HiSmile Review: An In-Depth Look

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 22, 2020

HiSmile offers a home teeth whitening kit that it claims will give you a brighter smile without pain or permanent tooth damage. You can purchase a whitening kit and as well as refills to maintain your results over the long term.

Our analysis will help you understand if this product works and if it is the right option for you.

Pros
  • No peroxide ingredients (less risk of enamel problems)
  • Active ingredients show clinical evidence for whitening
Cons
  • More expensive than other brands
  • Not all users experience results
  • Still led to enamel damage for some customers

How Does HiSmile Work?

HiSmile teeth whitening kit combines a whitening gel with LED light to purportedly deliver long-term results through treatment sessions that can last as little as ten minutes.

As with most home whitening kits, HiSmile will only work for certain kinds of tooth staining.

“This at-home method is the most effective on teeth stained by coffee, wines, or food,” shares Dr. Mike Golpa, a dentist and CEO of the G4 by Golpa dental implant centers. “It won’t be that useful on teeth yellowing due to aging or naturally yellow dentin.”

To use, you will need first to brush your teeth and attach the whitening mouth tray to the LED light. Twist off the cap of the gel syringe and apply ¼ of the gel pack to the top of the tray and another ¼ to the bottom.

Put the tray on your teeth and turn the light on. The device will automatically turn off after a ten-minute session, and you can then rinse out any excess gel.

The treatment will continue to work on your teeth until you eat or drink again, so the company recommends whitening your teeth right before bed.

For best results, repeat the treatment for at least six nights. Your results should last at least 3-4 weeks, and you can purchase HiSmile Gel Refills to maintain your results over time.

Expect to get two uses per syringe, and plan to treat your teeth approximately once every two weeks.

The whitening effect will last longer between treatments if you avoid dark foods and staining drinks like red wine and coffee. Store the syringes in a cool, dry place between use.

Though this whitening product is recommended for people 12 and over, pregnant and breastfeeding women should speak with their doctor before use.

It’s also suitable for all kinds of natural teeth (even if you have fillings), though having braces can lead to uneven results. Those with veneers and crowns should talk with their dentist first, as these won’t respond to whitening like your natural teeth.

Analysis of Key Ingredients

Unlike many teeth whitening products, HiSmile doesn’t contain hydrogen peroxide and instead relies on the following ingredients:

Phthalimidoperoxycaproic acid (PAP) is an active bleaching agent that oxidizes discolored molecules inside your teeth so that they have a whitening effect. The company claims it is as effective as traditional teeth whitening agents but runs less risk of harming your enamel than hydrogen peroxide.

One 2017 study found that a bleaching agent containing PAP produced significant whitening effects for teeth compared to placebo within 24 hours of a single treatment.

Hydroxyapatite is the primary inorganic material that makes up your bones and tooth enamel. In whitening products, it acts as a restoration treatment for the surface of your teeth that also provides a whitening effect. Evidence shows that it can act as a promising alternative to oxidizing bleach treatments.

Potassium Nitrate is a common desensitizing agent used in dentistry to protect your nerves during drilling procedures. It’s added to whitening products to make them more comfortable to use and reduce tooth sensitivity.

The other component of this teeth whitening system is the LED lighting. According to HiSmile, LEDs accelerate the teeth whitening process by activating the gel and getting it to work faster.

However, the clinical evidence for these results is sparse. One 2012 study compared the whitening results of an in-office dental treatment to LED/gel treatments and found that the home treatment’s effects were insignificant compared to the in-office whitening.

Another study in 2014 confirmed that using a light activator during a whitening treatment had no impact on the process or the overall whitening results.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 150 customers have left reviews for HiSmile on our site, and these average 3.7-stars out of five. Here’s a summary:

Common Compliments:

  • Led to real whitening within a week
  • Easy and comfortable to use
  • Worked better than other brands

Common Complaints:

  • Didn’t whiten all user’s teeth
  • Some received faulty products
  • Damaged some user’s enamel
  • Not as effective as other whitening brands
  • Difficult to get in touch with customer service

Pricing and Return Policy

  • The HiSmile Home Whitening Kit costs $59.99. It includes a mouth tray, LED light, and three gel packs, which is enough for six whitening treatments.

  • Three-pack Gel Refills are available for $23.99.

  • You can also sign up for a Gel Refill subscription. Choose a refill frequency between one-three months, depending on your usage, and you’ll receive a 15% discount on every order for a total of $20.39.

HiSmile guarantees that your teeth will look a minimum of two shades lighter after using this kit as directed. You can request a refund if that doesn’t match your experience.

Popular Alternatives to HiSmile

HiSmile AuraGlow Snow Teeth Whitening
Price $59.99 $59.99 $149 (original) or $299 (wireless)
Products Included
  • Mouth Tray
  • LED Light
  • Three gel packs (enough for six treatments)
  • LED device
  • Two 5ml 35% carbamide peroxide whitening gel syringes (enough for 20 treatments)
  • Comfort fit mouth tray and storage case
  • LED mouthpiece
  • Three original strength and one extra strength serum wands (enough for 75 treatments)
  • Teeth whitening progress tracker
  • The wireless kit also includes anti-aging lip balm and desensitizing serum
Is Subscription Available? Yes, save 15% on gel refills Yes, save 25% on gel refills Yes, save 15% on serum refills
Active Ingredients Phthalimidoperoxycaproic acid (PAP), Hydroxyapatite, Potassium Nitrate Carbamide peroxide (35% and 44%) Hydrogen peroxide (6%-18%)
Reviews 3.7, 155 reviews (HighYa) 4.4, 13,700 reviews (Amazon) 3.0, 22 reviews (HighYa)

The two popular alternatives rely on peroxide ingredients.

Hydrogen peroxide is considered the traditional option for whitening teeth, and it’s what your dentist is most likely to use for in-house treatments.

It’s a common ingredient found in everything from medical supplies to mouthwash, but high concentrations have the potential to harm your enamel and consequently trigger tooth sensitivities.

Studies have found that lower concentrations used less frequently are the safest option, so keep this in mind when planning whitening treatments.

Carbamide peroxide can produce similar results, but it’s less likely to cause damage and takes longer to develop on the teeth.

This can be a pain if you want to eat and drink within a few hours after treatment, and it means that AuraGlow whitening products will work best before bed, not the middle of the day.

If you have sensitive teeth or are susceptible to enamel problems, we recommend sticking with HiSmile over the other two brands due to the lack of peroxide.

The Bottom Line

HiSmile teeth whitening products offer a viable alternative to potentially damaging peroxide, and clinical evidence and customer reviews both indicate that they will work.

At $10 per whitening treatment, you’ll pay much more for this brand than some of its competitors, and there’s minimal evidence that the LED light will make any difference for your teeth.

If you have a peroxide sensitivity, this is a brand we recommend.

Keep your expectations realistic about what your results could be and remember that they will be temporary—you’ll need to purchase more gel packs to maintain them over time.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of HiSmile:
  • 155 Customer Reviews
  • 65% Recommend This Product
3.7 out of 5
5 star: 60% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 25%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Disgusting treatment of customers

    Overall Experience:

    My delivery hadn't progressed for a week, so I emailed them. They told me I should call Australia Post. Australia Post tells me that HiSmile has only issued a manifest but didn't actually give them a physical parcel to send. So I email HiSmile asking them to follow up. They tell me to wait.

    So I wait. The delivery progressed as soon as I mentioned the issue to them. Then I email them asking for a resolution to my complaint, and why should I pay for delivery when they haven't delivered it on time, and I've had to spend time resolving their issue?

    They responded to tell me that I should visit nearby post offices to find my parcel. The delivery details clearly say it's in transit so why tell me to visit the post office? I have chronic health issues which make it difficult for me to leave the house and their treatment of me is plain cruel. They've not once offered to follow up on the whereabouts of my parcel or offered to treat me with any respect. It's one big cruel joke to them.

    I've paid for an item I haven't received, I've had to follow-up on the delivery that has never arrived, and they clearly get a rise out of torturing those with chronic health problems. Apparently, that's fun.

    I would be happy to share their email correspondence with the media. Not a good look.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 11, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Verity,

      Very sorry to hear you are not happy. Someone from customer care has responded to your emails. Please let me know if you need any more assistance.


  • Horrible delivery

    • By Dee Dee,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have placed an order to HiSmile on the 16th of October 2017 and paid for next day delivery. It has been two whole weeks, and the customer team kept on saying that there has been a delay every single time I asked them. This is the worst experience I have had with any online purchase. The customer care replied as if they did not care about their customers. I am still waiting for my parcel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No refund as I haven't taken photos before treatment

    • By Tiziana,
    • London, England,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The treatment didn't work for me. I asked for a refund and it was denied as I have not taken pictures before starting the treatment. I am sorry, but I didn't know it was NOT going to work? They should mention it on the box or instructions. PLEASE BE AWARE before buying the product. I am very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 11, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Tiziana,

      We're so sorry that you were unable to achieve your desired results. As stated in the terms of our website, to qualify for our money back Guarantee you must be able to provide us with before and after pictures. We value your feedback and we will pass on your suggestion along to our product development team.

      Feel free to email help@hismileteeth.com, if you wish to discuss further.


  • No response and can't track

    • By Malan,
    • Faroe Island,
    • Sep 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw HiSmile's products everywhere and thought that I would try it out. Everyone got good results and everything so it should work.

    I purchased it on the 14th of this month and got an email saying that the packed was being shipped and I could track it with a link in the email. Only to be thrown back onto my final order side to see a box where it said: "Direct Link tracking number: N/A." And there is no way for me to track my order.

    I thought that maybe something was wrong and emailed HiSmile about my problem tracking my order. I got an email back saying they had gotten my email and would be in touch soon.

    It has now been four days, and nothing has happened. I emailed them again today hoping for a response.

    Does anyone know anything about this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor poor customer service and steal your money

    • By David,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They steal your money and don't have enough courage to even talk to you about their mistakes. They take advantage of innocent people that come to their site to put money in their pockets and instead they rip it from your hands and give nothing in return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 4, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi David,

      Sorry to hear you feel this way. Please email one of our customer care team members at help@hismileteeth.com and we will be able to help sort out any issues.


  • Would give zero stars if I could

    • By Joelye,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Absolutely appalling!

    No answer via email and no product received when paid for express shipping. HOWEVER, you have taken my money! If I do not hear back from this company, I will be reporting to Trading Standards and my bank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 6, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hey Joelye,

      We are experiencing a high volume of orders from our Black Friday and Cyber Monday sales, so your order will take slightly longer to be dispatched, as I believe would have been stated in your confirmation email.

      Our customer care team have a higher than normal volume of customer inquiries at the moment from the sale period, so please allow at least 72 hours for a response.

      If you let me know the email address you emailed us from, I will make sure that you are responded to ASAP.

      Looking forward to hearing from you!


  • HiSmile more like ByeSmile

    • By Valentyn,
    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the HiSmile during the Black Friday sale on the 26th of November and my order was not dispatched on the 30th, which was bizarre since I PAID for express shipping. And when I complained the sales associate on live chat named Ashton did not answer my question or help me and as a result, I return to my emails just to find that HiSmile had resent my confirmation and delayed the delivery by 4 days!

    This is unreasonable. I paid to have my product ASAP. I feel scammed and definitely would not recommend to anyone as I am waiting for my order. And I mentioned to the sales associate that I am unable to receive it after the 5th of December as I would be overseas, but I was willing to pay more, but instead she just returned with an automated response and resent my confirmation. This is unfair as I ordered based on the guarantee that I would have my order by the 5th the latest, not SHIPPED on the 5th.

    They use Black Friday as an excuse yet I order off websites in America on the same day, and my order is scheduled to arrive this week, and I didn't even have to to pay for express shipping!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 4, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Valentyn,

      As I'm sure you can understand the Black Friday/Cyber Monday 30% off sale our warehouse has been doing the best they can in dispatching all orders. I can see that Ashton has helped you change your shipping address so it reaches you while you are away for the holidays! If you have any further questions, please feel free to reach out to us via email and one of our customer care team members will respond ASAP.


  • Avoid!

    Overall Experience:

    I placed my order 13 days ago and it is still not dispatched! After numerous emails, I have asked for a refund as I fear that my item, which is a Christmas gift, will not be here on time!! I was told 7 days for a refund! This means I cannot replace the gift for another 7 days. They are quick to take your money but not give it back! I have pleaded with them in email and on Facebook and no one cares! I'm quite upset and feel like this is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 6, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Tammy,

      I can see that one of our customer care team members has processed a refund for you, which may take 2-5 business days to reach you. This is due to the bank holding the funds, which is out of our hands.


  • No product

    • By Rich Sisman,
    • Elkins Park, PA,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed my order on November 26, and paid for express shipping. The confirmation email said it would be shipped on December 1. Last week I sent an email and was told it was being shipped in a day or two. It has still not been shipped! If the product exists, I hope it’s better than the company’s customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 18, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Rich,

      I am really sorry to hear that you have not received your parcel yet, there are slightly longer processing times for orders and we really do value your patience.

      I can see your order and I had one of our customer care team members follow you up with an email, which has some more specific information about your order to ensure this gets to you.

      Thank you and looking forward to hearing from you.


  • Shipping fluke

    Overall Experience:

    HiSmile seemed like a reputable company at first glance. Then, I ordered my package and was completely disappointed. I bought $9.99 shipping so it would arrive in 2-4 days, but they don't tell you it's on their terms. Still waiting for my package. I emailed and they told me to allow another 48 hours and they will not refund me for my shipping charge. That's not good, and I would not order from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't work

    Overall Experience:

    I bought this product for my friend and myself. It arrived late, then we tried it and it didn't work. I thought maybe I did it wrong, so I tried again. Again it didn't work. Avoid this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 8, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Michael,

      We are very sorry to hear you are unhappy with your results. Results will vary from person to person depending on the type of teeth, conditions of your teeth, and the stains the person has. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to email us at help@hismileteeth.com.


Showing 1-11 of 155

Write a Review for HiSmile!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
HiSmile Review