About DailyBurn

DailyBurn is an online fitness destination for men and women that’s claimed to provide 16 different exercise programs and more than 100 workouts—all from elite expert trainers—that can keep you motivated and give you better results in less time, using daily routines, meal plans, recipes, and supplement recommendations. Because of this, DailyBurn dubs itself as a “digital fitness solution” that acts as your complete resource for working out, whether at home or on the go (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Maybe you’re looking to improve your fitness based on a New Year’s resolution, or perhaps you’ve been working out for a while and are just looking to spice things up by trying something new. Whatever the case may be, is DailyBurn a quality website that can help you reach your goals? We’ll answer this important question shortly, but first, let’s take a look at how DailyBurn works.

Understanding how DailyBurn Works

In order to access DailyBurn’s fitness library, you’ll need to answer a few basic questions on the company’s home page. This includes entering your current weight, your goal weight, and your gender, age, and email address. Then, you’ll need to indicate your previous level of workout experience, what type of body you’re looking to achieve, how much time you have available to work out, and more. Finally, based on your answers to these questions, DailyBurn will display a recommended trainer and fitness program, at which point you’ll be able to watch a video preview in order to get a better idea if it’s right for you.

Then, if you decide to sign up for DailyBurn’s free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), you’ll gain access not just to your recommended program, but also to their library of more than 100 workout videos across all programs, which are sorted by:

  • Goals (strength, weight loss, stay fit, etc.)
  • Difficulty (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
  • Duration (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • Workout length (between 15 and 50 minutes)

If you’d like full details about any of the programs, all you need to do is click on them and you’ll be taken to their home page.

Regardless of the program you choose, DailyBurn’s videos can be streamed through your laptop, phone, tablet, and even devices like Roku, Xbox, and more (a full list of supported devices can be found here). And as you move through your chosen program, DailyBurn is claimed to visualize your progress (e.g. number of workouts completed, weight lost, calories burned, etc.) using graphs and encouraging messages.

So, can you achieve your fitness goals using DailyBurn? Probably so. But is it right for you? Consider the following:

Mind Your Connection

After signing up for DailyBurn’s free trial and testing out some of their content, we found that their videos look crisp and clear; even when viewing them in full screen mode on a PC. However, it’s important to keep in mind that you’ll probably need a fairly fast internet connection to stream the content without any lag, which means that viewing them over your carrier’s plan may eat up (no pun intended) a lot of data, and/or could lead to some frustrating viewing experiences when trying to workout when using anything other than a Wi-Fi connection.

In short, while DailyBurn’s content may be accessible from almost anywhere, your user experience may not be equally enjoyable in all locations.

You Need to Be Self-Motivated

It’s also important to keep in mind that, while some of DailyBurn’s fitness tools can provide you with a much needed motivational boost, for the most part, you’ll be on your own throughout the entirety of your program.

Because of this, if you tend to lack self-motivation when working out, the independent nature of DailyBurn may not be idea for achieving your fitness goals. In other words, DailyBurn may be able to show you the path to fitness, but it’s up to you to get off the couch and put in the effort.

It’s Not Just About Working Out

Speaking of which, achieving your fitness goals is often just as much (if not more) about proper nutrition than it is about the types of exercise you’re doing, so it’s good that DailyBurn’s programs address both. In other words, as long as you have the motivation to stick with it, DailyBurn’s well-rounded programs appear to address all of your needs.

Are Consumers Talking About DailyBurn? What’s the Buzz?

Since writing our original review, numerous HighYa readers have expressed their opinions about DailyBurn, most of which seem to be positive. With an average rating of 3.5 stars, some of the most common compliments appear to relate to the variety of workouts and programs available, low price for what you get, positive results from sticking with the programs, and the ability to access content wherever you are.

On the other hand, some of the most common customer complaints related to DailyBurn appear to reference difficulty cancelling free trials without being charged, in addition to excessive emails (note: we didn’t receive too many emails after signing up for DailyBurn’s trial).

Outside of HighYa, DailyBurn appears to have an equally positive online customer reputation. The company isn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they do hold more than 20 closed complaints (as of 1/7/15), most of which appear to reference billing problems/cancelling trials or subscriptions.

DailyBurn Pricing & Refund Policy

When initially signing up for DailyBurn, you can opt for a free 30-day trial, which gives you full access to your recommended program, as well as to DailyBurn’s complete library of videos, articles, and nutritional information. When signing up for your trial, you’ll also have the ability to add 1-on-1 coaching guidance for an additional $15 per month, which can be declined if you’re not interested.

If you cancel your DailyBurn trial before the 30 days is up, the company claims you won’t be charged a penny. However, if you decide to stick with your program, you’ll be charged $12.95 per month. According to the company, your membership can be cancelled at any time without further obligation.

Important note: Membership fees may not be your only costs. Some programs may not require any additional equipment, while others may require weights and other devices that could increase your overall cost by $100 or more. Also, your nutrition plan will include recommended supplements (which can be purchased directly through DailyBurn), although these can be purchased through third-parties if you prefer. In fact, they may not be required at all if you so choose.

With this said, DailyBurn does not offer refunds or credits for partial months. In other words, once your cancellation is processed, you’ll continue to have access to the site for the remainder of the month, after which your access will be removed.

Can DailyBurn Help You Achieve Your Fitness Goals?

Chopping to the Point: Given DailyBurn’s positive online reputation with customers, their more than 7 years in business, their wide variety of workout programs and videos (and the expert trainers who host them), as well as their complementary nutrition information and meal plans, it’s very likely that you’ll be able to find fitness success using their site.

However, keep in mind that you’ll need to be self-motivated in order to achieve this success. In addition, based on our research, you might want to cancel your trial a few days before the 30-day mark in order to avoid possibly being charged.

What’s your experience with DailyBurn? Help your fellow consumers be more informed by writing your review below!

15 Customer Reviews for DailyBurn

Average Customer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 5
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-15 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good but can't track my completed exercises

    • by Dee,
    • South of Houston, TX,
    • Feb 18, 2015

    I need exercise to get stronger. I have been using this for about 1.5 months. Although they have several exercises, I actually expected more. My only problem with this is I can't find out which exercises I completed. Since it is self motivated, I wanted to challenge myself and ended up doing the same exercises again. I'd like to see that.

    There is a 15 minute mobility exercise and it is fabulous. Do it before you sleep and you will enjoy your rest.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Love Daily Burn

    • by Joanna,
    • Milford, CT,
    • Jan 31, 2015

    This is a great online exercise program! I don't know why some people had trouble canceling or getting charged extra after canceling. I did the 30 days free and decided to stick with it. I did the program for 4 months. After I held my account in the summer and fall, and just started back up again in January. It's now $12.00 a month, but so worth it!. Anja and Cody are my favorite instructors. They are great at giving direction to how to do the exercise, and very positive. I definitely have gotten stronger and better at endurance. I gained weight from NOT working out over the summer and fall, so this is my first week back, but hopefully I will lose some weight/inches. Last year around this time I was way more svelt looking. So I guess I did lose inches, my weight seems to stay put, even after doing varied exercise. So back on the wagon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    A nice program to work with

    • by Yanny,
    • Indiana,
    • Dec 28, 2014

    After trying to decide between DVDs or just using YouTube videos, I was surprised to find how much I enjoyed this program. It's nice that I can be pushed, while still having the program working with my experience level. I enjoy being able to do my yoga at home and using a professional, well maintained work-out program without spending a fortune.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Great variety-well worth the price

    • by Kelly,
    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Dec 10, 2014

    DailyBurn is great for at home workouts! If you have the motivation to work out, it's right there for you. It's on your phone, your Xbox, tablet whichever! Your own personal trainer. I hate having to find a workout and figure out how to do the move. These are videos so they explain and show you without the hassle of pictures.

    I still go to the gym for other forms of working out like running to switch it up but I love the high intensity programs. I'm drenched in sweat every time I finish! You burn a ton of calories in a short amount of time and only for $10 a month. They have 15 min programs if you're in a hurry and 50 min programs and everything in between!

     I know people that pay more than $30 for a gym and go once a week. This is available to you 24/7. Plus they add new workouts regularly! Love Anja and Bob! As long as you want to change-daily burn is there to help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev

      Like to hear that they add workouts and its just not the same.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 88 people found this review helpful

    Definitely a scam

    • by AC,
    • Dec 2, 2014

    This program does not work especially if you live in an apartment and you have neighbors. Also, they don't cancel the program when you want it canceled. They charge for the month after too. That is a nice ploy to get an extra $25. They send you emails daily but don't ever tell you what day they are deciding to charge you. Companies with integrity send you emails telling you, you are being billed. I would definitely not recommend this program to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2014

      Sj

      I have to say, I have been tempted by this but I do live in an apartment (with wooden flooring) and the girl downstairs likes to complain at the slightest of sound so you have brought up a very valid consideration. I will think more on it. Thanks

    • Jan 3, 2015

      R.

      While I appreciate the heads up about their extra charges on cancellation, it is unfair to call it a scam because you live in an apartment. I know this is not everything covered in your feedback, but this really made me wonder about how well I can trust your particular assessment.

    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev

      So it's the programs fault because you live in an apartment?! I can't comment on the cancelation policy or procedures, but it just seems like too many people give bad reviews for nonsensical purposes.

    • Jan 11, 2015

      AL

      That is just dump to blame Daily Burn for you living in an apartment.

    • Feb 17, 2015

      JR

      Go to a park, you can access it from your phone/tablet... I live in an apartment (2nd floor) and I go to the park to do my routines. Much better out in the sun... Don't be a hater, get up and work out...

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off Artists

    • by Ann,
    • Nov 26, 2014

    Lured in by "only $10 a month with first month free trial', you will find your card being charged $50 a month. Great program but dishonest about getting subscriptions, then refusing to refund. False advertising will lead me to complain to the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 84 people found this review helpful

    The old 'free trial, but charge you after trick'

    • by Jared,
    • Auckland,
    • Nov 16, 2014

    I don't know why I accepted the free trial on the Roku. Just saw 'free' and thought, sweet, why not?

    Forgot all about it. Never read the terms and conditions. I got charged. I really hate businesses that do this. It should be illegal, and mandatory to send an email 24 hours before putting a customer on a paid plan.

    Yeah, all that legal nonsense has them covered, and my fault for not reading, but it's just plain sneaky. And they know exactly what they're doing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 10, 2015

      Jeanne

      It seems ridiculous for you to blame a company for you not reading the agreement and expecting something to be free forever. Allowing you to try their service for a free month isn't a scam or sneaky. Nor is it sneaky to bill you after the free month. It isn't the responsibility of any company to remind you to cancel before they charge you either.

      It's called being a responsible consumer.

    • Feb 16, 2015

      Beth

      "Forgot all about it. Never read the terms and conditions." The company is not responsible for reminding you to cancel your trial and not have your card charged. This is not "sneaky" this is just common sense for any free trial. This is the third negative review I've read where it was the irresponsibility of the consumer that caused the issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • by Steve,
    • Key West, FL,
    • Oct 27, 2014

    They inundate you with emails to update your registration and of course their site content is limited without paying for an upgrade, then when you forget to cancel, they keep your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2015

      Curtis

      I have not signed up. But, how is it a scam based on your comments? You have to pay for things in life, why would they offer everything for free? And if YOU forget to cancel, of course you will get charged.

    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev

      Agreed. People rate this based on their own stupidity in not cancelling on time because they forgot. It probably also shows they lack motivation to actual work out in the first place so their reviews are meaningless in the long run. Classic example of the lazy generation looking to whine and have things handed to them on a plate.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Speaking out of Honesty, and experience

    • by Bianca,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 18, 2014

    Daily burn is actually a really good work out program, there are different levels to train yourself, but remember you are training yourself, so some programs my not be suitable for you and the only way to find out which ones work for you is to do more than one, it's only 12$ a month on my Roku player.

    You could go to 24 hour fitness and hire a personal trainer for 200-300$ a month to tell you what to do at the gym or pay a small fee on daily burn and use that while your at the gym with out hiring a personal trainer. I speak out of experience, plus my father use to be a body builder and a lot of those routines work, you just have to extend the work out on your own. So I guess in summary, it's is great to start out and it's up to you to expand.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 10, 2014

      R W

      The above review looks like someone at the DailyBurn wrote it.

    • Dec 29, 2014

      Sj

      RW - those were my exact thoughts too

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 72 out 79 people found this review helpful

    Still can't get rid of them

    • by Denise C,
    • Texas,
    • Jun 27, 2014

    Unfortunately since I hadn't really been using the service I asked to cancel within the 30 day trial period. Instead I was billed for a full year (at the time $60/year) even though I requested cancellation. And now, a year later I have been billed another $60 again! I don't like those kind of business practices! Of course, no response from customer service (which you can't access by phone)!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 4, 2014

      alexis

      did they ever fix it? I read this post and hurried up and canceled it the same day I signed up for it!

    • Aug 4, 2014

      alexis jones

      did they fix it? I'm worried...

    • Aug 11, 2014

      Anne

      Cancel your credit card!

    • Dec 3, 2014

      Laure

      I had paid for Daily Burn last winter. It was $15.00 a month with no prepaid year. When I got laid off and could no longer pay for the service. I opted out (Cancel) and it was done. They were very good about canceling me and I am now working again and looking forward to getting back at.

    • Jan 12, 2015

      Ava

      I've never had that problem with them. I'm a bit skeptical about your problem. Usually when I see people make comments about companies I've researched a ton before using, it's just some competitor. There was only one time I had meant to cancel for awhile and forgot, but they were quick in helping me out.

    • Feb 3, 2015

      Linda

      Next time pay with a prepaid card or Visa/MasterCard gift card especially when trying on a trial basis.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    The best!

    • by Erica,
    • May 17, 2014

    Unless you are a person that loves the gym you will never need to go again! Daily Burn gives you everything a gym class would give you and in my opinion more! I burned 400 calories in 40 minutes with the cardio sport medium workout! It was nice to be in the comfort of my own home! I'm in love!!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Perfect for anyone and everyone

    • by Sammy,
    • Colorado,
    • Apr 4, 2014

    I did this program about 9 months ago, had it about 6 months and loved it. I wasn't disciplined enough and had bought a new program so got rid of my "membership" but I just joined again. If you are diligent you'll see great results. I LOVE the Tabata. Cody is AWESOME! I did the first workout and couldn't walk for 2 days, those moves are SERIOUSLY HARD! but so fun, and it's a great work out. I love that it lays everything out for you. WORTH IT!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Very usable, very efficient

    • by Lois,
    • Georgia,
    • Mar 17, 2014

    I am only in my 3rd week of Daily Burn, but I really like it so far. It is very convenient, and I am able to fit the 30 minute or so workouts into my schedule well. I hated going to the gym, but now I get to workout in the privacy of my home. The videos are like having your own personal trainers! I lost 5 pounds in 16 days, and that is without changing my diet in any significant way. I like that they do short, intense bursts of cardio, combined with weights and core exercises. You get a great workout in the short period of time. I am still on the 30 day free trial, but I definitely think the $10 per month will be worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Great and varied service if you are serious.

    • by Ali Syed,
    • Alberta,
    • Mar 15, 2014

    I use DailyBurn and love it. I stated a skeptic but the program for true Beginner and Yoga have been great. Still use the gym on the weekend but now I know when I can't make it or I'm traveling, DailyBurn is always accessible. I highly recommend it as the yoga program got me off my back pain meds and I stopped using a back brace. I feel great with constant energy now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Daily Burn is Well Worth the money!

    • by Natalie Davis,
    • CA,
    • Feb 11, 2014

    I am a fitness guru and am always searching for the next hot thing. We all like variety in our fitness, and the variety is what takes you to the next level. Daily Burn gives you this opportunity. There are many choices of programs to individually fit the fitness level of anyone. Each program has modifiers which a beginner can use to challenge themselves to take their fitness to the next level with comfort. Personal trainers charge a minimum of $60-90 hour. With Daily Burn.....you have your personal trainer with you 24/7 for $10 a month! Anywhere you have internet.....Daily Burn is there! I love it. I am really glad that I made the choice to sign up and get on the Daily Burn train!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-15 of 15

Write a review for DailyBurn!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review