Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

539 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 539 Reviews
5 Star:19% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:58%
27% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Oct 10, 2019

Shocked and IMPRESSED

By Diamante C., New Britain, CT, Verified Reviewer

Not only was the process easy and quick, my delivery was on time and we had no issues. Besides having to resubmit a few documents for verification purposes everything went smoothly. I purchased the vehicle and a week later had it at my doorstep. Very pleased.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2019

Worst customer care, worst business model

By Gnanakumar I., Ellicott City, MD, Verified Reviewer

What else worst could happen on a purchase. Booked a vehicle, sent the check through bank, bought insurance coverage, got confirmation of the order and scheduled a delivery/pickup, but when we went to get the vehicle they could not find the vehicle and they are saying someone else bought the same vehicle two days before. Customer care members simply saying we will help you to find the next car. Not everyone could be like Amazon when it comes to Online Purchase. I waited almost four days and took my entire family for the vehicle pickup and this is highly disappointing. What is more disappointing/irritating is the answers by the customer care people. No worries from their side. Simple and cool to say "sorry we will find the next car."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 14, 2019

Thank you so much for the time taken to provide us with this review of your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you and your family experienced by going to our vending machine just to find out your order was not in place.

Anytime an edit of an order is initiated by our customers, a reschedule and replacement of order is needed to keep the purchase in place. When the order was not replaced the vehicle became unlocked. We would love to help you locate another car in our inventory and provide you the experience we pride ourselves on offering! Please give our advocate team a call and we will be sure to find you and your family a good fit.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to turning this experience around.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2019

Unresponsive

By Mary H., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

Bought GMC Denali 2016 with 60k miles. Drove 2 weeks - into shop for AC and transmission. Also found a cracked head. Insurance slow and difficult but approved after I authorized engine tear down and paid $400 for a fluid flush (didn't fix it). In shop 1 and 1/2 months now - can't get parts. Have tried for 3 weeks to get a call back from Carvana - Paton then Carlie and now this week Juan. All promised a call back with an answer to my return/upgrade request. Total blow off when all I want is a truck to drive - willing to pay for it?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your Carvana experience with us. We apologize that you are experiencing issues with your GMC Denali. We are glad to see that you are been in contact with one of our Specialists who is working with you towards a resolution. Thank you again for your feedback as this will allow us the opportunity to continue to improve.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2019

Disappointed

By Linda M., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

Unfortunately, the car we received is not great.

1. Scratches on the doors ($250).

2. Battery died after 6 months ($150).

3. Air conditioner does not work properly ($300).

All of these things made for a very bad shopping experience. I have tried to contact Carvana but with no luck. I would like compensation for all the problems the car has already had. I would think these things would be covered under the warranty yet no one has gotten back to me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 9, 2019

We are disappointed to hear that your vehicle arrived with cosmetic imperfections and you experienced issues with the battery and the air conditioning. Your post-sale experience has not been ideal and your feedback is very important to us so that we can continue to improve our processes. We are having trouble locating your account to ensure your concerns have been addressed. If you have not already, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 to review your concerns further.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2019

Great process...vehicle, not so much.

By Shaun N., Memphis, TN, Verified Reviewer

Purchased a 2011 Jaguar XJL and was, for the most part, very pleased with the process (placing the order, the feedback, signage of paperwork, delivery, etc.). However, the 150-point inspection needs some serious work. Less than 300 miles (2 weeks) into driving the car, there was a huge puddle of coolant on my garage floor. I also noticed that one of the rear AC vents was not blowing. So I brought antifreeze and took the car to the dealership. Silver Rock did approve both repairs, which was a plus (no additional money out of my pocket - but did spend unnecessary time and fuel). The dealership also found that the engine belt was worn and that the cabin pollen filter was excessively dirty. I had the dealership replace them both at my personal expense ($409.35). All these issues should have been addressed during the 150-point inspection. In addition to these mechanical issues, there is overspray on my windshield and passenger side window. No idea why, since the Carfax says no accidents. There are also gray-colored arrows on the body of the car, maybe drawn on there to point out defects that needed attention. Two of the tire air pressure caps were missing (called Carvana about that and was told "they are relatively inexpensive, you can go by some and we will reimburse you". I didn't bother sending in the receipt, as I felt they should have sent some to me, instead of inconveniencing me. These issues should have been addressed during the detailing and washing of the vehicle, prior to delivery to me. I paid over the market value for this car, with the hopes Carvana had done exactly what they said they had done in the car's bio. I'm disappointed with the condition of the car and expected better.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 8, 2019

We would like to thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your Carvana experience. All of our vehicles go through our 150-point inspection to ensure our top quality standards. We want to apologize if there were some details missed during the inspection as we know this can be frustrating. Your feedback is a crucial part of our companies’ process improvement so we will be sure to pass it along to the appropriate parties. After reviewing your account, it does look like you worked with our inside team to have your concerns addressed. Thank you again for your honesty and feel free to contact us with any other questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2019

Carvana's customer service is really bad. I will not buy a car from Carvana.

By James J., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a 2018 Land Rover Velar. The car had many many nicks, dings, and scratches when it was delivered. These cosmetic imperfections were not showed nor indicated on their advertised website.

Also, the activity key (wrist band shape) that was supposed to come with the car (it was seen in the advertised photo) didn't come with it.

I explained these issues to the driver who delivered the car to me, and he promised me to contact the Carvana regarding them.

I got email from Carvana that offering only $100 for those sever cosmetic imperfections. I responded to cover more, but they refused.

Also, the message included the missing activity key, but I couldn't clearly understand what I need to do, so I replied for more detail. Since then, I didn't get any reply back from them even though I sent an email a few more times.

Finally, I called them today because 100 days of Carvana's warranty will expire soon, but they said that they cannot do anything about the activity key since 30 days were passed since the first email.

First of all, it is their fault not delivering the key with car, and also not responding to my reply email for detail. They are now accusing me of not acting in 30 days.

I will not buy any car from Carvana from now on. Their customer service is not satisfactory at all. They are avoiding their big and initial mistakes and laying the blame on the customer by a small mistake.

This will not happen if they deliver the car with everything it supposed to come with.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. You have been more than patient and we are genuinely sorry for all the challenges you have encountered since your delivery. Carvana aims to make the car buying process as easy and stress-free as possible. A 150 point inspection is conducted on every car to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a vehicle that does not meet this standard. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have worked with our inside team to have these issues resolved and we have provided the proper next steps. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2019

They'll take your money and run!

By Keely W., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

We initially thought Carvana was a great experience...Little did we know that when we actually had a problem with the vehicle we bought, Carvana would not stand behind their product. We called on Friday when we were still under warranty and were told to take the vehicle in on Monday. Our travel over the weekend made our mileage go over and now CARVANA/SILVERROCK will not cover the $855 expense due to a faulty electrical system. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Carvana has a focus on ensuring a smooth pre and post purchase process which is why we offer a complimentary 100 day/4189 mile limited warranty. We do see that you have in fact been in contact with our team in regards to this issue however do feel free to reach out should further concerns arise - we are open 7 days a week from 8am - 9pm EST.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

THIEVES

By Mo A., Columbia, MO, Verified Reviewer

The biggest thieves! Please read carefully!

This company doesn’t care about you, they will do anything in their power to steal from you. Facts: They will deliver the car to you, they will take the money from the bank account if you approved BUT the other side is that they will do anything to repossess the car from you! I have paid more than 60% of the car. Never missed a payment...and I woke up today and my car was gone because of none registration. I have sent the documents for them TWICE! And today they just took it away! FINAL repossession and no negotiation! Zero refunded, so basically I have lost more than $13k for those people. DON'T MAKE BUSINESS WITH THEM. I was so desperate to buy that car...and definitely didn’t consider such a thing! Believe it or not, it is the worst decision in my life.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback about your experience with us. One of the benefits of buying from Carvana is that we complete the registration on your behalf so that you don’t have to go to the DMV. All states have different requirements and needed items for registration, and in some states, like yours, proof of paid tax is required by the state to register a vehicle. After reviewing your account, it looks like we contacted you several times over multiple months for tax documents required by your state. As a result of us waiting for the tax documents, the inspections we completed on your vehicle expired, and we needed new inspections sent in as well. It looks like one of our specialists was able to provide you with contact information for our legal department. For any other questions or concerns, we would encourage you to contact them. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

Don’t buy from Carvana

By Dawnangela M., Manchester, NH, Verified Reviewer

Carvana seems like a great idea and business model. Indeed, the car we got is nice and I like it very much. However, it has been over two months since I "bought" my car and they still haven’t registered it. Took a month for delivery. Four reschedules.

The headaches and stress to get the car are not worth it. Plus, since they delivered a month late, and still haven’t registered my car 45 days after delivery, it has cost so much more than a dealer. I have a lovely car that cannot be driven because their third party vendor in my state never actually did anything to register the car. I contacted my state’s DMV with the VIN to find out and they told me. Carvana tried to blame me for the delay. They have 20 days to register in my state and as of 40+ days after the sale, NOTHING had been submitted for registration.

I feel like such a chump having been ripped off by these guys. Between the rentals, time off of work, and stress I have easily paid over a $1,000 more than I would have at a dealership.

RUN. Do not do business with Carvana.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience. We are genuinely sorry for all of the issues you have encountered throughout your purchase, including the delay on your delivery and registration. Carvana strives to make your car buying experience as easy and fun as we believe it should be, and it sounds like your experience has been anything but that. After reviewing your account, it does look like our inside team is working with you on the resolution. We sincerely apologize for any frustrations or miscommunications, but hope that we were able to bring some further understanding to your situation. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any further additional questions or concerns at (800) 333-4554.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

Don't buy. Worst experience with these guys. Cheaters.

By Vivek K., California, Verified Reviewer

Worst experience with them! Thoroughly disappointed! I ordered a vehicle and after making me do all the paperwork, and after making me wait for a week a person from Carvana calls and says this vehicle has a problem on the day of delivery. I thought this is a one-off issue and ordered another vehicle, after making me do all the paperwork again and making me wait for another week. On the day of delivery they sent the pictures of a car with heavy rust and asked me if you want it to be delivered. I was shocked. They didn't do the checking earlier which wasted three weeks of time and money (I was doing uber to work). I specifically requested them to check earlier given my first experience. There is something seriously wrong with these guys. I don't know what the hell is their 150-point inspection.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 8, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana strives to provide our customers with an easy, stress free online buying process. We sincerely apologize we fell short on this. We never want our customers to experience any delays. Additionally, Carvana has each vehicle go through our rigorous 150 point inspection. This is to ensure we are delivering cars that meet our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. We can assure you the proper teams have been notified of what transpired with your purchases. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2019

Stay as far away from this company as you can! Don't be fooled!

By Greg F., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I tried to purchase a 2016 BMW 428i convertible. Had everything set to go. The day before my pick up date they contacted me to tell me there was a mechanical issue with the car. How does a car that goes through a 150-point inspection just prior to being listed found to have a mechanical issue? Even better the following day, which would have been my intended pick up. I receive a call saying that the car is delayed due to shipping. Nothing is mentioned about the mechanical issue. When I press for details, the rep scrambles for lies and excuses. At this point, they have already lost me as a customer. However, I decide to play along. I ask for a rescheduled pick update and it is scheduled for the following weekend. Sure enough, the night before, I get a call telling me that the car has a mechanical issue and will not be able to leave the inspection center. At this point, I canceled the order.

This company is as shady as they come. They do not deliver on anything they promise! Don't be foolish like I was. I figured it wouldn't happen to me and I was wrong. You will be wrong too! I am so thankful that this experience turned out this way because I am certain that I saved myself years of regret and agony. All the signs are there. Junk cars, non-existent inspections, crappy repair work and tons of lies and excuses. Go to a dealership. While I agree it is a hassle to deal with a dealership, it will be how I continue to conduct my car buying ion the future.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly sorry for the multiple delays you received. Carvana takes great pride in providing customers with the ideal car-buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned cars. We do our best to give accurate time frames, though we understand that unexpected issues can arise. Additionally, a 150 point inspection is conducted on every vehicle we sell to ensure that it meets our high standards. As Carvana continues to grow, we want to improve every aspect of our purchasing process to eliminate any possible shortfalls that could occur. We would love the opportunity to rectify the situation. Please contact us at your soonest convenience.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 133-143 of 539

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.