Quip Toothbrush Reviews - Right Choice for Your Teeth?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jan 28, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure: Quip pays a monthly fee to HighYa to lease ad space only on this URL. Advertisements displayed on this page are provided by Quip. Should a reader click on a Quip advertisement or some of the links and make a purchase on Quip's website, HighYa DOES NOT earn any commission.

Many people neglect their oral hygiene more than they should, and it’s easy to assume that splurging for a pricy electric toothbrush will solve this problem.

Quip, in contrast, is a simplified electric toothbrush subscription service designed to help customers become better at brushing. This (relatively) low-cost, lightweight toothbrush is designed to mimic a manual brush but claims to include the best features of an electric brush to help you achieve your cleanest mouth.

Can Quip compete with other electric toothbrush powerhouses like Oral B or Sonicare? In this review, we’ll discuss our analysis and personal experience with Quip.

Pros
  • Takes up less space than traditional electric brushes
  • Lifetime warranty with subscription enrollment
  • Runs on AAA battery for easy replacement
Cons
  • Less cost-effective without a subscription
  • Only one-year warranty without a subscription
  • Can only buy replacement heads online

How Does Quip Work?

Quip toothbrushes start at $25 each and run off a single AAA battery that should last for at least three months before you replace it. This means you won’t need to mess with a charging stand or built-in battery, as is common with other brands.

The brush produces “sensitive, silent sonic vibrations” for two minutes at a time, and it pulses every 30 seconds to remind you to move to another quarter of your mouth. They are waterproof—meaning you can use them in the shower—and include a travel cover that also works to mount the brush to any glossy surface (like a mirror) to save you counter space.

Subscribers also receive a refillable floss dispenser that is refilled every three months.

Quip claims to be the first subscription electric brush and refillable floss accepted by the American Dental Association. This means that its products meet the ADA’s requirements for safety and efficacy.

Other brands meet this certification, including Oral B, Sonicare, CVS Health SmileSonic, and more.

Our Personal Experience with Quip

HighYa founder Vlad Rappoport has been using Quip for a while. He shared that he was initially skeptical that the brush’s vibrations weren't strong enough to be effective, especially compared to the Philip’s Sonicare he used previously.

However, the brush soon surpassed his expectations.

“Overall, after a couple of weeks of using it, my teeth were clean and sustained whatever cleanness I've accomplished with my Philips Sonicare prior”, he shared. “This is an absolutely fantastic toothbrush and cheaper than those robust electric toothbrushes.”

He also added, “You get the best of both worlds – you get that simple light manual toothbrush look and feel while still accomplishing results of high-end robust toothbrushes. My 10-year old niece somehow heard of Quip as well and specifically requested it as a Christmas present. I have never heard of a 10-year-old asking for a toothbrush for Christmas. Something must've appealed to her.”

Finally, Rappoport added, “Quip is also ideal if you travel and want to pack light. It's easy to pack and not as bulky as traveling with an electric toothbrush.”

While Rappoport shared that he doesn’t think Quip performs any better than his more expensive Sonicare, he believes it’s an excellent brush for anyone, but especially those who prefer a regular, non-electric feel to their toothbrush.

Is Quip Brush Better for Your Mouth?

One of Quip’s main selling points is that its electric toothbrush is stripped down to the essentials of sensitive vibrations and a two-minute built-in timer, without extra features like multiple brushing settings or Bluetooth compatibility.

The company states that one of the main reasons dentists recommend electric toothbrushes is that the brushes encourage gentle brushing and help users develop the habit of brushing for the full two minutes.

According to Consumer Reports, both manual and electric toothbrushes are equally effective once you brush for this long, though those with gingivitis will benefit more from going electric.

For that reason, Quip brushes are designed to help you build better brushing habits without making you pay for features that don’t necessarily make a difference for your teeth.

In this way, the company claims to combine the low-cost efficiency of a manual brush with the positive habit-forming properties of an electric model.

Quip Pricing

It’s possible to purchase all Quip products individually or in sets as part of a subscription program.

Starter Set

This three-month starter set comes with an electric toothbrush, all-in-one travel cover, mount and stand, a 4.7 oz toothpaste tube, and a 3-month supply of dental floss.

Pricing depends on your preferred toothbrush and floss materials, and include the following options.

Toothbrush:

  • Green Plastic: $30 ($25 with subscription)
  • Metal: $45 ($40 with subscription)
  • All-black metal edition: $55 ($50 with subscription)

Refillable Floss Dispenser:

  • Plastic: $5
  • Metal: $15

If you sign up for a subscription, you’ll pay between $25–$65 for the first month and then $15 every three months for the refill plan, which includes a new battery, toothbrush head, toothpaste, and floss refill.

If you choose to repay for the first 12 months, you will save 20% off your total order. Once the three prepaid refills have been sent out, your plan will switch to the three-month subscription model.

If you decide to purchase a toothbrush, replacement brush heads, floss, or toothpaste as one-time purchases, note that you will need to pay $10 shipping for each order. Shipping is free on the subscription plan.

Quip toothbrushes are also available at Target for the same prices you'd be paying on Quip's website through a subscription model. Additionally, the brush is available on Amazon, but at a higher cost.

Kids Set

This smaller toothbrush is available in four colors and has a rubber grip handle. You’ll pay $30 for the brush ($25 with subscription) and $10 every three months for a replacement brush head, battery, and watermelon flavored toothpaste.

Return Policy

Quip accepts returns within the first 30 days of purchase. You will receive a full refund once the company receives your return.

All Quip products come with a lifetime guarantee on the subscription plan. If your brush stops working, you can reach out to help@getQuip.com, and an assessment team will remotely inspect it before sending you a new one.

Note that any brush purchased without a subscription is only covered by warranty for one year after purchase.

You can cancel your subscription at any time with no charge. Just keep in mind that doing so will void your lifetime guarantee.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 650 HighYa readers have left reviews on Quip, and they average 4.4 stars, with 86% of users saying they would recommend this brand to their friends. Likewise, there are more than 200 reviews of Quip on ConsumerAffairs, and this little electric toothbrush averages more than 4.5 stars on the platform.

Here’s a summary of some of the opinions from these reviews.

Sleek Product Design

Dozens of Quip reviews raved about this brush’s stylish design. They loved how small it was when compared to other electric toothbrushes with bulky charging stations, and appreciated the Instagram-worthy design.

Many mentioned that the brush took up less space in tiny bathrooms and that they loved the option of attaching it directly to their mirror to free up the counter.

Great for Travel

Many people purchased Quip specifically for use during travel, and they loved how well it worked for this purpose. The slim design and replaceable battery meant it took up less space than other models, and they didn’t have to worry about it dying during the trip.

Others kept a Quip at the office or their gym so that they could clean their teeth easily when away from home.

Good Beginner Electric Toothbrush

For many HighYa reviewers, Quip was their first electric toothbrush experience. These users noted that the vibrations weren’t as intense as they first feared they would be and that the two-minute timer helped them develop better brushing habits right away.

Refill Policy

In a few cases, reviewers struggled with the company’s refill policy. Some had to call Quip directly to set it up because the website wouldn’t recognize their order otherwise.

Might Not Clean as Well as the Competition

Though most reviewers thought Quip worked great to clean their teeth, a few thought it didn’t compare well to other brands like Oral B. One user shared that she used Quip for a year and developed five cavities in that time, when previously she hadn’t had any. Everyone has their own subjective preferences, however.

Better Clean Than Before

Many Quip users shared that they were getting better reports from their dentist after using the subscription service. Some stated that their previous plaque buildup was gone and that their mouth felt cleaner after brushing than it ever did with a manual.

Key Takeaways: Quip customer reviews are overwhelmingly positive. Quip toothbrush is an excellent option for anyone interested in a low-profile device that works well both at home and while traveling.

Popular Alternatives: How Does Quip Stack Up Against Them?

What are you compromising if you commit to Quip over a better-known electric toothbrush brand? Our chart compares three popular options.

Quip Oral B PRO 500 Sonicare 2 Series Plaque Control
Toothbrush Cost $25-$55 ($5 less if subscribing) $34.99 $69.99
Use Modes 2-minute automatic run time, pulse alerts every thirty seconds 2-minute in-handle timer, buzzes every thirty seconds Two-minute timer, beeps every thirty seconds. Includes EasyStart program to slowly build up intensity for those transitioning from manual brushing
Time/Cost for Replacement Heads Replace head every three months, $5 each Replace every three months, prices range, starting around $1/head on Amazon Replace every three months, prices start at $15 per head
Battery AAA battery, lasts three months Charging stand, lasts five days between charges Charging stand, lasts up to two weeks between charges
Speed 15,000 brush rotations per minute 7,600 brush rotations per minute Up to 31,000 brush movements per minute
Subscription Available? Yes No Yes (for replacement heads)
Warranty Information Lifetime manufacturing warranty for subscribers (one year otherwise) Two-year manufacturing warranty

Two-year manufacturing warranty

All three of these brushes contain similar functionality. Each is automatically set to run for two minutes per session and will alert you every half minute to move to another part of your mouth. Such reminders match the Mayo Clinic’s recommendation for optimal twice-a-day brushing sessions.

Each brush differs significantly in brushing speed, with Quip falling in the middle of the pack. That won’t necessarily make a significant difference in how effective it is for cleaning your teeth, so long as you are brushing for at least two minutes per session.

Keep in mind that Quip uses a replaceable battery while both Oral B and Sonicare come with charging platforms. With these two models, you’ll save the inconvenience of switching out batteries every few months, but you’ll need to remember to charge the brush almost weekly.

For those with a small bathroom, this charging station might get cumbersome- especially if you have multiple family members with similar brushes. Likewise, if the rechargeable battery goes in the brush, you’ll have to throw it out.

It’s also worth noting that you might need to pack the charging station if you take either of these brushes on trips, which means it will take up more space in your luggage as Quip or a manual.

If you’re struggling to choose between these models, think about how you want to buy replacement heads. Oral B and Sonicare are both popular brands, meaning you should be able to buy them on Amazon and at dozens of retail locations.

Quip, in contrast, is only available online, which means you need to plan on paying $10 in shipping for every order unless you commit to the subscription program.

Some people will appreciate the convenience that this delivery system offers, while others will prefer to buy replacement heads in person on their own timing.

The Bottom Line: Is Quip Worth It?

Based on our analysis and personal hands-on experience, we recommend the Quip toothbrush.

Quip brushes offer a compromise between manual and electric toothbrushes that seems to give users the best of both worlds.

This brush goes back to the basics, so you’re not paying for more than you need while still benefiting from the primary advantage of going electric—learning how to brush your teeth thoroughly.

If you want a sleek brush that doesn’t break the bank, then consider signing up for Quip’s subscription program so you can take advantage of free shipping and the lifetime guarantee.

If a subscription doesn’t interest you, you’ll likely save more over time sticking with another brand so you can buy replacement heads at the store and save on shipping costs.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Quip Toothbrush:
  • 780 Customer Reviews
  • 88% Recommend This Product
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 77% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 8%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Absolutely terrible customer service and bad toothbrushes

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered their two brush and toothpaste set with a 50% off promo code. Throughout the order process, the discount was displayed, showing me 50% off. Instead of being $75, my total came to half off at $37.50. The toothbrushes came, and my credit card was charged the full $75.

    I called to address this issue, but an automated service told me I had to email my question (while their phone number is available on their website, they have absolutely no over the phone customer service, they force you to send an email, so they do not have to directly deal with customer concerns). So I wrote and explained my issue. They acted like it was my fault that their website accepted what they said was an expired promo code. They told me it was not possible that their website accepted the promo code. Well, it was possible, I even supplied screenshots of the purchase process because they promo code continued to work for me. This discussion went back and worth, but they would admit to no fault at all. They didn't accept any blame and insisted that this was my problem.

    So, in the end, I could only do a standard return, this meant that I could return the products, but they would deduct $10 from my return in order to cover their shipping costs. Despite my many objections, they insisted this was all they could do. Again, this was completely Quip's error, but I had to pay for it. They are a dirty company with the lowest quality of customer service. DO NOT give your money to Quip!

    AND not only was the customer service experience terrible, but the toothbrushes were terrible! There is a reason you don't see more toothbrushes made out of thick and stiff silicone, it's just not good for teeth and gums! Dentists recommend soft and extra soft bristles because you don't want to hurt your mouth with something so abrasive!

    Again DON'T BUY these toothbrushes! DON'T support Quip!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jordan,

      We have communicated many times at this point and tried to help you out at every stage, so we are sorry if we are repeating ourselves here!

      As you mentioned, the coupon you found online was only live and worked for about four hours on August 13th and your order was placed on October 9th, and thus, was expired.

      We did not force you to pay $10 to return your Quip, that is simply the option of convenience if you prefer not to use your own postage. It looks like you have already returned your products and have been fully refunded. We are glad we were able to help out in the end.


  • What a waste

    • By Sarah,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hands down one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had, the brush surpassed by only their horrid customer service. They insist on using subpar shipping (DHL e-commerce), which is so bad they even warn you on their FAQ page. Every single refill says one was delayed and required follow up. Half the time the battery wouldn’t be included either. Every single time I was told to just wait longer.

    The first brush stopped working after two months, the second after four. The brush heads would fall off every time I tried to brush. Instead of wasting my time contacting them yet again, I cut my losses and put them in the trash where they belonged.

    I’m sure the default follow up here will be how my experience is not indicative of what they usually see along with some excuses, yet another shining example of their customer service; make excuses and hope the problem goes away. Well, in this case, they’re right, I’m gone and have no intention of wishing this brush on anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Sarah, we are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your delivery. Unfortunately, we are unable to look into your case or account by just a first name. Would you mind emailing us with your last name so we can look into your case?

      While DHL picks up the packages from our fulfillment center, USPS will be the ones to deliver your package. Unfortunately, we are not able to control delivery times as this will rely on the shipping partners directly. Free standard shipping is an estimate of 3-7 business days and we mark that very clearly at checkout for those that don't want free shipping and would prefer to get Quip faster. We offer priority and express mail too. In case your package does not show any movement past the seven business days, our team is always happy to help with a reshipment if needed.

      Regarding the issues you were having with your Quip, it is very rare for one brush to fail, let alone two. (It sounds like you have read the other comments on this page and understand that twenty issues are too many. Out of hundreds of thousands of members, it is likely that there will be rare exceptions every now and again). We cover you for the life of your active refill plan and are always here to help with any issues you are experiencing.

      If you are ever looking to give your Quip another try, our team are happy to help out.


  • Deplorable customer service

    • By Jolene,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My Quip says "delivered," but it never arrived. Customer service is leaving the burden on me to find out what happened with USPS. I do not think it is my responsibility to file a complaint with the Post Office for a product that wasn’t delivered. Quip should be responsible for following up. After several emails with Quip, they have stopped responding. After waiting for a response and never receiving one after several emails, I had to put the charge in dispute with my credit card company. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jolene,

      As we have mentioned in other comments you have left, our team only suggests contacting neighbors and the post office as the first step, almost every time the package can be found there fast and efficiently. We did not ask for you to file a complaint or missing package with your postal office.

      Our team had also replied to each of your emails within 24 hours during the weekdays. The only exception was replied to on a Sunday because we like to provide our members with a dedicated point of contact for you and your help agent was off on a Saturday.

      We can see our team has already assisted with creating a reshipment order for you which was sent out via upgraded priority mail.

      We again apologize for any trouble caused by your delivery. If you have any other questions, please email our team at help@getquip.com.


  • Worst aftercare service ever

    Overall Experience:

    I've had a complete nightmare with these folk. Worst aftercare service ever.

    I bought a double brush package a year ago, and after six months the brushes started to fade on power (I was changing batteries and cleaning them, etc., like directed) and it wasn't as good. I also had them sending my three monthly packages of new heads and toothpaste to the wrong address, TWICE! And charge me for it, TWICE!

    Then, when one of the brushes finally broke completely, I was told I had to pay to replace it! Then, three months later, the second one breaks completely. I go back and forth, maybe 5 or 6 times, sending photo's etc., and it told me to send it back in for them to check over and then they'll send a replacement. So I now am down two brushes.

    I also said I wanted to change the color, and I thought maybe due to all the issues I'd have been just given the upgrade to the black one. No, they told me I had to pay to upgrade. This was after me emailing multiple times back and forth on the poor service I was getting.

    If you want a brush that'll last six months and then you have to haggle to get it replaced, then go for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 10, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Laurence, we are so sorry to hear that you had some trouble with your Quip and account.

      We can see that our team had rectified your shipping address and sent the packages to the corrected location for you at no additional cost.

      Regarding one of your Quips that had broken, we can see you had let us know that this was thrown away. As per our warranty, we cannot replace thrown away items for free (although I can see that our help team did offer you a large discount to try and help out). We would always recommend contacting our help team before discarding of any Quip items. Our full warranty can always be found on our help page at www.getquip.com/help#returning.

      We can see you had requested a change of color and material of your Quip for the replacement which was not discarded. We can only offer replacements for the same material that was initially purchased (plastic for plastic or metal for metal). In this case, we can see the request to change from plastic to metal which our team can help with, however, the difference will be charged to the account.

      We apologize if any of our warranty information was missed when initially having trouble with your Quip. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please email help@getquip.com and our team would be happy to help you further.


  • Save your money

    • By Kelly E,
    • Paris, France,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is all style and zero substance.

    My husband and I ordered two toothbrushes for ourselves plus a year's worth of toothbrush heads (we put too much blind faith in this product and the filtered reviews that appear on its website).

    Upon receipt, we followed the instructions to mount the holders, and both fell from the wall within days. On top of that, the bottom of the holder that you are meant to remove to drain it from time to time, also fell out multiple times. We've since installed totally new holders only to have them fall again. We don't even bother trying to use the bottoms because they just fall out and drop our toothbrushes into the sink.

    Beyond the holder, the toothbrush itself is incredibly faulty. The head on my Quip Toothbrush would not attach to the base all the way and about a week in it just stopped working.

    We contacted customer service, and they did not respond. We had to follow up again, and then they asked us to send detailed photos of the problem and acted as though they didn't know what was wrong and as if they hadn't had never encountered this problem before. After constant follow up from our end and useless photo taking, before agreeing to send a replacement, we had to send them a photo that showed we had cut the ring on the current base to prove we wouldn't use it again. I find this completely absurd.

    First, your product breaks on me. I have to jump through hoops and follow up multiple times to get assistance. Then I have to prove to you that I won't be using your crap broken product again in order to get a replacement? Never mind the fact we'd thrown out our other toothbrushes, so I was using the Quip as a regular toothbrush for a month while I waited to get a replacement.

    On top of this, I talked to the only other person who I know that also owns a Quip and she had the EXACT SAME PROBLEM with the brush. So I am 100% sure that this is a known issue with the Quip and rather than apologizing to me when I had the problem, they made me send photos of the toothbrush from all different angles to prove something was wrong.

    Horrible customer service. Horrible product. So much regret. Just don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kelly,

      We are so sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with your Quip.

      We reply to all emails within 24 hours, and eight hours on average. We do our best to do the same on weekends. We believe we have found your email thread which we responded to within our normal reply time. If you are not seeing our initial reply in your main inbox, we always recommend checking your spam or promotions folder in the case our response has landed there.

      The troubleshooting and the photos that are requested are done so that we can do our best to address the issue as quickly as possible. Also, to make sure that this does not happen again and to address the problem as fast and thoroughly as possible. Not to acquire proof of a problem.

      In the case that we cannot identify the exact issue through troubleshooting/photos, we simply ask to cut the o-rings on your Quip. We understand that international shipping can be costly, so we do not ask our customers from overseas to send their Quip in for a replacement. This will not stop the functionality of your Quip while your free replacement is being sent as it can be used as a manual toothbrush.

      International shipping is an estimate of 15 business days and we, unfortunately, are not able to control the end delivery time as this will rely on both US and International shipping carriers, as well as customs. Looking at the tracking for your replacement, we can see that it did arrive in France within the 15 business days.

      We can assure you that Quip, which is manufactured in the same facilities using the same parts and processes as major brands, has no known issues. We have hundreds of thousands of members and so you would see far more than 20 comments on review websites like this if there were a common issue.

      We again are so sorry that you experienced any issues with your Quip and for any misunderstanding while troubleshooting. Our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to help.


  • Customer service ignoring me

    • By CM,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm happy to provide screenshots to back this up. I have contacted Quip multiple times to initiate a return since I'm not satisfied with my order. Per their policy, this is allowed within 30 days of my order (I'm in this window, though not for long, after the shipping and lack of response from their support department).

    I started by emailing help@getquip.com, since that is the preferred contact listed on the site, and chat agents seem to be unavailable. I emailed twice over the course of 5 days with no response.

    I reached out to Quip's Facebook Messenger, in hopes of finding some help there. They responded, asked for the email address I used, and never got back to me. I then sent them a screenshot of the email I initially sent, with a timestamp, to verify my issue and perhaps help them troubleshoot. Still no response after two days.

    I've already canceled my recurring plan, even setting aside my dissatisfaction with the product, I'm not giving money in perpetuity to a company that ignores customer questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 15, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi CM! We believe this review may be a few days old as it seems you have been helped already. The issue was that our emails were going to your promotion/spam folder for some reason.

      We can see you have now been helped and we would love it if you would take the time to update your review when you get a second.

      We pride ourselves on our industry-leading customer service response times and we are sorry that an over-zealous spam filter caused this issue!

      Laura


  • Don't be fooled by this cleverly worded scam

    Overall Experience:

    I feel ripped off.

    The Quip website pages make it seem like the smallest vibrating toothbrush ever invented but after getting it and seeing just how little it moves I decided to look into it more. That was when I found the real story of how it is only vibrating to help you time the brush session. Only after I made the purchase, like, I am sure so many other people do. Quip should be ashamed of themselves for not making things clear up front, but then they have to hide the facts or no one would ever buy their fake vibrating brush.

    I don’t need to pay for a subscription to remind me how long two minutes is, or to remind me to change heads, or to pester me with useless advertisement emails that remind me what a waste of money I have made.

    The Quip website states: "Unfortunately there have been many misconceptions about what makes an effective toothbrush, born from misleading advertising over the years."

    This is a true statement AND Quip continues to be part of those misconceptions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 10, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi James!

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't love your quip! Loving your toothbrush is by far one of the biggest drivers of toothbrush effectiveness, which is why we offer a 30-day return option for those that don't.

      Our ads, website and help team are extremely clear about what matters to your oral health and what matters in a toothbrush. The vibrations of Quip are from the same motors used in other premium brushes and do the same thing, help you brush better. They are not only for timing as you say. Our website and welcome materials are simply pointing out that electric toothbrushes are not magic and their biggest benefits are habit forming, which features can help with.

      We are so sorry Quip isn't for you and hope you keep up the crucial good brushing technique we teach to use with Quip, with any brush you choose going forward.


  • Poor customer service, not durable product

    Overall Experience:

    We've been Quip users for a year (2 toothbrushes). The toothbrushes are among the most attractive and compact electric (battery) brushes on the market. I wish I could also say they were durable. One of our two brushes started coming apart in the middle when brushing and stopped vibrating.

    When contacted, Quip provided me with a lecture on how to replace the heads (I know how to replace the heads, have watched the video, etc.). They eventually agreed to provide a replacement, but we have waited over a month and it still has not arrived. Shipping, in general, is very slow, and customer service is not very helpful or responsive. Not sure I'd buy this again, and we are considering jumping ship.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Julie,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quip! Our team was not intending to lecture you. We do apologize if it came off this way. Our team does their best to make sure we assist as quickly as possible and providing information on how to best avoid the same type of damage again so that you are not without your Quip. Our help team replies to all email inquiries within 24 hours during week days and can see they had replied to your emails within that timeline.

      On behalf of our shipping partners, we are so sorry to see that your initial replacement order was lost in transit. Our help team had assisted with a reshipment for you which was priority mail which shows as delivered.

      If you ever have any other issues or questions, our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to assist.


  • The whole Quip system is a scam

    • By Yiting C.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered one set for myself and have been using it for two weeks. I found out the brush is too hard and the head is too long to reach out back teeth. It doesn’t work for me. So I tried to reach out the customer service, but they never reply to any single email back to me. So I tried and left a 1-star review on their website...it turned out as 5-star and doesn’t allow me to change it. Wow! At the moment I realized the whole review is a lie. A few days later I saw some people complain about their BAD customer service, I felt the same way so wrote down my experience...and then a few hours later my comment and other people’s complaints all gone! A scam company!

    Don’t waste your money on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Yiting. Sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced, we will try and clear these up for you as best we can here!

      Quip's bristles are the exact same "soft" Dupont nylon bristles as all large brands use, so we can assure you they are industry standard soft. Perhaps you were looking for ultra soft which we do not offer yet.

      As with the bristles, Quip's head/neck is also the same industry standard as all manual and electric toothbrushes on the market. You can test this yourself by laying Quip's next to other brushes. So should be able to reach your back teeth just the same way. Perhaps its design made it look different?

      Our help team is online seven days a week and can answer all emails within 24-48 hours. Perhaps their response got stuck in your spam filter? We would love you to check and reach out again if you cannot find it.

      We are sorry that you accidentally did not change your star rating to one star and accidentally submitted it as a five star. You can see from the reviews page; it is certainly possible to adjust your rating when you are leaving the review. Unfortunately, because we use a partner integration to collect our reviews to ensure they are legitimate and independent, we are not able to edit reviews once submitted, nor can we delete them (unless they contain offensive language). We can allow you to review again, and we would be happy to help you do so on help@getquip.com

      As you can see by the distribution of reviews of the above mentioned genuine customer review site, we have hundreds of thousands of customers most of which have loved their Quip experience. At the time of writing, there are around 4.92 out of 5 stars from over 3500 reviews, but of course, we know that Quip cannot be for everyone. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience and encountered issues while trying to get help.

      We look forward to helping resolve this on help@getquip.com!


  • Sorry product

    Overall Experience:

    I'm so sorry I got sucked into this product. It sounded so nice online. Nice looking toothbrush, timely refills, stick it on a surface to have it handy. So sorry. This toothbrush does not clean my teeth. The bristles feel like plastic. I prefer the bristles on my Sonicare. After trying the brush for about a week, I had to follow up my brushing with my Sonicare. I wish I could get my money back, but I threw everything away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kathleen,

      We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Quip.

      Quip uses the same soft DuPont nylon bristles and motor. They are manufactured next to other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip brushes your teeth.

      As you will read in our ads and website before buying, whether a toothbrush is "functional" really comes down to how you use it and whether the toothbrush functions help guide you to brush better. It's not what mode of vibrations you decide to turn your brush on. This information is also included in our welcome booklet after purchasing Quip.

      The key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique and routine. Electric brushes are recommended by dentists because they encourage and guide to better brushing. At Quip, we know that even making a small improvement to your habits will have a fundamentally larger effect on your oral health, than any change in movement or power.

      As we always say, the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush two times a day for two full minutes. You can read more about the true benefits of an electric brush on our blog at www.getquip.com/blog/toothbrush-design-story.

      Thank you for giving Quip a try and we are sorry Quip wasn't for you!


  • Do not buy Quip products

    • By Diamond,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, I have to say Quip is very good at marketing, which attracted me to buy it in the first place.

    I got the electric toothbrush and toothpaste package today. I was so excited to receive it, but so disappointed the second I started to use it.

    Although it claims itself as an electric toothbrush, (yes, it needs a battery to vibrate), but it does not do anything an electric toothbrush is supposed to do. According to the instruction pamphlet that comes with it, you have to follow the technique to brush for Quip electric toothbrush to work. The technique they teach you is the same technique as if to use a manual toothbrush. I immediately understood why, once I turned the toothbrush on; it does not vibrate as significantly or effectively as any other electric toothbrushes I had used (Sonicare and Oral-B). When I put it on my teeth, the vibration was too weak to help brush any food or film off my teeth. However, because of its slim design, you can feel the vibration passing on to the handle as well. My hand started to feel numb not long after I turned it on to brush. I felt that it is more annoying to have it on than just shut it off since I need to brush it manually anyway.

    In my opinion, it is at most a regular manual toothbrush, if not worse, which for sure is not worth the cost. Functionally, it is not comparable to other electronic toothbrushes like Sonicare and Oral-B at all.

    In addition, the toothpaste has a weird taste.

    In the end, I couldn't finish brushing with this new set of toothbrush and toothpaste and had to brush with my Sonicare and old toothpaste again. Hope this is helpful when you are wondering whether to try this new product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 8, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Diamond -- We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip.

      Electric toothbrushes should be used almost exactly the same as a manual which is why we (and other major electric toothbrush manufacturers, if you read their instructions) advise going tooth by tooth, wiggling the bristles around the gum line of each tooth. Electric brushes simply lend a helping hand in trying to get the bristles between the gums and teeth and encourage people to brush softer and enjoy brushing more.

      The effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has, and dentists recommend electric toothbrushes because they help people brush better (softer, longer, with better technique) not because their movements magically negate the need for good brushing (as the ads want you to believe)!

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, sensitive sonic mode of vibration and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating, or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly. We just designed Quip to help the entire brushing routine and technique for a better clean.

      We cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is most often the one you enjoy most, so we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Quip.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try, and we hope you keep up good brushing technique whichever brush you are using!


Showing 1-11 of 780

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Quip Toothbrush