Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Flaviar

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Flaviar

Overall Rating

4.3

545 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Flaviar offers a quarterly subscription program for rare and premium liquors from around the world and lets you sample a variety of flavors without committing to a full bottle. Overwhelmingly positive customer reviews indicate this subscription company really delivers.

Pros

  • Extensive selection
  • Occasionally offers better pricing for bottles than other suppliers
  • Excellent customer reviews
  • An easy subscription cancellation process

Cons

  • Relatively expensive for the amount of alcohol you receive
  • Some subscribers had shipping problems
  • Not available in many US states
  • You don’t have the option for complete customization with tasting boxes

Flaviar Review

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Jun 18, 2020

Flaviar is a premium tasting club for spirit enthusiasts. This service makes it possible to receive rare bourbons, gins, whiskeys, and more right at home for an educational, entertaining drinking experience.

You can sign up for quarterly deliveries of samples of specialty liquors or purchase your favorite types by the bottle. The brand also offers a range of accessories and merchandise related to craft alcohol to help you better embrace your hobby.

Does the company succeed in giving you access to premium liquors at acceptable pricing? Our analysis will help you decide if Flaviar’s club is worth joining.

How Does the Club Work?

Flaviar claims to curate a selection of more than 20,000 spirits, including whiskey, bourbon, brandy, gin, rum, absinthe, cognac, and more from across the planet.

The company’s goal is to make premium alcohol accessible to more people, no matter what’s in stock at your local liquor store.

All Flaviar liquors are guaranteed to be authentic, and the company strives to package every sample in ways that ensure the drinks will be the same quality and taste as full-size bottles.

Subscription

Besides receiving new liquors quarterly with your subscription, you will also gain entry to the greater Flaviar community. This includes invites to members-only events and access to community features like a Digital Home Bar, online Tasting Log, Flavor Match recommendations, and thousands of bottle reviews from other members.

Members also gain access to exclusive bottlings, free shipping, and a complimentary quarterly Spirits Delivery, which includes a Tasting Box and a full-sized (750ml) bottle of your choosing.

To sign up for a subscription, you’ll first specify whether you’re interested in monthly or quarterly deliveries. After sharing an email address, you’ll select which types of spirits you most enjoy from a list that includes bourbon, gin, rum, brandy, tequila, vodka, and whiskey (you can choose as many as desired).

Next, you’ll indicate which liquor brands you’ve tried before from a list of several dozen. From those selections, Flaviar will request you choose the one brand you wouldn’t want to survive without on a desert island.

From there, you will receive an orderly summary with pricing information. You can’t make your flavor selections until you process your first payment.

After this point, you can choose from any of the company’s available Tasting Boxes and full-size bottle options, both of which are updated quarterly. Within each box will be a selection of drinks along with flavor notes and tasting instructions.

You’ll also receive a collectible Flaviar concrete coaster.

Additional Buying Options

It’s also possible to purchase from Flaviar without signing up for a subscription. You can shop spirits by the bottle or purchase curated tasting boxes without a membership.

Each tasting box costs $41.99 and includes three 50ml samples of spirits based around a theme. Below are the three most popular boxes the company offers:

  • Flaviar Welcome Box: Includes Breckenridge Bourbon Whiskey (43%), Copper Fox Rye Whiskey (45%), and Wolfburn Northland (46%).

  • Whiskey Gangs of New York: Includes Iron Smoke Straight Bourbon Whiskey (40%), Widow Jane 10-Year-Old Straight Bourbon Whiskey (45.5%), and Coppersea Excelsior Straight Bourbon Whiskey (48%).

  • Spirit of the American Revolution: Includes Van Brunt Stillhouse Due North Rum (40%), Albany Distilling Co Quackenbush Amber Rum (40%), and Stolen Overproof Rum (61.5%)

The company also sells a variety of merchandise designed for the home mixologist, including a Flaviar Bar (starting at $389), flasks ($39.90), whiskey glasses, and coasters (starting at $37), and more.

Pricing, Shipping, and Return Policy

Flaviar currently offers both a quarterly and annual subscription program:

  • Quarterly: $95 per delivery
  • Annual: $300 total ($75 per delivery)

With both plans, you’ll receive three 50-ml samples and a full-size 750ml bottle of your choice every three months. This comes to about 900ml of liquor per order or about 1.2 750-ml bottles.

You’ll also receive free shipping on any other purchase you make through Flaviar during your subscription time. All subscription plans will automatically renew unless you cancel beforehand through your online account.

Though the company ships throughout the European Union, the following states are exempt from delivery: AA, AE, AK, AL, AP, AR, DE, GU, HI, IA, ID, IL, KY, MD, MI, MN, MS, MT, OH, OK, PA, PR, SD, TX, VA, VT, WV, and WY.

Flaviar won’t deliver to PO boxes. An adult over 21 must be present to sign for all deliveries. For this reason, you might want to direct your order to the workplace to guarantee you are around to sign for it.

Sales are final on alcohol purchases unless your samples were damaged during shipment or you receive the wrong ones.

You can cancel your membership account within three days of signing up for a full refund. Canceling after this time will prevent your membership from renewing, but you will still be charged for that quarter and receive your scheduled delivery.

Some items from the online store are considered nonrefundable, including personalized items, anything from the “Vault” store, all special collaborations, and unique pre-sale products.

Are Flaviar Prices a Good Deal?

To find out whether you’re getting a good deal with Flaviar, we compared the pricing for a variety of liquors to what you would pay at other notable retailers.

Flaviar ReserveBar Liquorama CW Spirits
Bacardi Gran Reserva Diez, 750ml $42.99 $50 $39.99 $39.99
Don Julio 1942 Anejo Tequila, 750ml $135.99 $154 $149.99 $139
Johnnie Walker The White Walker Edition, 750ml $24.99 $39 $34.99 $39.99
Wild Turkey 101, 750ml $24.99 $29 $24.99 $24.99
Hendrick’s Gin, 750ml $27.99 $41 $32.99 $44.99

ReserveBar tends to offer the highest prices. This company brands itself as a premium gift-giving site and lets you pay for custom engraving on many bottles so that you can leave a personal message.

However, ReserveBar tends to have the smallest selection of liquors available of these four companies, and the choice is slated more towards high-end offerings. There’s no option to sign up for a subscription or receive smaller samples.

The other two companies, Liquorama and CW Spirits, are more standard e-commerce stores. In some instances, their pricing beats out Flaviar. We found that both companies offer a wide variety of liquor options and offer the same selections as Flaviar in most cases.

This makes either supplier a viable alternative for anyone not interested in signing up for a subscription and who knows that they want to purchase full-sized bottles immediately.

If trying lots of new liquors appeals to you, then Flaviar offers a unique service not matched by other sellers. For many people, that will be worth potentially paying more per serving.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 500 Flaviar customers have left reviews for Flaviar on our site, for a combined rating of 4.3-stars out of five. Over 80% of these customers say they would recommend the service to a friend.

Common Compliments:

  • Excellent customer support and guidance
  • Consistent quality service for long-term customers
  • Great way to get exposed to new styles of alcohol
  • Makes an excellent gift for alcohol lovers
  • Good deals with the customer referral program

Common Complaints:

  • Some customers hated the flavors they received
  • Slow shipment times for some users, missing bottles on delivery
  • A few customers never received their orders, struggled to get a refund

The Bottom Line

We are impressed with the company’s broad selection and found many spirits sold by Flaviar that were difficult to find elsewhere.

Flaviar offers a unique service in the subscription world—the opportunity to taste premium spirits at home without committing to purchasing the whole bottle.

This is an excellent service for both adventurous and timid drinkers, as it allows you to sample a variety of styles without feeling like you’re wasting product if you don’t like one.

Customer reviews indicate that the majority of subscribers love Flaviar.

Lastly, it’s a mistake to think that signing up for Flaviar will save you money. Though purchasing the company’s full-size bottles may lead to slight cost savings compared to other supplies, buying Flaviar tasting boxes can be more expensive than paying for shots at your favorite bar.

Customer Reviews

4.3 Stars out of 545 Reviews
5 Star:77% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:14%
82% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Flaviar:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 24, 2021

Absolutely terrible

By Andre S. , Texas

My wife gave me this as a gift for Xmas. She thought it was a great gift until we tried ordering. Lots of times they were out of stock. Then as time went on as a military family we had to move. Well as it turns out they don’t ship to Texas. We tried to resolve this by asking for a refund and the emails eventually would get a response of "we'll just send it to someone in a state we can ship to". Ummmm, I don’t want to do that, I would prefer to just have the remaining monies refunded, to which they simply ignored the multiple emails. If I could give them less than one star I would. Do not use this service, it’s not worth it, go support your local liquor store.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Flaviar Ltd.

Apr 25, 2021

Hey there,

This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We're so sorry to hear that you moved to a state we're not able to ship to. Despite the unfortunate circumstance, we're always happy to assist and ensure you don't lose out on your benefits or any money spent on your membership.

After reviewing your case, I see your Flavor concierge kindly offered you the opportunity to ship your remaining quarterly benefits as a gift to a recipient residing in a state we're able to ship to. You were also offered the option to receive a refund for the final quarter of your membership instead if you'd prefer.

We are still waiting on your reply to resolve the matter to your full satisfaction. We have full faith that your issue will be resolved promptly and cordially. Our concierge service is also available if you need help with anything else.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2021

Not a good value

By Chang Z., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

My wife purchased an annual membership at $95 per quarter, or ~$400 a year. I checked in over the course of the year to redeem my credits and get gift boxes, and at the end of the calendar year to make sure I had used up my credits.

In all, I received 2 sample boxes, and alcohol worth $162.97. Flaviar charged for another quarter on my Gift account, which I stopped, and they fully canceled my account.

When I asked about the remaining unused value in my account, they apologized for the "inconvenience".

This is a very opaque, heavily hyped product/service which ultimately creates very little value, particularly for the loved ones who think they are buying something special.

This leaves a very bad taste in my mouth.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Variety

Business ethics

Pricing structure

Membership opacity

Posted on Dec 17, 2020

Over a week, and nothing

By Lonni F., Santa Cruz, CA, Verified Reviewer

I placed an order 9 days ago. There was no email confirmation of the order. After waiting several days without any updates, I emailed them (since they have no other contact mechanism) asking what was going on. About 24 hours later, I received a response claiming that my order would ship within 5 business days of ordering, and I should expect a confirmation email once it ships.

Five business days came and went, and still nothing shipped. On the website, there is still no status update on this order.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Bad communications

Bad customer service

Misleading

Company Response from Flaviar Ltd.

Feb 8, 2021

Hey there,

This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. During the festive season, though, we experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking. We're terribly sorry you were among the affected!

At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your order was canceled as per your request and a full refund was issued.

If you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction or if you need help with anything else, let us know. We’re easy to reach if you write to us at support@flaviar.com

We wish you all the best!

Posted on Nov 19, 2020

Sold me something they didn't have

By Jesse M., Bothell, WA, Verified Reviewer

Bought a $550 bottle of Bruichladdich Black Art from Flaviar. After waiting several weeks for delivery I contacted them. They said it was on the way and they would try to get more detail. The next week they let me know that their supplier didn't have it in stock. Through the conversation I became aware that they source their bottles after they sell them. Super unethical, I won't trade with them again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

High prices

Unethical practices

Company Response from Flaviar Ltd.

Dec 10, 2020

Hi there,

​​Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

​​Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. We do our best to minimize delays, shipping inconsistencies, and inventory errors, but there are rare, and unfortunate, cases such as your own where an order is delayed.

There are several outside factors that we are not able to control directly - from distribution to retailers and the courier service tasked with delivering your order. We rely on the diligence of our partners and hope you can understand that we are constantly working on improving the delivery experience.

​​At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction. You received your order.

If you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction or if you need help with anything else, let us know. We’re easy to reach if you write to us at support@flaviar.com

We wish you all the best!

Posted on Aug 26, 2020

Highly recommend!

By Sarah H., El Segundo, CA, Verified Reviewer

The packaging alone is amazing! I ordered this for my husband as a birthday present and he absolutely loved it. Super smooth whiskey and the tasting cards really add to the experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great selection of spirits

Fun and creative packaging

Fast shipping

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Aug 9, 2020

Wonderful service

By Alex C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I received a membership as a birthday gift. I'd been seeing ads for months but I'm usually wary of any ads. I am happy to report that Flaviar is the real deal. The selection is great, the layout of the website, information available, I could go on. I ordered a couple of bottles outside of the free membership perks, because they also have free shipping each month for members, and got them delivered within a couple of days. I contacted customer service with a simple question and they responded within a minute. I'm definitely recommending this to anyone who will listen.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good selection

Great presentation

Excellent customer service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Aug 7, 2020

Better than I thought

By John B., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

If you're looking to just subscribe and save money on your quarterly bottle and tasters, then this isn’t for you. You're probably paying £10-£20 extra, but for that, you have access to some bottles sold out and cheaper than retail, you are managed to buy 2x bottles and save that £20, and also get a lot of credit for a friend joining. I’ll save even more as the months go on and I’ll get to try a lot of tasters which will save me spending a fortune on bottles. Personally, I’d say get the year subscription and if it works out well, even better if you use a referral for a £50 bonus.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fun

Price of bottles

Offers

Subscription price a little high

Posted on Aug 6, 2020

Kristen from Customer Service is the best

By Glen P., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I have been a member for almost 6 months. Whenever I had a question or problem, Kristen was able to answer my questions and/or resolve my problem expeditiously. She immediately answers my email inquiries. I recently had a problem with my quarterly order and Kristen resolved the problem to my satisfaction that very same afternoon! Kristen is an outstanding customer service representative. With her assistance, I ordered Glen Grant Scotch.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2020

Outstanding service!

By Chad G., Hammondsport, NY, Verified Reviewer

Very prompt service, and accommodating. The concierge who assisted me, Conradine, was outstanding. I would highly recommend Flaviar to anyone based on Conradine’s service alone.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Excellent service overall

Prompt responses

Accommodating

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 30, 2020

Just don’t

By Bryce K., Providence, RI, Verified Reviewer

My honest experience? Ok, here we go. I ordered off of Flaviar to try something new and different. I ordered something and 3 weeks later it came in. I subscribed and got my Welcome Box within a week of placing my order, however, the item that I actually wanted did not come until 3 weeks later. No shipping email until 5 days before the item was delivered. Click the link to check the shipment process, NOTHING. Still sitting in the warehouse in CA. Then all of a sudden the item was being processed by my local courier and is out for delivery that day. Luckily I was home as it needed a signature. So at least I thought it did. Fast forward to delivery day, I get a knock on my door by a delivery driver not wearing a mask. Simply hands me the package and walks away. No ID or signature were needed...I reached out to Flaviar on Twitter as I needed this item for a weekend prior. Twitter Help tells me to reach out to customer service, so I do. My customer service agent was very polite and understanding of the frustration I had.

Just an awful experience all around and Flaviar has some things they need to work out before I even consider using them again. Could have just gone down the street to my local liquor store and gotten it there, just figured I’d try something different and support other business.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Flaviar Ltd.

Aug 25, 2020

Hey Bryce,

Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. All of our shipments require a signature and our vendors give strict instructions to couriers to adhere to this rule, as well as maintain safety protocol during this time. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction. Your order was delivered shortly after.

If you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction or if you need help with anything else, let us know. We’re easy to reach if you write to us at support@flaviar.com

We wish you all the best!

Posted on Jul 28, 2020

Amazing introduction

By John M., Manchester, CT, Verified Reviewer

So far I am very impressed. I received my first tasting box and loved the unlabeled vials of the 3 types of whiskey, so the taste and flavor was experienced before one knew what they were or origin. A great spin and social experience with friends. The bottle of whisky was a double surprise in as much as its origin was Australia "Nova," having lived in Aussie for 54 years, I had no idea if this producer. All in all, a great value and looking forward to more of the same.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It’s origin

Flavoursome

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 1-11 of 545

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.