Read 632 Quip Toothbrush Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 473 4 star: 58 3 star: 10 2 star: 21 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 632
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Falls apart

    I have been using Quip for over a year and had to have several replacements because of faulty design. Also, to be honest, compared to other electric toothbrushes the vibrations are not as strong at all. The toothbrush heads themselves have gum cleaners but don't actually reach your gums. This is a pretty faulty product all and all. Save your money and go get a real toothbrush.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 29, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are so sorry that you didn't find Quip to be for you. As mentioned in our help exchange with you, Quip is heavily tested against normal wear and tear. It's even tested against user challenges and potential error points like brush head removal. We know that it could only break the head connection, as your photo displayed if the head is improperly or over-forcefully removed during refill.

      Our brushes are manufactured in the same facilities, using the same parts, processes, and testing as some of the biggest brand brushes on the market. We have been shipping Quip to thousands of happy customers for two years now so we can assure it is not a faulty design.

      We stand by our products and offer a lifetime guarantee for subscribers for this reason. We have been more than happy to replace your Quip each time this happened while you refilled it using your guarantee. This is also in hopes that our instructions each time would help correct removal in the future and ensure it didn't happen again. We are sorry to hear this was not able to prevent it happening again.

      Regarding the vibrations, our website, your welcome pack, your Dentist, the ADA and consumer reports will tell you, stronger vibrations do not mean you will get a better clean. The key to maintaining good oral health is based on your technique and routine, something Quip is uniquely designed to help improve. Quip is set to a sensitive, silent and comfortable vibration level like many premium brushes are now. Also defaulting to or offering to help you with guiding a thorough, yet safe and enjoyable clean.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try, and again are so sorry that it was not for you.


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Does not hold up

    • Virginia,
    • Jul 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this for nine months and the brush power unit does not hold up, nor does the sticky brush holder for the mirror.

    The heads DO NOT stay in the power unit anymore and slip out while I am brushing my teeth, which REALLY sucks. I put in new heads and cleaned the power unit connection area, and it still comes out. It's junk.

    The bristles are way too soft, no options for a hard, med or soft brush. That's bad too. One size does NOT fit all. The holder that sticks (or sucks) to the mirror no longer holds the brush DESPITE cleaning it off.

    In the end, the quality is not there, so I quit the service. There are other options out there now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi William! We can see you emailed help@getquip.com with these issues only a few days ago. It's likely that at the same time you wrote this review, which we have answered. As we said there, we wish you had emailed us when you started experiencing even a single issue or if you just had a question or confusion about how a Quip worked. We are here 24/7 to help. Your Quip is covered for the life with your plan!

      We can assure the heads certainly stay on extremely firm, so it sounds like something might have happened during one of your three refills that damaged the connection to cause an issue. Something we can always help with or look into, and fix through our help team!

      We only use soft bristles because dentists only recommend soft bristles. We would never supply medium or hard because they can be damaging to gums, and are actually worse at cleaning. Some are too thick to get into the gaps, and most dentists wish they were no longer available by any brand. This is not about one size fits all, this is about us being dedicated to only supply products that are good for oral health.(In fact, we will soon be launching an ultra soft head!)

      The holder can't lose stickiness (suction, which is the right way to say it) and we recommend checking out getquip.com/cover to see what might cause this and various methods to clean your holder and mirror. Or just chat with our help team.

      We can assure the quality of Quip is as at the top of the industry. Quip is actually manufactured in the same facilities with the same parts, processes, and testing as some of the most premium big brand brushes on the market. We only hope that you talk to our help team if you ever have even a single question, so we can ensure you have the right experience.

      We are sorry for your frustrations.


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad design brush head

    • California,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very good handle, poorly designed brush head. The bristles are surrounded by rubber "bristles" that seem make it difficult to rinse and clean the brush head. Toothpaste accumulates as well as food particles. I canceled my subscription. Customer service has been prompt in reply but would not stand behind product and refund. Dissatisfied and would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi David!

      First, we can assure you that we stand behind our product more than any other oral care brand. Which is why we are the only ones to offer lifetime coverage if you are on a plan (one year without the plan). We also offer 30 days to try Quip, that is 1/3 of the total lifecycle of a brush head, so that is plenty of time to see if food or paste gets trapped. Please return it for a refund if not you are happy.

      As we mentioned in our customer service exchange, Quips bristles, both the exterior ones and the nylon interior are the same materials. The design, density, layout are from the same manufacturer as the big brands. Quip in itself cannot trap toothpaste or food anymore or less than most other brushes on the market. We always recommend a thorough rinse after each use like with any brush. As discussed, it sounds like Quip simply wasn't suited to you or your particular routine, we are so sorry to hear that.


  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Poor design, customer service asking too much

    I bought one for my wife and I and all was good the first couple of weeks. We both had failures when the toothbrush would no longer turn on or in some cases turn off. The design did not promote a good connection.

    Customer service at Quip was friendly, but not very helpful considering they wanted us to take lots of pictures and return our toothbrushes before they would send out new ones. I feel sorry for the customer service team because they have to support a flimsy and flawed design. I gave up, told them to keep everything including my prepaid subscription because they made it too much of a hassle to get a refund or a working toothbrush.

    Do not expect long-term use of this product. Sonicare and Oral-B are the way to go. You are not saving money with Quip, just adding frustration.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 24, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Christopher!

      So sorry to hear you had an issue. As we mentioned above, we have been shipping Quip to hundreds of thousands of people over the last two years. We hope you can understand that you and the 20 others on this review page are among a small list of people that have, unfortunately, (disappointingly for us) had an issue. Luckily your lifetime guarantee (if you are on a plan which it sounds like you are) have you covered!

      We hope you can understand that we would not be able to support a lifetime guarantee if we had identified any design flaws over the past two years, but we appreciate your patience as we work through and identify your issue.

      As mentioned, issues are extremely rare, so like any company we need to make sure we understand what has happened, otherwise, we will not know how to fix it properly. Most companies ask you to send your product back for inspection, but we know that can be a hassle, so we instead ask you a couple of questions and for a photo.

      We have found that most of the time issues come from accidental misuse or misunderstanding, meaning we can often fix remotely and, more importantly, can ensure the issue never happens again. If it's a random manufacturing defect, then we are still able to help even faster.

      It is strange to hear you were asked to return your Quip's as we would only do this if you were unable or unwilling to send photos. If this was not the case, please do email our support team and we can look into why that was said to you.

      We are sorry our help team was not clear enough on the process that we actually designed to make support faster by using one email, not slower.


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    $55 toothbrush stopped working after 5 weeks

    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had the toothbrush for 5 weeks. This morning, I pressed the button and nothing happened. I pressed the button 25 more times and nothing happened. I spent $55 on a toothbrush and it lasted FIVE WHOLE WEEKS. Is this some kind of joke? I've used the $6 disposable electric toothbrushes for years, and not one of them has ever stopped working.

    I just filed a complaint with Quip, but after reading these comments, I assume they are going to ask for photos. How about a video of it NOT working?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 24, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Becca!

      So sorry to hear you had an issue. We have been shipping Quip to hundreds of thousands of people over the last two years, so we hope you can understand that you and the 20 others on here are a small list that has, unfortunately, had an issue. Luckily your lifetime guarantee (if you are on a plan, which it sounds like you are) has you covered and we can't wait to help!

      We actually don't have a $55 toothbrush model. Quip plastic brushes start at $25 and the premium metal options at $40. It sounds like you may have chosen to prepay for a metal handle plus a whole year of refills for the $55.

      As mentioned, issues are extremely rare, so like any company, we need to make sure we understand what has happened otherwise, we will not know how to fix it properly. Most companies ask you to send your product back for inspection, but we know that can be a hassle, so we instead ask you a couple of questions and for a photo. We have found that most of the time issues come from accidental misuse or misunderstanding, meaning we can often fix remotely and, more importantly, can ensure the issue never happens again.

      We can't wait to get you back with a working Quip!


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money, time and energy

    • New York,
    • Oct 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this toothbrush with all the same thoughts in mind as the other reviews, and I even recommended it to my sister who bought 2! She ordered it with $10 extra for 2-3 days priority because she was leaving the country and guess what? It's been 4 days and still no toothbrush, and she has left the country! Now they won't even refund the $10 she paid for them to send it to her in 2-3 days.

    Bad, false advertising because now they don't want to refund my sister the $10. I will be returning her toothbrushes! I've already complained to the Better Business Bureau!

    Now, I got my toothbrush and started using it and wow, what a BAD toothbrush. It barely vibrates, and it doesn't remove the stains on my teeth that my own Sonicare removes. I will be returning this and definitely not recommending it to ANYONE! DO NOT BUY unless you want to waste your time and energy and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Julie,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your shipment. As we state directly on our shipping page during checkout, priority shipping is an estimate of 2-3 business days. This is also included on our help page which is available both before and after ordering.

      We can see you had placed your order the Sunday before Columbus Day which is a postal holiday so your order was picked up on the first business day back (Tuesday). We, unfortunately, cannot control the end delivery time as this will rely on the shipping carrier directly. We can also see that our help team refunded your $10 priority shipping for you because your package had arrived on the fourth business day.

      Regarding the vibrations of Quip, unfortunately, there are many misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct. One of the worst is “the more power, the better the clean”. There is actually no difference in how well a toothbrush can clean your teeth between a manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush if they are all being used correctly and have soft bristles.

      As we mention on our website and in our welcome materials, the key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique, routine and electric brushes are recommended by dentists because they help encourage and guide better brushing.

      We certainly cannot speak to personal preference, as the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush two times a day, for a full two minutes with fresh soft bristles.

      We are sorry to hear that Quip didn't work out for you, and thank you for giving it a try.


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Paris, France,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is all style and zero substance.

    My husband and I ordered two toothbrushes for ourselves plus a year's worth of toothbrush heads (we put too much blind faith in this product and the filtered reviews that appear on its website).

    Upon receipt, we followed the instructions to mount the holders, and both fell from the wall within days. On top of that, the bottom of the holder that you are meant to remove to drain it from time to time, also fell out multiple times. We've since installed totally new holders only to have them fall again. We don't even bother trying to use the bottoms because they just fall out and drop our toothbrushes into the sink.

    Beyond the holder, the toothbrush itself is incredibly faulty. The head on my Quip Toothbrush would not attach to the base all the way and about a week in it just stopped working.

    We contacted customer service, and they did not respond. We had to follow up again, and then they asked us to send detailed photos of the problem and acted as though they didn't know what was wrong and as if they hadn't had never encountered this problem before. After constant follow up from our end and useless photo taking, before agreeing to send a replacement, we had to send them a photo that showed we had cut the ring on the current base to prove we wouldn't use it again. I find this completely absurd.

    First, your product breaks on me. I have to jump through hoops and follow up multiple times to get assistance. Then I have to prove to you that I won't be using your crap broken product again in order to get a replacement? Never mind the fact we'd thrown out our other toothbrushes, so I was using the Quip as a regular toothbrush for a month while I waited to get a replacement.

    On top of this, I talked to the only other person who I know that also owns a Quip and she had the EXACT SAME PROBLEM with the brush. So I am 100% sure that this is a known issue with the Quip and rather than apologizing to me when I had the problem, they made me send photos of the toothbrush from all different angles to prove something was wrong.

    Horrible customer service. Horrible product. So much regret. Just don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kelly,

      We are so sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with your Quip.

      We reply to all emails within 24 hours, and eight hours on average. We do our best to do the same on weekends. We believe we have found your email thread which we responded to within our normal reply time. If you are not seeing our initial reply in your main inbox, we always recommend checking your spam or promotions folder in the case our response has landed there.

      The troubleshooting and the photos that are requested are done so that we can do our best to address the issue as quickly as possible. Also, to make sure that this does not happen again and to address the problem as fast and thoroughly as possible. Not to acquire proof of a problem.

      In the case that we cannot identify the exact issue through troubleshooting/photos, we simply ask to cut the o-rings on your Quip. We understand that international shipping can be costly, so we do not ask our customers from overseas to send their Quip in for a replacement. This will not stop the functionality of your Quip while your free replacement is being sent as it can be used as a manual toothbrush.

      International shipping is an estimate of 15 business days and we, unfortunately, are not able to control the end delivery time as this will rely on both US and International shipping carriers, as well as customs. Looking at the tracking for your replacement, we can see that it did arrive in France within the 15 business days.

      We can assure you that Quip, which is manufactured in the same facilities using the same parts and processes as major brands, has no known issues. We have hundreds of thousands of members and so you would see far more than 20 comments on review websites like this if there were a common issue.

      We again are so sorry that you experienced any issues with your Quip and for any misunderstanding while troubleshooting. Our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to help.


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    What a waste

    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hands down one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had, the brush surpassed by only their horrid customer service. They insist on using subpar shipping (DHL e-commerce), which is so bad they even warn you on their FAQ page. Every single refill says one was delayed and required follow up. Half the time the battery wouldn’t be included either. Every single time I was told to just wait longer.

    The first brush stopped working after two months, the second after four. The brush heads would fall off every time I tried to brush. Instead of wasting my time contacting them yet again, I cut my losses and put them in the trash where they belonged.

    I’m sure the default follow up here will be how my experience is not indicative of what they usually see along with some excuses, yet another shining example of their customer service; make excuses and hope the problem goes away. Well, in this case, they’re right, I’m gone and have no intention of wishing this brush on anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Sarah, we are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your delivery. Unfortunately, we are unable to look into your case or account by just a first name. Would you mind emailing us with your last name so we can look into your case?

      While DHL picks up the packages from our fulfillment center, USPS will be the ones to deliver your package. Unfortunately, we are not able to control delivery times as this will rely on the shipping partners directly. Free standard shipping is an estimate of 3-7 business days and we mark that very clearly at checkout for those that don't want free shipping and would prefer to get Quip faster. We offer priority and express mail too. In case your package does not show any movement past the seven business days, our team is always happy to help with a reshipment if needed.

      Regarding the issues you were having with your Quip, it is very rare for one brush to fail, let alone two. (It sounds like you have read the other comments on this page and understand that twenty issues are too many. Out of hundreds of thousands of members, it is likely that there will be rare exceptions every now and again). We cover you for the life of your active refill plan and are always here to help with any issues you are experiencing.

      If you are ever looking to give your Quip another try, our team are happy to help out.


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Sorry product

    I'm so sorry I got sucked into this product. It sounded so nice online. Nice looking toothbrush, timely refills, stick it on a surface to have it handy. So sorry. This toothbrush does not clean my teeth. The bristles feel like plastic. I prefer the bristles on my Sonicare. After trying the brush for about a week, I had to follow up my brushing with my Sonicare. I wish I could get my money back, but I threw everything away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Kathleen,

      We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Quip.

      Quip uses the same soft DuPont nylon bristles and motor. They are manufactured next to other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip brushes your teeth.

      As you will read in our ads and website before buying, whether a toothbrush is "functional" really comes down to how you use it and whether the toothbrush functions help guide you to brush better. It's not what mode of vibrations you decide to turn your brush on. This information is also included in our welcome booklet after purchasing Quip.

      The key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique and routine. Electric brushes are recommended by dentists because they encourage and guide to better brushing. At Quip, we know that even making a small improvement to your habits will have a fundamentally larger effect on your oral health, than any change in movement or power.

      As we always say, the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush two times a day for two full minutes. You can read more about the true benefits of an electric brush on our blog at www.getquip.com/blog/toothbrush-design-story.

      Thank you for giving Quip a try and we are sorry Quip wasn't for you!


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Deplorable customer service

    • New York City, NY,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Quip says "delivered," but it never arrived. Customer service is leaving the burden on me to find out what happened with USPS. I do not think it is my responsibility to file a complaint with the Post Office for a product that wasn’t delivered. Quip should be responsible for following up. After several emails with Quip, they have stopped responding. After waiting for a response and never receiving one after several emails, I had to put the charge in dispute with my credit card company. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jolene,

      As we have mentioned in other comments you have left, our team only suggests contacting neighbors and the post office as the first step, almost every time the package can be found there fast and efficiently. We did not ask for you to file a complaint or missing package with your postal office.

      Our team had also replied to each of your emails within 24 hours during the weekdays. The only exception was replied to on a Sunday because we like to provide our members with a dedicated point of contact for you and your help agent was off on a Saturday.

      We can see our team has already assisted with creating a reshipment order for you which was sent out via upgraded priority mail.

      We again apologize for any trouble caused by your delivery. If you have any other questions, please email our team at help@getquip.com.


  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely terrible customer service and bad toothbrushes

    I ordered their two brush and toothpaste set with a 50% off promo code. Throughout the order process, the discount was displayed, showing me 50% off. Instead of being $75, my total came to half off at $37.50. The toothbrushes came, and my credit card was charged the full $75.

    I called to address this issue, but an automated service told me I had to email my question (while their phone number is available on their website, they have absolutely no over the phone customer service, they force you to send an email, so they do not have to directly deal with customer concerns). So I wrote and explained my issue. They acted like it was my fault that their website accepted what they said was an expired promo code. They told me it was not possible that their website accepted the promo code. Well, it was possible, I even supplied screenshots of the purchase process because they promo code continued to work for me. This discussion went back and worth, but they would admit to no fault at all. They didn't accept any blame and insisted that this was my problem.

    So, in the end, I could only do a standard return, this meant that I could return the products, but they would deduct $10 from my return in order to cover their shipping costs. Despite my many objections, they insisted this was all they could do. Again, this was completely Quip's error, but I had to pay for it. They are a dirty company with the lowest quality of customer service. DO NOT give your money to Quip!

    AND not only was the customer service experience terrible, but the toothbrushes were terrible! There is a reason you don't see more toothbrushes made out of thick and stiff silicone, it's just not good for teeth and gums! Dentists recommend soft and extra soft bristles because you don't want to hurt your mouth with something so abrasive!

    Again DON'T BUY these toothbrushes! DON'T support Quip!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jordan,

      We have communicated many times at this point and tried to help you out at every stage, so we are sorry if we are repeating ourselves here!

      As you mentioned, the coupon you found online was only live and worked for about four hours on August 13th and your order was placed on October 9th, and thus, was expired.

      We did not force you to pay $10 to return your Quip, that is simply the option of convenience if you prefer not to use your own postage. It looks like you have already returned your products and have been fully refunded. We are glad we were able to help out in the end.


Showing 12-22 of 632

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review