About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).


Read 429 Flaviar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 329 4 star: 15 3 star: 5 2 star: 15 1 star:  65
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 429
Sort reviews by:

  • Great club

    • Manchester, CT,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never wanted to join, waited and waited, finally did, and now love it, well worth the cost for what you get. As long as the price stays close I will continue to be a member.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great Whisky

    • London, England,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend Flaviar for their selection of whisky and customer service. It takes a little time for the delivery but it is well worth it. The Tasting Boxes are beautifully presented and are great fun.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great experience

    • Wisconsin,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a coupon code to try Flaviar for a discounted rate and thought, what the heck. The cost paid goes toward a bottle of your choice. The tasting box, we could pick ourselves, but it took several weeks for it to arrive, which was a little bit frustrating. At this point, I really enjoyed the experience of receiving a tasting box, but will only continue if the pricing isn't too high going forward. The info, the choices, and the theme are all very neat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not join

    • Worcester, MA,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst experience I have had with a company. One our order didn’t ship, then we receive an item we didn’t order and the invoice was for someone else. Now another person has our order and somehow found our information and has been contacting me and my family to get his bottle. And now there is no response from Flaviar. Now this random person has my phone number and address. This is a huge breach of privacy. This is pathetic and a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 22, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hey Courtney,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction.

      We are sincerely sorry that your order got switched with another and that the involved person reached out to you personally. This should have never happened and we'll make sure to instruct our vendors to pack orders more carefully.

      If you need help with anything else let us know, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com

      Wish you all the best!


  • Top shelf outfit!

    • Canaan, ME,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m so glad to have joined Flaviar! Being relatively new to spirits overall, things like reviews, product details and especially the tasting boxes, have allowed me to make informed decisions when making purchases.

    The customer service has been second to none, regardless of who I am dealing with (though Valerie has been exceptional as I’ve dealt with her primarily!). I’ve already referred one friend (and they have an awesome referral program to boot) and look forward to sending more Flaviar’s way!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Spiritual awakening

    • Denver, CO,
    • Sep 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over the past year, I have sampled 24 spirits via Flaviar's sample packs (only 1 of which I was not fond of), had the opportunity to attend a members-only meeting in a Denver speakeasy, had the opportunity to attend a private blending and bottling experience at Breckenridge Distillery, and have purchased a bottle each of an Irish Whiskey, Scotch Whisky, and Irish Gin for under $50 for all three combined. Needless to say, this past year has been a "spiritual" awakening that still seems too good to be true, and it keeps getting better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Choice of merchant!

    • Oak Island, NC,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quick delivery and fabulous prices are what sets Flaviar apart from other merchants. A great selection of the most wanted spirits you will find anywhere. My choice for my bourbon taste.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Second time was a charm.

    • Iowa,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My current membership is not my first, as I had belonged for more than a year before leaving for a while. The second time around there was more financial incentive to revisit a membership. Currently, I'm satisfied with my memberships benefits for what I spend, as there a plethora of available products that I simply cannot always find (even online). Flaviar is the first place I look for products, or information about products (as not all items are stocked at all times), but this is part of the curating process at Flaviar. It's much more than an online liquor distributor, they are knowledgeable and share this expertise with their customers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great tasting samples and presentation

    • Hoofddorp, Netherlands,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined Flaviar just a month ago, and am very satisfied with the whole setup from the different kinds of drinks.

    It's not only about tasting, but there is a lot more, like good information and layout.

    Especially the tasting card with their different zones for flavors, very clear.

    Didn't expect that my order from the States came within 5 days to the Netherlands. Chapeau!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Read about what you can taste.

    • Monroe, WI,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    By joining, I was given a chance to learn the difference of whisky to whiskey. How I should properly taste the liquor I am enjoying. Exclusive offers, exclusive liquor, brilliant for taste buds and a great way to expand my search for better liquor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Skeptic

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was a skeptic. I got a bottle for joining, and then another for referring a friend, and then another for referring another friend. I read the description of a few libations and decided to try a few (in my tasting box). Also tried a Spiced Rum (not my normal drink) and was completely surprised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 429

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review