GOLO Diet Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
GOLO Diet

Overall Rating

3.5

65 Customer Reviews

Summary

GOLO is a diet program designed to help aid weight loss through exercise, meal plans, and its Release supplement. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.5 Stars out of 65 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:33%
63% Recommend This Company
Start your review of GOLO Diet:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 13, 2018

Amazing From the Get

By Dana Vee, Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

So at first I was super skeptical, you know all the things you hear about a lifestyle plan working? Well I will be the first one to say that I have been working at this for a while and I am seeing changes. What I keep in mind is that change does not happen overnight, weight did not appear overnight, change takes time. Inches are dropping and foods that go into my body are much better choices. It's all baby steps, and that is what I am taking.

Learning what to eat is the most important part of change and the education process of GOLO is amazing. Their customer service reps are helpful, always a call away and NO question has gone unanswered. Will I see my final loss goal? You bet because I am committed to GOLO on the scale and in my cholesterol, etc. This lifestyle that GoLo has created fits into my crazy schedule every single day. I am so happy I have found GoLo.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2017

A program that really works

By Moxy Walker, Verified Reviewer

A year ago I had a hysterectomy, so then follows weight gain, sleepless nights (1 to 2 hours a night), hormones out of control, and feeling frustrated depressed and hopeless. I had tried the 800-calorie diet, I tried more strength training and more cardio, and walking 8 to 12 miles 7 days a week, just to find myself gaining more weight and getting more frustrated. I turn to my doctor and he said "You can't outrun your month." Now I'm even more frustrated.

My husband told me to not give up, so I started my research on weight gain etc. and I came across GOLO for life. I watched the video and read all the material, and when I read that it helps with hormone imbalance, it will improve your sleep, and repairs your metabolism, I'm trying it.

I am now at my goal weight, I sleep 7 hours every night, and my hot flashes have diminished tremendously! I can't say enough about this program; it has changed my life, and it is so simple, you just eat the right portions with the right combinations.

I'm a GOLOer for life.

Thank you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2017

Love GOLO!

By Leeann M., Saratoga Springs, Utah, Verified Reviewer

I have never felt better since I started GOLO on April 23rd, 2017. Love that they really care about my success. I am part of a community and we have a private Facebook support page and access to GOLO coaches. They have different fitness "challenges" such as yoga and an arm firming one. They don't up-sell me - all I purchase is a supplement called "Release" that I take with each meal.

I was eating all processed dinners and food out before and felt so awful all the time. All I tried GOLO for was to feel better. I knew I wouldn't lose weight. I now cook all my own food, which I never thought I would be able to do but it is easier than I imagined. I have not done the plan perfectly, but GOLO is very forgiving. I am really happy to say that I currently have lost 33 pounds! THIRTY-THREE! And am feeling so much better.

I have made friends online too and am actually exercising once in a while. And I'm eating so much food! I am super happy I tried GOLO and will continue with this journey as I feel good now. I am loving GOLO and hope to see you on our Facebook page soon!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2017

Gained weight

By Renee G., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I have always been between a size 2 and 6 my entire life and ate food constantly. When I turned 50, out of the blue I just started gaining weight. I gained 20 lbs over a two-year period and could not figure out why. As a matter of fact, I eat a fourth of what I used to eat. Because I do not fit into the normal category of overeaters or people that do not exercise (walk 3-5 miles every day), I decided to try GOLO. I am not sure if this is based on your body type, but I gained 5 pounds while taking this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 19, 2017

Hi Renee!

GOLO is designed to be personalized to your activity level. Did you complete your Personal Metabolic Rate via our members only website to determine your daily food intake? If you did not follow our plan as directed and continued to eat as you did before this is probably why you did not see the results you were hoping for. Please give us a call at 800-730-4656 so that we can discuss and help you achieve your goal weight.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 9, 2017

Love feeling steady all day!

By Cori Sivils, Lafayette, Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I love this program! I was skeptical like with any other informercial but the science behind it is what prompted me to order. Plus, I like eating clean. The supplements are all natural which was a big plus for me as well. They do what they say they are going to do which is keep your insulin/metabolism steady throughout the day. This is the most sensible “plan” out there. Breakfast is now my favorite meal of the day and I never ate breakfast unless it was for dinner.

Also, the staff/customer service is wonderful and supportive! The Facebook group has started doing exercise challenges each month which are very nice! I never would have tried yoga had it not been for them. I love GOLO!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 9, 2017

A Plan for Life

By Deb Slough Nusbaum, Verified Reviewer

My husband and I have been on GOLO for a little over a year now. What an amazing product. I have lost over 70 pounds and my husband has lost weight also.

Not only do we eat better, but we sleep better and have so much energy. We look better and we work out and run circles around our friends who want all the preservatives and nonsense they add to our food.

Personally, when I started GOLO my A1C was 10.0 and in less than a year it dropped to 5.7. All the lab work is great and I was able to share with my physician about the GOLO way of life. I have lost over 10 inches off of my hips, 8 inches off of the waist.

I feel alive, and love all the recipes that are available on the Website. And I must give a shout out to the awesome coaches at GOLO. They are very supportive. I have a whole new Facebook family with the connection to GOLO.

It feels great when people say “Wow you look great”. It radiates from the inside out.

I have been struggling with my weight my whole life and this had worked for my husband and I.

You also must do your part to make this successful, it is not enough to just take a supplement and do nothing. The weight did not go on overnight and it will come off in time.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 9, 2017

Hi Deb!

We are so happy to be a part of your success. We gave you the tools, you did all the hard work. Congrats! And please keep us informed of your progress!

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 7, 2017

Horrible side effects

By Lena Polk, Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

GOLO Release capsules elevated my blood pressure so high I had to be admitted to the hospital through the ER. I had to stay for two days trying to get my blood pressure down. My Endocrinologist informed me that Rhodiola can significantly raise blood pressure.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 58 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2017

I love Golo!

By Monica C., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I started Golo on May 11, 2017 and I am on my 11th week and I have lost 17 pounds. I love Golo's clean eating of real food. I have been able to reduce my insulin by 55% and my A1c went from 7.8 in April 2017 to 5.9 on 6/10/17.

I previously was on a lowfat/nonfat 1200 calorie diet taking medication, which was continuously increased to help with stress eating which stopped working and I gained 52 pounds back due to the stress eating. Yes, I take responsibility for the weight gain too.

Golo is different and the supplement helps with the stress eating and helps with sleeping so much better. Golo isn't a quick weight loss program it is a life changing program for a lifetime. Golo provides a weekly menu and shopping plan with recipes. I use the Matrix Food Card and choose what I am going to eat using the portion size and components of the plan for each meal. We are not forced to eating the weekly menu. It is designed for people that need more structure and prefer a menu plan.

Golo is not something we will want to change doing after we reach our goal weight to go back to poor eating habits. Have I made mistakes so far? YES! I just start each day new to achieve my goal. The Golo Support Team is totally helpful and caring.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 9, 2017

Hi Monica!

We are so happy that you are doing well on GOLO and cant wait to hear how you do in the future! Please keep us informed of your progress!

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 20, 2017

GOLO, the best plan and healthy lifestyle

By Phyllis Harper, Savannah, Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have struggled with my weight all my life. I have tried every crash diet out there on the market to lose weight and just turn around to gain it back. I had gained a lot of weight in the last few years, with the loss of my father (and I was an emotional eater), I was always turning to food to be my comfort!

One night I was watching television with my husband, and the GOLO commercial came across the screen and from what I heard, it sounded interesting. So I went to the website to check it out, and that was the best decision I have ever made when it comes to my health. So I placed my order at the end of February. I received the GOLO Plan and the Release, an all natural supplement.

I started on March 8, 2017, my weight was 289 lbs. I start out on a 7 Day Kick Start Plan, which is to help detox your body with proper nutrition to fuel our body properly and not starve you. After the kick starts you continue your healthy journey by making your meals from the right amount of proteins, vegetables, carbohydrates, fats, called the MATRIX MEAL PLAN.

As I continue the so many benefits from the GOLO Plan and the Release beside weight loss, I sleep so very good, have way more energy, and my mood is a lot better. Also, my skin used to be so dry, and it is no longer that way, I never crave sweets, and I am never hungry. I have IBS that is no longer bothering me. My legs used to hurt just about every day and night, making it hard to do my daily work, but they do not bother me anymore!

GOLO is NOT another diet, it is a lifestyle change! It is NOT another scam! I am so very thankful that the great people from GOLO came up with the best healthy eating plan that is out there. There is no way that GOLO won't work unless you continue to eat unhealthily and not follow the Plan and take the Release. I have been on GOLO for 18 weeks, and I have lost a total of 66 lbs. My present weight is 223, and I have 58 lbs to go, but I am not concerned with that, because I know I will reach my goal, because of the great GOLO Plan and the Release supplement!

So if you want to get healthy and feel awesome, why don't you come and join me and the rest of the "GOLOer's" and be healthy too! I promise you will not regret it. Your health is worth it!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 9, 2017

Hi Phyllis!

Congratulations on your success on the program. We are so happy to be a part of it. Please make sure to keep us up to date on your progress!

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 19, 2017

So far I am loving GOLO

By Kayla, New Mexico, Verified Reviewer

I have had trouble with weight loss for the past 7 years. I had tried everything. Then my dad told me about GOLO. I ordered it and now have been using GOLO for 2 weeks and have lost 12lbs already! I'm so happy with this product. I have slightly changed my diet and do light exercising. I really didn't expect to lose the weight that quick. I will continue to order GOLO.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 9, 2017

Hi Kayla!

We are so glad to hear that GOLO is working well for you. Please make sure to keep us informed of your progress along the way!

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2017

A Real Plan for Life!

By Rebecca Wilson, Longmont, CO, Verified Reviewer

I have been using the GOLO plan with the Release supplement since April 2, 2017. I have had great success following the eating plan and taking the Release supplement. I have lost over 30 pounds and feel great, have more energy and sleep like a baby. I am excited to make clean eating a part of my life, and my family's life. I buy and cook amazing produce and meats now, and we all feel better!

I will continue to purchase Release until I reach my goal, and I will keep eating this way for the rest of my life. It's the first sustainable plan I have ever tried. I'm so excited!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 9, 2017

Rebecca,

We are so pleased to hear how well GOLO is working for you and cant wait to see you when you reach your goal weight. Please make sure to fill us in on your progress along the way!

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2017

Just another failure

By Geri Harrison-Lowe, Ann Arbor, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have been taking GOLO for over two months and have lost no weight at all, nothing. I was hoping this supplement would be the real deal, but no, it is just like all the other products out there; it doesn't work. I'll be asking for my money back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 12, 2017

Hi Geri!

I am sorry to hear that you have not had success with GOLO. Our plan works best when followed as directed. Were you able to follow the meal plan that was provided in your Rescue Plan? We also offer coaching with our certified GOLO coaches 7 days a week. If you are following it without success many times people find that they might just need to make a few tweaks to start seeing results. Please give us a call at 800-730-4656 and we would be happy to help you! :)

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 6, 2017

Another supplement joke

By David James, California, Verified Reviewer

Absolutely no help. Zero results! Swallowing air is just as effective.

Their "no hassle refund" is a BIG HASSLE!

What can I say? I fell prey to the insulin resistance angle they use in their advertising. I thought, maybe this one is different than all the other diet scams I tried. I was wrong! GOLO, in my experience, is just another high-priced combination of cheap ingredients in a capsule that does NOTHING!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 7, 2017

Hi David!

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the results you expected on GOLO. Our return policy is, in fact, no hassle. All you need to do is contact Customer Support within the 60 days and request a Return Authorization. We email it to you the same day, then you return the product. Once we receive it, a refund will be issued to your credit card with 7-10 days. All of this is clearly stated on our website, www.golo.com. I reviewed our records and see that you spoke with Customer Support on 7/6/17 and we did send you a Return Authorization. Should you have further questions regarding this process, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

800-730-4656

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 17, 2017

Dissatisfied

By Barbara R., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

The first three times of usage was okay. My last order was in April and May 2017. I gained, to date, 25 pounds back. UNBELIEVABLE. I called GOLO on June 15, 2017, and spoke to a very rude customer service representative named Cassie, who continuously talked over me, sighing on the phone and refused to get me to a supervisor. The conversation ended with Cassie suggesting that I no longer order GOLO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jun 19, 2017

Hi Barbara!

I enjoyed speaking with you this morning regarding your questions and am so glad that we were able to discuss and work out the issues. Since everything was ended amicably, I am hopeful that this review can now be removed. Please contact me with any further questions! 800-730-4656

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

It's not working for me

By John Heil, Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have been following a calorie count and taking the pills as per the instructions and have lost no weight. I am even walking and cannot lose weight. This is very disappointing. I was hoping this plan would work, but it's just like any other diet plan making promises but not delivering.

I really was hoping GOLO was the answer I needed. I was really interested in this plan because I've tried others that didn't work.

Well be wary what you read and consult your doctor first, which I didn't, and learned later that he didn't think it would work. Well, lesson learned.

Now I'm going back to a nutritionist to get an eating clean plan that will fall in line with my needs and body type. I hope this will work because GOLO did not.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jun 1, 2017

Hi John!

I notice that you say you were "following a calorie count" but GOLO does not want you to count calories. In fact, we never want you to have to do that again!

If you were following a different plan then the one that came with your kit, that is probably why you didn't see the results you hoped for. The biggest problem with diets is that most people don't eat enough when on them. That is why we included a detailed plan to help you learn how to EAT to lose weight. Most of our customers are shocked that they are able to eat so much food and still lose!

I would be happy to assist you personally with your eating plan (remember we offer FREE coaching to all of our customers). Give me a call 800-730-GOLO!

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2017

Best program!

By Dawn, Lake Worth, FL, Verified Reviewer

I have tried SO many different programs and diets, and nothing has worked. I saw GOLO advertised on TV, but I thought it was just another gimmick. When my husband saw it, he researched it and told me to try it.

I did the seven-day kickstart program, and after the week was up, I weighed myself and just about fell over; I lost eight pounds! I didn't always eat exactly what was in the kickstart program because I didn't like everything, but I substituted with something similar. I like how I can have fruit and potatoes, and even bread! I don't understand the insulin thing, but it's definitely working. I'm not hungry, and I'm not craving other foods.

I am so happy I found this program!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 161 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2017

My new way of life

By Melinda, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Prior to GOLO, I have tried everything; shakes, no carb, low carb, dairy free, you name it. I decided to try GOLO because I felt out of control, and I looked like it too.

I took a day or two to go over the meal plans and system and then did my shopping. The food choices are so open. This eating really becomes what you want it to be, with the exception of processed food. The inches came off quicker than the pounds, but at day 53, I had lost 20 lbs and 6 inches off my waist. You will never worry about going hungry, as the food is plentiful. You can still have dairy and bread and lose weight.

I am now down 30 lbs and two pant sizes. This is it for me. The GOLO way of life is mine.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 96 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2016

Does it work?

By Joanna, Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I needed something that was safe & didn't make me sick to my stomach taking it. I had tried Metformin (which made my stomach a mess & is no longer prescribed by doctors). I read a review that said Golo was a scam but I'm not one for gossip & figured if none of them died after trying it I'd give it a shot. I used it for 2-3 months then went for a clinical blood test. When the doctor reviewed the blood test she said "Now that's what we like to see! Your A1c is 7." I don't know anything about A1c but she was happy 'til I told her I wasn't taking any of the sugar meds they had prescribed but was taking Golo. I haven't been trying to lose weight and I haven't been going with any foods I like either. At 73 I want to enjoy my foods before I kick the bucket & this is no scam Folks. This supplement does feed the pancreas & did the job for me. I was diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic at 36. I'm 73 now so if this works for me imagine what it can do for a younger person.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing.

Helpful Review? 177 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2016

Still working on it

By Candi Rivera, Roselle, NJ, Verified Reviewer

GOLO seems so far to be working for me and I hope that the weight loss is going to work too.

So far I feel good and my body totally feels different and better. I will weigh myself on Sunday, it has been three weeks now so I believe it's time to get on the scale. Ever since I started cooking the meals and eating the breakfast plan I have been noticing and feeling full, not hungry after every meal.

I am a full blown diabetic for 30 years now so my weight has been a challenge with the ups and downs of weight control. Here goes nothing and I am hoping this is my last stop.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 122 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2016

GREAT PLAN, 10 pounds off in 11 days.

By Susan, Lake Wylie, SC, Verified Reviewer

I got my package 11 days ago. I have followed it to the T. I have lost 10 pounds in 11 days. I read every booklet and took everything as exactly as they said. I'm amazed, as nothing else has worked, and I can't afford NutriSystem, and the food on Nutrisystem has horrible ratings. So I couldn't see paying $300 a month, for a bunch of garbage.

You have to do what GOLO says which means NO processed foods, No snacking of any kind. I have eaten WHOLE foods, and just the right amounts. I am not hungry, and I feel great.

Prior, I couldn't even get out of bed in mornings. I'd go back to sleep after I dropped my kids at school. Since I started with GOLO, I only did that 1 time in the last 11 days as I have a lot more energy.

I'm motivated but if you don't do what they say. it isn't going to work, I don't guess. It was a little confusing and overwhelming at first, but I got used to what portions were, and what I could eat and now I'm good.

I stay at home, so I have more time to prepare and work at it. For snacks, I eat a handful of raw almonds or raw pecans and drink only water and follow their matrix structured meals. I don't have many cravings at all for sweets and my scale has been a great motivator. I weigh myself at the same time, right when I get up each morning with no clothes. It's important to weigh yourself at the same time each morning as weight fluctuates during the day. This is the only true way to know if you are gaining or losing weight.

During my second week, I began to exercise for 20 minutes a day. This is my third day of exercise. It does work. I take 2 pills with each meal because I have a lot of weight to lose (62 pounds to be exact). Not sure I will get all of it off but I am motivated and I feel so much better. I have high hopes that I can do it now.

The cost of the supplements are not that bad either, and you don't have to take them forever. As for Nutrisystem, as soon as you stop buying/eating their food, boom, the weight is back.

Can you eat bars and drinks for your whole life? I can't. This is real food, so how can you go wrong? Plus it is quite a bit of food I would say. Try GOLO if you are serious about changing your life and committing to what you have to do.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 196 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2016

Excellent Program

By Pamela, Plainfield, WI, Verified Reviewer

This is day three of starting and I am already down 3 pounds. I have found with Release my cravings for sweets has diminished. I also find I am not really all that hungry, but I follow the plan for meals anyway. Once you figure out the Matrix, it is very easy to follow. Similar to Weight Watchers only healthier as you make balanced meal choices. It is portion control and you can have desert is you desire, just calculate the meal value. I can even enjoy a glass of wine.

I first saw the ad for this about two months ago and thought this is just another one of those auto ship things. Boy was I wrong. It is so affordable and the last diet you will ever need, as it is lifestyle change eating REAL food. I am pre-diabetic which was concerning me and I did not want to go on insulin. I feel this is a game changer for me and will ward off any future issues with diabetes.

I do wish they would come up with a cookbook. That would be awesome. In the meantime, it is simple enough to figure out meals. I know it says not to lose too fast, so I am guessing it is more water weight at first and will taper off to normal weight loss. I am so glad I took the chance and am very impressed with the materials to get one started.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Oct 18, 2016

Pamela,

We are so happy to hear that the program is going well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress and don't forget to join the GOLO Members Facebook group! :)

Helpful Review? 164 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2016

GOLO is a lot of work

By Gary Cline, Novato, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am writing this review in the hopes that readers will learn more about my personal experiences with the GOLO plan and hopefully benefit. To begin, I purchased the plan in July of 2016 and received my GOLO "box" toward the end of July. My official "start" date was August 2nd, 2016. My starting weight was 183.5 pounds. I had already lost about 5 pounds from my high of 188 pounds on July 15th. My goal weight is 165 - 170 pounds.

By my simple calculations a GOLO Fuel Point is equal to about 3.12 calories. You can see, for example that two eggs equals 50 GOLO points and when multiplied by 3.12, equals about 156 calories, the standard for two 50 gram eggs. So, when you extrapolate this out further for me, my GOLO daily food allowance is 450 points plus 58 "Fit Points" for walking/jogging for 45 minutes a day. You get a total "Daily Fuel Allowance" of 508 points which, when multiplied by 3.12 you get the caloric equivalent of 1,584 in what I call the "Caloric Fuel Allowance."

GOLO says you can go 10% below or 10% higher than your "Daily Fuel Allowance" which, for me would be between 457 points (1426 calories) and 558 points (1743 calories).

I am 67 years old, 5'10" and I know that my Body Weight Maintenance level is approximately 1500 calories/Day. Theoretically, If I consume less than that I lose weight, and the converse is true also. However, I know positively that the only way I can and do lose weight is by consuming around 1,000 calories (or less) a day. This is because with my Maintenance Level at 1500 calories, I would not and did not lose weight on the GOLO Plan.

But don't get me wrong here. I'm not bashing the GOLO Plan at all. But now, having tried it for 4 weeks, I realized what was going on and I've made adjustments to the plan that are specific to me and only me. I totally agree with all the GOLO "Matrix Meal Plan" and all of the nutritional advice about eating Real Food, etc. That has helped me a lot. But what I've done is just to simply scale back the portion sizes so that my daily caloric equivalent comes out to 1,000 or less per day. At this rate I figure I'm losing 500 calories a day from my maintenance level of 1500, which equates to 500 times 6 = 3,000 less calories a week, which equals one pound. I can see why so many people have failed using the GOLO Plan out of the box and why it has received so many bad to horrible reviews here. I think that this plan would work best for people who are less than 40 and are simply obese or morbidly obese. Do I think that the GOLO support staff could do a better job? Absolutely! But this plan is similar in a lot of ways to Weight Watchers except WW allows you way, way too much food and calories.

One last thing. The special "Release" supplement is no magic pill. I think it does help some with regularity issues associated with just about any "diet" but the truth is you can take a 250mg Magnesium supplement and achieve the same, or better, results and it's a lot cheaper.

Hope this review helps.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 254 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 26, 2016

Bogus!

By Ceci, Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this product a little over a month ago and I am here to tell you that this stuff wasn't for me and the customer service group are rude as heck.

I did not get my money back, the product doesn't work and I am warning you so that you don't get ripped pop like I did. Save your hard earned money. My advice is to get on a good healthy food plan and work out regularly and you will see results.

Shame on GOLO for preying on the vulnerable! They should be ashamed. The only thing I have to say to them is that Karma is a, you know what.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Ceci,

When we spoke with you today, you advised us that you were only able to use the product for a few days and had to stop due to a sensitivity to one of the ingredients.

You returned the supplements to us but threw away the rest of the items that came in the Rescue Plan. We issued you a refund for the items that were returned and advised you that we would be happy to issue a refund for the additional amount if you could return the other items. I am sorry that you were unhappy with this response however we did do all that we could for you and we did refund you in full for the items that were returned.

GOLO has helped many people who had previously been unable to lose weight by "getting on a good healthy food plan and working out". It is not always that easy especially for those with Insulin Resistance. Again, we are sorry that we were unable to issue you a full refund and if you are able to locate the other items we would still be more than happy to issue the final refund when you are able to return them to us.

Helpful Review? 286 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2016

No results

By Natalie I., Boca Raton, FL, Verified Reviewer

After struggling to lose weight with working out -- walking several miles per week, minimizing intake of carbs, and following the Insulin-resistance diet to maintain blood sugar levels. I had hoped that in taking the Golo supplement, that these nutrients would help my body to metabolize more effectively to produce weight loss.

As I opened the Golo package, a bunch of leaflets dropped out. I found the directions for the eating plan confusing. So, after just not "getting" the diet plan, I read the book The Insulin Resistance Diet. I have been following that and taking the Golo.

I followed the instructions and consistently took a Golo pill with my meals. However, after more than 30 days I have just not seen the results that other people have shared. I recognize that this product is not a magic pill. However, it just didn't work for me. I have no issues with the customer service people, as I was charged properly and my shipment arrived as ordered. The issue is the product just doesn't seem to be effective in helping me reach my goals of weight loss.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Natalie,

I am sorry that you found the plan confusing and I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally to assist you with the plan. I am not completely familiar with the book that you refer to however, I do know that if you were following it you should be able to follow ours AND it will most likely be much easier. Please call me directly at 800-730-4656.

Helpful Review? 187 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 12, 2016

Weight loss on Golo

By Lisa, Marshalltown, IA, Verified Reviewer

I started taking Golo at the end of March 2016. I have lost 20 pounds since I started this program and I feel great! My face has shrunk and my overall appearance has decreased. I look and feel more healthy and slimmer.

I am more confident and my A1C is 5.5! I had been back and forth from 5.7 -6.2. I feel like Golo has helped me maintain my weight and I still want to drop another 10 pounds. I have lost weight before but I feel like I am losing fat this time and it shows. Thanks Golo.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Lisa,

This is great news! We are so happy to hear that things are going well for you. Please keep us updated.

Helpful Review? 122 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2016

Just started so can't give 5-STARS yet

By Robin Vecchio, Sunnyvale, CA, Verified Reviewer

Heard about this on a TV commercial twice (Not an infomercial; they don't really hard-sell). As one with a lot of stress, high blood pressure, type-2 diabetes & obesity, I was very interested in a product that talked about helping with INSULIN RESISTANCE, but also claimed to offer restoration of overall health, in general.

So, being one who DOES NOT have money to spend, and DOES NOT try just anything and everything that's new on the market, I did a TON of in-depth research on GOLO: reviews, videos, philosophy, product ingredients, approach, and SUCCESS STORIES! I even called the company and spoke to a manager because the phone rep didn't have all the answers to my many questions. I have tried a lot of weight-loss plans (Weight Watchers 3x, Jenny Craig, The Food Lovers Diet, Deal-a-Meal, etc.), and was NOT successful.

What is different about GOLO than all the others is 1) IT'S AFFORDABLE, 2) there's NO AUTO SHIP (so everything is in the control of the consumer), 3) there is FREE SHIPPING, 4) there's a 30-day Money Back Guarantee, 5) the supplement is ALL NATURAL INGREDIENTS with NO CAFFEINE, & most importantly 6) this program encompasses ALL OUR BODY NEEDS to get back in metabolic balance & optimal health: RIGHT NUTRIENTS of RIGHT (whole, unprocessed) foods of right proportions, and the right amount daily movement.

I realized eating the foods recommended is not only healthier but CHEAPER. I tossed out all my processed/boxed items, cleaned out my refrigerator of junk food (except for the 1/2 carton of ice cream for when I want a "cheat") & though still learning "the system" am already feeling better on Day-3!

GOLO offers a lot of support, online, by phone, email & even a closed Facebook Group where you get inspiration, discuss challenges, discover recipes, and get support from other GOLOists. The power of success lies in the hands of the consumer that will make it or break it for them. GOLO does not force you to buy their foods, does not auto-ship, ships for FREE, offers an optional exercise plan (w/bands) but just recommends any sort of exercise/movement daily to help you get healthier overall, and tells you the foods (whole/unprocessed) you need to get healthier, and which ones to avoid.

This program has a lot of testimonies of successful people who have lowered their blood pressure as well as their A1C, triglycerides, etc., as well as lost inches in their middle, lost weight, gained more energy, slept better and had less stress! For $30/bottle (or $50/for 2) it's TOTALLY worth the investment, but like with anything...What you put into it will depend on what you get out of it.

GO GOLO!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 14, 2016

Robin,

I am so glad to hear that you are satisfied with the program. Please keep us informed of your progress! :)

Helpful Review? 243 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 21, 2016

Using the positives of the Golo program

By Anonymous, Verified Reviewer

So far, I've lost 3 inches of belly fat and 5 pounds in about 6 weeks. And that's with a holiday family picnic in there with over indulging. A past member of Weight Watchers, I am not a fan of counting and micro managing day to day eating logs. So getting into Golo's Fuel Points was quickly tossed aside. I truly don't like the idea of trying to calculate how much more you can eat every time you add a little more exercise/activity into your day, too. To me, that is too much food-focused living.

Golo also focuses on making your own healthier foods instead of eating prepackaged items. While ideal, this is tough for people with busy schedules out of the house. Their recommended cooking roughly 2 hours a week works here for some meals, but supplementing with canned soups and other prepackaged items is more realistic still. That may and should evolve over time: goal here.

Note: it is summer, too hot to heat up the kitchen. Crockpot cooking in the basement is the focus now.

What works best here is to review their basic food plan, skip all the points calculating and nonsense, and instead use common sense. Develop your own customized plan with their tools. I add in some of Weight Watcher's basics (like visual measuring with servings) and Weigh Down Workshop plus Overeaters Anon for handling cravings, binges and other issues.

Also, instead of using their Facebook closed group, I prefer Overeaters Anon group. The Golo FB group focuses way too much on fuel points and how many are in every item in a recipe and so on. It's like Golo strives to compete with the Weight Watcher's point system, which is crazy because WW has spent tons of time, money and people hours building that so members quickly get points with tech tools. Golo will have a long way to go to catch up.

The price for the plan and product seem fine, even for the exercise band. Shipping was prompt. Customer service is quick & courteous via email, Facebook and on the phone. The staff seem to try to work with you to find the positives and customize a working plan for your lifestyle. So 2 thumbs up!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

This is great to hear! Thanks so much for keeping us informed.

Helpful Review? 124 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 65

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.