Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

535 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 535 Reviews
5 Star:20% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:57%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Oct 6, 2019

Great process...vehicle, not so much.

By Shaun N., Memphis, TN, Verified Reviewer

Purchased a 2011 Jaguar XJL and was, for the most part, very pleased with the process (placing the order, the feedback, signage of paperwork, delivery, etc.). However, the 150-point inspection needs some serious work. Less than 300 miles (2 weeks) into driving the car, there was a huge puddle of coolant on my garage floor. I also noticed that one of the rear AC vents was not blowing. So I brought antifreeze and took the car to the dealership. Silver Rock did approve both repairs, which was a plus (no additional money out of my pocket - but did spend unnecessary time and fuel). The dealership also found that the engine belt was worn and that the cabin pollen filter was excessively dirty. I had the dealership replace them both at my personal expense ($409.35). All these issues should have been addressed during the 150-point inspection. In addition to these mechanical issues, there is overspray on my windshield and passenger side window. No idea why, since the Carfax says no accidents. There are also gray-colored arrows on the body of the car, maybe drawn on there to point out defects that needed attention. Two of the tire air pressure caps were missing (called Carvana about that and was told "they are relatively inexpensive, you can go by some and we will reimburse you". I didn't bother sending in the receipt, as I felt they should have sent some to me, instead of inconveniencing me. These issues should have been addressed during the detailing and washing of the vehicle, prior to delivery to me. I paid over the market value for this car, with the hopes Carvana had done exactly what they said they had done in the car's bio. I'm disappointed with the condition of the car and expected better.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 8, 2019

We would like to thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your Carvana experience. All of our vehicles go through our 150-point inspection to ensure our top quality standards. We want to apologize if there were some details missed during the inspection as we know this can be frustrating. Your feedback is a crucial part of our companies’ process improvement so we will be sure to pass it along to the appropriate parties. After reviewing your account, it does look like you worked with our inside team to have your concerns addressed. Thank you again for your honesty and feel free to contact us with any other questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2019

Carvana's customer service is really bad. I will not buy a car from Carvana.

By James J., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a 2018 Land Rover Velar. The car had many many nicks, dings, and scratches when it was delivered. These cosmetic imperfections were not showed nor indicated on their advertised website.

Also, the activity key (wrist band shape) that was supposed to come with the car (it was seen in the advertised photo) didn't come with it.

I explained these issues to the driver who delivered the car to me, and he promised me to contact the Carvana regarding them.

I got email from Carvana that offering only $100 for those sever cosmetic imperfections. I responded to cover more, but they refused.

Also, the message included the missing activity key, but I couldn't clearly understand what I need to do, so I replied for more detail. Since then, I didn't get any reply back from them even though I sent an email a few more times.

Finally, I called them today because 100 days of Carvana's warranty will expire soon, but they said that they cannot do anything about the activity key since 30 days were passed since the first email.

First of all, it is their fault not delivering the key with car, and also not responding to my reply email for detail. They are now accusing me of not acting in 30 days.

I will not buy any car from Carvana from now on. Their customer service is not satisfactory at all. They are avoiding their big and initial mistakes and laying the blame on the customer by a small mistake.

This will not happen if they deliver the car with everything it supposed to come with.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. You have been more than patient and we are genuinely sorry for all the challenges you have encountered since your delivery. Carvana aims to make the car buying process as easy and stress-free as possible. A 150 point inspection is conducted on every car to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a vehicle that does not meet this standard. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have worked with our inside team to have these issues resolved and we have provided the proper next steps. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2019

They'll take your money and run!

By Keely W., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

We initially thought Carvana was a great experience...Little did we know that when we actually had a problem with the vehicle we bought, Carvana would not stand behind their product. We called on Friday when we were still under warranty and were told to take the vehicle in on Monday. Our travel over the weekend made our mileage go over and now CARVANA/SILVERROCK will not cover the $855 expense due to a faulty electrical system. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Carvana has a focus on ensuring a smooth pre and post purchase process which is why we offer a complimentary 100 day/4189 mile limited warranty. We do see that you have in fact been in contact with our team in regards to this issue however do feel free to reach out should further concerns arise - we are open 7 days a week from 8am - 9pm EST.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

THIEVES

By Mo A., Columbia, MO, Verified Reviewer

The biggest thieves! Please read carefully!

This company doesn’t care about you, they will do anything in their power to steal from you. Facts: They will deliver the car to you, they will take the money from the bank account if you approved BUT the other side is that they will do anything to repossess the car from you! I have paid more than 60% of the car. Never missed a payment...and I woke up today and my car was gone because of none registration. I have sent the documents for them TWICE! And today they just took it away! FINAL repossession and no negotiation! Zero refunded, so basically I have lost more than $13k for those people. DON'T MAKE BUSINESS WITH THEM. I was so desperate to buy that car...and definitely didn’t consider such a thing! Believe it or not, it is the worst decision in my life.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback about your experience with us. One of the benefits of buying from Carvana is that we complete the registration on your behalf so that you don’t have to go to the DMV. All states have different requirements and needed items for registration, and in some states, like yours, proof of paid tax is required by the state to register a vehicle. After reviewing your account, it looks like we contacted you several times over multiple months for tax documents required by your state. As a result of us waiting for the tax documents, the inspections we completed on your vehicle expired, and we needed new inspections sent in as well. It looks like one of our specialists was able to provide you with contact information for our legal department. For any other questions or concerns, we would encourage you to contact them. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

Don’t buy from Carvana

By Dawnangela M., Manchester, NH, Verified Reviewer

Carvana seems like a great idea and business model. Indeed, the car we got is nice and I like it very much. However, it has been over two months since I "bought" my car and they still haven’t registered it. Took a month for delivery. Four reschedules.

The headaches and stress to get the car are not worth it. Plus, since they delivered a month late, and still haven’t registered my car 45 days after delivery, it has cost so much more than a dealer. I have a lovely car that cannot be driven because their third party vendor in my state never actually did anything to register the car. I contacted my state’s DMV with the VIN to find out and they told me. Carvana tried to blame me for the delay. They have 20 days to register in my state and as of 40+ days after the sale, NOTHING had been submitted for registration.

I feel like such a chump having been ripped off by these guys. Between the rentals, time off of work, and stress I have easily paid over a $1,000 more than I would have at a dealership.

RUN. Do not do business with Carvana.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience. We are genuinely sorry for all of the issues you have encountered throughout your purchase, including the delay on your delivery and registration. Carvana strives to make your car buying experience as easy and fun as we believe it should be, and it sounds like your experience has been anything but that. After reviewing your account, it does look like our inside team is working with you on the resolution. We sincerely apologize for any frustrations or miscommunications, but hope that we were able to bring some further understanding to your situation. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any further additional questions or concerns at (800) 333-4554.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

Don't buy. Worst experience with these guys. Cheaters.

By Vivek K., California, Verified Reviewer

Worst experience with them! Thoroughly disappointed! I ordered a vehicle and after making me do all the paperwork, and after making me wait for a week a person from Carvana calls and says this vehicle has a problem on the day of delivery. I thought this is a one-off issue and ordered another vehicle, after making me do all the paperwork again and making me wait for another week. On the day of delivery they sent the pictures of a car with heavy rust and asked me if you want it to be delivered. I was shocked. They didn't do the checking earlier which wasted three weeks of time and money (I was doing uber to work). I specifically requested them to check earlier given my first experience. There is something seriously wrong with these guys. I don't know what the hell is their 150-point inspection.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 8, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana strives to provide our customers with an easy, stress free online buying process. We sincerely apologize we fell short on this. We never want our customers to experience any delays. Additionally, Carvana has each vehicle go through our rigorous 150 point inspection. This is to ensure we are delivering cars that meet our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. We can assure you the proper teams have been notified of what transpired with your purchases. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2019

Stay as far away from this company as you can! Don't be fooled!

By Greg F., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I tried to purchase a 2016 BMW 428i convertible. Had everything set to go. The day before my pick up date they contacted me to tell me there was a mechanical issue with the car. How does a car that goes through a 150-point inspection just prior to being listed found to have a mechanical issue? Even better the following day, which would have been my intended pick up. I receive a call saying that the car is delayed due to shipping. Nothing is mentioned about the mechanical issue. When I press for details, the rep scrambles for lies and excuses. At this point, they have already lost me as a customer. However, I decide to play along. I ask for a rescheduled pick update and it is scheduled for the following weekend. Sure enough, the night before, I get a call telling me that the car has a mechanical issue and will not be able to leave the inspection center. At this point, I canceled the order.

This company is as shady as they come. They do not deliver on anything they promise! Don't be foolish like I was. I figured it wouldn't happen to me and I was wrong. You will be wrong too! I am so thankful that this experience turned out this way because I am certain that I saved myself years of regret and agony. All the signs are there. Junk cars, non-existent inspections, crappy repair work and tons of lies and excuses. Go to a dealership. While I agree it is a hassle to deal with a dealership, it will be how I continue to conduct my car buying ion the future.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly sorry for the multiple delays you received. Carvana takes great pride in providing customers with the ideal car-buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned cars. We do our best to give accurate time frames, though we understand that unexpected issues can arise. Additionally, a 150 point inspection is conducted on every vehicle we sell to ensure that it meets our high standards. As Carvana continues to grow, we want to improve every aspect of our purchasing process to eliminate any possible shortfalls that could occur. We would love the opportunity to rectify the situation. Please contact us at your soonest convenience.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2019

False advertising, buyer beware

By Annemarie D., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Searched for weeks for AWD vehicles only and decided on a Genesis. Purchased one through Carvana, their ad specifically stated AWD and New Tires. All went smoothly until the day of delivery when they said they heard a noise when they loaded it on the truck which they would take care of but it would be another week. Received vehicle and it looked and worked great. Had it several weeks before it rained and it seemed like tires slipped from a dead stop on acceleration. Thought it was a fluke but it happened every time the pavement was wet. Took the car into the dealer after two months and 3K miles for an oil change and tire check. The tech told me the tires on the front were new and a different tire on back with half the tread depth. I asked if the different tires would cause the slipping. They asked if I had AWD or RWD, I said AWD. The Tech looked at it again and said you have RWD! Called Carvana that Friday and Serena said she would get back to me. She never did. Called them again the following Wed. Mary said it was past the seven days so all they could do was buy back my car and sell me another one. But their offer was $5K less than I paid for it. And they wanted a larger down payment than the first car. Together Mary and I looked at other Genesis and found two more that had ads of AWD but the sticker said RWD. I am heading into winter in WI with a useless vehicle and they could care less!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 4, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that there was confusion in regards to your purchase and for the inconvenience this caused. We are truly sorry for this. It is imperative that the information listed on our website is completely accurate to ensure that the buying process is seamless and easy. Carvana prides itself on having a transparent car buying experience. As we continue to grow, we strive to improve every aspect of this experience. We can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously and have passed this along to the proper teams. After reviewing your account, it does look like you were able to work with our inside team to come to a resolution. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 1, 2019

Dishonest company

By Carl M., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

Bait and switch.

I purchased a car from them online and photos don't show all the damages. I get a call that they damaged the car in transport, when I get there to pick it up they say "don't worry, I will take photos and they will fix it" as well as additional damage. The problem is, they don't fix it. I then decided to swap for another car but a day later after signing contracts they call and say they need more money down, so I said just leave it alone, I will keep the original car until I find one that fits with down payment, in the meantime they had to rebuild the original car and it ended up putting me out of the 7-day return period. Very dishonest and deceptive car dealer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 4, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Carvana's mission is to provide customers with a streamlined car buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We are truly sorry for the cosmetic issues you have experienced. A 150-point inspection is conducted on every car to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have worked with the inside team to have this resolved. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 1, 2019

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!

By Steve A., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

One of the biggest disappointments of my 57 years on the planet. Put a purchase on a car they say is coming soon, takes 3 weeks to come soon and this is for a CASH buyer. They say they sell only non-accident cars that they put through a 150-point inspection.

Well, they LIE and must have very incompetent people doing the inspections. I paid an outside source to check the car, something I advise you do on any used car. The things they found amazed me for a car they supposedly check before selling. Rear windshield wiper not working, breaks in bad need of repair, and WORST OF ALL, the driver side of the car has been REPAINTED. I was told no way they did not notice this if they inspected the car.

Read their reviews on their website closely, all the 5 stars are people that SOLD cars to them. Read the reviews of people like me and they are not that good. I've already told them to pick up the car. Interesting thing is so far I don't see how I can leave a review on their website. Buyer beware of Carvana!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 3, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Carvana strives to provide customers with an excellent car buying process coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We are truly sorry for the delay in your delivery and for the issues you experienced with your car. A 150-point inspection is conducted on every vehicle to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. During this inspection, we want to take the necessary time to review every aspect of the car and address any areas of concern. We can assure you the proper teams have been notified of what transpired with your purchase to hopefully prevent this from occurring again. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2019

Stay away from Carvana!

By David W., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I cannot begin to describe how horrible this company has been, but I will give it a try none the less. I bought a vehicle (2013 WRX with 25k miles one it) back in March of this year. I got a call on the delivery date informing me that there had been a delay in shipping, and that the vehicle would be a week late, and no explanation was given. After a week, about 2 hours before the vehicle was suppose to be delivered, I got another call informing me that they had damaged the vehicle, and had to replace the front bumper. I was assured that the damage to the vehicle would not show up on a Carfax, and that the repair work was guaranteed, in addition, they would also take $250 off the sticker price. The fact that only $250 was offered after they damaged the vehicle I was buying was a joke in the first place. Well that $250 never came off the sticker price. When I asked about it later, I was told that they couldn't do the change to the sticker price because I had already signed a contract, and it would be too much work to rewrite the contract, so they offer to just send a $250 check. I attempted to explain that the difference between $250 off the sticker price was considerably more than just a $250 check when you take interest paid on the car into consideration. I was told, there is nothing they can do except send the check. I said fine, and accepted the check. The bumper that was also "replaced" started so slip, creating a large gap between the corner panel, and the bumper flaps any time I get on the highway. They said they would submit the repair, and a shop would reach out to me...

Fast forward to today. I still have never seen a check, nor have I heard from a shop. So when I called today, I was told, "Sorry, they never submitted the check for approval, but we will do it now, and the repair center said there are many reasons why the bumper could be loose, so they will not accept, or fix the bumper."

In summary, Carvana has dropped the ball in every step throughout this process, and on every single occasion, I, the customer, has been on the short end of the stick with no regard whatsoever on their behalf. If I had the option to void the loan, and just give the car back I would, but seeing as how Carvana seems to genuinely not care, I have resorted to complaining about every last website that will listen. BEWARE...STAY AWAY...YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are truly sorry for the issues you are experiencing and for the delay in your delivery. Carvana takes great pride in selling high-quality vehicles. We do conduct a 150 inspection on every car to ensure that it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. Additionally, we want to assure customers that the time frames we provide are accurate, though we understand at times we will fall short. As Carvana continues to grow, we want to improve every aspect of the customer car buying process. We take your feedback very seriously and have notified the proper teams of your experience. After reviewing your account, it does look like you are working with our inside team on your concerns. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 133-143 of 535

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.