About Quip Toothbrush

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 21, 2018

Advertiser Disclosure: Quip pays a monthly fee to HighYa to lease ad space only on this URL. Advertisements displayed on this page are provided by quip. Should a reader click on a quip advertisement and make a purchase on quip's website, HighYa DOES NOT earn any commission.

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip's attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don't. You'll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30-second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that's travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we'll take an in-depth look at what you might expect so that you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

According to their website, Quip is out to simplify the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Electric Starter Set – Includes one electric brush, travel cover mount, large toothpaste, and small toothpaste, with replacement brush heads, toothpastes, AAA batteries once every three months: $25 ($40 without refills) for plastic handle, or $40 for a metal handle ($55 without refills)

Electric Brush Starter Set – Includes one electric brush and travel cover mount, with a replacement brush head and AAA battery once every three months: $30 for a plastic handle ($35 without refills), or $45 for a metal handle ($50 without refills)

Annual Prepaid Deals

Electric Annual Set – Includes electric brush, travel cover mount, large toothpaste, small toothpaste, and replacement brush heads, toothpastes, AAA batteries once every three months, prepaid: $50 for a plastic handle, or $65 for a metal handle

Electric Brush Annual Set – Includes an electric brush, travel cover mount, and replacement brush heads and AAA batteries once every three months, prepaid: $40 for a plastic handle, or $55 for a metal handle

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes two quip electric brushes and small and large toothpastes, with replacement brush heads, toothpastes, and AAA batteries once every three months:: $40 for plastic handles, or $75 for metal handle ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes four quip electric brushes and small and large toothpastes, with replacement brush heads, toothpastes, and AAA batteries once every three months: $125 for plastic handles, or $150 for metal handles ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every three months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip's website: "We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couples plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means."

To request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 524 Quip Toothbrush Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 372 4 star: 52 3 star: 9 2 star: 21 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 524
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely terrible customer service and bad toothbrushes

    I ordered their two brush and toothpaste set with a 50% off promo code. Throughout the order process, the discount was displayed, showing me 50% off. Instead of being $75, my total came to half off at $37.50. The toothbrushes came, and my credit card was charged the full $75.

    I called to address this issue, but an automated service told me I had to email my question (while their phone number is available on their website, they have absolutely no over the phone customer service, they force you to send an email, so they do not have to directly deal with customer concerns). So I wrote and explained my issue. They acted like it was my fault that their website accepted what they said was an expired promo code. They told me it was not possible that their website accepted the promo code. Well, it was possible, I even supplied screenshots of the purchase process because they promo code continued to work for me. This discussion went back and worth, but they would admit to no fault at all. They didn't accept any blame and insisted that this was my problem.

    So, in the end, I could only do a standard return, this meant that I could return the products, but they would deduct $10 from my return in order to cover their shipping costs. Despite my many objections, they insisted this was all they could do. Again, this was completely Quip's error, but I had to pay for it. They are a dirty company with the lowest quality of customer service. DO NOT give your money to Quip!

    AND not only was the customer service experience terrible, but the toothbrushes were terrible! There is a reason you don't see more toothbrushes made out of thick and stiff silicone, it's just not good for teeth and gums! Dentists recommend soft and extra soft bristles because you don't want to hurt your mouth with something so abrasive!

    Again DON'T BUY these toothbrushes! DON'T support Quip!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jordan,

      We have communicated many times at this point and tried to help you out at every stage, so we are sorry if we are repeating ourselves here!

      As you mentioned, the coupon you found online was only live and worked for about four hours on August 13th and your order was placed on October 9th, and thus, was expired.

      We did not force you to pay $10 to return your Quip, that is simply the option of convenience if you prefer not to use your own postage. It looks like you have already returned your products and have been fully refunded. We are glad we were able to help out in the end.


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    What a waste

    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hands down one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had, the brush surpassed by only their horrid customer service. They insist on using subpar shipping (DHL e-commerce), which is so bad they even warn you on their FAQ page. Every single refill says one was delayed and required follow up. Half the time the battery wouldn’t be included either. Every single time I was told to just wait longer.

    The first brush stopped working after two months, the second after four. The brush heads would fall off every time I tried to brush. Instead of wasting my time contacting them yet again, I cut my losses and put them in the trash where they belonged.

    I’m sure the default follow up here will be how my experience is not indicative of what they usually see along with some excuses, yet another shining example of their customer service; make excuses and hope the problem goes away. Well, in this case, they’re right, I’m gone and have no intention of wishing this brush on anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Sarah, we are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your delivery. Unfortunately, we are unable to look into your case or account by just a first name. Would you mind emailing us with your last name so we can look into your case?

      While DHL picks up the packages from our fulfillment center, USPS will be the ones to deliver your package. Unfortunately, we are not able to control delivery times as this will rely on the shipping partners directly. Free standard shipping is an estimate of 3-7 business days and we mark that very clearly at checkout for those that don't want free shipping and would prefer to get Quip faster. We offer priority and express mail too. In case your package does not show any movement past the seven business days, our team is always happy to help with a reshipment if needed.

      Regarding the issues you were having with your Quip, it is very rare for one brush to fail, let alone two. (It sounds like you have read the other comments on this page and understand that twenty issues are too many. Out of hundreds of thousands of members, it is likely that there will be rare exceptions every now and again). We cover you for the life of your active refill plan and are always here to help with any issues you are experiencing.

      If you are ever looking to give your Quip another try, our team are happy to help out.


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Deplorable customer service

    • New York City, NY,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Quip says "delivered," but it never arrived. Customer service is leaving the burden on me to find out what happened with USPS. I do not think it is my responsibility to file a complaint with the Post Office for a product that wasn’t delivered. Quip should be responsible for following up. After several emails with Quip, they have stopped responding. After waiting for a response and never receiving one after several emails, I had to put the charge in dispute with my credit card company. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jolene,

      As we have mentioned in other comments you have left, our team only suggests contacting neighbors and the post office as the first step, almost every time the package can be found there fast and efficiently. We did not ask for you to file a complaint or missing package with your postal office.

      Our team had also replied to each of your emails within 24 hours during the weekdays. The only exception was replied to on a Sunday because we like to provide our members with a dedicated point of contact for you and your help agent was off on a Saturday.

      We can see our team has already assisted with creating a reshipment order for you which was sent out via upgraded priority mail.

      We again apologize for any trouble caused by your delivery. If you have any other questions, please email our team at help@getquip.com.


  • 20 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Worst aftercare service ever

    I've had a complete nightmare with these folk. Worst aftercare service ever.

    I bought a double brush package a year ago, and after six months the brushes started to fade on power (I was changing batteries and cleaning them, etc., like directed) and it wasn't as good. I also had them sending my three monthly packages of new heads and toothpaste to the wrong address, TWICE! And charge me for it, TWICE!

    Then, when one of the brushes finally broke completely, I was told I had to pay to replace it! Then, three months later, the second one breaks completely. I go back and forth, maybe 5 or 6 times, sending photo's etc., and it told me to send it back in for them to check over and then they'll send a replacement. So I now am down two brushes.

    I also said I wanted to change the color, and I thought maybe due to all the issues I'd have been just given the upgrade to the black one. No, they told me I had to pay to upgrade. This was after me emailing multiple times back and forth on the poor service I was getting.

    If you want a brush that'll last six months and then you have to haggle to get it replaced, then go for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 10, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Laurence, we are so sorry to hear that you had some trouble with your Quip and account.

      We can see that our team had rectified your shipping address and sent the packages to the corrected location for you at no additional cost.

      Regarding one of your Quips that had broken, we can see you had let us know that this was thrown away. As per our warranty, we cannot replace thrown away items for free (although I can see that our help team did offer you a large discount to try and help out). We would always recommend contacting our help team before discarding of any Quip items. Our full warranty can always be found on our help page at www.getquip.com/help#returning.

      We can see you had requested a change of color and material of your Quip for the replacement which was not discarded. We can only offer replacements for the same material that was initially purchased (plastic for plastic or metal for metal). In this case, we can see the request to change from plastic to metal which our team can help with, however, the difference will be charged to the account.

      We apologize if any of our warranty information was missed when initially having trouble with your Quip. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please email help@getquip.com and our team would be happy to help you further.


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Paris, France,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is all style and zero substance.

    My husband and I ordered two toothbrushes for ourselves plus a year's worth of toothbrush heads (we put too much blind faith in this product and the filtered reviews that appear on its website).

    Upon receipt, we followed the instructions to mount the holders, and both fell from the wall within days. On top of that, the bottom of the holder that you are meant to remove to drain it from time to time, also fell out multiple times. We've since installed totally new holders only to have them fall again. We don't even bother trying to use the bottoms because they just fall out and drop our toothbrushes into the sink.

    Beyond the holder, the toothbrush itself is incredibly faulty. The head on my Quip Toothbrush would not attach to the base all the way and about a week in it just stopped working.

    We contacted customer service, and they did not respond. We had to follow up again, and then they asked us to send detailed photos of the problem and acted as though they didn't know what was wrong and as if they hadn't had never encountered this problem before. After constant follow up from our end and useless photo taking, before agreeing to send a replacement, we had to send them a photo that showed we had cut the ring on the current base to prove we wouldn't use it again. I find this completely absurd.

    First, your product breaks on me. I have to jump through hoops and follow up multiple times to get assistance. Then I have to prove to you that I won't be using your crap broken product again in order to get a replacement? Never mind the fact we'd thrown out our other toothbrushes, so I was using the Quip as a regular toothbrush for a month while I waited to get a replacement.

    On top of this, I talked to the only other person who I know that also owns a Quip and she had the EXACT SAME PROBLEM with the brush. So I am 100% sure that this is a known issue with the Quip and rather than apologizing to me when I had the problem, they made me send photos of the toothbrush from all different angles to prove something was wrong.

    Horrible customer service. Horrible product. So much regret. Just don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kelly,

      We are so sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with your Quip.

      We reply to all emails within 24 hours, and eight hours on average. We do our best to do the same on weekends. We believe we have found your email thread which we responded to within our normal reply time. If you are not seeing our initial reply in your main inbox, we always recommend checking your spam or promotions folder in the case our response has landed there.

      The troubleshooting and the photos that are requested are done so that we can do our best to address the issue as quickly as possible. Also, to make sure that this does not happen again and to address the problem as fast and thoroughly as possible. Not to acquire proof of a problem.

      In the case that we cannot identify the exact issue through troubleshooting/photos, we simply ask to cut the o-rings on your Quip. We understand that international shipping can be costly, so we do not ask our customers from overseas to send their Quip in for a replacement. This will not stop the functionality of your Quip while your free replacement is being sent as it can be used as a manual toothbrush.

      International shipping is an estimate of 15 business days and we, unfortunately, are not able to control the end delivery time as this will rely on both US and International shipping carriers, as well as customs. Looking at the tracking for your replacement, we can see that it did arrive in France within the 15 business days.

      We can assure you that Quip, which is manufactured in the same facilities using the same parts and processes as major brands, has no known issues. We have hundreds of thousands of members and so you would see far more than 20 comments on review websites like this if there were a common issue.

      We again are so sorry that you experienced any issues with your Quip and for any misunderstanding while troubleshooting. Our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to help.


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Customer service ignoring me

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm happy to provide screenshots to back this up. I have contacted Quip multiple times to initiate a return since I'm not satisfied with my order. Per their policy, this is allowed within 30 days of my order (I'm in this window, though not for long, after the shipping and lack of response from their support department).

    I started by emailing help@getquip.com, since that is the preferred contact listed on the site, and chat agents seem to be unavailable. I emailed twice over the course of 5 days with no response.

    I reached out to Quip's Facebook Messenger, in hopes of finding some help there. They responded, asked for the email address I used, and never got back to me. I then sent them a screenshot of the email I initially sent, with a timestamp, to verify my issue and perhaps help them troubleshoot. Still no response after two days.

    I've already canceled my recurring plan, even setting aside my dissatisfaction with the product, I'm not giving money in perpetuity to a company that ignores customer questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 15, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi CM! We believe this review may be a few days old as it seems you have been helped already. The issue was that our emails were going to your promotion/spam folder for some reason.

      We can see you have now been helped and we would love it if you would take the time to update your review when you get a second.

      We pride ourselves on our industry-leading customer service response times and we are sorry that an over-zealous spam filter caused this issue!

      Laura


  • 19 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Don't be fooled by this cleverly worded scam

    I feel ripped off.

    The Quip website pages make it seem like the smallest vibrating toothbrush ever invented but after getting it and seeing just how little it moves I decided to look into it more. That was when I found the real story of how it is only vibrating to help you time the brush session. Only after I made the purchase, like, I am sure so many other people do. Quip should be ashamed of themselves for not making things clear up front, but then they have to hide the facts or no one would ever buy their fake vibrating brush.

    I don’t need to pay for a subscription to remind me how long two minutes is, or to remind me to change heads, or to pester me with useless advertisement emails that remind me what a waste of money I have made.

    The Quip website states: "Unfortunately there have been many misconceptions about what makes an effective toothbrush, born from misleading advertising over the years."

    This is a true statement AND Quip continues to be part of those misconceptions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 10, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi James!

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't love your quip! Loving your toothbrush is by far one of the biggest drivers of toothbrush effectiveness, which is why we offer a 30-day return option for those that don't.

      Our ads, website and help team are extremely clear about what matters to your oral health and what matters in a toothbrush. The vibrations of Quip are from the same motors used in other premium brushes and do the same thing, help you brush better. They are not only for timing as you say. Our website and welcome materials are simply pointing out that electric toothbrushes are not magic and their biggest benefits are habit forming, which features can help with.

      We are so sorry Quip isn't for you and hope you keep up the crucial good brushing technique we teach to use with Quip, with any brush you choose going forward.


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service, not durable product

    We've been Quip users for a year (2 toothbrushes). The toothbrushes are among the most attractive and compact electric (battery) brushes on the market. I wish I could also say they were durable. One of our two brushes started coming apart in the middle when brushing and stopped vibrating.

    When contacted, Quip provided me with a lecture on how to replace the heads (I know how to replace the heads, have watched the video, etc.). They eventually agreed to provide a replacement, but we have waited over a month and it still has not arrived. Shipping, in general, is very slow, and customer service is not very helpful or responsive. Not sure I'd buy this again, and we are considering jumping ship.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Julie,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quip! Our team was not intending to lecture you. We do apologize if it came off this way. Our team does their best to make sure we assist as quickly as possible and providing information on how to best avoid the same type of damage again so that you are not without your Quip. Our help team replies to all email inquiries within 24 hours during week days and can see they had replied to your emails within that timeline.

      On behalf of our shipping partners, we are so sorry to see that your initial replacement order was lost in transit. Our help team had assisted with a reshipment for you which was priority mail which shows as delivered.

      If you ever have any other issues or questions, our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to assist.


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The whole Quip system is a scam

    • Texas,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered one set for myself and have been using it for two weeks. I found out the brush is too hard and the head is too long to reach out back teeth. It doesn’t work for me. So I tried to reach out the customer service, but they never reply to any single email back to me. So I tried and left a 1-star review on their website...it turned out as 5-star and doesn’t allow me to change it. Wow! At the moment I realized the whole review is a lie. A few days later I saw some people complain about their BAD customer service, I felt the same way so wrote down my experience...and then a few hours later my comment and other people’s complaints all gone! A scam company!

    Don’t waste your money on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Yiting. Sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced, we will try and clear these up for you as best we can here!

      Quip's bristles are the exact same "soft" Dupont nylon bristles as all large brands use, so we can assure you they are industry standard soft. Perhaps you were looking for ultra soft which we do not offer yet.

      As with the bristles, Quip's head/neck is also the same industry standard as all manual and electric toothbrushes on the market. You can test this yourself by laying Quip's next to other brushes. So should be able to reach your back teeth just the same way. Perhaps its design made it look different?

      Our help team is online seven days a week and can answer all emails within 24-48 hours. Perhaps their response got stuck in your spam filter? We would love you to check and reach out again if you cannot find it.

      We are sorry that you accidentally did not change your star rating to one star and accidentally submitted it as a five star. You can see from the reviews page; it is certainly possible to adjust your rating when you are leaving the review. Unfortunately, because we use a partner integration to collect our reviews to ensure they are legitimate and independent, we are not able to edit reviews once submitted, nor can we delete them (unless they contain offensive language). We can allow you to review again, and we would be happy to help you do so on help@getquip.com

      As you can see by the distribution of reviews of the above mentioned genuine customer review site, we have hundreds of thousands of customers most of which have loved their Quip experience. At the time of writing, there are around 4.92 out of 5 stars from over 3500 reviews, but of course, we know that Quip cannot be for everyone. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience and encountered issues while trying to get help.

      We look forward to helping resolve this on help@getquip.com!


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Sorry product

    I'm so sorry I got sucked into this product. It sounded so nice online. Nice looking toothbrush, timely refills, stick it on a surface to have it handy. So sorry. This toothbrush does not clean my teeth. The bristles feel like plastic. I prefer the bristles on my Sonicare. After trying the brush for about a week, I had to follow up my brushing with my Sonicare. I wish I could get my money back, but I threw everything away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kathleen,

      We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Quip.

      Quip uses the same soft DuPont nylon bristles and motor. They are manufactured next to other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip brushes your teeth.

      As you will read in our ads and website before buying, whether a toothbrush is "functional" really comes down to how you use it and whether the toothbrush functions help guide you to brush better. It's not what mode of vibrations you decide to turn your brush on. This information is also included in our welcome booklet after purchasing Quip.

      The key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique and routine. Electric brushes are recommended by dentists because they encourage and guide to better brushing. At Quip, we know that even making a small improvement to your habits will have a fundamentally larger effect on your oral health, than any change in movement or power.

      As we always say, the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush two times a day for two full minutes. You can read more about the true benefits of an electric brush on our blog at www.getquip.com/blog/toothbrush-design-story.

      Thank you for giving Quip a try and we are sorry Quip wasn't for you!


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy Quip products

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I have to say Quip is very good at marketing, which attracted me to buy it in the first place.

    I got the electric toothbrush and toothpaste package today. I was so excited to receive it, but so disappointed the second I started to use it.

    Although it claims itself as an electric toothbrush, (yes, it needs a battery to vibrate), but it does not do anything an electric toothbrush is supposed to do. According to the instruction pamphlet that comes with it, you have to follow the technique to brush for Quip electric toothbrush to work. The technique they teach you is the same technique as if to use a manual toothbrush. I immediately understood why, once I turned the toothbrush on; it does not vibrate as significantly or effectively as any other electric toothbrushes I had used (Sonicare and Oral-B). When I put it on my teeth, the vibration was too weak to help brush any food or film off my teeth. However, because of its slim design, you can feel the vibration passing on to the handle as well. My hand started to feel numb not long after I turned it on to brush. I felt that it is more annoying to have it on than just shut it off since I need to brush it manually anyway.

    In my opinion, it is at most a regular manual toothbrush, if not worse, which for sure is not worth the cost. Functionally, it is not comparable to other electronic toothbrushes like Sonicare and Oral-B at all.

    In addition, the toothpaste has a weird taste.

    In the end, I couldn't finish brushing with this new set of toothbrush and toothpaste and had to brush with my Sonicare and old toothpaste again. Hope this is helpful when you are wondering whether to try this new product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 8, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Diamond -- We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip.

      Electric toothbrushes should be used almost exactly the same as a manual which is why we (and other major electric toothbrush manufacturers, if you read their instructions) advise going tooth by tooth, wiggling the bristles around the gum line of each tooth. Electric brushes simply lend a helping hand in trying to get the bristles between the gums and teeth and encourage people to brush softer and enjoy brushing more.

      The effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has, and dentists recommend electric toothbrushes because they help people brush better (softer, longer, with better technique) not because their movements magically negate the need for good brushing (as the ads want you to believe)!

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, sensitive sonic mode of vibration and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating, or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly. We just designed Quip to help the entire brushing routine and technique for a better clean.

      We cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is most often the one you enjoy most, so we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Quip.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try, and we hope you keep up good brushing technique whichever brush you are using!


Showing 1-11 of 524

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review