About The Black Tux

If you’re looking for inexpensive, high-quality tuxedo and suit rentals, The Black Tux claims to take the hassle out of the whole process by providing online ordering, and pre-paid shipping both ways. On top of this, The Black Tux even claims to provide a Fit Guarantee on all of their orders, which can help you look your best on the day of your event.

But can the Black Tux really help you avoid the last-minute pickups, low quality materials, and high prices associated with traditional suit and tux rental shops? Let’s suit up and find out.

Quick Facts About The Black Tux

By partnering with one of America’s top suit-makers, The Black Tux claims to provide wool and cotton suits that feature 150s Merino wool, classic and slim fits, and a wide range of accessories, for prices much lower than traditional tux shops. With this in mind, The Black Tux carries jackets ranging in size from 34-58 inches, and pant waist sizes from 28-54 inches—although all pants come with a 2-inch waist adjuster. If you can’t find the size you need, the company claims that they can manufacture a custom size if necessary, though this will require extra production time.

Because The Black Tux rental process is handled completely online, it occurs over 4 steps:

  1. Visit The Black Tux website, pick the individual items you like, or choose from a range of complete outfits. Once you’re finished, add them to your cart.
  2. Get measured. To accomplish this, you can visit your local tailor in advance, or use the 10-minute measurement tool on The Black Tux website. If necessary, the company can even send you a free tape measure.
  3. Your garments will be shipped via FedEx and will arrive seven days prior to your event. If you’re within 14 days of your event and need something ASAP, a rush shipping and handling fee will apply.
  4. On the business day after your event, place your garments back in the original box, add the pre-paid shipping label, and send it back to the company.

The Black Tux Pricing & Refund Policy

The Black Tux claims that their suits and tuxes would retail for $1,200, although they can be rented for the following prices:

  • Tuxedos: $95 - $120
  • Suits: $95 - $110
  • Shirts: $15
  • Vests: $15
  • Neckwear: $5 - $10
  • Cufflinks & Studs: $5 - $10
  • Shoes: $15 - $30
  • Misc. Items (Suspenders, cummerbund, tie clips, etc.): $7 - $15

All rentals include free shipping both ways, unless your order requires a rush shipping fee. Your garments will arrive folded in a garment bag, and should be ready to wear right out of the box. If there are any wrinkles, the company claims they should naturally fall out within a couple hours.

The Black Tux rentals come with a Fit Guarantee, which means that if your tux or suit doesn’t fit properly, the company will cover the cost of alterations, or will send a replacement item.

If you cancel your order more than 30 days prior to your event, you’ll be eligible for a full refund. Inside of 30 days however, you’ll receive a merchandise credit that can be applied to future orders. If your order has already shipped, you can send it back to the company as soon as you receive it, and you’ll then receive a merchandise credit upon arrival.

Keep in mind that if you fail to send your suit or tux back on the first business day after your event, you may be subject to a late fee of 25% of the rental price, per day.

For questions, concerns, or returns, you’ll need to contact The Black Tux customer support at 888-717-1588.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Black Tux?

The Black Tux is based out of Santa Monica, CA, and has been in business since 2012. Since that time, they’ve been featured in BusinessWeek, TechCrunch, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, and more. Despite this, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Online reviews regarding The Black Tux appear to be overwhelmingly positive, and cite great quality, good fit, and high marks for customer service.

What’s the Bottom Line About The Black Tux?

The founders of The Black Tux claim that they were inspired to start the company due to their poor experiences with the traditional suit and tux rental process. But have they lived up to their vision?

By all appearances, it would seem so. In less than 2 years, The Black Tux seems to have made a big name for itself, and every review we read during our research seemed to provide glowing feedback.

Have you used The Black Tux for one of your events? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

318 Consumer Reviews for The Black Tux

Average Consumer Rating: 4.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 296 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 318
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Wedding

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I was first told about The Black Tux, I was hesitant, unsure, and felt like this isn't going to work. However, after ordering our tuxes, they were delivered right on time, with the fit that I requested. I am very happy with The Black Tux and will be recommending them to anyone who needs to rent a tux or suit for an event and will be using them in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great tux, great service

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Exactly what I ordered. It didn't fit at first and they promptly sent a replacement that did fit. I changed my tie and they sent it to me...all just in time for my event. I will definitely be back in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Black Tux

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used The Black Tux four times and every time the service and quality have been outstanding. Their service team is quick to jump on any issues that may come up and the suit/tux always fits perfect! I have told my friends about the service and try to recommend The Black Tux when people ask about it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Unbelievable

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s incredible how perfect this tux fitted, without any physical measurements. The pants were a little long, and they sent a replacement, within three days, with great time for the event.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My tux came in plenty of time and fit great! I would certainly utilize The Black Tux again and recommend to family/friends. They answered all my questions promptly and professionally and understood my needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Happy customer

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve used The Black Tux once for a wedding where I was a groomsman. It fit great and ever since then I have used them as my go to. This time I ordered the suit on a Wednesday afternoon and the suit arrived on Friday and fit great. And it’s quite difficult for me to find a suit that fits being 6'8".

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good product, good service

    • Bloomfield, NJ,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The instructions were easy to follow on their website. The tux, shirt, shoes, and accessories were in good shape. Everything fit well, but the sleeves were too long. It was easy to report the issue via the website; their response was very prompted. They had me get the sleeves altered by a local tailor of my choice. Since the tux arrived a few weeks before the wedding, I had enough time to go to the tailor. The Black Tux reimbursed me promptly for the full cost of the alternations. The biggest plus was you don't have to return the tux the day after the wedding like other providers make you do!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Top-notch tux with fabulous service...

    • Idaho,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter was recently married at Christmas-time. All the men used The Black Tux for our wedding tuxes. The online ordering was quick and straightforward...everything was explained even for an "older" person like myself.

    The tuxedo arrived two weeks before the event and I immediately tried it on. Turns out the shoes were a bit large and the vest was a bit tight (perhaps I was a bit too round). So I got online, followed the great directions and replacements were shipped right out to me. The tuxedo looked great, and most importantly, the daughter was very happy. I had it on for several hours and it was quite comfortable. Then when all was done, I just placed everything back in the box and the return mail slip was already in place. A great way and place to rent a tux!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best way to rent and it's not even close

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To put it simply, I've never had a better rental experience than with The Black Tux. Great customer service, perfect fitting tux, helpful customer service, and everything in between. Keep doing great work, guys!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing customer service

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was late to pick up my tux from the cleaners before it closed on the night before my flight. I panicked and called The Black Tux immediately. Thankfully, they were incredibly helpful and truly saved the day by overnight shipping a new tux. It got to the hotel the morning of the wedding. I couldn't recommend a better product/service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great tux

    • Burlington, IA,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My buddy had us rent tuxes from The Black Tux, and I was skeptical at first that the tux would not fit right without me being measured by someone in person, but I was very wrong. The tux fit great and looked even better. The shoes were nice and comfortable as well. I felt good in my tux because the fit was right. The price was comparable to in-store tux rental as well. You just send in your measurements and wait for your tux to arrive.

    I would highly recommend using this company if you have people in your wedding who are in a different location and can't all meet at one tux rental shop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 318

Write a Review for The Black Tux!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review