Vroom

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Vroom

Overall Rating

2.3

432 Customer Reviews

Summary

Vroom is a car-buying website that helps you to buy a used or like-new car entirely online and avoid dealing with a pushy salesman. Our review will help you understand if this service is worth using.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 432 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:55%
33% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Vroom:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 11, 2020

Easy car buying in your home

By LaShanda L., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I never heard of Vroom until after I started the online car buying process with another site. I was happy with the easy process of selecting my car and applying for financing. The majority of the process was online. My car arrived within 3 weeks of my initial contact. Very quick. Vroom kept in contact the entire time. My car runs smoothly. Although not detailed to my satisfaction, I was sent a check to pay for detailing in my state. The only thing I have to do is get a safety inspection for my state which is the biggest hiccup for me. I thought Vroom would take care of everything, but not this one thing. Still, I am happy with the process and the accuracy of my car details.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Communication

Easy online navigation

Great price

I have to complete the state inspection

Posted on Jul 11, 2020

Good price, poor customer service

By Denise C., New York, Verified Reviewer

Price was good and vehicle was in excellent shape. Buying process was fine, but they don't even begin processing the title transfer until 2 weeks post-delivery. Then, they say that can take up to 8 weeks, which is completely ridiculous. Still waiting for my title. Car did arrive with dealer plates, as promised, and was delivered earlier than promised. However, I never got advance notice of the early delivery, and was just lucky that I was home when the driver called to say he was an hour away. I give Vroom high marks on price, but low marks on customer service. Their claim that they keep you informed every step of the buying process is all hype. Their communication is downright terrible. Next time I'll use Carvana.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Vehicle selection

Poor communication

Unnecessarily long time to receive title

Posted on Jul 10, 2020

Stick with a local dealership or Carvana

By Edward E., Collierville, TN, Verified Reviewer

What started as a pleasant experience spiraled into a very bad one that I don't wish any other potential car buyer out there to experience. Their prices are good and employees are nice, everything else is pretty bad.

For starters, Vroom does not own their vehicle distribution network and rely on third-party companies to pick up trade-ins and drop off purchases. This process makes the experience wholly unreliable and not customer friendly. Half the time I didn't know who I was dealing with.

Secondly, the aforementioned third-party delivery company damaged my vehicle in transit and did not mention anything to me so they could save themselves the money. There is a glaring lack of accountability on this front since a damaged vehicle means these people get paid less.

Lastly, and arguably my biggest issue, is the fact that I requested over 5 times to have a check mailed to me for the difference in what they were paying me for my vehicle and the one I was buying since mine had a higher value. I even made them send me a second contract because the first one was wrong in this regard. Lo and behold, guess what happened? It looks like they still applied this amount to my new vehicle's note.

Bottom line: They're just as shady as any dealership you have to deal with in person. At least you can test drive the dealership vehicles. Stick to your local sellers or go to Carvana.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer Support

Price

Lying

Vehicle damage

Third-party delivery companies

Posted on Jul 9, 2020

Awesome experience!

By Tim H., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I bought a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport Unlimited about two months ago. I waited for the whole purchasing process to be completed before I wrote this review. I have to say, I am really impressed with Vroom. From the financing, delivery, and registering the vehicle the whole process was very smooth and painless. I was very leery of buying a vehicle online without looking at it, but not anymore. When I first got the vehicle all four tires needed to be replaced. My first thought was, "This is why you don't buy a vehicle online and now I'm stuck buying four new tires". When I contacted Vroom with the problem, they were more than fair. Vroom had me take the vehicle to Discount Tires where they purchased four brand new tires for the vehicle.

The vehicle I purchased is in very good shape with low miles and was purchased for a very fair price. I would most definitely buy another vehicle from Vroom again.

Thank you!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fair price

Sound vehicle

Easy experience

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 8, 2020

Would not recommend purchasing a vehicle from Vroom

By Adrian M., South San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

I recently purchased a Dodge Charger and upon delivery, I noticed a black vinyl sticker on each side skirt. The car I purchased is white, so these stickers stuck out like a sore thumb. I decided to remove them and saw underneath it was hiding damage to the side skirt where paint was chipped off and missing, it was about the size of 2 quarters. I created a "ticket" to get it repaired and the "supervisor" denied my repair stating that it was my fault for removing the black sticker. On the initial Vroom posting it stated normal wear and tear on the vehicle but that damage was not indicated and all the agent said was that "the car was advertised with the black vinyl in the pictures." They have not made this right and I won't be recommending Vroom to anyone to purchase a vehicle. The negative reviews speak for volumes to how this company operates.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Priced below local vehicles

Shady

Denied repairs for damage on the car they sold me

Weak communication, sometimes you have to call 15 times to get to an agent

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 8, 2020

Good experience that turns into a nightmare

By Gwendolyn W., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

The online salesman was polite and very helpful, the documents where FedEx'd to me, I paid my deposit, the vehicle was delivered two days earlier, the transporter was very nice. Now here comes the problem - my trade-in vehicle was supposed to be taken by the transporter that delivered my vehicle, that changed finally after me calling numerous times and a transporter called me to schedule a pickup, which never happened. I called Vroom back, got transferred around, nobody knew anything, or could even brother to help me. I kept calling and kept being told someone would return my call, never happened. Now my trade-in Chrysler is calling for a payment on a car that I traded to Vroom. Finally after 20 or more calls I finally get a call from transporter to pick up my Chrysler after a month of waiting. This is horrible customer service. When you're purchasing a vehicle you can reach people, but when that part is done, everybody disappears on you. I am still waiting to be sent a copy of my paperwork that I signed doing the purchase process, how long does this take? I have my registration and plates. I want my copy of the paperwork as promised during the purchase transaction. Vroom sucks.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Speediness at the start of the process

No one can be reached by phone

No one does what they promise

Poor customer service

Posted on Jul 8, 2020

Update

By Michael V., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I later got a call from Customer Service after this review. They are refunding my delivery fee due to how unhappy I was with the service. I bumped them up a star from a 2 star to a 3 star.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Early sales process was easy

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 8, 2020

Car is good, customer care after purchase, bad

By Benny G., Montezuma, KS, Verified Reviewer

I enjoy the vehicle I purchased from Vroom, but the vehicle arrived with a chipped windshield. I had to wait over 10 days to finally get a resolution to the problem. Also, my vehicle did not come with an AM/FM antenna. Vroom now says that it does not come with one.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The vehicle Carfax report

Fast delivery

After purchase customer service

Customer service with financing

Posted on Jul 3, 2020

Vroom gets away with knowing you can't fight them

By Christina C., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

Oh boy. My 2019 Hyundai Elantra arrived:

1) With a completely dead battery that could not be jumpstarted.

2) With a deep scratch through the metal of the car that was only visible once it was being towed to a dealership to have said battery replaced.

3) Covered in a layer of dust.

4) With the back passenger window slightly ajar.

5) Spiderwebs in the back seat.

Nothing about this experience has made me think my car was ever even looked at by Vroom before selling it to me. The battery was replaced by my Hyundai warranty, not Vroom.

The scratch? Vroom claims it was in the original listing because it is faintly visible in a picture of the side of the car. No close-up. No text disclaiming its existence. Clean Carfax. And assurances on my listing, and every listing, that "Vroom fixes all scratches over 6 inches."

The only remedy Vroom is willing to extend me at all is to return the car to them, minus the $799 shipping fee. So that I can lose money, on top of everything, and still not have a car.

Thank you, Vroom, for emailing me your invitations to share my experience on rating websites. I plan to.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Stay at home

Condition of car

Poor customer service

Poor return policy (pay back shipping)

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 3, 2020

Best auto buying experience EVER!

By Tiffany L., Dyersburg, TN, Verified Reviewer

Vroom has been awesome! The cars are actually really nice with clean CARFAX reports, plus low mileage. The prices are fabulous as well. No haggling from anyone. I found several vehicles I wanted. You must act fast to get the one you want. Put down that $500 deposit to hold the vehicle you truly want. The vehicles sell very fast! I lost out on my first choice because of uncertainty. I found the next best one, waited until it was available, then put my deposit down. The buying experience has been pleasurable the entire time. The car was delivered to my door on the date promised with 2 month temporary tags on it. The car also came as the pictures depicted. I have already recommended Vroom to everyone who asks about my fabulous new car. Will definitely use Vroom from now on. Love it!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quality

Affordability

Convenience

Reliability

Delivery

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 2, 2020

Poor transaction

By Ann G., California, Verified Reviewer

Upset, my tags are now expired, because Vroom failed to let their customers know that we have to smog our own car if we are from California. I’m here waiting for my license plate and nothing. I was never told we have to smog the car ourselves. This inconvenience is poor customer service. There are plenty of other auto dealers who will do this for you. Now I can’t get my registration unless I smog this new car I bought from them.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Got approved

Poor registration process

Car dirty, had a lot of pet hair, not detailed when arrived

Don’t buy if you live in California or you have to smog car yourself

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 166-176 of 432

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.