Vital Reds by Gundry MD Review: Does It Really Work?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 15, 2019

Vital Reds is a powdered blend of polyphenol-rich superfruits, natural fat-burning ingredients, and probiotics that Gundry MD advertises will help increase your natural energy, promote digestion, and improve the health and appearance of your skin.

Additional benefits noted on the website include better food metabolizing, less gas and bloating after meals, smoother bowel movements, and “the feeling of finally having the power to start getting your weight under control.”

All you have to do, Gundry MD tells us, is mix one scoop of Vital Reds’ berry-flavored, quick-dissolve formula with a glass of water or the beverage of your choice, and enjoy once per day, with or without food. From there, its soy, sugar, and artificial sweetener-free blend will get to work.

Combining our in-depth research and interviews with professionals, we’ll take a detailed look at Vital Reds’ formulation, the available clinical evidence for Gundry MD’s claims, and the supplement’s close competitors—all so you can decide whether or not to buy.

How Do the Polyphenols in Vitals Reds Work?

Polyphenols are naturally occurring micronutrient compounds found in plants that give them their color and help protect them from external threats.

In humans, Dr. Jason Reed, founder of BestRxForSavings says, “the most likely reason polyphenols are beneficial is due to the fact that they have antioxidant properties.”

They “prevent free radicals (electrons that bounce off of atoms) from bouncing around inside our bodies and causing a host of [inflammation-based] issues,” he adds, such as atherosclerosis and arthritis.

However, Reed points out that the human body doesn’t require polyphenols to maintain good health. Furthermore, it doesn’t necessarily take dozens of “exotic” ingredients—as Gundry MD advertises for those in Vital Reds—to reap the potential benefits polyphenols might provide, he said.

“Eating the recommended daily amount of fruits and vegetables will provide plenty of polyphenols,” he advises.

With these details in mind, let’s zoom in and take a closer look at what you’ll consume with each scoop of Vital Reds.

Which Ingredients are in Vital Reds’ Formula?

Gundry MD advertises that Vital Reds contains the following 100% natural and pure ingredients:

  • Thiamin 1.5 mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7 mg
  • niacin 20 mg
  • Vitamin B6 2 mg
  • Folate 667 mcg DFE (400 mcg folic acid)
  • Vitamin B12 6 mcg
  • Biotin 300 mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10 mg
  • Selenium 70 mcg
  • Chromium 200 mcg
  • Reds Blend 1,760 mcg – Carrot, organic apple peel, grape skin extract, Aronia berry extract, organic flaxseed, grape seed extract, acai fruit extract, acerola fruit extract, apple, apple pectin, organic beetroot, blackberry, European black currant fruit extract, blueberry fruit concentrate, cranberry fruit extract, mango, mulberry fruit, papaya, pomegranate, red raspberry, strawberry, cantaloupe, cherry, grape, grapefruit, lemon, lime, orange, peach, pear, pineapple, plum, watermelon, berberine hydrochloride
  • Metabolic Enhancing Blend 365 mg – Cinnamon bark 5:1 extract, green tea leaf extract, white tea leaf extract, ginger root, turmeric root extract, bitter melon fruit extract, black pepper fruit
  • Digestive Support Blend: Probiotic Blend 3 billion CFU – Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, Lactobacillus reuteri
  • Fructooligosaccharides 250 mg

The US Department of Agriculture recommends that adult men and women eat at least two to three cups of vegetables per day, along with one-and-a-half to two cups of fruit.

With this said, the Centers for Disease Control reports that as of 2015, “just 9 percent of adults met the intake recommendations for vegetables,” and “only 12 percent of adults met the recommendations for fruit.”

As such, Reed tells us, “if a patient did not eat a healthy diet that provided the recommended daily allowance of vitamins and minerals, then it appears Vital Reds would be a benefit.”

Still, he notes, he is “not familiar with this product and given that it is a dietary supplement that doesn’t have to meet the same FDA requirements on efficacy and safety, I can’t say for sure.”

We also know that the medical community has used probiotics—beneficial bacteria strains like Bifidobacteria and Lactobacillus—for decades to help balance digestion, reduce gassiness and bloating, and even boost immune response.

Over the last several years, probiotic supplements have become popular among consumers as well, who use them to achieve many of the same benefits.

Are There Side Effects Related to Vital Reds’ Ingredients?

The Gundry MD website emphasizes that the natural, mostly food-based ingredients found in Vital Reds are 100% safe, as every batch is tested in the USA at a cGMP-certified facility. Then, it’s rechecked for purity, content, and dosage by a third-party lab.

Still, side effects are always a possibility with any dietary supplement, as are medication interactions, which is why it’s important to speak with your doctor before making any purchases.

With these details in mind, the most common side effects as a whole noted by sites like WebMD, the Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com for Vital Reds’ ingredients are mild, temporary digestive upset.

We’ve also learned during our past research that probiotics can initially lead to many of the side effects they’re supposed to treat, such as gassiness and bloating, which typically subside quickly.

How Much Does Vital Reds Cost?

Gundry MD prices each jar of Vital Reds as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 ($66.45 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 ($62.96 per jar)

We also found Vital Reds sold on Amazon for $47.99 per jar at the time of our research.

All direct US orders include free shipping, along with a 90-day guarantee. To request one, you’ll need to call (800)852-0477.

Vital Reds vs. Competing Polyphenol Supplements

There are perhaps hundreds of powders, antioxidant formulas, and polyphenol supplements competing for your business.

Many of these boast the same features as Vital Reds as well, including a wide assortment of fruit and vegetable extracts, a few different probiotic strains, and formulas that are free from sugar, sweeteners, artificial ingredients, and caffeine and other stimulants.

Here were some of the top-rated results in Amazon:

Brand Price / Cost Per Serving Number of Ingredients Notes
Vital Reds $69.95 / $2.33 55 90-day refund policy
Superfood Vital Reds with Greens $39.97 / $1.33 63 Available in cocoa, mocha, and very berry flavors
KaraMD Revive Reds $28.45 / $0.95 49 Very similar formulation to Vital Reds
Purity Products Super Reds $24.95 / $0.83 47 No probiotics
RealDose Essentials Real Reds $46.95 / $1.57 9 1-year money back guarantee
Organifi Green Juice $69.95 / $2.33 13 60-day refund policy,

While you certainly have a lot of options, choosing the right one might be as easy as deciding which factors to emphasize.

For example, if the price is your number one concern, Vital Reds and Organifi Green Juice tie for the highest cost per serving among popular competitors above. Country Farms comes in meaningfully lower, although since each jar only contains 20 servings, you’ll likely have to reorder more often—or order larger quantities at the same time, thereby increasing your upfront costs.

Formulation-wise, RealDose has the fewest ingredients, while Superfood Vital Reds comes with the most. Note: KaraMD offers a very similar formulation as Vital Reds, but at a price that’s almost 60% lower.

Coming in close behind is Organifi, which offers the second-fewest ingredients in its formulation and also ties with Vital Reds for the highest price per serving.

Furthermore, the manufacturer only gives you 60 days to try Organifi out, whereas RealDose ’s one-year satisfaction guarantee awards them with the lengthiest refund policy.

We’ve covered a lot of ground in a relatively short time here, so let’s pull all of these details together to help you come to a conclusion about Vital Reds from Gundry MD.

Our View: Should You Order Vital Reds?

Here on HighYa, more than 1,300 readers have given the Vital Reds powdered supplement an average rating of 4.3 stars (as of 4/8/19), with nearly 90% saying they’d recommend it to a friend.

It’s also much the same on the Gundry MD website, as well as third-party sites like Amazon. As such, it seems that most customers who give the supplement a try are pleased with their experience.

With these positives in mind, Reed emphasizes that most of us can get all the polyphenols we need just by eating the recommended daily allowance of fruits and vegetables.

So, if you’re willing to invest minimal time into altering your eating habits, you might be able to forego supplementation altogether.

But, even if you’re willing to pay for the convenience of getting your daily fruit and veggie allotment via a powdered drink mix, it’s difficult to ignore the fact that Vital Reds costs meaningfully more than many other polyphenol-focused competitors.

We reached out to Vital Reds multiple times to inquire about which factors influence their higher-than-average pricing but were not able to get an answer. Therefore, we think it’s difficult to recommend Vital Reds to customers who are looking to achieve the most value for their money.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1309 Vital Reds by Gundry MD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 825 4 star: 313 3 star: 48 2 star: 22 1 star:  101
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1309
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Lab work excellent

    • Port Charlotte, FL,
    • May 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to say I didn’t notice any particular increase in energy, although I had been eating more carbs than usual, which usually robs me of energy!

    After taking Vital Reds along with Primal Plants for over just 3 weeks my lab work was so good, my doctor was impressed! My BUN, which usually runs between 45-50, was in the low normal range! I was a type two diabetic, declared cured of that by my doctor several months ago, was why my doctor thought my creatinine and BUN always ran high! She was shocked that after years of high kidney blood tests, that it dropped to the normal range!

    Also, most of my labs including triglycerides were normal range or barely elevated. I also include now (to start off with) two tablespoons of olive oil either on salad or straight!

    Taking other of your supplements also, I appreciate the high quality of your products, including the prebiotic thrive which I started a few days ago!

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Delicious and cleansing.

    • Macon, GA,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It tastes great and has a fine texture, which tells me it is of high quality. It is very refreshing and cleansing to my kidneys and because I have kidney stones, that is very important. If it cleanses the kidneys, it cleanses the other vital organs. Again, very refreshing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds has changed my life

    • Tennessee,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have no Thyroid (cancer). I have Fibromyalgia, Barrett's Esophagus (Hiatal Hernia), and Sjogren's.

    I take a proton pump inhibitor twice a day for the Barrett's. It causes issues with uptaking nutrients.

    I have also developed random allergies. I have been using Vital Reds every day for one year, and sometimes twice a day! If I miss a day, my energy is less, my brain fog is more, and this, in turn, causes a slump in my mood. I'm thankful for this product as I am able to have a bit more productivity in my days. This is HUGE!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It is working for me

    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 60 years old and was starting to feel tired and bloated a lot of the time. I have now been taking Vital Reds for about three months. In fact, I am about to order another three month supply. I take it every day first thing in the AM with water. It tastes very good. After only about a week, I noticed that I had more energy and that my tummy was tighter. In addition, a lot of my skin conditions - a bit of eczema, a bit of acne, a bit of seborrhea - started to clear up. I was amazed that I was able to get results so quickly.

    I have since added Primal Greens, Total Restore and MCT Wellness to my daily routine. In addition, I take Prebiothrive every other day and two of the Lectin Shield at lunch or dinner. I cannot believe how much better I feel. I think that I must also look better because I keep getting compliments, particularly regarding my skin. Before finding out about Dr. Gundry's products, I was going to a naturopathic doctor who just kept giving me more and more supplements until it just got way too expensive and unwieldy. So now I have been eliminating most of those as they run out.

    I agree with the reviewer who suggested that Dr. Gundry might want to consider packaging some of his powders in packets for those of us who like to travel. Needless to say, I am a VIP customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Diarrhea and bad customer service to boot

    • Florida,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After three days my wife and I had diarrhea and tummy aches. We ordered Vital Reds but were sent Primal Plants too, and charged four hundred dollars, which was never refunded after calling many times. My wife developed fissures and it took a couple of weeks for her to get over it. Terrible product for seniors. I say scam...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 22, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Stephen, I'm so sorry to hear that you had this experience! As always we ask that you consult your physician prior to beginning any new supplement. In regards to your refund, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will look into your account and refund you immediately. I'm looking forward to your email.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Significantly lower cholesterol

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had very high cholesterol (282) and started with Vital Reds, which I drink with cold water with ice. It's very good; has a good berry taste. For people who say it is too sweet, they are not using enough water. But here is the good news - I just had my cholesterol tested and it is now 134. I have a lot of energy now and have been trying to walk 10,000 steps a day. I did not think that would be possible and I am also doing projects that I have been putting off. Thank you for this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds

    • Texas,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took the full bottle of Vital Reds per the directions.

    My opinion - pixie dust...expensive pixie dust.

    A complete waste of money for me. It might help someone who is deficient in the critical aspects of this formula. It does not have enough of each ingredient to make a real difference as far as I could experience.

    It did not work for me. I should have asked for my money back.

    I do not recommend this supplement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Max,

      Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with Vital Reds. Many customers experience great results with Vital Reds, but of course, we understand that Vital Reds may not be for everyone. Even if it is past the refund period, I am more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me at Aria@GundryMD.Com so I can process this for you right away just for giving us a try. Looking forward to hearing from you!


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Love this

    • Nevada,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I am not a paid reviewer, nor have been asked to submit a positive review. This is an authentic review. I purchased this product last year as a means to supplement my sluggish metabolism. I also struggle with weight issues, and prior to reading The Plant Paradox, I was unsuccessful with dieting. I found this particular product (as well as Gundry's PrebioThrive) did make a noticeable difference in my energy levels and did result in a 30lb weight loss.

    What I like most about this is the taste, and the fact that I can mix it in both hot and cold drinks. I mix it with water during the summer, and hot tea when I feel cold. I have also replaced one cup of hot coffee in the am with one hot tea plus Vital Reds. Vital Reds mixes better than nearly all previous supplements I have tried, and that matters to me. It is sold by weight, NOT volume, so it does at first appear that you are only getting 1/2 a jar. I simply order in multiples and pour one into another (this is something I wish all manufacturers would step up to.) The taste is very good, not so sweet, but certainly not chalky. I will continue to use this. I do think they could work on the cost. Similar supplements can be substantially less, but I find this does work better, so I will pay it until a better product comes along.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds

    • New York,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product tastes unnaturally sweet, as if an artificial sweetener has been added. I will be sending it back...it is awful! The concept makes sense, but the product does not taste natural and clumps up when mixed. Also, there is a large amount that remains at the bottom of the glass. I ordered three extra containers based on how it was advertised but cannot even conceive of finishing one of the containers (let alone six of them)!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Martha, Aria here with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our product. Vital Reds contains no artificial ingredients, and is sweetened naturally with Stevia. I always recommend using a blender bottle to combine our products for the best results. I am more than happy to issue you a full refund, just for giving us a try. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com Thank you!


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product was found by accident. Though I found and purchased for my father, after sampling, I decided to keep a few containers for myself. Immediate results. I have found the same nutrients in my daily vitamins, so I have decided to stop taking all other supplements. Thank you. I would recommend this product to anyone of any age...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Immediate energy boost.

    • Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Vital Reds a week ago and the very first day I noticed a boost in my vitality. My body feels happier and more content as though it is now complete. It's difficult to find the words, but I feel better right from the getgo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 1309

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review