About DailyBurn

DailyBurn is an online fitness destination for men and women that’s claimed to provide 16 different exercise programs and more than 100 workouts—all from elite expert trainers—that can keep you motivated and give you better results in less time, using daily routines, meal plans, recipes, and supplement recommendations. Because of this, DailyBurn dubs itself as a “digital fitness solution” that acts as your complete resource for working out, whether at home or on the go (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Maybe you’re looking to improve your fitness based on a New Year’s resolution, or perhaps you’ve been working out for a while and are just looking to spice things up by trying something new. Whatever the case may be, is DailyBurn a quality website that can help you reach your goals? We’ll answer this important question shortly, but first, let’s take a look at how DailyBurn works.

Understanding how DailyBurn Works

In order to access DailyBurn’s fitness library, you’ll need to answer a few basic questions on the company’s home page. This includes entering your current weight, your goal weight, and your gender, age, and email address. Then, you’ll need to indicate your previous level of workout experience, what type of body you’re looking to achieve, how much time you have available to work out, and more. Finally, based on your answers to these questions, DailyBurn will display a recommended trainer and fitness program, at which point you’ll be able to watch a video preview in order to get a better idea if it’s right for you.

Then, if you decide to sign up for DailyBurn’s free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), you’ll gain access not just to your recommended program, but also to their library of more than 100 workout videos across all programs, which are sorted by:

  • Goals (strength, weight loss, stay fit, etc.)
  • Difficulty (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
  • Duration (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • Workout length (between 15 and 50 minutes)

If you’d like full details about any of the programs, all you need to do is click on them and you’ll be taken to their home page.

Regardless of the program you choose, DailyBurn’s videos can be streamed through your laptop, phone, tablet, and even devices like Roku, Xbox, and more (a full list of supported devices can be found here). And as you move through your chosen program, DailyBurn is claimed to visualize your progress (e.g. number of workouts completed, weight lost, calories burned, etc.) using graphs and encouraging messages.

So, can you achieve your fitness goals using DailyBurn? Probably so. But is it right for you? Consider the following:

Mind Your Connection

After signing up for DailyBurn’s free trial and testing out some of their content, we found that their videos look crisp and clear; even when viewing them in full screen mode on a PC. However, it’s important to keep in mind that you’ll probably need a fairly fast internet connection to stream the content without any lag, which means that viewing them over your carrier’s plan may eat up (no pun intended) a lot of data, and/or could lead to some frustrating viewing experiences when trying to workout when using anything other than a Wi-Fi connection.

In short, while DailyBurn’s content may be accessible from almost anywhere, your user experience may not be equally enjoyable in all locations.

You Need to Be Self-Motivated

It’s also important to keep in mind that, while some of DailyBurn’s fitness tools can provide you with a much needed motivational boost, for the most part, you’ll be on your own throughout the entirety of your program.

Because of this, if you tend to lack self-motivation when working out, the independent nature of DailyBurn may not be idea for achieving your fitness goals. In other words, DailyBurn may be able to show you the path to fitness, but it’s up to you to get off the couch and put in the effort.

It’s Not Just About Working Out

Speaking of which, achieving your fitness goals is often just as much (if not more) about proper nutrition than it is about the types of exercise you’re doing, so it’s good that DailyBurn’s programs address both. In other words, as long as you have the motivation to stick with it, DailyBurn’s well-rounded programs appear to address all of your needs.

Are Consumers Talking About DailyBurn? What’s the Buzz?

Since writing our original review, numerous HighYa readers have expressed their opinions about DailyBurn, most of which seem to be positive. With an average rating of 3.5 stars, some of the most common compliments appear to relate to the variety of workouts and programs available, low price for what you get, positive results from sticking with the programs, and the ability to access content wherever you are.

On the other hand, some of the most common customer complaints related to DailyBurn appear to reference difficulty cancelling free trials without being charged, in addition to excessive emails (note: we didn’t receive too many emails after signing up for DailyBurn’s trial).

Outside of HighYa, DailyBurn appears to have an equally positive online customer reputation. The company isn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they do hold more than 20 closed complaints (as of 1/7/15), most of which appear to reference billing problems/cancelling trials or subscriptions.

DailyBurn Pricing & Refund Policy

When initially signing up for DailyBurn, you can opt for a free 30-day trial, which gives you full access to your recommended program, as well as to DailyBurn’s complete library of videos, articles, and nutritional information. When signing up for your trial, you’ll also have the ability to add 1-on-1 coaching guidance for an additional $15 per month, which can be declined if you’re not interested.

If you cancel your DailyBurn trial before the 30 days is up, the company claims you won’t be charged a penny. However, if you decide to stick with your program, you’ll be charged $12.95 per month. According to the company, your membership can be cancelled at any time without further obligation.

Important note: Membership fees may not be your only costs. Some programs may not require any additional equipment, while others may require weights and other devices that could increase your overall cost by $100 or more. Also, your nutrition plan will include recommended supplements (which can be purchased directly through DailyBurn), although these can be purchased through third-parties if you prefer. In fact, they may not be required at all if you so choose.

With this said, DailyBurn does not offer refunds or credits for partial months. In other words, once your cancellation is processed, you’ll continue to have access to the site for the remainder of the month, after which your access will be removed.

Can DailyBurn Help You Achieve Your Fitness Goals?

Chopping to the Point: Given DailyBurn’s positive online reputation with customers, their more than 7 years in business, their wide variety of workout programs and videos (and the expert trainers who host them), as well as their complementary nutrition information and meal plans, it’s very likely that you’ll be able to find fitness success using their site.

However, keep in mind that you’ll need to be self-motivated in order to achieve this success. In addition, based on our research, you might want to cancel your trial a few days before the 30-day mark in order to avoid possibly being charged.

What’s your experience with DailyBurn? Help your fellow consumers be more informed by writing your review below!

SEE ALSO: Forget Diet Pills—Lose Weight by Changing Your Habits

40 Customer Reviews for DailyBurn

Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 14 4 stars: 7 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 17
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • Dissatisfied

    • GA,
    • Aug 26, 2015

    Let me start by saying the workouts are good, but they misinform you about cost. I signed up for the free 30-day trial and forgot to cancel and they say it costs $12.95 a month but I was charged $52 dollars. I would not recommend this service, you can get the same information in a men's health magazine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Arizona,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I find it hilarious and a little disheartening that they use a picture of Jennifer Stone in one women's testimony claiming it to be her. If this is the lengths they are willing to go, then I highly doubt they work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    so far, so good

    The program itself I'd give 5 stars. My one point of annoyance is neither the website or app seem to track my completed workouts reliably. If I could make one change, it would be to add a template page to track everything, with the option to import your workouts, intake, and other stats easily. Having to use an external tracker, where I input all my info, is an extra nuisance I'd rather be able to avoid.

    The workouts themselves have exceeded my expectations, my local gym went downhill and my condition with it. Going to a more distant one in the high heat of a Phoenix summer is completely unappealing as well as inconvenient. And I find I skip the gym those days I'd be driving longer than working out.

    Without that excuse, my conscience keeps me motivated. It is definitely self starter oriented, as you can always opt to not turn on the program. But if you're good at sticking to a program and committing yourself, it's a damn good and a good value.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Illinois,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    DailyBurn has been taking money out of my account even after I canceled my account with them the first day I signed up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2015

      Margaret Candice

      I'm sorry, it's a rip off, but you'd recommend it to a friend?

    • Aug 28, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      Hi Vicki, after looking through our records, I see that I took care of your request earlier this month. It looks like you had paused your subscription for future renewal (which is why you were charged when your account renewed), but we were able to work with you in providing you with a full refund for the unused account.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    More app options please

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I love DailyBurn. There are workout tips for whatever mood I'm in. The few workouts I've been able to do really kicked my butt. However, I can no longer do workouts since the app is not available on the PlayStation 4. I'm going to have to cancel my subscription if I can't use it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Thieves

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I signed up for the free trial and decided it was not for me. I had just missed my deadline so I canceled the account as soon as I could after that. Despite this, the charges still continued to appear on my credit card. I tried to call the DailyBurn, but their phone number recording tells you that you can only be serviced via their website. I called my credit card company twice to dispute the bogus charges, the second time requesting a new credit card number change to stop this. Daily Burn apparently found a way to bill to the new credit card number. This time my credit card activated a suppression code to prevent any further activity. This is a highly honed scam. Do not do business with them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 9, 2015

      Scott

      Seriously? You missed your deadline and they charged you like you knew they would. What a joke. You had 30 days to cancel. You sound like a brat that never had any responsibility.

    • Aug 17, 2015

      cmi113

      Scott: grow up and learn how to READ. Plenty of others have had the same issue. Daily Burn refuses to let you cancel which is called fraud. Far from a brat, educated professional who refuses to be ripped off. Credit card company sided with me.

    • Aug 18, 2015

      Jennifer

      I hardly think that a billing issue constitutes the label of "scam". They do have great workout videos & access to additional nutritional info for a pretty low subscription cost. Maybe an internet based workout program was not for you & clearly from other reviews, the company needs to work on their billing practices but it is a legitimate offering at a fair price. Not a "scam".

    • Aug 21, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      Hi Carolyn! So sorry to hear. It looks like you haven't yet reached out to our support team. Send us a note and we can look into your account and take care of you right away. support@dailyburn.com

    • Aug 25, 2015

      A

      I need the customer service number.

    • Aug 28, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      I'm sorry to say we do not have a customer service phone line but are very happy to help you via email at support@dailyburn.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great options, variety, and value

    • Florida,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I don't know what people are complaining about. There are so many options for what ever you're working for. As much support as you want for yourself. No they won't hold your hand and drag you to the screen, but you can get a diet plan for each week with ingredients and recipes, one to one coaching or just do the workouts yourself. I love classes, but here in South Florida classes and gym memberships are really costly for those with group classes. So I pay way LESS: $10 a month for the gym machines and use DailyBurn for classes that would normally run me about $10-$30 per visit or $100 a month.

    As for the billing issues, well as far as I can tell you're only as informed as you choose to be. Pay attention to the fine print. No one is getting ripped off unless they are just dumb and didn't pay attention. No cancelation is easy, but that's a common occurrence for any subscription service, membership or club.

    It fits pretty well for most people, not everyone I'm sure but it's a great fit for a lot of us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Leavenworth, KS,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I canceled before my free trial was up yet they continue to charge me. I had to close my account and I wasn't able talk to a live person at DailyBurn. I hate it and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 21, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      Hi Tiffany! We apologize for the trouble. Send support@dailyburn.com a note if you haven't yet and we'll look into this for you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I can't speak to the effectiveness of the actual workouts because I signed up for it and promptly forgot about it. I am very active and love to exercise. I just never got into DailyBurn. However, I think a company screams scam when you enter your credit card information and never hear from them again. I had a subscription for three months and never got a single email from them. If they were really interested in keeping me fit, wouldn't they be emailing me and reminding me to work out and fulfill my fitness goals? Once I canceled, the emails started to stream in asking me to return and asked me to work out with them. I was so turned off at that point. I would never recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2015

      Jeremy

      I call nonsense on this review, I have been a member of DailyBurn for about 1.5 years. I have lost about 20lbs. That is with not the greatest diet, and not consistently working at it. However those are my own faults. When I have applied what they teach I see amazing results, and I have found the customer service to be awesome, and responsive. No they do no babysit you and they do not constantly follow up with you but if you are looking for a platform that gives you a nice variety of routines, and that is effective, this is a great platform.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Billing Scam

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jun 17, 2015

    I will echo what the other reviews citing bad business/billing practices have said. They charge you without consent. I can't speak to the workout quality as I never had time to actually use the program. My review is based solely on the fact that I went online in my account settings and CANCELED my membership. The message on the screen when I did so stated I would no longer be billed. However, they switched my request to "pause membership", not my actual request to cancel. I look at my bank account today to see they started charging me after two months of no charges. I know for a fact that I did not "pause" my membership – I CANCELED it. Nice little racket they have going on here. If you give this company your credit card info be aware and watch your account like a hawk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 28, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      Hi Heather, if you haven't yet reached out to us about your previous account trouble, please do. We'll be able to help! support@dailyburn.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Horrbile

    • Jun 15, 2015

    So I paid for this for three months and got bored and I canceled my subscription. Come to find out they charged me a few months later and I cannot even remove my credit card info. There is no phone number to call and complain, this is a HORRIBLE company and I am disgusted with them. I canceled AGAIN and entered a closed account credit information so they can try to steal from there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a review for DailyBurn!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review