About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 413 Flaviar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 317 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 14 1 star:  63
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 413
Sort reviews by:

  • Selection

    • Cinnaminson, NJ,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had fun searching the site and seeing all the different types of spirits, found a good selection of scotch, bourbon and other spirits to choose from at great prices, my order was delivered quickly with no issues, can't wait to place my next order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Horrible service

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this as a gift from my wife. I was very excited. I went online right after I received the gift on my birthday in February. I was supposed to be sent the initial tasting box when I signed up. A few days later I ordered 2 bottles of bourbon. I waited for 6 weeks and had still not received my tasting box nor the bottles I received. I contacted the company about both orders and received the bottles I ordered but not my tasting box in about a week. The bottles were received on 4/9/19 and ordered on 2/17/19. The tasting box was ordered on 2/16/19 and a FedEx shipping label (FedEx number 478231884556) was created on 2/27/2019 and I have still not received this as of 6/25/2019. I am not surprisingly unsatisfied and would strongly discourage anyone from using this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 16, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Dear Robert,

      This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

      Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. Right around the time you joined, though, we’ve experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking.

      We see your message in our help desk that one of our agents responded to but you never got back to them. We'll send you another message straight away so please be on a lookout.

      Thank you for your patience and understanding.


  • Breton Islay

    • Windsor, England,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    KORNOG is the most satisfying Peated MALT outwith Scotland that I have ever had the pleasure of opening a bottle.

    This French or Breton Distiller takes every detail to create a superb whisky - I look forward to Flaviar having some of his other whisky to try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Don't miss out

    • Raymore, MO,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just have to say if you don't have Flaviar I don't know what the heck is wrong with you. This is my first whiskey club and I should smack myself for not joining sooner. I only buy whiskeys or whatever that I never heard of or has cool looking bottles. If you're looking at this post I will tell you go ahead and join, you would not regret it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • No shipping

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't get customer service to help me. I live in a state (North Carolina) that is apparently impossible to send liquor, but Flaviar doesn't warn you before they take your membership. In 6 months I haven't received a single order, but they have taken my money. They like to "respond" on Twitter, Facebook, etc. to publicly tell me they will help me, but I cannot get a response directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 9, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hey Christina,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction. The lost tasting box was replaced with a completely new one which has already reached you.

      If you need help with anything else, we’re easy to reach at hello@flaviar.com

      Cheers!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This company could be a scam

    • Washington,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined the club 30 days ago. I have placed 2 orders with Flaviar at that time. I have not received either order orders. I have sent 4-5 emails asking for help and to talk to someone regarding my orders. I never get a call back, just a standard stock apology email. No one will help you if you have a problem. Based on my experience, this company is a scam. I will soon have to escalate this to a higher level. Don't make the same mistake I did by joining this club. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 9, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hey Robert,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction. Both of the orders have now shipped and been delivered to your address.

      If you need help with anything else, we’re easy to reach at hello@flaviar.com

      Take care!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists

    • California,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a typical scam. Ordered my membership on June 6th and still has not received my 1st quarterly order. In response to my multiple emails, I am only getting "We are sorry, will check with our vendors."

    Be very careful not to sign-up with them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 9, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hey George,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction. The stock issues were overcome and your order shipped only a few days later than promised.

      If you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction let us know, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com

      Wish you all the best!


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Travel the Liquor World

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this club. They make it easy to explore different styles of whisky, rum, gin, tequila, really whatever spirits you are into, and they have great limited release stuff as well. Well worth the price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent service

    • Indiana,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service is excellent for ordering online along with the selection. My husband enjoys specific brands and this site has several of the brands he enjoys. We are kept up to date on every aspect of the order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great value and rare spirits delivered right to my house!

    • Waterville, ME,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience has been outstanding. I would highly recommend (and have) this service to anyone that appreciates good spirits and trying new spirits.

    Flaviar is a great way to try new spirits without spending money on a bottle, just to find out you don't like it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Why Do I Need a Membership for This?

    • Gretna, Louisiana,
    • May 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this as a gift so I'm not actually out any money. The gifter assumed, like many, that I would be receiving "monthly" tastings to sample and discover new spirits. That is not at all what this is. I'm still not sure what Flaviar is.

    You receive a tasting box every 90 days, NOT monthly. So if you purchase a 6 month subscription for $120, you will receive 2 tasting boxes throughout your subscription containing 3 vials with about a jigger each. They also ship it through random companies and it takes about 5 weeks to receive your boxes AFTER it ships.

    Also, AFTER it ships you receive a note stating that someone over 21 needs to sign for the package since it's alcohol. After scrambling to have it rerouted to my office since the random delivery service "doesn't deliver on the weekends" I found my tasting box by my front door at my home on a Saturday. They left it without anyone signing for it.

    The spirits were good but one of my local stores, Martin's Wine Cellar (free plug) has all three at comparable or cheaper prices. I can get it same day instead of waiting about a month for a random delivery person to leave it on my doorstep. Now after dropping $120 on a six month membership, you can purchase additional tasting boxes for around $40 each that contain about 3 jiggers of spirits.

    They also will pull totally unheard of bottles from their "vault" that you can purchase for a limited time. Purchase a bottle of something I've never heard of? I can go to Martin's Wine Cellar (2nd free plug) and do the same thing for free!!! I thought Flaviar would be a great way to experience and introduce myself to new spirits but really it's just a money pit.

    Save your money and shop local. Go to your local spirit store and ask what they recommend and ask if you can sample it. Many stores have tastings all the time. Even World Market does spirit tastings FOR FREE. You can end up drinking more spirits there than come in your tasting boxes.

    I would not recommend Flaviar to anyone. If you are really interested in sampling new spirits, get a group together and everyone bring a new bottle every month. It will cost you less and can still experience new spirits and have a great time doing it. Cheers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 9, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hi Dustin,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      Speakeasy Club is a membership experience, not a monthly subscription service, and we do our best to advertise accordingly. We understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer and I’m terribly sorry that the membership didn’t work out. There are numerous other benefits save for the tasting boxes but it looks like this Club really isn't well fit for you.

      Allow us to provide some insight on long shipping times and delivery customization. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking.

      Rest assured that we are working around the clock to get this solved as soon as possible. If you’d like us to help you use the membership to the fullest or if you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction let us know, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com.

      Take care!


Showing 1-11 of 413

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review