About Smart Blood Sugar

The Smart Blood Sugar system claims to be a “powerful,” 100% natural system that uses a few simple dietary “tweaks” to reboot your metabolism and help you maintain healthy blood sugar levels for the rest of your life. In fact, Smart Blood Sugar is claimed to immediately reduce your risk of diabetes, without drugs or injections.

According to the Smart Blood Sugar website, the program also provides you with strategies, tools, insights, and tips that can minimize blood sugar spikes and insulin surges, while helping you to lose weight.

In order to accomplish this, Smart Blood Sugar is claimed to focus on total glucose load instead of the traditional glycemic index, which can help your body use “stored energy” to keep your energy levels up, prevent insulin resistance, and decrease the demand placed on your pancreas. Because of this, Smart Blood Sugar claims that it’s not a diet, but “a way of moving and eating that lasts a lifetime.”

The Smart Blood Sugar website claims that some users may see immediate changes, although it can take as long as 12-18 months to experience any benefits.

Regardless of how long you’ve been battling your diabetes, you may have given up any hope of a cure. But is this what Smart Blood Sugar represents, or is it just a crafty way of getting ahold of your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

What is Glucose Load Balancing?

According to the Smart Blood Sugar website, “glucose load balancing” is defined as “the process of actively managing blood glucose at optimum levels,” which allows your body to release stored glucose, or glycogen, and burn fat to use as energy.

However, outside of websites directly related to Smart Blood Sugar, “glucose load balancing” doesn’t seem to be referenced by any medical professionals. Instead, this term is likely a marketing twist on the more traditional term glucose balancing, which is simply managing the levels of glucose; something that any diabetic should already be doing.

In other words, the term “glucose load balancing” is essentially meaningless.

What’s the Difference Between Glucose Load & Glycemic Index?

In the Smart Blood Sugar video, it’s claimed that the program focuses on glucose load instead of the glycemic index. But what’s the difference, and why is it important?

According to a 2011 Huffington Post article, glycemic load is “a ranking system for carbohydrate-rich food that measures the amount of carbohydrates in a serving of food.” On the other hand, glycemic index “indicates how rapidly a carbohydrate is digested and released as glucose (sugar) into the blood stream. In other words, how quickly foods break down into sugar in your bloodstream.”

Ultimately, this means that “glycemic index does not take into account the amount of carbohydrate in a food. So glycemic load is a better indicator of how a carbohydrate food will affect blood sugar,” which is why glycemic load is the focus of the Smart Blood Sugar system.

Is Eating High-Fat Foods Good for You?

The Smart Blood Sugar program also claims that eating high-fat foods is one way to help manage your body’s glucose levels, and that this eating behavior does not lead to increased instances of heart disease or stroke. But is this really the case?

According to a Harvard University article, this is true, but only partially. Why? Because the types of fats you eat do matter.

For instance, “Good fats, such as the polyunsaturated fats found in liquid vegetable oils, nuts, and seeds can help ward off type 2 diabetes. Trans fats do just the opposite. Eating omega-3 fats from fish does not protect against diabetes, even though there is much evidence that these marine omega-3 fats help prevent heart disease.”

In short, don’t think that you can go around eating all the high-fat foods you want in order to address your diabetes (or any other medical condition, for that matter).

Is the Smart Blood Sugar System Proven to Work?

Finally, according to the Smart Blood Sugar website, the program “has been shown in multiple scientific studies to have long term impacts on fasting glucose and insulin and [to] protect against metabolic syndrome (a common precursor to diabetes).”

However, no clinical studies are referenced on the program’s website to back of these claims, and there weren’t any third-party studies supporting these claims elsewhere online at the time of our research.

As such, it’s our opinion that Smart Blood Sugar’s claims of being clinically proven are gross exaggerations at best, or complete mistruths at worst.

Customer Reviews for Smart Blood Sugar

With such a generic name, there weren’t any legitimate online customer reviews available for Smart Blood Sugar at the time of our research.

However, we learned that Smart Blood Sugar is promoted by Primal Health, LP based out of McKinney, TX. The company held a C+ rating with the Better Business Bureau despite having only 30 closed complaints (as of 5/15/15), most of which appeared to reference products that did not provide a good value and difficulty obtaining refunds.

Smart Blood Sugar Pricing & Refund Policy

Smart Blood Sugar is priced at $27. In addition to the Smart Blood Sugar e-book, your purchase will also include 5 bonuses:

  • Complete 7-day meal plan
  • Complete shopping list for each meal
  • The 99 Foods to Lower Blood Sugar guide
  • How to Read Nutrition Food Labels guide
  • Smart Blood Sugar Guide to Alcohol

Smart Blood Sugar comes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H charges, which you can request by calling customer service at 877-300-7849.

Should You Spend Money on Smart Blood Sugar?

Chopping to the point: Overall, there are some important unanswered questions about Smart Blood Sugar, and what we do know about it seems a lot less revolutionary than the manufacturer might like you to believe.

Because of this, we’d definitely recommend speaking with your physician about tried-and-true methods of managing your diabetes, increasing your energy, and losing weight before ordering Smart Blood Sugar.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for Smart Blood Sugar

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 6 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Edmond, Oklahoma,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot contact them to cancel the order. Monthly charges are made to me. It is a real scam. I do NOT want to continue. ANYONE know how to get out of this mess? The product is worthless, and Dr. Merritt is also.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Please do not put your credit card info on their site

    • Willow Park, TX,
    • Aug 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I watched the video for Smart Blood Sugar, then entered my credit card. I never ordered the book they kept trying to sell me, nor the other items I did not want. In disgust after watching their long sales pitch, I just left the website without ordering anything.

    A few minutes later I received an email from my credit card company that my card had been charged $140.00 for items I never ordered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Smart Blood Sugar works for me down under

    • Cleveland, Queensland, Australia,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My doctor suggested that I might be a borderline pre-diabetic. He confirmed this with blood tests. I was prescribed an oral medication called Metec (I think it is called) and to take one tablet with my evening meal.

    I found Smart Blood Sugar while looking online at articles on diabetes and watched the overly long, but nonetheless informative video and purchased the book and read it cover to cover when it eventually arrived with the bottles of Glucoburn. I had already cut down dramatically on my carbohydrate intake but had not lost any weight before reading the book and adding the Glucoburn to my diet. I began to follow the program in the book and balancing out my carbs and keeping some real fat in my diet in the form of yogurt, avocados, dairy, chicken and red meat in sensible proportions. Weight loss became apparent within a very short time. I lost five kgs (11 lbs approximately) within a couple of weeks. My waking blood sugar level is now down to 4.5 - 5.5 and post prandial is 6.7 maximum and back to 5.0 - 4.5 after one and a half or two hours. I have to have all my trousers taken in a small price to pay in my opinion. I also take one tablespoon of apple cider (with the mother) before bed every evening with a cup of green tea.

    This program works, but you need to discipline yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Old news covered by others at a premium price.

    • Turlock, CA,
    • Jul 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If Dr. Marlene Merritt really wanted to help people instead of enriching herself, her 100-page book pamphlet, called Smart Blood Sugar, wouldn't have cost me $37. The information in the pamphlet is very good but very old. Dr. Bernstein's book about diabetes talks about carb reduction decades ago. Then the book on the Paleolithic Diet had some of the same info on carb reduction. Dr. Whitaker's book on diabetes came out long ago.

    Dr. Merritt is getting rich off of rehashed information at the expense of diabetics like myself. I guess she wasn't making enough money just being a doctor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Excellent strategy for lowering blood sugar

    • Flemington, NJ,
    • Mar 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a diabetic for over 20 years. I have been on many oral medication and have been injecting insulin and other drugs for over two years. I started the program four weeks ago and am very pleased with the results. I have cut my units of insulin by 60% and hope to stop the injections very soon. IT WORKS!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 74 out 76 people found this review helpful

    Not doing anything for me

    So, I have had everything for almost two months. So far, no change in blood sugar, not even a little change. I'm doing the diet and taking the capsules diligently. It might work for some, but not me.

    I notice on their website that they have a fake BBB logo, meaning they don't belong to the BBB of Dallas like they advertise. It makes me feel like I bought some of Jack's magic beans. Now I'll try for a refund and let you know how that went. Wish me luck. I'm out $210.95 for their things, and I've been billed twice for "who knows what." I'll let you know that also. Good luck folks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 62 out 75 people found this review helpful

    This works

    I've been type 2 diabetic for 20 years. I've read and heard about 80% of this material in all different places. Dr. Marlene puts this info in a short no-nonsense informative package! I've been seeking more and the extra I've learned is extremely valuable to me and totally works. I've tried many of these solutions sporadically in the past but never before put it all together as in her plan. I use a continuous glucose monitor so I can see my results every 5 minutes 24/7. Her plan works without any doubt. You guys are worried about $25, to me this info was priceless. I've read her book twice over and plan a trip cross country to meet Dr. Marlene.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 124 out 141 people found this review helpful

    Questionable

    • Safford, AZ,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some good information but they will continue to try to sell you more books and pills and your first purchase will only buy you a couple of pamphlets. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 106 out 123 people found this review helpful

    Works for me

    I've been fighting high blood sugar numbers in the 300s for some time and was looking for a way of getting that number down without resorting to expensive drugs that my drug plan only partially covers.

    I found a book on Amazon about glycemic load and bought it then followed the recommendations there. In doing further research, I came across the Smart Blood Sugar site, got the book and got two bottles of the Glucoburn supplement when they offered me the second bottle for free.

    While I've only just started with the supplement, I had already been applying the glycemic load principle and with respect to the main review here, I have to disagree that glycemic load is meaningless. Using just the glycemic load principle alone, my blood sugar lowered 100 points in the month since I've started this journey. So I highly recommend the idea to anyone struggling with high blood sugar numbers. Perhaps the Smart Blood Sugar philosophy isn't right for everyone but I have found that it is right for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 86 people found this review helpful

    Informative, not a scam.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found the Smart Blood Sugar book to be very informative. Check the internet for other sources of help too. Dr Marlene has put a lot of effort into writing this book. She really wants to help. I also purchased the Gluco Burn supplements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 83 out 99 people found this review helpful

    If you follow the book it will work

    • Toms River, NJ,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    I listened to the video and even though I hate those things, I still stuck with it. I bought the product and followed it. I lost 15 lbs. Also, take there supplements, they are a little pricey but the quality is excellent.

    A very good product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for Smart Blood Sugar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review