BetterHelp Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

1418 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 1418 Reviews
5 Star:85% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:6%
93% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jan 18, 2021

Highly recommend

By Monica H., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

If you are thinking about counseling but not sure about whether you have time, BetterHelp is the best platform. It’s your schedule, completely flexible, and really is only a phone call away. I highly encourage those who have been thinking about it to try it out.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Confidential

Convenient

Professional

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 18, 2021

Great for first timers

By Danielle I., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

I have been wanting to meet with a counselor/therapist for several years, but never found the time (with traveling and costs) to make it a priority. BetterHelp came along, and honestly, using this service is the best decision I've made in a while. All of the barriers are gone - I no longer have to travel to a location or pay a large sum of money to get quality counseling. My counselor is personable, engaging, and really seems to care about what we talk about...I'm not just a client she has to meet with. I wholeheartedly recommend BetterHelp and I tell all of my friends about it all the time!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

User-friendly

Doesn't take up a lot of time

Several different ways to communicate with your counselor

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 18, 2021

BetterHelp is better help

By Jen S., Fairfax, VA, Verified Reviewer

My insurance coverage for therapy is not great, so I finally realized I needed to look for something on my own. I found BetterHelp through my sister, who loves the service as well. I get quick replies from my counselor, plus weekly sessions, and the journaling feature is extremely helpful to me and to my counselor. I've been using BetterHelp for a few months now, and have noticed an improvement in my anxiety and overall executive function, and I'm really glad I gave it a try. You should, too!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use from anywhere

Counselors are awesome

Classes offered as part of the service

The phone app sometimes has trouble logging in

You can't use video from Safari, needs a different browser

Posted on Jan 16, 2021

Love this

By Courtney D., Springfield, IL, Verified Reviewer

I really appreciate the simplicity of the app and the website itself. I was paired with the perfect therapist! I also like how I found out about this through the WomanEvolve Podcast where the audience is in majority a black female audience. The black audience in general needs more opportunities and access to therapy.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My therapist

How many notifications I get, it makes my tasks for therapy important

How easy it is to navigate

It may be a little too simple - may need an extra “twang” to it, such as space for health tracking (like eating, hours of sleep, etc.)

Posted on Jan 16, 2021

Great resource

By Kara P., Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

I began using BetterHelp during a time when I needed flexibility with scheduling and quality service quickly!

The service has been very impressive and the counselor I work with, Emily Gonzalez, has been vital to helping me through difficult personal times and navigating professional stress surrounding COVID-19.

I have recommended the service to many people and will continue to do so!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexible scheduling

Quality counselor

Good price

First counselor didn’t work out

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2021

The counseling is awesome

By Jessica R., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

I love working with my counselor, he often checks in to see how I'm feeling and will offer ways to get through a rough day.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The counselor has many ways to work with them

The company BetterHelp is crap to work with, they have double charged me 3 weeks in a row and won't fix the issue

Posted on Jan 15, 2021

This skeptic now believes

By Nathan H., Turner, OR, Verified Reviewer

I was very skeptical about online counseling, but I am sold. This format forces you to write things out, and that has been super helpful for me. The almost daily contact really keeps the momentum going.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Daily contact

Feelings coming out through writing

Can do it on my schedule

At first you feel like a number

You miss out on body language

Sometimes difficult to log on due to complicated password requirements

Posted on Jan 15, 2021

Best therapy experience

By Candace W., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

A friend recommended I try out BetterHelp for emotional and mental health supports and it was the best decision I made in 2020 for my health and well-being. I really enjoy the online journal feature, the groupinars, and the licensed therapist I was assigned. I like that I have the option to share my journal entries electronically with my therapist. I like the breadth of groupinar topics. I like the diversity and experience of the groupinar instructors. I like that I can communicate with my therapist via the message center in the app as well as book and participate in counseling sessions via the app via phone or video formats. While I have not needed to request a change in my assigned therapist, I do like that I have the option to do so if needed. I feel well with my assigned therapist. My therapist is a solid listener and she asks the right questions at the right time. I feel safe and do not feel judged by her.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Virtual mental health care/tele-therapy

Online journal, groupinars, phone/video/message-based counseling sessions

Affordable and acceptable for the breadth of emotional support services provided (high value)

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 15, 2021

The thing you need, that you didn't know you needed.

By Heather C., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Have been with BetterHelp twice, the first time for 6 months, and this time I have yet to see.

It's amazing. To be able to get ALL your thoughts out and in a messaging format so your counselor can read about everything that's going on is invaluable to me.

Waiting to see someone in person, for weeks sometimes, sucks. Not with BetterHelp. My counselor always has video/call appointments in the current week. They always get back to my messages promptly and address everything. It's also amazing to have someone identify those key issues that seem so hard to explain, and then help make progress happen.

I recommend it for anyone going through any kind of tough time, literally any, and even for those who just feel like they could have a more satisfying life but aren't sure how to do it or what's missing.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

Ability to journal and share with my counselor

Affordable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 14, 2021

Glad I made the leap

By Kimberly C., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

I was so nervous to start, but I was quickly paired with a very kind and helpful person whom I immediately felt comfortable sharing my concerns with. I can message her any time and know that she'll get back to me as soon as she is able. She is also great at keeping in touch with me throughout the week, just to check in and see how I am doing. I also like that I can join online meetings about things like healthy weight loss, learning to say no, and other topics I want to learn more about.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Online messaging with my therapist

Different ways to have sessions available

Online journal

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 14, 2021

BetterHelp has been very helpful throughout the pandemic!

By Anna C., London, England, Verified Reviewer

I started using BetterHelp around April and I am loving it. My counselor is great and the fact that I can do my sessions from the comfort of my own home is a very positive thing for me!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My therapist is positive and friendly

I can do my session from the comfort of my home

Flexibility with time

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 144-154 of 1418

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.