About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

343 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 275 4 star: 12 3 star: 3 2 star: 13 1 star:  40
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 343
Sort reviews by:

  • Cheated

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very disappointed with Flaviar! I purchased a 6-month membership for my husband's birthday and was under the impression that you get something monthly. I feel like for $120 I'm cheated out of my money and asked for a refund. Apparently, I'm not "eligible" for one, which is ridiculous. I will not recommend this to anyone, and don't make the same mistake by wasting your time and money. There are other subscriptions out there that are less money and you get more. Also, the fact that there's no customer service phone number is frustrating, and I am disappointed with their service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My overall experience

    • Ames, IA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience has been excellent. The deliveries are always prompt, and I have had nothing arrived damaged. It has been a fun experience for me since I am new to drinking spirits. I used to think they all tasted alike, all bourbon, whiskey, and scotch were the same. All vodka the same, etc. but I have found that is definitely not true. I look forward to experiencing more. I don't, however, like being told how long my review must be.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar

    • Mississippi,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Flaviar is a fantastic place for all your sipping. There is no way for me to name all the different types of whiskey, much less the vodkas. Oh man, I ordered one that is called The Spud. I have never had a vodka that tasted as well as this one. Yes, it's made with sweet potatoes. It's clear and the taste is like a pie. If you get the chance to join, you will definitely not be disappointed. I've gotten my first order and can't wait to get the next one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great membership experience

    • Waverly, IA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flaviar offers a great membership experience that has allowed me the opportunity to try different types of whiskey, whiskey, scotch, bourbon, and other spirits that I would not have normally had an opportunity to sample.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Exceptional service and selection

    • Fort Benton, MT,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After returning from a recent trip to Europe where I discovered a new favorite gin, I found it unavailable locally. Searching the web I came across a few places that carry it and found that Flaviar had the best price, service, and shipping. I have since noticed the broad selection of other spirits and will no doubt be using them to stock up on my whisky supply.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • First experience.

    • Oregon,
    • Sep 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My first experience with Flaviar was excellent. The pick I choose was a Cacao Flavored Rum from Panama. Great over the rocks. I'm starting my personal bar for friends to come over and enjoy a tasting. Maybe even play a tasting game. Blindfolded and asked to sip a taste. Then explain the to several of us the what he or she can smell or taste within each brand.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love for Flaviar

    • Herndon, VA,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only got in scotch whiskey a year ago, but since then I have been looking for websites that give me fair prices and interesting options - and will deliver to the US. With Flaviar, I have gotten much more than these basics.

    The flavor spirals are the first thing that grabbed me about the site. I know what I like when I drink it, but I am far from a well-educated spirits drinker. The flavor spirals have helped me see the patterns to my preferences and then explore new things with a bit more confidence - all without having to hold a degree from a whiskey school. The blog has been a great way to learn as well - the more information, the better.

    I have found consistently lower prices than on other sites. And although delivery always seems to take longer than I would like, it is certainly a reasonable shipping window (in most cases), and Flaviar does a nice job of keeping its customers apprised throughout the process.

    The tasting boxes have proven to be one of my favorite parts of the membership. I am branching out into various spirits without feeling like I have to invest a lot of money for something I am not sure I will like. In fact, I blame Flaviar for my recent obsession with gin! But the various gin tasting boxes have helped me zone in on ones for which I "need" the larger bottle.

    My only complaint (besides wanting the liquor fairy to fly to me at warp speed) is that some spirits in the tasting boxes are not available for purchase in a bottle. While I appreciate the logistics behind it, it is a bit of a tease sometimes to try an amazing spirit only to find out I cannot get my hands on more (such as Summum's Solera 12 Ben Nevis Whisky Cask Finish Rum and Appenzeller Santis Malt's Cask Strength Peated Swiss Whisky).

    Overall, I would (and do) highly recommend Flaviar to anyone interested in learning about spirits or wanting to try new spirits. I was invited to be a member and feel that it was one of the best decisions I made so far in 2018.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar is fun!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just joined Flaviar and I am enjoying the tasting box, initial bottle, and the purchase I made as part of a promotion. It is convenient and fun. It is a great way to try new spirits and build a collection.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The taste I have developed for Japanese whiskey

    • California,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since joining Flaviar, it has been a wonderful and educational adventure into the world of adult beverages. I have become more in tune with what I like and what I do not like. Japanese whiskey has really provided me with some outstanding choices that I have come to enjoy. Before joining Flaviar, I had no idea there were so many Japanese distilleries throughout this country.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest thieves

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Flaviar about a week ago because the price $60 for three months seemed reasonable for what they offered. However, when you sign up, they make it very difficult on their site to find how to only pay the $60 for three months. Really leave only one option, which is to pay for the entire year with a $30 discount. It comes to $210. As soon as you pay is when you will never see that money again. I went through this process and canceled in under a day with the confidence that I would actually get my full refund.

    After contacting support, they said they would barely give me half of what I paid. I received $108.01 and forced me to keep the membership that I did not want at all. They charged me $60 plus a "non-refundable incentive fee" of $41.99, which is essentially a welcome box they advertise as "free." They are no longer responding to emails and their phone support goes straight to voicemail. Save your money and go to the liquor store to try different spirits. This is either a scam or their customer service is actually just poor and amateur.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2018

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Isaiah,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further. Before the JOIN button, there’s a clearly visible feature that allows you to switch between the annual and the 3-month membership. We are sorry you missed it. We did our best to make the choice over membership length easy to find!

      At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and to your full satisfaction. We know the decision to omit phone support is unusual, but we focus on providing fast and high-quality responses by email, so you’re always talking to a human that can help first-hand. We understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer and I’m terribly sorry that our club didn’t work out for you.

      If you need help with anything else or believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction let us know, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com. Wish you all the best!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good prices, great products

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for a specific product and could not find it at a reasonable price from a site that could ship to the US. Flaviar to the rescue. We got the gin we wanted at a good price, the gin AND shipping was less than other sites cost for the product alone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 343

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review