About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).


Read 447 Flaviar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 342 4 star: 15 3 star: 5 2 star: 15 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 447
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam or incompetence?

    • By Todd N.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Jan 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Either way, I would avoid this company. Orders are either extremely delayed or never received. The anticipation of trying new whiskeys gives way to frustration in dealing with this company. There are much better options for sampling and purchasing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great products, great service

    • By Luke R.,
    • Malta,
    • Jan 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very positively impressed by the service, quality of products, and prices made available on this website. Even the Monthly Free Shipping and Quarterly rewards for membership are of good quality and helped us learn about new products and alcohol we would have not normally got to know about.

    Really recommend Flaviar to any Whiskey and Spirits enthusiast!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not good to their customers or their word

    • By Tim J.,
    • Oregon,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first joined the club, the membership was reasonable, and within a year they asked me to renew (early?). The membership cost was now quite high (went from $60 to $210), but with the quartlery discount credits, it was not unbearable. Plus, it still gave me a way to try out new whiskeys that I did not have access to at the local liquor store.

    However, on my last order, I ordered 2 bottles of new whiskey and used my credits to help with the financial side. As it turns out one of the bottles was out of stock (no notice given), so they decided it was best to cancel it off of my order. It would not have been such a disappointment, if they had let me keep my quarterly discount. However, they had me pay full price for the one item that was in stock. The refund that they gave me was only for the out of stock item MINUS my discount. So in essence, they took my discount away, with no explanation, and simply said sorry. When I explained to them that this was not really a great business practice, and that I would not be willing to do business with a company that treated their customers in such a way, they basically just thanked me for my input. No aplogies, no recompense.

    Consequently, I canceled my membership (no refund) and will not be referring Flaviar to anyone I meet. In fact, I will let everyone know my experience, so that they will not fall prey to their bad business ethics.

    I wish you health and happiness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Wow!

    • By Tomi B.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    You will not be disappointed ordering from Flaviar! I checked out quite a few websites for a last-minute gift for my bourbon-loving husband and while the websites can be confusing, Flaviar made it easy. I ordered last minute and did not expect the order to come until after Xmas, but it showed up the day before Xmas! He is having so much fun with his 12 Days sampler and showing it off to his buddies. This is a home run gift!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great company with super attitude.

    • By Debra H.,
    • Bayville, NJ,
    • Jan 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered Blackened Whiskey for my son for the holidays. He is a Metallica fan and was pleased with the gift. Claims it is a smooth whiskey that leads to the humming of Metallica tunes (lol).

    Great service and appreciated the notifications.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Love this Club

    • By Jeff C.,
    • Colorado,
    • Jan 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This club is fantastic! Not to mention the vast array of liquors and spirits for any discerning palette, but also they make you feel special by the wonderful customer service they have. This is so important in today's world to me. I had a sample bottle break - emailed them and within 1 day had a very satisfactory response. The selection of small-batch whiskeys is incredible. Highly recommend this to all my friends!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Customer service

    • By Gurmander K.,
    • Quincy, MA,
    • Jan 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flaviar Customer Service is superb. Their selections and their tasting bottles are a great idea. They not only offer Whiskey but also very select Scotch Whiskies. Their deliveries are reasonably prompt.

    Customer Service is very responsive. I have recommended Flaviar to many friends. Their input is also very positive. I wish Flaviar would offer wine selections also from all around the world. I have run out of words. I cannot say enough good things about Flaviar. They are the best. Flaviar service is also very useful for sending gifts to friends and family at any time of the year for any happy occasion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Whiskey club? I think not...

    • By Megan H.,
    • Maine,
    • Jan 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this for a gift for my husband and discovered that the free full bottle is actually a $45 credit. After reaching out to their customer service multiple times asking them how he could buy a full-size bottle of whiskey or scotch for $45, I was repeatedly given the same answer. "You can browse our selection here." Lot's of cheap gins, whiskeys and other liquors available for $45 but nothing unique or interesting and certainly no scotch. If you go to the site today they still market the membership to include a full-size bottle. It's not true. Deceptive marketing. Very disappointing. Don't purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Amazing winter sip!

    • By Michael B.,
    • California,
    • Jan 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    What's not to love? Rum, rye whiskey, plenty of ginger and a bit of bitters add up to an amazing mouthful of flavors.

    I've taken a flask to three holiday parties (so far) and it has come home empty each time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great stuff

    • By Chauncey H.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m so glad I joined your club! Great information, great selection, and great mobile app. I’m learning so much about alcohol (bourbons and whiskeys). This is a perfect way to learn about alcohol, thanks so much for the experience!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Just a plain terrible company

    • By Matt B.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Jan 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before Christmas I decided to buy two memberships as gifts. The total for both memberships was $600. I chose to take advantage of a free tasting special of an additional 12 samples. The company did not send me the gift cards, when I reached out to customer service they chose not to respond. I decided to act like a new customer who had a question and they responded in 5 minutes. I then attempted to see if we could correct the issue, no response. In fact, they claimed I never made an order so I sent them the credit card charge. Then no response. Only when I disputed the charge did they try to make right, which I was still open to. Three days later, no response.

    I highly recommend avoiding this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 447

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review