About DailyBurn

DailyBurn is an online fitness destination for men and women that’s claimed to provide 16 different exercise programs and more than 100 workouts—all from elite expert trainers—that can keep you motivated and give you better results in less time, using daily routines, meal plans, recipes, and supplement recommendations. Because of this, DailyBurn dubs itself as a “digital fitness solution” that acts as your complete resource for working out, whether at home or on the go (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Maybe you’re looking to improve your fitness based on a New Year’s resolution, or perhaps you’ve been working out for a while and are just looking to spice things up by trying something new. Whatever the case may be, is DailyBurn a quality website that can help you reach your goals? We’ll answer this important question shortly, but first, let’s take a look at how DailyBurn works.

Understanding how DailyBurn Works

In order to access DailyBurn’s fitness library, you’ll need to answer a few basic questions on the company’s home page. This includes entering your current weight, your goal weight, and your gender, age, and email address. Then, you’ll need to indicate your previous level of workout experience, what type of body you’re looking to achieve, how much time you have available to work out, and more. Finally, based on your answers to these questions, DailyBurn will display a recommended trainer and fitness program, at which point you’ll be able to watch a video preview in order to get a better idea if it’s right for you.

Then, if you decide to sign up for DailyBurn’s free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), you’ll gain access not just to your recommended program, but also to their library of more than 100 workout videos across all programs, which are sorted by:

  • Goals (strength, weight loss, stay fit, etc.)
  • Difficulty (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
  • Duration (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • Workout length (between 15 and 50 minutes)

If you’d like full details about any of the programs, all you need to do is click on them and you’ll be taken to their home page.

Regardless of the program you choose, DailyBurn’s videos can be streamed through your laptop, phone, tablet, and even devices like Roku, Xbox, and more (a full list of supported devices can be found here). And as you move through your chosen program, DailyBurn is claimed to visualize your progress (e.g. number of workouts completed, weight lost, calories burned, etc.) using graphs and encouraging messages.

So, can you achieve your fitness goals using DailyBurn? Probably so. But is it right for you? Consider the following:

Mind Your Connection

After signing up for DailyBurn’s free trial and testing out some of their content, we found that their videos look crisp and clear; even when viewing them in full screen mode on a PC. However, it’s important to keep in mind that you’ll probably need a fairly fast internet connection to stream the content without any lag, which means that viewing them over your carrier’s plan may eat up (no pun intended) a lot of data, and/or could lead to some frustrating viewing experiences when trying to workout when using anything other than a Wi-Fi connection.

In short, while DailyBurn’s content may be accessible from almost anywhere, your user experience may not be equally enjoyable in all locations.

You Need to Be Self-Motivated

It’s also important to keep in mind that, while some of DailyBurn’s fitness tools can provide you with a much needed motivational boost, for the most part, you’ll be on your own throughout the entirety of your program.

Because of this, if you tend to lack self-motivation when working out, the independent nature of DailyBurn may not be idea for achieving your fitness goals. In other words, DailyBurn may be able to show you the path to fitness, but it’s up to you to get off the couch and put in the effort.

It’s Not Just About Working Out

Speaking of which, achieving your fitness goals is often just as much (if not more) about proper nutrition than it is about the types of exercise you’re doing, so it’s good that DailyBurn’s programs address both. In other words, as long as you have the motivation to stick with it, DailyBurn’s well-rounded programs appear to address all of your needs.

Are Consumers Talking About DailyBurn? What’s the Buzz?

Since writing our original review, numerous HighYa readers have expressed their opinions about DailyBurn, most of which seem to be positive. With an average rating of 3.5 stars, some of the most common compliments appear to relate to the variety of workouts and programs available, low price for what you get, positive results from sticking with the programs, and the ability to access content wherever you are.

On the other hand, some of the most common customer complaints related to DailyBurn appear to reference difficulty cancelling free trials without being charged, in addition to excessive emails (note: we didn’t receive too many emails after signing up for DailyBurn’s trial).

Outside of HighYa, DailyBurn appears to have an equally positive online customer reputation. The company isn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they do hold more than 20 closed complaints (as of 1/7/15), most of which appear to reference billing problems/cancelling trials or subscriptions.

DailyBurn Pricing & Refund Policy

When initially signing up for DailyBurn, you can opt for a free 30-day trial, which gives you full access to your recommended program, as well as to DailyBurn’s complete library of videos, articles, and nutritional information. When signing up for your trial, you’ll also have the ability to add 1-on-1 coaching guidance for an additional $15 per month, which can be declined if you’re not interested.

If you cancel your DailyBurn trial before the 30 days is up, the company claims you won’t be charged a penny. However, if you decide to stick with your program, you’ll be charged $12.95 per month. According to the company, your membership can be cancelled at any time without further obligation.

Important note: Membership fees may not be your only costs. Some programs may not require any additional equipment, while others may require weights and other devices that could increase your overall cost by $100 or more. Also, your nutrition plan will include recommended supplements (which can be purchased directly through DailyBurn), although these can be purchased through third-parties if you prefer. In fact, they may not be required at all if you so choose.

With this said, DailyBurn does not offer refunds or credits for partial months. In other words, once your cancellation is processed, you’ll continue to have access to the site for the remainder of the month, after which your access will be removed.

Can DailyBurn Help You Achieve Your Fitness Goals?

Chopping to the Point: Given DailyBurn’s positive online reputation with customers, their more than 7 years in business, their wide variety of workout programs and videos (and the expert trainers who host them), as well as their complementary nutrition information and meal plans, it’s very likely that you’ll be able to find fitness success using their site.

However, keep in mind that you’ll need to be self-motivated in order to achieve this success. In addition, based on our research, you might want to cancel your trial a few days before the 30-day mark in order to avoid possibly being charged.

What’s your experience with DailyBurn? Help your fellow consumers be more informed by writing your review below!

26 Customer Reviews for DailyBurn

Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 12 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 8
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Convenient

    • by Amy,
    • May 15, 2015

    I like that there is a program for the beginner. It has helped me to remain motivated. I get up in the morning and do my workout. The gym has always been a bit of mystery for me and these easy to follow workouts have been great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • by Carrie,
    • May 15, 2015

    I signed up for the trial and was not impressed. The workouts are only 30 minutes and not that great. I could then never cancel it! Suddenly could not get on website and 1-800 number failed. I finally disputed with credit card and had to change my credit card number to get it off. Such a scam! Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • by Judi,
    • Rome, NY,
    • May 6, 2015

    DailyBurn has a lot of different levels of workout, which helps me to workout even on lazy days...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Daily Burn is the best

    • by Shanell ,
    • Milwaukee, Wi,
    • May 1, 2015

    I do the daily burn cardio sculpt and within few weeks I could see the results. As long as you eat healthy, do your exercise it'll work for you. I see my abs forming, my butt doesn't jiggle when I walk and I went down a pant size, so am so sticking with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I did not realize I was being charged monthly

    • by Maura Halligan,
    • Lindenhurst, NY,
    • Apr 28, 2015

    Please ensure that you do not mistakenly hit auto renew. I had NO idea I was paying for this monthly as it gets blended into the iTunes bill with the songs I downloaded.

    I did not like this program. It is not worth the fee in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great workout site

    • by Jean Sprague,
    • Santa Cruz, CA,
    • Apr 23, 2015

    I have only been on DailyBurn for a little but in that short time, I have not only felt better but I have felt the workouts working. I may be sore but that's the point, it's work to get the body you want. That doesn't mean you have to die of exhaustion and that is one of the great things about this site is that it is a variety of levels and they are with you every step of the way. I have already recommended this to plenty of people and I will keep doing so.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love this

    • by Mandie Adones,
    • Belvidere, NJ,
    • Apr 19, 2015

    I am a stay at home mother of 2 boys. I was looking to join a gym but with my son's sports schedule and husband's work schedule and a toddler it was very hard to find time to go. I kept seeing DailyBurn on TV and talked with my husband about trying it. He encouraged me to do it. I researched the free trial and how much they would charge if I didn't cancel after the 30 days right on their site. It was all there in the terms and conditions about the auto charge after 30 days. $12.95 per month is not that bad and since my husband is very into weights, all I got was some little things we didn't have here so that I could get more out of the workouts.

    I didn't have to buy anything if I didn't want to and the trainers even tell you if you don't have it don't worry. The modifications for some of the exercises are great too especially if you are a beginner or have a previous knee, hip, shoulder injury etc. I haven't been bombarded with emails from them or any annoyances to buy their supplements, products, etc.

    I recommend DailyBurn to all the busy stay at home moms I know. I have been using it for a month and am seeing results and have become more self motivated to get up every day and workout for an hour. The diversity of the programs are great as well. I love my DailyBurn!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    LOVE IT

    • by Laura,
    • Indianapolis,
    • Mar 30, 2015

    Daily Burn is great. I love that there are so many workouts to choose from. For me doing the same thing over and over again just sucks the motivation right out of me. I am in my free trial time and in the second week of Inferno (I was doing Insanity) and I am anxious to wake up tomorrow morning for the next workout! There will be no cancelation of my membership here...though Planet Fitness will go bye bye.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Complete Scam

    • by Kareena,
    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 26, 2015

    I tried their free trial on Hulu, and within a week I unsubscribed permanently, and suddenly I see a charge of $30 out of nowhere. Company does not even have a damn help line number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Works if you work it!

    I did the free trial and within two weeks signed up for a year subscription.

    I started with True Beginner and they give you a program calendar which I input into my digital calendar so I could keep track. Good thing I did because sometimes my X-Box would preview the correct workout for the day and sometimes it wouldn't. It also made me make myself accountable by having a calendar reminder for the daily workout. I would open the appointment and record my calories burned and any thoughts I had.

    I love Justin, the trainer for True Beginner, as his focus is on stability and is based in martial arts. His banter is not too intrusive and doesn't get annoying after doing the same workouts for a couple of weeks. His is an eight week program so there is usually two weeks, twice a week of the same workouts and they don't get tiresome at all.

    I've just dabbled in the supplements so I have no opinion myself, that's why I came to this site to see if anyone had a review of them.

    There are add-ons but I didn't see the value for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Love the Workouts, Skip the Supplements

    • by D Reagan,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 11, 2015

    I love the Daily Burn Workouts. I started at the Total Beginner Program because it had been a long time since I exercised regularly. I've never been a fan of the gym scene and do not feel social when I'm exercising, so I love doing the workouts on my schedule without the extra wasted time of getting to and from the gym.

    The nutrition program looks balanced and there are a wide variety of recipes to choose from. If you like to track every last bit that goes into your mouth, their tracker app is pretty good, but I like SparkPeople's tracker a bit better.

    Now I have to make a point about the supplements. The Trim and Pre-Workout supplements are LOADED with caffeine (138 mg and 200 mg, respectively). They bury this info in the supplement facts tab while showing you pretty pictures of all the plant based-components. A cup of green tea is 25mg. A Monster Energy drink is 160-240 mg. The Fuel-6 protein powder looks OK and is fine if you really want to go vegan or have issues with whey and soy protein.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a review for DailyBurn!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review