About Viviscal Hair Growth

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jul 22, 2014

If you’re losing your hair, you may have heard about Viviscal Hair Growth, a daily dietary supplement that claims to help you reduce shedding and achieve fuller, thicker-looking hair.

In addition, you may have been intrigued by Viviscal’s claim to be 100% drug-free with no sulfates, parabens, or chemicals included.

While it’s true that any effective hair growth supplement would be worth its weight in gold, can Viviscal really help you achieve this, and is it worth the high price? In this review, we examine its claims to help you make an informed decision.

How Viviscal Works

Whether your hair loss is due to hormonal changes, age, stress, poor diet, or any other factor, you’re probably looking for something to address it.

With this in mind, Viviscal Hair Growth claims that their scientifically formulated, clinically proven, drug-free hair growth products for men and women provide an answer to thicker and fuller-looking hair.

The product’s manufacturer claims that Viviscal is the result of more than 20 years of continuous research and development and that its benefits are supported by 7 clinical studies (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Based on this research, Viviscal Hair Growth is claimed to provide essential vitamins and nutrients, as well as a proprietary AminoMar Marine Complex, which can nourish your hair from the inside out, as well as from the outside in.

Viviscal Hair Growth products include:

  • Extra Strength Supplement for Women – Claims to be the #1 selling hair growth supplement in the U.S. by providing your hair with the essential nutrients it needs to look its best.

  • Extra Strength Supplement for Men – Similar to the women’s supplement, but with a slightly different ingredient formulation targeted at men’s needs.

  • Gentle Shampoo – Exfoliates your scalp and cleanses your hair, creating an ideal environment for growth. Claims to work on all hair types and to be suitable for everyday use.

  • Moisturizing Conditioner – An ultra-light conditioner that claims to nourish, soften, and condition your scalp and hair. Claims to work on all hair types and to be suitable for everyday use.

  • Hair & Scalp Serum – A topical hair solution that claims to help prevent heat-related damage and breakage, while also giving your hair a fuller, thicker appearance.

  • Hair Filler Fibers – Microscopic, electrostatically charged fibers that instantly volumize for thicker-looking hair. Claims to last in wind and rain and to easily wash out with shampoo.

  • Viviscal Extra Strength Starter Kit – Includes Extra Strength Dietary Supplements, travel size shampoo and conditioner, Travel Compact with a hairbrush, mirror, and tablet case, and the Guide to Fuller, Thicker Hair.

  • Viviscal Extra Strength Deluxe Kit – Includes Extra Strength Dietary Supplements, full-size shampoo and conditioner bottles, travel size shampoo and conditioner, Travel Compact with a hairbrush, mirror, and tablet case, and the Guide to Fuller, Thicker Hair.

According to the Viviscal website, you should take 2 capsules per day and should experience results within 3-6 months.

Viviscal Hair Growth Pricing and Refund Policy

If purchased directly through the manufacturer, Viviscal Hair Growth products are priced as follows:

  • Viviscal Extra Strength Supplement (Women & Men): $49.99 for 1-month supply; $119.97 for a 3-month supply.
  • Gentle Shampoo: $19.99
  • Moisturizing Conditioner: $19.99
  • Hair & Scalp Serum: $29.99
  • Hair Filler Fibers: $24.99
  • Viviscal Extra Strength Starter Kit: $39.99 per month or $119.97 quarterly
  • Viviscal Extra Strength Deluxe Kit: $46.65 per month or $139.95 quarterly

All Viviscal orders totaling more than $119.97 include free shipping.

If you choose, you can join Viviscal’s Healthy Hair Club autoship program, which means that you’ll continue receiving the kit of your choice once every 90 days and your credit card will be charged accordingly.

All Viviscal Hair Growth products come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges. In order to initiate the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at (800) 473-0145.

Viviscal supplements are also available from Ulta, Amazon.com, Drugstore.com, and many other third-party retailers.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Viviscal?

Overall, it appears that Viviscal Hair Growth has a mostly positive online reputation, with the most common compliments referencing ease of use and beneficial results. However, it should be noted that many customers who experienced results only saw thicker, healthier existing hair; not necessarily any new hair growth.

On the other hand, the most common complaints appear to reference failure to experience results, high price, upset stomach, fishy aftertaste, and skin reactions. Numerous customers have also complained of difficulty falling asleep and gaining weight.

The Bottom Line

Now that you know more about Viviscal Hair Growth, can you expect it to work and is it worth the money? Maybe, but remember the following:

Clinical Research

Out of the 7 clinical studies Viviscal cites as proof of their supplement’s effectiveness, only one of them was peer-reviewed, and another study appears to be cited twice on their website. In addition, only one of these studies was ever published, and the company notes that you’ll need to email them in order to obtain copies of the non-published studies.

What does all this mean? In short, while there may be some clinical evidence that the ingredients in Viviscal Hair Growth might help create fuller, thicker hair, it is far from “clinically proven” as the website may lead you to believe.

Value and Effectiveness

Like most supplements aimed at reducing hair loss/improving hair condition, Viviscal comes with a fairly high price; one that may not necessarily be in line with its benefits.

Also, remember that like any other supplement, not all customers will experience benefits from Viviscal, which after 3-6 months of use means that it could turn into a fairly expensive experiment.

With mostly positive customer reviews, Viviscal Hair Growth may help you experience fuller, thicker hair. However, keep in mind that it may not work for everyone and that the price is relatively steep.

Pros:

  • Claims to be a clinically proven, drug-free answer to thicker and fuller hair.
  • 100% drug-free with no sulfates, parabens, or chemicals included.
  • 90-day money back guarantee.

Cons:

  • Most common complaints appear to reference failure to experience results, high price, upset stomach, fishy aftertaste, and skin reactions.
  • Can take as long as 3-6 months to see results.

» Recommended Reading: 6 Solutions for Thinning Hair & Hair Loss for Women


Read 19 Viviscal Hair Growth Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Fraud and misrepresentation of process guarantee

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The infomercial said $30 or $40 for a month to try it. So I thought I'd try it. Shortly after my order, they billed me again for another $127.00 approximately.

    Oh, I remember what the rep told me when I called the first time I called, he said "you qualify for a 90-day supply, then a month later I received a bill for the $127. Long story short, I called to return it because I don't want to take this tablet every day and I didn't really see the value. You can go and buy a good Omega 3 and some other vitamins or supplements for a lot less without subscribing to a subscription that hits your bank card and gets their info wrong. I tried to return it and they said they would mail me a label. I was waiting and waiting and waiting, no label came. I repeated this 3 times, called them, they said they would send a return label to return the product and I would not be charged any further. I was waiting for a label that never came. On my 3rd request for a label, I asked them to email it to me, same thing, I never got an e-mailed label, checked my spam box. I told the customer service rep the 3rd time if I didn't receive a return label as promised I would call my bank card and dispute their charges, and so I had to do that. Four months later they sent me to collections. I am now calling and calling the customer service number again to get them to do what they promised. Oh, a supervisor returned my call 3 days later, of course, it went to my voicemail, I am not available to take calls all day waiting on them. That had no results other than she took it off collections and asked for my credit card to charge it again - no way. So another call to customer service, by now they owe me for my time and aggravation, ridiculous waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scammy product and bad customer service

    • Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought this product three months ago. When it arrived I follow the directions on the package to a tee. The product did not work. Not only that - when you buy a product they automatically put you on a membership that you cannot manage via their online website and they don't even tell you so they ended up charging me another $180 for their tablets. When I called them to tell them that I do not want the product they told me that they can only refund me now if I ship the product back to them at my own expense and refused to do anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase this product.

    • Gulf Breeze, FL,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product. $159.00. With the agreement to pay 2 more payments after the product was received. This was months ago. I never received the product. I called numerous times, basically being told, sorry. It was shipped. I canceled my card so the next two payments would not come out. They then turned me over to collections. So, I paid $159.00 for something I never received. The company didn’t care, they just wanted the money for a product I never received. Do not buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 87 out 90 people found this review helpful

    Do not order from the website

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to try this, buy it at Walgreens or any other authorized retailer. Do NOT order from their website. They have very confusing and "scammy" billing policies. I was confused as to why I was being charged $49 all the time, and my credit card had changed, and instead of canceling my account, they continued to bill me and then sent me to collections. I called them twice to pay on whatever I owed (which was a whopping $70) and get it all figured out and they kept saying they'd "let upper management know" but nothing happened. HORRIBLE. They are purposely confusing you so they can hook you for auto-renews that are hard to cancel and then do nothing to solve your problem when you call them.

    I'm usually really good about stuff like this too. My credit score is over 800, I have no debt. I'm not some idiot and they still managed to confuse me and screw me over. I had very little results too. Better off just taking a multivitamin. Such a bad experience with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Definitely worth the $50.

    • Virginia ,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started this product a month and a half ago after trying several different types of hair growth products for a receding hairline that was beginning to get out of control, along with thinning on top of my head. Viviscal man definitely works for me. After 30 days I saw a big drastic difference in minimal hair shedding and regrowth already happening. 50 days of using the product and my hair is growing in so thick, and my receding hairline is pretty much on its way back to being a complete hairline. My wife uses the women's Viviscal and is just as satisfied. In my experience, definitely worth your money. Not much different price than Rogaine, except Viviscal truly works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 88 out 98 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product directly from the company, and they billed me $65.00 They sent me a package that I did not order and then put me in their auto-subscribe program. I called them to return the products and cancel all future shipments. They told me that they did all their returns by US mail, so I had to wait for the return label, which was another 7-10 business days. I had to return the package and of course, no credit until they received the package. To add insult to injury, they proceeded to bill me $40 for their auto-subscribe program, while I have absolutely nothing in my hands and over $100 of my money in their hands. I called again and guess what. I was told that I had to wait another 7-10 business days before they would credit my account, as they had just received the return package.

    In today's online marketing, almost everyone offers return labels by email or a link to print it, so that these returns are seamless and credits are often issued with the proof of shipment such as a tracking number. How does Viviscal think they can do this to their customers? It's beyond me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 65 out 75 people found this review helpful

    It's working for me

    • San Diego,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 63 and take hormone replacement. My thyroid medication made my hair start falling out. I had to keep it very short as an attempt to grow it out, it was disappointing, and split ends were rampant. I had to have a haircut every six weeks to keep the split ends down. I learned about Viviscal at my dentist office reading a magazine in which Minnie Driver hawks this product. The ad said available at Target.

    I went to Target and picked it up for $35.00. If you have a Target credit/debit card, it's 5% less. I have just finished my second pack. Up until now, I knew nothing of shampoos and serums. The box does NOT say extra strength. Maybe that's why there are side effects in some women. I have not had a haircut in twelve weks and do not need one. I have zero split ends. None. My hair is clearly more healthy and last week I noticed brand new black hair growth in my temple area. I'm stoked.

    I have only posted a review for anything online once before. But based on some of the negative reviews you have posted, I feel strongly that ladies reading this site should know that not everyone is disappointed. So, I am seeing real hair growth around sixty days in. For the first time in years, I can twist my hair and clip it up. Before, I didn't have enough hair to twist; couldn't make a ponytail. I have not had any of the side effects stated by others. And, I would never buy through the website or get on auto refill. I learned the hard way years back that it is hard to get off auto and customer service usually sucks. Just go to Target and get the regular strength, the only choice they have on the shelf, and give it a try. It's not a huge investment over the website. I'm cheap. No way would I have paid fifty bucks for this. But $35.00 minus the five percent with my debit card for a couple of months is doable. Then, after sixty days or so as in my case (the box says ninety) either quit or keep going.

    Oh, and don't know how someone's friend could read the ingredients and declare them "fraudulent". How is that determined? Good luck ladies.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 59 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Zero results

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I did not experience weight gain, acne or any other negative side-effects, I also experienced zero results here. I tried it for three months, but also tried some Rogaine at the same time and when my hair loss slowed to almost nil, I was uncertain whether the Rogaine or Viviscal was doing a good job. I had hoped it was the Viviscal given all the positive reviews and no side effects for me vs. the Rogaine, which isn't great for me because it builds up on my scalp/hair making them feel crunchy since I only wash my hair every 5-7 days.

    Since Viviscal recommends trying the product for up to 6 months to get results, I did so. I tried a 6-month supply of twice daily Viviscal that took me closer to 7 and 1/2 months to finish because I'd forget to take two pills some days. Result? The Viviscal did nothing/zero/zilch/nada. I am outside the 90-day return period so I cannot get any credit.

    Don't waste your time and money much less get your hopes up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 70 out 81 people found this review helpful

    The worst customer service EVER!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jun 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not order from this company. When a friend of mine looked at the list of ingredients, she declared them fraudulent.

    I cancelled my order immediately. I was told that a return envelope had been sent twice, but I never got it. I asked for a refund for all of my hassle and was refused.

    Do NOT order from this company. The absolute worst company I have ever dealt with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 100 out 108 people found this review helpful

    It’s a scam

    Viviscal is a scam! Do not order this product and please don't give them your banking information!

    I canceled my order in December, and they have continued to debit my account every month. I filed a claim with the BBB. And also, their customer service department sucks! They sent me a canceled confirmation email, however, they are still debiting my account every month.

    Don't do it, you'll be sorry! And the product upset my stomach too!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 90 out 100 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I was being charged once for the package I received. I was charged three times. Totally unclear marketing. Total ripoff. Total scam. I am shocked at how they advertise this. I am not a stupid person, but this was totally sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Viviscal Hair Growth!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review