Trim Down Club Review: Can You Lose Weight With This Diet?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Apr 24, 2020

What Is Trim Down Club?

Developed by nutritionists and dieticians, Trim Down Club is a membership-based weight loss program that allegedly helps you lose unwanted fat permanently and naturally, increase strength and energy, and live healthier, and simply feel better.

The company addresses the root cause of weight gain by providing three things:

  • Customized meal plans that match your body type, your tastes, and your lifestyle
  • A collection of recipes that are delicious, nutritious, and most importantly, enjoyable
  • Nutritional advice

Trim Down Club claims to bring together a community of like-minded people who are intent on helping others enjoy good food and lose weight, which is why they call themselves a “club” in the first place.

This review focuses on how the Trim Down Club programs and whether there is scientific backing to its purposed benefits.

How Does The Program Work?

Trim Down Club primarily helps members lose weight by eliminating highly processed food from their diet and providing step-by-step instructions to melt fat naturally.

According to the website, this is possible even without 1) counting calories or macronutrients, 2) subscribing to fad diets or pills, or 3) hunger or deprivation. In fact, their program promises to allow you to replace every bad food that you eliminate with at least one good food that you enjoy.

Additionally, Trim Down Club’s active community of members is intended to help keep you motivated throughout the process, as well as provide different interest-specific groups for you to join.

What Kinds of Recipes Are Featured?

Trim Down Club provides a vast assortment of recipes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on their website, as well as salads, soups, drinks, and seasonings, sauces, and condiments. These even include desserts, since they emphasize you shouldn’t be deprived, although you will need to eat sweets in appropriate portions.

If you’re wondering if any options match your tastes, you can browse their recipes page without first signing up for membership. And if you need a specialized menu based on your specific needs, such as gluten-free, low-cholesterol, low-sugar, non-dairy, or vegetarian, Trim Down Club offers options for you as well.

According to the company, these recipes can be made using foods found at your local supermarket, although they may cost more than the groceries you’re currently buying.

Does Trim Down Club Focus On Exercise?

Trim Down Club states that 80 percent of weight loss revolves around the foods you eat, and only 20 percent relate to exercise. The company focuses primarily on balanced nutrition incorporating whole, fresh foods, and claims that many people use the program to lose weight without ever exercising. While possible, this review demonstrates the necessity of including exercise in addition to a healthy diet.

With this said, Trim Down Club membership does include access to an exercise program that incorporates fitness equipment you already own.

Does Science Back Up Trim Down Club?

Though Trim Down Club can cater to a variety of dietary choices, their methods for weight loss are rooted in portion control.

Reducing portion size is just one method of weight loss, though it is a well-studied one.

In obese female subjects assigned to different weight loss methods, those that were provided pre-portioned foods lost weight the quickest, though the weight also returned rather quickly.

Also, these subjects received professional guidance. Providing education is a staple of Trim Down Club’s mission and another component proven to help deliver weight loss results.

Those that received education regarding portion control via regular text messages lost more weight than those who received monthly print outs.

Current dietary guidelines for portion control are available. The need to adopt this practice with regards to calorie-dense foods is highlighted. These recommendations seem to be in line with suggestions made by Trim Down Club.

Lastly, Trim Down Club seems to offer ample opportunity to take part in various groups based on your interests. The accountability component offered in this setting as it related to weight loss has been investigated.

In a review of 138 studies, researchers found that weight loss is 50% more likely when progress is monitored in a public context or when at least one person shares in the process.

Similarly, another study found that women maintained weight loss better when they had accountability both from peers and through group educational sessions.

Safety

Implementing healthy lifestyle changes like those associated with Trim Down Club are vital for weight loss success, though they are not without risk.

Making drastic dietary changes can negatively impact how you react to your medications, lead to a nutrient or energy deficit, or electrolyte and hormone imbalances that can be harmful.

Your exercise plan should also include gradual increases in intensity. Starting off at a level that is appropriate for your current fitness level can help you avoid overstress your heart.

Despite their potential to positively affect your health, you should still speak with your doctor before making drastic lifestyle changes. They can track your progress over time and help monitor safety.

Pricing & Refund Policy

Currently, customers can sign up for a Trim Down Club membership for $1.99, which covers the first month. After that, the price increases to $9.90 per month.

For this price, you’ll receive access to the following:

  • Personal Menu Planner – This is Trim Down Club’s most popular tool, which provides you with a weekly menu, based on your specific dietary needs. All you have to do is choose the foods you love, and the Planner will combine them into the perfect balance of carbs, proteins, and fats, so you can lose weight and keep it off.
  • 8-Week Plan – This is a carefully designed plan by the company’s Chief Dietitian, Ossie Sharon, who has been helping people lose weight and keep it off for over 30 years.
  • Live Forums – Here, members can meet others who are on a mission to lose weight, as well as ask experts for advice regarding nutrition and fitness, 24/7.
  • Recipes – Using a variety of ingredients that can deliver new tastes, these recipes are approved by Trim Down Club’s dieticians to “determine maximum fat burning capacity.”
  • Guides & Videos – A collection of guides and videos that covers everything from food shopping tips to meal preparation.
  • Articles – The company claims these can help you stay up-to-date on everything related to health and wellness.

In addition, you'll also gain access to the company's 8-Week Plan, Great Soup Recipes, Big Book of Desserts, Cook Well Be Well, Simple Express Meal Plans, Ideal Weight Calculator, Express Meal Plans, community forums, articles, and studies, as well as different groups and activities.

All purchases come with a cancel-anytime 60-day money back guarantee, which can be requested by filling out the company’s online contact form.

Bottom Line: Is Trim Down Club Right For You?

Trim Down Club offers access to portion control education, recipes, exercise, group support, and more. The combination of these elements is proven to support healthy weight loss.

Also, the flow of information with Trim Down Club seems to be consistent, so it may offer an edge when compared to programs that offer less guidance.

Trim Down Club is also relatively inexpensive. Though you may be able to dig up similar information on the internet for free, the nominal fee may be worth the convenience of having everything in one place.

Lastly, their program does offer some exercise guidance, though this is not the emphasis of their method for weight loss. You may be able to seek structured advice in a group setting, but it may or may not be an expert opinion.

If you’re interested in exercise education that rivals the nutritional guidance, Trim Down Club may not be the right choice for you.

Nonetheless, with proven methods and reasonable pricing, Trim Down Club is a decent option if you feel you need help implementing lifestyle changes that promote weight loss.

Still, speak with your doctor before making drastic changes.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Trim Down Club:
  • 70 Customer Reviews
  • 40% Recommend This Company
2.8 out of 5
5 star: 35% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 47%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I can't get out of this

    • By Betty F.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Sep 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sent in my initial $10.76, but thought I had canceled within 24 hours. I was charged again, so I asked for a refund. The refund appears on my credit card statement, but so does another $10.76 charge. As far as I'm concerned, this whole "program" is a scam! Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 13, 2020

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Betty, We are so sorry for the misunderstanding. When you signed up to the program, you agreed to an ongoing subscription. We received a request to cancel, and we responded by offering you Lifetime Membership. We did not receive a response, so we left your account untouched until we received a response. You responded asking to cancel and be refunded, which we did immediately at the request. You no longer have an ongoing subscription, and your account was canceled and refunded on July 31, 2020. If there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know!


  • Fraudulent!

    • By Tracey R.,
    • California,
    • Jun 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    After canceling this membership, I got an email saying they were sorry to see me go and that they were switching me "to a FREE lifetime membership, starting on: June 10. This means that you will only be billed one more time and then you'll have full access to the Trim Down Club for life!"

    So, despite canceling, they CHARGED me again anyway! Bogus!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Impossible to cancel

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 16, 2020

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Tracey,

      I was just notified about your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First, I am sorry for the dissatisfaction you feel over the interaction. I would be happy to clarify that the service team offered Free Lifetime Membership after one more payment, but if the offer does not interest you, of course we will cancel your account. I am sorry that was not clear. I would be happy to refund that last payment as well.

      If you haven’t received your cancellation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible. You can email me for direct assistance at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

      All the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Can't get back into account and haven't received anything to my email

    • By Erika B.,
    • Griffin, GA,
    • Jun 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I joined approximately 3 days ago and haven't been able to get back into my account. The password does not work and when I click "forgot password" it tells me that a link will be sent to reset. I have not gotten that link nor have I received the infamous welcome letter that I was supposed to get. I am starting to think this was a scam and will be contacting my credit card company to block the charges.

    Pros and Cons:

    • I thought I would like the meal planning option
    • After 1 day, I cannot get back on the site despite multiple attempts

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 7, 2020

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Erika, I have just seen your review and I wanted to get back to you as quickly as possible. I am sorry that you are having an issue accessing your account. Sometimes the reset password email and welcome email get lost in the spam section of your email.

      If you haven’t received your access yet, you can email me your details and I’ll personally send you your login information as soon as possible. You can email me for direct assistance at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com.

      If you are still not satisfied after giving our program a fair chance, just email me and I will refund your account.

      To your health and safety,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Canceling

    • By Autumn W.,
    • Macomb, MI,
    • Feb 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have tried multiple times to send an email to Trim Down Club about canceling my subscription and no one has gotten back to me and I am still being charged a monthly payment. It shouldn’t be this difficult to cancel a subscription! I need this to get resolved and I will most definitely never recommend Trim Down Club to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 23, 2020

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Autumn,

      I was just notified about your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First and foremost, I apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t what either of us had hoped for. Sometimes our support teams replies are mistakenly placed in your email's spam/junk folder, and that's why you never saw our reply to your request.

      If you haven’t received your cancelation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible. You can email me for direct assistance at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

      All the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Julie P.,
    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not user-friendly at all. I canceled my membership and even after receiving a confirmation email that they received my cancellation request, they still continued to charge my credit card! Just a scam if you ask me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 14, 2020

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Julie, I’ve just seen your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First and foremost, I apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t what either of us had hoped for. However, I want you to know that you can cancel your Trim Down Club subscription at any time. All you would have to do is email us at support@trimdownclub.com and we will take care of your request within 48 hours. If you haven’t received your cancelation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible.

      I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied even if you are no longer a customer of ours so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com.

      All the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Deceptive sign up

    • By Mary L.,
    • Ohio,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As soon as I signed up I saw I would be charged not $1.99 one month trial but $9.99 automatic every month on my credit card. Also, the information and the same type of recipes are on the internet for free, e.g. on medical sites for diabetes, etc.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Mary,

      I have just been notified of your review and wanted to write to you as soon as I could. This is Adam Feldman the Director of Client Relations at the Trim Down Club. I want to start off by saying that I am sorry if you felt our program did not make it obvious that is was a monthly subscription. However, we do mention it multiple times throughout our sign-up process, both before and after the payment process. Now for the recipes you found online, if they are similar to our programs then they are most likely copies of ours as we have multiple professional nutritionists creating new recipes for our menu planner based on the different types of diets we have daily.

      I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com with any questions or concerns you might have regarding your account or our program.

      Wishing you all the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Upsell after upsell

    • By Beverly H.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, it took me a week before I got an email to even get on the site. I was stupid and went for the first round of upsells figuring the more info the better. I never got the links to the upsells and it took a week to finally get onto the site, then I clicked on the FREE GIFT...for only $6.98 shipping, but wait, if you spend $40 for the full-size product that you haven't tried yet then you can get $7 off. Refuse that and there is another product, and another and another and another until I finally gave up and asked for my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Beverly,

      I have just seen your review and wanted to write to you as soon as I could. This is Adam Feldman the Director of Client Relations at the Trim Down Club. I wanted to start off by apologizing for y our poor experience with our program, that was not our intention in the slightest and we are going to do whatever we can from here on to try to improve your overall experience. Now, as far as the upsells go, those are all completely optional and are each only offered one time meaning that after one refusal you won't be offered the product again. Additionally, you can cancel and refund your orders at any time as long as it's within 60 days of purchasing, so it's easy to take full of advantage of our offers and be able to keep your money if you're not satisfied.

      I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied even if you are no longer a customer of ours so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com with any questions or concerns you might still have.

      Wishing you all the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Absolute rubbish

    • By Danielle G.,
    • Pawcatuck, CT,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for the Keto diet and what I got in return was a plan that is definitely not Keto based. Why do you false advertise to people! I am so angry and will be canceling my subscription even though you have taken $2 from me. An easy way for this company to be making $2 from many people with false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 15, 2019

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hello Danielle,

      I’ve just been notified of your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First of all, I want to apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t enjoyable, that’s not the result that either of us had hoped for. We don’t want any of our customers to feel as though they’re being false advertised to, so I’d like to go over a few concerns you had. When customers sign up for the KetoTrim program from Trim Down Club they’ll automatically be given a low-carb 28-day keto meal plan that they can follow. Additionally, our menu planner function now has a Keto filter option so customers can easily set their own Keto menus that come with ingredients and shopping lists.

      I want to give you the opportunity to try our new Keto menu planner so please contact me directly and I’ll get our support team to gift you free access to our program! You can message me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

      Wishing you all the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Bad

    • By Kory O.,
    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You have no way of canceling this service so I will be reporting it as fraud to my credit card company. It's pretty bad when you try to reach you and it says the site can't be reached. I thought I was getting keto-friendly diet menus, instead, I have to set things up myself. I want this canceled immediately, but I will be disputing this to my credit card company in the morning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 15, 2019

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hi Kory,

      I’ve just been notified of your review and wanted to get back to you as soon as possible. First and foremost, I apologize that your time with Trim Down Club wasn’t what either of us had hoped for. However, I want you to know that you can cancel your Trim Down Club subscription at any time. All you would have to do is email us at support@trimdownclub.com and we will take care of your request within 48 hours. If you haven’t received your cancelation yet, you can personally email me your details and I’ll take care of your account's cancellation and refund as soon as possible.

      As far as the menus go, when you sign up for KetoTrim through the Trim Down Club you’ll receive a premade 28-day Keto meal plan just like every other customer. Additionally, you get the option to set up your own personalized menus through our meal planner function, but if that's not for you then you can always go back to the premade plan.

      I want to ensure that you are 100% satisfied even if you are no longer a customer of ours so I would love for you to email me directly at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

      All the best,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Does not stand by their guarantee

    • By James C.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I joined in February 2019, never received information about signing on, so I sent an e-mail. On March 3, 2019 I canceled the program and requested my money back as per their guarantee. Today, April 3, 2019, I was charged again. Now I am owed $19.80.

    I was offered a lifetime free program if I paid the $9.90 one more time, however, this is not something I accept.

    I did not use the service at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 8, 2019

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hey James, I was just notified of your review and wanted to quickly reach out to you. First, I am sorry that you were not able to access your Trim Down Club account. We send a confirmation email following every sign-up. But, maybe the email connected to the account had a typo, which could have stopped the system from sending it to you.

      That said, I want to ensure that you were fully refunded based on our 60-day money back guarantee. And, that you receive the level of service that you truly deserve!

      Please contact me directly at: adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com

      Look forward to helping in any way I can!

      Sincerely,

      Adam Feldman

      Director of Client Relations

      Trim Down Club


  • Refuse refund

    • By Angie H.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have never received a notice of charge from Trim Down Club for four months. According to Trim Down Club, I signed up for the club on February 25th. Since then I have been charged four different times, first for $2.25 and then three times since for $10.87. I have no profile built, nothing. I may have inadvertently signed up but had I EVER received the first notice that they were charging me I might have reconsidered and canceled my membership before spending $45 on nothing.

    I respectfully requested a refund since it had not been used and no notice ever was sent to me. I heard back from Justin Anderson, Director of Customer Affairs. He flat refused a refund and responded with, "I received your request to cancel your membership, and I wanted to remind you that you joined the Trim Down Club and accepted the terms and conditions of the program."

    Make sure that if you subscribe you keep up with your account and any charges. You WILL NOT be notified, even on their site, that they are placing more charges against you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 1, 2018

      Company Response from Trim Down Club

      Hey Angie, this is Adam from Trim Down Club. I was just notified of this review and wanted to get back you as soon as I could. Just to clarify, Trim Down Club is a comprehensive health and wellness program that is clearly marketed as a monthly membership.

      I see that Justin took care of your request and I’ll be sending you a personal email to make sure that you are 100% satisfied with or without Trim Down Club. Sorry, and I look forward to making things right ASAP!


Showing 1-11 of 70

Write a Review for Trim Down Club!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Trim Down Club