About DailyBurn

DailyBurn is an online fitness destination for men and women that claims to provide 16 different exercise programs and more than 100 workouts—all from elite expert trainers—that can keep you motivated and give you better results in less time, using daily routines, meal plans, recipes, and supplement recommendations. Because of this, DailyBurn dubs itself as a “digital fitness solution” that acts as your complete resource for working out, whether at home or on the go (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Maybe you’re looking to improve your fitness based on a New Year’s resolution, or perhaps you’ve been working out for a while and are just looking to spice things up by trying something new. Whatever the case may be, is DailyBurn a quality website that can help you reach your goals? We’ll answer this important question shortly, but first, let’s take a look at how DailyBurn works.

Understanding how DailyBurn Works

In order to access DailyBurn’s fitness library, you’ll need to answer a few basic questions on the company’s home page. This includes entering your current weight, your goal weight, and your gender, age, and email address.

Then, you’ll complete a 2-minute assessment where you’ll need to indicate your gender, age range, current fitness level, and your ideal type of workout.

Based on your answers to these questions, DailyBurn will display a recommended trainer and fitness program, at which point you’ll be able to watch a video preview in order to get a better idea if it’s right for you.

Related: GOLO Weight Loss Program Review

Then, if you decide to sign up for DailyBurn’s free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), you’ll gain access not just to your recommended program, but also to their library of more than 100 workout videos across all programs, which are sorted by:

  • Goals (strength, weight loss, stay fit, etc.)
  • Difficulty (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
  • Duration (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • Workout length (between 15 and 50 minutes)

If you’d like full details about any of the programs, all you need to do is click on them and you’ll be taken to their home page.

Regardless of the program you choose, DailyBurn’s videos can be streamed through your laptop, phone, tablet, and even devices like Roku, Xbox, and more (a full list of supported devices can be found here). And as you move through your chosen program, DailyBurn is claimed to visualize your progress (e.g. number of workouts completed, weight lost, calories burned, etc.) using graphs and encouraging messages.

What Workouts Does Dailyburn Offer?

So, can you achieve your fitness goals using DailyBurn? Probably so. But is it right for you? Let's take a look at the Workouts offered by Dailyburn.

Overall, DailyBurn provides access to 18 different workout programs, which contain 100+ individual workouts combined:

  • Black Fire – A two-month program lead by trainer Bob Harper that focuses on short, full-body exercises. Recommended for advanced users looking for “intense results.”
  • DailyBurn 365 – If you’re looking to tone up and lose weight, the 365 program provides access to new, live (or on-demand), full body workouts each day. Each workout lasts 30 minutes, is fun to do, and requires no additional equipment.
  • Inferno – Lead by trainer Anja Garcia, this 21-day program will subject you to “gut-wrenching, grueling” workouts, and keep you motivated as you attempt to break your AMRAP (as many reps as possible) record each week.
  • Cardio Sculpt – Over the course of 3 months, you’ll work out 6X per week with this program (12 different workouts in total), which will focus on achieving lean legs, toned abs, and a tight butt.
  • Live To Fail – An intense 90-day course for advanced users that will “push your body to the limit,” regardless of whether you’re looking to lose weight or gain muscle. In fact, DailyBurn claims Live To Fail can help you “progress towards being in the best shape of your life.”
  • DB15 – At just 15 minutes per workout over the course of 15 days, DB15 can help you quickly “transform your body,” regardless of your fitness level, with targeted exercises that encompass everything from MMA to yoga.
  • True Beginner – As the name suggests, this is the program for you if you’re just starting out. Here, you’ll be able to ease back into fitness over the course of 4 weeks.
  • Inferno HR – Similar to the original Inferno program, Inferno HR will focus on intense, advanced exercises that are ideal for achieving both strength and weight loss. This time though, you’ll add a heart rate monitor into the mix for “personalized feedback that will lead to intense results.”
  • Tactical Bodyweight Training (TBT) – Lead by trainer Cody Storey, who studied in “primal movements,” TBT is a 28-day course that helps improve your range of motion, strength, and mobility.
  • Move! – Through the thirty 47-minute workouts found in the Move! program, lead trainer Keaira LaShae will help boost your metabolism using dance-inspired workouts that can help you tone up and lose weight.
  • CORE – A two-week program that strengthens and tones a wide variety of muscles, including “abs, obliques, lower back, glutes, and hip flexors.”
  • Yoga Made Simple – Looking to get into yoga, regardless of your fitness level? Lead trainer Briohny Smyth can help you do just that with this 4-week course focused on gentle movements and stress relief.
  • Yoga – Whether you’re a novice or more experienced practitioner, Yoga will move you along a progression—at your own pace—from basic poses to more advanced ones, all aimed at improving your mobility and flexibility.
  • Pilates (Phase I & II) – Each of these 3-week courses lead by trainer Andrea Speir will help improve your strength and flexibility by focusing “on the body's "Powerhouse," the abdominals and center of the body” and “controlling the flow of your movements.”
  • DBK – Moving away from outdated workouts, you’ll learn how to use kettlebells to improve strength and increase toning, “while transforming your body.” This course is three months long, with 15 different 50-minute exercises.
  • Total Cardio – Combining the techniques of three different DailyBurn trainers, this course will use cardiovascular exercises to help you lose weight and increase strength over 28 days.
  • Beautiful Belly Yoga – Targeted at expecting mothers, this program goes at your own pace over the course of 3 trimesters and helps you continue your yoga practice.
  • Recover – Using five, 30-minute workouts over the course of a week, this program uses Yoga to “open you up,” Myofascial Release to relieve tension, and Mobility to help restore movement.

Mind Your Connection

After signing up for DailyBurn’s free trial and testing out some of their content, we found that their videos looked crisp and clear; even when viewing them in full screen mode on a PC.

However, it’s important to keep in mind that you’ll probably need a fairly fast internet connection to stream the content without any lag, which means that viewing them over your carrier’s plan may eat up (no pun intended) a lot of data, and/or could lead to some frustrating viewing experiences when trying to workout when using anything other than a Wi-Fi connection.

In short, while DailyBurn’s content may be accessible from almost anywhere, your user experience may not be equally enjoyable in all locations.

You Need to Be Self-Motivated

It’s also important to keep in mind that, while some of DailyBurn’s fitness tools can provide you with a much needed motivational boost, for the most part, you’ll be on your own throughout the entirety of your program.

Because of this, if you tend to lack self-motivation when working out, the independent nature of DailyBurn may not be idea for achieving your fitness goals. In other words, DailyBurn may be able to show you the path to fitness, but it’s up to you to get off the couch and put in the effort.

It’s Not Just About Working Out

Speaking of which, achieving your fitness goals is often just as much (if not more) about proper nutrition than it is about the types of exercise you’re doing, so it’s good that DailyBurn’s programs address both. In other words, as long as you have the motivation to stick with it, DailyBurn’s well-rounded programs appear to address all of your needs.

Are Consumers Talking About DailyBurn? What’s the Buzz?

Since writing our original review, 70+ HighYa readers have expressed their opinions about DailyBurn, most of which seem to be positive.

With an average rating of 2.9 stars, some of the most common compliments appear to relate to the variety of workouts and programs available, low price for what you get, positive results from sticking with the programs, the ability to access content wherever you are, and excellent customer support.

On the other hand, some of the most common customer complaints appear to reference difficulty cancelling free trials without being charged, in addition to excessive emails (note: we didn’t receive too many emails after signing up for DailyBurn’s trial).

Outside of HighYa, DailyBurn appears to have an equally positive online customer reputation. The company isn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they did hold 27 closed complaints (as of 1/17/17), most of which appear to reference billing problems/cancelling trials or subscriptions.

DailyBurn Pricing & Refund Policy

When initially signing up for DailyBurn, you can opt for a free 30-day trial, which gives you full access to your recommended program, as well as to DailyBurn’s complete library of videos, articles, and nutritional information. When signing up for your trial, you’ll also have the ability to add 1-on-1 coaching guidance for an additional $15 per month, which can be declined if you’re not interested.

If you cancel your DailyBurn trial before the 30 days is up, the company claims you won’t be charged a penny. However, if you decide to stick with your program, you’ll be charged $12.95 per month. According to the company, your membership can be canceled at any time without further obligation.

DailyBurn recently added a Premium service as well, which gives customers access to a full library of all past 365 workouts and exclusive access to new features and content before anyone else. The price is $26.95/mo.

Important note: Keep in mind that membership fees may not be your only costs. Some programs may not require any additional equipment, while others may require weights and other devices that could increase your overall cost by $100 or more.

Also, your nutrition plan will include recommended supplements (which can be purchased directly through DailyBurn), although these can be purchased through third parties if you prefer. In fact, they may not be required at all if you choose.

With this said, DailyBurn does not offer refunds or credits for partial months. In other words, once your cancellation is processed, you’ll continue to have access to the site for the remainder of the month, after which your access will be revoked.

Breaking: DailyBurn Partners with Nautilus for New Video Series

On January 17th, 2017, Nautilus (manufacturer of popular fitness equipment, including the Bowflex MAX Trainer) announced their partnership with DailyBurn to “provide subscribers with exclusive, unprecedented access to Bowflex expert training advice, with new streaming workout videos for Bowflex Max Trainer cardio machine customers.”

In everyday terms, what does this mean for you?

After purchasing a MAX Trainer, you can sign up for a free 8-week trial to DailyBurn. Combined, Nautilus tells us that their equipment and DailyBurn’s videos can provide you with training plans and workout schedules you need to help keep you motivated.

Additionally, DailyBurn will provide access to an 8-week course hosted by Bowflex Fitness Advisors Tom Holland and Amy Dixon. This specially designed program for MAX Trainer owners is split into two phases:

  • Phase 1 – Even before your machine arrives, these bodyweight-focused strength and cardio exercises can help you get ready for MAX Trainer.
  • Phase 2 – Here, you’ll work up to MAX Trainer’s 14-minute programs via three mini phases that last two weeks each. Each week, you’ll learn a new workout and receive suggestions for supplemental workouts if you’re ready.

After your Bowflex trial ends, you’ll roll over to DailyBurn’s standard $14.95/mo membership.

Can DailyBurn Help You Achieve Your Fitness Goals?

Chopping to the Point: Given DailyBurn’s positive online reputation with customers, their more than 7 years in business, their wide variety of workout programs and videos (and the expert trainers who host them), as well as their complementary nutrition information and meal plans, it’s very likely that you’ll be able to find fitness success using their site.

However, keep in mind that you’ll need to be self-motivated in order to achieve this success. In addition, based on our research, you might want to cancel your trial a few days before the 30-day mark in order to avoid possibly being charged.

What’s your experience with DailyBurn? Help your fellow consumers be more informed by writing your review below!

See Also: Forget Diet Pills—Lose Weight by Changing Your Habits

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

74 Customer Reviews for DailyBurn

Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 22 4 stars: 15 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 30
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience so far

    • Pottsboro, TX,
    • Jan 27, 2017

    I'm still in my 30-day trial, but I plan on keeping it for a while. So far I love it!

    I got the plan than includes the 365 days of workouts. Right now I'm doing Inferno, and it's so tough but so good! The workouts are short and fit in great with my schedule. Also, they stream on my old iPad, which does not have the newest version of the app, so that's awesome. I plan to get the cord to stream them from my TV.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    A fine workout program

    • Highland Park, NJ,
    • Jan 5, 2017

    I have written a full review of this program on Amazon.com (if you are interested, you can look here: https://www.amazon.com/review/R2PXJUA94CJBSN).

    Suffice it to say, that DailyBurn has some nice workout programs at a very reasonable price, with some pluses and minuses.

    First of all, it is relatively inexpensive for the basic program at $60 per year. This nets you the "on-demand" library of 23 programs from beginner to intermediate, and access to DailyBurn's daily, live workout (available for 24 hours after it is posted every morning). You also have access to the DailyBurn Community (online forum) and their online newsletter, DailyBurn Life.

    HOWEVER, they now have a "premium membership" that more than doubles the price but adds the entire library of 365 daily workouts (all the workouts are previously recorded), a "Best of 365" section, and early access to new content. There is also an option for personal coaching, which will cost you another $150 per year. So when you sign up, you need to be careful about adding components, or the cost will definitely increase.

    There are some excellent programs included as well. Special kudos for Live to Fail, Black Fire, Inferno, Inferno HR, TBT, Yoga, Yoga Made Simple, and Pilates (Phase one and Phase two). These are stand alone programs that have higher production values than the original DailyBurn workouts, which were somewhat uneven, but these are really quite excellent. The older DailyBurn workouts have been reassembled into some anthology-type workouts with different instructors and placed in categories (Intelliburn, Core, Total Cardio). These are more inconsistent.

    I almost dropped my membership, as DailyBurn had not produced a new workout program in nearly two years because they have been concentrating on their daily 365 programs. They have just added some new programs, however, including Daily Burn Spartan, Bodyweight Burners, Fit in 10, and 15-minute Belly, Butt & Thighs. I haven't had a chance to try out the new workouts, but they look quite promising. The first two are intermediate programs, and the last two are beginner programs.

    I am the type of person that prefers a real program, one that is with a set of specific workouts, with specific goals, at a specific level. I would consider myself an intermediate to advanced exerciser, so many of the beginner programs really don't work well for me. Ditto on the 365 program, this has an appeal for those who want a live instructor (a nice perk) and a different workout every day. I tried these for a while, but they tended to be in the beginner to intermediate level and don't seem to follow a specific program.

    There is a lot to do here if you are first coming to DailyBurn. Certainly, if you are starting out, you could have even 3-4 years worth of existing programs to work through, depending on your focus. The mature programs are well thought out and produced quite well.

    DailyBurn used to have a nutrition program, but this seems to have gone away. Some of the older workouts have basic nutrition recommendations along with them, but the newer ones seem to have eliminated this. There is some nutrition advice on the DailyBurn Life site, but it is not given over in the form of a program. I guess they probably added the nutrition advice along with the coaching, for those who choose to pay for it.

    I have always enjoyed Beachbody workouts (I started working out with the original P90) and am now also a member of the Beachbody on demand online site as well.

    A few caveats: 1) DailyBurn programs tend to have up somewhere between 4-8 workouts per program, as opposed to Beachbody workouts, which generally have more like 8-12 workouts per program. This means that a typical Beachbody program lasts longer and has a lot more variety. 2) Beachbody programs have much more supporting literature. Each Beachbody program has a manual (can be downloaded) explaining the workouts and each has its own diet. 3) There is a wider variety of Beachbody workouts available on their site than you have on DailyBurn, with more within all categories, from beginner to advanced exercisers. 4) Beachbody workouts are generally better thought out, and better produced. That's not to say that the DailyBurn trainers less experienced or less motivational the the Beachbody instructors (Anja, Ben, Cody, etc are incredible instructors and are right up there with Beachbody's Tony Horton, Shaun T, Chalene Johnson, etc), but Beachbody is a bigger company with more resources and has been in the business longer. Their trainers have the latitude to make programs with more workouts and the money to pay for higher production values.

    That said, Beachbody on demand will cost more than twice as much as DailyBurn's basic program. If you are just starting out, DailyBurn may be more than enough, and will definitely last you a number of years. If they start producing a few new programs per year, DailyBurn will have even more value as time goes on.

    I think for the more advanced exerciser, DailyBurn will still have value, but might not keep you going for more than a couple of years. For the beginner, you have enough time to grow and use the service (as it stands) for 3-4 years. If you are a beginner to intermediate exerciser and you like a daily workout with different instructors every day (not specifically a workout program), DailyBurn will certainly be for you.

    I am still a member and I still recommend this program. As a more advanced exerciser, though, I am using the Beachbody site more often as there are more programs there now that fit my needs. DailyBurn, however, is still a great choice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great Workouts and Understanding Customer Service

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Nov 4, 2016

    I love that they continue to add on different workout programs. I first signed up for daily burn about 3 years ago. It definitely helps me get started on my weight loss journey. I ended up canceling after using the service for about 2 years because I was in a car wreck. I emailed their customer service and they were very understanding.

    I received my refund for that month within 5 days and I did not have any issues with them charging me again. I don't understand why people are saying that they are getting extra charges unless they choose to get all of the fancy add-ons.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love this program.

    I can access it anywhere! With 365, there's always a new workout to conquer. The trainers are excellent and I always feel like I've worked out hard. You get out of it what you put into it. I recommend this to anyone looking for an awesome workout plan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Misrepresented -- it is $62.00 per month.

    • Olympia,
    • Jul 27, 2016

    Joined with free trial after which it is advertised as 14.95 per month. Just talked to my bookkeeper -- I have been billed 62.00 per month. No notice. Also, as is normal with these dishonest companies, no customer service, you can only contact them via e-mail. A shame.

    Do not join unless you're ok with paying 62 per month for pre recorded routines with some live streams.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Major disappointment

    • Melrose, MA,
    • Jun 17, 2016

    I'm not going to deny that the new DailyBurn 365 feature pretty much guarantees that you won't be bored easily. But if you're like me, you need hard proof that the trainers and coaches are certified, and the site has zero bios. That left me forced to assume that nobody is certified and therefore has no idea what they're doing. A problem the staff refuses to fix. So unless you have a lot of faith in humanity, your money is better spent somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Durham, NC ,
    • Apr 30, 2016

    I have signed up for DailyBurn on 2 occasions. Both times after I canceled I continued to be charged. The first time I was charged $120 for a year membership that I never signed up for. The second time my account just continued to be billed $10 each month. I didn't catch it for 5 months! Each time this happens it takes 2-3 days to hear back from them because they don't have a phone line you can call. Horrible business model with everything online.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    This company has stolen our credit card number twice. We had to close one CC out because of their fraudulent charges. A month later they somehow got our new number and put another fraudulent charge on it. Beware of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Great workouts, terrible store

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 13, 2016

    I had no problem signing up and downgrading from the trainer upgrade when I realized I didn't have the time to use it, and I really enjoy the workouts. In fact, I did a great little pilates number this morning and I feel great!

    Unfortunately, the customer service is a joke. The only way to contact them is by email. And there is only ONE email address. So when an influx of valid complaints about their sketchy billing practices overwhelms them, which seems to be the case, there appears to be no one available to take care of my simple return request for an unused item purchased from the store. It's been five days and no response.

    Advice for new members: do not purchase items from the daily burn store, get them from Amazon instead, a professional retailer with a proper return policy.

    I have canceled my account in protest. Not looking forward to contacting them next month when they continue to take money out of my account!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Billing Ripoff

    After cancelling the subscription, I was billed for an additional year of service. When I attempted to contact billing the only way is by email. The note on the contact email says it is a 3-4 day turn around.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Best workouts I have ever done

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 2, 2016

    I have always been more of a "workout from home" person, because I enjoy the flexibility of working out whenever I can fit it in throughout my day. Of course, I have tried the "going to the gym" thing, and have probably taken every type of fitness class under the sun, but ultimately, working out in my home is for me. I have a library of workout DVDs (mostly Jillian Michaels), but was excited to try something new with DailyBurn about a year ago. I have absolutely loved DailyBurn, and am currently in the best shape I've been in years. The variety of workouts available, both in time required and intensity, is unmatched by anything I've seen (especially for the price). It's truly amazing how the DailyBurn workouts can really force you to work to your limits, even though no one is physically there to motivate you. Anja Garcia and her Inferno program is my absolute favorite, even though she completely kicks your butt! And as an added bonus, I'll tweet her every now and then, and she always responds. How is that for free coaching and motivation?

    I would (and have) recommend DailyBurn to anyone, and everyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 74

Write a review for DailyBurn!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review