Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Trim Down Club

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Trim Down Club

Overall Rating

2.9

81 Customer Reviews

Summary

Trim Down Club is an online-only weight loss program, created by nutritionists and dietitians, focused on proper nutrition to help you shed unwanted pounds. It may be right for you, but there are some downsides to this program.

Write a Review

Trim Down Club Review: Can You Lose Weight With This Diet?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: Apr 24, 2020

What Is Trim Down Club?

Developed by nutritionists and dieticians, Trim Down Club is a membership-based weight loss program that allegedly helps you lose unwanted fat permanently and naturally, increase strength and energy, and live healthier, and simply feel better.

The company addresses the root cause of weight gain by providing three things:

  • Customized meal plans that match your body type, your tastes, and your lifestyle
  • A collection of recipes that are delicious, nutritious, and most importantly, enjoyable
  • Nutritional advice

Trim Down Club claims to bring together a community of like-minded people who are intent on helping others enjoy good food and lose weight, which is why they call themselves a “club” in the first place.

This review focuses on how the Trim Down Club programs and whether there is scientific backing to its purposed benefits.

How Does The Program Work?

Trim Down Club primarily helps members lose weight by eliminating highly processed food from their diet and providing step-by-step instructions to melt fat naturally.

According to the website, this is possible even without 1) counting calories or macronutrients, 2) subscribing to fad diets or pills, or 3) hunger or deprivation. In fact, their program promises to allow you to replace every bad food that you eliminate with at least one good food that you enjoy.

Additionally, Trim Down Club’s active community of members is intended to help keep you motivated throughout the process, as well as provide different interest-specific groups for you to join.

What Kinds of Recipes Are Featured?

Trim Down Club provides a vast assortment of recipes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on their website, as well as salads, soups, drinks, and seasonings, sauces, and condiments. These even include desserts, since they emphasize you shouldn’t be deprived, although you will need to eat sweets in appropriate portions.

If you’re wondering if any options match your tastes, you can browse their recipes page without first signing up for membership. And if you need a specialized menu based on your specific needs, such as gluten-free, low-cholesterol, low-sugar, non-dairy, or vegetarian, Trim Down Club offers options for you as well.

According to the company, these recipes can be made using foods found at your local supermarket, although they may cost more than the groceries you’re currently buying.

Does Trim Down Club Focus On Exercise?

Trim Down Club states that 80 percent of weight loss revolves around the foods you eat, and only 20 percent relate to exercise. The company focuses primarily on balanced nutrition incorporating whole, fresh foods, and claims that many people use the program to lose weight without ever exercising. While possible, this review demonstrates the necessity of including exercise in addition to a healthy diet.

With this said, Trim Down Club membership does include access to an exercise program that incorporates fitness equipment you already own.

Does Science Back Up Trim Down Club?

Though Trim Down Club can cater to a variety of dietary choices, their methods for weight loss are rooted in portion control.

Reducing portion size is just one method of weight loss, though it is a well-studied one.

In obese female subjects assigned to different weight loss methods, those that were provided pre-portioned foods lost weight the quickest, though the weight also returned rather quickly.

Also, these subjects received professional guidance. Providing education is a staple of Trim Down Club’s mission and another component proven to help deliver weight loss results.

Those that received education regarding portion control via regular text messages lost more weight than those who received monthly print outs.

Current dietary guidelines for portion control are available. The need to adopt this practice with regards to calorie-dense foods is highlighted. These recommendations seem to be in line with suggestions made by Trim Down Club.

Lastly, Trim Down Club seems to offer ample opportunity to take part in various groups based on your interests. The accountability component offered in this setting as it related to weight loss has been investigated.

In a review of 138 studies, researchers found that weight loss is 50% more likely when progress is monitored in a public context or when at least one person shares in the process.

Similarly, another study found that women maintained weight loss better when they had accountability both from peers and through group educational sessions.

Safety

Implementing healthy lifestyle changes like those associated with Trim Down Club are vital for weight loss success, though they are not without risk.

Making drastic dietary changes can negatively impact how you react to your medications, lead to a nutrient or energy deficit, or electrolyte and hormone imbalances that can be harmful.

Your exercise plan should also include gradual increases in intensity. Starting off at a level that is appropriate for your current fitness level can help you avoid overstress your heart.

Despite their potential to positively affect your health, you should still speak with your doctor before making drastic lifestyle changes. They can track your progress over time and help monitor safety.

Pricing & Refund Policy

Currently, customers can sign up for a Trim Down Club membership for $1.99, which covers the first month. After that, the price increases to $9.90 per month.

For this price, you’ll receive access to the following:

  • Personal Menu Planner – This is Trim Down Club’s most popular tool, which provides you with a weekly menu, based on your specific dietary needs. All you have to do is choose the foods you love, and the Planner will combine them into the perfect balance of carbs, proteins, and fats, so you can lose weight and keep it off.
  • 8-Week Plan – This is a carefully designed plan by the company’s Chief Dietitian, Ossie Sharon, who has been helping people lose weight and keep it off for over 30 years.
  • Live Forums – Here, members can meet others who are on a mission to lose weight, as well as ask experts for advice regarding nutrition and fitness, 24/7.
  • Recipes – Using a variety of ingredients that can deliver new tastes, these recipes are approved by Trim Down Club’s dieticians to “determine maximum fat burning capacity.”
  • Guides & Videos – A collection of guides and videos that covers everything from food shopping tips to meal preparation.
  • Articles – The company claims these can help you stay up-to-date on everything related to health and wellness.

In addition, you'll also gain access to the company's 8-Week Plan, Great Soup Recipes, Big Book of Desserts, Cook Well Be Well, Simple Express Meal Plans, Ideal Weight Calculator, Express Meal Plans, community forums, articles, and studies, as well as different groups and activities.

All purchases come with a cancel-anytime 60-day money back guarantee, which can be requested by filling out the company’s online contact form.

Bottom Line: Is Trim Down Club Right For You?

Trim Down Club offers access to portion control education, recipes, exercise, group support, and more. The combination of these elements is proven to support healthy weight loss.

Also, the flow of information with Trim Down Club seems to be consistent, so it may offer an edge when compared to programs that offer less guidance.

Trim Down Club is also relatively inexpensive. Though you may be able to dig up similar information on the internet for free, the nominal fee may be worth the convenience of having everything in one place.

Lastly, their program does offer some exercise guidance, though this is not the emphasis of their method for weight loss. You may be able to seek structured advice in a group setting, but it may or may not be an expert opinion.

If you’re interested in exercise education that rivals the nutritional guidance, Trim Down Club may not be the right choice for you.

Nonetheless, with proven methods and reasonable pricing, Trim Down Club is a decent option if you feel you need help implementing lifestyle changes that promote weight loss.

Still, speak with your doctor before making drastic changes.

Customer Reviews

2.9 Stars out of 81 Reviews
5 Star:37% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:44%
42% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Trim Down Club:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 1, 2021

Awesome

By Marlo H., Laredo, TX, Verified Reviewer

I loved the recipes on this site, you can choose to view keto recipes or non-keto. There are tons of functions I haven't even explored, but making these recipes has helped me begin to lose weight - down 10lbs!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Recipes

Keto recipes

Dessert recipes

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Apr 30, 2021

Trim Down Club is not suited for me!

By Sheryl S., Cedar Hill, TX, Verified Reviewer

After several months, I’ve determined Trim Down Club is not for me and I’d requested to cancel my subscription. I sent an email to the email referenced for Trim Down Club Customer Support on 3/17/21 requesting cancellation be effective that day. To date, April 26, 2021, a month later, I’ve received no confirmation of my request. I’m again requesting my subscription be canceled and that my account is no longer charged for the service.

I also ordered some books that I have yet to receive. These were ordered in March 2021, and have not arrived.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Information on weight lost

Unsure of credibility of testimonials; no way to vet information

This program and its model doesn’t work for me

Posted on Apr 25, 2021

I was surprised how easy it was to cancel. Do not be afraid to join.

By Debra C. , Palestine, TX

I joined and realized I couldn't afford the different books they had. So I canceled. The next day, they wanted to know why, sent a refund, and really wanted to know how I was. If I could afford the different things they offer, I would. So, try it. They won't let you down. Just wanted you to know, they are not a scam.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Honesty

Good plan

You can email the CEO, they talk to you

Started out looking like a scam

Bad reviews, BUT they didn't take them down

Posted on Apr 18, 2021

Great for diabetes

By Mario H., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

The Trim Down Club has a great program for people with diabetes. One of the few programs I have seen that focuses on nutrition instead of prohibition. I can change foods that I don't like, so it doesn't even feel like a diet. They also have a Facebook group that's been awesome for finding support and help with some questions I had. 100% recommend it!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Menu flexibility

Facebook community

Helps with diabetes

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Apr 9, 2021

A bit confusing at first

By Hannes K., Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

I thought I would receive my meal plans in my email, but it never came through. When I wrote them, they instructed me to log into my account and I found tons of useful materials as well as chatting with a very helpful lady who showed me around and helped me make my own menus. Now I love the program and log in frequently to look over recipes.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Recipes

Articles

Chat

Sign-up process

Email offers

Posted on Apr 1, 2021

Awesome

By Sally H., Peterborough, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Intermittent fasting is my way of life. I eat until 6pm and drink water all day. Lost 13 pounds in 3 weeks and I don't feel hungry.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Intermittent fasting option

IF meal plans

You can select to skip breakfast or dinner

Wish they had an app on the app store

Posted on Mar 30, 2021

Great step by step guide

By Jason R., Yucatan, Mexico, Verified Reviewer

Although I was hesitant of an online weight loss app, Trim Down was great because it provided lots of step-by-step guidance since day one. Whenever I have questions about my diet or how to use the app, I can use their chat and immediately solve my questions.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to follow menus

Great live chat

Clean design

Newsletter sends too many mails

Posted on Mar 3, 2021

Cancelled and keep getting billed

By Donna V., Leeds, AL, Verified Reviewer

I requested a cancellation pretty quickly into my membership as it really seemed not a good fit for me. I received an email back saying they had received the cancellation request. But I have been billed for two more months for something I canceled and that they had acknowledged my request to cancel. So I am not at all pleased. I have sent several more emails and I had better get a credit for them billing and taking money out of my PayPal WITHOUT authorization. I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau concerning this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Nothing extraordinary or different about their program

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Mar 3, 2021

Hi Donna,

We would be happy to explain what happened.

We received a cancellation request from you on December 29th, we answered you on December 30th offering you Free Lifetime Membership. We did not receive a response so we were not authorized to touch your account. You answered us on February 28th asking to cancel and refund the last two payments so we canceled and refunded the two payments and answered you on March 1st letting you know that your payments were refunded.

We are sorry for the confusion this caused, but your account has been canceled and refunded and you will no longer be charged for the subscription.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Trim Down Club

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 16, 2021

Not happy!

By Melissa W., Thompsonville, IL, Verified Reviewer

I tried for $1.99, got my menu and recipes for the first week. Decided it wasn't for me so I canceled and received a notice that they received the cancellation, but then they took $9.90 out of my account the next month. I have to close out the card to keep from being charged next month. Not happy at all.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Feb 16, 2021

Hi Melissa,

We would be happy to clarify what happened.

We received a request to cancel on January 6, 2021. We replied to you immediately offering you Free Lifetime Membership. We did not receive a response, so we left your account untouched since we were not authorized to do anything else without your reply. You responded on February 10th asking to cancel instead of receiving the Lifetime Membership, and we went ahead and canceled the same day.

We are sorry for the confusion this caused, but your account has been canceled and you will no longer be charged for the subscription.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Trim Down Club

Posted on Feb 9, 2021

Eligible...for free books

By Paula R., Dallas, TX, Verified Reviewer

"I am eligible for KETO AFTER 50 Cookbook, Desserts, and Overall Wellness books"...just pay the shipping cost.

I appreciate the books were free, I gladly paid for shipping, on January 10, 2021. This is where I am feeling cheated...NO BOOKS YET.

I reached out to Keto Trim Down Club and I was informed, a third-party organization called "Nutrition Hacks (of all the names!)" is who to contact. Recorded message for the phone, that leads to nowhere, and an email address that always informs you "your request is under review." It is February 3, 2021 and nothing. I am very discouraged with Keto, for not assisting me, confidently. I believe in the ketonic basis and realize that the Trim Down Club is an online advisory type site. I would hope their websites would favor more dignity than bouncing my intelligence around, having me feel like an idiot. It doesn't feel very good...KETO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I thought it was trusted

The process made sense too

I have known many people that managed the science and lost weight

Leading me to third-party entities that have scammed me

Constant emails leading me to 30-minute videos to hear outrageous discoveries

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Feb 10, 2021

Hi Paula,

We are so sorry for the inconvenience you have described. We only work with trusted and verified companies, and this isn't an issue we have come across before. We have private messaged you to get your account information so we can contact the correct company and get the details of what happened to the book. We will make sure that it is delivered securely.

Again, we apologize for the issue you are describing and we will sort it out as soon as we have the correct information.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Trim Down Club

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 29, 2020

Please cancel me immediately

By Jennifer L., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I have used this for a week and I have lost complete respect with the selling emails. I will go to the BBB if I’m not canceled immediately. Then there is no number to call. No, I’m totally done with you, cancel me or I will report you for fraud.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Selling

Encourage diet pills

No customer service whatsoever

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Oct 31, 2020

Hi Jennifer,

I was just notified about your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First, I am sorry for the dissatisfaction you feel over the interactions. We have gone ahead and cancelled your account, and you will no longer receive emails from our website.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Showing 1-11 of 81

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.