About DailyBurn

DailyBurn is an online fitness destination for men and women that’s claimed to provide 16 different exercise programs and more than 100 workouts—all from elite expert trainers—that can keep you motivated and give you better results in less time, using daily routines, meal plans, recipes, and supplement recommendations. Because of this, DailyBurn dubs itself as a “digital fitness solution” that acts as your complete resource for working out, whether at home or on the go (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Maybe you’re looking to improve your fitness based on a New Year’s resolution, or perhaps you’ve been working out for a while and are just looking to spice things up by trying something new. Whatever the case may be, is DailyBurn a quality website that can help you reach your goals? We’ll answer this important question shortly, but first, let’s take a look at how DailyBurn works.

Understanding how DailyBurn Works

In order to access DailyBurn’s fitness library, you’ll need to answer a few basic questions on the company’s home page. This includes entering your current weight, your goal weight, and your gender, age, and email address. Then, you’ll need to indicate your previous level of workout experience, what type of body you’re looking to achieve, how much time you have available to work out, and more. Finally, based on your answers to these questions, DailyBurn will display a recommended trainer and fitness program, at which point you’ll be able to watch a video preview in order to get a better idea if it’s right for you.

Then, if you decide to sign up for DailyBurn’s free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), you’ll gain access not just to your recommended program, but also to their library of more than 100 workout videos across all programs, which are sorted by:

  • Goals (strength, weight loss, stay fit, etc.)
  • Difficulty (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
  • Duration (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • Workout length (between 15 and 50 minutes)

If you’d like full details about any of the programs, all you need to do is click on them and you’ll be taken to their home page.

Regardless of the program you choose, DailyBurn’s videos can be streamed through your laptop, phone, tablet, and even devices like Roku, Xbox, and more (a full list of supported devices can be found here). And as you move through your chosen program, DailyBurn is claimed to visualize your progress (e.g. number of workouts completed, weight lost, calories burned, etc.) using graphs and encouraging messages.

So, can you achieve your fitness goals using DailyBurn? Probably so. But is it right for you? Consider the following:

Mind Your Connection

After signing up for DailyBurn’s free trial and testing out some of their content, we found that their videos look crisp and clear; even when viewing them in full screen mode on a PC. However, it’s important to keep in mind that you’ll probably need a fairly fast internet connection to stream the content without any lag, which means that viewing them over your carrier’s plan may eat up (no pun intended) a lot of data, and/or could lead to some frustrating viewing experiences when trying to workout when using anything other than a Wi-Fi connection.

In short, while DailyBurn’s content may be accessible from almost anywhere, your user experience may not be equally enjoyable in all locations.

You Need to Be Self-Motivated

It’s also important to keep in mind that, while some of DailyBurn’s fitness tools can provide you with a much needed motivational boost, for the most part, you’ll be on your own throughout the entirety of your program.

Because of this, if you tend to lack self-motivation when working out, the independent nature of DailyBurn may not be idea for achieving your fitness goals. In other words, DailyBurn may be able to show you the path to fitness, but it’s up to you to get off the couch and put in the effort.

It’s Not Just About Working Out

Speaking of which, achieving your fitness goals is often just as much (if not more) about proper nutrition than it is about the types of exercise you’re doing, so it’s good that DailyBurn’s programs address both. In other words, as long as you have the motivation to stick with it, DailyBurn’s well-rounded programs appear to address all of your needs.

Are Consumers Talking About DailyBurn? What’s the Buzz?

Since writing our original review, numerous HighYa readers have expressed their opinions about DailyBurn, most of which seem to be positive. With an average rating of 3.5 stars, some of the most common compliments appear to relate to the variety of workouts and programs available, low price for what you get, positive results from sticking with the programs, and the ability to access content wherever you are.

On the other hand, some of the most common customer complaints related to DailyBurn appear to reference difficulty cancelling free trials without being charged, in addition to excessive emails (note: we didn’t receive too many emails after signing up for DailyBurn’s trial).

Outside of HighYa, DailyBurn appears to have an equally positive online customer reputation. The company isn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they do hold more than 20 closed complaints (as of 1/7/15), most of which appear to reference billing problems/cancelling trials or subscriptions.

DailyBurn Pricing & Refund Policy

When initially signing up for DailyBurn, you can opt for a free 30-day trial, which gives you full access to your recommended program, as well as to DailyBurn’s complete library of videos, articles, and nutritional information. When signing up for your trial, you’ll also have the ability to add 1-on-1 coaching guidance for an additional $15 per month, which can be declined if you’re not interested.

If you cancel your DailyBurn trial before the 30 days is up, the company claims you won’t be charged a penny. However, if you decide to stick with your program, you’ll be charged $12.95 per month. According to the company, your membership can be cancelled at any time without further obligation.

Important note: Membership fees may not be your only costs. Some programs may not require any additional equipment, while others may require weights and other devices that could increase your overall cost by $100 or more. Also, your nutrition plan will include recommended supplements (which can be purchased directly through DailyBurn), although these can be purchased through third-parties if you prefer. In fact, they may not be required at all if you so choose.

With this said, DailyBurn does not offer refunds or credits for partial months. In other words, once your cancellation is processed, you’ll continue to have access to the site for the remainder of the month, after which your access will be removed.

Can DailyBurn Help You Achieve Your Fitness Goals?

Chopping to the Point: Given DailyBurn’s positive online reputation with customers, their more than 7 years in business, their wide variety of workout programs and videos (and the expert trainers who host them), as well as their complementary nutrition information and meal plans, it’s very likely that you’ll be able to find fitness success using their site.

However, keep in mind that you’ll need to be self-motivated in order to achieve this success. In addition, based on our research, you might want to cancel your trial a few days before the 30-day mark in order to avoid possibly being charged.

What’s your experience with DailyBurn? Help your fellow consumers be more informed by writing your review below!

18 Customer Reviews for DailyBurn

Average Customer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 5 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 6
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • Complete Scam

    • by Kareena,
    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 26, 2015

    I tried their free trial on Hulu, and within a week I unsubscribed permanently, and suddenly I see a charge of $30 out of nowhere. Company does not even have a damn help line number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Works if you work it!

    I did the free trial and within two weeks signed up for a year subscription.

    I started with True Beginner and they give you a program calendar which I input into my digital calendar so I could keep track. Good thing I did because sometimes my X-Box would preview the correct workout for the day and sometimes it wouldn't. It also made me make myself accountable by having a calendar reminder for the daily workout. I would open the appointment and record my calories burned and any thoughts I had.

    I love Justin, the trainer for True Beginner, as his focus is on stability and is based in martial arts. His banter is not too intrusive and doesn't get annoying after doing the same workouts for a couple of weeks. His is an eight week program so there is usually two weeks, twice a week of the same workouts and they don't get tiresome at all.

    I've just dabbled in the supplements so I have no opinion myself, that's why I came to this site to see if anyone had a review of them.

    There are add-ons but I didn't see the value for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love the Workouts, Skip the Supplements

    • by D Reagan,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 11, 2015

    I love the Daily Burn Workouts. I started at the Total Beginner Program because it had been a long time since I exercised regularly. I've never been a fan of the gym scene and do not feel social when I'm exercising, so I love doing the workouts on my schedule without the extra wasted time of getting to and from the gym.

    The nutrition program looks balanced and there are a wide variety of recipes to choose from. If you like to track every last bit that goes into your mouth, their tracker app is pretty good, but I like SparkPeople's tracker a bit better.

    Now I have to make a point about the supplements. The Trim and Pre-Workout supplements are LOADED with caffeine (138 mg and 200 mg, respectively). They bury this info in the supplement facts tab while showing you pretty pictures of all the plant based-components. A cup of green tea is 25mg. A Monster Energy drink is 160-240 mg. The Fuel-6 protein powder looks OK and is fine if you really want to go vegan or have issues with whey and soy protein.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Good but can't track my completed exercises

    • by Dee,
    • South of Houston, TX,
    • Feb 18, 2015

    I need exercise to get stronger. I have been using this for about 1.5 months. Although they have several exercises, I actually expected more. My only problem with this is I can't find out which exercises I completed. Since it is self motivated, I wanted to challenge myself and ended up doing the same exercises again. I'd like to see that.

    There is a 15 minute mobility exercise and it is fabulous. Do it before you sleep and you will enjoy your rest.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Love Daily Burn

    • by Joanna,
    • Milford, CT,
    • Jan 31, 2015

    This is a great online exercise program! I don't know why some people had trouble canceling or getting charged extra after canceling. I did the 30 days free and decided to stick with it. I did the program for 4 months. After I held my account in the summer and fall, and just started back up again in January. It's now $12.00 a month, but so worth it!. Anja and Cody are my favorite instructors. They are great at giving direction to how to do the exercise, and very positive. I definitely have gotten stronger and better at endurance. I gained weight from NOT working out over the summer and fall, so this is my first week back, but hopefully I will lose some weight/inches. Last year around this time I was way more svelt looking. So I guess I did lose inches, my weight seems to stay put, even after doing varied exercise. So back on the wagon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    A nice program to work with

    • by Yanny,
    • Indiana,
    • Dec 28, 2014

    After trying to decide between DVDs or just using YouTube videos, I was surprised to find how much I enjoyed this program. It's nice that I can be pushed, while still having the program working with my experience level. I enjoy being able to do my yoga at home and using a professional, well maintained work-out program without spending a fortune.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Great variety-well worth the price

    • by Kelly,
    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Dec 10, 2014

    DailyBurn is great for at home workouts! If you have the motivation to work out, it's right there for you. It's on your phone, your Xbox, tablet whichever! Your own personal trainer. I hate having to find a workout and figure out how to do the move. These are videos so they explain and show you without the hassle of pictures.

    I still go to the gym for other forms of working out like running to switch it up but I love the high intensity programs. I'm drenched in sweat every time I finish! You burn a ton of calories in a short amount of time and only for $10 a month. They have 15 min programs if you're in a hurry and 50 min programs and everything in between!

     I know people that pay more than $30 for a gym and go once a week. This is available to you 24/7. Plus they add new workouts regularly! Love Anja and Bob! As long as you want to change-daily burn is there to help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev

      Like to hear that they add workouts and its just not the same.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 107 people found this review helpful

    Definitely a scam

    • by AC,
    • Dec 2, 2014

    This program does not work especially if you live in an apartment and you have neighbors. Also, they don't cancel the program when you want it canceled. They charge for the month after too. That is a nice ploy to get an extra $25. They send you emails daily but don't ever tell you what day they are deciding to charge you. Companies with integrity send you emails telling you, you are being billed. I would definitely not recommend this program to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2014

      Sj

      I have to say, I have been tempted by this but I do live in an apartment (with wooden flooring) and the girl downstairs likes to complain at the slightest of sound so you have brought up a very valid consideration. I will think more on it. Thanks

    • Jan 3, 2015

      R.

      While I appreciate the heads up about their extra charges on cancellation, it is unfair to call it a scam because you live in an apartment. I know this is not everything covered in your feedback, but this really made me wonder about how well I can trust your particular assessment.

    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev

      So it's the programs fault because you live in an apartment?! I can't comment on the cancelation policy or procedures, but it just seems like too many people give bad reviews for nonsensical purposes.

    • Jan 11, 2015

      AL

      That is just dump to blame Daily Burn for you living in an apartment.

    • Feb 17, 2015

      JR

      Go to a park, you can access it from your phone/tablet... I live in an apartment (2nd floor) and I go to the park to do my routines. Much better out in the sun... Don't be a hater, get up and work out...

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 71 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off Artists

    • by Ann,
    • Nov 26, 2014

    Lured in by "only $10 a month with first month free trial', you will find your card being charged $50 a month. Great program but dishonest about getting subscriptions, then refusing to refund. False advertising will lead me to complain to the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 96 people found this review helpful

    The old 'free trial, but charge you after trick'

    • by Jared,
    • Auckland,
    • Nov 16, 2014

    I don't know why I accepted the free trial on the Roku. Just saw 'free' and thought, sweet, why not?

    Forgot all about it. Never read the terms and conditions. I got charged. I really hate businesses that do this. It should be illegal, and mandatory to send an email 24 hours before putting a customer on a paid plan.

    Yeah, all that legal nonsense has them covered, and my fault for not reading, but it's just plain sneaky. And they know exactly what they're doing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 10, 2015

      Jeanne

      It seems ridiculous for you to blame a company for you not reading the agreement and expecting something to be free forever. Allowing you to try their service for a free month isn't a scam or sneaky. Nor is it sneaky to bill you after the free month. It isn't the responsibility of any company to remind you to cancel before they charge you either.

      It's called being a responsible consumer.

    • Feb 16, 2015

      Beth

      "Forgot all about it. Never read the terms and conditions." The company is not responsible for reminding you to cancel your trial and not have your card charged. This is not "sneaky" this is just common sense for any free trial. This is the third negative review I've read where it was the irresponsibility of the consumer that caused the issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • by Steve,
    • Key West, FL,
    • Oct 27, 2014

    They inundate you with emails to update your registration and of course their site content is limited without paying for an upgrade, then when you forget to cancel, they keep your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2015

      Curtis

      I have not signed up. But, how is it a scam based on your comments? You have to pay for things in life, why would they offer everything for free? And if YOU forget to cancel, of course you will get charged.

    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev

      Agreed. People rate this based on their own stupidity in not cancelling on time because they forgot. It probably also shows they lack motivation to actual work out in the first place so their reviews are meaningless in the long run. Classic example of the lazy generation looking to whine and have things handed to them on a plate.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a review for DailyBurn!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review