About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

376 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 301 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 13 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 376
Sort reviews by:

  • Spirit guides

    • Walton-le-Dale, Preston, England,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start out by saying that since joining Flaviar I’ve become exposed to spirits that I’m sure I would never have discovered on my own. Their descriptions, tasting packages, and customer reviews are invaluable resources.

    I’m definitely enjoying my membership and would highly recommend this club for anyone intersected in broadening their "spiritual" experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great taste

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved the scotches I got! I have enjoyed them immensely. I recommend this site to anyone who is serious about their liquor. I think you can sometimes find lower prices locally, but the variety is unmatched.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Find another club

    • Germantown, WI,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be advised that they hide the fact that you only get a box every three months. Beyond that, I received notification that my first box had shipped, then that it had not. All other correspondence is being ignored. I am currently trying to cancel, but receive a message that says I will not be refunded for the box that has not shipped. Terrible business practices. Avoid this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A must for people who enjoy good booze

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easily my best investment of 2018. The membership price has already paid for itself between free shipping and the freebies from the club. As long as Flaviar stays the course, I expect to be a member for years to come. Flaviar has the best selection and most thorough reviews of all the bottles they carry. I have found so many good bottles that have become staples in my home bar that I never would have even tried otherwise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Real treats

    • Rhode Island,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As the object of the advertising hordes, one can get very cynical about hype. One of the "bubbles that rises to the top" for me has been Flaviar. Their products, especially the primary introductions of new releases, have been as advertised, excellent iterations of their class.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Holiday cheers

    • Georgia,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product selection is wide and of excellent quality, and pricing is always excellent and once selected, delivery is quick. Packaging is excellent too as it's well protected and none of my deliveries have arrived damaged in any way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Quick and priced right

    • New York,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Flaviar because they have my favorite tequila at just over half the price that I can purchase it locally. When the products arrived at my doorstep just 36 hours after placing the order, I was absolutely sold on the company. Their prices and incredibly quick service have made me a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Disappointed

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After much research, I excitedly purchased a membership for my husband and from all the reviews, the offer, and the price I thought this would be awesome! I received all the "welcome to the family" information along with the info card with its secret code and password, just to have my husband attempt to claim his membership/gift and not be able to. After inquiry, I was just now today told this is not offered in Texas. Poor quality control, poor attention to detail that this was not caught in process and/or PRIOR TO Christmas, and that money was taken knowing they could not provide the product. Leaves a sour taste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Once again, great experience

    • Fitchburg, WI,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love purchasing spirits on Flaviar's online web page. Firstly, the selection of Single Malts is fantastic, the web page is easy to navigate and Flaviar ships product very quickly. This is my fifth purchase from Flaviar and I will definitely come back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I hate Flaviar

    • Illinois,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Seventeen days after my order, I still haven't heard from Flaviar. I called the 415 number and it says to contact them via email. They don't answer emails. They have my money and I STILL haven't heard from them. They did write back one time to say that the problem is that I have the wrong tracking number. I have the one they gave me. They said they would get the right tracking number. Never happened. I just want my order or the money back. I tried to cancel the order, no reply from Flaviar. So, I hate this company. What a joke. Buying spirits is supposed to be fun, but not with these clowns. Two orders...neither ever shipped. Run from these guys! I rated one because zero wasn't an option...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ok at best

    • Casper, WY,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I liked Flaviar at first, and my problem isn't with the club aspect, it's with their full bottle delivery. Second time now I have waited for orders too long. I ordered four bottles on the 14th of December and have only yet received one. It's the 28th today and I finally got tracking update that I will receive them the 2nd of January, so not only did I not receive them by Christmas, I will not receive them for New Year’s Eve. Weather hasn't been an issue either as it's been unseasonably warm in Wyoming this winter, 14 days to even start to fulfill an order isn't acceptable, and 19 to receive it is worse. As a result, I canceled my membership - what good is free shipping if it never ships.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 376

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review