal with the hassle of going somewhere. Such a great experience!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Prompt service

    • Lafayette, IN,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The vest was too small, they handled it very well, and a replacement was here in plenty of time for the wedding. GREAT SERVICE! I HIGHLY recommend them! A 10-star rating from me. Thank you very much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Black Tux was amazing. I was so pleased with the quality and the fit. When the suit arrived, I noticed that the shirt sleeves weren’t long enough to show with the jacket on - but I didn’t really care much. They insisted on sending a new shirt to make the look perfect. I shipped everything back, no problem, and they checked on us throughout the process.

    Worth every penny.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    • Woodville, MS,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We live in a small town, so renting a tux is a challenge. Renting for mail delivery was very easy. The sizing questions helped get the perfect fit. Pick-up was easy as well! I was able to arrange a pick-up at my office with FedEx and used the labels that were already attached.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Outstanding company - The Black Tux

    • Lebanon, PA,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a great company to deal with. We had a very large destination wedding with many groomsmen coming in from various parts of the US. Tuxedos were delivered on time, changes required were immediate, and the service you get from their representatives is outstanding!

    I would recommend them to anyone for a wedding.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 294

Write a Review for The Black Tux!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review