About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 420 Flaviar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 322 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 15 1 star:  64
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 420
Sort reviews by:

  • Read about what you can taste.

    • Monroe, WI,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    By joining, I was given a chance to learn the difference of whisky to whiskey. How I should properly taste the liquor I am enjoying. Exclusive offers, exclusive liquor, brilliant for taste buds and a great way to expand my search for better liquor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Skeptic

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was a skeptic. I got a bottle for joining, and then another for referring a friend, and then another for referring another friend. I read the description of a few libations and decided to try a few (in my tasting box). Also tried a Spiced Rum (not my normal drink) and was completely surprised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Well done!

    • Belgium,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do appreciate 2 main things about Flaviar.

    #1 - Their light, funny and engaging communication style.

    #2- Their classy web design and packaging stuff.

    Their lineup is rather broad and consistent.

    Need time to get further acquainted.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Education

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The background information is outstanding. I never expected to get an education as well as great Spirits. With the School of Spirits and the Flaviar phone app, you’re sure to enjoy learning what makes your preferred drink so special.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Really good spot to get less available Scotch and Mezcal

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a recent member, but I've already bought probably a dozen bottles of Scotch and Mezcal from Flaviar that I just couldn't get locally (even at our really big, really well-stocked liquor store, T.W.).

    Easy examples are a nice Johnnie Walker Blue Ghost and Rare, and Highland Park Dark 17-year-old. These were really cool finds that I just couldn't get elsewhere. I got an Inchmurrin 18-year-old that also was a pretty interesting find.

    Then within Mezcals what I loved was the variety that I could get. Just a few clicks and I had a Tobala, a Tepeztate, and an Arroqueno mezcal on the way to my house. Espadin is all over the place, of course, but getting different agaves can be challenging, and the selection I found at Flaviar was fantastic.

    Looking forward to continuing to expand my bar with you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No customer service

    • Connecticut,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible, or better, no customer service. No phone number to call. Just an email that says they will get back to you within 24 hours. I have been shipping product for over 25 years to customers and never did I experience probably the worse shipping ever, CDL Last Mile. WHAT COMPANY uses a shipping company with a review score of 1.4 stars on Google. I started my subscription around Father’s Day and as of August 5, I still do not have my 1st product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 19, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Dear Scott,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry for your disappointment and any confusion regarding the club and its benefits.

      Firstly, we know the decision to omit phone support is unusual, but we focus on providing fast and high-quality responses by email, so you’re always talking to a human that can help first-hand.

      Secondly, we are so sorry about your experience with the delivery service! Our logistics manager reads through members' complaints with care and consideration and forwards them to the courier services we employ. Furthermore, your order is in transit, as we have confirmed with you and we will send you the tracking number as soon as the courier provides it.

      We are sincerely sorry for any inconvenience this experience might have caused you. If you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction let us know, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's ok but not great

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you live in the bourbon bubble then this may not be for you. Most things I can buy cheaper locally. There are some rarities where prices are cheaper for some reason. If you want liquor from smaller distillers then this might be for you. They carry big brands too but you can probably get it locally.

    Free shipping is the only real perk that I enjoyed and they kept messing that up and I would have to contact them and get them to reset it. One time this happened while trying to get the Flaviar barrel pick of Woodford Double oaked. By the time they fixed it the bottles were sold out.

    If they sell out that fast they should do more picks. My other bourbon club has probably done 10 barrel picks in the last year of whiskey and usually they sell out in a month unless the shipping is ridiculous. So if that was the case here then it would be worth being a member.

    The samples are so limited in choice and often very cheap bottles are paired with more expensive ones in a tasting box so the value isn’t what it seems usually, especially if you calculate it per ounce. There are trustworthy Facebook groups where you can get samples cheaper and of harder to find stuff and get it shipped.

    Customer service has been fairly quick to deal with issues but I would expect these things to be automated more like my free shipping being automatically credited back to my account so I can order something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 19, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hey Joshua,

      Thank you for your comprehensive feedback regarding our service. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further. We will definitely take it into consideration when improving our services.

      In case you need something else, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Selection

    • Cinnaminson, NJ,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had fun searching the site and seeing all the different types of spirits, found a good selection of scotch, bourbon and other spirits to choose from at great prices, my order was delivered quickly with no issues, can't wait to place my next order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this as a gift from my wife. I was very excited. I went online right after I received the gift on my birthday in February. I was supposed to be sent the initial tasting box when I signed up. A few days later I ordered 2 bottles of bourbon. I waited for 6 weeks and had still not received my tasting box nor the bottles I received. I contacted the company about both orders and received the bottles I ordered but not my tasting box in about a week. The bottles were received on 4/9/19 and ordered on 2/17/19. The tasting box was ordered on 2/16/19 and a FedEx shipping label (FedEx number 478231884556) was created on 2/27/2019 and I have still not received this as of 6/25/2019. I am not surprisingly unsatisfied and would strongly discourage anyone from using this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 16, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Dear Robert,

      This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

      Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. Right around the time you joined, though, we’ve experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking.

      We see your message in our help desk that one of our agents responded to but you never got back to them. We'll send you another message straight away so please be on a lookout.

      Thank you for your patience and understanding.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Breton Islay

    • Windsor, England,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    KORNOG is the most satisfying Peated MALT outwith Scotland that I have ever had the pleasure of opening a bottle.

    This French or Breton Distiller takes every detail to create a superb whisky - I look forward to Flaviar having some of his other whisky to try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Don't miss out

    • Raymore, MO,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just have to say if you don't have Flaviar I don't know what the heck is wrong with you. This is my first whiskey club and I should smack myself for not joining sooner. I only buy whiskeys or whatever that I never heard of or has cool looking bottles. If you're looking at this post I will tell you go ahead and join, you would not regret it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 420

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review