About Bombfell

By HighYa Staff

Don’t have the time (or inclination) to shop until you drop? Bombfell is a subscription-based fashion service that aims to help men look their best without breaking the bank.

Short for “bomb fellow” (think “bombshell” meets “fellow”), Bombfell is the brainchild of co-founders Jason Kim and Bernie Yoo. The two long-term friends met as college roommates while attending Harvard where, according to one article, they built their respective wardrobes on “a shaky foundation of free t-shirts handed out by dot-com companies.”

After graduating, Jason and Bernie found that they lacked the time and know-how to dress well—often asking girlfriends to pick out clothes for them, instead. The inspiration for Bombfell came after “realizing that you could only ask someone to shop for you so many times.”

Drawing from Jason’s professional experience as a lead engineer and Bernie’s in business development, the two entrepreneurs used technology to enhance what a professional stylist could offer, and claim that the combination offers an ease-of-use and personalization that few others can match. How does it work?

How to Use Bombfell to Build Your Wardrobe

When you sign up for Bombfell, the website guides you through a short questionnaire in which you provide the following:

  • Indicate what best describes your situation, from looking for advice, stepping up your look, too busy to shop, or helping out your partner.
  • Your height, weight, and body shape.
  • What size clothing you currently wear.
  • How you like your clothes to fit. Choose between trim and relaxed.
  • Choose from six swatches to select the closest match to your skin tone.
  • Select one or more styles that represent your preferred look. Choose from casual, classic, preppy, or modern.
  • Select items or colors you’d never wear, including plaid, pink, red, stripes, skinny jeans, and graphic t-shirts.
  • Choose one or more brands that you currently wear.

After providing Bombfell with selections that best represent your size and personal style preferences, the next survey section allows you to choose your budget for each item with sliding scales.

Bombfell’s sliding scales

Note that the price ranges shown represent the least amount that Bombfell members can allot to each category of clothing. If the proposed price range is too high for any given category, you can also slide the scale to “No Thanks.”

Last up, you’re allowed to pick up to three items from the following categories to be included in your first Bombfell shipment:

Bombfell’s first shipment selection

What happens next? Bombfell’s software analyzes the information you just provided to make recommendations from a carefully curated selection of well-known and up-and-coming designers based on your fit and style preferences. Next, one of Bombfell’s personal stylists decides which items make the final cut.

Bombfell sends members a preview email, showing what’s been selected before shipment. A box of clothes is then delivered to your door. After trying the items on in the comfort of your own home, you’re allowed ten days to give your Bombfell picks a thumbs up or thumbs down. Any items that aren’t keepers can be returned in a prepaid envelope at no charge.

The company claims that their combination of technology and personalized service offers the best of both worlds: a personal shopper’s expertise and a customizable budget. Additionally, Bombfell claims that selections get better over time, as members are encouraged to send feedback through their account about what worked and what didn’t.

How Much Does a Bombfell Membership Cost?

Bombfell doesn’t charge a subscription fee, stylist fees, or shipping – members only pay for the items of clothing that they keep. According to their FAQ section, there is a fair amount of variation in how much each item costs. The average price point for one item of clothing is $89.

Bombshell’s average pricing per item example

Note that the price you pay is per item, not for a complete ensemble. Though, members are allowed to place a cap on how much they’re willing to spend on particular items of clothing, as shown in the previous section.

Bombshell’s average pricing per item example

Want a clearer understanding of how much entire Bombfell ensembles cost? You can see more examples of selected outfits in their Pricing section.

Unless otherwise specified, Bombfell members will receive shipments once a month. If that’s too often, members can change the frequency to once every two or three months in their Account Preferences or re-schedule the next shipment in the “Up Next” tab of your account dashboard. Members can also pause or cancel their account at any time.

What Range of Sizes Does Bombfell Offer?

According to the FAQ section, Bombfell has ample selections in average sizes, but only a limited selection of Big & Tall: “For bottoms, we carry a few styles in waist size from 38" to 46", and up to a 36" inseam in select waist sizes. For tops, we carry XLB to 4XB in Big sizing and for tall sizing XLT to 3XT.”

Bombfell encourages prospective members to contact their customer service at support@bombfell.com if you’re still left with questions about whether they can accommodate your size, fit, or style.

What If I Don’t Like My Bombfell Selections?

Returning unwanted items is also free—just be sure to do so within your 10-day “try on” period. The clock doesn’t start ticking until your shipment is delivered. Note that Bombfell only accepts unused, unwashed, and undamaged returns with the tags still intact.

What if you’re late? Bombfell members who exceed the 10-day period will be charged the full amount of the order. Between 11-29 days after receipt, refunds and credits are handled individually. Post 30-days, only store credit is available – minus a $10 restocking fee.

Also, due to hygiene reasons, underwear and grooming products cannot be returned. Socks can be returned, but must be in their original unopened packaging.

Remember that preview email we mentioned? To help negate the chances of getting a shipment you don’t enjoy, members can request new selections or choose to skip the month within 48 hours of the email being sent.

If you keep receiving items that don’t suit your style, Bombfell does allow members to switch up their personal stylist—just email the service department at support@bombfell.com.

Bombfell Reviews: What Customers Are Saying About Their Selections

Like many startups, Bombfell saves on their marketing budget by offering bloggers commission from affiliate links placed in their review. Meaning that, if a reader were to click through to Bombfell after reading a post, the blogger gets paid either a flat rate or percentage of your purchase. (Note that the presence of affiliate links should always be mentioned in a disclaimer.)

While affiliate links don’t always (and shouldn’t ever) affect the review, there’s still a chance that the blogger could be less than objective. To ensure objectivity, we headed to Reddit’s Male Fashion Advice (MFA) forum to find what members had to say about their Bombfell subscriptions.

Related: Trunk Club Review

Commenters comparing the service to similar fashion subscription companies targeting male shoppers, such as Trunk Club and 54 Club, described Bombfell as offering better prices.

“I've been with them for 4 months now and I love 'em!” –immasheep

“I’ve been using bombfell for a few months and I really like it. It costs me literally nothing unless there's something I like. I've kept a lot of stuff though. It's all pretty good quality stuff that I’m willing you pay for. It also has a third party picking it out that gets me to branch out. And for what it's worth, I get tons of compliments on the stuff they send.” –geoffersonspin

It’s worth noting that Reddit’s MFA community focuses on learning how to look fashionable yourself. However, the most common complaints were that Bombfell’s selections weren’t to users tastes.

“I tried Bombfell for almost a full year. I returned just about everything, kept a pair of shorts I believe. Overall wasn’t too impressed and I’d rather just do my own shopping.” –habisch

One Redditor also commented that his shipments became repetitive. Although, no statement was made as to whether or not he contacted Bombfell’s customer service about the problem before canceling.

Bombfell vs Trunk Club vs Five Four: How Do These Subscription Services Compare?

As few customers mentioned in their reviews above, Bombfell isn’t the only clothing subscription service that caters to men. How does it stack up against two similar services, Trunk Club and Five Four?

A Quick Look at Trunk Club

Trunk Club delivers a similar model of subscription service, but with a twist. Trunk Club members can take advantage of in-person styling services at its clubhouses in several cities, including Chicago, D.C., Dallas, New York, and Los Angeles. This gives members the chance to chat with a stylist and try on clothes—as well as access to a full bar to fuel your shopping experience.

While some might find Trunk Club’s in-person perks appealing, stopping in to see a personal stylist starts to blur the line between a subscription service and regular ol’ shopping—potentially making Trunk Club a less appealing option for men who’d rather have dapper selections delivered directly to their door.

There’s also Trunk Club’s high prices. Granted, what you’re willing to pay for personalized shopping is likely different from the next guy, so “expensive” is subjective. However, Trunk Club’s clothing picks don’t shy away from items that cost a pretty penny. For example, their averages are:

  • $170–$250 for denim
  • $100–$200 for casual shirts
  • $100–$300 for sweaters

Those prices are a far cry from Bombfell’s average of $89 per item. Additionally, a number of Trunk Club customers has stated that the clothing they received wasn’t representative of those high prices and that they quickly showed wear and tear.

Learn more: Trunk Club Reviews

A Quick Look at Five Four

Another men’s fashion subscription service, Five Four costs a flat $60 each month. Each month you will receive a package of apparel valued up to double its monthly fee, which is selected for you based on your style profile.

Because of its low price and ample items delivered, one blogger hailed it as the best value for men interested in curated clothing picks delivered to their door. In addition to monthly shipments, Five Four members can purchase additional outfits from the website at a 25% discount.

The potential drawback? Unlike Bombfell or Trunk Club, Five Four only sells its own brand of clothing. This allows them to offer clothing at a reduced cost but also limits subscribers style options to a single brand.

Is Bombfell a Good Fit to Amp Up Your Fashion?

While Bombfell members won’t benefit from the kind of clothing sales you can find at a standard retailer, the company does appear to offer items without a significant markup. (A co-founder commented on Reddit that clothes are purchased at wholesale cost, and that they consciously try to keep items competitively priced when deciding retail value.)

While items aren’t conspicuously over-priced, Bombfell is likely only appealing to male shoppers who don’t make a priority of hunting for bargains. Instead, the service will likely work best for men who are interested in dressing well, and are willing to pay for the convenience.

After completing Bombfell’s survey, we were left with one concern: While the questionnaire takes build and skin tone into consideration, there’s no opportunity to upload a picture or share other information that could influence which patterns and colors are selected, including eye or hair color. This makes the service feel slightly less custom than working with a personal shopper. If bringing out your baby blues is a top priority, you may be interested in contracting the services of a professional stylist instead.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 156 Bombfell Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 128 4 star: 12 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 90% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 156
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Beware, it's a scam!

    • Rome, NY,
    • Dec 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Bombfell once. I did not like the clothes so I returned them as directed. My bank acct was then charged for a very large amount. I've tried contacting them to have this corrected and have received nothing but a perpetual runaround.

    Stay away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Tony,

      We're very sorry to hear about your negative experience with Bombfell. We looked into your account, and it shows you were charged because the tracking information for your return shipment did not update within the return drop-off deadline, and we never received your returns at our warehouse. However, our records show that you contacted our support team on Dec. 5th and we responded the following day, and we reached a resolution and issued a full refund back to your credit card on Dec. 8th.

      Hope that clears up any misunderstanding -- if you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at support@bombfell.com. Thank you.

      Best, Team Bombfell


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Unauthorized charges

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charged my card $430 without my consent and would not give me a refund right away. I marked my items for return, and they charged me an obscene amount. Stay away from them! They are not honest at all. There isn't even phone customer service to talk to anyone. Shady!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi CJ,

      We're very sorry to hear about your negative experience with Bombfell. The initial charge was made because tracking did not update on your return shipment and after a period of time, we charge for the items. We know you have been in communication with the client services. As of today, you have received a full refund back to your card.

      Hope that clears up any misunderstanding and thank you for your patience. If you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at [email protected]

      Cheers,

      Team Bombfell


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't use this service!

    • Arizona,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried out this service, and I urge anyone to NOT use this company. It's been over one month, and I still don't have my refund back on my Visa card. Very frustrating experience to say the least!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 8, 2017

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Bill,

      It seems that this issue has been resolved on both ends and your refund was issued! We hope this was not too much of an inconvenience.

      Thank you for your patience and if you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at support@bombfell.com.

      Cheers, Team Bombfell.


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Never buy Bombfell

    This is either a scam, or the most unprofessional unprepared attempt at a company I've ever seen. They charged me $400 without notice for a package I never received, then informed me it happens often! As of right now they won't even refund me. Do yourself a favor and don't give these people your card information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 12, 2017

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Skylar,

      It seems that this issue has been resolved on both ends and your refund was issued! We hope this was not too much of an inconvenience.

      Thank you for your patience and if you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at support@bombfell.com.

      Cheers, Team Bombfell


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Three tries to cancel, not worth the hassle

    After discovering that Bombfell sells widely available brands at a notable markup, I canceled and decided to buy clothes from other online retailers. Then I received a shipment of clothes from Bombfell, so I returned the clothes and canceled again. Then the cycle repeated itself, this time with clothes that don't even fit my profile sizes. The product selection doesn't appear to be done by an actual person, and I get stuff that clearly isn't what I asked for. That has the makings of a scam to me, and I'm still trying to figure out how to cancel the service. Now I happen to be trying to do that with $400 in clothes that aren't in my size that need to be returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Ugly clothes

    • Tioga, ND,
    • Oct 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought that it was going to be better clothes than Walmart or clothes that you don't see everywhere, but is not different from cheap stores and a lot more expensive. I was very disappointed to see just regular clothes. It looks like someone returns them over and over till they found the person to keep them by mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not recommended...

    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Mar 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything started out just fine. The first shipment about nine months ago was full of exciting goodies that actually fit pretty well. The stylist did a fair job for a guy who is a tough fit.

    The honeymoon was over about a month ago, when I was traveling for three weeks straight and was struggling to get my return back. I contacted them, which is a bit of a problem since they don't have a contact phone, and they gave me an extension. Long story short, the return was in the mail, and they went ahead and charged me nearly $300 for the clothing that was in route to them. They received it, confirmed, and won't return the money.

    You mess with my money? We have a problem. With nobody to speak to directly, I'd proceed with extreme caution. I'd just stay far away. I'm out $300, and they won't return emails. There are plenty of other options out there. Make sure they have real contact information, and not just an email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 13, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi John,

      Thanks for sharing your experience with our service.

      We're very sorry for any confusion here. We saw your note about not receiving any email responses from us and having your money withheld. Our records show that we responded to your messages on this issue, and our team made a special exception to our procedure by issuing you a refund before we processed your return. Please check your spam or junk folder for emails from support@bombfell.com in case they may have landed there.

      That email was sent on March 2nd, a couple days before this review was posted. Refunds generally take 1 to 3 business days to process. Please touch base with your bank if you still haven’t seen this post at this time.

      We do our best to respond to any client concerns within 24 hours of contact and at no point intended on withholding a refund for those returning items. If you have any other questions, please touch base with us at support@bombfell.com. We’d love to talk more about how we can make this right for you.

      Thanks,

      Team Bombfell


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    This idea BOMBED and FELL far from the mark.

    We thought this would be a fun idea for a 45th birthday gift. IT. WAS. NOT.

    The "stylist" said that they were out of jeans (?!?!) and chose the dorkiest khaki shorts possible. What a waste of time, filling out the questionnaire and then having to cancel everything and get the money back. I bet a college student would be happy for $20 to pick out some stylish but appropriate clothes for a 45-year-old man. Even a clever kid from a 3rd world country with access to the internet would know to order some jeans from any other site and have them sent to a customer. I should have known, in fact, I did know, but I was trying to try something new.

    This is NOT the way to go. Save your precious time. This BOMBED and FELL far from the mark. It doesn't even deserve a star for wasting precious imaginary internet space.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 13, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Melissa,

      Thanks for leaving feedback on your experience with Bombfell.

      We appreciate you highlighting this area of improvement. Our inventory in size 35x34 pants and jeans is very limited because it’s a hard size to come by. We’re always looking for more vendors to partner with and we strive to improve this in the future!

      We’re sorry to hear the styling didn’t work out for you in this case. It definitely seems like your stylist may have been thinking in a different direction than what you were hoping, but the positive is that we’re always open to feedback! We will make sure to review this order with the stylist so that she can improve in the future as well.

      We’re definitely sorry for any disappointment, so we made sure that your styling fee was refunded, as we mentioned in our reply to you on March 6th.

      We want to make sure that even in the rare case that things go wrong, we do our best to make them right again. Let us know if you have any further questions at support@bombfell.com and we can assist you further there!

      Thanks, Team Bombfell


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is terrible. Here's why...

    It takes forever to get your stuff. When you do finally get your package, the items are disappointing, to say the least. Poor quality and fit, and overpriced.

    My first order, one shirt was too small and thin. Another shirt was like a boat sail with too much torso material. The pants were giant, way below feet and I could put a large book inside the waist. Huge!

    To give them a chance, I returned the items and requested either other sizes or different styles. These had problems too. The new shirt style had a weird front pocket way up by my clavicle, and the second button was choking. This time the same pants length was at ankle bone and waist couldn't even be closed. The other shirt was fine, regarding fit, but nothing better than Walmart. Honestly.

    Then, to make matters worse, I get an email saying two of the three items returned from the first order was never received according to the "warehouse people," and that I would be charged.

    What? Why would I keep stuff that I didn't like and that didn't fit? On that first order, I even gave detailed feedback to the "personal stylist" (puh-leez). From what I can tell, the stylists seem to be bots. It's like they have some computer program that picks out random crap.

    Stay away from this company! It will not in any way at all be a better experience than just going to a local store. That is unless you like overpriced, poor quality garments that don't fit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 31, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Eric,

      Thanks so much for sharing your feedback about your Bombfell experience! We are always looking to improve the Bombfell experience for every client.

      The feedback about shipping speed, particularly on the West Coast where you are, has been taken into account and we're now upgrading our shipping speed for those locations farthest away from our warehouse. So this will remedy the issue going forward!

      We care very much about making sure every client is accommodated in the best way possible and that things end positively in their favor. We can confirm that you have not been charged for the items you mentioned to as noted in our email reply to you on July 25th.

      Our stylists work hard to find the best pieces for you, so we'll make sure we keep in mind your fit experience as we continue to learn and grow here at Bombfell. The styling team is definitely full of real people who do their best to bring high-quality garments to you that will work for your style!

      If you have any other questions or concerns, please reach out to us at support@bombfell.com, and we are happy to talk with you further.

      Thanks,

      Team Bombfell


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Auto shipped 9 months after I closed my account

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Bombfell in July 2017, got a few nice shirts but they were a tad expensive, so I told my "stylist" that I needed to stop this service. So, in October 2017 I closed/ canceled my account...or so I thought. Last month (July 2018) I was notified by the person who took over my old apartment (I moved in November) that a Bombfell package had arrived with my name on it. How could that be? I emailed Support on July 25th and they "claim" that my account was not actually canceled but on a "9-month pause," and they sent me an email letting me know of this and that a random package of clothing that I did not request or have any say it was sent to me. Of course, I got no such email. How do they send a package without a confirmation from me? And now they auto-charged me $238.17, so I just called my credit card company and filed a dispute, because forget them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 28, 2018

      Company Response from bombfell, Inc

      Hi Rob,

      Thanks for your review. We're definitely sorry for any inconvenience caused by the previous iteration of our timed pause feature. We're always looking to take feedback from our clients and improve our service! This feature has now been revised to give the timed pause process more customization, with we hope that this will create clarity about the feature being a temporary halt of the account. We thank you so much for trying our service, and if you have any other questions or feedback, please let us know at support@bombfell.com!

      Thanks, Team Bombfell


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Items available elsewhere usually 30-50% less than Bombfell. Stylist didn't listen to input.

    • United States,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I moved to Bombfell after trying another service thinking I would like it better - boy was I wrong. After signing up for the service and requesting that I receive absolutely NO Henleys, my original order had a Henley in it. I don't know if a stylist even read my form. I had taken a lot of time to fill out my form, provide pictures and as much information as I can.

    My biggest gripe was that when I did receive the clothes, they were way overpriced. A simple online search found two Polo shirts available online at over 50% less and a pair of pants for about 25% less. A lot of the clothes can be found at Asos and H&M.

    I've decided to cancel my Bombfell account and move on...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 156

Write a Review for Bombfell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review