Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Trim Down Club

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Trim Down Club

Overall Rating

2.8

73 Customer Reviews

Summary

Trim Down Club is an online-only weight loss program, created by nutritionists and dietitians, focused on proper nutrition to help you shed unwanted pounds. It may be right for you, but there are some downsides to this program.

Trim Down Club Review: Can You Lose Weight With This Diet?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: Apr 24, 2020

What Is Trim Down Club?

Developed by nutritionists and dieticians, Trim Down Club is a membership-based weight loss program that allegedly helps you lose unwanted fat permanently and naturally, increase strength and energy, and live healthier, and simply feel better.

The company addresses the root cause of weight gain by providing three things:

  • Customized meal plans that match your body type, your tastes, and your lifestyle
  • A collection of recipes that are delicious, nutritious, and most importantly, enjoyable
  • Nutritional advice

Trim Down Club claims to bring together a community of like-minded people who are intent on helping others enjoy good food and lose weight, which is why they call themselves a “club” in the first place.

This review focuses on how the Trim Down Club programs and whether there is scientific backing to its purposed benefits.

How Does The Program Work?

Trim Down Club primarily helps members lose weight by eliminating highly processed food from their diet and providing step-by-step instructions to melt fat naturally.

According to the website, this is possible even without 1) counting calories or macronutrients, 2) subscribing to fad diets or pills, or 3) hunger or deprivation. In fact, their program promises to allow you to replace every bad food that you eliminate with at least one good food that you enjoy.

Additionally, Trim Down Club’s active community of members is intended to help keep you motivated throughout the process, as well as provide different interest-specific groups for you to join.

What Kinds of Recipes Are Featured?

Trim Down Club provides a vast assortment of recipes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on their website, as well as salads, soups, drinks, and seasonings, sauces, and condiments. These even include desserts, since they emphasize you shouldn’t be deprived, although you will need to eat sweets in appropriate portions.

If you’re wondering if any options match your tastes, you can browse their recipes page without first signing up for membership. And if you need a specialized menu based on your specific needs, such as gluten-free, low-cholesterol, low-sugar, non-dairy, or vegetarian, Trim Down Club offers options for you as well.

According to the company, these recipes can be made using foods found at your local supermarket, although they may cost more than the groceries you’re currently buying.

Does Trim Down Club Focus On Exercise?

Trim Down Club states that 80 percent of weight loss revolves around the foods you eat, and only 20 percent relate to exercise. The company focuses primarily on balanced nutrition incorporating whole, fresh foods, and claims that many people use the program to lose weight without ever exercising. While possible, this review demonstrates the necessity of including exercise in addition to a healthy diet.

With this said, Trim Down Club membership does include access to an exercise program that incorporates fitness equipment you already own.

Does Science Back Up Trim Down Club?

Though Trim Down Club can cater to a variety of dietary choices, their methods for weight loss are rooted in portion control.

Reducing portion size is just one method of weight loss, though it is a well-studied one.

In obese female subjects assigned to different weight loss methods, those that were provided pre-portioned foods lost weight the quickest, though the weight also returned rather quickly.

Also, these subjects received professional guidance. Providing education is a staple of Trim Down Club’s mission and another component proven to help deliver weight loss results.

Those that received education regarding portion control via regular text messages lost more weight than those who received monthly print outs.

Current dietary guidelines for portion control are available. The need to adopt this practice with regards to calorie-dense foods is highlighted. These recommendations seem to be in line with suggestions made by Trim Down Club.

Lastly, Trim Down Club seems to offer ample opportunity to take part in various groups based on your interests. The accountability component offered in this setting as it related to weight loss has been investigated.

In a review of 138 studies, researchers found that weight loss is 50% more likely when progress is monitored in a public context or when at least one person shares in the process.

Similarly, another study found that women maintained weight loss better when they had accountability both from peers and through group educational sessions.

Safety

Implementing healthy lifestyle changes like those associated with Trim Down Club are vital for weight loss success, though they are not without risk.

Making drastic dietary changes can negatively impact how you react to your medications, lead to a nutrient or energy deficit, or electrolyte and hormone imbalances that can be harmful.

Your exercise plan should also include gradual increases in intensity. Starting off at a level that is appropriate for your current fitness level can help you avoid overstress your heart.

Despite their potential to positively affect your health, you should still speak with your doctor before making drastic lifestyle changes. They can track your progress over time and help monitor safety.

Pricing & Refund Policy

Currently, customers can sign up for a Trim Down Club membership for $1.99, which covers the first month. After that, the price increases to $9.90 per month.

For this price, you’ll receive access to the following:

  • Personal Menu Planner – This is Trim Down Club’s most popular tool, which provides you with a weekly menu, based on your specific dietary needs. All you have to do is choose the foods you love, and the Planner will combine them into the perfect balance of carbs, proteins, and fats, so you can lose weight and keep it off.
  • 8-Week Plan – This is a carefully designed plan by the company’s Chief Dietitian, Ossie Sharon, who has been helping people lose weight and keep it off for over 30 years.
  • Live Forums – Here, members can meet others who are on a mission to lose weight, as well as ask experts for advice regarding nutrition and fitness, 24/7.
  • Recipes – Using a variety of ingredients that can deliver new tastes, these recipes are approved by Trim Down Club’s dieticians to “determine maximum fat burning capacity.”
  • Guides & Videos – A collection of guides and videos that covers everything from food shopping tips to meal preparation.
  • Articles – The company claims these can help you stay up-to-date on everything related to health and wellness.

In addition, you'll also gain access to the company's 8-Week Plan, Great Soup Recipes, Big Book of Desserts, Cook Well Be Well, Simple Express Meal Plans, Ideal Weight Calculator, Express Meal Plans, community forums, articles, and studies, as well as different groups and activities.

All purchases come with a cancel-anytime 60-day money back guarantee, which can be requested by filling out the company’s online contact form.

Bottom Line: Is Trim Down Club Right For You?

Trim Down Club offers access to portion control education, recipes, exercise, group support, and more. The combination of these elements is proven to support healthy weight loss.

Also, the flow of information with Trim Down Club seems to be consistent, so it may offer an edge when compared to programs that offer less guidance.

Trim Down Club is also relatively inexpensive. Though you may be able to dig up similar information on the internet for free, the nominal fee may be worth the convenience of having everything in one place.

Lastly, their program does offer some exercise guidance, though this is not the emphasis of their method for weight loss. You may be able to seek structured advice in a group setting, but it may or may not be an expert opinion.

If you’re interested in exercise education that rivals the nutritional guidance, Trim Down Club may not be the right choice for you.

Nonetheless, with proven methods and reasonable pricing, Trim Down Club is a decent option if you feel you need help implementing lifestyle changes that promote weight loss.

Still, speak with your doctor before making drastic changes.

Customer Reviews

2.8 Stars out of 73 Reviews
5 Star:34% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:47%
38% Recommend This Company
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 16, 2021

Not happy!

By Melissa W., Thompsonville, IL, Verified Reviewer

I tried for $1.99, got my menu and recipes for the first week. Decided it wasn't for me so I canceled and received a notice that they received the cancellation, but then they took $9.90 out of my account the next month. I have to close out the card to keep from being charged next month. Not happy at all.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Feb 16, 2021

Hi Melissa,

We would be happy to clarify what happened.

We received a request to cancel on January 6, 2021. We replied to you immediately offering you Free Lifetime Membership. We did not receive a response, so we left your account untouched since we were not authorized to do anything else without your reply. You responded on February 10th asking to cancel instead of receiving the Lifetime Membership, and we went ahead and canceled the same day.

We are sorry for the confusion this caused, but your account has been canceled and you will no longer be charged for the subscription.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Trim Down Club

Posted on Feb 9, 2021

Eligible...for free books

By Paula R., Dallas, TX, Verified Reviewer

"I am eligible for KETO AFTER 50 Cookbook, Desserts, and Overall Wellness books"...just pay the shipping cost.

I appreciate the books were free, I gladly paid for shipping, on January 10, 2021. This is where I am feeling cheated...NO BOOKS YET.

I reached out to Keto Trim Down Club and I was informed, a third-party organization called "Nutrition Hacks (of all the names!)" is who to contact. Recorded message for the phone, that leads to nowhere, and an email address that always informs you "your request is under review." It is February 3, 2021 and nothing. I am very discouraged with Keto, for not assisting me, confidently. I believe in the ketonic basis and realize that the Trim Down Club is an online advisory type site. I would hope their websites would favor more dignity than bouncing my intelligence around, having me feel like an idiot. It doesn't feel very good...KETO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I thought it was trusted

The process made sense too

I have known many people that managed the science and lost weight

Leading me to third-party entities that have scammed me

Constant emails leading me to 30-minute videos to hear outrageous discoveries

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Feb 10, 2021

Hi Paula,

We are so sorry for the inconvenience you have described. We only work with trusted and verified companies, and this isn't an issue we have come across before. We have private messaged you to get your account information so we can contact the correct company and get the details of what happened to the book. We will make sure that it is delivered securely.

Again, we apologize for the issue you are describing and we will sort it out as soon as we have the correct information.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Trim Down Club

Posted on Oct 29, 2020

Please cancel me immediately

By Jennifer L., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I have used this for a week and I have lost complete respect with the selling emails. I will go to the BBB if I’m not canceled immediately. Then there is no number to call. No, I’m totally done with you, cancel me or I will report you for fraud.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Selling

Encourage diet pills

No customer service whatsoever

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Oct 31, 2020

Hi Jennifer,

I was just notified about your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First, I am sorry for the dissatisfaction you feel over the interactions. We have gone ahead and cancelled your account, and you will no longer receive emails from our website.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Sep 12, 2020

I can't get out of this

By Betty F., New Mexico, Verified Reviewer

I sent in my initial $10.76, but thought I had canceled within 24 hours. I was charged again, so I asked for a refund. The refund appears on my credit card statement, but so does another $10.76 charge. As far as I'm concerned, this whole "program" is a scam! Don't waste your money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Sep 13, 2020

Hi Betty, We are so sorry for the misunderstanding. When you signed up to the program, you agreed to an ongoing subscription. We received a request to cancel, and we responded by offering you Lifetime Membership. We did not receive a response, so we left your account untouched until we received a response. You responded asking to cancel and be refunded, which we did immediately at the request. You no longer have an ongoing subscription, and your account was canceled and refunded on July 31, 2020. If there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know!

Posted on Jun 15, 2020

Fraudulent!

By Tracey R., California, Verified Reviewer

After canceling this membership, I got an email saying they were sorry to see me go and that they were switching me "to a FREE lifetime membership, starting on: June 10. This means that you will only be billed one more time and then you'll have full access to the Trim Down Club for life!"

So, despite canceling, they CHARGED me again anyway! Bogus!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Impossible to cancel

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Jun 16, 2020

Hi Tracey,

I was just notified about your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First, I am sorry for the dissatisfaction you feel over the interaction. I would be happy to clarify that the service team offered Free Lifetime Membership after one more payment, but if the offer does not interest you, of course we will cancel your account. I am sorry that was not clear. I would be happy to refund that last payment as well.

If you haven’t received your cancellation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible. You can email me for direct assistance at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Jun 4, 2020

Can't get back into account and haven't received anything to my email

By Erika B., Griffin, GA, Verified Reviewer

I joined approximately 3 days ago and haven't been able to get back into my account. The password does not work and when I click "forgot password" it tells me that a link will be sent to reset. I have not gotten that link nor have I received the infamous welcome letter that I was supposed to get. I am starting to think this was a scam and will be contacting my credit card company to block the charges.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I thought I would like the meal planning option

After 1 day, I cannot get back on the site despite multiple attempts

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Jun 7, 2020

Hi Erika, I have just seen your review and I wanted to get back to you as quickly as possible. I am sorry that you are having an issue accessing your account. Sometimes the reset password email and welcome email get lost in the spam section of your email.

If you haven’t received your access yet, you can email me your details and I’ll personally send you your login information as soon as possible. You can email me for direct assistance at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com.

If you are still not satisfied after giving our program a fair chance, just email me and I will refund your account.

To your health and safety,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Feb 21, 2020

Canceling

By Autumn W., Macomb, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have tried multiple times to send an email to Trim Down Club about canceling my subscription and no one has gotten back to me and I am still being charged a monthly payment. It shouldn’t be this difficult to cancel a subscription! I need this to get resolved and I will most definitely never recommend Trim Down Club to anyone!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Feb 23, 2020

Hi Autumn,

I was just notified about your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First and foremost, I apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t what either of us had hoped for. Sometimes our support teams replies are mistakenly placed in your email's spam/junk folder, and that's why you never saw our reply to your request.

If you haven’t received your cancelation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible. You can email me for direct assistance at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Jan 12, 2020

Don't waste your money

By Julie P., Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Not user-friendly at all. I canceled my membership and even after receiving a confirmation email that they received my cancellation request, they still continued to charge my credit card! Just a scam if you ask me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Jan 14, 2020

Hi Julie, I’ve just seen your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First and foremost, I apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t what either of us had hoped for. However, I want you to know that you can cancel your Trim Down Club subscription at any time. All you would have to do is email us at support@trimdownclub.com and we will take care of your request within 48 hours. If you haven’t received your cancelation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible.

I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied even if you are no longer a customer of ours so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com.

All the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Sep 12, 2019

Deceptive sign up

By Mary L., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

As soon as I signed up I saw I would be charged not $1.99 one month trial but $9.99 automatic every month on my credit card. Also, the information and the same type of recipes are on the internet for free, e.g. on medical sites for diabetes, etc.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Sep 16, 2019

Hi Mary,

I have just been notified of your review and wanted to write to you as soon as I could. This is Adam Feldman the Director of Client Relations at the Trim Down Club. I want to start off by saying that I am sorry if you felt our program did not make it obvious that is was a monthly subscription. However, we do mention it multiple times throughout our sign-up process, both before and after the payment process. Now for the recipes you found online, if they are similar to our programs then they are most likely copies of ours as we have multiple professional nutritionists creating new recipes for our menu planner based on the different types of diets we have daily.

I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com with any questions or concerns you might have regarding your account or our program.

Wishing you all the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Jul 18, 2019

Upsell after upsell

By Beverly H., New York, Verified Reviewer

First, it took me a week before I got an email to even get on the site. I was stupid and went for the first round of upsells figuring the more info the better. I never got the links to the upsells and it took a week to finally get onto the site, then I clicked on the FREE GIFT...for only $6.98 shipping, but wait, if you spend $40 for the full-size product that you haven't tried yet then you can get $7 off. Refuse that and there is another product, and another and another and another until I finally gave up and asked for my money back!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Sep 16, 2019

Hi Beverly,

I have just seen your review and wanted to write to you as soon as I could. This is Adam Feldman the Director of Client Relations at the Trim Down Club. I wanted to start off by apologizing for y our poor experience with our program, that was not our intention in the slightest and we are going to do whatever we can from here on to try to improve your overall experience. Now, as far as the upsells go, those are all completely optional and are each only offered one time meaning that after one refusal you won't be offered the product again. Additionally, you can cancel and refund your orders at any time as long as it's within 60 days of purchasing, so it's easy to take full of advantage of our offers and be able to keep your money if you're not satisfied.

I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied even if you are no longer a customer of ours so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com with any questions or concerns you might still have.

Wishing you all the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Posted on Jun 18, 2019

Absolute rubbish

By Danielle G., Pawcatuck, CT, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for the Keto diet and what I got in return was a plan that is definitely not Keto based. Why do you false advertise to people! I am so angry and will be canceling my subscription even though you have taken $2 from me. An easy way for this company to be making $2 from many people with false advertising.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Jul 15, 2019

Hello Danielle,

I’ve just been notified of your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First of all, I want to apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t enjoyable, that’s not the result that either of us had hoped for. We don’t want any of our customers to feel as though they’re being false advertised to, so I’d like to go over a few concerns you had. When customers sign up for the KetoTrim program from Trim Down Club they’ll automatically be given a low-carb 28-day keto meal plan that they can follow. Additionally, our menu planner function now has a Keto filter option so customers can easily set their own Keto menus that come with ingredients and shopping lists.

I want to give you the opportunity to try our new Keto menu planner so please contact me directly and I’ll get our support team to gift you free access to our program! You can message me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

Wishing you all the best,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations

Trim Down Club

Showing 1-11 of 73

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.