Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

SkinnyFit Detox Tea

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
SkinnyFit Detox Tea

Overall Rating


18 Customer Reviews

Write a Review


SkinnyFit Detox Tea allegedly provides a variety of detoxification benefits. Although mostly safe, long term use is not effective.


  • The majority of the ingredients are natural


  • Many of the claims regarding the ingredients do not match the best available research
  • Goji berry and anticoagulants can produce harmful drug interactions

SkinnyFit Detox Tea Reviews - Is It Safe & Effective?

By Rocklend Davis, Ph. D.

Updated on: Jul 1, 2020

What Is SkinnyFit Detox Tea?

SkinnyFit alleges that their detox tea will aid in promoting weight loss and boosting metabolism that utilizes natural ingredients.

According to the website, one teabag steeped in 8oz. of hot water can be consumed once or twice daily will purportedly:

  • Increase energy
  • Burn fat
  • Helps to reduce bloating
  • Release toxins
  • Reduce stress
  • Boost immunity

SkinnyFit alleges that their blend of 13 metabolism-boosting superfood ingredients are responsible for the proposed benefits and contains no laxatives.

This article will focus on research backing the claims of the ingredients present in this tea by reviewing the available research, if any, to see if they support the actions of the SkinnyFit Detox tea.

Active Ingredients

The blend of ingredients that are offered in the SkinnyFit Detox tea contain a variety of natural superfoods that are intended to boost your metabolism, support weight loss, and reduce bloating.

To provide you with a clear understanding regarding the benefits of this dietary supplement, we’ll breakdown each of the 13 ingredients and highlight some existing research.

According to the Nutrition Facts Label, every serving of SkinnyFit Detox Tea includes the following ingredients:

Oolong tea

Oolong tea contains polyphenols. Polyphenols are naturally occurring micronutrient compounds that are found in plants and offer high amounts of antioxidants. A study offered that consuming oolong tea could offer protection against obesity-related metabolic disorders.

Oolong tea was also administered in a clinical trial and was found to significantly decrease body weight, Body Mass Index (BMI), and fat.

Consumption of tea, in general, is considered safe. Severe adverse effects of tea consumption are rare.


Hibiscus is commonly found in tea and is used primarily for its antioxidant benefits.

In a double-blinded randomized controlled study, there was a decrease in LDL and triglycerides levels but were strongly associated with participants' levels of physical activity and dietary protocol. Hibiscus, even at a dose of 1 gm/day of hibiscus leaf did not appear to lower blood lipid levels.

Hibiscus appears to have a stronger influence in studies that reduce body weight in subjects that were overweight.

Nettle Leaf

SkinnyFit identifies Nettle leaf as an immune-boosting ingredient and serves as an anti-inflammatory.

A randomized study of 27 patients with osteoarthritic pain located at the thumb or index finger were treated for one week by administering nettle leaf to the area for 12-weeks.

The study found that after one week of treatment with nettle leaf, there were decreases in pain rating scales when compared to the placebo.

A study was done to examine the use of 11 herbs to treat rheumatic disease. The max daily used in the study in rats was 30 mg.

Dandelion Leaf

The dandelion ingredient is listed to relieve gas and bloating and to reduce fat levels.

Research and evidence are lacking regarding the utilization and recommended dosage of dandelion leaf to relieve bloating and gas.


Apples contain a high source of vitamin C. Further, vitamin C is an antioxidant that serves to rid the body of free radicals, which can cause oxidative stress. Vitamin C may also to play a role in supporting immune function.

Studies show that approximately 60 mg of vitamin C was able to increase white blood cell count to help fight off infections.

Goji Berry

The Goji Berry ingredient is classified as a super fruit to promote weight loss and increase circulation.

Scientific evidence is lacking to back the claims linking this particular ingredient to aid in weight loss and improving circulation.

A review of goji berry and warfarin (or any anticoagulant) is contraindicated based on the premise of harmful herb-drug interactions.


The ingredient blend of lemongrass is claimed to soothe bloating, constipation, and promote healthy digestion.

Lemongrass oil is known as a phytochemical that is found in herbal plants.

A study found that when 2mg of lemongrass oil along with citral was supplemented, there was an associated improvement of GI motility.

However, further research is required to determine appropriate dosages of greater than 2 mg to improve healthy digestion in humans.

Yerba Mate

The claim for this ingredient is to help increase energy levels and improve mental focus.

A systematic review reports the adverse risks of herbal supplements for bodyweight reduction, except for yerba mate which requires further investigation.

Milk Thistle

The ingredient allegedly helps maintain liver health and protects it from the effects of toxins.

Milk thistle is an herbal compound and its active ingredient, silybin is thought to offer protection to substances that are toxic to the liver.

A Systematic review and meta-analysis show milk thistle to be safe but found no improvements in liver health or biochemical markers of liver function in patients with chronic liver disease.


Guarana is an ingredient that allegedly gives your body energy and helps promote weight loss.

The guarana seed is a well-known stimulant.

A 2019 review of guarana seed as a dietary supplement is recognized as a generally safe dietary ingredient without any serious health risks as long as the user follows the guidelines for safe caffeine use.

Guarana was more effective when combined with a diet that was rich in whole foods, omega-3’s, fruits, and vegetables to improve cancer-related fatigue in patients with breast cancer.


Ginseng is traditionally used in Chinese medicine with numerous benefits that include blood sugar reduction and stress, immune support, and improved concentration.

Research evaluated 8 studies to determine the effectiveness of ginseng induced improvement in glucose control and insulin sensitivity patients with type 2 diabetes. The present results have established the benefit of ginseng supplementation to control blood glucose levels and insulin sensitivity.

Lack of available randomized control studies in humans prevents from supporting the claims regarding the role of ginseng to enhance concentration levels.

Matcha Green Tea

Matcha Green Tea is intended to increase calorie burning power to lose weight and reduce skin inflammation

Matcha green tea powder contains catechins and caffeine. This study was performed to examine the effect of Matcha green tea on the metabolic, physiologic, and perceived intensity response during walking in 13 females. The findings from the study show that Matcha green tea improves fat burning in combination with exercise.

Stevia leaf

Stevia Lead is a zero-calorie weight management supplement without energy spikes and crashes.

Stevia is known as a natural sweetener that is used as another option to reduce sugar and reduced energy foods and drinks.

So far, only short-term studies have found significant reductions of both energy intakes and body weight, with an estimated rate of weight loss at 0.2 kg/wk.

The Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) is defined as the amount of substance that people can consume in food or drinks daily without any risk of health. of stevia of 4 mg/kg body weight per day.

Safety and Side Effects

While a majority of these ingredients have been safely studied individually, the goji berry ingredient can be harmful in cases in which you are currently on anticoagulants. Therefore, consult with a physician before use and never consume goji berry in ways other than how it's instructed.

A review of 372 studies overall provides no conclusive evidence for beneficial and harmful effects from nonnutritive sweeteners. In the United States, stevia leaf extracts are considered GRAS (generally recognized as safe) from the US Food and Drug Administration.

The Bottom Line

SkinnyFit Detox Tea contains a variety of ingredients in each serving. While a majority of the ingredients are supported by science for safety and effectiveness, SkinnyFit Detox does not provide individual quantities of its ingredients.

SkinnyFit Detox tea contains goji berry, an ingredient that can be harmful if you are taking anticoagulants. It is best to just take as directed.

However, based on the reviews on SkinnyFit.com, 76% of its users rate SkinnyFit Detox tea at 5 stars. Those that are satisfied with the product have mainly reported less bloating.

SkinnyFit Detox Tea does provide the convenience of ease in the consumption of all ingredients. A majority of the ingredients contained in SkinnyFit Detox Tea can also be obtained in a well-balanced diet of fruits and vegetables.

If you are planning to lose weight or start to notice a drop in energy levels, it is recommended to include a medical professional to ensure safety regarding use.

Customer Reviews

2.8 Stars out of 18 Reviews
5 Star:33% 4 Star:16% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:50%
50% Recommend This Product
Start your review of SkinnyFit Detox Tea:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 28, 2018


By Chondra Provencher, Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

This does not do what they say it does, and when you return your tea, they don't follow through with the refund they promise. It is a total scam. I am extremely disgusted with the poor customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on May 25, 2018

Bad customer service

By Crystal L., Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

I ordered a trial of the morning and night detox tea. With the trial it automatically enrolls you in auto ship, so I called to cancel it as soon as I received my tea because I wanted to try it first before I fully committed.

The first couple of days the tea was great. I could feel myself having more energy and I wasn't as sluggish. However, on about the fifth day it did absolutely nothing. I'm actually almost finished with my first cup of tea and I'm falling asleep while drinking it. I've been using it for almost three weeks and no changes at all. The night detox tea has me feeling like I haven't gotten much sleep when I wake up the next day. Not exactly sure why.

Now onto the customer service. When I called I asked to cancel my auto ship membership. I spoke to a gentleman and he assured me that it was canceled and I would receive no further packages unless I re-enroll. I even got an email confirming the cancellation.

However, three weeks after calling I got charged $60! When I called the lady on the phone stated that when I called initially the guy only canceled one of the items on the auto-ship, BUT the email that I received clearly states "We're sorry to see you go and that my SUBSCRIPTION has been cancelled." It also states "You will not receive any further products."

So now I have to wait 7-10 business days just to get my money back for something that I canceled almost a month ago. I should have stuck with what other people were saying about all of the issues they had cancelling their subscription. I will NEVER order this product again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 11, 2019

Hi Crystal,

We truly appreciate this feedback from you. We will be using this as a training opportunity for all of our agents here at SkinnyFit. We hold all our agents to a high standard, so we will make sure something like this never happens again.

We are guaranteeing that your account is canceled, as well as refunded of the $59.95 charge. Once again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and we hope to have you a part of the SkinnyFit family again in the future.


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 3, 2018

False and misleading advertisement

By Le D., Anchorage, AK, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the trial offer which you only pay for the shipping, and my order arrived almost two weeks later. I signed up for the trial but it turned out to be a subscription, and after a week that you received the product they will charge your credit card $109.62. The product is not really good, I got an upset stomach, and they said I could return those samples, but I have to pay for the return shipping fee. They said that they would only refund the $109.62 when they receive the samples that they sent me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 11, 2019

Hi Le,

We are truly sorry for the miscommunication on our end. We pride ourselves on helping each and every one of our customers.

We want to give you a chance to try our products, so we would be happy to refund you the $109.62 charge without returning your trial order.

Unfortunately, we were unable to locate your order, so if you can reach out to us at hello@skinnyfit.com and title the email "HighYa Review" we would be more than happy to make this right.


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 56 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 20, 2017

Helpful product

By Lana, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

As a person who cannot have much caffeine, I find this tea to be a wonderful pick me up. It has also helped to increase my weight loss. I was at a stuck point in my weight loss, and after using this tea, I began to once again lose weight. I would not recommend drinking past early afternoon as it has a long time frame of wakefulness. It will keep you up all night if drank to late in the day. It does not have the comedown crash of coffee, however. To me, this is a good thing.

I would recommend it to those looking for a little extra help with their healthy dieting. I cannot say it causes rapid weight loss or instant health benefits, but I have found it to be a very helpful, added bonus to my weight loss.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 49 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Hasn't worked

By Corinne G., Merrimac, MA, Verified Reviewer

I have been drinking SkinnyFit for two months now with no results. I have also been drinking the Zzztox at night with no results.

I watch what I eat, exercise five days a week and have seen no results. So I would not recommend this to anyone who is looking to lose weight. I have lost nothing. So please let me know where I can send the empty bags to get my money refunded.

Thank you for your quick response to this message.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 11, 2019

Hi Corinne,

We take customer feedback very seriously here at SkinnyFit, so we are so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your results.

We see that we were able to reach out to you via email, in which we sent you instructions on how to return your orders for a full refund.

If you have any questions or concerns about the return, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Once again, we truly appreciate you giving SkinnyFit a try.


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 7, 2018

Not for me

By Judith Q., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for SkinnyFit, I receive the product, but didn't work for me, so I canceled and returned the product. They kept my money of $119.90. I disputed the charge through my bank, but they lied to them, telling them that I never cancel the account. So my bank paid them money back. After that, I call them asking for my money and they told me to email the letter from my bank showing that the dispute was canceled, and I did that.

I call them today (12/5/2018). Now they don't want to refund my money. This company stole my money. I return the product on August 30th and I dispute the charge September 10th. One of the managers was telling me today that I disputed this charge on August 28th, so I put them in a three-way with my bank and my bank tells them that I disputed the charge on September 10th. These people lied to much. My advice to you people, be very careful with this company.

I don't have my order number but have this email:

Danielle P (SkinnyFit)

Nov 28, 17:38 PST

Hi Judith,

Thank you for reaching out to us.

I did attempt to refund you, as I see the dispute is now closed, but I was not quite able to:

11/28/2018 08:31pm By CRM - Refund Failed by Payment Gateway (PayPal Refund Transaction with an Open Case Not Allowed)

I do want to assure you that we are going to refund your $119.90, but there may be a slight delay in doing so.

I will work with my supervisor to ensure we can refund you in a timely manner, even if it means sending a money order.

We will remain in contact and I look forward to getting you the refund as soon as possible.


Danielle P

Customer Support

Office: 1-888-862-1758

Email: hello@skinnyfit.com

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Dec 11, 2018

Hi Judith,

Thank you for contacting us and bringing this to our attention. I am happy that were able to get on the phone to clear up any confusion. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us, so we thank you for your patience and working with us on the best solution!

We were able to successfully refund you via PayPal, and that transaction should show in your account in the next one to two business days. If you have any other questions or if we can help in any way please feel free to reach out to us directly, we are always happy to help!

Thank you,


Customer Success


Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2019

My experience

By Corinne F., Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

I have to tell you I loved this tea. The flavor and the energy I got from it...until I became terribly ill and was rushed to the hospital. They called my problem initially Diverticulitis, then saw extreme intestinal inflammation and irritation. I was on medication for a week and wasn’t able to eat solids for two weeks. For some reason, my daughter decided to take it and right now as we speak (or write), we are on the way to the hospital to see her. She’s 200 miles from home in school. I’m a mess. So I not only don’t recommend it, I urge you to take it off the shelf.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 18, 2019

Hi Corinne,

We are glad that we were able to talk to you and learn more about the situation. We are looking into this and we will follow up via email for any updates. Please let us know if you have any other questions we can answer.


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 19, 2018

Delicious tea

By Dan, Wilbraham, MA, Verified Reviewer

This tea tastes great and has been a healthy substitute for coffee for me in the mornings. It has a refreshing peach flavor and helped me shed a few pounds. I got some for my mom and sister, and they’re hooked. I recommend it for sure.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 11, 2019

Hi Dan!

We love hearing that you have been enjoying your Detox! We're glad you and your family have seen great results! If you haven't heard yet, we came out with a caffeine free detox tea called Zzztox! I know you'll love it just as much as our morning tea, so I highly recommend it!


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2018

Bad for migraines or headaches

By Emily R., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I thought this was inoffensive for me since it claims it's all natural ingredients, but I have migraines, and this tea made them WORST! It has something in it, that gave me three horrible migraine days, I had to take really strong medication because of it, so, it is NOT RECOMMENDED for people with headaches or migraines. Be aware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 11, 2019

Hi Emily,

We are so sorry to hear that you were having trouble with your Detox tea. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority here at SkinnyFit. This is why we happily offer a 90-day money back guarantee.

We wouldn't want you to have a product that you cannot take, so feel free to reach out to us at 1-888-862-1758. Our telephone support is available 24/7.

We look forward to speaking with you and we can't wait to help you out with your refund.


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2019


By K K., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

I ordered SkinnyFit from the site. It said "one-time trial." It was about $25 for the detox and bedtime tea. When I checked my credit card statements the next month, they charged me $99. When I called, I was told that I had to send back the unused tea to get my entire refund back ($99). Remind you, I paid $26 for the promotion they were having. Because I didn't want to go through the hassle of sending it back they only refunded me $49 of the extra $99 charges to my card. I am very disappointed! The tea was actually ok, but not for $99!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Feb 28, 2019

Hi Karla!

Thank you so much for your honest feedback and we do sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding.

The way our trials work is you are given a full month supply of the product of your choice for an 18-day trial period. This trial period is meant to allow you to try the product and see how it works for you without committing to the retail price of the products just yet. After your trial ends, on the 18th day, you are billed for the product(s) in hand as they are a full-month supply of the product and because we assume that you are loving your product and have decided to continue using it. We do make sure to list these trial terms on our check out page, as well, to ensure our customers know what to expect and to make sure there is no confusion when purchasing.

During your trial period you are more than welcome to reach out to us and customize your trial, extend it, or cancel it altogether. In fact, we encourage our customers to keep us posted and let us know how they are liking their products. We try to be as generous as possible with our trials since we know not every person sees the same results with each product and that everyone’s body is different.

Additionally, we have a great 90 day return policy. If for any reason you are unsatisfied we have the option to return your product for a refund.

Again, we sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding. We do our best to help each and every one of our lovely customers as we know everyone’s health journey is different and not everyone sees the results they intend to. As always, we value your experience and only want to deliver the highest degree of service to you. If there is anything we can do for you at this time, please let us know and we would be more than happy to help! We will also follow up via email to ensure that you are as satisfied as possible.

We thank you for giving SkinnyFit a try and look forward to assisting you in the future.



Customer Success

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2018

Pleasantly surprised, taste is amazing and I feel great.

By Briana Noriega, California, Verified Reviewer

I found a great deal on Facebook for the Detox and bought it for me and my mom. We've been using it for two months and love it. I am finally fitting into my old jeans and have way more energy. I am down 7 lbs so far!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from SkinnyFit

Jan 15, 2019

Hi Briana!

We are so happy to hear that you and your mom have been loving SkinnyFit! We truly appreciate your feedback and we can't wait to hear more about your great results!


Customer Solutions Manager

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 18

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.