Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Gundry MD Prebiothrive

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Gundry MD Prebiothrive

Overall Rating


431 Customer Reviews


Gundry MD Prebiothrive is a once-daily supplement that allegedly feeds good bacteria in your gut and limit bad bacteria, thereby increasing digestive health and energy. However, some information is lacking to make further conclusions on the supplement's efficacy.

Write a Review

Prebiothrive Review: Does It Work And Is It Safe?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: Jun 19, 2020

What Is Prebiothrive?

The Gundry MD Prebiothrive supplement utilizes prebiotics to help the good bacteria in your gut thrive, while simultaneously reducing the number of bad bacteria.

Gundry alleges the following benefits in its supplement:

  • Bring natural balance to your digestive system
  • Increased energy
  • Decreased junk food cravings
  • Less gas, bloating, and discomfort.

Many of us don’t eat the foods we should, so our digestion and overall health can take a hit.

This article assesses the ingredients of Prebiothrive to determine if it's effective for you.

What’s the Difference Between a Probiotic and a Prebiotic?

Probiotics are specific strains of bacteria that can help improve digestion, boost immune system response, and more—although there’s limited evidence that they can help you lose weight.

And if your digestion is much more effective and you’re feeling good, this can translate into secondary benefits like improved energy.

On the other hand, prebiotics are a form of fiber that can’t be digested by your body, so they pass into your gut mostly intact, where they can act as a food source for probiotic bacteria. In other words, it helps them thrive.

Although most prebiotics don’t focus on a specific bacteria strain, in order to meet the definition, they must increase the number or activity of bifidobacteria, a bacteria “family” often associated with improving constipation, reducing total cholesterol, addressing some aspects of IBS, and more.


Prebiothrive claims to improve digestion, reduce stomach discomfort, promote a balanced gut microbiome, and boost energy. The company website advises taking 1 scoop of Prebiothrive every morning with 8oz of water, preferably with a probiotic to create the “synbiotic effect.”

The effects are thought to be possible through their blend of the following prebiotic ingredients:

Acacia Gum

This non-digestible polysaccharide has had various purposes in many cultures over the span of centuries. It is thought to promote wound healing, relieve pain, and support oral health in addition to the proposed dietary benefits.

In 120 healthy women, those randomized to treatment with 30g/day of acacia gum had a significant reduction in BMI and body fat percentage over 6-weeks.

Acacia gum supplementation at 10g/day over 4-weeks boosted the friendly gut bacteria bifidobacteria and lactobacilli in healthy volunteers more than an equal dose of inulin.

Agave Inulin

Inulin from the blue agave plant offers a rich source of fiber.

Obese adults experienced reduced hunger, desire to eat, and food consumption when randomized to inulin supplementation of 12-weeks when compared to controls.

Inulin supplementation in constipated adults at 12g daily for 4-weeks promoted softer stools, increased stool frequency, and increased amounts of 3 different friendly gut bacteria.

In 40 subjects with prediabetes, those randomized to 30g/day of inulin over 4-weeks reduced insulin resistance.


Offering a rich source of both fiber and omega-3 fatty acid, flaxseed is thought to benefit heart, bone, and mental health.

In healthy adults, 50 g flaxseed/day over 4-weeks increased bowel movements per week by 30%.

In a review of 45 randomized studies, various dosing regimens and delivery methods of flaxseed were used: whole flaxseed ranging from 13 to 90 per day, flaxseed oil ranging from 1 to 15.4 g per day, and lignan ranging from 50 to 600mg per day.

They concluded that whole flaxseed supplementation can reduce body weight, BMI, and waist circumference, particularly in overweight individuals.

Galacto-oligosaccharides (GOS)

GOS are indigestible fibers found naturally in mammalian milk that are thought to boost friendly gut bacteria and aid digestion.

In overweight and obese subjects, those randomized to 15g of GOS daily for 12-weeks experienced increased fecal Bifidobacterium.

A mixture of α-galacto-oligosaccharides at 5g daily boosted friendly gut bacteria in healthy adults, while it improved bowel function in constipated subjects.

Guar Gum

Guar gum is a gel-forming fiber obtained from the Cyamoposis tetragonolobus L. plant.

Guar gum was not an effective mean of preventing diet induced obesity in mice. A review of 20 trials found that guar gum was not effective in reducing body weight.

In middle-aged women with elevated cholesterol, 15g of guar gum daily significantly reduced body weight but not cholesterol levels.

In constipated adults, 5mg of guar gum daily over 4-weeks significantly reduced colon transit time and the number of bowel movements with straining, while also improving stool form.

The Takeaway:

Prebiothrive’s blend of prebiotics does contain ingredients that have some available research.

Acacia gum may offer weight loss benefits, while also providing the ability to boost friendly gut bacteria better than inulin.

Inulin may offer weight loss benefits, reduce constipation, and decrease insulin resistance.

Flaxseed may similarly offer weight loss reduction and improve bowel function.

GOS may boost friendly gut bacteria in healthy and obese adults, while also aiding with constipation.

The weight-loss benefits of guar gum are mixed, though there may be a role in improving bowel function.

These effects have been investigated in a wide variety of dosing regimens and methods of delivery (powered, tablets, etc.).

This, when coupled with the fact we do not know the amounts of each ingredient in Prebiothrive, makes it challenging to conclude the efficacy of this product.

Potential Side Effects

Acacia gum was safe at 10g/day, though gas and bloating was present. Inulin was safe even at 30g/day. Flaxseed at high doses and in various methods of delivery is generally safe, though diarrhea and stomach pain is possible.

GOS and guar gum at 15g daily did not have serious adverse effects.

The vast majority of research ranges from 4-24-weeks, so we don’t know the long-term effects of these ingredients.

While prebiotics are generally safe to use, there is a risk for mild gas, bloating, and cramping. These symptoms are easily alleviated with reduced dosing or discontinued use.

The Cost

How much you’ll pay for Prebiothrive largely depends on where you purchase it. For example, if purchased through Gundry MD’s SilenceYourCravings (landing page) URL, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $49.99
  • 3 Jars: $132.00
  • 6 Jars: $199.00

On the other hand, if purchased directly through the Gundry MD main site, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $79.00
  • 3 Jars: $222.00
  • 6 Jars: $414.00

Prebiothrive comes with a 90-day money-back guarantee, less S&H charges.

The Bottom Line

The prebiotics included in Prebiothrive may benefit your digestion, friendly gut bacteria, and BMI. While the dosing in the studies that support these benefits vary greatly, we do not have information detailing the amount of each ingredient in this supplement, however.

This makes fully defining the safety and effectiveness of Prebiothrive difficult.

Prebiothrive may be an expensive first-step for these reasons.

You can find many supplements containing both probiotics and prebiotics in the same formulation (although not from Gundry MD), which might deliver for a lower cost

Customer Reviews

4.2 Stars out of 431 Reviews
5 Star:52% 4 Star:31% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:6%
87% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Gundry MD Prebiothrive:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Feb 17, 2017

Upset stomach

By Mike, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I took Prebiothrive daily until only about three scoops were left in the container, when suddenly my stomach began to feel very upset and painful.

I called the number on the container and asked for advice, and was just told to keep taking it for a few more days, ven though I had already taken almost a whole container, and if the upset painful stomach did not stop, that I was advised to quit taking it. I have had no other contact from Dr. Gundry's company despite sending emails and reviews concerning my experience and asking them to contact me to discuss it.

I feel the product is very expensive and keep getting more sales pitches on Vital Reds and Greens, even though I had to decline the initial sales pitches about 5-6 times before I could check out when I first purchased it. I feel that if Prebiothrive does all that Dr. Gundry said in the video, why does he have to pitch all the other expensive supplements, such as Vital Reds, Greens, supplements for circulation, etc.

I purchased this product on 1/9/17. It seems this site might be connected to Dr. Gundry, otherwise why ask for my order number? Also, I wonder if this review will be posted. I see only positive reviews with high ratings. I go to other sites and see many negative and questions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Feb 22, 2017

Hello Mike, Aria here with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with Prebiothrive.

This review site is a third party review site that is not affiliated with Gundry MD in any way. We simply comment back to our customers on this site to make sure they are having the best experience possible. We like to offer our customers discounts on additional products they love so that they can save even more. The purchase of these additional products is always optional.

We stand by our money back guarantee, so I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for your product. Please reach out to me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can assist you personally during this process. Thank you Mike, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Helpful Review? 62 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 6, 2017


By Susan Hilty, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I purchased Prebiothrive from Gundry MD. This is a really large container, and you need to take a really big scoop. It does not dissolve in water and the CLUMPS are really horrid tasting. I travel and it is not adaptable at all to do so. The scoop is too large to get the product into a water bottle!

I called the company to inform them of my concerns and ask for assistance in finding a better way to travel with my vitamins. They had no recommendations except to refund my money, but then they were only going to do 40% refund as I only had two of three containers left. Isn't that 66%?

By the way, it is not a hassle free refund, you have to return the product, and they only refund you what you return! Even though the ad clearly stated a 100% refund if you are dissatisfied for any reason at any time and have used all the product! Upon continued discussion you only need to return the containers, they can be empty (?). And you pay the postage if they give you a return authorization. This conversation went way out of bounds of the original call for help, and I will not be back!

Very disappointed in the attitudes and in the "helpful staff's" interpretation of the POLICY!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Aug 24, 2017

Hi there Susan, Aria from Gundry MD here. Thank you so much for leaving a valuable review of Prebiothrive. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the taste of the product. May I suggest that you add Prebiothrive to a fruit smoothie? Many customers enjoy consuming it this way.

Our customer’s satisfaction is our number one priority. I’m so sorry that your experience did not reflect this. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if you are requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. Our refund information is clearly stated on the Gundry MD website.

As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. Please e-mail me directly at aria@gundrymd.com. I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been.

Thank you.

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2017

Not good

By Patti Elledge, Asheville, NC, Verified Reviewer

I watched the online educational video by Dr. Gundry and felt it was a good idea, so I bought it. I took it for a week as recommended, but with unpleasant results (stomach cramps), which is not what I typically experience with good probiotic and fermented products. I waited a week, then began taking it again, thinking that perhaps it was just a "phase." However, the same thing happened again.

It was then that I looked at the ingredients, which contained milk. I was sorely surprised and very disappointed that he had never mentioned that the product is grown in milk. I frankly would never have purchased it. I do not take dairy products and really felt very shocked that you would promote a product without informing people.

When I called today to ask about a refund, I was told I had to "ship the product back at my own cost." That is an insult to injury since I already paid $5 for shipping, and now have to do it again so you can throw it in the trash!

FYI: I am an Allied health care and behavioral medicine practitioner specializing in body-mind techniques for more than 25 years and have a large practice. I am continually recommending good products to my clients. Sadly, I find the Gundry company is not showing up well. They do not get my support, only my disappointment, since I am feeling hassled and annoyed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 17, 2017

Hello Patti, thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are unable to continue using the product due to the dairy in the product. We always recommend reading the ingredient list and speaking to your primary physician prior to beginning any new supplements to ensure that you will not have an adverse reaction to any of the individual ingredients used. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund of your purchased products. Please feel free to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can expedite your refund for you. Thank you Patti, I look forward to hearing from you.

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 7, 2017

Found this information not to be honest.

By Sharon Kerr, Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I ordered three jars of Vital Reds and then found out that another order was placed, which I didn't order. Altogether, instead of a little more than $83.00, I got another cost of more than $244 (which I didn't order).

I called one number, but it was not working number. I found another number and talked with someone. Although the time has passed for it to be shipped, it hasn't been shipped yet. I tried to cancel the order but was told to wait until I receive it, and then return it. There was no date as to when I should receive the order, or even if that's the truth.

I wouldn't order it again, nor would I believe this is factual.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Feb 17, 2017

Hello Sharon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you received more product than you ordered. To keep our customers satisfied, the product usually ships within 24 hours, which makes it difficult to change orders after they are placed. We are always able to refund you (or make an exchange for you) after you receive the product. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I may better assist you with your issue. I would be more than happy to look into this for you and begin your return process. Thank you Sharon, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Helpful Review? 53 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2018

Does not dissolve and you CAN taste it.

By Jane, USA, Verified Reviewer

I bought six jars of Prebiothrive and signed up for the auto ship to get the best deal after watching Dr. Gundry's hour-long video.

I do believe the product has helped me, but I still have concerns. The products came in very large bottles that were only half full. To me, this is deceiving. That was the first red flag. I don't understand the company's wasteful practice nor do I care for the space they take up on my shelf.

Dr. Gundry said in the video that the product completely dissolves and you cannot taste it. Not true at all! Red flag #2. It never completely dissolves, even after 35 minutes of stirring and letting it sit (I've tried it in water and juice), and then repeating that over and over.

There is also a very definite taste - Red flag #3. I have gotten used to it but didn't think I was going to be able to after the first few times. It also has a very distinct odor, but I have gotten used to that as well.

While I think it is helping to settle my gut, I do feel deceived and very disappointed with claims about the product that Dr. Gundry made himself. To be honest, it makes me question everything else he says about his products.

(If there is a response from the Gundry staff, please address the claims. We all know we can send the products back for a full refund if we are unhappy, minus shipping costs.)

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Feb 22, 2018

Hi Jane, I’m Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of your experience with Prebiothrive so far. I am so happy to hear that you are experiencing positive results while using Prebiothrive! This is great news! I would like to address some of the points you made in your review. First, I am so sorry to hear that you did not like the size of the container that Prebiothrive came in. The size of the Prebiothrive jar is standard for this amount of powder. We want to make sure that customers are not wasting or dropping excess powder while scooping Prebiothrive so the extra space in the container prevents this from happening.

Secondly, I am so sorry to hear that the product is not dissolving and you are not enjoying the taste. I have a solution that will fix both of these issues! Just blend Prebiothrive into your favorite fruit smoothie! Many of our customers enjoy consuming it this way because it tastes good and makes everything evenly mixed. I hope that this addresses the issues! If you have any other questions or concerns at all, please email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com, and I can assist you right away! And as you mentioned, if you are ever unsatisfied with Prebiothrive, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund! Take care!

Helpful Review? 52 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 24, 2017

Poor results

By Sandy, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I ordered Prebiothrive on November 8, 2016, and got it later in that month when I began using it. Within a few days, I became very sick, experienced abdominal pain and gas so bad it was waking me up at night.

I spoke to a representative from the Gundry MD company who told me to try it again at a later date. I held off till after the holidays and tried it again with repeated results. After one dose I began to feel like I had the stomach flu. I contacted the company about getting the 100% refund but was told that since it was four months since my order was placed, I was no longer eligible.

Not only was this product a waste of money but caused ill effects twice.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 27, 2017

Hello Sandy, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a valuable review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with the product. We always recommend that you consult your primary physician prior to beginning any new regimen, especially if you are experiencing anything negative, to make sure you’re not allergic to any specific ingredient. Regardless, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for giving our product a fair trial. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can personally expedite your refund for you. Thank you Sandy, I look forward to hearing from you.

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 26, 2017

Had to stop taking

By Johanna Carroll, California, Verified Reviewer

I was very excited to try this product. I started with a minimal amount for my body to adjust to this. Unfortunately, I have had to stop taking it. I gave it a good two weeks and was faithful in the serving amount and drinking plenty of water with it and throughout the entire day. Lots of water.

I started getting very bad cramps and actually got constipated. Yes, I did everything that was recommended and have taken all carbs out of my diet. There was nothing to absorb the product or block it from doing its job. I have been off of it for about five days and feel 100% better.

I definitely tried to make this work but had to stop.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

May 3, 2017

Hello Johanna,

Thank you for leaving a review for Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. We always recommend that you consult your primary physician before taking any new supplements to ensure you will not have a reaction to any of the ingredients. Please feel free to email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I would be more than happy to refund you for your entire order.

Thank you Johanna, I look forward to hearing from you.

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2018

Product is horrible

By Ron, USA, Verified Reviewer

This stuff will not dissolve no matter what you do. Telling people to mix it in a drink is simply lying to the public. This is fraud. Call it false advertising or whatever you like. I feel embarrassed that I fell for this fake story.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Jan 29, 2018

Hi Ron, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. I am so sorry to hear that you have experienced issues with dissolving Prebiothrive. Many customers have had success with adding Prebiothrive to their favorite smoothie. The blender has helped customers mix it evenly. We would absolutely never create false advertisements, that would be highly unethical and illegal. I am really sorry to hear that you feel this way about it. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com, and I can do this for you right away. Take care!

Helpful Review? 50 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 15, 2017

Constipation plus obstruction?

By Greg, Wailuku, HI, Verified Reviewer

The only reason I am sharing this is to WARN others of an experience I am currently undergoing.

I started using this product, PREBIOTHRIVE, two days ago. The constipation started almost the same time. I luckily had a very small movement of dribble (sorry for the picture) with little content. There was pain in my lower left quadrant of my torso. This morning, I took another dose before breakfast, thinking that perhaps it was my body acclimating to the product, (MISTAKE) as now along with the lower left quadrant pain, I am experiencing upper right quadrant pain. A few minutes ago I took some Milk of Magnesia, hoping that will help the bloating, gas, and constipation.

I also called the Gundry MD support line to request an RMA to return the product. I have no doubt it is the product. The gal went through an extensive question and answer dialogue with me, and refunded my purchase. She did say that another department would be calling me with more questions, and to have the jar available to answer (manufacture date, lot number, etc.). She verified my phone numbers etc. Very responsible, concerned, and caring young lady. She suggested prune juice, so if you're starting off, have some of that available.

Most of your comments that I have read are OK, so I guess my body doesn't like one or more of the ingredients in the formula. I just hope I don't end up in the emergency room. If you're so inclined, please say a little prayer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 21, 2017

Hello Greg, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. If you are experiencing any discomfort while taking the product, we recommend you consult your primary physician to ensure you are not having a reaction to one or more of the ingredients. I am happy to hear the refund process went smoothly. If you have any other question or comments, please feel free to email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you Greg.

Helpful Review? 48 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 24, 2018

I was skeptical of this at first

By Anita Kearsley, Oakdale, CA, Verified Reviewer

I had just done two months of antibiotics and knew what they did to your stomach and intestines, so I looked online for something to improve my flora. I came across Dr. Gundry’s product. I ordered three bottles. When they came, I thought how could they help me? Since they were there, I decided to use them. The price was reasonable, but I’m halfway through my third bottle and couldn’t afford to sign but for monthly renewal. I still can’t.

Anyway, when I went to buy another bottle, it was beyond my price range. Now with that said, I want everyone that reads this to understand I’m not being paid to write this. In two and a half months I’ve lost 6 lbs. That doesn’t sound like much, but I didn’t change my diet or do exercise. I have amazing energy, plus I just had my blood work done, and the doctor said everything was normal. I’ve always been a prediabetic and high cholesterol. My cholesterol went down 8 points, and I’m no longer considered pre-diabetic. Wow! I mixed it in my oatmeal every morning. That’s the only thing I changed.

I can’t afford the product because it doubled, so I will look for another product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 9, 2018

30-day supply really only 25

By JoanneScara, Batavia, IL, Verified Reviewer

The container clearly states 30 servings, but I only got 25 servings from the package. When I called customer service, they said nothing they can do. Even though their website clearly states 100% money back guarantee if not satisfied, there is still nothing they could do unless I purchased more product. Why would I purchase more with false advertising? I would not recommend to a friend. The product is basically fiber that helps you go.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 12, 2018

Hi Joanne! I'm Aria from Gundry MD. I am so sorry to hear that you did not receive a jar that contained the full 30 days of Prebiothrive. All of our jars should contain a 30-day supply with a leveled off scoop. I will look into this right away to further explore the issue. We do wholeheartedly stand by our 90-Day Money Back Guarantee, so I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Just email me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com, and I can begin the refund process. I am so sorry for the frustration and miscommunication that we have caused, but I look forward to hearing from you and making this right. Take care!

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 431

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.